Official OPPO BDP-103 Owner's Thread - Page 631 - AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
 484Likes
Reply
Thread Tools
post #18901 of 21342 Old 11-13-2014, 05:48 PM
Senior Member
 
Tgterm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 218
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 107 Post(s)
Liked: 18
^^hmmmm...reconnected HDMI 2.... Watching Crackle streaming and no flashing to black. Was doing it before when choosing the episode. Weird.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
Tgterm is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #18902 of 21342 Old 11-14-2014, 12:11 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Mongo171's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Buffalo, NY
Posts: 2,588
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 476 Post(s)
Liked: 997
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tgterm View Post
^^hmmmm...reconnected HDMI 2.... Watching Crackle streaming and no flashing to black. Was doing it before when choosing the episode. Weird.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
Now it's a handshake issue? Those connectors are just held in by friction. Any slight tug or the weight of the cable could pull the connector out ever so slightly. I use small gauge, lightweight, high speed cables.

"I am a Meat Popsicle." - Corbin Dallas, "The Fifth Element"

Klipsch Chorus II (Mains); Klipsch Academy (Center) (KLF-C7 waiting in the wings); Klipsch RS-62 II (Surrounds); SVS PC13-Ultra (Big Bada Boom); ATI AT1505 (Amp); OPPO BDP-105 (Blu-ray Player); Panasonic 60GT50 (Plasma TV)
Mongo171 is online now  
post #18903 of 21342 Old 11-14-2014, 03:17 AM
Senior Member
 
Tgterm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 218
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 107 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Official OPPO BDP-103 Owner's Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mongo171 View Post
Now it's a handshake issue? Those connectors are just held in by friction. Any slight tug or the weight of the cable could pull the connector out ever so slightly. I use small gauge, lightweight, high speed cables.

Maybe...

Tell me if this all makes sense:

1) the cable that was losing video has been in place for quite a while with no issues.

2) the issue started on that existing cable when I went to the two HDMI set up.

3) when I switched the cables, it still happened

4) when I pulled the OTHER cable, it stopped happening

5) after a while, I reinserted the other cable and it was no longer happening

I am using a radio shack cable and one of those Amazon cables...there are probably better choices, but the Amazon cable had been in place with no issues until now.

I'll see what happens again tonight.

Thanks !


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

Last edited by Tgterm; 11-14-2014 at 03:28 AM.
Tgterm is offline  
post #18904 of 21342 Old 11-14-2014, 06:49 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Mongo171's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Buffalo, NY
Posts: 2,588
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 476 Post(s)
Liked: 997
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tgterm View Post
Maybe...

Tell me if this all makes sense:

1) the cable that was losing video has been in place for quite a while with no issues.

2) the issue started on that existing cable when I went to the two HDMI set up.

3) when I switched the cables, it still happened

4) when I pulled the OTHER cable, it stopped happening

5) after a while, I reinserted the other cable and it was no longer happening

I am using a radio shack cable and one of those Amazon cables...there are probably better choices, but the Amazon cable had been in place with no issues until now.

I'll see what happens again tonight.

Thanks !


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
That all makes sense to me. You had a handskake problem. It's now gone. Just make sure there isn't any tension in the cables near the connectors. Check to see if those 2 cables are high speed, hi-def or something like that. More than likely, it seems that the new cable you introduced isn't fitting very tightly into the socket or there is some tension on the connector.

"I am a Meat Popsicle." - Corbin Dallas, "The Fifth Element"

Klipsch Chorus II (Mains); Klipsch Academy (Center) (KLF-C7 waiting in the wings); Klipsch RS-62 II (Surrounds); SVS PC13-Ultra (Big Bada Boom); ATI AT1505 (Amp); OPPO BDP-105 (Blu-ray Player); Panasonic 60GT50 (Plasma TV)
Mongo171 is online now  
post #18905 of 21342 Old 11-14-2014, 11:22 AM
Senior Member
 
detroit1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 498
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 29
I wanted to ask if anyone else has had problems playing stand alone VOB files from DVD, these are 480 files that may have DD 5.1 or DTS audio

the Oppo will start playing and then freeze after 2,3 seconds and then there is no audio and a still frame of the video

this was not happening before as I have played these files in the past on the Oppo


please let me know if you try any VOB files
detroit1 is offline  
post #18906 of 21342 Old 11-14-2014, 11:23 AM
Senior Member
 
detroit1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 498
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 29
I wanted to ask if anyone else has had problems playing stand alone VOB files from DVD, these are 480 files that may have DD 5.1 or DTS audio

the Oppo will start playing and then freeze after 2,3 seconds and then there is no audio and a still frame of the video

this was not happening before as I have played these files in the past on the Oppo


please let me know if you try any VOB files
detroit1 is offline  
post #18907 of 21342 Old 11-14-2014, 12:37 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Smarty-pants's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 16,695
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 360 Post(s)
Liked: 235
From Oppo's Facebook page...

Quote:
Exclusive for OPPO Fans. Enjoy more than 300 concerts with the Berliner Philharmoniker online for free. The current OPPO Blu-ray players come with the Berliner Philharmoniker Digital Concert Hall app built-in. USE COUPON CODE “BPHOPPO7X” TO CLAIM YOUR FREE 7 DAY TRIAL!
jskang, pbarach and david515mi like this.

~Dave

...Theater Room Setup...
JVC DLA-RS40-U... Oppo BDP-105D... Toshiba HD-XA2... Uverse VIP-2250... Roku Streaming Stick... Emotiva XPA-3... Onkyo TX-SR805
JBL LC2 (x3) ... JBL L820 (x6) ... SVS PB10-ISD (x2) ... SVS 20-39-PCI
Smarty-pants is offline  
post #18908 of 21342 Old 11-14-2014, 06:50 PM
Senior Member
 
Tgterm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 218
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 107 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mongo171 View Post
That all makes sense to me. You had a handskake problem. It's now gone. Just make sure there isn't any tension in the cables near the connectors. Check to see if those 2 cables are high speed, hi-def or something like that. More than likely, it seems that the new cable you introduced isn't fitting very tightly into the socket or there is some tension on the connector.

Trying to narrow this thing down a bit...and I do have two mono price cables on order.

But, I am pretty sure right now that the video loss only appears to occur when using the Roku stick in the MHL/HDMI port on the front panel. SACDs are no problem, and Netflix on the Oppo was also okay. Bluray was fine.

So the plot thickens. Not sure that new cables will have any influence on this though...


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
Tgterm is offline  
post #18909 of 21342 Old 11-15-2014, 01:32 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Mongo171's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Buffalo, NY
Posts: 2,588
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 476 Post(s)
Liked: 997
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tgterm View Post
Trying to narrow this thing down a bit...and I do have two mono price cables on order.

But, I am pretty sure right now that the video loss only appears to occur when using the Roku stick in the MHL/HDMI port on the front panel. SACDs are no problem, and Netflix on the Oppo was also okay. Bluray was fine.

So the plot thickens. Not sure that new cables will have any influence on this though...


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
I started with the Monoprice HDMI cables with Redmere Technology. They are thin, fit good and create no stress on the connector.

I'm not familiar with the MHL/HDMI with the Roku stick in it.

But, it sounds like you're narrowing it down.

"I am a Meat Popsicle." - Corbin Dallas, "The Fifth Element"

Klipsch Chorus II (Mains); Klipsch Academy (Center) (KLF-C7 waiting in the wings); Klipsch RS-62 II (Surrounds); SVS PC13-Ultra (Big Bada Boom); ATI AT1505 (Amp); OPPO BDP-105 (Blu-ray Player); Panasonic 60GT50 (Plasma TV)
Mongo171 is online now  
post #18910 of 21342 Old 11-15-2014, 04:23 AM
Senior Member
 
Tgterm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 218
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 107 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Anybody else experiencing periodic video loss using a Roku stick with the Oppo's MHL/HDMI port on the front panel? I am currently set up with Dual HDMI Output set to Dual Display. Thanks!


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
Tgterm is offline  
post #18911 of 21342 Old 11-15-2014, 07:24 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Smarty-pants's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 16,695
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 360 Post(s)
Liked: 235
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tgterm View Post
Anybody else experiencing periodic video loss using a Roku stick with the Oppo's MHL/HDMI port on the front panel? I am currently set up with Dual HDMI Output set to Dual Display. Thanks!


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
If it's only happening with the Roku stick, then it sounds like a wireless issue.
You could try resetting the Roku to factory default and see if that might help too.

~Dave

...Theater Room Setup...
JVC DLA-RS40-U... Oppo BDP-105D... Toshiba HD-XA2... Uverse VIP-2250... Roku Streaming Stick... Emotiva XPA-3... Onkyo TX-SR805
JBL LC2 (x3) ... JBL L820 (x6) ... SVS PB10-ISD (x2) ... SVS 20-39-PCI
Smarty-pants is offline  
post #18912 of 21342 Old 11-15-2014, 12:32 PM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 28,660
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 942 Post(s)
Liked: 1160
OPPO's MediaControl iOS App, v3.0.2, has just pushed out via Apple's iOS App Store.

It includes, "Bug fixes".
--Bob

Anthem D2/D2v/AVM50/AVM50v/ARC1 tweaking guide. -- Need personal consultation/training? PM me!
Bob Pariseau is online now  
post #18913 of 21342 Old 11-15-2014, 12:56 PM
Senior Member
 
Tgterm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 218
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 107 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Official OPPO BDP-103 Owner's Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by Smarty-pants View Post
If it's only happening with the Roku stick, then it sounds like a wireless issue.

You could try resetting the Roku to factory default and see if that might help too.

Thanks for the reply.

Wireless is solid -- again, this all started with the Roku stick I purchased from oppodigital when I went to the dual HDMI setup. Before that, all was well with this Roku stick.

So, I restored the Roku to factory settings twice today...no help. Even had Roku support on the phone troubleshooting. No help. They, of course, said..."call oppo".

If this is an HDMI handshake issue, it sure is a strange one. Only hates the Roku.

So, I sent oppo support an email -- maybe they have dealt with this before. And I have the monoprice cables coming Tuesday.

Tom


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
Tgterm is offline  
post #18914 of 21342 Old 11-15-2014, 02:34 PM
Member
 
vmantas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 30
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Remote control light feature

Hello to all,

is there any kind of reset for the remote? I experience some problems with the light button. Now when i press once the button the light comes up and goes off immediately. I have to press it again to get the light on but when this happens the moment i press any other button it switches off. In previous attempts I managed to make it doing the alternative mode lighting procedure but now it doesn't do that. No matter for how long I keep the button pressed it doesn't show any signs of doing something.
vmantas is offline  
post #18915 of 21342 Old 11-15-2014, 02:45 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Smarty-pants's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 16,695
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 360 Post(s)
Liked: 235
Quote:
Originally Posted by vmantas View Post
Hello to all,

is there any kind of reset for the remote? I experience some problems with the light button. Now when i press once the button the light comes up and goes off immediately. I have to press it again to get the light on but when this happens the moment i press any other button it switches off. In previous attempts I managed to make it doing the alternative mode lighting procedure but now it doesn't do that. No matter for how long I keep the button pressed it doesn't show any signs of doing something.
Did you try new batteries?
vmantas likes this.

~Dave

...Theater Room Setup...
JVC DLA-RS40-U... Oppo BDP-105D... Toshiba HD-XA2... Uverse VIP-2250... Roku Streaming Stick... Emotiva XPA-3... Onkyo TX-SR805
JBL LC2 (x3) ... JBL L820 (x6) ... SVS PB10-ISD (x2) ... SVS 20-39-PCI
Smarty-pants is offline  
post #18916 of 21342 Old 11-15-2014, 03:03 PM
Member
 
vmantas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 30
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Smarty-pants View Post
Did you try new batteries?
Well not really, in my part of the world is 01:00 a.m. now so I will try this one tomorrow or when I can get a couple of batteries, thanks for the hint!
vmantas is offline  
post #18917 of 21342 Old 11-16-2014, 07:45 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Saturn94's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 4,321
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 104 Post(s)
Liked: 410
I'm considering getting the 103, and if I do so would want to get one of the BD/DVD region free mod kits.

I'd like a mod kit that's;

1. Easy to install and uninstall if needed (plug in...no soldering!).
2. Easy to use.
3. Reliable
4. Good customer support/ good warranty.
5. Not affected by firmware updates.

The two kits I'm considering are the ones from JVB Digital and Bluraychip.dk.

http://www.jvbdigital.nl/jvb.asp?cur=2&level=modifications&page=title&title =1234

http://www.bluraychip.dk/product.php?id_product=26

I'd greatly appreciate feedback from owners who have tried these mods. Which one you think is better? Which one best fits the above criteria? Someone mentioned to me they heard Bluraychip can be hard to get in touch with if support is needed. Is this true?

Thanks.

Update: Today I sent an email to both companies to see how quickly they respond. JVB responded in about 20 minutes! We'll see how the other responds.

Last edited by Saturn94; 11-16-2014 at 09:19 AM.
Saturn94 is offline  
post #18918 of 21342 Old 11-16-2014, 09:17 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
gwsat's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Tulsa
Posts: 15,078
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 474 Post(s)
Liked: 705
^^^ Saturn94 -- I enthusiastically recommend the JVB Digital all regions chip. I got my 103 over a year ago and installed a JVB Digital chip shortly thereafter. It has not given me a minute's trouble and has continued to perform flawlessly through every firmware update to the 103
jamese777 likes this.
gwsat is offline  
post #18919 of 21342 Old 11-16-2014, 09:22 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Saturn94's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 4,321
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 104 Post(s)
Liked: 410
Quote:
Originally Posted by gwsat View Post
^^^ Saturn94 -- I enthusiastically recommend the JVB Digital all regions chip. I got my 103 over a year ago and installed a JVB Digital chip shortly thereafter. It has not given me a minute's trouble and has continued to perform flawlessly through every firmware update to the 103
Thanks for sharing your experience.

JVB was very responsive to my email requesting info.
Saturn94 is offline  
post #18920 of 21342 Old 11-16-2014, 10:07 AM
AVS Special Member
 
JazzGuyy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Oro Valley AZ
Posts: 2,862
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 127 Post(s)
Liked: 122
The Bluraychip.dk mod works fine (at least the standard one does -- I have heard of problems with the more expensive one but have no first-hand knowledge). Installation is fairly easy provided you don't mind opening up the unit and temporarily moving a circuit board. Takes about 5-10 minutes. Uninstalling would involve reversing the process. It has never been troubled with Oppo firmware updates. The only downside is that it can be difficult to get any responses to questions from the maker. Emails may take days to get a response and sometimes go unanswered until you remail them several times.

JazzGuyy is online now  
post #18921 of 21342 Old 11-16-2014, 10:14 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Saturn94's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 4,321
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 104 Post(s)
Liked: 410
Quote:
Originally Posted by JazzGuyy View Post
The Bluraychip.dk mod works fine (at least the standard one does -- I have heard of problems with the more expensive one but have no first-hand knowledge). Installation is fairly easy provided you don't mind opening up the unit and temporarily moving a circuit board. Takes about 5-10 minutes. Uninstalling would involve reversing the process. It has never been troubled with Oppo firmware updates. The only downside is that it can be difficult to get any responses to questions from the maker. Emails may take days to get a response and sometimes go unanswered until you remail them several times.
I appreciate your response.

JVB sent me a copy of the installation/operating instructions. Installation and operation appear to be the same for both standard units (I'm not interested in the Pro version). For the 103, installation looks very easy; remove the lid, plug it in, close it up. I do see on the 105 the audio board has to be removed to gain access to the socket.
Saturn94 is offline  
post #18922 of 21342 Old 11-16-2014, 10:31 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Pariseau View Post
OPPO's MediaControl iOS App, v3.0.2, has just pushed out via Apple's iOS App Store.

It includes, "Bug fixes".
--Bob

Hi Bob , with the new bug fixes on the Media control iOS App 3.02,there is a great problem.i use Ipad mini 2, when i select my sourse "server"(win7 pc)the app crashes.Two of my friends got the same problem .Did you try?
ferdy7777 is offline  
post #18923 of 21342 Old 11-16-2014, 10:35 AM
AVS Special Member
 
fmalczewski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 1,033
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 50 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Quote:
Originally Posted by Saturn94 View Post
Thanks for sharing your experience.

JVB was very responsive to my email requesting info.
A cheaper (in price) alternative is via imegstore.com (even cheaper direct from them than via ebay). It can be very easily installed on the back of the player (and just as easily removed), or you can install it internally instead. It behaves same way as the bluraychip.dk one does for switching regions.

(I only have it for my 103 as a backup in case for some reason my 93 has any problems with its similar mod, but haven't had to use it yet besides when originally checking it out after install.)
fmalczewski is online now  
post #18924 of 21342 Old 11-16-2014, 11:03 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
Keenan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Santa Rosa, CA
Posts: 29,402
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 993 Post(s)
Liked: 722
Quote:
Originally Posted by Saturn94 View Post
I appreciate your response.

JVB sent me a copy of the installation/operating instructions. Installation and operation appear to be the same for both standard units (I'm not interested in the Pro version). For the 103, installation looks very easy; remove the lid, plug it in, close it up. I do see on the 105 the audio board has to be removed to gain access to the socket.
I just installed the JVB mod on my 103D and it couldn't be simpler, much easier than the one I installed in my BDP-83. Just plug it into the board in the correct socket, attach to the side of the case and you're done, no ribbon cable to deal with like on the 83.
Keenan is offline  
post #18925 of 21342 Old 11-16-2014, 11:40 AM
Member
 
vabmwrider's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Question MediaControl 3.0.2 crashing on 5S

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Pariseau View Post
OPPO's MediaControl iOS App, v3.0.2, has just pushed out via Apple's iOS App Store.

It includes, "Bug fixes".
--Bob
Is Oppo's MediaControl app working properly for anyone on a iPhone 5S (iOS 8.1)? This latest 3.0.2 version instantly crashes as soon as I tap any network device. I tried completely deleting MediaControl, then reinstalled it & rebooted the iPhone but the app still crashes whenever I select a network device. Basic features like "Now Playing" controls & remote functions seem to work OK. The app seems to have no problem connecting to the 103 itself quickly & consistently. The previous app version (3.0.1?) didn't work right either: it would browse the network devices without crashing but when selecting an album play the first song a second or two, "skip" through all following songs & then actually play the last song. All of those same network files & devices played correctly via the 103's on-screen interface.

I also have a LG 8.3 Android tablet and MediaControl (v3.0.1) on it works perfectly selecting the same network files & sources. Using the 103's on-screen interface always works: I can pull music/video/photos from any computer (Mac & Windows) on the network & their attached external HDD's just fine. No problems pulling files from the Time Machine's internal HDD either. I'm on the latest Oct 24th firmware version & to my knowledge the BDP-103 functions 100% in all respects. The 103 is hard-wired via Netgear gigabit switch & has a reserved DHCP IP address in the router. I have no known ethernet or Wi-fi problems & the iPhone indicates strong Wi-Fi signal strength. My iPhone 5S has no known issues other than Oppo's iOS MediaControl app crashing.

At this point I'm stumped. Anyone have any ideas or is MediaControl in need of an exorcism?

"I wonder if it'd be louder with bigger wires"
vabmwrider is offline  
post #18926 of 21342 Old 11-16-2014, 12:02 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
Keenan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Santa Rosa, CA
Posts: 29,402
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 993 Post(s)
Liked: 722
Quote:
Originally Posted by vabmwrider View Post
Is Oppo's MediaControl app working properly for anyone on a iPhone 5S (iOS 8.1)? This latest 3.0.2 version instantly crashes as soon as I tap any network device. I tried completely deleting MediaControl, then reinstalled it & rebooted the iPhone but the app still crashes whenever I select a network device. Basic features like "Now Playing" controls & remote functions seem to work OK. The app seems to have no problem connecting to the 103 itself quickly & consistently. The previous app version (3.0.1?) didn't work right either: it would browse the network devices without crashing but when selecting an album play the first song a second or two, "skip" through all following songs & then actually play the last song. All of those same network files & devices played correctly via the 103's on-screen interface.

I also have a LG 8.3 Android tablet and MediaControl (v3.0.1) on it works perfectly selecting the same network files & sources. Using the 103's on-screen interface always works: I can pull music/video/photos from any computer (Mac & Windows) on the network & their attached external HDD's just fine. No problems pulling files from the Time Machine's internal HDD either. I'm on the latest Oct 24th firmware version & to my knowledge the BDP-103 functions 100% in all respects. The 103 is hard-wired via Netgear gigabit switch & has a reserved DHCP IP address in the router. I have no known ethernet or Wi-fi problems & the iPhone indicates strong Wi-Fi signal strength. My iPhone 5S has no known issues other than Oppo's iOS MediaControl app crashing.

At this point I'm stumped. Anyone have any ideas or is MediaControl in need of an exorcism?
Bob already posted that apparently it is in fact, broken and Oppo is working on it.
Keenan is offline  
post #18927 of 21342 Old 11-16-2014, 04:06 PM
Senior Member
 
Tgterm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 218
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 107 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Official OPPO BDP-103 Owner's Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tgterm View Post
Anybody else experiencing periodic video loss using a Roku stick with the Oppo's MHL/HDMI port on the front panel? I am currently set up with Dual HDMI Output set to Dual Display. Thanks!


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

I am trying to get a bit more clarification from Oppo support, but it sounds like Oppo support is saying that if I want to set it up this way, that I have to live with the problem:

"The problem is if you have HDMI 1 and HDMI 2 connected at the same time through the receiver, then if you use Split A/V, the player may not produce audio through HDMI 1 as the HDMI 2 may have a hot sync, and if you use Dual Display, if the EDID handshake with HDMI 2 is not done properly, then you will get stereo audio only.

So in your current configuration, since you want different DSPs to be enabled, you will need to connect with HDMI 1 and HDMI 2 to the receiver directly, and set the player to Dual Display instead of Split A/V and hope that the EDID handshakes do not make HDMI 1 produce stereo only audio.

The HDCP handshakes are causing the the issues with the Roku Streaming Stick (RSS). So in this case, you will need to remove the HDMI cable from HDMI 2 when you want to use the RSS."

Tom


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

Last edited by Tgterm; 11-16-2014 at 04:09 PM.
Tgterm is offline  
post #18928 of 21342 Old 11-16-2014, 04:41 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Mongo171's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Buffalo, NY
Posts: 2,588
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 476 Post(s)
Liked: 997
Sounds like a hardware limitation with 3 HDMI connections on the OPPO. Is there a way to turn off the RSS so the OPPO sees no connection on the front MHL/HDMI input?

"I am a Meat Popsicle." - Corbin Dallas, "The Fifth Element"

Klipsch Chorus II (Mains); Klipsch Academy (Center) (KLF-C7 waiting in the wings); Klipsch RS-62 II (Surrounds); SVS PC13-Ultra (Big Bada Boom); ATI AT1505 (Amp); OPPO BDP-105 (Blu-ray Player); Panasonic 60GT50 (Plasma TV)
Mongo171 is online now  
post #18929 of 21342 Old 11-16-2014, 04:53 PM
Senior Member
 
Tgterm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 218
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 107 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Official OPPO BDP-103 Owner's Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mongo171 View Post
Sounds like a hardware limitation with 3 HDMI connections on the OPPO. Is there a way to turn off the RSS so the OPPO sees no connection on the front MHL/HDMI input?

No separate power on the RSS. Looks like I am condemned to unplugging HDMI 2 for a few seconds in order to use the RSS...unless the new cables make a difference. It didn't seem like Oppo support had a better answer...or was that interested...at this time...

I guess this is the end of my discussion with Oppo support on this issue...they said "Unfortunately the player was not designed to be connected in the manner which you are connected as there is the risk of EDID handshakes not working properly. Since they are, and you find that removing the HDMI 2 cable fixes the issue, then you will need to remove the HDMI 2 cable when using the RSS."

Sigh.

Tom


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

Last edited by Tgterm; 11-16-2014 at 05:00 PM.
Tgterm is offline  
post #18930 of 21342 Old 11-16-2014, 05:13 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Mongo171's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Buffalo, NY
Posts: 2,588
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 476 Post(s)
Liked: 997
Yeah. Sorry, Tom.

The thing about problems like yours is that it is now a known issue with OPPO and they "may" correct it in the next generation of players. HDMI is known to have shaky handshake issues. I'm sure the industry will work on it for the next generation of HDMI or whatever other connection system they develop.

Scott
Tgterm likes this.

"I am a Meat Popsicle." - Corbin Dallas, "The Fifth Element"

Klipsch Chorus II (Mains); Klipsch Academy (Center) (KLF-C7 waiting in the wings); Klipsch RS-62 II (Surrounds); SVS PC13-Ultra (Big Bada Boom); ATI AT1505 (Amp); OPPO BDP-105 (Blu-ray Player); Panasonic 60GT50 (Plasma TV)
Mongo171 is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Blu-ray Players

Tags
Oppo Bdp 103 3d Blu Ray Player , Oppo Bdp 105 Blu Ray Player , Oppo Bdp 93 Blu Ray Player , Oppo Digital Inc

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off