Official OPPO BDP-103 Owner's Thread - Page 688 - AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 434Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #20611 of 20622 Old 03-02-2015, 07:45 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
gwsat's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Tulsa
Posts: 14,929
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 384 Post(s)
Liked: 607
Quote:
Originally Posted by DevonDeyholos View Post
I'm having trouble with my 103. It's playing all my blurays normally with exception to one, Batman Begins. The disc is flawless so I don't think it is damaged. When I put it in, the oppo says it's a data disc and to access it through the "movie" tab. When I enter into that it comes up with a bunch of menus and things but nowhere to play the movie. It's an old movie so I don't know how the firmware couldn't be compatible with it but I checked my firmware anyway and it's up to date. I've searched around already with no answers. Anyone have any ideas? If nothing works I'll contact oppo tomorrow to try and figure it out.
I watched my Batman Begins BD again on my 103 last week and it played back perfectly. Mine is a strictly commercial disk that I bought from Amazon or Target.
gwsat is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #20612 of 20622 Old 03-02-2015, 08:25 PM
Newbie
 
raiderphil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I've had the exact same problem with "Pearl Harbor". I would love to hear of a solution, particularly if the problem is existing with other discs.
raiderphil is offline  
post #20613 of 20622 Old Yesterday, 05:16 AM
Newbie
 
Joseph Yates's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 0
I have a 720P MP4 video file that I'd like to play and upscale / up convert to 1080P using the 103's Marvell Qdeo video processing - which I understand only happens through HDMI Out 1.
Will I get the same PQ going through the USB input as through the HDMI Inputs?
In other words is one source input better than the other?
Joseph Yates is offline  
post #20614 of 20622 Old Yesterday, 05:31 AM
One-Man Content Creator
 
wmcclain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 18,128
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 859 Post(s)
Liked: 432
Quote:
Originally Posted by Joseph Yates View Post
I have a 720P MP4 video file that I'd like to play and upscale / up convert to 1080P using the 103's Marvell Qdeo video processing - which I understand only happens through HDMI Out 1.
Will I get the same PQ going through the USB input as through the HDMI Inputs?
In other words is one source input better than the other?
Welcome to AVSForum.

All sources will be treated the same in terms of video processing.

-Bill

Review older films here: 1979 and earlier | 1980s | Combined reviews: Strange Picture Scroll
Unofficial OPPO FAQS: BDP-103 | BDP-93 | BDP-83 | BDP-80    
wmcclain is online now  
post #20615 of 20622 Old Yesterday, 05:36 AM
gsr
Oppo Beta Group
 
gsr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Massachusetts, USA
Posts: 7,858
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 302 Post(s)
Liked: 275
Quote:
Originally Posted by Joseph Yates View Post
I have a 720P MP4 video file that I'd like to play and upscale / up convert to 1080P using the 103's Marvell Qdeo video processing - which I understand only happens through HDMI Out 1.
Will I get the same PQ going through the USB input as through the HDMI Inputs?
In other words is one source input better than the other?
The end result will likely be different depending on what you're using to send your video file through one of the HDMI inputs. Is it a computer running media player software or some other media streamer (such as a WDTV) and outputting 1080p? If so, then the Oppo won't be scaling the image to 1080p because it's already 1080p at that point. If you play the file via a storage device attached to a USB input or through SMB network sharing, then the Oppo will both decode the MP4 file and perform the scaling to 1080p for you. Another option is to use DLNA, just make sure your DLNA server isn't configured to do any conversion to the file before passing it along to the Oppo.
gsr is offline  
post #20616 of 20622 Old Yesterday, 06:27 AM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 28,335
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 777 Post(s)
Liked: 1090
Quote:
Originally Posted by DevonDeyholos View Post
I'm having trouble with my 103. It's playing all my blurays normally with exception to one, Batman Begins. The disc is flawless so I don't think it is damaged. When I put it in, the oppo says it's a data disc and to access it through the "movie" tab. When I enter into that it comes up with a bunch of menus and things but nowhere to play the movie. It's an old movie so I don't know how the firmware couldn't be compatible with it but I checked my firmware anyway and it's up to date. I've searched around already with no answers. Anyone have any ideas? If nothing works I'll contact oppo tomorrow to try and figure it out.
Quote:
Originally Posted by raiderphil View Post
I've had the exact same problem with "Pearl Harbor". I would love to hear of a solution, particularly if the problem is existing with other discs.
Failure to detect that the disc is a Blu-ray disc is a type of disc read error. One possibility is that the laser lens in the player has picked up a piece of dust or is filmed from stuff floating in the air and needs to be cleaned, but if the problem is only happening on one disc the odds are much greater that it is just a faulty disc. The tolerances in Blu-ray are tight enough that manufacturing defects may not be visible to the eye.

Try this: Open the Tray, gently wiggle the disc around in place in its spot in the Tray, which will give it a slightly different position when loading, and try loading the disc again. If the disc read problem is not too severe, this may be all that's needed for the player to get past it.

If possible, exchange the disc or try someone else's copy of the disc to confirm the problem really is just with your current copy of the disc.
--Bob

Anthem D2/D2v/AVM50/AVM50v/ARC1 tweaking guide. -- Need personal consultation/training? PM me!
Bob Pariseau is online now  
post #20617 of 20622 Old Yesterday, 07:00 AM
Member
 
Daffietje's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 172
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 48 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Had the same happening with one Bluray disc from star trek the next generation. There was not much wrong on the disc (at least visible to the eye) but after replacing it with a new copy the problem was solved.

Panasonic TX-P50GT60 / Marantz SR5004 / 4 x KEF HTS 3001 SE (front + rear) + HTC 3001 SE (centre) + REL T-9 sub / Oppo BDP-103EU (MultiRegion+MultiZone)
Daffietje is offline  
post #20618 of 20622 Old Yesterday, 01:39 PM
Newbie
 
Joseph Yates's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by gsr View Post
The end result will likely be different depending on what you're using to send your video file through one of the HDMI inputs. Is it a computer running media player software or some other media streamer (such as a WDTV) and outputting 1080p? If so, then the Oppo won't be scaling the image to 1080p because it's already 1080p at that point. If you play the file via a storage device attached to a USB input or through SMB network sharing, then the Oppo will both decode the MP4 file and perform the scaling to 1080p for you. Another option is to use DLNA, just make sure your DLNA server isn't configured to do any conversion to the file before passing it along to the Oppo.
Thanks! - got it - will let the Oppo do the decoding and upscaling. Oppo tech support just emailed me and confirmed that:
"best that you play the file directly from the USB drive and have the player process and scale the image, rather than take an image from an external HDMI source and have the player scale the image."

Just curious - if I do play this file through an external media player (Dune HD Smart H1) - which I understand has it own upscaling - though not as good as Oppo's - is there a way to "disable" the upscaling in the external device and let Oppo do it (better) instead?
Joseph Yates is offline  
post #20619 of 20622 Old Yesterday, 02:45 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
rdgrimes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Nuevo Mexico
Posts: 16,930
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 649 Post(s)
Liked: 329
Quote:
Originally Posted by Joseph Yates View Post
Just curious - if I do play this file through an external media player (Dune HD Smart H1) - which I understand has it own upscaling - though not as good as Oppo's - is there a way to "disable" the upscaling in the external device and let Oppo do it (better) instead?
The Dune H1 has user-definable output resolution, but not "native" or "source direct", so you'd have to change the output setting for everything you play. But note: the Dune can act as an SMB server and if you turn that feature on, the Oppo can access files directly on any volume that the Dune is connected to. It will show up in the Oppo Network screen as "Dune" and no password is required. Obviously they both need to be on the same network.
rdgrimes is online now  
post #20620 of 20622 Old Yesterday, 09:46 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by seggers View Post
Anyone soon to be looking for a gently used Oppo 103 can message me. I bought a Sony BDP S6200 yesterday and the Oppo will soon to be moved onto pastures new.

Seggers
Seggers, I'm interested in the Oppo 103. Just registered to post, so I can't send message.
aperson99 is online now  
post #20621 of 20622 Old Today, 09:33 PM
Advanced Member
 
pwiss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Oregon
Posts: 814
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by hawkster27 View Post
Since I have a similar setup, can you expand on this?
Wow, I lot has changed since I posted that. I upgraded to a ST60 and it was the ST50 that was softening the image. The ST60 uses the Mediatek chip which is much better than the Panasonic chip in the ST50. As a result I sold my Darbee and while I admit it had benefits financially it made sense at the time. The comments I made were in regard to the stuttering image that was present in my set up at the time. When played through the ST50 there was no stuttering. In regards to the Oppo subsequent firmware updates fixed all of the stuttering etc... issues I was having and I absolutely love the picture I get through either HDMI 1 or 2. I have no functional issues with the Oppo now. If you have the ST50 you will see a softening of the image especially with 720p sources that even the Oppo can't help.
pwiss is online now  
post #20622 of 20622 Old Today, 09:40 PM
AVS Special Member
 
NorthSky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Canada - West Island: Vancouver, South Direction: Go East
Posts: 8,475
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3515 Post(s)
Liked: 1221
The better your display the better your Oppo 103's picture rendition.
NorthSky is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Blu-ray Players

Tags
Oppo Bdp 103 3d Blu Ray Player , Oppo Bdp 105 Blu Ray Player , Oppo Bdp 93 Blu Ray Player , Oppo Digital Inc

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off