Official OPPO BDP-103 Owner's Thread - Page 647 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 287Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #19381 of 19395 Old Today, 02:22 PM
Member
 
steviebstrummin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 92
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Probably more of a question for Netflix, but thought I'd post here too.

I have my Oppo BDP-103 connected via ethernet to the Internet and HDMI to my 4K capable TV. The TV is also connected to the Internet via Ethernet. I use a 75/75 FIOS connection.

I just upgraded to the Ultra HD / 4K Netflix service and when I access Netflix via my (smart) TV I do get the 4K feed. However when I access Netflix via my Oppo I do not get the 4K feed.

Again both devices (TV and Oppo) are hard wired to my router running these high speeds.

Anyone understand why?
steviebstrummin is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #19382 of 19395 Old Today, 02:31 PM
One-Man Content Creator
 
wmcclain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 17,776
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 671 Post(s)
Liked: 389
Quote:
Originally Posted by steviebstrummin View Post
Probably more of a question for Netflix, but thought I'd post here too.

I have my Oppo BDP-103 connected via ethernet to the Internet and HDMI to my 4K capable TV. The TV is also connected to the Internet via Ethernet. I use a 75/75 FIOS connection.

I just upgraded to the Ultra HD / 4K Netflix service and when I access Netflix via my (smart) TV I do get the 4K feed. However when I access Netflix via my Oppo I do not get the 4K feed.

Again both devices (TV and Oppo) are hard wired to my router running these high speeds.

Anyone understand why?
The OPPO does not accept any 4K sources, it only upscales to 4K.

-Bill

Review older films here: 1979 and earlier | 1980s | Combined reviews: Strange Picture Scroll
Unofficial OPPO FAQS: BDP-103 | BDP-93 | BDP-83 | BDP-80    
wmcclain is online now  
post #19383 of 19395 Old Today, 02:49 PM
Member
 
steviebstrummin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 92
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by wmcclain View Post
The OPPO does not accept any 4K sources, it only upscales to 4K.

-Bill
Thanks Bill. So then from a PQ standpoint, is it a moot point as the Oppo upscales to 4K anyway?
steviebstrummin is online now  
post #19384 of 19395 Old Today, 02:53 PM
AVS Special Member
 
NorthSky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Canada - West Island: Vancouver, South Direction: Go East
Posts: 5,368
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2282 Post(s)
Liked: 677
Quote:
Originally Posted by steviebstrummin View Post
Probably more of a question for Netflix, but thought I'd post here too.

I have my Oppo BDP-103 connected via ethernet to the Internet and HDMI to my 4K capable TV. The TV is also connected to the Internet via Ethernet. I use a 75/75 FIOS connection.

I just upgraded to the Ultra HD / 4K Netflix service and when I access Netflix via my (smart) TV I do get the 4K feed. However when I access Netflix via my Oppo I do not get the 4K feed.

Again both devices (TV and Oppo) are hard wired to my router running these high speeds.

Anyone understand why?
Your smart 4K TV, a Samsung one? ...Or LG (Life's Good)?
NorthSky is online now  
post #19385 of 19395 Old Today, 02:54 PM
One-Man Content Creator
 
wmcclain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 17,776
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 671 Post(s)
Liked: 389
Quote:
Originally Posted by steviebstrummin View Post
Thanks Bill. So then from a PQ standpoint, is it a moot point as the Oppo upscales to 4K anyway?
It gives you a choice as to which device does the scaling, the player or the display. One might be better than the other.

It's not moot in that a 1080 image upscaled to 4K cannot be the same as a quality 4K source. I haven't seen Netflix 4k so can't speak as to its quality.

-Bill

Review older films here: 1979 and earlier | 1980s | Combined reviews: Strange Picture Scroll
Unofficial OPPO FAQS: BDP-103 | BDP-93 | BDP-83 | BDP-80    
wmcclain is online now  
post #19386 of 19395 Old Today, 02:55 PM
AVS Special Member
 
NorthSky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Canada - West Island: Vancouver, South Direction: Go East
Posts: 5,368
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2282 Post(s)
Liked: 677
Quote:
Originally Posted by steviebstrummin View Post
Thanks Bill. So then from a PQ standpoint, is it a moot point as the Oppo upscales to 4K anyway?
Not the 103...the 113 yes.

* My 103 doesn't upscale to 4K?

Last edited by NorthSky; Today at 03:01 PM.
NorthSky is online now  
post #19387 of 19395 Old Today, 02:58 PM
AVS Special Member
 
NorthSky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Canada - West Island: Vancouver, South Direction: Go East
Posts: 5,368
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2282 Post(s)
Liked: 677
By the way, Netflix is 480p or 720p (in most places)?

And to get "true" 1080p, do you need to live in New York, Los Angeles, or Miami?

Netflix 4K??? Really? What kind of Ethernet speed do you need, 10000Mbps?

Last, Netflix 3D, only available from some TV brands, right?
NorthSky is online now  
post #19388 of 19395 Old Today, 03:10 PM
Member
 
steviebstrummin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 92
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by northsky View Post
your smart 4k tv, a samsung one? ...or lg (life's good)?
sony
steviebstrummin is online now  
post #19389 of 19395 Old Today, 03:12 PM
AVS Special Member
 
NorthSky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Canada - West Island: Vancouver, South Direction: Go East
Posts: 5,368
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2282 Post(s)
Liked: 677
Quote:
Originally Posted by steviebstrummin View Post
sony
Ahhhh, the best!

* Did Sony just cancel a movie @ the theater recently, a comedy?
NorthSky is online now  
post #19390 of 19395 Old Today, 03:20 PM
Member
 
steviebstrummin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 92
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by NorthSky View Post
Ahhhh, the best!

* Did Sony just cancel a movie @ the theater recently, a comedy?
Thanks I agree.

Yes they did. Some would say it was a comedy but not my cup of tea.
steviebstrummin is online now  
post #19391 of 19395 Old Today, 03:55 PM
AVS Special Member
 
NorthSky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Canada - West Island: Vancouver, South Direction: Go East
Posts: 5,368
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2282 Post(s)
Liked: 677
'The Interview' ... 10/10 @ IMDb!

* Seth Rogen is Canadian.
NorthSky is online now  
post #19392 of 19395 Old Today, 04:08 PM
gsr
Oppo Beta Group
 
gsr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Massachusetts, USA
Posts: 7,692
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 218 Post(s)
Liked: 229
Let's try to stay on topic, please...
gsr is online now  
post #19393 of 19395 Old Today, 04:13 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Saturn94's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 4,251
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 69 Post(s)
Liked: 384
Quote:
Originally Posted by donottosmeok View Post
Hi, please forgive if I'm in the wrong forum. I just bought an OPPO BDP-103 as both a Blu-ray and CD/SACD player. For Blu-ray, the 103 is connected with HDMI to a Sony KDL-55W900A HDTV. For 2-channel analog CD/SACD, it is connected with analog cables to a Carver HR-752 receiver/preamp. (The Carver does not have HDMI inputs/outputs.)


Apparently the TV (or player?--one or the other) attempts random HDMI "handshakes" related to DHCP. These "handshakes" occur even when the TV is off.


As a result, every "handshake" results in a 4-5 second audio dropout...while I'm listening to 2-channel analog stereo!


OPPO tried to troubleshoot the issue with me by email for several days. However, the only recommended solution so far is to "always leave the TV ON...use Pure Audio to try to reduce energy consumption," or, "remove the HDMI cable completely from the player."


I'd rather not leave the TV on; that wastes electricity. I'd also rather not constantly remove/replace the HDMI cable each and every time I want to listen to 2-channel audio. For me, those are both very undesirable solutions...


Does any forum member have the same or very similar setup (OPPO connected to Sony TV with HDMI, and to analog receiver/preamp with analog cables)?


If you have a similar setup...have you figured out how to eliminate the "handshake" problem, without leaving the TV on, or without removing the HDMI cable? (For example, is there a setting on either the KDL-55W900A or BDP-103 to temporarily "turn off" HDMI handshakes?)


I like the player; but this characteristic prevents me from "loving" it. I would appreciate any tested, proven suggestions...
Quote:
Originally Posted by rdgrimes View Post
Its not clear from your description whether this handshake occurs when you shut off the TV (normal) or if its happening randomly after the TV is off (not normal). If it the later, the TV is at fault and its a perplexing issue. See if the TV has settings for HDMI CEC that can be turned off, or any other standby settings that might be keeping the HDMI port active, You could also try switching the TV to a different input before shutting it off,
I have a setup like that; 103 connected to TV (Pioneer) via HDMI, audio from 103 is analog to my non-HDMI pre/pro. I have not experienced that issue.

I suspect like rdgrimes said it's likely the TV. Btw, I have CEC turned off.
Saturn94 is online now  
post #19394 of 19395 Old Today, 04:16 PM
AVS Special Member
 
NorthSky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Canada - West Island: Vancouver, South Direction: Go East
Posts: 5,368
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2282 Post(s)
Liked: 677
Quote:
Originally Posted by gsr View Post
Let's try to stay on topic, please...
I agree, particularly with this one.
NorthSky is online now  
post #19395 of 19395 Old Today, 04:23 PM
AVS Special Member
 
NorthSky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Canada - West Island: Vancouver, South Direction: Go East
Posts: 5,368
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2282 Post(s)
Liked: 677
Quote:
Originally Posted by Saturn94 View Post
I have a setup like that; 103 connected to TV (Pioneer) via HDMI, audio from 103 is analog to my non-HDMI pre/pro. I have not experienced that issue.

I suspect like rdgrimes said it's likely the TV. Btw, I have CEC turned off.
Very strange, even with his Sony TV turned off. ...Bad Sony TV?
NorthSky is online now  
Reply Blu-ray Players

Tags
Oppo Bdp 103 3d Blu Ray Player , Oppo Bdp 105 Blu Ray Player , Oppo Bdp 93 Blu Ray Player , Oppo Digital Inc

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off