Official OPPO BDP-103 Owner's Thread - Page 621 - AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
 460Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #18601 of 21069 Old 10-13-2014, 07:16 AM
Member
 
Daffietje's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 172
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 49 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by gsr View Post
Gecko85's statement WAS correct.
''Not optimized for audio'' sounds alot different to me than ''exactly the same (except for DSD playback)''
So it may technically be correct but it sounds confusing to me (and probably for other users also)

Panasonic TX-P50GT60 / Marantz SR5004 / 4 x KEF HTS 3001 SE (front + rear) + HTC 3001 SE (centre) + REL T-9 sub / Oppo BDP-103EU (MultiRegion+MultiZone)
Daffietje is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #18602 of 21069 Old 10-13-2014, 07:26 AM
gsr
Oppo Beta Group
 
gsr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Massachusetts, USA
Posts: 7,977
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 369 Post(s)
Liked: 309
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daffietje View Post
''Not optimized for audio'' sounds alot different to me than ''exactly the same (except for DSD playback)''
So it may technically be correct but it sounds confusing to me (and probably for other users also)
The context was "HDMI2 is not optimized for audio compared to HDMI1". That is a correct statement, as long as the DSD limitation of HDMI1 is noted and understood (it's only potentially an issue if the AVR at the other end of the HDMI cable can actually accept a DSD signal, typically only higher end AVR's can).
gsr is online now  
post #18603 of 21069 Old 10-13-2014, 07:33 AM
AVS Special Member
 
jima4a's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Southeast USA
Posts: 1,629
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 103 Post(s)
Liked: 78
I have popping/ clicking of the speakers when going from pause or double speed back to play on my TiVo mini set into HDMI in back on the 103.
Background: on my previous cable box I had HDMI going to my TV and Toslink to my Integra 80.3. I also have a Yamaha sound bar connect to my TV via Toslink for regular TV to keep heat loads down. With the TiVo mini it only has HDMI out so I first just used ARC to feed audio to the 80.3 when wanting surround with the TiVo mini DVR. Going in and out of menus was a pain so I hooked the TiVo to the 103 which has HDMI1 to the TV and HDMI2 to the 80.3. Since then, I get popping when restarting after pause.
What could the issue be? When I first got the 103 I used the HDMI in back as now with no issues- just changed it as I did not have a Harmony remote then and did not like the extra steps.
Edit: Popping occurs with Soundbar or surround system, guessing an HDMI handshake issue.
jima4a is online now  
post #18604 of 21069 Old 10-13-2014, 07:50 AM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 28,482
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 857 Post(s)
Liked: 1113
Quote:
Originally Posted by jima4a View Post
I have popping/ clicking of the speakers when going from pause or double speed back to play on my TiVo mini set into HDMI in back on the 103.
Background: on my previous cable box I had HDMI going to my TV and Toslink to my Integra 80.3. I also have a Yamaha sound bar connect to my TV via Toslink for regular TV to keep heat loads down. With the TiVo mini it only has HDMI out so I first just used ARC to feed audio to the 80.3 when wanting surround with the TiVo mini DVR. Going in and out of menus was a pain so I hooked the TiVo to the 103 which has HDMI1 to the TV and HDMI2 to the 80.3. Since then, I get popping when restarting after pause.
What could the issue be? When I first got the 103 I used the HDMI in back as now with no issues- just changed it as I did not have a Harmony remote then and did not like the extra steps.
In the OPPO, set Split A/V.

In the OPPO, try setting both HDMI Audio LPCM and HDMI Audio Bitstream output (not AUTO) and see if either of those makes a difference.

If you still have (currently unused) HDMI from the Integra to your TV, try temporarily unplugging that HDMI cable and see if it makes a difference. There are things we can look at to fix this if that's the culprit.

Unless you have some requirement to use dual HDMI cabling out of the OPPO (e.g., you want to get 3D to your TV but the Integra won't pass that), simplify your cabling: Cable HDMI 1 out of the OPPO to the Integra and HDMI from the Integra to the TV. Leave HDMI 2 out from the OPPO uncabled. See if that makes a difference.

I'm assuming that you do not ALSO have HDMI from the Integra coming into the other HDMI Input of the OPPO. If you DO have that, then temporarily unplug that and see if that makes a difference.

At this point we are just collecting information. The two most common reasons for pops is that (1) the AVR is not properly muting the digital audio input while it figures out if what's coming in is in fact a well formed digital audio stream -- part of the handshake process, and (2) you have some ground voltage passing between your collection of equipment which means that when the AVR unmutes its Analog audio outputs the signal jumps up to that voltage causing the audible transient.

Isolating (2) is a nuisance, so let's try working on (1) first.
--Bob

Anthem D2/D2v/AVM50/AVM50v/ARC1 tweaking guide. -- Need personal consultation/training? PM me!
Bob Pariseau is offline  
post #18605 of 21069 Old 10-13-2014, 08:09 AM
Member
 
Daffietje's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 172
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 49 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by gsr View Post
The context was "HDMI2 is not optimized for audio compared to HDMI1". That is a correct statement, as long as the DSD limitation of HDMI1 is noted and understood (it's only potentially an issue if the AVR at the other end of the HDMI cable can actually accept a DSD signal, typically only higher end AVR's can).
Yeah true, but I understood it completely wrong.
If you can hear any difference between DSD and PCM is another discussion....

Panasonic TX-P50GT60 / Marantz SR5004 / 4 x KEF HTS 3001 SE (front + rear) + HTC 3001 SE (centre) + REL T-9 sub / Oppo BDP-103EU (MultiRegion+MultiZone)
Daffietje is offline  
post #18606 of 21069 Old 10-13-2014, 08:19 AM
AVS Special Member
 
DanF8500's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 1,543
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 430 Post(s)
Liked: 240
Official OPPO BDP-103 Owner's Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by wmcclain View Post
I'm probably getting my players and outputs confused. I'll try to check it later.



-Bill


Quote:
Originally Posted by FernandoF View Post
Hello Bill and Warrian,



That sounds strange... I'm not at home at this time, but I'm pretty sure that on my 103, with the latest Beta, both HDMI1 and HDMI2 have Sharpness controls which go up to +16. The effect is subtle on HDMI2, but the slider does go up to +16.



By the way, I'm only using HDMI1, nothing is connected to HDMI2.



Can you please confirm ?



Thanks,



Fernando

There seems to be an error in both the 103 and 105 manuals (and "D" manuals too ?) with respect to the video setup/picture adjustment menu and the "sharpness" control. Both manuals state that HDMI 2 sharpness has a range from 0 to +2, but on my 105 (and I assume the 103 is identical), the HDMI 2 sharpness can go from 0 to +16. I know a lot of Oppo owners don't even use those controls and there have been numerous recommendations to keep all the HDMI output settings at 0, so maybe that's why this error in the 103/105 manuals hasn't been noted before.

Last edited by DanF8500; 10-13-2014 at 08:55 AM.
DanF8500 is offline  
post #18607 of 21069 Old 10-13-2014, 08:52 AM
AVS Special Member
 
pbarach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Northeast Ohio
Posts: 2,743
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 170 Post(s)
Liked: 123
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daffietje View Post
''Not optimized for audio'' sounds alot different to me than ''exactly the same (except for DSD playback)''
So it may technically be correct but it sounds confusing to me (and probably for other users also)
The two statements sound a lot different to me, too--especially when you consider that nearly all consumer-level equipment converts a DSD signal to PCM before converting it to analog--and I doubt that listeners can make reliable blind distinctions between DSD-to-analog and DSD-to-PCM-analog, even when they know the speakers and the music sources well, and when they are given enough time to listen to both setups.
Daffietje likes this.

AT&T U-Verse Northeast Ohio

Denon x4000, Carver m1.0t, Samsung LED TV, B&W 704 mains, two M&K subwoofers, Oppo 103, Roku 2, etc.
Headphone system: Sennheiser HD600, AKG K701, Burson HA-160, Marantz CD5004, Denon DVD-3910
pbarach is online now  
post #18608 of 21069 Old 10-13-2014, 09:04 AM
gsr
Oppo Beta Group
 
gsr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Massachusetts, USA
Posts: 7,977
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 369 Post(s)
Liked: 309
Quote:
Originally Posted by pbarach View Post
The two statements sound a lot different to me, too--especially when you consider that nearly all consumer-level equipment converts a DSD signal to PCM before converting it to analog--and I doubt that listeners can make reliable blind distinctions between DSD-to-analog and DSD-to-PCM-analog, even when they know the speakers and the music sources well, and when they are given enough time to listen to both setups.
At least in this case, you can treat the 2 statements the same. HDMI1 and HDMI2 are identical for audio aside from the DSD limitation on HDMI1. But Gecko85 never said anything about them being exactly the same unless I missed one of his posts. The whole point of the context of the discussion is that there's absolutely no reason to use both HDMI outputs in order to use all the video processing from HDMI1 AND get the best audio from HDMI2. Just use HDMI1 for both UNLESS using an AVR or pre-pro that can't handle 3D and/or 4K if your display can handle those formats.
gsr is online now  
post #18609 of 21069 Old 10-13-2014, 10:50 AM
Member
 
Daffietje's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 172
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 49 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by gsr View Post
But Gecko85 never said anything about them being exactly the same unless I missed one of his posts.
You are correct, after reading his posts again I come to the same conclusion. I read his post which said : "HDMI 2 is NOT optimized for audio" but it was a reaction from him on another post which said : "HDMI 2 is optimized for audio". So in that regard his post makes a lot of sense
Sorry for the confusion!

Panasonic TX-P50GT60 / Marantz SR5004 / 4 x KEF HTS 3001 SE (front + rear) + HTC 3001 SE (centre) + REL T-9 sub / Oppo BDP-103EU (MultiRegion+MultiZone)
Daffietje is offline  
post #18610 of 21069 Old 10-13-2014, 12:19 PM
Member
 
sveinse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Norway
Posts: 40
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 13
I'm looking for a way to automate my Oppo BDP-103 and I have the serial RS232 spec. But I'd much rather want to control it over the network. Does anyone know the specs for this? Since there is a remote control app and all. Does this require the latest beta firmware?
jjwinterberg likes this.
sveinse is offline  
post #18611 of 21069 Old 10-13-2014, 01:27 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Gecko85's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: California
Posts: 2,233
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 156 Post(s)
Liked: 95
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daffietje View Post
You are correct, after reading his posts again I come to the same conclusion. I read his post which said : "HDMI 2 is NOT optimized for audio" but it was a reaction from him on another post which said : "HDMI 2 is optimized for audio". So in that regard his post makes a lot of sense
Sorry for the confusion!
Wow, a lot has happened since I've been gone.

yes, my statement that HDMI2 is not "optimized" for audio was a direct response to a poster stating he thought he needed to run HDMI2 to the receiver and HDMI1 to the TV because, as he put it, "the manual says HDMI2 is optimized for audio"...which is confusing at best. The point was, you don't have to run HDMI2 to the AVR to enjoy great audio - HDMI1 does just fine.

Panasonic TC-P60ST60, Pioneer SC-1523-K, Oppo BDP-103D, Pioneer PL-550 + Cambridge Audio Azur 640P, B&W CM1 (fronts), B&W CM Centre, Athena Point 5 Mk II (rears), Hsu VTF-2
----------------------------------------
Sony 34XBR960, Onkyo TX-NR414, Sony PS3, Athena Point 5 Mk II (center and fronts), Wharfedale WH-2 (rears), Polk PSW10
Gecko85 is offline  
post #18612 of 21069 Old 10-13-2014, 01:31 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Gecko85's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: California
Posts: 2,233
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 156 Post(s)
Liked: 95
Quote:
Originally Posted by gsr View Post
At least in this case, you can treat the 2 statements the same. HDMI1 and HDMI2 are identical for audio aside from the DSD limitation on HDMI1. But Gecko85 never said anything about them being exactly the same unless I missed one of his posts. The whole point of the context of the discussion is that there's absolutely no reason to use both HDMI outputs in order to use all the video processing from HDMI1 AND get the best audio from HDMI2. Just use HDMI1 for both UNLESS using an AVR or pre-pro that can't handle 3D and/or 4K if your display can handle those formats.
And that's exactly the context I was using...The original poster said he thought he HAD to use split HDMI in order to get good audio, because that manual said that HDMI2 was optimized for audio. My point was, you don't. You can use HDMI1 and be done with it as long as your AVR can handle it.

Panasonic TC-P60ST60, Pioneer SC-1523-K, Oppo BDP-103D, Pioneer PL-550 + Cambridge Audio Azur 640P, B&W CM1 (fronts), B&W CM Centre, Athena Point 5 Mk II (rears), Hsu VTF-2
----------------------------------------
Sony 34XBR960, Onkyo TX-NR414, Sony PS3, Athena Point 5 Mk II (center and fronts), Wharfedale WH-2 (rears), Polk PSW10
Gecko85 is offline  
post #18613 of 21069 Old 10-13-2014, 01:51 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
rdgrimes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Nuevo Mexico
Posts: 17,099
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 746 Post(s)
Liked: 376
Quote:
Originally Posted by sveinse View Post
I'm looking for a way to automate my Oppo BDP-103 and I have the serial RS232 spec. But I'd much rather want to control it over the network. Does anyone know the specs for this? Since there is a remote control app and all. Does this require the latest beta firmware?
The new app version does require the latest firmware.
The remote codes and RS232 protocol is available from Oppo.
rdgrimes is offline  
post #18614 of 21069 Old 10-13-2014, 02:41 PM
AVS Special Member
 
DanF8500's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 1,543
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 430 Post(s)
Liked: 240
Official OPPO BDP-103 Owner's Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gecko85 View Post
... as he put it, "the manual says HDMI2 is optimized for audio"...which is confusing at best. .

Actually, the manual doesn't say that. His words were his interpretation of what the manual says.
DanF8500 is offline  
post #18615 of 21069 Old 10-13-2014, 02:57 PM
Member
 
sveinse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Norway
Posts: 40
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by rdgrimes View Post
The new app version does require the latest firmware.
The remote codes and RS232 protocol is available from Oppo.
Yes, I have the RS232 protocol. But to save RS232 cabling (and equipment), does anyone have the network protocol? (Or tried to reverse engineer the app interface)
sveinse is offline  
post #18616 of 21069 Old 10-13-2014, 03:01 PM
gsr
Oppo Beta Group
 
gsr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Massachusetts, USA
Posts: 7,977
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 369 Post(s)
Liked: 309
Quote:
Originally Posted by sveinse View Post
Yes, I have the RS232 protocol. But to save RS232 cabling (and equipment), does anyone have the network protocol? (Or tried to reverse engineer the app interface)
If you send a request to Oppo, they'll send you back the document for the network protocol. Just be warned that it's not nearly as simple a protocol as the RS-232 commands are. If you're trying to control from something like a Crestron controller, you'll probably be a lot happier sticking with RS-232, IMO.
gsr is online now  
post #18617 of 21069 Old 10-13-2014, 03:12 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Gecko85's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: California
Posts: 2,233
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 156 Post(s)
Liked: 95
Quote:
Originally Posted by DanF8500 View Post
Actually, the manual doesn't say that. His words were his interpretation of what the manual says.
I know it doesn't say that...which is why I put it in quotes. I responded to him to hopefully clear up his misinterpretation, but apparently it's caused more confusion.

Panasonic TC-P60ST60, Pioneer SC-1523-K, Oppo BDP-103D, Pioneer PL-550 + Cambridge Audio Azur 640P, B&W CM1 (fronts), B&W CM Centre, Athena Point 5 Mk II (rears), Hsu VTF-2
----------------------------------------
Sony 34XBR960, Onkyo TX-NR414, Sony PS3, Athena Point 5 Mk II (center and fronts), Wharfedale WH-2 (rears), Polk PSW10
Gecko85 is offline  
post #18618 of 21069 Old 10-13-2014, 04:20 PM
Senior Member
 
bgoering's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Memphis, TN
Posts: 371
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 130 Post(s)
Liked: 35
All this talk about HDMI1 & HDMI3 & SplitAV and Dual output - I have a question for the group. I am trying to create a setup with the following pertinent components:


Denon 4520CI driving a 7.1 system in the HT
JVC RS57 in the HT
Lumagen 2041 for the HT


Denon X3000 for a 2nd room upstairs driving a 5.1 system
LG TV (no 3D or 4K) for 2nd room


OPPO-103 I would like to be able to use in either room


I was thinking of using the OPPO in "dual" output mode that would both audio and video on both outputs.
For the HT: OPPO HDMI1 -> Lumagen HDMI Input 1. Lumagen HDMI Output 1 -> 4520CI, Output 2 -> RS57 projector (that is recommended by Lumagen)
For upstairs: OPPO HDMI2 -> X3000 -> LG TV


Question is, with both HDMI outputs connected like that watching the OPPO source simultaneously in both rooms -- will I have any degradation of audio or video in either room - I am not so much worried about quality in the 2nd upstairs room.


If I were to use Split AV mode in the OPPO - would I even get any video out of HDMI 2? I think that I recall reading that HDMI 2 may just have audio carried on a blank video signal in this mode?


Thanks in advance
Bill
bgoering is offline  
post #18619 of 21069 Old 10-13-2014, 04:26 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by DanF8500 View Post
Actually, the manual doesn't say that. His words were his interpretation of what the manual says.
You are right. It was indeed my misinterpretation of the manual. I don't know where I read that or why I believed that - I must have gotten confused somehow.

Seems like it caused a lot of discussion :P

Anyway, so I have now connected the Oppo to the receiver through HDMI1 and then the receiver to the TV and all seems to be well. Thanks for all the help

Samsung PN60F8500, Oppo BD-103, Pioneer Elite VSX-33, B&W 685B, B&W 686B, B&W HTM62, B&W ASW610
craygoose is offline  
post #18620 of 21069 Old 10-13-2014, 06:18 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Versions of Roku

A couple of quick questions...

1. Is there a particular reason to prefer the Roku Streaming Stick MHL version over the HDMI version with the BDP-103?

2. The Roku 3 is a bit beefier...is a reason to prefer the Streaming Stick over the Roku 3?
camner is offline  
post #18621 of 21069 Old 10-13-2014, 06:28 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Smarty-pants's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 16,657
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 339 Post(s)
Liked: 225
Quote:
Originally Posted by camner View Post
A couple of quick questions...

1. Is there a particular reason to prefer the Roku Streaming Stick MHL version over the HDMI version with the BDP-103?

2. The Roku 3 is a bit beefier...is a reason to prefer the Streaming Stick over the Roku 3?
The only real reason to prefer the MHL stick is because it's small, compact and convenient,
and you can use the Oppo player remote to operate the player and the stick. Plus you can use the Oppo remote app too.
The newer version of the stick that is not MHL compatible, and the other Rokus, like the Roku 3,
you will have to use either the separate Roku remote or the Roku remote app.

EDIT: One more thing... Oppo does sell the MHL stick on their website and you get it at a good price if you already own an Oppo player.

EDIT2: Welcome to the AVS forums.

~Dave

...Theater Room Setup...
JVC DLA-RS40-U... Oppo BDP-105D... Toshiba HD-XA2... Uverse VIP-2250... Roku Streaming Stick... Emotiva XPA-3... Onkyo TX-SR805
JBL LC2 (x3) ... JBL L820 (x6) ... SVS PB10-ISD (x2) ... SVS 20-39-PCI
Smarty-pants is offline  
post #18622 of 21069 Old 10-13-2014, 09:32 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Thanks for the quick reply and for the nice welcome.
camner is offline  
post #18623 of 21069 Old 10-14-2014, 05:47 AM
AVS Special Member
 
lujan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 2,878
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 202 Post(s)
Liked: 47
Quote:
Originally Posted by Smarty-pants View Post
The only real reason to prefer the MHL stick is because it's small, compact and convenient,
and you can use the Oppo player remote to operate the player and the stick. Plus you can use the Oppo remote app too.
The newer version of the stick that is not MHL compatible, and the other Rokus, like the Roku 3,
you will have to use either the separate Roku remote or the Roku remote app.

EDIT: One more thing... Oppo does sell the MHL stick on their website and you get it at a good price if you already own an Oppo player.

EDIT2: Welcome to the AVS forums.
I bought the MHL stick that is for the Oppo and now I regret it. I don't know when I would ever use it since it only works with the Oppo? I should have waited and bought the HDMI stick which is portable and can be used while traveling, etc.

lujan
761 Blu-ray
19 HD DVD
7 DVD
lujan is offline  
post #18624 of 21069 Old 10-14-2014, 07:37 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
rdgrimes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Nuevo Mexico
Posts: 17,099
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 746 Post(s)
Liked: 376
Quote:
Originally Posted by lujan View Post
I bought the MHL stick that is for the Oppo and now I regret it. I don't know when I would ever use it since it only works with the Oppo? I should have waited and bought the HDMI stick which is portable and can be used while traveling, etc.
The MHL stick works with any device that has an MHL port. It works fine on my AVR which has an MHL port.
rdgrimes is offline  
post #18625 of 21069 Old 10-14-2014, 07:58 AM
Member
 
warrian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 64
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by DanF8500 View Post
There seems to be an error in both the 103 and 105 manuals (and "D" manuals too ?) with respect to the video setup/picture adjustment menu and the "sharpness" control. Both manuals state that HDMI 2 sharpness has a range from 0 to +2, but on my 105 (and I assume the 103 is identical), the HDMI 2 sharpness can go from 0 to +16. I know a lot of Oppo owners don't even use those controls and there have been numerous recommendations to keep all the HDMI output settings at 0, so maybe that's why this error in the 103/105 manuals hasn't been noted before.
It's more that just the manual. My HDMI2 Sharpness Control really does max out at +2. Haven't checked it on the 103D as a bit of extra sharpness would be completely unnecessary with that, but I could tonight, just to see.

None of this is a big deal of course, I just thought I'd give this little anomaly a test drive and see if it wasn't pleasing to me. I've always liked everything about the QDEO except what I perceived as an occasional softness. The very noticeable ringing produced by sharpness +1 on HDMI1 is totally unacceptable to me but 1/3 or so the sharpness is something I'd be willing to try.

I see no effect on HDMI1 when I max out the sharpness at +2 on HDMI2.

________________________________________
Sony Bravia KDL-55BX520 / Pioneer VSX-54TX
OPPO BDP-103D / Xfinity X1 / Klipsch Speakers
warrian is offline  
post #18626 of 21069 Old 10-14-2014, 11:00 AM
AVS Special Member
 
lujan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 2,878
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 202 Post(s)
Liked: 47
Quote:
Originally Posted by rdgrimes View Post
The MHL stick works with any device that has an MHL port. It works fine on my AVR which has an MHL port.
Hmmm? I have a Denon receiver but I don't know if it has an MHL port. Thanks from a fellow New Mexican!

lujan
761 Blu-ray
19 HD DVD
7 DVD
lujan is offline  
post #18627 of 21069 Old 10-14-2014, 11:14 AM
Member
 
sveinse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Norway
Posts: 40
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by gsr View Post
If you send a request to Oppo, they'll send you back the document for the network protocol. Just be warned that it's not nearly as simple a protocol as the RS-232 commands are. If you're trying to control from something like a Crestron controller, you'll probably be a lot happier sticking with RS-232, IMO.
Thanks. I got a prompt reply from Oppo support with the spec attached, so I have to admit that this was easier than expected (compared to other electronics mfgs.).
sveinse is offline  
post #18628 of 21069 Old 10-14-2014, 11:58 AM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 28,482
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 857 Post(s)
Liked: 1113
Quote:
Originally Posted by lujan View Post
Hmmm? I have a Denon receiver but I don't know if it has an MHL port. Thanks from a fellow New Mexican!
The ROKU Stick as sold by OPPO is an OEM bundle, which means it does not come with ROKU's own remote control. When used with the OPPO it responds to the OPPO's own remote control so no need for the one from ROKU. But if you plug it into something else, something that is *NOT* a ROKU ready device -- i.e., configured to expect the Stick and do things like remote control integration -- then you will miss not having the ROKU's own remote.
--Bob

Anthem D2/D2v/AVM50/AVM50v/ARC1 tweaking guide. -- Need personal consultation/training? PM me!
Bob Pariseau is offline  
post #18629 of 21069 Old 10-14-2014, 12:06 PM
Member
 
sworth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 189
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 59 Post(s)
Liked: 15
One advantage of the Roku 3 remote control is that it has a headphone jack. You can actually plug into it and mute your speakers and listen without bothering other folks in your house. That is a brilliant idea. Whoever came up with it deserves a raise.
sworth is offline  
post #18630 of 21069 Old 10-14-2014, 12:08 PM
Member
 
sworth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 189
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 59 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Ha! I posted that comment and immediately the banner ad at the top of the page was an advertisement promoting the same feature!
sworth is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Blu-ray Players

Tags
Oppo Bdp 103 3d Blu Ray Player , Oppo Bdp 105 Blu Ray Player , Oppo Bdp 93 Blu Ray Player , Oppo Digital Inc

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off