Official OPPO BDP-103 Owner's Thread - Page 597 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
Old 08-10-2014, 01:43 PM
Member
 
Naiera's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Denmark
Posts: 89
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I haven't touched them at all.

I've put subs on quite a number of Blu-rays and I don't think I've ever downloaded a subtitle track this intricate.
Naiera is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 08-11-2014, 02:44 AM
Member
 
Daffietje's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 170
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 48 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quick question : when viewing photos is there a way to show the GPS location info which is embedded in the photo? I have tried the info button and the green button, but both are not showing it.
I would also like to know if there is a quick way to show the name of the photo on the screen? (besides stopping the slide show of course)

Panasonic TX-P50GT60 / Marantz SR5004 / 4 x KEF HTS 3001 SE (front + rear) + HTC 3001 SE (centre) + REL T-9 sub / Oppo BDP-103EU (MultiRegion+MultiZone)
Daffietje is offline  
Old 08-11-2014, 07:53 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
seggers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: WNY
Posts: 2,111
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 24
So I wish to speak of herasey for a while if I may. If someone, mentioning no names, had decided to chop in their Oppo (as in selling it on) and replace it with something else, what should they be looking at as a replacement?

Seggers

Mits 73835, Denon X4000, Emotiva UPA5 (triggered), Wharfedale Pacific Evo 40s, CS, 10s, the internet, a NAS drive, a TiVo Series 3 and an Oppo 103 (bye bye PS3). There's also a Wii, but we don't talk about that...
seggers is offline  
Old 08-11-2014, 08:05 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Mongo171's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Buffalo, NY
Posts: 2,159
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 209 Post(s)
Liked: 786
Quote:
Originally Posted by seggers View Post
So I wish to speak of herasey for a while if I may. If someone, mentioning no names, had decided to chop in their Oppo (as in selling it on) and replace it with something else, what should they be looking at as a replacement?

Seggers
Wal-mart has one on sale for $39.95. Looks like a solid unit. 1 per customer. Sale ends 8/21/2067.

"I am a Meat Popsicle." - Corbin Dallas, "The Fifth Element"
Mongo171 is offline  
Old 08-11-2014, 08:09 AM
One-Man Content Creator
 
wmcclain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 17,920
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 746 Post(s)
Liked: 397
Quote:
Originally Posted by seggers View Post
So I wish to speak of herasey for a while if I may. If someone, mentioning no names, had decided to chop in their Oppo (as in selling it on) and replace it with something else, what should they be looking at as a replacement?

Seggers
That's off topic here. Try OFFICIAL "HELP ME CHOOSE A PLAYER" THREAD: Can't decide? Start HERE.

-Bill
mhobart likes this.

Review older films here: 1979 and earlier | 1980s | Combined reviews: Strange Picture Scroll
Unofficial OPPO FAQS: BDP-103 | BDP-93 | BDP-83 | BDP-80    
wmcclain is offline  
Old 08-11-2014, 10:55 AM
Member
 
ckronengold's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Boston Strong / Jersey Strong
Posts: 114
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Any tips for searching this forum? Its gotten pretty darn difficult to find specific answers to questions.

I'm trying to nail down the current status of DVD-A or SACD iso support over a network. I'm pretty sure one of the firmware updates last year killed it, but I wasn't trying to play any isos over my network at the time.

Media Room: Epson 5030 / Onkyo NR-709 / OPPO-103
Paradigm Mini Monitors v2 / Atoms (rears) / CC-370
Den: Samsung 59D6500 Plasma & Monoprice in-walls
Server: WHS2011, i5 2500k CPU
HTPC1:Win8 Pro 64-bit, i5 750 Radeon HD 5850
HTPC2:Win8 Pro 64-bit, i3 2105, Radeon 6770
ckronengold is offline  
Old 08-11-2014, 11:46 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
rdgrimes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Nuevo Mexico
Posts: 16,746
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 524 Post(s)
Liked: 291
Quote:
Originally Posted by ckronengold View Post
Any tips for searching this forum? Its gotten pretty darn difficult to find specific answers to questions.

I'm trying to nail down the current status of DVD-A or SACD iso support over a network. I'm pretty sure one of the firmware updates last year killed it, but I wasn't trying to play any isos over my network at the time.
The 103 has never supported SACD or DVD ISO over network or any other way.
ckronengold likes this.
rdgrimes is offline  
Old 08-11-2014, 12:15 PM
Member
 
ckronengold's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Boston Strong / Jersey Strong
Posts: 114
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by rdgrimes View Post
The 103 has never supported SACD or DVD ISO over network or any other way.
That helps explain why I couldn't find it. Guess I'll try extracting the files from the ISOs.

Thanks!

Media Room: Epson 5030 / Onkyo NR-709 / OPPO-103
Paradigm Mini Monitors v2 / Atoms (rears) / CC-370
Den: Samsung 59D6500 Plasma & Monoprice in-walls
Server: WHS2011, i5 2500k CPU
HTPC1:Win8 Pro 64-bit, i5 750 Radeon HD 5850
HTPC2:Win8 Pro 64-bit, i3 2105, Radeon 6770
ckronengold is offline  
Old 08-11-2014, 12:34 PM
One-Man Content Creator
 
wmcclain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 17,920
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 746 Post(s)
Liked: 397
Quote:
Originally Posted by Naiera View Post
I haven't touched them at all.

I've put subs on quite a number of Blu-rays and I don't think I've ever downloaded a subtitle track this intricate.
You're right, it is pretty complicated. I don't deal much with .ass format and I'm guessing it is more sophisticated than simple .srt files.

Your example:
  • Has some sort of X-Y postioning
  • Font spec
  • Multiple subtitles overlapping in time code and duration

You'll get the basic lower subtitle on the OPPO, but the not the fancy extra one. My only suggestion is to write up your tests for OPPO and offer them a sample file.

-Bill

Review older films here: 1979 and earlier | 1980s | Combined reviews: Strange Picture Scroll
Unofficial OPPO FAQS: BDP-103 | BDP-93 | BDP-83 | BDP-80    
wmcclain is offline  
Old 08-11-2014, 12:40 PM
Member
 
Naiera's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Denmark
Posts: 89
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 10
If only I could get the basic subtitle, which in my head would be the dialogue translation. But no, I only get the fancy screen text translation...

Thanks very much for looking into it. If only there was some way to automatically delete everything that isn't standard subs, in these files. If I put them in SubtitleEdit in Windows (I'm on a Mac but have XP in VMFusion), they're divided into categories.
Naiera is offline  
Old 08-11-2014, 12:46 PM
One-Man Content Creator
 
wmcclain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 17,920
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 746 Post(s)
Liked: 397
Quote:
Originally Posted by Naiera View Post
If only I could get the basic subtitle, which in my head would be the dialogue translation. But no, I only get the fancy screen text translation...

Thanks very much for looking into it. If only there was some way to automatically delete everything that isn't standard subs, in these files. If I put them in SubtitleEdit in Windows (I'm on a Mac but have XP in VMFusion), they're divided into categories.
I don't do much subtitle editing...I remember Aegisub being cross-platform and capable. Else, I think you'll have to find a fan-sub forum for help. Anime sites?

-Bill
Naiera likes this.

Review older films here: 1979 and earlier | 1980s | Combined reviews: Strange Picture Scroll
Unofficial OPPO FAQS: BDP-103 | BDP-93 | BDP-83 | BDP-80    
wmcclain is offline  
Old 08-11-2014, 04:04 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
htwaits's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Palo Alto, CA
Posts: 24,868
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 126 Post(s)
Liked: 482
Quote:
Originally Posted by seggers View Post
So I wish to speak of herasey for a while if I may. If someone, mentioning no names, had decided to chop in their Oppo (as in selling it on) and replace it with something else, what should they be looking at as a replacement?

Seggers
Find one of last year's Sony players. The new models won't be any better and the price will be a lot lower.

I hope you don't expect an analysis.
htwaits is offline  
Old 08-11-2014, 08:02 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Kal Rubinson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: NYC + Connecticut
Posts: 28,528
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 135 Post(s)
Liked: 166
Quote:
Originally Posted by rdgrimes View Post
The 103 has never supported SACD or DVD ISO over network or any other way.
Nope. Mine supports DSF/DFF over ethernet/SMB from my server. No ISO though.
Same for the 105.
ckronengold likes this.

Kal Rubinson

"Music in the Round"
Senior Contributing Editor, Stereophile
http://www.stereophile.com/category/music-round


Last edited by Kal Rubinson; 08-11-2014 at 09:28 PM.
Kal Rubinson is offline  
Old 08-12-2014, 03:49 PM
Member
 
loop7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Silicon Valley
Posts: 66
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just bought a BDP-103 yesterday and had a question about video settings.

I watched part of two BR discs, a DLNA and local video files and I think I'm seeing what seems similar to the motion smoothing or interpolation effect seen on panels (I have this disabled on my VT60). It's not as bad as what I've seen on panels but did make me wonder.

Is this "clarity" I'm seeing with the Oppo simply the high quality video processing or should I be configuring something?
loop7 is offline  
Old 08-12-2014, 04:00 PM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 28,208
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 705 Post(s)
Liked: 1063
^ There is no image interpolation in the OPPO. If you are seeing a less "filmic" picture quality it may be in the content -- e.g., stuff shot with digital cameras not intended to mimic film.

The best way to check your video settings is to spend some quality time with a video calibration disc, such as Spears & Munsil v2, Blu-ray, available from OPPO.

Be sure to double check your Display's settings really are what you think they are. Displays typically remember such settings "per input", so if you've plugged into a different HDMI input you may not have the settings you expected.

Checking settings in the OPPO itself is simple: All of the Picture Adjustment settings should be left on their factory default (0) values. Make any needed calibration adjustments using the controls in your Display.
--Bob

Anthem D2/D2v/AVM50/AVM50v/ARC1 tweaking guide. -- Need personal consultation/training? PM me!

Last edited by Bob Pariseau; 08-12-2014 at 04:03 PM.
Bob Pariseau is online now  
Old 08-12-2014, 05:49 PM
AVS Special Member
 
JazzGuyy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Oro Valley AZ
Posts: 2,767
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 82 Post(s)
Liked: 102
Note to those of you using Windows 8.1 who would like to use SMB with your Oppo player.

The documentation for today's (8/12/14) second Windows 8.1 update indicates that it addresses issues with SMB drives not working. I have not tested this since I don't currently have an SMB setup. Some of you who do and have this version of Windows might want to do the update and try it. I know that SMB has never worked with Windows 8.x. It may work with this update.

By the way, this is a second optional update in addition to the regular monthly windows updates. If you have automatic updates turned on, it should install automatically after the regular update are installed. If you don't allow automatic updates, use Check for Updates in Windows Update and be sure to install all pending security updates before installing this one (they are a prerequisite, it seems). You may need to reboot several times. You can also get the update file (and see what other issues it addresses) here: https://support.microsoft.com/kb/2975719

JazzGuyy is offline  
Old 08-12-2014, 06:15 PM
AVS Special Member
 
eljr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Futuristic London
Posts: 4,563
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 313 Post(s)
Liked: 1663
Will an OPPO103 connect wirelessly to my NAS and stream my flac files to my theater system? If so, will it stream 24/192 flac files?

What you got back home, little sister, to play your fuzzy warbles on? I bet you got little save pitiful, portable picnic players. Come with uncle and hear all proper! Hear angel trumpets and devil trombones. You are invited.
eljr is offline  
Old 08-12-2014, 06:40 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Kal Rubinson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: NYC + Connecticut
Posts: 28,528
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 135 Post(s)
Liked: 166
Quote:
Originally Posted by eljr View Post
Will an OPPO103 connect wirelessly to my NAS and stream my flac files to my theater system? If so, will it stream 24/192 flac files?
(Answered on another forum) Why not? I can do that with wired Ethernet. So, if your WiFi is up to snuff, it should work wirelessly (but I have not attempted it).

Kal Rubinson

"Music in the Round"
Senior Contributing Editor, Stereophile
http://www.stereophile.com/category/music-round

Kal Rubinson is offline  
Old 08-12-2014, 06:43 PM
AVS Special Member
 
eljr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Futuristic London
Posts: 4,563
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 313 Post(s)
Liked: 1663
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kal Rubinson View Post
(Answered on another forum) Why not? I can do that with wired Ethernet. So, if your WiFi is up to snuff, it should work wirelessly (but I have not attempted it).
my thought was the dac difference not the streaming capability

What you got back home, little sister, to play your fuzzy warbles on? I bet you got little save pitiful, portable picnic players. Come with uncle and hear all proper! Hear angel trumpets and devil trombones. You are invited.
eljr is offline  
Old 08-12-2014, 08:22 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Kal Rubinson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: NYC + Connecticut
Posts: 28,528
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 135 Post(s)
Liked: 166
Quote:
Originally Posted by eljr View Post
my thought was the dac difference not the streaming capability
??? I didn't see any mention of DACs in your post.

Kal Rubinson

"Music in the Round"
Senior Contributing Editor, Stereophile
http://www.stereophile.com/category/music-round

Kal Rubinson is offline  
Old 08-12-2014, 10:00 PM
AVS Special Member
 
eljr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Futuristic London
Posts: 4,563
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 313 Post(s)
Liked: 1663
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kal Rubinson View Post
??? I didn't see any mention of DACs in your post.
i just read on the JRivers forum that the oppo 103 can indeed stream 24/192 Flac wireless

What you got back home, little sister, to play your fuzzy warbles on? I bet you got little save pitiful, portable picnic players. Come with uncle and hear all proper! Hear angel trumpets and devil trombones. You are invited.
eljr is offline  
Old 08-13-2014, 04:40 AM
AVS Special Member
 
pbarach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Northeast Ohio
Posts: 2,664
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 125 Post(s)
Liked: 118
Quote:
Originally Posted by eljr View Post
i just read on the JRivers forum that the oppo 103 can indeed stream 24/192 Flac wireless
It's true, if you have a media server program that will cooperate.
eljr likes this.

AT&T U-Verse Northeast Ohio

Denon x4000, Samsung LED TV, B&W 704 mains, two M&K subwoofers, Oppo 103, etc.
pbarach is offline  
Old 08-13-2014, 05:41 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Kal Rubinson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: NYC + Connecticut
Posts: 28,528
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 135 Post(s)
Liked: 166
Quote:
Originally Posted by pbarach View Post
It's true, if you have a media server program that will cooperate.
You do not need any media server program as the Oppo can pull those files from any shared drive on the network with SMB. DLNA/UPnP are not needed.

Kal Rubinson

"Music in the Round"
Senior Contributing Editor, Stereophile
http://www.stereophile.com/category/music-round

Kal Rubinson is offline  
Old 08-13-2014, 03:38 PM
Member
 
dannybee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Perth,Australia
Posts: 76
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Hi.Just a question regarding the last firmware update for the 103/103D it states that it includes support for 4k50/60fps but only mentions this applies to the 103D model would this mean that the 103D is in someway different to the standard 103 apart from the darbee of course anybody have an idea.
dannybee is offline  
Old 08-13-2014, 04:27 PM
Advanced Member
 
David Aiken's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 640
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Yes, they are different. The 103D did not just add Darbee processing to a 103. The 103 has 2 video processing chips, the Mediatek chip and the QDEO chip. The 103D replaced the QDEO chip with a chip for Darbee processing and aSilicon Image VRS ClearView video processor. That means that there are some differences in video processing apart from Darbee between the 103 and 103D models. 4k50/60fps support is one of those differences.
David Aiken is offline  
Old 08-13-2014, 07:03 PM
Member
 
dannybee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Perth,Australia
Posts: 76
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by David Aiken View Post
Yes, they are different. The 103D did not just add Darbee processing to a 103. The 103 has 2 video processing chips, the Mediatek chip and the QDEO chip. The 103D replaced the QDEO chip with a chip for Darbee processing and aSilicon Image VRS ClearView video processor. That means that there are some differences in video processing apart from Darbee between the 103 and 103D models. 4k50/60fps support is one of those differences.
Thanks David. I wonder if it might be better to just wait and see if oppo bring out a HDMI 2.0 version down the track in regards to 4k?
dannybee is offline  
Old 08-13-2014, 07:08 PM
AVS Special Member
 
NorthSky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Canada - West Island: Vancouver, South Direction: Go East
Posts: 6,892
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2829 Post(s)
Liked: 932
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kal Rubinson View Post
Nope. Mine supports DSF/DFF over ethernet/SMB from my server. No ISO though.
Same for the 105.
If yours does mine can do too.
NorthSky is online now  
Old 08-14-2014, 02:48 AM
Member
 
Daffietje's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 170
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 48 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by dannybee View Post
Thanks David. I wonder if it might be better to just wait and see if oppo bring out a HDMI 2.0 version down the track in regards to 4k?
Why is everybody so crazy about HDMI 2.0
Really, dont believe the hype man, this is no where near a standard and it will be quite some time untill it will be....

Panasonic TX-P50GT60 / Marantz SR5004 / 4 x KEF HTS 3001 SE (front + rear) + HTC 3001 SE (centre) + REL T-9 sub / Oppo BDP-103EU (MultiRegion+MultiZone)
Daffietje is offline  
Old 08-14-2014, 06:52 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Oppo HDMI: Best Connetion Method

Dear All,

I need some advice on the following issue(?) which I was advised is because of my OPPO103.

Firstly I have an OPPO103, an Anthem 310 MRX and a Panasonic TX-P60ZT65 Plasma TV. All of which I just got a few week ago and have been ironing out bugs ever since.

They were connected in the following manner, please see sketch [old.gif]. I had the OPPO set to split AV.


Now I was intermittently having problem with the Anthem saying 'No Signal' or going 'MUTE' when using the OPPO. Now the shop I got the stuff from said, the problem was most likely the way I had the HDMI cables connected, and effectively the Anthem was getting confused. They recommended this way to connect them all up, please see sketch [new.gif]. Oppo now set to Dual AV.

I tried this last night and it seems to work, there are certainly less HDMI cables.

So my questions are
(1) Will the video quality from the OPPO be less based on the new setup since the HDMI from the OPPO is now carrying video and audio?

(2) Should I turn video processing on the Anthem off and just let it passthru the video signal? For some reason I dont think I should let both the OPPO and the Anthem fiddle with the video quality.

Really sorry if this is all a bit 'old hat' but it can be a bit confusing for the poor newbie.

Any help appreciated

John
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Old.gif
Views:	63
Size:	23.2 KB
ID:	211441   Click image for larger version

Name:	New.gif
Views:	57
Size:	26.1 KB
ID:	211449  
johnallan44 is offline  
Old 08-14-2014, 08:27 AM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 28,208
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 705 Post(s)
Liked: 1063
^ The second cabling method -- just one HDMI cable from the OPPO using its HDMI 1 output -- is the "normal" way to hook things up.

The Split A/V vs. Dual Display setting choice in the OPPO only takes effect when you have BOTH HDMI outputs of the OPPO in use. In the second cabling method, since only the HDMI 1 output is in use, that setting is ignored. Best quality audio and video are negotiated on the single, HDMI 1 output, without conflict since another HDMI connection doesn't also have to be satisfied. In the first cabling method, the Split A/V choice is the correct choice as it will insure best quality video on HDMI 1 to your display while also insuring best quality audio on HDMI 2 to your Anthem.

The main reason to use the first cabling method -- two HDMI cables -- is if your AVR won't pass a video signal you want to get from the OPPO to your Display.

The Anthem MRX does not do video manipulation (image processing). It does the basic video steps of de-interlacing, upscaling, and, as needed, color space conversion. But if you have the OPPO set to output 1080p the Anthem won't need to do any of that and so you don't need to worry about extra video processing. Setting he Anthem to Through mode for video will cause the OPPO to negotiate with the TV as to what to send the TV (through the Anthem). This is only valuable if you want *THE TV* to do your video processing.

So, I'd suggest you leave the Anthem set in its normal configuration and set the OPPO to send 1080p to it.

Again, the only reason to use the first cabling method (two HDMI cables) is if you discover you can't pass the desired video signal through the Anthem to the TV. E.g., 3D video or 4K resolution.

The audio muting you experienced with the first cabling method is likely due to the TV seeing the HDMI handshake coming at it from two directions at the same time -- direct from the OPPO and also from the Anthem. That's complicated by the fact that you are using ARC to send audio back from the TV to the Anthem. It's what's called an HDMI loop. There are some things you can try to address that, but again, if the single HDMI cable hookup gets what you want -- through the Anthem -- to your TV, there's no need to futz with that.
--Bob

Anthem D2/D2v/AVM50/AVM50v/ARC1 tweaking guide. -- Need personal consultation/training? PM me!
Bob Pariseau is online now  
 

Tags
Oppo Bdp 103 3d Blu Ray Player , Oppo Bdp 105 Blu Ray Player , Oppo Bdp 93 Blu Ray Player , Oppo Digital Inc
Thread Tools


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off