Official OPPO BDP-103 Owner's Thread - Page 616 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #18451 of 18473 Old 09-28-2014, 02:16 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Smarty-pants's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 16,224
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 140 Post(s)
Liked: 134
Quote:
Originally Posted by LairdWilliams View Post
You are right - but there is really no convenient way to label an app as "beta" in the iTunes store. You can put "beta" in the name - but then it will be a different app from the non-beta version, rather than a different release of the app - which is a major pain as it turns out.
There is an app in the Apple app store called TestFlight that allows beta testing of apps, but I don't know if Oppo would use it for public beta or not.
It's brand new for IOS-8. For some reason they jumped ship on Android support and switched to IOS.
As mentioned, creating a new app with the label of PUBLIC BETA wouldn't be a bad idea,
except that it takes a long time for Apple to approve new apps for public use.
Any way you approach it, it's kind of sticky from a public relations standpoint.

~Dave

...Theater Room Setup...
JVC DLA-RS40-U... Oppo BDP-105D... Toshiba HD-XA2... Uverse VIP-2250... Roku Streaming Stick... Emotiva XPA-3... Onkyo TX-SR805
JBL LC2 (x3) ... JBL L820 (x6) ... SVS PB10-ISD (x2) ... SVS 20-39-PCI
Smarty-pants is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #18452 of 18473 Old 09-28-2014, 03:51 PM
Member
 
Oubadah's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 130
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Who can recommend a wireless USB keyboard that is known to work with the BDP-103?
Oubadah is offline  
post #18453 of 18473 Old 09-28-2014, 04:17 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Mongo171's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Buffalo, NY
Posts: 1,888
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 76 Post(s)
Liked: 707
I use a Logitech keyboard.

With dual subs, stack'em in the corner and put on a jockstrap. Don't want EVERYTHING in the room jingling!
Mongo171 is offline  
post #18454 of 18473 Old 09-28-2014, 04:30 PM
gsr
Oppo Beta Group
 
gsr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Massachusetts, USA
Posts: 7,494
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 103 Post(s)
Liked: 173
Quote:
Originally Posted by Oubadah View Post
Who can recommend a wireless USB keyboard that is known to work with the BDP-103?
I've been very happy with Wireless Computing products, which work well with the Oppo players (even through a KVM so the keyboard can be shared with the HTPC and other source devices in my system that need a keyboard).
gsr is online now  
post #18455 of 18473 Old 09-28-2014, 07:08 PM
Member
 
spawnofwar1600's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 160
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 30 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Does anybody here use source direct for blurays,I noticed a slight improvement in video processing when I feed 1080p @24 directly to my sony hx 950.
Downside picture losses a little depth and punch but looks more natural.
How do I OBJECTIVILY compare both the oppo and hx 950s processing ?
spawnofwar1600 is offline  
post #18456 of 18473 Old 09-28-2014, 08:35 PM
Member
 
Manic_D's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: WI, USA
Posts: 139
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 23
The new Media Control app has started crashing 100% of the time. Just goes back to iPad home screen, although it is still running in the background. Tried deleting & re-installing, but same result.

Last edited by Manic_D; 09-28-2014 at 08:36 PM. Reason: auto-correct stinks
Manic_D is offline  
post #18457 of 18473 Old 09-28-2014, 09:04 PM
AVS Special Member
 
DanF8500's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 1,064
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 114 Post(s)
Liked: 160
Official OPPO BDP-103 Owner's Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by Manic_D View Post
The new Media Control app has started crashing 100% of the time. Just goes back to iPad home screen, although it is still running in the background. Tried deleting & re-installing, but same result.

Wow! How strange! I ran it for a couple hours yesterday, with no crashes. I was using a combination of usb attached hard drive and SMB shares. Ever since I installed iOS 8 on my iPad, I've had more frequent app crashes than I had with the previous iOS version. I just wish the app would auto-rotate to whatever orientation you have your iPad/iPhone currently at before running the app. It executes in portrait mode, which is the opposite of how I use my iPad. To get it to rotate without having to turn my iPad 90 degrees twice, I minimize the app, which will cause it to immediately auto-rotate in the background to the proper orientation.
Smarty-pants likes this.

Last edited by DanF8500; 09-28-2014 at 09:09 PM.
DanF8500 is online now  
post #18458 of 18473 Old 09-28-2014, 09:04 PM
Member
 
Manic_D's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: WI, USA
Posts: 139
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by Manic_D View Post
The new Media Control app has started crashing 100% of the time. Just goes back to iPad home screen, although it is still running in the background. Tried deleting & re-installing, but same result.
Updated iOS to 8.0.2 & all is good again. I can even see NFS shares now.
Smarty-pants likes this.
Manic_D is offline  
post #18459 of 18473 Old Yesterday, 04:53 AM
AVS Special Member
 
gadgtfreek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 2,843
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 96 Post(s)
Liked: 306
Quote:
Originally Posted by spawnofwar1600 View Post
Does anybody here use source direct for blurays,I noticed a slight improvement in video processing when I feed 1080p @24 directly to my sony hx 950.
Downside picture losses a little depth and punch but looks more natural.
How do I OBJECTIVILY compare both the oppo and hx 950s processing ?
I think feeding the display 1080p/24 with the Oppo set to forced 1080p and 24p, there should not be a difference. 1080p/24 both times. I do not use source direct because if I throw a DVD in, I want the Oppo to send out 1080p/60.

So mine is 1080p forced, and 24p forced, DVD 24p off.

65" VT50 / BDP-103
X4000 / Outlaw Model 7125
Klipsch RF82 II and RC62 II / Hsu VTF-15H (2)
Directv HR44-200 / HR24-500
gadgtfreek is offline  
post #18460 of 18473 Old Yesterday, 05:12 AM
Senior Member
 
prsut's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Slovakia
Posts: 241
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 57
Quote:
Originally Posted by spawnofwar1600 View Post
Does anybody here use source direct for blurays,I noticed a slight improvement in video processing when I feed 1080p @24 directly to my sony hx 950.
Downside picture losses a little depth and punch but looks more natural.
How do I OBJECTIVILY compare both the oppo and hx 950s processing ?
You may want to use Spears&Munsill HD Benchmark 2nd Edition Blu Ray for this.

Panasonic TX-P42GT50E, Oppo 103, Schiit Vali, Denon AHD2000 + Moon Audio Blue Dragon V3, Phonak Audeo 121, Vsonic GR07, Fiio E17, Cowon S9, XLO cables :: CalMAN 5 Enthusiast,Chromapure Standard, i1D3, i1Display 2, TED's Calibration Blu Ray Disc v1.0 & v1.1
prsut is online now  
post #18461 of 18473 Old Yesterday, 05:26 AM
AVS Special Member
 
gadgtfreek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 2,843
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 96 Post(s)
Liked: 306
Quote:
Originally Posted by prsut View Post
You may want to use Spears&Munsill HD Benchmark 2nd Edition Blu Ray for this.
That is what Id do, or version 1 (I have both). Run thru test patterns both ways and see if anything fails on one or the other. Then pick the lesser evil.

65" VT50 / BDP-103
X4000 / Outlaw Model 7125
Klipsch RF82 II and RC62 II / Hsu VTF-15H (2)
Directv HR44-200 / HR24-500
gadgtfreek is offline  
post #18462 of 18473 Old Yesterday, 09:02 AM
boe
AVS Special Member
 
boe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 2,395
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 39 Post(s)
Liked: 49
Is it possible to get thumbnails for streaming? I was curious if there was a setting I might have missed that allows MKV thumbnails. This is how it appears using my Sony for streaming vs. my Oppo.
boe is offline  
post #18463 of 18473 Old Yesterday, 11:54 AM
Newbie
 
wilfsdad1965's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Has anybody ever had this problem.
I have a cd that is stuck in the player. This has never happened to me with any disc player i have ever owned period.
The disc plays fine, when you press eject, the tray is empty and the draw only comes halfway out, i can see the cd in machine with a flashlight.
if i press play again the disc spins up fine and plays and i can skip tracks and play others, so it isn't jammed in the mechanism, it just will not drop back into the tray when you eject.
i am flummoxed.
wilfsdad1965 is offline  
post #18464 of 18473 Old Yesterday, 12:10 PM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 27,594
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 353 Post(s)
Liked: 880
^ Give OPPO Tech Support a call and they'll walk you through your options here.
--Bob


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
. -- Need personal consultation/training?
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Bob Pariseau is offline  
post #18465 of 18473 Old Yesterday, 04:22 PM
Senior Member
 
kendo70433's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Sebastopol, CA
Posts: 433
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by wilfsdad1965 View Post
Has anybody ever had this problem.
I have a cd that is stuck in the player. ....
i am flummoxed.
I have heard of this happening with home made CDs. The label would get loose and gum up the works. I suppose a piece of tape could also cause that. Any chance of something along those lines?

For those more familiar with the OPPO's mechanics, can the front panel of the disk drawer be unclipped? I've extracted stuck CDs before by such dis-assembly.

Ken
kendo70433 is offline  
post #18466 of 18473 Old Yesterday, 04:37 PM
Newbie
 
wilfsdad1965's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by kendo70433 View Post
I have heard of this happening with home made CDs. The label would get loose and gum up the works. I suppose a piece of tape could also cause that. Any chance of something along those lines?

For those more familiar with the OPPO's mechanics, can the front panel of the disk drawer be unclipped? I've extracted stuck CDs before by such dis-assembly.

Ken
that was pretty much it ken.
well my bad eyesight was part of the problem.
The Cd was bought second hand, proper cd not cdr.
Somebody had written on the upper inner portion in silver pen, which was sticky and so it stuck to the holder at the top of the mechanism.
I had to take the top off, then the top off the cd mechanism and then remove the upper holder.
I cleaned it and the cd with isopropyl to remove the silver gunk and everything is working fine now.
in future i need to pay attention to that middle portion on the disc before loading.
wilfsdad1965 is offline  
post #18467 of 18473 Old Yesterday, 06:36 PM
Member
 
Oubadah's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 130
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I got a Logitech K230 wireless keyboard, and Oppo can use it, but you can't type letters in Youtube and that was the only reason I wanted the keyboard. You can use the arrow keys, enter, etc. to navigate Youtube, but you can't type words directly into the search bar. It works perfectly in Pandora, so what's the deal with Oppo's implementation of Youtube? Keyboard searching in Youtube works fine on my Panasonic and Sony devices.

Last edited by Oubadah; Yesterday at 07:34 PM.
Oubadah is offline  
post #18468 of 18473 Old Yesterday, 08:14 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Smarty-pants's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 16,224
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 140 Post(s)
Liked: 134
^It's not Oppo's implementation of YouTube, it's YouTube's app. You will want to forward your dissatisfaction to YouTube's support.

~Dave

...Theater Room Setup...
JVC DLA-RS40-U... Oppo BDP-105D... Toshiba HD-XA2... Uverse VIP-2250... Roku Streaming Stick... Emotiva XPA-3... Onkyo TX-SR805
JBL LC2 (x3) ... JBL L820 (x6) ... SVS PB10-ISD (x2) ... SVS 20-39-PCI
Smarty-pants is offline  
post #18469 of 18473 Old Yesterday, 08:53 PM
Member
 
Manic_D's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: WI, USA
Posts: 139
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by Oubadah View Post
I got a Logitech K230 wireless keyboard, and Oppo can use it, but you can't type letters in Youtube and that was the only reason I wanted the keyboard. You can use the arrow keys, enter, etc. to navigate Youtube, but you can't type words directly into the search bar. It works perfectly in Pandora, so what's the deal with Oppo's implementation of Youtube? Keyboard searching in Youtube works fine on my Panasonic and Sony devices.
If you have a mobile device, you can pair the YouTube app with the Oppo and use that to search.
Manic_D is offline  
post #18470 of 18473 Old Yesterday, 08:58 PM
Senior Member
 
giedrys's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: DTLA
Posts: 403
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Just added new wireless router to my system (Asus TM-AC1900). Oppo is wired to it via LAN port, recognizes new router and works with "standard" features like iOS remote but... it messed up SMB access. When I go to "network" on Oppo, all i see is new router name. No option to choose my PC anymore for SMB playback. It would be nice to get it back.
giedrys is offline  
post #18471 of 18473 Old Yesterday, 09:11 PM
Member
 
Oubadah's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 130
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Smarty-pants View Post
^It's not Oppo's implementation of YouTube, it's YouTube's app. You will want to forward your dissatisfaction to YouTube's support.
Like I said, YouTube registers all letter keys fine on my Panasonic TV and Sony BDP. How is it YouTube's fault if it doesn't work on the Oppo? Has Youtube stripped that functionality out of the newer versions of the app? Why would they do such a thing?
Oubadah is offline  
post #18472 of 18473 Old Yesterday, 09:21 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Smarty-pants's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 16,224
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 140 Post(s)
Liked: 134
Quote:
Originally Posted by Oubadah View Post
Like I said, YouTube registers all letter keys fine on my Panasonic TV and Sony BDP. How is it YouTube's fault if it doesn't work on the Oppo? Has Youtube stripped that functionality out of the newer versions of the app? Why would they do such a thing?
You'd have to ask Yuotube about that. Apps do get updated in hardware sometimes, so what you think may be a newer app might or might not be. Some OEMs seem to get preferential treatment too, so who knows. You ca ask Oppo support too, but I bet they say the same thing.

~Dave

...Theater Room Setup...
JVC DLA-RS40-U... Oppo BDP-105D... Toshiba HD-XA2... Uverse VIP-2250... Roku Streaming Stick... Emotiva XPA-3... Onkyo TX-SR805
JBL LC2 (x3) ... JBL L820 (x6) ... SVS PB10-ISD (x2) ... SVS 20-39-PCI
Smarty-pants is offline  
post #18473 of 18473 Old Today, 12:09 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by giedrys View Post
Just added new wireless router to my system (Asus TM-AC1900). Oppo is wired to it via LAN port, recognizes new router and works with "standard" features like iOS remote but... it messed up SMB access. When I go to "network" on Oppo, all i see is new router name. No option to choose my PC anymore for SMB playback. It would be nice to get it back.
I had this issue for a couple of weeks after I purchased my Oppo. Sometimes the SMB shares would show and sometimes they would not. Then I removed my PC from the Homegroup it was part of and I removed all shares in the Windows Media player. Ever since then, SMB shares have not been an issue.
Joey C is offline  
Reply Blu-ray Players

Tags
Oppo Bdp 103 3d Blu Ray Player , Oppo Bdp 105 Blu Ray Player , Oppo Bdp 93 Blu Ray Player , Oppo Digital Inc , Seiki Digital Se50uy04 50 Inch 4k 120hz Led Hdtv
Gear in this thread - Se50uy04 by PriceGrabber.com

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off