Official OPPO BDP-103 Owner's Thread - Page 650 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 298Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #19471 of 19499 Old 12-24-2014, 05:17 PM
Senior Member
 
RIppolito's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 209
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Pariseau View Post
If you can only choose one, send 1080i. I'd rather have the set top box up scaling and interlacing 720p than de-interlacing and down scaling 1080i.
--Bob
Bob, I have a 103, an Anthem AVM 50, and a Kuro display: all three can do video processing.

How would you recommend I set them up to get the best video performance?

Thank you in advance,
Ron
RIppolito is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #19472 of 19499 Old 12-24-2014, 09:10 PM
Member
 
audiolan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: A 3rd world backwater
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Pariseau View Post
Analog audio out of the 103/103D is very good. A step up from OPPO's prior generation players.

But for the best Analog audio from OPPO you would need to get the 105/105D. Their primary purpose is to provide a more exotic Analog audio output solution.
--Bob
Thank you
You have been most kind with your time.

Hopefully I can get it or make it for cheaper!
audiolan is offline  
post #19473 of 19499 Old Yesterday, 08:36 AM
Member
 
frank dominski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
103D Freezing

when I first power up my oppo and go directly to vudu the unit freezes up and shows the oppo logo, I then have to manually turn the unit off. If I go to anything else on the main menu it works fine, if I open something first then go back to the menu vudu will open. Any suggestions as to what is going on. Thanks Frank
frank dominski is offline  
post #19474 of 19499 Old Yesterday, 09:32 AM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 28,086
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 630 Post(s)
Liked: 1031
Odds are you are launching VUDU before networking has woken up. Try setting Quick Start or allow more time before you launch VUDU.
--Bob
Bob Pariseau is online now  
post #19475 of 19499 Old Yesterday, 09:35 AM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 28,086
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 630 Post(s)
Liked: 1031
Quote:
Originally Posted by RIppolito View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Pariseau View Post
If you can only choose one, send 1080i. I'd rather have the set top box up scaling and interlacing 720p than de-interlacing and down scaling 1080i.
--Bob
Bob, I have a 103, an Anthem AVM 50, and a Kuro display: all three can do video processing.

How would you recommend I set them up to get the best video performance?

Thank you in advance,
Ron
1080p to the Anthem with HDMI LPCM audio. From the Anthem to the Kuro, whatever works best when you check with your calibration disc. Many folks say 1080p with Studio RGB works best to their Kuro.
--Bob
Bob Pariseau is online now  
post #19476 of 19499 Old Yesterday, 10:13 AM
Member
 
scannerman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: panama city beach,fl
Posts: 91
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Cool usb hd device while waiting for oppo

I am hoping the oppo (or a new avr) will support usb 2.0 portable hard drives as a music library (retiring 2 cd jukeboxes) and as a playback option of cd quality msic.

I am guessing there will be limitations and some compatibility issues here - your input/advice will be appreciated.

Thx guys

No matter how hard you try - you cannot polish a turd!
scannerman is offline  
post #19477 of 19499 Old Yesterday, 10:19 AM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 28,086
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 630 Post(s)
Liked: 1031
^ The OPPO players already do this.
--Bob
Bob Pariseau is online now  
post #19478 of 19499 Old Yesterday, 11:45 AM
Member
 
scannerman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: panama city beach,fl
Posts: 91
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Pariseau View Post
^ The OPPO players already do this.
--Bob
Bob - so I simply rip cds to a portable usb HD via pc then attach drive to usb port at the oppo and push play & woillaaa!!!

Great... just need to get a WD usb 2.0 hard drive (1-2 TB) and I am set to go!!

Great!!!

No matter how hard you try - you cannot polish a turd!
scannerman is offline  
post #19479 of 19499 Old Yesterday, 12:03 PM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 28,086
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 630 Post(s)
Liked: 1031
You select the media files to play using the file browser built into the player or via the MediaControl app on your iOS or Android device.

The Manual for the player is downloadable from the OPPO Digital web site.
--Bob
Bob Pariseau is online now  
post #19480 of 19499 Old Yesterday, 12:17 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
rdgrimes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Nuevo Mexico
Posts: 16,578
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 425 Post(s)
Liked: 267
Quote:
Originally Posted by scannerman View Post
Bob - so I simply rip cds to a portable usb HD via pc then attach drive to usb port at the oppo and push play & woillaaa!!!

Great... just need to get a WD usb 2.0 hard drive (1-2 TB) and I am set to go!!

Great!!!
Before you start ripping, give careful thought to file/folder structures and by all means use tags and imbedded artwork. A good ripping tool can automate all this for you. How you proceed will have a big impact on your enjoyment of the collection. The Oppo can search files by tags or by folder structure.
rdgrimes is online now  
post #19481 of 19499 Old Yesterday, 12:23 PM
AVS Special Member
 
pbarach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Northeast Ohio
Posts: 2,621
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 106 Post(s)
Liked: 113
Quote:
Originally Posted by rdgrimes View Post
Before you start ripping, give careful thought to file/folder structures and by all means use tags and imbedded artwork. A good ripping tool can automate all this for you. How you proceed will have a big impact on your enjoyment of the collection. The Oppo can search files by tags or by folder structure.
All good advice, and I would add that it's essential to rip your CDs to lossless file formats such as FLAC or WAV. Don't bother with mp3s!

Note that WAV files don't support tags or embedded artwork, although I understand there are some programs that can add tags (haven't tried this).

AT&T U-Verse Northeast Ohio

Denon x4000, Samsung LED TV, B&W 704 mains, two M&K subwoofers, Oppo 103, etc.

Last edited by pbarach; Yesterday at 01:19 PM.
pbarach is online now  
post #19482 of 19499 Old Yesterday, 12:43 PM
Member
 
pab1219's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 104
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Merry Christmas Happy Holidays Everyone.
pab1219 is offline  
post #19483 of 19499 Old Yesterday, 04:37 PM
Newbie
 
kidling's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello, i have a oppo 103 but can´t get my NAS(SMB) server to show up at Network menu, only my pc DLNA is showing. Anyone can tell me if last firmware removed the option to play movies by smb network?

Thanks
kidling is offline  
post #19484 of 19499 Old Yesterday, 05:03 PM
AVS Special Member
 
lujan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 2,628
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 28
Quote:
Originally Posted by pab1219 View Post
Merry Christmas Happy Holidays Everyone.
Thanks

lujan
722 Blu-ray
19 HD DVD
6 DVD
lujan is online now  
post #19485 of 19499 Old Yesterday, 05:37 PM
Member
 
scannerman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: panama city beach,fl
Posts: 91
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by pbarach View Post
All good advice, and I would add that it's essential to rip your CDs to lossless file formats such as FLAC or WAV. Don't bother with mp3s!

Note that WAV files don't support tags or embedded artwork, although I understand there are some programs that can add tags (haven't tried this).
pbarach: Thanks for the advice and can you recommend ripping sw & maybe a favored usb hard drive of 2 TBs. I have ALWAYS hated mp3s!!!

I am from the generation of 45s,78s, & 33 1/3 lps - quality audio has always mattered.

No matter how hard you try - you cannot polish a turd!
scannerman is offline  
post #19486 of 19499 Old Yesterday, 05:42 PM
AVS Special Member
 
NorthSky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Canada - West Island: Vancouver, South Direction: Go East
Posts: 5,648
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2379 Post(s)
Liked: 702
What are 78s; is that from the 20s, 30s and 40s?

Last edited by NorthSky; Yesterday at 05:46 PM.
NorthSky is offline  
post #19487 of 19499 Old Yesterday, 05:47 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Mongo171's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Buffalo, NY
Posts: 2,067
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 166 Post(s)
Liked: 768
My Grandma had 78's.

I use JRiver. Rips right to FLAC. OPPO picks it right off the network.
Mongo171 is online now  
post #19488 of 19499 Old Yesterday, 07:16 PM
One-Man Content Creator
 
wmcclain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 17,800
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 685 Post(s)
Liked: 389
Quote:
Originally Posted by kidling View Post
Anyone can tell me if last firmware removed the option to play movies by smb network?

Thanks
No, still working.

-Bill

Review older films here: 1979 and earlier | 1980s | Combined reviews: Strange Picture Scroll
Unofficial OPPO FAQS: BDP-103 | BDP-93 | BDP-83 | BDP-80    
wmcclain is online now  
post #19489 of 19499 Old Yesterday, 08:02 PM
AVS Special Member
 
pbarach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Northeast Ohio
Posts: 2,621
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 106 Post(s)
Liked: 113
Quote:
Originally Posted by scannerman View Post
pbarach: Thanks for the advice and can you recommend ripping sw & maybe a favored usb hard drive of 2 TBs. I have ALWAYS hated mp3s!!!

I am from the generation of 45s,78s, & 33 1/3 lps - quality audio has always mattered.
I am also from the black-disc generation. Started gathering classical 78s at age 10. I copied them all to CDs and gave them away. I have 9 boxes of classical LPs in a closet. Haven't listened to them since I copied the ones I want onto CDs--they are too much trouble to deal with, and the clicks and pops are annoying...

I use foobar2000 (freeware; http://www.foobar2000.org) to do most of my ripping. It rips directly to WAV, FLAC, or (if you want) mp3. It can do tagging on FLAC or mp3 files. I don't see a need to pay up for a software program to do this. I sometimes use the dumbed-down version of Roxio that came with my PC. If a CD has some errors, I get the best results with ExactAudioCopy, another freeware program (http://www.exactaudiocopy.de) that has some options that can sometimes make a good digital copy where other programs won't. I haven't seen the need to buy JRiver or any other ripping program.

AT&T U-Verse Northeast Ohio

Denon x4000, Samsung LED TV, B&W 704 mains, two M&K subwoofers, Oppo 103, etc.
pbarach is online now  
post #19490 of 19499 Old Today, 12:35 AM
Newbie
 
Iron Maiden's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: NorCal
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Hello. New member here. Just pulled the trigger on the 103. Been upgrading some of my ancient system. I just bought a BenQ HT1075 to replace the Marantz VP4001 I've had for many years. Most of which it's been dead with blown lamps!!! Anyway, my older Halo pre/pro either needs to go or I can buy an Oppo and let it do it's thing. Being how my budget right now won't allow me to get a pre/pro that fits my tastes, the BDP 103, and it's analog out will make due for now until I can upgrade to a new processor.
Plus it has bass management, time alignment... for the analog outs so my Halo's lifespan just got extended! And now I can enjoy my DVD-Audio collection and start picking up some SACD's I've always wanted!!!
This is what I'm hoping to do with the Oppo BDP103


Dig Coax out to my Tri-Vista Tube Dac for 2ch (cd playback)
7.1ch analog outs to my Halo C2 for surround playback (Blu-ray, DVD, SACD, DVD-Audio)
Both HDMI output (w/out audio) 1 to my projector & the other to my Plasma


Any reason this won't work? Can the audio be turned off on the HDMI outs? Will I have full 1080P to both displays? I won't run them at the same time. I will use the projector(BenQ Ht1075) for movies and the occasional UFC or other sporting event. Plasma for the Xbox One and everything else.


Thanks for the help...

60" Panasonic Plasma~BenQ HT1075 / 110" Silver Ticket Acousti-weave screen~Parasound Halo C2 Pre/Pro
Earthquake Sound Cinenova Grande Amplifier~Energy Veritas 2.2i (mains) & Veritas 2.0c (center)
CAT Tiburons (surrounds)~Sub~ custom 15" Diamond Audio Technology~Oppo BDP-103
Musical Fidelity Tri-Vista Tube DAC~Monster Cable Signature Series HTPS7000
Iron Maiden is online now  
post #19491 of 19499 Old Today, 04:31 AM
Newbie
 
kidling's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by wmcclain View Post
No, still working.

-Bill
Thank you

Weird i can't see my smb servers anymore, only DLNA(PC and NAS Blackarmor). Did a factory reset and still not showing the smb.
kidling is offline  
post #19492 of 19499 Old Today, 08:16 AM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 28,086
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 630 Post(s)
Liked: 1031
^ Try doing a reboot of the SMB server. See if the Server can PING the player.
--Bob

Anthem D2/D2v/AVM50/AVM50v/ARC1 tweaking guide. -- Need personal consultation/training? PM me!
Bob Pariseau is online now  
post #19493 of 19499 Old Today, 08:20 AM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 28,086
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 630 Post(s)
Liked: 1031
Quote:
Originally Posted by Iron Maiden View Post
Hello. New member here. Just pulled the trigger on the 103. Been upgrading some of my ancient system. I just bought a BenQ HT1075 to replace the Marantz VP4001 I've had for many years. Most of which it's been dead with blown lamps!!! Anyway, my older Halo pre/pro either needs to go or I can buy an Oppo and let it do it's thing. Being how my budget right now won't allow me to get a pre/pro that fits my tastes, the BDP 103, and it's analog out will make due for now until I can upgrade to a new processor.
Plus it has bass management, time alignment... for the analog outs so my Halo's lifespan just got extended! And now I can enjoy my DVD-Audio collection and start picking up some SACD's I've always wanted!!!
This is what I'm hoping to do with the Oppo BDP103


Dig Coax out to my Tri-Vista Tube Dac for 2ch (cd playback)
7.1ch analog outs to my Halo C2 for surround playback (Blu-ray, DVD, SACD, DVD-Audio)
Both HDMI output (w/out audio) 1 to my projector & the other to my Plasma


Any reason this won't work? Can the audio be turned off on the HDMI outs? Will I have full 1080P to both displays? I won't run them at the same time. I will use the projector(BenQ Ht1075) for movies and the occasional UFC or other sporting event. Plasma for the Xbox One and everything else.


Thanks for the help...
That should work, with 1080p on both displays. You can set HDMI Audio OFF. If the two displays each shut down their HDMI Input when they are powered OFF then you don't even need to futz with the Split A/V vs. Dual Display choice as only one of the player's two HDMI outputs will be "live" at a time.
--Bob

Anthem D2/D2v/AVM50/AVM50v/ARC1 tweaking guide. -- Need personal consultation/training? PM me!
Bob Pariseau is online now  
post #19494 of 19499 Old Today, 08:38 AM
Advanced Member
 
milacqua's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Texas
Posts: 599
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 49 Post(s)
Liked: 18
My OPPO 103 goes via HDMI to my Yamaha RX-v777bt receiver. When I play a dvd the OPPO is sending it upconverted to the 777 (I think). The receiver, which is set to "Processing" rather than "Direct" (I do this so that my DISHTV, which is 1080i is upconverted to 1080p by the receiver) is therefore processing the 103's signal and upconverting it (I think). The 777 then sends the signal to my Epson 1080p projector, which also has upconversion ability (I think). If all are indeed "upconverting", which of these "upconverts" am I actually seeing - the processing done by the OPPO, the A/V receiver or the projector?

shortspark
milacqua is offline  
post #19495 of 19499 Old Today, 08:43 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Mongo171's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Buffalo, NY
Posts: 2,067
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 166 Post(s)
Liked: 768
Quote:
Originally Posted by milacqua View Post
My OPPO 103 goes via HDMI to my Yamaha RX-v777bt receiver. When I play a dvd the OPPO is sending it upconverted to the 777 (I think). The receiver, which is set to "Processing" rather than "Direct" (I do this so that my DISHTV, which is 1080i is upconverted to 1080p by the receiver) is therefore processing the 103's signal and upconverting it (I think). The 777 then sends the signal to my Epson 1080p projector, which also has upconversion ability (I think). If all are indeed "upconverting", which of these "upconverts" am I actually seeing - the processing done by the OPPO, the A/V receiver or the projector?
If all are doing video processing, then all are messing with the signal. Pick one and go Direct Mode with the others. You'll get a better picture this way. I would go DishTV to the 103 in Native resolution. Let the OPPO do the processing. It will send a 1080p signal to the projector, which should be in Direct Mode.

Life without bass is not worth living.
Mongo171 is online now  
post #19496 of 19499 Old Today, 08:55 AM
Advanced Member
 
milacqua's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Texas
Posts: 599
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 49 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mongo171 View Post
If all are doing video processing, then all are messing with the signal. Pick one and go Direct Mode with the others. You'll get a better picture this way. I would go DishTV to the 103 in Native resolution. Let the OPPO do the processing. It will send a 1080p signal to the projector, which should be in Direct Mode.
Thanks, I see, so it looks like they are all messing with the picture. I guess the end picture I am actually seeing is a hodge podge of all these. If I hook up the Dishtv receiver, which is set on 1080i to the OPPO via HDMI, and let it upconvert it to 1080p, will the OPPO have to be turned on all the time, or does it have a pass through like my receiver? I have not found a pass through ability in the manual but I may have missed something.

shortspark
milacqua is offline  
post #19497 of 19499 Old Today, 09:29 AM
gsr
Oppo Beta Group
 
gsr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Massachusetts, USA
Posts: 7,697
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 221 Post(s)
Liked: 235
Quote:
Originally Posted by milacqua View Post
Thanks, I see, so it looks like they are all messing with the picture. I guess the end picture I am actually seeing is a hodge podge of all these. If I hook up the Dishtv receiver, which is set on 1080i to the OPPO via HDMI, and let it upconvert it to 1080p, will the OPPO have to be turned on all the time, or does it have a pass through like my receiver? I have not found a pass through ability in the manual but I may have missed something.
Nope, the Oppo doesn't have a passthrough mode, so you'll need to turn it on when you want to use any device that's being passed through the HDMI inputs.
gsr is online now  
post #19498 of 19499 Old Today, 10:39 AM
Newbie
 
Iron Maiden's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: NorCal
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Pariseau View Post
That should work, with 1080p on both displays. You can set HDMI Audio OFF. If the two displays each shut down their HDMI Input when they are powered OFF then you don't even need to futz with the Split A/V vs. Dual Display choice as only one of the player's two HDMI outputs will be "live" at a time.
--Bob

Thanks. Wasn't sure if the resolution was going to be cut down as the manual kind of implies. Well it implies it when talking about the split A/V mode I think. Kind of confusing. I'm just trying to find a go around to replacing my Parasound Halo for now.
No HDMI switching....
No HD Audio Format decoding.....
No Bass Management through the 10 assignable analog inputs...


At least now, I can just let the Oppo do all the decoding and processing and feed my Halo an analog signal. Which the Halo bypass's all circuitry and only rolls by the analog volume control when using the analog inputs. With that said, if I didn't plan to upgrade my pre/pro in the future.... the BDP-105 would have been a better choice as it has a much better analog output stage/processing/dacs. But I'm sure the 103 is gonna give me some new audio/video bliss too.


One more question I should have been more specific on.
If I turn off the audio through the HDMI outputs so I can use them for video only to send to my Plasma and Projector, will the audio be able to output from all the other outputs? As in both the analog outputs and the Dig Coax/Toslink?
Hoping to hook up my Musical Fidelity Tri-Vista Tube Dac through the Dig Coax for 2ch cd listening and have the 7.1 analog outs feeding the Halo for surround duties.
Or are they menu selectable and I will have to switch something everytime??
Hope that makes sense.

60" Panasonic Plasma~BenQ HT1075 / 110" Silver Ticket Acousti-weave screen~Parasound Halo C2 Pre/Pro
Earthquake Sound Cinenova Grande Amplifier~Energy Veritas 2.2i (mains) & Veritas 2.0c (center)
CAT Tiburons (surrounds)~Sub~ custom 15" Diamond Audio Technology~Oppo BDP-103
Musical Fidelity Tri-Vista Tube DAC~Monster Cable Signature Series HTPS7000
Iron Maiden is online now  
post #19499 of 19499 Old Today, 10:49 AM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 28,086
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 630 Post(s)
Liked: 1031
HDMI Audio OFF only affects audio on the HDMI outputs.

Unlike the Analog and HDMI outputs, the Optical and Coax SP/DIF outputs are not able to carry all forms of audio due to licensing restrictions and spec limits. For example they can't carry SACD audio at all.

But your intended use for CD audio will work just fine.
--Bob
Bob Pariseau is online now  
Reply Blu-ray Players

Tags
Oppo Bdp 103 3d Blu Ray Player , Oppo Bdp 105 Blu Ray Player , Oppo Bdp 93 Blu Ray Player , Oppo Digital Inc



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off