Official OPPO BDP-103 Owner's Thread - Page 627 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 208Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #18781 of 18783 Old Today, 10:12 AM
AVS Special Member
 
hernanu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Boston Suburbs
Posts: 2,573
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 91 Post(s)
Liked: 179
Quote:
Originally Posted by bd6675 View Post
Good point. The only non gigabit device I have plugged into my router is the Oppo so I am wondering if I am not seeing any other symptoms on my network due to that.
Possible, but not likely, since most people have diverse networks, so there should have been a lot of complaining with this router.

I have two Oppos on my network, a 100 Mbit Vizio TV circa 2010 (great FALD screen), a couple of laptops (one old one) and a wireless printer serviced by the RT66U. All perform pretty well (my girlfriend's computer ran speedtest at 122 Mbit /s ), so the router itself is doing well.

You say you have the Oppo with a static address, have you changed the router to let it give it a static address? Both sides need to know this is happening. So you may need to log into the router and enable manual IP assignment and assign an address using the MAC address.

Otherwise you may be getting address clashes when the router tries to assign the IP address you've already designated. I use DHCP reserved addresses, but you may need to use a static address that the DHCP server is not using.

I thought you may not have since you said you just plugged in and ran with it.

Last edited by hernanu; Today at 10:17 AM.
hernanu is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #18782 of 18783 Old Today, 11:38 AM
Advanced Member
 
bweissman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: California, USA
Posts: 777
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 40 Post(s)
Liked: 37
Quote:
Originally Posted by hernanu View Post
You say you have the Oppo with a static address, have you changed the router to let it give it a static address? Both sides need to know this is happening. So you may need to log into the router and enable manual IP assignment and assign an address using the MAC address.
This is not quite right. A static address is set solely on the device and does not go through DHCP. What you are referring to is a pre-assigned dynamic address, which is set in the router and assigned via DHCP.

OBTW, I also have the RT-N66U and have no issues. There is probably a setting somewhere you need to tweak, but it's impossible to tell from here what it is. For example, make sure Jumbo Frames is disabled on the LAN > Switch Control page.
bweissman is online now  
post #18783 of 18783 Old Today, 11:51 AM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 27,788
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 447 Post(s)
Liked: 916
If you set a static (manual) IP address in the OPPO you need to make sure it is not within the range of addresses the router is told it can give out to other devices when they make DHCP requests. Otherwise you risk the router assigning the same address to some other device, too. Which causes problems.

There are two common ways to do this:

Either tell the router to associate a specific IP address with the MAC hardware address of the OPPO (in which case even a DHCP request from the OPPO will return that), or find the range of IP addresses the router is allowed to give out and pick one outside that. Typically there will be a setting in the DHCP part of the router which says it can give out addresses with the same prefix but differing in the final value within a range.

So if the router is allowed to use 192.168.1.2 through 192.168.1.100 for DHCP assignments then you can safely pick 192.168.1.150 for the manual setting in the OPPO and know the router itself will not also hand out that address to some other device.
--Bob
Bob Pariseau is online now  
Reply Blu-ray Players

Tags
Oppo Bdp 103 3d Blu Ray Player , Oppo Bdp 105 Blu Ray Player , Oppo Bdp 93 Blu Ray Player , Oppo Digital Inc

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off