Official OPPO BDP-103 Owner's Thread - Page 601 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #18001 of 18082 Old 08-29-2014, 04:07 PM
Member
 
athanur's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: San Francisco, CA
Posts: 28
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Problem with audio upon start up.

I've been generally happy with my Oppo BDP-103, but of late I've noticed something peculiar and it's bugging me. I can live with this,but would prefer if there's someway of addressing it. So here goes...

When I am playing some Blu-Rays, Game of Thrones, Season 3, disk 2, for example, I want to watch an episode and upon starting up the episode, there's a distinct 6-8 second lag between the time the audio catches up with the video. After this point on, everything works fine. I have seen this happen with several Blu-Rays and I've noted down the time counter on the Oppo display. Invariably it's between 6 and 8 seconds.

Has anyone experienced this and if so, what is the workaround?

Thank you.

Andy

A PBS mind in Reality TV world.
athanur is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #18002 of 18082 Old 08-29-2014, 04:10 PM
AVS Special Member
 
NorthSky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Canada - West Island: Vancouver, South Direction: Go East
Posts: 1,611
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 749 Post(s)
Liked: 268
Which receiver or SSP are you using? ...Sounds like a HDMI handshake issue.
NorthSky is offline  
post #18003 of 18082 Old 08-29-2014, 04:43 PM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 27,421
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 265 Post(s)
Liked: 851
So called "Automatic Lip Sync Adjustment" in AVRs can screw up if the TV returns bogus data for how much audio delay it is requesting.

Another common problem is if folks bypass the AVR for video, but the AVR adds audio delay anyway as if it is still processing video going through it.
--Bob
Bob Pariseau is offline  
post #18004 of 18082 Old 08-30-2014, 06:34 AM
Newbie
 
Hi-FiOutlaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Portugal - Lisboa
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi all,
At the moment my AV system is :
Samsung LE46C750
Yamaha RXV775
Dynaudio X12 fronts
Dynaudio X22 center
MA BFX rear
BK XLS200DF
LG bdp390
I've got a WD TV Live that i've bought to replace my Lacie Lacinema 2tb that had a lovely sound and picture quality, that the WD doesn't even come close regarding PQ!
All my media is stored in a Synology DS213 NAS, and I sream all the video contend into the WD, but this week decided to plug the internet cable into it and stream a movie just to see how it was... Well all i can say is the PQ is night and day from the WD, but for better!
So at this time I will not imagine myself going back, and i've been reading some threads in AV and come to the conclusion the a Oppo is the best BRP to stream MKV movies and to decode DTS MA, that the LG fail to do, and i can't do FW and some other funcions.
Now my questio is:
Is it worth to buy the 103D or the 103eu will be good enough?
In my country the 103eu with the free zone kit and the is 699€ and the 103D is 819€ With the free zone kit as well.
Hi-FiOutlaw is offline  
post #18005 of 18082 Old 08-30-2014, 06:34 AM
Newbie
 
Hi-FiOutlaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Portugal - Lisboa
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Double post
Hi-FiOutlaw is offline  
post #18006 of 18082 Old 08-30-2014, 06:42 AM
One-Man Content Creator
 
wmcclain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 17,184
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 342 Post(s)
Liked: 341
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hi-FiOutlaw View Post
Is it worth to buy the 103D or the 103eu will be good enough?
The difference is optional Darbee processing. Have you research that to see if it is something that would interest you? See the first post in the 103D thread for review links.

-Bill
wmcclain is online now  
post #18007 of 18082 Old 08-30-2014, 06:51 AM
Newbie
 
Hi-FiOutlaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Portugal - Lisboa
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by wmcclain View Post
The difference is optional Darbee processing. Have you research that to see if it is something that would interest you? See the first post in the 103D thread for review links.

-Bill
Yes i've seen it, and i've been reading on the net as well.
But nothing like having an opinion from who own them, and know the brand which I know little about, only it is a good BRP and the 105 one of the best BRP and Cd player as well...

Last edited by Hi-FiOutlaw; 08-30-2014 at 06:55 AM.
Hi-FiOutlaw is offline  
post #18008 of 18082 Old 08-30-2014, 07:35 AM
One-Man Content Creator
 
wmcclain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 17,184
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 342 Post(s)
Liked: 341
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hi-FiOutlaw View Post
Yes i've seen it, and i've been reading on the net as well.
But nothing like having an opinion from who own them, and know the brand which I know little about, only it is a good BRP and the 105 one of the best BRP and Cd player as well...
You would look at the 105 models only if you need the analog outputs of those models. For digital audio they are the same as the 103 models.

For completeness: the 105 models have additional digital inputs and a headphone jack.

As to Darbee: I like playing with it, but I could live without it.

-Bill
wmcclain is online now  
post #18009 of 18082 Old 08-30-2014, 07:49 AM
Newbie
 
Hi-FiOutlaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Portugal - Lisboa
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thank's wmcclain, that's the question the if the extra 119€ make sense just for the video chip.
But that raises another question as well, why Oppo change from Qdeo to Daebee processing chip?
In my case would it be a better option the Dardee chip to stream 1080p mkv files or the Qdeo is good enough?

Last edited by Hi-FiOutlaw; 08-30-2014 at 07:53 AM.
Hi-FiOutlaw is offline  
post #18010 of 18082 Old 08-30-2014, 07:53 AM
One-Man Content Creator
 
wmcclain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 17,184
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 342 Post(s)
Liked: 341
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hi-FiOutlaw View Post
Thank's wmcclain, that's the question the if the extra 119€ make sense just for the video chip.
But that raises another question as well, why Oppo change from Qdeo to Daebee processing chip?
To give you a choice. Both models are currently in production.

Darbee has generated a lot of excitement and getting it into a player for an extra $100 is a worthy accomplishment.

Qdeo has more sophisticated noise reduction and sharpening controls, mostly valuable for trying to enhance low quality sources. Darbee works best on good quality sources.

-Bill
wmcclain is online now  
post #18011 of 18082 Old 08-30-2014, 08:36 AM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 27,421
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 265 Post(s)
Liked: 851
^ There are other differences in the 103D/105D compared to the original 103/105 as well.

For example, the 103D/105D can output video upscaled to 4K/60 frames per second (to a display that can accept that in YCbCr 4:2:0 data format). The 103/105 are limited to 4K/24 or 4K/30.

The 105D can accept higher rate, stereo LPCM and DSD into its Asynchronous USB DAC Input than the 105.

The 103D/105D can output HDMI DSD on both the HDMI 1 and HDMI 2 outputs. The 103/105 can only output that on the HDMI 2 output.

See the FAQ (link at the top of the first post of this thread) and also the Knowledge Base articles on OPPO's Support pages -- such as this one:

http://www.oppodigital.com/KnowledgeBase.aspx?KBID=73

In general, unless you expect to play poor quality content that might benefit from the QDEO noise reduction processing found in the 103/105, the 103D/105D seems the logical choice. And that's even if you leave its Darbee processing turned off.
--Bob

Anthem D2/D2v/AVM50/AVM50v/ARC1 tweaking guide. -- Need personal consultation/training? PM me!
Bob Pariseau is offline  
post #18012 of 18082 Old 08-30-2014, 10:26 AM
Member
 
dfarina's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 49
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hope this is not a silly question.....Lets say if you have a couple hundred movies on a hard drive,is there a software you can install on the hard drive with the movies that would work with 103 that organizes,categorize,rate,summarizes,and shows if they have been viewed?My guess is that it does not exist,but I thought I would throw it out there
dfarina is offline  
post #18013 of 18082 Old 08-30-2014, 11:01 AM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 27,421
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 265 Post(s)
Liked: 851
Quote:
Originally Posted by dfarina View Post
Hope this is not a silly question.....Lets say if you have a couple hundred movies on a hard drive,is there a software you can install on the hard drive with the movies that would work with 103 that organizes,categorize,rate,summarizes,and shows if they have been viewed?My guess is that it does not exist,but I thought I would throw it out there
No, not something that would configure the contents of an attached hard drive for you. HOWEVER, there are a variety of DLNA servers out there which offer different sorts of value added features. The OPPO would see the server on your house network. The OPPO can browse the contents of the server, but that won't get you any special organization or info. Alternatively you can use the UI in the server (either on that server's computer or via some networked personal device that works with the server) and "push" your selected content to the OPPO for playback.

See the FAQ (link at the top of the first post of this thread) for some starting info on DLNA servers.
--Bob

Anthem D2/D2v/AVM50/AVM50v/ARC1 tweaking guide. -- Need personal consultation/training? PM me!
Bob Pariseau is offline  
post #18014 of 18082 Old 08-30-2014, 11:37 AM
One-Man Content Creator
 
wmcclain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 17,184
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 342 Post(s)
Liked: 341
Quote:
Originally Posted by dfarina View Post
Hope this is not a silly question.....Lets say if you have a couple hundred movies on a hard drive,is there a software you can install on the hard drive with the movies that would work with 103 that organizes,categorize,rate,summarizes,and shows if they have been viewed?My guess is that it does not exist,but I thought I would throw it out there
Another way: you can get pretty small computers that perform those functions. I have this running XBMC connected to an HDMI input on my player: Zotac ZBOX as a Media Player Appliance.

Systems based on the Raspberry PI processors are smaller and cheaper. See the HTPC forums for more.

-Bill
wmcclain is online now  
post #18015 of 18082 Old 08-30-2014, 09:52 PM
boe
AVS Special Member
 
boe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 2,348
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 49
Quote:
Originally Posted by motospark View Post
Quote:Originally Posted by djPerfectTrip

Weird. I just set up Picasa on my 103 today, logged in and everything worked fine. Now it won't even open. Any ideas on how to fix this? Thanks in advance!


Hi, I had a problem with all of my streaming services not having any sound, I split my Video 2nd HDMI going to my Denon Receiver. I had to unplug the OPPO 103 from the wall for a few minutes, that fixed the issue. I haven't reported this to OPPO yet. Try it, I'm using the latest official release firmware.

Moto.
I thought I'd try picasa for the hell of it - couldn't log in.
boe is online now  
post #18016 of 18082 Old 08-30-2014, 10:23 PM
AVS Special Member
 
NorthSky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Canada - West Island: Vancouver, South Direction: Go East
Posts: 1,611
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 749 Post(s)
Liked: 268
Bob, Bill, which Oppo BD player model are you using @ home? ...As your main player. TY
NorthSky is offline  
post #18017 of 18082 Old 08-30-2014, 10:30 PM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 27,421
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 265 Post(s)
Liked: 851
^ 105D as the main player at present, others used for Beta testing and comparisons.
--Bob

Anthem D2/D2v/AVM50/AVM50v/ARC1 tweaking guide. -- Need personal consultation/training? PM me!
Bob Pariseau is offline  
post #18018 of 18082 Old 08-30-2014, 10:31 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Skylinestar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 1,384
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 78 Post(s)
Liked: 60
Can the oppo pan a video up/down?...kinda like the computer's MPC-HC where you can hit Ctrl+numpad 8 or 2?
Skylinestar is online now  
post #18019 of 18082 Old 08-30-2014, 10:32 PM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 27,421
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 265 Post(s)
Liked: 851
^ Nope.
--Bob

Anthem D2/D2v/AVM50/AVM50v/ARC1 tweaking guide. -- Need personal consultation/training? PM me!
Bob Pariseau is offline  
post #18020 of 18082 Old 08-31-2014, 10:42 AM
Member
 
Daffietje's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 138
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 30 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by wmcclain View Post

Qdeo has more sophisticated noise reduction and sharpening controls, mostly valuable for trying to enhance low quality sources. Darbee works best on good quality sources.

-Bill
Been watching 24 season 1 on DVD since yesterday and damn, the picture is quite bad. Also quite alot of noise present.
Maybe I can try some noise reduction in this case?

Panasonic TX-P50GT60 / Marantz SR5004 / 4 x KEF HTS 3001 SE (front + rear) + HTC 3001 SE (centre) + REL T-9 sub / Oppo BDP-103EU (MultiRegion+MultiZone) / DUNE HD SMART H1
Daffietje is offline  
post #18021 of 18082 Old 08-31-2014, 10:48 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
htwaits's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Palo Alto, CA
Posts: 24,781
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 83 Post(s)
Liked: 465
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daffietje View Post
Been watching 24 season 1 on DVD since yesterday and damn, the picture is quite bad. Also quite alot of noise present.
Maybe I can try some noise reduction in this case?
Trying to polish crap is a major challenge.
htwaits is offline  
post #18022 of 18082 Old 08-31-2014, 11:05 AM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 27,421
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 265 Post(s)
Liked: 851
^ Adding Noise Reduction is your best bet. Understand that Noise Reduction can't "fix" the damage -- the information has already been lost, permanently. But it can make the visible effects of that less annoying.

Also check that you are sending out 1080p from the player.
--Bob

Anthem D2/D2v/AVM50/AVM50v/ARC1 tweaking guide. -- Need personal consultation/training? PM me!
Bob Pariseau is offline  
post #18023 of 18082 Old 08-31-2014, 01:08 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Hi everyone, i have a little problem with my oppo103 that i would like to share with the forum but also i'm hoping someone can help me solve this issue. I updated my system yesterday to the newest firmware and it was working fine. This morning i was watching a music video (Blu-ray disc) about half way through, my system keeps skipping to the next track without stoping. I turned it off and unplugged the power and turned it back on, but it didn't fix the problem. Without touching my remote the highlighted selection keeps moving to the right non stop, i took the battery off of the controller but still experience the same problem. please help. thanks a lot
chauavs is offline  
post #18024 of 18082 Old 08-31-2014, 01:16 PM
AVS Special Member
 
hometheatergeek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Georgia
Posts: 2,324
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 31
Quote:
Originally Posted by chauavs View Post
Hi everyone, i have a little problem with my oppo103 that i would like to share with the forum but also i'm hoping someone can help me solve this issue. I updated my system yesterday to the newest firmware and it was working fine. This morning i was watching a music video (Blu-ray disc) about half way through, my system keeps skipping to the next track without stoping. I turned it off and unplugged the power and turned it back on, but it didn't fix the problem. Without touching my remote the highlighted selection keeps moving to the right non stop, i took the battery off of the controller but still experience the same problem. please help. thanks a lot

You could always try a factory reset, which can be found under the Device Setup screen.

Hometheatergeek

aka AL
----------
My Current System
hometheatergeek is offline  
post #18025 of 18082 Old 08-31-2014, 01:19 PM
One-Man Content Creator
 
wmcclain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 17,184
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 342 Post(s)
Liked: 341
Quote:
Originally Posted by chauavs View Post
Hi everyone, i have a little problem with my oppo103 that i would like to share with the forum but also i'm hoping someone can help me solve this issue. I updated my system yesterday to the newest firmware and it was working fine. This morning i was watching a music video (Blu-ray disc) about half way through, my system keeps skipping to the next track without stoping. I turned it off and unplugged the power and turned it back on, but it didn't fix the problem. Without touching my remote the highlighted selection keeps moving to the right non stop, i took the battery off of the controller but still experience the same problem. please help. thanks a lot
Welcome to AVSForum.

Did you do Reset Factory Default after the update? Try that, and if still no good, install the firmware again from a USB stick or optical disc and reset again.

Use Setup to see the version numbers of each piece of firmware and compare them with the numbers shown on OPPO's support page.

Do you have a 3D display? Is anything else in the room emitting an IR signal?

-Bill
wmcclain is online now  
post #18026 of 18082 Old 08-31-2014, 01:30 PM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 27,421
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 265 Post(s)
Liked: 851
^ Forward skips like this during actual playback can also be due to disc read recovery: The player is scanning forward trying to find a place where it can read the disc. If this is only happening on one disc, try cleaning that disc. The disc itself may be faulty, too.

If what's happening is more like a stuck button in the remote, try a factory settings Reset in the player, remove the batteries from the remote and press each front panel button in turn to see if it is physically stuck. If that fixes it (remote still without batteries), put NEW batteries in the remote -- the correct way around -- and see if the problem returns. Your player or the remote may need warranty service.
--Bob

Last edited by Bob Pariseau; 08-31-2014 at 01:31 PM.
Bob Pariseau is offline  
post #18027 of 18082 Old 08-31-2014, 02:03 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 0
1) Factory Reset - didn't work
2) Took the batteries out of the controller, pressed each front panel button - didn't work
3) Reinstalled firmware matches the newest one - didn't work.
4) I do have a 3D display but no IR signal

The selection keeps moving to the right sometimes back to the left....
chauavs is offline  
post #18028 of 18082 Old 08-31-2014, 02:09 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Smarty-pants's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 16,160
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 105 Post(s)
Liked: 129
^ Is that the only disc having the issue?
Are any other discs having the same issue?

~Dave

...Theater Room Setup...
JVC DLA-RS40-U... Oppo BDP-105D... Toshiba HD-XA2... Uverse VIP-2250... Roku Streaming Stick... Emotiva XPA-3... Onkyo TX-SR805
JBL LC2 (x3) ... JBL L820 (x6) ... SVS PB10-ISD (x2) ... SVS 20-39-PCI
Smarty-pants is online now  
post #18029 of 18082 Old 08-31-2014, 02:16 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 0
My home screen selection keeps moving by itself. I haven't try the Disc yet. It moves from DISC to MUSIC to PHOTO to MOVIES to NETWORK to SETUP
chauavs is offline  
post #18030 of 18082 Old 08-31-2014, 03:15 PM
One-Man Content Creator
 
wmcclain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 17,184
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 342 Post(s)
Liked: 341
Quote:
Originally Posted by chauavs View Post
My home screen selection keeps moving by itself. I haven't try the Disc yet. It moves from DISC to MUSIC to PHOTO to MOVIES to NETWORK to SETUP
What if you cycle through the output resolutions? Does it happen for each?

Do you have a different display you test the player with?

-Bill
wmcclain is online now  
Reply Blu-ray Players

Tags
Oppo Bdp 103 3d Blu Ray Player , Oppo Bdp 105 Blu Ray Player , Oppo Bdp 93 Blu Ray Player , Oppo Digital Inc , Seiki Digital Se50uy04 50 Inch 4k 120hz Led Hdtv
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off