Official OPPO BDP-103 Owner's Thread - Page 613 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
 520Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #18361 of 21670 Old 09-23-2014, 09:04 PM
Senior Member
 
gimpy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Arizona
Posts: 366
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 13
I just upgraded to version 3.0 from the play store. I've only had my player about a week. How do I determine if it has the latest firmware upgrade as required by the remote app? Would it have been shipped with the latest update or not?

Edit: I've found how to update the firmware in the user manual. But, I am not currently hooked up to the network, yet. I will work on that later, time permitting.
lanping09 likes this.

Frank, "Still the one"

Last edited by gimpy; 09-23-2014 at 09:14 PM.
gimpy is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #18362 of 21670 Old 09-23-2014, 09:18 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Smarty-pants's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 16,743
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 379 Post(s)
Liked: 242
Quote:
Originally Posted by gimpy View Post
I just upgraded to version 3.0 from the play store. I've only had my player about a week. How do I determine if it has the latest firmware upgrade as required by the remote app? Would it have been shipped with the latest update or not?
IIRC, I think you need the new BETA firmware that goes with the new Media Control app.
If you actually have the new app, you could try it with the current fw you have.
I don't know what might or might not work by trying that, but it certainly shouldn't hurt anything to try it.
Links and details for the new beta fw can be found in the first post of this thread.

~Dave

...Theater Room Setup...
JVC DLA-RS40-U... Oppo BDP-105D... Toshiba HD-XA2... Uverse VIP-2250... Roku Streaming Stick... Emotiva XPA-3... Onkyo TX-SR805
JBL LC2 (x3) ... JBL L820 (x6) ... SVS PB10-ISD (x2) ... SVS 20-39-PCI
Smarty-pants is offline  
post #18363 of 21670 Old 09-23-2014, 09:35 PM
Senior Member
 
gimpy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Arizona
Posts: 366
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Ok, thx.

Frank, "Still the one"
gimpy is offline  
post #18364 of 21670 Old 09-24-2014, 01:19 AM
Senior Member
 
prsut's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Slovakia
Posts: 242
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 57
Media Control for Android is released
lanping09 likes this.

Panasonic TX-P42GT50E, Oppo 103, Schiit Vali, Denon AHD2000 + Moon Audio Blue Dragon V3, Phonak Audeo 121, Vsonic GR07, Fiio E17, Cowon S9, XLO cables :: CalMAN 5 Enthusiast,Chromapure Standard, i1D3, i1Display 2, TED's Calibration Blu Ray Disc v1.0 & v1.1
prsut is offline  
post #18365 of 21670 Old 09-24-2014, 02:29 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 4
My Android App just updated automatically, I will need to check it when I get home to see what new features have been added.

Incidentally I read this review on the net yesterday (singaporehifi.blogspot.in/2013/12/oppo-bdp-103d-blu-ray-player-audio.html)and this guy claims that the PURE AUDIO option on the 103 does not just turn off the video but also improves the audio quality.

I quote from the review :"With Pure Audio mode activated (the display and video sections are shut off), playback quality was pleasant, with a slightly forward presentation of the soundstage. Music was dynamic, with a smoothness to the midrange. Image size was quite big, with emphasis on big picture presentation rather than fine detail. There was a significant deterioration in playback quality with Pure Audio mode deactivated. Sadly, Pure Audio mode is deactivated whenever the Oppo is switched off."

This has not been my experience.

Anyone else notice any difference in audio ?

Last edited by Joey C; 09-24-2014 at 02:35 AM.
Joey C is offline  
post #18366 of 21670 Old 09-24-2014, 03:06 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Mongo171's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Buffalo, NY
Posts: 2,603
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 485 Post(s)
Liked: 1009
Quote:
Originally Posted by Joey C View Post
My Android App just updated automatically, I will need to check it when I get home to see what new features have been added.

Incidentally I read this review on the net yesterday (singaporehifi.blogspot.in/2013/12/oppo-bdp-103d-blu-ray-player-audio.html)and this guy claims that the PURE AUDIO option on the 103 does not just turn off the video but also improves the audio quality.

I quote from the review :"With Pure Audio mode activated (the display and video sections are shut off), playback quality was pleasant, with a slightly forward presentation of the soundstage. Music was dynamic, with a smoothness to the midrange. Image size was quite big, with emphasis on big picture presentation rather than fine detail. There was a significant deterioration in playback quality with Pure Audio mode deactivated. Sadly, Pure Audio mode is deactivated whenever the Oppo is switched off."

This has not been my experience.

Anyone else notice any difference in audio ?
I will assume, for a second, that the reviewer is listening to HDMI Out. For one, that video does not "shut off." It is blanked. You still need the spacing for the digital audio to ride with the blanked out video. Under this condition, some people have reported an improvement in the audio.

"Sadly, Pure Audio mode is deactivated whenever the Oppo is switched off." Happily, Pure Audio is engaged with a button on the remote. The reviewer makes it sound like a major operation to turn Pure Audio back on. Kind of need it to default to deactivated when you turn on the OPPO for video to see where in the world Waldo is.

Myself, I run Pure Audio with HDMI going to the TV and analog going to the amp. I hear no difference.

"I am a Meat Popsicle." - Corbin Dallas, "The Fifth Element"

Klipsch Chorus II (Mains); Klipsch Academy (Center) (KLF-C7 waiting in the wings); Klipsch RS-62 II (Surrounds); SVS PC13-Ultra X2 (BIG BADA BOOM); ATI AT1505 (Amp); OPPO BDP-105 (Blu-ray Player); Panasonic 60GT50 (Plasma TV)

Last edited by Mongo171; 09-24-2014 at 03:11 AM.
Mongo171 is online now  
post #18367 of 21670 Old 09-24-2014, 04:38 AM
Member
 
kellybob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 179
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Does the 103 identify PAL content for BD like it does for DVD? Info screen will display NTSC or PAL for DVD.

How can I tell when ordering a BD if it is a PAL BD? Framerate?
kellybob is offline  
post #18368 of 21670 Old 09-24-2014, 04:39 AM
Member
 
kellybob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 179
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 19
I hear a slight difference for the better wtih Pure Audio engaged.
lanping09 likes this.
kellybob is offline  
post #18369 of 21670 Old 09-24-2014, 04:49 AM
One-Man Content Creator
 
wmcclain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 18,800
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1243 Post(s)
Liked: 587
Quote:
Originally Posted by kellybob View Post
Does the 103 identify PAL content for BD like it does for DVD? Info screen will display NTSC or PAL for DVD.
Yes, the OSD will show PAL or 50hz; I forget which.

Quote:
How can I tell when ordering a BD if it is a PAL BD? Framerate?
It's an issue only on imports, and not really an issue since the OPPO handles them (if they are all-region or region A).

The online listings usually do not specify 50hz or PAL because in other countries players routinely handle that, so why bother?

-Bill

Review older films here: 1979 and earlier | 1980s | 1990s | Combined reviews: Strange Picture Scroll
Unofficial OPPO FAQS: BDP-103 | BDP-93 | BDP-83 | BDP-80    
wmcclain is offline  
post #18370 of 21670 Old 09-24-2014, 05:13 AM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 28,744
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 976 Post(s)
Liked: 1187
Quote:
Originally Posted by gimpy View Post
I just upgraded to version 3.0 from the play store. I've only had my player about a week. How do I determine if it has the latest firmware upgrade as required by the remote app? Would it have been shipped with the latest update or not?

Edit: I've found how to update the firmware in the user manual. But, I am not currently hooked up to the network, yet. I will work on that later, time permitting.
The Public Beta firmware (which is needed if you want to use the new MediaControl app on your iPhone iPad or Android device) will not be available for Network install on the OPPO. This is to prevent people from casually installing Public Beta firmware without realizing what it is.

To install the Public Beta firmware, download the version for USB install from the OPPO support page, transfer that to a USB stick, and install via the USB stick on the OPPO. This is a simple process (we Beta Testers have to do this all the time). Instructions and the download link are here:

http://www.oppodigital.com/blu-ray-b...-77-0827B.aspx

--Bob
lanping09 likes this.

Anthem D2/D2v/AVM50/AVM50v/ARC1 tweaking guide. -- Need personal consultation/training? PM me!
Bob Pariseau is online now  
post #18371 of 21670 Old 09-24-2014, 05:49 AM
Senior Member
 
gimpy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Arizona
Posts: 366
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Thx, Bob. I think I understand how to do it now.

Frank, "Still the one"
gimpy is offline  
post #18372 of 21670 Old 09-24-2014, 06:14 AM
AVS Special Member
 
JazzGuyy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Oro Valley AZ
Posts: 2,883
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 137 Post(s)
Liked: 125
Quote:
Originally Posted by kellybob View Post
Does the 103 identify PAL content for BD like it does for DVD? Info screen will display NTSC or PAL for DVD.

How can I tell when ordering a BD if it is a PAL BD? Framerate?
There really is no such thing as PAL BD. PAL is only a standard definition format. Blu-Ray can have different frame rates (IIRC 23.976, 24, 25, 29.97, 30, 50, 59.94, and 60 are part of the standard). Almost all (maybe all?) Blu-Ray players are designed to handle these frame rates provided the display device also supports a specific rate. Zone B or C BDs may have 25 or 50 frame rate material (usually from video sources like TV programs or concerts) but the bulk of BDs are 23.976 or 24, regardless of the country of origin or region. Some early BDs from regions outside North America contained standard definition material (extras) that could be PAL but you don't see that as much these days. I have yet to see a BD that won't play its HD material on any of the Oppo players, provided it is either region-encoding free (often labeled ABC on the disc package) or you have a region-free mod on your player. The bulk of non-North American BDs are not region-encoded. The ones that are still encoded these days tend to be from smaller companies (Eureka, BFI, Australian ABC, Studiocanal, Arrow, etc.) rather than from the big studios. Sony, MGM, and Disney used to region-code there BDs but most new releases from these studios seem to have dropped this. Amazon UK usually reports whether discs are region-encoded these days.

JazzGuyy is online now  
post #18373 of 21670 Old 09-24-2014, 07:03 AM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 28,744
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 976 Post(s)
Liked: 1187
^ The Setup > Video Setup > TV System setting can be used to control the output of the OPPO if you happen to have an AVR or Display in your video chain which can't handle both /60 and /50 frame rate content. Use the AUTO setting if the rest of your gear is OK with both.
--Bob

Anthem D2/D2v/AVM50/AVM50v/ARC1 tweaking guide. -- Need personal consultation/training? PM me!
Bob Pariseau is online now  
post #18374 of 21670 Old 09-24-2014, 07:15 AM
Member
 
kellybob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 179
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 19
^ Thanks everyone.
kellybob is offline  
post #18375 of 21670 Old 09-24-2014, 08:00 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
Paul H's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Location: Elk Grove, California,USA
Posts: 1,037
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by JazzGuyy View Post
Disney used to region-code there BDs but most new releases from these studios seem to have dropped this. Amazon UK usually reports whether discs are region-encoded these days.
FYI: Disney has recently started to aggressively region-code their "non-North American" 3D BDs starting with Ratatouille 3D while not issuing the 3D version in the U.S.A. The same for Maleficent 3D. They are available via streaming and IMO, they are trying to kickstart streaming via 3D streaming-exclusivity in the U.S.
Paul H is offline  
post #18376 of 21670 Old 09-24-2014, 08:06 AM
AVS Special Member
 
JazzGuyy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Oro Valley AZ
Posts: 2,883
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 137 Post(s)
Liked: 125
Quote:
Originally Posted by Paul H View Post
FYI: Disney has recently started to aggressively region-code their "non-North American" 3D BDs starting with Ratatouille 3D while not issuing the 3D version in the U.S.A. The same for Maleficent 3D. They are available via streaming and IMO, they are trying to kickstart streaming via 3D streaming-exclusivity in the U.S.
I don't do 3D discs so I was unaware of that. Interesting, because they used to be aggressive at region-coding all their BDs but now the standard ones seem to mostly be region-free. You also get cases where some directors want their specific movies region-coded. If you really want to get 3D discs from outside the U.S. that are region-coded maybe it's time to consider a region-free mod.

JazzGuyy is online now  
post #18377 of 21670 Old 09-24-2014, 09:12 AM
boe
AVS Special Member
 
boe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 2,973
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 353 Post(s)
Liked: 168
Quote:
Originally Posted by gimpy View Post
I just upgraded to version 3.0 from the play store. I've only had my player about a week. How do I determine if it has the latest firmware upgrade as required by the remote app? Would it have been shipped with the latest update or not?

Edit: I've found how to update the firmware in the user manual. But, I am not currently hooked up to the network, yet. I will work on that later, time permitting.
I looked just a couple of days ago and couldn't find it although I'm running it on an ipad. Can anyone running V3 let me know if you can search subdirectories.
boe is offline  
post #18378 of 21670 Old 09-24-2014, 09:28 AM
Senior Member
 
gimpy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Arizona
Posts: 366
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 13
I updated the Oppo media control for bdp 10xx. The release is dated September 23rd. Not sure if this is what we are talking about?

Frank, "Still the one"
gimpy is offline  
post #18379 of 21670 Old 09-24-2014, 03:01 PM
AVS Special Member
 
pbarach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Northeast Ohio
Posts: 2,787
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 194 Post(s)
Liked: 126
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Pariseau View Post
The Public Beta firmware (which is needed if you want to use the new MediaControl app on your iPhone iPad or Android device)
Is a new version of this app for the iPhone in the works? (if you know)

AT&T U-Verse Northeast Ohio

Denon x4000, Carver m1.0t, Samsung LED TV, B&W 704 mains, two M&K subwoofers, Oppo 103, Roku 2, etc.
Headphone system: Sennheiser HD600, AKG K701, Burson HA-160, Marantz CD5004, Denon DVD-3910
pbarach is online now  
post #18380 of 21670 Old 09-24-2014, 03:17 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Smarty-pants's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 16,743
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 379 Post(s)
Liked: 242
Quote:
Originally Posted by pbarach View Post
Is a new version of this app for the iPhone in the works? (if you know)
Yes, it should be available in the app store SOON.

~Dave

...Theater Room Setup...
JVC DLA-RS40-U... Oppo BDP-105D... Toshiba HD-XA2... Uverse VIP-2250... Roku Streaming Stick... Emotiva XPA-3... Onkyo TX-SR805
JBL LC2 (x3) ... JBL L820 (x6) ... SVS PB10-ISD (x2) ... SVS 20-39-PCI
Smarty-pants is offline  
post #18381 of 21670 Old 09-24-2014, 03:51 PM
Advanced Member
 
ibre34's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 699
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Is OPPO planning a new model soon? like OPPO BDP-220 o something like that
ibre34 is offline  
post #18382 of 21670 Old 09-24-2014, 04:24 PM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 28,744
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 976 Post(s)
Liked: 1187
^ Let me check my sources....

* shake shake shake *

ASK.AGAIN.LATER.THE.FUTURE.IS.HAZY

--Bob
pbarach and pmil7991 like this.
Bob Pariseau is online now  
post #18383 of 21670 Old 09-24-2014, 04:26 PM
Advanced Member
 
BobearQSI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 680
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 33
Quote:
Originally Posted by ibre34 View Post
Is OPPO planning a new model soon? like OPPO BDP-220 o something like that
Close, the new model is the BDP-113. It is a universal player and therefore will even play all those legacy Blu-ray profile 5.0 discs that people used to use.
BobearQSI is offline  
post #18384 of 21670 Old 09-24-2014, 05:19 PM
Member
 
wilfsdad1965's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Can anybody help me. Does OPPO have any plans to support the HBOGO app???
i have HBO which i love, and i have the OPPO BD and a Sony bluray (because it has amazon prime which the OPPO doesn't).
i want to watch HBOGO to watch old HBO series.
Last night we hooked up my pc to the front HDMI socket on the OPPO and the quality was not great, using HBOGO via the laptops HDMI out.
It is not our home wifi network since amazon prime, youtube etc all stream fine, but watching an episode of Boardwalk Empire thru HBOGO was painful, very choppy video. Obviously it could be something in the laptop slowing things down rather than HBOGO streaming speed.
Amazon Prime app on the Sony BD by contrast is perfect.
I am considering getting a ROKU streamer which will do HBOGO and Amazon Prime, then i could get rid of my Sony BD and just keep the OPPO.
just wondered if anybody else has any experience of the best way to go?
wilfsdad1965 is offline  
post #18385 of 21670 Old 09-24-2014, 08:06 PM
Member
 
philexile's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 69
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Oppo - Upscaler for 480P Consoles

Hello,

I just ordered a 103D and was curious whether anyone here has tried to upscale older game consoles via the 103D? I'm thinking of trying a Nintendo Gamecube and PS2 through component cables. If so: how was the quality and is input lag an issue?

Thank you
philexile is offline  
post #18386 of 21670 Old 09-25-2014, 12:25 AM
Senior Member
 
B 26354's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: SoCal Desert
Posts: 231
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 41 Post(s)
Liked: 157
Quote:
Originally Posted by Joey C View Post
....I read this review on the net yesterday (singaporehifi.blogspot.in/2013/12/oppo-bdp-103d-blu-ray-player-audio.html)and this guy claims that the PURE AUDIO option on the 103 does not just turn off the video but also improves the audio quality.

I quote from the review :"With Pure Audio mode activated (the display and video sections are shut off), playback quality was pleasant, with a slightly forward presentation of the soundstage. Music was dynamic, with a smoothness to the midrange. Image size was quite big, with emphasis on big picture presentation rather than fine detail. There was a significant deterioration in playback quality with Pure Audio mode deactivated. Sadly, Pure Audio mode is deactivated whenever the Oppo is switched off."

This has not been my experience.

Anyone else notice any difference in audio ?
I have Klipsch RF-7 II fronts, an RC-64 II center, SF-3 surrounds, and an SVS SB12 sub.

On my Oppo 103, I have an HDMI splitter attached to its HDMI 1 out, and in order to prevent burn-in on my 58" plasma, I use a 10" LCD monitor to view the Oppo's menus when I'm listening to my music on an attached USB hard drive. Even so, I find the little monitor's display of the Oppo's music playback-screen to be distracting... so once I've selected the track(s) to play, I hit the Pure Audio button, to blank the screen.

But often, when I'm listening like that, I'll press the button for a moment -- while the track is playing -- to see what the currently-playing title is, and then press it again to once more blank the screen.

Doing so -- even on my extraordinarily clear speaker-system -- I hear absolutely no difference in the sound output whatsoever. I've done this many hundreds of times in the past year-and-a-half... and I always listen carefully, just to see if I can hear any change in the sound.

There is none.
Daffietje likes this.
B 26354 is offline  
post #18387 of 21670 Old 09-25-2014, 05:18 AM
One-Man Content Creator
 
wmcclain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 18,800
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1243 Post(s)
Liked: 587
Quote:
Originally Posted by philexile View Post
Hello,

I just ordered a 103D and was curious whether anyone here has tried to upscale older game consoles via the 103D? I'm thinking of trying a Nintendo Gamecube and PS2 through component cables. If so: how was the quality and is input lag an issue?

Thank you
The player has no component input or output. Were you thinking of an HDMI adapter?

-Bill

Review older films here: 1979 and earlier | 1980s | 1990s | Combined reviews: Strange Picture Scroll
Unofficial OPPO FAQS: BDP-103 | BDP-93 | BDP-83 | BDP-80    
wmcclain is offline  
post #18388 of 21670 Old 09-25-2014, 05:41 AM
AVS Special Member
 
JazzGuyy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Oro Valley AZ
Posts: 2,883
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 137 Post(s)
Liked: 125
Quote:
Originally Posted by wilfsdad1965 View Post
Can anybody help me. Does OPPO have any plans to support the HBOGO app???
i have HBO which i love, and i have the OPPO BD and a Sony bluray (because it has amazon prime which the OPPO doesn't).
i want to watch HBOGO to watch old HBO series.
Last night we hooked up my pc to the front HDMI socket on the OPPO and the quality was not great, using HBOGO via the laptops HDMI out.
It is not our home wifi network since amazon prime, youtube etc all stream fine, but watching an episode of Boardwalk Empire thru HBOGO was painful, very choppy video. Obviously it could be something in the laptop slowing things down rather than HBOGO streaming speed.
Amazon Prime app on the Sony BD by contrast is perfect.
I am considering getting a ROKU streamer which will do HBOGO and Amazon Prime, then i could get rid of my Sony BD and just keep the OPPO.
just wondered if anybody else has any experience of the best way to go?
I think the Roku is a good solution. I got the Roku stick that uses the front input with MHL on the Oppo for Amazon Prime and it works fine. You can get that stick from Oppo directly.

JazzGuyy is online now  
post #18389 of 21670 Old 09-25-2014, 05:41 AM
Member
 
philexile's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 69
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by wmcclain View Post
The player has no component input or output. Were you thinking of an HDMI adapter?

-Bill
Hi Bill,

Yes, I was planning on getting an adapter.

Thanks
philexile is offline  
post #18390 of 21670 Old 09-25-2014, 06:16 AM
Advanced Member
 
wase4711's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: outside Chicago
Posts: 999
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 56 Post(s)
Liked: 104
Quote:
Originally Posted by JazzGuyy View Post
I think the Roku is a good solution. I got the Roku stick that uses the front input with MHL on the Oppo for Amazon Prime and it works fine. You can get that stick from Oppo directly.
be careful, as you can NOT authorize HBOGO on the Roku if Comcast/Xfinity is your HBO "provider"
wase4711 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Blu-ray Players

Tags
Oppo Bdp 103 3d Blu Ray Player , Oppo Bdp 105 Blu Ray Player , Oppo Bdp 93 Blu Ray Player , Oppo Digital Inc

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off