Official OPPO BDP-103 Owner's Thread - Page 651 - AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
 479Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #19501 of 21300 Old 12-26-2014, 04:43 PM
gsr
Oppo Beta Group
 
gsr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Massachusetts, USA
Posts: 8,062
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 436 Post(s)
Liked: 351
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zcars View Post
Thanks Bob. As for stereo sound quality, is the Oppo significantly better than a Sony or Panasonic if I connect to an amp via optical? I am assuming that bypasses the unit's DAC and uses the amp's DAC.
No, it should sound identical via optical, though you should use HDMI instead if at all possible because some types of audio (DTS HD Master Audio, Dolby True HD, DSD) can't be sent over optical due to a combination of bandwidth and licensing restrictions. Only the analog outputs use the player's DAC.
gsr is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #19502 of 21300 Old 12-26-2014, 04:45 PM
Advanced Member
 
milacqua's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Texas
Posts: 653
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 76 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Thanks for that explanation, it makes good sense. Dishtv has various settings to choose from as your output, such as 1080i (which I have it set at), 720p, 480p and 480i - there is no "native" setting. That means on stations such as ESPN, FOX, ABC and maybe a couple others, I would go in manually to change the setting from 1080i to 720P. Yes, it would be a pain but not too bad. As you say, if the goal is to get the best possible signal to the display this is what must be done. Equally important is to take the Yamaha A/V receiver out of the stream and place it in "Direct", rather than "Processing" video mode. This way, only the Oppo is manipulating the signals. I will try setting up the system that way and see how it goes. Thanks again for the tips.

shortspark
milacqua is offline  
post #19503 of 21300 Old 12-27-2014, 06:31 PM
Advanced Member
 
JaremyP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: MI
Posts: 527
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 90 Post(s)
Liked: 37
If someone is using the jailbreak firmware with their Oppo and wouldn't mind chatting about it, can you please PM me? Thank you.
JaremyP is offline  
post #19504 of 21300 Old 12-27-2014, 06:46 PM
Member
 
brianlvi3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Northern New Jersey
Posts: 137
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 10
5.1 audio VS. HDMI and balanced to amp?

Hey guys,

I have the Oppo BDP 103 and just purchased the Marantz AV 7702. With my old Marantz AV 7005 I used the 5.1 analog for audio and HDMI for video. I have read so many pros and cons on which is best to use. I have hooked it up both ways with the 7005 and liked the analog. Now before I hook up the new Marantz 7702 with the Oppo, was just wondering if just running the HDMI and using it for audio and Video would sound as good. I think maybe the 7702 would do a better job then the old 7005?

My Outlaw Audio 7700 was hooked into my old 7005 using balanced cables. They were older cables from Outlaw Audio and are very thick and not very flexible. I was thinking about throwing in some Audioquest cables and not going back with the balanced ones?

Would love to here some thoughts on these 2 issues?

Thanks much.

Brian

Brian
brianlvi3 is offline  
post #19505 of 21300 Old 12-27-2014, 06:58 PM
AVS Special Member
 
DanF8500's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 1,562
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 447 Post(s)
Liked: 241
Quote:
Originally Posted by brianlvi3 View Post
Hey guys,

I have the Oppo BDP 103 and just purchased the Marantz AV 7702. With my old Marantz AV 7005 I used the 5.1 analog for audio and HDMI for video. I have read so many pros and cons on which is best to use. I have hooked it up both ways with the 7005 and liked the analog. Now before I hook up the new Marantz 7702 with the Oppo, was just wondering if just running the HDMI and using it for audio and Video would sound as good. I think maybe the 7702 would do a better job then the old 7005?

My Outlaw Audio 7700 was hooked into my old 7005 using balanced cables. They were older cables from Outlaw Audio and are very thick and not very flexible. I was thinking about throwing in some Audioquest cables and not going back with the balanced ones?

Would love to here some thoughts on these 2 issues?

Thanks much.

Brian
If you're doing any digital signal processing in your Marantz (i.e. Audyssey), I would just use the hdmi out of the 103. I would not want my audio to get processed by two different DACs (one in each electronic device), in addition to an AD converter. If this is is the case, it is much simpler to leave the audio in the digital format leaving the 103 before getting converted to analog in your AVR. You've got a great pre/pro. Let it do the DSP and use the 103 as a digital transport to your pre/pro.

Last edited by DanF8500; 12-27-2014 at 07:22 PM.
DanF8500 is offline  
post #19506 of 21300 Old 12-27-2014, 10:23 PM
Member
 
kellybob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 176
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 19
^ I would try them both. I imagine you are still going to prefer the analog connection. Especially if you change the cables to say the least expensive AudioQuests (Tower).

If the analog connection sounds better straight analog versus straight HDMI, the analog connection will still sound better even with the additional AD conversion with all else being equal, which it never is. The only way to find out is to try both.

Last edited by kellybob; 12-27-2014 at 10:27 PM.
kellybob is offline  
post #19507 of 21300 Old 12-27-2014, 10:39 PM
Member
 
kellybob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 176
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 19
I was thinking that you were going to replace the analog cables from the 103 to the AVR, not replace the cables from the AVR to the amp. I think you will prefer the analog connection still. Not sure what cables you have going from 103 to AVR, so cannot say the Audioquests will be an improvement. I have no idea about changing from balanced Outlaw cables to unbalanced Audioquest.
kellybob is offline  
post #19508 of 21300 Old 12-28-2014, 10:18 AM
Member
 
genegold's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 133
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by NorthSky View Post
What are 78s; is that from the 20s, 30s and 40s?
http://www.library.yale.edu/catalogi...ryof78rpms.htm. Some of my parents 78s from the 1930s were great performances.
genegold is offline  
post #19509 of 21300 Old 12-28-2014, 10:25 AM
Newbie
 
AEB60's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I want to reset the settings on my 103 but that option is greyed out in the menu. I'm sure there is a simple solution but I haven't been able to find it. Suggestions will be greatly appreciated. Thanks in advance.

Sent from my KFTHWI using Tapatalk
AEB60 is offline  
post #19510 of 21300 Old 12-28-2014, 10:27 AM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 28,633
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 927 Post(s)
Liked: 1145
Quote:
Originally Posted by AEB60 View Post
I want to reset the settings on my 103 but that option is greyed out in the menu. I'm sure there is a simple solution but I haven't been able to find it. Suggestions will be greatly appreciated. Thanks in advance.

Sent from my KFTHWI using Tapatalk
Various selections in the Setup menu get greyed out when the player is currently configured to play stuff.

Remove any disc in the tray and make sure you don't have media files or Internet apps playing, then the Reset selection will be available.
--Bob

Anthem D2/D2v/AVM50/AVM50v/ARC1 tweaking guide. -- Need personal consultation/training? PM me!
Bob Pariseau is online now  
post #19511 of 21300 Old 12-28-2014, 10:39 AM
Member
 
brianlvi3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Northern New Jersey
Posts: 137
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by kellybob View Post
I was thinking that you were going to replace the analog cables from the 103 to the AVR, not replace the cables from the AVR to the amp. I think you will prefer the analog connection still. Not sure what cables you have going from 103 to AVR, so cannot say the Audioquests will be an improvement. I have no idea about changing from balanced Outlaw cables to unbalanced Audioquest.
Thanks for the suggestions. It was just a real pain to hook up the older Outlaw Audio XLR cables. They are so thick and I have a hard time routing them, they seem to cram up in the back, hard to make a bend with them. I have heard/read there really is no difference so I am not sure about going to Audioquest middle of the line RCA cables?

I thought with the 7702 maybe it not make a difference or even be better to use the HDMI as audio for the 103.

Thanks.

Brian
brianlvi3 is offline  
post #19512 of 21300 Old 12-28-2014, 10:54 AM
Senior Member
 
Iron Maiden's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: NorCal
Posts: 304
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 174 Post(s)
Liked: 44
I've always known XLR(balanced) cables to give a lower noise floor. One reason most, if not all, higher end components have them. I've tried them on my Halo C2 to my Earthquake Cinenova Grande with MIT Shotgun cables. While the sound did change, for me it wasn't for the better.
My runs were very short and from what I've always been told is that the benefit of the balanced XLR is realized with long cable runs. Plus if you are mix matching the cable.... half xlr, half rca.... can't see how it will make a difference. If your runs are short and you need flexible cable, just go with the rca cables.

60" Panasonic Plasma ~ BenQ HT1075 / 92" fixed Dragonfly Screen ~Onkyo TX-NR3008 as my Pre/Pro
Earthquake Sound Cinenova Grande Amplifier ~ Crown X1000 ~ Oppo BDP-103
Musical Fidelity Tri-Vista Tube DAC ~ Monster Cable Signature Series HTPS7000
Energy Veritas 2.2i (mains) & Veritas 2.0c (center) ~ Energy RC-70 (Front Wides)
CAT Tiburons(Surrounds) ~ Sub... custom 15" Diamond Audio Technology ~ Xbox One
Iron Maiden is offline  
post #19513 of 21300 Old 12-28-2014, 11:11 AM
AVS Special Member
 
SeeMoreDigital's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Notts, UK
Posts: 2,075
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 240 Post(s)
Liked: 112
Quote:
Originally Posted by scannerman View Post
I am from the generation of 45s,78s, & 33 1/3 lps - quality audio has always mattered.
I reckon I've got a couple of 16 rpm records somewhere...

I SUPPORT 'FAIR USE'. MY MORALS PREVENT ME FROM HELPING ANYONE WHO OBTAINS COPYRIGHTED CONTENT ILLEGITIMATELY
I've been testing hardware media playback devices and software A/V encoders and decoders since 2001 | My Network Layout and A/V Gear
SeeMoreDigital is online now  
post #19514 of 21300 Old 12-28-2014, 01:43 PM
Newbie
 
AEB60's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Pariseau View Post
Various selections in the Setup menu get greyed out when the player is currently configured to play stuff.

Remove any disc in the tray and make sure you don't have media files or Internet apps playing, then the Reset selection will be available.
--Bob
Thank you for the quick reply. There isn't a disc in the tray, and I have never played any media files or used the internet apps. My grandkids were here for Christmas and there is no telling what buttons they pressed on the remote. Is there a way to check to see if any files or apps are playing.

Sent from my KFTHWI using Tapatalk
AEB60 is offline  
post #19515 of 21300 Old 12-28-2014, 01:49 PM
Newbie
 
AEB60's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by AEB60 View Post
Thank you for the quick reply. There isn't a disc in the tray, and I have never played any media files or used the internet apps. My grandkids were here for Christmas and there is no telling what buttons they pressed on the remote. Is there a way to check to see if any files or apps are playing.

Sent from my KFTHWI using Tapatalk
I figured it out, no apps or files playing but Dish was. Thanks again.

Sent from my KFTHWI using Tapatalk
AEB60 is offline  
post #19516 of 21300 Old 12-28-2014, 02:04 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
NorthSky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Canada - West Island: Vancouver, South Direction: Go East, dts:x
Posts: 11,158
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4655 Post(s)
Liked: 1875
Quote:
Originally Posted by genegold View Post
http://www.library.yale.edu/catalogi...ryof78rpms.htm. Some of my parents 78s from the 1930s were great performances.
But the Oppo 103 doesn't read those.

Happy Holidays.
hernanu likes this.
NorthSky is offline  
post #19517 of 21300 Old 12-28-2014, 02:26 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Mongo171's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Buffalo, NY
Posts: 2,567
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 463 Post(s)
Liked: 985
But, but, I thought my OPPO could play any media!?!?
Mongo171 is online now  
post #19518 of 21300 Old 12-28-2014, 02:33 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
NorthSky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Canada - West Island: Vancouver, South Direction: Go East, dts:x
Posts: 11,158
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4655 Post(s)
Liked: 1875
It's just too many buts; the Oppo 103 is good, real good, just no way that it can play vinyls, no way Jose. ...Maybe the 113?
Mongo171 likes this.
NorthSky is offline  
post #19519 of 21300 Old 12-28-2014, 02:36 PM
Member
 
mental1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Richmond, VA
Posts: 57
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Hey Folks,

I recently acquired a Chromecast. I have it plugged into the front HDMI port of my Oppo BD-103. It seems when I stream HBO Go, I only get Stereo on my Denon x4000 and not Dolby Digital from the Oppo. My audio format setting is set to Auto out of the HDMI port on the Oppo. Someone had posted this issue in October but I did not see any replies or advice. Does anyone else have a similar experience or perhaps can offer some guidance?

Thank you,

mental1
mental1 is offline  
post #19520 of 21300 Old 12-28-2014, 02:44 PM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 28,633
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 927 Post(s)
Liked: 1145
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mongo171 View Post
But, but, I thought my OPPO could play any media!?!?
Quote:
Originally Posted by NorthSky View Post
It's just too many buts; the Oppo 103 is good, real good, just no way that it can play vinyls, no way Jose. ...Maybe the 113?
Grrr! Still waiting for player piano roll support. That's older than vinyl....
--Bob
Mongo171 likes this.
Bob Pariseau is online now  
post #19521 of 21300 Old 12-28-2014, 02:48 PM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 28,633
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 927 Post(s)
Liked: 1145
Quote:
Originally Posted by mental1 View Post
Hey Folks,

I recently acquired a Chromecast. I have it plugged into the front HDMI port of my Oppo BD-103. It seems when I stream HBO Go, I only get Stereo on my Denon x4000 and not Dolby Digital from the Oppo. My audio format setting is set to Auto out of the HDMI port on the Oppo. Someone had posted this issue in October but I did not see any replies or advice. Does anyone else have a similar experience or perhaps can offer some guidance?

Thank you,

mental1
Info button on the OPPO will show you what is coming in on that socket. If it's 2.0 (stereo) you'll need to look for an audio output configuration setting on the ChromeCast.
--Bob
Bob Pariseau is online now  
post #19522 of 21300 Old 12-28-2014, 02:59 PM
Member
 
mental1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Richmond, VA
Posts: 57
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Pariseau View Post
Info button on the OPPO will show you what is coming in on that socket. If it's 2.0 (stereo) you'll need to look for an audio output configuration setting on the ChromeCast.
--Bob
Thanks Bob. It's showing coming in as LPCM 2.0 48k. That seems to be the culprit. I will do some digging on HBO Go. Might be I'm stuck with it. Thanks again.
mental1 is offline  
post #19523 of 21300 Old 12-28-2014, 08:13 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
rdgrimes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Nuevo Mexico
Posts: 17,201
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 806 Post(s)
Liked: 397
Quote:
Originally Posted by mental1 View Post
Thanks Bob. It's showing coming in as LPCM 2.0 48k. That seems to be the culprit. I will do some digging on HBO Go. Might be I'm stuck with it. Thanks again.
I get 5.1 DD from HBOGo via the Roku stick in the front Oppo port.
rdgrimes is offline  
post #19524 of 21300 Old 12-29-2014, 04:52 AM
Member
 
mental1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Richmond, VA
Posts: 57
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by rdgrimes View Post
I get 5.1 DD from HBOGo via the Roku stick in the front Oppo port.
I've looked up some Chromecast forums and the lack of dolby digital seems to be a common issue.
mental1 is offline  
post #19525 of 21300 Old 12-29-2014, 09:03 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Experts pls help!!!

I own a 103D and a Denon 1909 with a 42 inch full HD 3D with Polk Audio RM6750 speaker package. I have recently upgraded to 103D

Im planning to upgrade 7.1 from polk 5.1 I am planning to have couple of active speakers for front and move all satellite speakers to rear to make it 7.1. (using the same centre and sub woofer as it is)

Since its Denon 1909 it doesnt have pre out for 7.1 so my question is can I use oppo RCA (L+R) For front and drive Denon (HDMI Audio from Oppo to Denon) for back speakers. Got an answer from Oppo support that theatrically it should work but there might be some delay with Amp which need to be sorted out.

My question is

1) Does anyone tried this option (particularly with 103D) did it work without any issue
2) Any advice in terms of how to resolve the Audio delay (with Oppo and Denon producing front and back speakers respectively) in case if such arise.

I haven't bought the active speakers yet but would like to go with them for more power.

Your help would be much appreciated.

Many Thanks.
Sridhar Srinivasan is offline  
post #19526 of 21300 Old 12-29-2014, 09:16 AM
Newbie
 
PravinE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Chennai, India
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sridhar Srinivasan View Post
Experts pls help!!!

I own a 103D and a Denon 1909 with a 42 inch full HD 3D with Polk Audio RM6750 speaker package. I have recently upgraded to 103D

Im planning to upgrade 7.1 from polk 5.1 I am planning to have couple of active speakers for front and move all satellite speakers to rear to make it 7.1. (using the same centre and sub woofer as it is)

Since its Denon 1909 it doesnt have pre out for 7.1 so my question is can I use oppo RCA (L+R) For front and drive Denon (HDMI Audio from Oppo to Denon) for back speakers. Got an answer from Oppo support that theatrically it should work but there might be some delay with Amp which need to be sorted out.

My question is

1) Does anyone tried this option (particularly with 103D) did it work without any issue
2) Any advice in terms of how to resolve the Audio delay (with Oppo and Denon producing front and back speakers respectively) in case if such arise.

I haven't bought the active speakers yet but would like to go with them for more power.

Your help would be much appreciated.

Many Thanks.
Quote:
Since its Denon 1909 it doesnt have pre out for 7.1 so my question is can I use oppo RCA (L+R) For front and drive Denon (HDMI Audio from Oppo to Denon) for back speakers. Got an answer from Oppo support that theatrically it should work but there might be some delay with Amp which need to be sorted out.
Controlling volume will be more challenging part.
Sridhar Srinivasan likes this.

Processing : Marantz AV7701 and MM7055.
Players : Marantz CD6005 and Pioneer BDP-LX55
Other Source : Asus TV Pro with 3TB HDD and Videocon d2h HD Set top box
TV : Sony EX400 LCD 46 Inch
Speakers : Klipsch RF-82, RC-62, RS-42
Subwoofer : Klipsch SW112
PravinE is offline  
post #19527 of 21300 Old 12-29-2014, 10:11 AM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 28,633
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 927 Post(s)
Liked: 1145
I would not recommend futzing with a configuration like this. As stated, keeping Volume in balance is going to be a constant nuisance, and odds are the Denon will try to add audio delay to the audio going through it (to compensate for its video processing time).
--Bob
Bob Pariseau is online now  
post #19528 of 21300 Old 12-29-2014, 10:25 AM
Member
 
Zcars's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Ontario
Posts: 96
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Well, I have a BDP-103 on order from Amazon. I will use it as the media source in my 2-ch music setup as it gives me the wifi and USB to access my mp3 and FLAC files from a HDD. The optical drive for CDs or maybe SACDs is another bonus. I really don't need the internet radio after all, as I can just stream Slacker or web radio stations via bluetooth from my tablet or phone. It will be connected to my old Denon stereo receiver but I will likely replace that with a new integrated later, perhaps the Marantz PM6005. I prefer to keep the preamp part separate and have a decent separate amp, rather than go the AVR route as an all-in-one, so I can upgrade the pre as technology changes or components break. I hesitated getting a very good blu-ray player for this limited purpose, but looking at what I got for the money it made sense. A Marantz CD player with a USB port but no wifi would cost more and provide me with less. Anyway, I'm looking forward to the Oppo!
Zcars is offline  
post #19529 of 21300 Old 12-29-2014, 10:34 AM
Member
 
ozziegn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 116
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 36 Post(s)
Liked: 17
New 103 owner and I have a simple question.

I have a 4K Samsung TV that upscales everything to 4K resolution. I've been told to let the 103 do all the video processing which supposedly it does it well. The problem I'm seeing in the image quality looks far worse with plumbing my Directv through my 103 than before with me running the DTV straight from the STB then to my Onkyo AV then to my TV.

What am I doing wrong?
ozziegn is offline  
post #19530 of 21300 Old 12-29-2014, 10:57 AM
Advanced Member
 
AlexanderDelarg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Omaha
Posts: 842
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 90 Post(s)
Liked: 119
Quote:
Originally Posted by ozziegn View Post
New 103 owner and I have a simple question.

I have a 4K Samsung TV that upscales everything to 4K resolution. I've been told to let the 103 do all the video processing which supposedly it does it well. The problem I'm seeing in the image quality looks far worse with plumbing my Directv through my 103 than before with me running the DTV straight from the STB then to my Onkyo AV then to my TV.

What am I doing wrong?
I have DirecTv and an Oppo 103 and go into DirecTv menu and settings as follows -

select settings - Display - Video - Native - On

Epson Pro Cinema 6030 | OPPO BDP - 103 | Pioneer Elite VSX 70 | Definitive Technology PM 1000 (L/R) | PC 2000 (C) | SR8040BP's (7.1) | Rythmik LV12R | Carada Criterion Brilliant White 118" | URC MX 780 & MRF 350 | ATS Acoustic Panels | Sanus AV Rack | DirecTv | Roku 2 | Monoprice 12AWG |
AlexanderDelarg is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Blu-ray Players

Tags
Oppo Bdp 103 3d Blu Ray Player , Oppo Bdp 105 Blu Ray Player , Oppo Bdp 93 Blu Ray Player , Oppo Digital Inc

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off