Official OPPO BDP-103 Owner's Thread - Page 670 - AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 374Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #20071 of 20079 Old Today, 11:02 AM
AVS Special Member
 
DanF8500's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 1,428
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 347 Post(s)
Liked: 227
Quote:
Originally Posted by NorthSky View Post
Question: Why did it take over a year and half to discover the issue of calculating acoustic propagation delay with "Speaker Distance" parameters from the Speaker Configuration setting on the multichannel analog output?
It took the right person at the right time to discover there was even an issue in the first place. I'm not certain what led to me investigating and testing the speaker distance setting, but I was the one who discovered that something wasn't correct. Most on this forum didn't believe me, but Bob listened and did some testing on his end, and verified/validated my findings.
DanF8500 is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #20072 of 20079 Old Today, 11:46 AM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 28,252
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 729 Post(s)
Liked: 1070
Quote:
Originally Posted by NorthSky View Post
Question: Why did it take over a year and half to discover the issue of calculating acoustic propagation delay with "Speaker Distance" parameters from the Speaker Configuration setting on the multichannel analog output?
Clearly, it was a test, to see if any users were paying attention.
--Bob

Anthem D2/D2v/AVM50/AVM50v/ARC1 tweaking guide. -- Need personal consultation/training? PM me!
Bob Pariseau is online now  
post #20073 of 20079 Old Today, 11:48 AM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 28,252
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 729 Post(s)
Liked: 1070
Quote:
Originally Posted by NorthSky View Post
Two: Why the Volume Bar appears @ the screen's bottom after you start your player?
As a safety check (speaker protection) in case you have the Volume cranked up when you don't really want that.
--Bob

Anthem D2/D2v/AVM50/AVM50v/ARC1 tweaking guide. -- Need personal consultation/training? PM me!
Bob Pariseau is online now  
post #20074 of 20079 Old Today, 11:52 AM
Senior Member
 
donottosmeok's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 206
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by rdgrimes View Post
OK, well same advice: turn off HDMI CEC in all devices. Try switching the TV to another input before shutting it off.
rdgrimes, thanks again; but no luck--no matter which HDMI port on the TV I connect the OPPO to, I still get an occasional dropout. CEC was already off on the OPPO; I don't believe CEC can be switched on the TV. I'll have to live with dropouts. Either that, or disconnect HDMI from the OPPO entirely, if I want two-channel analog music without dropouts. The BDP-103's video is exceptional; it seems a real shame it has this "handshake" gremlin. Oh, well.
donottosmeok is online now  
post #20075 of 20079 Old Today, 12:01 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
rdgrimes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Nuevo Mexico
Posts: 16,799
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 561 Post(s)
Liked: 300
Quote:
Originally Posted by donottosmeok View Post
rdgrimes, thanks again; but no luck--no matter which HDMI port on the TV I connect the OPPO to, I still get an occasional dropout. CEC was already off on the OPPO; I don't believe CEC can be switched on the TV. I'll have to live with dropouts. Either that, or disconnect HDMI from the OPPO entirely, if I want two-channel analog music without dropouts. The BDP-103's video is exceptional; it seems a real shame it has this "handshake" gremlin. Oh, well.
You may have misunderstood the instruction. Leave the Oppo plugged into the same input on the TV. Before turning the TV off, switch it to an unused HDMI port.
rdgrimes is online now  
post #20076 of 20079 Old Today, 12:10 PM
AVS Special Member
 
SeeMoreDigital's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Notts, UK
Posts: 1,917
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 164 Post(s)
Liked: 91
Quote:
Originally Posted by donottosmeok View Post
rdgrimes, thanks again; but no luck--no matter which HDMI port on the TV I connect the OPPO to, I still get an occasional dropout. CEC was already off on the OPPO; I don't believe CEC can be switched on the TV. I'll have to live with dropouts. Either that, or disconnect HDMI from the OPPO entirely, if I want two-channel analog music without dropouts. The BDP-103's video is exceptional; it seems a real shame it has this "handshake" gremlin. Oh, well.
Just-so-as-you-know... If you have an Android device connected to your TV, it can cause weird CEC connectivity problems. As even when powered down it could still be passing a signal to your TV. If you have such a device connected, either disconnect the power cord or disconnect the HDMI lead

I SUPPORT 'FAIR USE'. MY MORALS PREVENT ME FROM HELPING ANYONE WHO OBTAINS COPYRIGHTED CONTENT ILLEGITIMATELY
I've been testing hardware media playback devices and software A/V encoders and decoders since 2001 | My Network Layout and A/V Gear
SeeMoreDigital is online now  
post #20077 of 20079 Old Today, 12:54 PM
AVS Special Member
 
pbarach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Northeast Ohio
Posts: 2,680
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 129 Post(s)
Liked: 118
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Pariseau View Post
Check that you have the latest firmware installed. In Setup > Device Setup > Firmware Information, the "Main" firmware version number should end "0827".

Check your network throughput. One good way to do this is to set up a VUDU account -- which is free until you actually rent some content. With a VUDU account, you can now go into the VUDU app to My VUDU > Info & Settings > Network Speed Test. See what sort of speed you are getting, and also whether it is constant or keeps bopping up and down in speed. If you see a problem here you know there's still some issue in your network setup that you've not yet addressed.
--Bob
I have had the same issues the OP reports, and my network speed is always over 12 Mbps. My 103 is connected to the cable model/router via Ethernet, as is a Roku 2--and I have zero problems accessing Netflix with the Roku even when Oppo repeatedly tells me "this title cannot be played." Also, the Roku required me to sign on exactly once, the day I hooked it up. In contrast, I have had to do this a number of times with the 103. No, there is definitely something screwy with the Oppo's Netflix app, and erasing and then resetting to factory defaults didn't fix this. I have no issues with Vudu, YouTube, or the Berlin Phil apps on the Oppo--it's just Netflix

AT&T U-Verse Northeast Ohio

Denon x4000, Carver m1.0t, Samsung LED TV, B&W 704 mains, two M&K subwoofers, Oppo 103, Roku 2, etc.
Headphone system: Sennheiser HD600, AKG K701, Burson HA-160, Marantz CD5004, Denon DVD-3910
pbarach is online now  
post #20078 of 20079 Old Today, 01:22 PM
Member
 
Trevor78's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 151
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Pariseau View Post
Check that you have the latest firmware installed. In Setup > Device Setup > Firmware Information, the "Main" firmware version number should end "0827".

Check your network throughput. One good way to do this is to set up a VUDU account -- which is free until you actually rent some content. With a VUDU account, you can now go into the VUDU app to My VUDU > Info & Settings > Network Speed Test. See what sort of speed you are getting, and also whether it is constant or keeps bopping up and down in speed. If you see a problem here you know there's still some issue in your network setup that you've not yet addressed.
--Bob
I have been very good about updating firmware. Will check to confirm, and will also check the speed test. Thanks!
Trevor78 is online now  
post #20079 of 20079 Old Today, 01:24 PM
Member
 
Trevor78's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 151
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by pbarach View Post
I have had the same issues the OP reports, and my network speed is always over 12 Mbps. My 103 is connected to the cable model/router via Ethernet, as is a Roku 2--and I have zero problems accessing Netflix with the Roku even when Oppo repeatedly tells me "this title cannot be played." Also, the Roku required me to sign on exactly once, the day I hooked it up. In contrast, I have had to do this a number of times with the 103. No, there is definitely something screwy with the Oppo's Netflix app, and erasing and then resetting to factory defaults didn't fix this. I have no issues with Vudu, YouTube, or the Berlin Phil apps on the Oppo--it's just Netflix
Just saw this- sounds like you have the same thing I have. Glad to know it's not just me! I'll still try some basic resetting to see if it helps, but not worried about it. The player's shiny disc features are perfect and that's what is important. Just trying to explain to my wife why the player isn't operating Netflix very well…
Trevor78 is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Blu-ray Players

Tags
Oppo Bdp 103 3d Blu Ray Player , Oppo Bdp 105 Blu Ray Player , Oppo Bdp 93 Blu Ray Player , Oppo Digital Inc

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off