Official OPPO BDP-103 Owner's Thread - Page 624 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 199Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #18691 of 18709 Old 10-23-2014, 08:22 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
rdgrimes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Nuevo Mexico
Posts: 16,346
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 288 Post(s)
Liked: 233
Quote:
Originally Posted by cwl641 View Post
Ok so this was the problem I'm having with this Oppo player, changed cable and set the Anthom receiver to passthrough and now it will get 1080P, but still no 3D. and now when I changed the receiver to pass through and change back to the satellite bell receiver it won't play, I had to change the Anthom receiver back to processed. so this is going to be annoying every time I want to watch movies from the Oppo player and go back to the dish I always have to change the receiver back and fourth to pass through & processed. Had a tech come out and he's even confused, the only thing he figures is maybe the Oppo player needs to be downloaded with latest updates or something. Anyone else have this problem or know what to do??
Eliminate the AVR from the mix by routing HDMI-1 direct to the display, and HDMI-2 to the AVR, using "split mode" in the Oppo. If that solves the issues then you've answered at least one question. If it doesn't, then the display itself may be at fault.

There's also no reason why your cable box should need to have the AVR processing its video, but that's a topic for another forum/thread.
rdgrimes is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #18692 of 18709 Old 10-23-2014, 09:18 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Smarty-pants's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 16,290
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 174 Post(s)
Liked: 149
Quote:
Originally Posted by kemiza View Post
I ran a test this morning and it wouldn't stream SuperHD.
Is your ISP service fast enough? Maybe you have a router issue? Do you have the latest firmware installed?
Maybe your player is set to 720p output? Or limited by multiple connected devices, or any number of other things...
Whatever the case may be, Netflix does stream 1080p and the Netflix app built into the player shouldn't have an issue with that in general.

~Dave

...Theater Room Setup...
JVC DLA-RS40-U... Oppo BDP-105D... Toshiba HD-XA2... Uverse VIP-2250... Roku Streaming Stick... Emotiva XPA-3... Onkyo TX-SR805
JBL LC2 (x3) ... JBL L820 (x6) ... SVS PB10-ISD (x2) ... SVS 20-39-PCI
Smarty-pants is offline  
post #18693 of 18709 Old 10-23-2014, 09:24 AM
Member
 
jhw59's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Washington DC area
Posts: 53
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Smarty-pants View Post
^Yes. You are probably getting throttled by your ISP during peak viewing hours.
When traffic on their servers is heavy, they limit the bandwidth intentionally despite the fact you are paying both Netflix and your ISP.
You can easily test it by trying to watch something in the morning or early afternoon hours,
and more than likely it will hit 1080p very quickly then.
Also, you need to check your netflix settings to ensure you're set to stream at the fastest level.
jhw59 is offline  
post #18694 of 18709 Old 10-23-2014, 03:45 PM
AVS Special Member
 
kemiza's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Circle City
Posts: 1,175
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 89
Quote:
Originally Posted by Smarty-pants View Post
Is your ISP service fast enough? Maybe you have a router issue? Do you have the latest firmware installed?
Maybe your player is set to 720p output? Or limited by multiple connected devices, or any number of other things...
Whatever the case may be, Netflix does stream 1080p and the Netflix app built into the player shouldn't have an issue with that in general.
When I play the Netflix test on my Oppo it goes up to 5800 Kbps. But it still reads only 1080 not 1080 SuperHD.
kemiza is online now  
post #18695 of 18709 Old 10-23-2014, 05:47 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Smarty-pants's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 16,290
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 174 Post(s)
Liked: 149
^ The pixels are the same even without swanky nicknames next to them.
gsr likes this.

~Dave

...Theater Room Setup...
JVC DLA-RS40-U... Oppo BDP-105D... Toshiba HD-XA2... Uverse VIP-2250... Roku Streaming Stick... Emotiva XPA-3... Onkyo TX-SR805
JBL LC2 (x3) ... JBL L820 (x6) ... SVS PB10-ISD (x2) ... SVS 20-39-PCI
Smarty-pants is offline  
post #18696 of 18709 Old 10-23-2014, 06:25 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
Keenan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Santa Rosa, CA
Posts: 28,399
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 411 Post(s)
Liked: 429
Quote:
Originally Posted by kemiza View Post
When I play the Netflix test on my Oppo it goes up to 5800 Kbps. But it still reads only 1080 not 1080 SuperHD.
It looks like Netflix has dropped that descriptor just recently.
Keenan is offline  
post #18697 of 18709 Old 10-23-2014, 08:29 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
rdgrimes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Nuevo Mexico
Posts: 16,346
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 288 Post(s)
Liked: 233
AFAIK, in the newest Netflix apps, there is no longer any "SuperHD" designation. Its all just HD, but there are several possible bit rates.
rdgrimes is online now  
post #18698 of 18709 Old Yesterday, 01:45 AM
AVS Special Member
 
kemiza's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Circle City
Posts: 1,175
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 89
Quote:
Originally Posted by Keenan View Post
It looks like Netflix has dropped that descriptor just recently.
That explains it.
kemiza is online now  
post #18699 of 18709 Old Yesterday, 07:33 AM
Member
 
tyler webb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 68
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 16
For you guys that have a F8500 and the Oppo BDP-103 like I do. Which device does a better job of video processing.
tyler webb is online now  
post #18700 of 18709 Old Yesterday, 08:20 AM
AVS Special Member
 
DanF8500's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 1,110
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 139 Post(s)
Liked: 170
Quote:
Originally Posted by tyler webb View Post
For you guys that have a F8500 and the Oppo BDP-103 like I do. Which device does a better job of video processing.

I have a 105, and I cannot tell a difference between my 8500 and my 105 doing the upscaling/deinterlacing on the video signal. For this reason, I set my FIOS DVR to output native video, and send the hdmi signal directly to my 8500, bypassing my 105. I'm sure if you asked this same question on the Oppo forums, you'll get many replies who say to let your 103 do the video processing, because it is superior, but I say let *your* eyes be the final decider. If you had the Darbee 103 (103D), then I would tell you for sure to feed your cable/Sat/fios signal thru your Oppo player to take advantage of Darbee processing.
DanF8500 is offline  
post #18701 of 18709 Old Yesterday, 10:31 AM
Member
 
tyler webb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 68
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by DanF8500 View Post
I have a 105, and I cannot tell a difference between my 8500 and my 105 doing the upscaling/deinterlacing on the video signal. For this reason, I set my FIOS DVR to output native video, and send the hdmi signal directly to my 8500, bypassing my 105. I'm sure if you asked this same question on the Oppo forums, you'll get many replies who say to let your 103 do the video processing, because it is superior, but I say let *your* eyes be the final decider. If you had the Darbee 103 (103D), then I would tell you for sure to feed your cable/Sat/fios signal thru your Oppo player to take advantage of Darbee processing.
I did the same thing except I use DTV. DTV set to Native directly into F8500. The picture just looked cleaner. Even if the BDP is set to direct pasthough it still looked cleaner by passing the BDP all together.
tyler webb is online now  
post #18702 of 18709 Old Yesterday, 10:47 AM
AVS Special Member
 
DanF8500's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 1,110
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 139 Post(s)
Liked: 170
Official OPPO BDP-103 Owner's Thread

^ Wow, for some reason, I thought you originally posted on the 8500 thread. I didn't realize you posted on the Oppo thread....Duh... Sorry about that, but you got an answer anyways.
DanF8500 is offline  
post #18703 of 18709 Old Yesterday, 10:50 AM
AVS Special Member
 
DanF8500's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 1,110
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 139 Post(s)
Liked: 170
Official OPPO BDP-103 Owner's Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by tyler webb View Post
I did the same thing except I use DTV. DTV set to Native directly into F8500. The picture just looked cleaner. Even if the BDP is set to direct pasthough it still looked cleaner by passing the BDP all together.

Remember, even with Direct passthrough, you can't defeat the small amount of noise reduction on the 103's video processor from hdmi 1. Gotta use hdmi 2 output. Actually, maybe one of the experts here can verify that for us...anyone?

Last edited by DanF8500; Yesterday at 10:54 AM.
DanF8500 is offline  
post #18704 of 18709 Old Yesterday, 11:04 AM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 27,738
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 427 Post(s)
Liked: 907
^ HDMI 2 output on the 103 / 105 has no QDEO processing.
--Bob

Anthem D2/D2v/AVM50/AVM50v/ARC1 tweaking guide. -- Need personal consultation/training? PM me!
Bob Pariseau is online now  
post #18705 of 18709 Old Yesterday, 03:52 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
Neuromancer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Navigating the Black IC
Posts: 10,984
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 175
Release date: October 24, 2014
Category: Latest Official Release
Main Version: BDP10X-77-0827
Loader Version: 6U1000 or 7B1300 (BDP-103), 7B1300 (BDP-105, BDP-105D, BDP-103D)
Sub Version: MCU103-05-0916 (BDP-103), MCU105-04-1113 (BDP-105), MCU13D-01-0618 (BDP-103D), MCU15D-01-0930 (BDP-105D), DB10X 131030 (BDP-103D, 105D)

1. Resolved a Color Space issue for the HDMI 1 Out in BDP-103D/105D. Customers reported that if the Resolution was set to Source Direct and the Color Space was set to RGB Video Level, the actual color space sent out was RGB PC Level. This issue has been fixed in this firmware.
2. Resolved a Picture Adjustment issue found on 75-0515 firmware. Customers reported that after changing the Picture Adjustment parameters for HDMI 1, the value of Contrast Enhancement would automatically go back to 0. It has been fixed in this firmware.
3. Resolved a playback issue with regular DVD discs found on 75-0515 firmware. Customers reported that if the "DVD 24p Conversion" was set to "On", pressing the REV (rewind) button within the DVD playback could cause the player to immediately freeze up. This issue has been resolved in this firmware.
4. Resolved a HDMI Audio issue with some 2L Blu-ray Music discs. Customers reported that if the AV Sync was set to 90ms and above, there might be no audio signal from both HDMI outputs.
5. Modified the RS-232 serial control protocol: we eliminated the "#APP FFR" due to the removal of Film Fresh service, added the "#APP BER" to enable access to the Berlin Philharmoniker concert service, also fixed an issue with "#SZM" that could not change the Aspect Ratio.
6. Added support for the “Pandora Premiers” station in Pandora.
7. Improved the Gapless Playback feature, and resolved an issue where the gapless mode could not be enabled for some 96 kHz / 24-bit WAV files.
8. Improved support for CUE files, specifically for CUE files that point to multiple WAV files.
Neuromancer is offline  
post #18706 of 18709 Old Yesterday, 05:42 PM
Member
 
FernandoF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 65
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 10
^ With this new official firmware, is there any information available with regards to the HDMI-2 Sharpness control having a slight effect on HDMI-1 (aka "+0.3 Sharpness") ? Hopefully that is still working...

Thanks !

Edit : Oops, I've just read on the Oppo website that "This Official release is the same as the previous Public Beta release BDP10X-77-0827B". So I assume that fabulous trick is still working, which was the case with the Beta.

Last edited by FernandoF; Yesterday at 05:58 PM.
FernandoF is offline  
post #18707 of 18709 Old Yesterday, 06:14 PM
Member
 
kellybob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 162
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Oppo is aware of the problem (not supposed to be happening), but currently has no resolution.

This is the response I received October 16.
kellybob is offline  
post #18708 of 18709 Old Today, 02:41 AM
Member
 
pevco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 151
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 10
What is the difference between HDMI-1 vs HDMI-2 ?
On the Oppo 103
pevco is offline  
post #18709 of 18709 Old Today, 04:56 AM
One-Man Content Creator
 
wmcclain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 17,513
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 534 Post(s)
Liked: 366
Quote:
Originally Posted by pevco View Post
What is the difference between HDMI-1 vs HDMI-2 ?
On the Oppo 103
HDMI1 uses the Mediatek decoder + QDEO processing.

HDMI2 is Mediatek alone.

-Bill
wmcclain is online now  
Reply Blu-ray Players

Tags
Oppo Bdp 103 3d Blu Ray Player , Oppo Bdp 105 Blu Ray Player , Oppo Bdp 93 Blu Ray Player , Oppo Digital Inc

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off