Official OPPO BDP-103 Owner's Thread - Page 647 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 287Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #19381 of 19401 Old Yesterday, 02:22 PM
Member
 
steviebstrummin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 92
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Probably more of a question for Netflix, but thought I'd post here too.

I have my Oppo BDP-103 connected via ethernet to the Internet and HDMI to my 4K capable TV. The TV is also connected to the Internet via Ethernet. I use a 75/75 FIOS connection.

I just upgraded to the Ultra HD / 4K Netflix service and when I access Netflix via my (smart) TV I do get the 4K feed. However when I access Netflix via my Oppo I do not get the 4K feed.

Again both devices (TV and Oppo) are hard wired to my router running these high speeds.

Anyone understand why?
steviebstrummin is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #19382 of 19401 Old Yesterday, 02:31 PM
One-Man Content Creator
 
wmcclain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 17,777
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 673 Post(s)
Liked: 389
Quote:
Originally Posted by steviebstrummin View Post
Probably more of a question for Netflix, but thought I'd post here too.

I have my Oppo BDP-103 connected via ethernet to the Internet and HDMI to my 4K capable TV. The TV is also connected to the Internet via Ethernet. I use a 75/75 FIOS connection.

I just upgraded to the Ultra HD / 4K Netflix service and when I access Netflix via my (smart) TV I do get the 4K feed. However when I access Netflix via my Oppo I do not get the 4K feed.

Again both devices (TV and Oppo) are hard wired to my router running these high speeds.

Anyone understand why?
The OPPO does not accept any 4K sources, it only upscales to 4K.

-Bill

Review older films here: 1979 and earlier | 1980s | Combined reviews: Strange Picture Scroll
Unofficial OPPO FAQS: BDP-103 | BDP-93 | BDP-83 | BDP-80    
wmcclain is online now  
post #19383 of 19401 Old Yesterday, 02:49 PM
Member
 
steviebstrummin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 92
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by wmcclain View Post
The OPPO does not accept any 4K sources, it only upscales to 4K.

-Bill
Thanks Bill. So then from a PQ standpoint, is it a moot point as the Oppo upscales to 4K anyway?
steviebstrummin is offline  
post #19384 of 19401 Old Yesterday, 02:53 PM
AVS Special Member
 
NorthSky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Canada - West Island: Vancouver, South Direction: Go East
Posts: 5,387
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2291 Post(s)
Liked: 678
Quote:
Originally Posted by steviebstrummin View Post
Probably more of a question for Netflix, but thought I'd post here too.

I have my Oppo BDP-103 connected via ethernet to the Internet and HDMI to my 4K capable TV. The TV is also connected to the Internet via Ethernet. I use a 75/75 FIOS connection.

I just upgraded to the Ultra HD / 4K Netflix service and when I access Netflix via my (smart) TV I do get the 4K feed. However when I access Netflix via my Oppo I do not get the 4K feed.

Again both devices (TV and Oppo) are hard wired to my router running these high speeds.

Anyone understand why?
Your smart 4K TV, a Samsung one? ...Or LG (Life's Good)?
NorthSky is offline  
post #19385 of 19401 Old Yesterday, 02:54 PM
One-Man Content Creator
 
wmcclain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 17,777
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 673 Post(s)
Liked: 389
Quote:
Originally Posted by steviebstrummin View Post
Thanks Bill. So then from a PQ standpoint, is it a moot point as the Oppo upscales to 4K anyway?
It gives you a choice as to which device does the scaling, the player or the display. One might be better than the other.

It's not moot in that a 1080 image upscaled to 4K cannot be the same as a quality 4K source. I haven't seen Netflix 4k so can't speak as to its quality.

-Bill

Review older films here: 1979 and earlier | 1980s | Combined reviews: Strange Picture Scroll
Unofficial OPPO FAQS: BDP-103 | BDP-93 | BDP-83 | BDP-80    
wmcclain is online now  
post #19386 of 19401 Old Yesterday, 02:55 PM
AVS Special Member
 
NorthSky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Canada - West Island: Vancouver, South Direction: Go East
Posts: 5,387
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2291 Post(s)
Liked: 678
Quote:
Originally Posted by steviebstrummin View Post
Thanks Bill. So then from a PQ standpoint, is it a moot point as the Oppo upscales to 4K anyway?
Not the 103...the 113 yes.

* My 103 doesn't upscale to 4K?

Last edited by NorthSky; Yesterday at 03:01 PM.
NorthSky is offline  
post #19387 of 19401 Old Yesterday, 02:58 PM
AVS Special Member
 
NorthSky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Canada - West Island: Vancouver, South Direction: Go East
Posts: 5,387
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2291 Post(s)
Liked: 678
By the way, Netflix is 480p or 720p (in most places)?

And to get "true" 1080p, do you need to live in New York, Los Angeles, or Miami?

Netflix 4K??? Really? What kind of Ethernet speed do you need, 10000Mbps?

Last, Netflix 3D, only available from some TV brands, right?
NorthSky is offline  
post #19388 of 19401 Old Yesterday, 03:10 PM
Member
 
steviebstrummin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 92
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by northsky View Post
your smart 4k tv, a samsung one? ...or lg (life's good)?
sony
steviebstrummin is offline  
post #19389 of 19401 Old Yesterday, 03:12 PM
AVS Special Member
 
NorthSky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Canada - West Island: Vancouver, South Direction: Go East
Posts: 5,387
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2291 Post(s)
Liked: 678
Quote:
Originally Posted by steviebstrummin View Post
sony
Ahhhh, the best!

* Did Sony just cancel a movie @ the theater recently, a comedy?
NorthSky is offline  
post #19390 of 19401 Old Yesterday, 03:20 PM
Member
 
steviebstrummin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 92
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by NorthSky View Post
Ahhhh, the best!

* Did Sony just cancel a movie @ the theater recently, a comedy?
Thanks I agree.

Yes they did. Some would say it was a comedy but not my cup of tea.
steviebstrummin is offline  
post #19391 of 19401 Old Yesterday, 03:55 PM
AVS Special Member
 
NorthSky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Canada - West Island: Vancouver, South Direction: Go East
Posts: 5,387
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2291 Post(s)
Liked: 678
'The Interview' ... 10/10 @ IMDb!

* Seth Rogen is Canadian.
NorthSky is offline  
post #19392 of 19401 Old Yesterday, 04:08 PM
gsr
Oppo Beta Group
 
gsr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Massachusetts, USA
Posts: 7,692
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 218 Post(s)
Liked: 229
Let's try to stay on topic, please...
gsr is online now  
post #19393 of 19401 Old Yesterday, 04:13 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Saturn94's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 4,251
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 69 Post(s)
Liked: 384
Quote:
Originally Posted by donottosmeok View Post
Hi, please forgive if I'm in the wrong forum. I just bought an OPPO BDP-103 as both a Blu-ray and CD/SACD player. For Blu-ray, the 103 is connected with HDMI to a Sony KDL-55W900A HDTV. For 2-channel analog CD/SACD, it is connected with analog cables to a Carver HR-752 receiver/preamp. (The Carver does not have HDMI inputs/outputs.)


Apparently the TV (or player?--one or the other) attempts random HDMI "handshakes" related to DHCP. These "handshakes" occur even when the TV is off.


As a result, every "handshake" results in a 4-5 second audio dropout...while I'm listening to 2-channel analog stereo!


OPPO tried to troubleshoot the issue with me by email for several days. However, the only recommended solution so far is to "always leave the TV ON...use Pure Audio to try to reduce energy consumption," or, "remove the HDMI cable completely from the player."


I'd rather not leave the TV on; that wastes electricity. I'd also rather not constantly remove/replace the HDMI cable each and every time I want to listen to 2-channel audio. For me, those are both very undesirable solutions...


Does any forum member have the same or very similar setup (OPPO connected to Sony TV with HDMI, and to analog receiver/preamp with analog cables)?


If you have a similar setup...have you figured out how to eliminate the "handshake" problem, without leaving the TV on, or without removing the HDMI cable? (For example, is there a setting on either the KDL-55W900A or BDP-103 to temporarily "turn off" HDMI handshakes?)


I like the player; but this characteristic prevents me from "loving" it. I would appreciate any tested, proven suggestions...
Quote:
Originally Posted by rdgrimes View Post
Its not clear from your description whether this handshake occurs when you shut off the TV (normal) or if its happening randomly after the TV is off (not normal). If it the later, the TV is at fault and its a perplexing issue. See if the TV has settings for HDMI CEC that can be turned off, or any other standby settings that might be keeping the HDMI port active, You could also try switching the TV to a different input before shutting it off,
I have a setup like that; 103 connected to TV (Pioneer) via HDMI, audio from 103 is analog to my non-HDMI pre/pro. I have not experienced that issue.

I suspect like rdgrimes said it's likely the TV. Btw, I have CEC turned off.
Saturn94 is online now  
post #19394 of 19401 Old Yesterday, 04:16 PM
AVS Special Member
 
NorthSky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Canada - West Island: Vancouver, South Direction: Go East
Posts: 5,387
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2291 Post(s)
Liked: 678
Quote:
Originally Posted by gsr View Post
Let's try to stay on topic, please...
I agree, particularly with this one.
NorthSky is offline  
post #19395 of 19401 Old Yesterday, 04:23 PM
AVS Special Member
 
NorthSky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Canada - West Island: Vancouver, South Direction: Go East
Posts: 5,387
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2291 Post(s)
Liked: 678
Quote:
Originally Posted by Saturn94 View Post
I have a setup like that; 103 connected to TV (Pioneer) via HDMI, audio from 103 is analog to my non-HDMI pre/pro. I have not experienced that issue.

I suspect like rdgrimes said it's likely the TV. Btw, I have CEC turned off.
Very strange, even with his Sony TV turned off. ...Bad Sony TV?
NorthSky is offline  
post #19396 of 19401 Old Yesterday, 07:50 PM
Senior Member
 
Tornado Red's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Canada
Posts: 208
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 47 Post(s)
Liked: 46
Bill Mac and myself have discovered the following anomoly (though this may have been pointed out previously and we've missed it) with regards to some of the UMe HFPA blu ray music discs, when played via our Oppo 103s. I'll lay out the issues I've had personally, if anyone has had similar problems and have resolved them somehow, I'd like to hear about it. If not, perhaps I'll drop a line to Oppo. I'm running the current Oppo software into a Pioneer SC-61 receiver using HDMI. This receiver has been stellar and always plays what the Oppo sends it without fail. I have 13 HFPAs and have issues on 4 of them. The problem is in stereo mode only with 2.0 Dolby TrueHD and 2.0 DTS HD Master. Any 5.1 MC mixes play normally. The audio setting on the Oppo is bitstream, and the following happens: 2.0 DTS HD Master is being sent as Neo 6 :Cinema, and 2.0 Dolby TrueHD is being sent as ProLogic II: Movies. Any with 2.0 pcm are not affected. Here are the discs:

Bryan Adams "Reckless": 2.0 Dolby TrueHD = PL II: Movies
: 2.0 DTS HD Master = Neo 6: Cinema

Nat King Cole "The Extraordinary": 2.0 Dolby TrueHD = PL II: Movies
: 2.0 DTS HD Master = Neo 6: Cinema

Genesis: "Selling England By The Pound": 2.0 DTS HD Master = Neo 6: Cinema

George Michael: "Symphonica": 2.0 DTS HD Master = Neo 6: Cinema

It was noted in another thread that changing the Oppo from bitstream to LPCM will solve this issue, but I would prefer to leave the setting on bitstream if possible. I believe Bill Mac is having a similar issue on his Rolling Stones: Grrr HFPA. I have a couple other blu ray players here which don't seem to have any problems sending the correct codecs through, so it doesn't appear to be a disc only issue. Any thoughts? Thanks....

Last edited by Tornado Red; Yesterday at 07:55 PM.
Tornado Red is online now  
post #19397 of 19401 Old Yesterday, 09:43 PM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 28,041
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 612 Post(s)
Liked: 1014
^ Check that you have Setup > Audio Format > Secondary Audio set to OFF.
--Bob
Bob Pariseau is online now  
post #19398 of 19401 Old Today, 06:03 AM
Senior Member
 
Tornado Red's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Canada
Posts: 208
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 47 Post(s)
Liked: 46
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Pariseau View Post
^ Check that you have Setup > Audio Format > Secondary Audio set to OFF.
--Bob
Thanks for your reply Bob. Yes, secondary audio was already off.
Tornado Red is online now  
post #19399 of 19401 Old Today, 07:13 AM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 28,041
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 612 Post(s)
Liked: 1014
OK, next check that the video output Resolution from the player is 720p or higher. Set Resolution to an explicit value -- not AUTO or Source Direct.

NEO 6: Cinema and Dolby Prologic II are not formats sent over the HDMI cable. They are something your AVR is applying to the input signal -- most likely because the player is sending lossy DTS and DD Bitstreams instead of the lossless Bitstreams you are expecting.

So just going down the list of possibilities here.

If you have both the HDMI 1 and HDMI 2 outputs cabled -- even with your TV turned OFF -- check that you have SPLIT A/V set.
--Bob

Last edited by Bob Pariseau; Today at 07:17 AM.
Bob Pariseau is online now  
post #19400 of 19401 Old Today, 07:23 AM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 28,041
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 612 Post(s)
Liked: 1014
^ Also, if you also have either Optical or Coax cabling connected between the player and the AVR, temporarily unplug those to make sure you really are receiving the audio signal over the HDMI connection. (Optical/Coax can't carry the lossless Bitstreams.)
--Bob

Anthem D2/D2v/AVM50/AVM50v/ARC1 tweaking guide. -- Need personal consultation/training? PM me!
Bob Pariseau is online now  
post #19401 of 19401 Old Today, 08:30 AM
AVS Special Member
 
SeeMoreDigital's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Notts, UK
Posts: 1,836
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 131 Post(s)
Liked: 77
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tornado Red View Post
Bill Mac and myself have discovered the following anomoly (though this may have been pointed out previously and we've missed it) with regards to some of the UMe HFPA blu ray music discs, when played via our Oppo 103s. I'll lay out the issues I've had personally, if anyone has had similar problems and have resolved them somehow, I'd like to hear about it.
So far all my 2 channel (stereo) UMe HFPA discs play correctly (ie: without any audio processing added to the bitstream). This morning I received Supertramp - Crime Of The Century, which plays fine too!

My Oppo BDP-103EU is directly to an Onkyo TX-NR609 via HDMI2. 'Direct' modes for everything are set on both devices...

I SUPPORT 'FAIR USE'. MY MORALS PREVENT ME FROM HELPING ANYONE WHO OBTAINS COPYRIGHTED CONTENT ILLEGITIMATELY
I've been testing hardware media playback devices and software A/V encoders and decoders since 2001 | My Network Layout and A/V Gear
SeeMoreDigital is online now  
Reply Blu-ray Players

Tags
Oppo Bdp 103 3d Blu Ray Player , Oppo Bdp 105 Blu Ray Player , Oppo Bdp 93 Blu Ray Player , Oppo Digital Inc

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off