Official OPPO BDP-103 Owner's Thread - Page 661 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
 505Likes
Reply
Thread Tools
post #19801 of 21454 Old 01-11-2015, 10:19 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Mongo171's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Buffalo, NY
Posts: 2,594
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 482 Post(s)
Liked: 999
Quote:
Originally Posted by JohnWMorgan View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by wmcclain View Post
It's possible the Blu-ray laser head needs to be cleaned. Could be a bit a fluff has gotten caught in the wrong spot. DVD and CD use a different laser.

There are cleaning discs available, but I have not tried one. I would take a can of compressed air and spray it through the open tray slot.

You can also open the case and clean the head gently with alcohol. OPPO support can give you specific guidance or other diagnostics.

-Bill
Thanks Bill. I will try your solutions, but I don't think I will try to clean the head directly. With my skill, I would probably screw everything up. I have a Blu ray disc cleaner which I never tried, so will try that and then the compressed air. If everything fails, I will contact OPPO for suggestions. But, I just love the player. I had a Pioneer Blu ray previously, which was about 6 years old when I upgraded to the Oppo. The faster loading time, the faux 4K and everything is just great.
A can of compressed air will work if it's a dust bunny on the lens.
Mongo171 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #19802 of 21454 Old 01-11-2015, 11:09 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
DSperber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Marina Del Rey, CA, USA
Posts: 5,554
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 136 Post(s)
Liked: 137
Quote:
Originally Posted by DS_Chief View Post
have the HDMI from cable box into rear of 103

have selected rear jack in 103 setup menu.

on the tv cable from 103 jack #1 > HDMI #1 TV = Philips 47PFL7422D-37

Symptoms TV screen says " No Signal "
I know it seems unnecessary to ask, but if you connect the DVR cable box directly to the TV using this same HDMI cable and select the correct HDMI input on the TV, do you now have picture from the DVR?

Also, just to be sure it's not an HDMI handshake or timing issue, can you try changing the 103's setup menu to have "Blu-Ray" set in the "Power on input" rather than the rear external HDMI input. That way, you should now see the 103's primary Home Screen on your TV coming from the 103 itself, having nothing to do with the external DVR. We just want to be sure the 103 you have is working properly, and at least the home screen should obviously be seen on your TV.
DSperber is offline  
post #19803 of 21454 Old 01-11-2015, 01:53 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
NorthSky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Canada - West Island: Vancouver, South Direction: Go East, dts:x Films: Under the Skin, 3D, Birdman, X_Machina, The Zero Theorem, Interstellar
Posts: 11,826
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4964 Post(s)
Liked: 2072
Quote:
Originally Posted by SeeMoreDigital View Post
With respect, such discussions are better suited for a dedicated topic on the subject. Not here...
You are right; this is the Oppo 103 thread here, not the Cinavia thread. Please accept my sincere apology.
NorthSky is offline  
post #19804 of 21454 Old 01-11-2015, 02:31 PM
Senior Member
 
Iron Maiden's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: NorCal
Posts: 348
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 194 Post(s)
Liked: 56
Double check you are actually plugged into the rear "Input" and not one of the "Outputs.
We have all made these silly mistakes one time or another. lol
It's worth looking at.

60" Panasonic Plasma ~ BenQ HT1075 / 92" Screen~Onkyo TX-NR3008(Pre/Pro)
Earthquake Sound Cinenova Grande Amplifier ~ Oppo BDP-103 ~ Xbox One
Musical Fidelity Tri-Vista Tube DAC ~ Monster Cable Signature Series HTPS7000
Energy Veritas 2.2i (mains) & Veritas 2.0ic (center) ~ Veritas 2.1(Front Wides)
Energy RC-70 & CAT Tiburons(Surrounds)~ Sub 15" Diamond Audio Technology-iNuke 6000
Iron Maiden is online now  
post #19805 of 21454 Old 01-11-2015, 03:22 PM
Member
 
genegold's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 133
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Anyone with a Samsung F8000 series TV that changed the Oppo 103's Picture Adjustment settings from the default ones under Video Setup? My TV (46") is well set up, but I'm open to any Oppo 103 picture settings out there that are worth looking at. Thanks,

Last edited by genegold; 01-11-2015 at 07:01 PM.
genegold is offline  
post #19806 of 21454 Old 01-11-2015, 05:35 PM
Member
 
tr2420's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 0
BDP-103 newbie

Quote:
Originally Posted by boe View Post
Try turning on windows file sharing - not necessary if 2 PCs have the same login info.
You could turn on Windows media streaming and enable the device in network sharing as well.
You could try mezzmo if you don't have any luck.

Hello,
Thanks for the info.

During set-up I noticed a 'problem' - I used both HDMI outs 1 to TV the 2nd to Amp/receiver. When using Split a/v there is no sound going to the TV directly (there is picture), through the Amp there is sound. If I set it to use Dual Display then there is sound for both. The manual says this sound is basic stereo only - when using using Dual Display.

What am I doing wrong ? The only thing I turned off is the 3D function.
tr2420 is offline  
post #19807 of 21454 Old 01-11-2015, 05:56 PM
Member
 
tr2420's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by tr2420 View Post
Hello,
Thanks for the info.

During set-up I noticed a 'problem' - I used both HDMI outs 1 to TV the 2nd to Amp/receiver. When using Split a/v there is no sound going to the TV directly (there is picture), through the Amp there is sound. If I set it to use Dual Display then there is sound for both. The manual says this sound is basic stereo only - when using using Dual Display.

What am I doing wrong ? The only thing I turned off is the 3D function.
I see from earlier replies to this same or similar problem - that I shouldn't be using two HDMI outs. Just run the 1 through the amp/receiver.
tr2420 is offline  
post #19808 of 21454 Old 01-11-2015, 05:59 PM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 28,709
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 964 Post(s)
Liked: 1183
Quote:
Originally Posted by tr2420 View Post
Hello,
Thanks for the info.

During set-up I noticed a 'problem' - I used both HDMI outs 1 to TV the 2nd to Amp/receiver. When using Split a/v there is no sound going to the TV directly (there is picture), through the Amp there is sound. If I set it to use Dual Display then there is sound for both. The manual says this sound is basic stereo only - when using using Dual Display.

What am I doing wrong ? The only thing I turned off is the 3D function.
This is "normal". With both HDMI outputs "live" and with Split A/V selected, audio is muted on the HDMI 1 output. This allows the player to negotiate for best possible audio on HDMI 2 to the AVR without being blocked by the fact that the TV (on HDMI 1) can't accept that audio.

With Dual Display selected, the player negotiates a "compromise" audio output format that both connected devices (on HDMI 1 and HDMI 2) can accept. Since TVs often only accept Stereo audio input for their built-in speakers, that may only be Stereo to both outputs.

This all comes from the fact that the HDMI handshake -- and HDMI copy protection -- doesn't allow the two outputs to operate completely independently when playing the same content.

To get audio to your TV on HDMI 1, make the HDMI 2 output "not live". Often this can be done simply by turning off the AVR. If the AVR keeps its HDMI inputs live even when it is "off" you may need to get more cunning and switch the AVR to a different Input before you turn it off. With only the HDMI 1 output "live" the player will negotiate for the best possible audio and video on HDMI 1 to the TV, even with Split A/V set.
--Bob
tr2420 likes this.

Anthem D2/D2v/AVM50/AVM50v/ARC1 tweaking guide. -- Need personal consultation/training? PM me!
Bob Pariseau is offline  
post #19809 of 21454 Old 01-11-2015, 08:18 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Northern Ca. Wine Country
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Status update, may have been cabling issue, now have audio & video out of the TV & good sound out of the Main speakers, the sides are kind of sketchy , long periods of nothing { may be content related }

The tv picture is not in synch with audio, like watching old japanese godzilla movies, the sound stops but the lips are still moving
DS_Chief is offline  
post #19810 of 21454 Old 01-11-2015, 10:44 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
DSperber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Marina Del Rey, CA, USA
Posts: 5,554
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 136 Post(s)
Liked: 137
Quote:
Originally Posted by DS_Chief View Post
Status update, may have been cabling issue, now have audio & video out of the TV & good sound out of the Main speakers, the sides are kind of sketchy , long periods of nothing { may be content related }
Can you provide at least some detail on what you pulled out and re-inserted, or changed in setup, or whatever, that now things work whereas before they didn't? Did you actually change anything in either cabling or 103 setup so that we might know what's responsible for your positive results?


Quote:
The tv picture is not in synch with audio, like watching old japanese godzilla movies, the sound stops but the lips are still moving
Could definitely be content, but it can also be a genuine lip-sync issue that is due to the cabling and components you have in your end-to-end setup, between source and display/speakers.

The 103 provides a lip-sync adjustment for this exact reason. Setup -> Audio Processing -? A/V Sync, where you can adjust things from -100ms to +200ms. Just play around with this until you no longer have a lip-sync problem.

NOTE: the lip-sync issue is likely not a constant, but is more likely to vary by content being delivered from your Comcast DVR. And it may very likely disappear when you play BluRay discs directly on the 103, etc., so be prepared to UNDO or tweak to some other value whatever you settle on right now to eliminate the problem from whatever program you're currently watching from your DVR, in case that other source doesn't exhibit a lip-sync problem or maybe has a different lip-sync symptom amount.
AlexanderDelarg likes this.
DSperber is offline  
post #19811 of 21454 Old 01-12-2015, 03:42 AM
AVS Special Member
 
pbarach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Northeast Ohio
Posts: 2,778
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 190 Post(s)
Liked: 125
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Pariseau View Post
With Dual Display selected, the player negotiates a "compromise" audio output format that both connected devices (on HDMI 1 and HDMI 2) can accept.
Does Dual Display also negotiate a "compromise" video for both of the HDMI outputs?

AT&T U-Verse Northeast Ohio

Denon x4000, Carver m1.0t, Samsung LED TV, B&W 704 mains, two M&K subwoofers, Oppo 103, Roku 2, etc.
Headphone system: Sennheiser HD600, AKG K701, Burson HA-160, Marantz CD5004, Denon DVD-3910
pbarach is online now  
post #19812 of 21454 Old 01-12-2015, 07:17 AM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 28,709
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 964 Post(s)
Liked: 1183
^ From the OPPO Digital Knowledge Base, re Dual HDMI Output > DUAL DISPLAY and SPLIT A/V:

http://www.oppodigital.com/KnowledgeBase.aspx?KBID=35

http://www.oppodigital.com/KnowledgeBase.aspx?KBID=34

--Bob
pbarach likes this.

Anthem D2/D2v/AVM50/AVM50v/ARC1 tweaking guide. -- Need personal consultation/training? PM me!
Bob Pariseau is offline  
post #19813 of 21454 Old 01-12-2015, 03:56 PM
AVS Special Member
 
lujan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 2,980
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 280 Post(s)
Liked: 58
Quote:
Originally Posted by lujan View Post
Any other Oppo 103 or 105 owner have trouble playing the BD Merlin The Complete Series? I put in the first disk last night a couple of times and the video/audio became stuck and the player unresponsive to any remote actions. The only thing that worked both times was unplugging from the back and then plugging back. After the first time, it did the same thing again. I had to remember to eject the disk before it started playing again, otherwise it would become stuck (unresponsive) again. I will call Oppo support today.

BTW, I put the first Merlin BD on my cheapo LG player and everything worked fine.
Called Oppo today and they just had me "Erase Persistent Storage" and now everything is working fine. I'm surprised that with all the knowledgeable members of this forum, no one suggested this?

lujan
787 Blu-ray
19 HD DVD
7 DVD
lujan is offline  
post #19814 of 21454 Old 01-12-2015, 04:01 PM
One-Man Content Creator
 
wmcclain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 18,641
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1155 Post(s)
Liked: 549
Quote:
Originally Posted by lujan View Post
Called Oppo today and they just had me "Erase Persistent Storage" and now everything is working fine. I'm surprised that with all the knowledgeable members of this forum, no one suggested this?
It's inexplicable.

-Bill

Review older films here: 1979 and earlier | 1980s | 1990s | Combined reviews: Strange Picture Scroll
Unofficial OPPO FAQS: BDP-103 | BDP-93 | BDP-83 | BDP-80    
wmcclain is online now  
post #19815 of 21454 Old 01-12-2015, 04:09 PM
AVS Special Member
 
JazzGuyy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Oro Valley AZ
Posts: 2,871
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 131 Post(s)
Liked: 124
Quote:
Originally Posted by lujan View Post
Called Oppo today and they just had me "Erase Persistent Storage" and now everything is working fine. I'm surprised that with all the knowledgeable members of this forum, no one suggested this?
Have you ever bothered to read the FAQ referenced in the first post of this thread? It's in there and has been there forever. It's also been mentioned numerous times on all the Oppo Blu-Ray model threads. Don't know how you missed it.

JazzGuyy is offline  
post #19816 of 21454 Old 01-12-2015, 04:36 PM
AVS Special Member
 
DanF8500's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 1,586
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 469 Post(s)
Liked: 248
Quote:
Originally Posted by lujan View Post
Called Oppo today and they just had me "Erase Persistent Storage" and now everything is working fine. I'm surprised that with all the knowledgeable members of this forum, no one suggested this?
I would have told you that, but just missed your post.
DanF8500 is online now  
post #19817 of 21454 Old 01-12-2015, 04:38 PM
AVS Special Member
 
lujan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 2,980
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 280 Post(s)
Liked: 58
Quote:
Originally Posted by JazzGuyy View Post
Have you ever bothered to read the FAQ referenced in the first post of this thread? It's in there and has been there forever. It's also been mentioned numerous times on all the Oppo Blu-Ray model threads. Don't know how you missed it.
Yeah, you're very helpful indeed.

lujan
787 Blu-ray
19 HD DVD
7 DVD
lujan is offline  
post #19818 of 21454 Old 01-12-2015, 04:59 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Mongo171's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Buffalo, NY
Posts: 2,594
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 482 Post(s)
Liked: 999
Quote:
Originally Posted by lujan View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by JazzGuyy View Post
Have you ever bothered to read the FAQ referenced in the first post of this thread? It's in there and has been there forever. It's also been mentioned numerous times on all the Oppo Blu-Ray model threads. Don't know how you missed it.
Yeah, you're very helpful indeed.
Well, there was only ONE Einstein.
Mongo171 is offline  
post #19819 of 21454 Old 01-12-2015, 05:04 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
NorthSky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Canada - West Island: Vancouver, South Direction: Go East, dts:x Films: Under the Skin, 3D, Birdman, X_Machina, The Zero Theorem, Interstellar
Posts: 11,826
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4964 Post(s)
Liked: 2072
Quote:
Originally Posted by JazzGuyy View Post
Have you ever bothered to read the FAQ referenced in the first post of this thread? It's in there and has been there forever. It's also been mentioned numerous times on all the Oppo Blu-Ray model threads. Don't know how you missed it.
It's inexplicable.
NorthSky is offline  
post #19820 of 21454 Old 01-12-2015, 05:06 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
NorthSky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Canada - West Island: Vancouver, South Direction: Go East, dts:x Films: Under the Skin, 3D, Birdman, X_Machina, The Zero Theorem, Interstellar
Posts: 11,826
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4964 Post(s)
Liked: 2072
Quote:
Originally Posted by DanF8500 View Post
I would have told you that, but just missed your post.
I probably would have too.
NorthSky is offline  
post #19821 of 21454 Old 01-12-2015, 07:07 PM
boe
AVS Special Member
 
boe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 2,965
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 349 Post(s)
Liked: 165
Is there any place to read about progress or new features on the next mediacontrol?
boe is offline  
post #19822 of 21454 Old 01-13-2015, 07:18 AM
AVS Special Member
 
lujan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 2,980
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 280 Post(s)
Liked: 58
Quote:
Originally Posted by lujan View Post
Called Oppo today and they just had me "Erase Persistent Storage" and now everything is working fine. I'm surprised that with all the knowledgeable members of this forum, no one suggested this?
This fix was very short lived. After calling Oppo yesterday and doing the fix, I turned everything off as I didn't want to watch the Merlin series until the evening. I later watched another movie on the Oppo and then put in the Merlin disk and it got stuck (non responsive) again. I will need to call Oppo again as this Merlin BD series and the 103 don't seem to play well together. I'm guessing that they will need to do a firmware update to fix it permanently?

lujan
787 Blu-ray
19 HD DVD
7 DVD
lujan is offline  
post #19823 of 21454 Old 01-13-2015, 07:29 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Mongo171's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Buffalo, NY
Posts: 2,594
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 482 Post(s)
Liked: 999
You might have to send the disc into OPPO so they can see what's up.

"I am a Meat Popsicle." - Corbin Dallas, "The Fifth Element"

Klipsch Chorus II (Mains); Klipsch Academy (Center) (KLF-C7 waiting in the wings); Klipsch RS-62 II (Surrounds); SVS PC13-Ultra X2 (BIG BADA BOOM); ATI AT1505 (Amp); OPPO BDP-105 (Blu-ray Player); Panasonic 60GT50 (Plasma TV)
Mongo171 is offline  
post #19824 of 21454 Old 01-13-2015, 08:24 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
rdgrimes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Nuevo Mexico
Posts: 17,275
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 853 Post(s)
Liked: 425
Quote:
Originally Posted by lujan View Post
This fix was very short lived. After calling Oppo yesterday and doing the fix, I turned everything off as I didn't want to watch the Merlin series until the evening. I later watched another movie on the Oppo and then put in the Merlin disk and it got stuck (non responsive) again. I will need to call Oppo again as this Merlin BD series and the 103 don't seem to play well together. I'm guessing that they will need to do a firmware update to fix it permanently?
Hard to say really. It seems that if there's an issue that's firmware/decoder related, other players should also be having trouble with that BD set. I'd be looking around to see if others have reported issues with that set. It sounds like whatever is happening might be random and its just a coincidence that erasing persistent storage was done right before it worked. I certainly wouldn't rule out a bad disc. What happens with other discs from the same set?

What happens if you turn off BD-Live or disconnect the player from the network?
rdgrimes is offline  
post #19825 of 21454 Old 01-13-2015, 12:58 PM
AVS Special Member
 
lujan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 2,980
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 280 Post(s)
Liked: 58
Quote:
Originally Posted by rdgrimes View Post
Hard to say really. It seems that if there's an issue that's firmware/decoder related, other players should also be having trouble with that BD set. I'd be looking around to see if others have reported issues with that set. It sounds like whatever is happening might be random and its just a coincidence that erasing persistent storage was done right before it worked. I certainly wouldn't rule out a bad disc. What happens with other discs from the same set?

What happens if you turn off BD-Live or disconnect the player from the network?
I talked to Oppo and the problem is repeatable using the first disc of the first season. We didn't try another disc from the first season but I did try the first disc of the second season and everything worked fine so it seems to be limited to the first season disc or discs. Oppo is going to try and purchase the first season on blu-ray and work on a fix for a future software update is what he told me. I haven't tried disconnecting from the network but it has always had BD-Live off.

lujan
787 Blu-ray
19 HD DVD
7 DVD
lujan is offline  
post #19826 of 21454 Old 01-13-2015, 01:09 PM
Senior Member
 
Iron Maiden's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: NorCal
Posts: 348
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 194 Post(s)
Liked: 56
So not buying the Darbee model is getting to me. Guess it's the not knowing "IF" I would like it or not.
I could return my 103 through amazon and upgrade to the 103D but that's kinda dirty. So I may just pick up the Darblet DVP5000 for $199. Hundred more than I would have paid had I just gone with the 103D in the first place. Oh well. Having the small little pod on the top of my rack will make it easy to swap HDMIs between my plasma & projector.


Curious if any others have the 103 & Darblet combo????
Curious what is better. Being built into the source unit(oppo) vs being in the middle of the signal chain. Or is it more like an external DAC. Where having a stand alone external component (pre-amp/dac/amp/processor is the superior.
For $200, if I don't like it I can toss it in one of the boys rooms on their Xbox One systems.

60" Panasonic Plasma ~ BenQ HT1075 / 92" Screen~Onkyo TX-NR3008(Pre/Pro)
Earthquake Sound Cinenova Grande Amplifier ~ Oppo BDP-103 ~ Xbox One
Musical Fidelity Tri-Vista Tube DAC ~ Monster Cable Signature Series HTPS7000
Energy Veritas 2.2i (mains) & Veritas 2.0ic (center) ~ Veritas 2.1(Front Wides)
Energy RC-70 & CAT Tiburons(Surrounds)~ Sub 15" Diamond Audio Technology-iNuke 6000
Iron Maiden is online now  
post #19827 of 21454 Old 01-13-2015, 01:14 PM
Advanced Member
 
cdnscg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 954
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 114 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by Iron Maiden View Post
So not buying the Darbee model is getting to me. Guess it's the not knowing "IF" I would like it or not.
I could return my 103 through amazon and upgrade to the 103D but that's kinda dirty. So I may just pick up the Darblet DVP5000 for $199. Hundred more than I would have paid had I just gone with the 103D in the first place. Oh well. Having the small little pod on the top of my rack will make it easy to swap HDMIs between my plasma & projector.


Curious if any others have the 103 & Darblet combo????
Curious what is better. Being built into the source unit(oppo) vs being in the middle of the signal chain. Or is it more like an external DAC. Where having a stand alone external component (pre-amp/dac/amp/processor is the superior.
For $200, if I don't like it I can toss it in one of the boys rooms on their Xbox One systems.
Good point.
cdnscg is offline  
post #19828 of 21454 Old 01-13-2015, 01:15 PM
One-Man Content Creator
 
wmcclain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 18,641
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1155 Post(s)
Liked: 549
Quote:
Originally Posted by Iron Maiden View Post
Curious what is better. Being built into the source unit(oppo) vs being in the middle of the signal chain. Or is it more like an external DAC. Where having a stand alone external component (pre-amp/dac/amp/processor is the superior.
For $200, if I don't like it I can toss it in one of the boys rooms on their Xbox One systems.
The results should be identical.

Reading the Darblet thread people sometimes report HDMI and power glitchiness which does not happen with the Darbee feature in the player.

-Bill

Review older films here: 1979 and earlier | 1980s | 1990s | Combined reviews: Strange Picture Scroll
Unofficial OPPO FAQS: BDP-103 | BDP-93 | BDP-83 | BDP-80    
wmcclain is online now  
post #19829 of 21454 Old 01-13-2015, 01:18 PM
Advanced Member
 
cdnscg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 954
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 114 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by wmcclain View Post
The results should be identical.

Reading the Darblet thread people sometimes report HDMI and power glitchiness which does not happen with the Darbee feature in the player.

-Bill
Yes, but by placing a stand alone in the systems chain, you can then use it for content from a cable box, HDDVD player (remember these,......
cdnscg is offline  
post #19830 of 21454 Old 01-13-2015, 01:29 PM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 28,709
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 964 Post(s)
Liked: 1183
Quote:
Originally Posted by lujan View Post
Called Oppo today and they just had me "Erase Persistent Storage" and now everything is working fine. I'm surprised that with all the knowledgeable members of this forum, no one suggested this?
No need to thank us. It's all part of the service.
--Bob

Anthem D2/D2v/AVM50/AVM50v/ARC1 tweaking guide. -- Need personal consultation/training? PM me!
Bob Pariseau is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Blu-ray Players

Tags
Oppo Bdp 103 3d Blu Ray Player , Oppo Bdp 105 Blu Ray Player , Oppo Bdp 93 Blu Ray Player , Oppo Digital Inc



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off