Official OPPO BDP-103 Owner's Thread - Page 700 - AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
 478Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #20971 of 21296 Old 04-07-2015, 12:21 PM
One-Man Content Creator
 
wmcclain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 18,457
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1051 Post(s)
Liked: 505
Quote:
Originally Posted by Draden1 View Post
Hello everyone,

I've been doing some reading in this thread and online about mkv playback of a dolby true hd soundtrack. This is playing from an external drive plugged directly into the player. My processor shows true hd is playing but the oppo shows "mlp."

Is the mlp that the oppo is showing downgrading the true hd soundtrack in any way? Or is the mlp a bit for bit perfect copy of the true hd track from the blu ray and the oppo just needs to have that mlp renamed to true hd?

Thanks
It's just a label in the player's on screen display. Same audio.

-Bill

Review older films here: 1979 and earlier | 1980s | 1990s | Combined reviews: Strange Picture Scroll
Unofficial OPPO FAQS: BDP-103 | BDP-93 | BDP-83 | BDP-80    
wmcclain is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #20972 of 21296 Old 04-07-2015, 12:27 PM
Member
 
Draden1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Des Moines, IA
Posts: 101
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 30 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Quote:
Originally Posted by wmcclain View Post
It's just a label in the player's on screen display. Same audio.

-Bill
I find it confusing that oppo decided to allow this. I'm currently reading about mlp and am just starting to understand it but I'm sure this is confusing to others as well. I'm sure it's something that could be easily fixed in a firmware update, couldn't it?

Thanks for the quick response

Draden1 is offline  
post #20973 of 21296 Old 04-07-2015, 12:29 PM
One-Man Content Creator
 
wmcclain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 18,457
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1051 Post(s)
Liked: 505
Quote:
Originally Posted by Draden1 View Post
I'm sure it's something that could be easily fixed in a firmware update, couldn't it?
Sure. Tell them you want it.

-Bill

Review older films here: 1979 and earlier | 1980s | 1990s | Combined reviews: Strange Picture Scroll
Unofficial OPPO FAQS: BDP-103 | BDP-93 | BDP-83 | BDP-80    
wmcclain is online now  
post #20974 of 21296 Old 04-07-2015, 12:41 PM
Senior Member
 
skip61's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 239
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 35 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Need help with connections

I started to buy some SACD titles and I want to listen to it without pcm conversion. I was reading on the manual of my Oppo 103 that to be able to take full advantage of my Oppo regarding SACD's i would have to connect my Anthem to HDMI 2 and the tv to HDMI 1.
That works for when i use the Oppo only but when I want to use my pvr there is no picture same for the PS4.
Here are my connections:
TV connected to the Anthem MRX510 HDMI 1 output
Oppo 103 HDMI 1 out to the Anthem HDMI 2 in
PVR composite and optical to Anthem composite 1 and optical 1
PS4 connected to the Anthem HDMI 3
Help would be appreciated.
skip61 is offline  
post #20975 of 21296 Old 04-07-2015, 12:53 PM
Member
 
Draden1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Des Moines, IA
Posts: 101
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 30 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Quote:
Originally Posted by wmcclain View Post
Sure. Tell them you want it.

-Bill
On it.

Draden1 is offline  
post #20976 of 21296 Old 04-07-2015, 01:12 PM
Member
 
genegold's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 133
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by NorthSky View Post
Wow, even better. ...With three USB ports. ...And streaming too!
It's like having a video preamp processor for multiple sources and formats. ...And not counting the audio side.
Only if you have a TV where it makes a difference. As others here cautioned me (and others), the darbee version needs a larger screen TV to show its effects. With a 46" Samsung F8000, I couldn't reliably tell the difference, even with the split-screen tool. Ended up returning the 103D for a refurbed 103 and have been very happy.
genegold is offline  
post #20977 of 21296 Old 04-07-2015, 01:57 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Philnick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Cambridge, MA
Posts: 1,128
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 105 Post(s)
Liked: 48
Quote:
Originally Posted by Draden1 View Post
Hello everyone,

I've been doing some reading in this thread and online about mkv playback of a dolby true hd soundtrack. This is playing from an external drive plugged directly into the player. My processor shows true hd is playing but the oppo shows "mlp."

Is the mlp that the oppo is showing downgrading the true hd soundtrack in any way? Or is the mlp a bit for bit perfect copy of the true hd track from the blu ray and the oppo just needs to have that mlp renamed to true hd?

Thanks
My understanding is that Dolby TrueHD is based on Meridian Lossless Packing, which was developed long ago for DVD-Audio disks. Oppo DVD players were able to play DVD-A disks long before Blu-ray and TrueHD were introduced. I doubt that there's any loss in quality, or even any change in encoding - the Oppo's just calling the encoding by its "family" name.

Philnick is offline  
post #20978 of 21296 Old 04-07-2015, 01:58 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Smarty-pants's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 16,690
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 357 Post(s)
Liked: 233
^ If you still can't see the difference pausing it and running the split screen demo, then I would highly advise a visit to the eye doctor, lol.

~Dave

...Theater Room Setup...
JVC DLA-RS40-U... Oppo BDP-105D... Toshiba HD-XA2... Uverse VIP-2250... Roku Streaming Stick... Emotiva XPA-3... Onkyo TX-SR805
JBL LC2 (x3) ... JBL L820 (x6) ... SVS PB10-ISD (x2) ... SVS 20-39-PCI
Smarty-pants is offline  
post #20979 of 21296 Old 04-07-2015, 02:16 PM
AVS Special Member
 
DanF8500's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 1,562
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 447 Post(s)
Liked: 241
Quote:
Originally Posted by skip61 View Post
I started to buy some SACD titles and I want to listen to it without pcm conversion. I was reading on the manual of my Oppo 103 that to be able to take full advantage of my Oppo regarding SACD's i would have to connect my Anthem to HDMI 2 and the tv to HDMI 1.
That works for when i use the Oppo only but when I want to use my pvr there is no picture same for the PS4.
Here are my connections:
TV connected to the Anthem MRX510 HDMI 1 output
Oppo 103 HDMI 1 out to the Anthem HDMI 2 in
PVR composite and optical to Anthem composite 1 and optical 1
PS4 connected to the Anthem HDMI 3
Help would be appreciated.
Actually, to take "full" advantage of your 103 when playing SACD's, you'd want to use your 103's analog outputs, but the catch is if you use the analog outputs and don't want to convert DSD to PCM, you cannot use the 103's volume control. Output will be at max volume via the analog outs. Utilizing the 103's hdmi 2 output for DSD means you are sending the digital audio to your Anthem to be decoded to an analog signal. So, your 103 is acting simply as a digital audio transport. If that is really what you want, with no DSD to PCM conversion, you should set "SACD Output" to DSD. Audio would be muted on the 103's hdmi 1 output then.
DanF8500 is offline  
post #20980 of 21296 Old 04-07-2015, 02:24 PM
Senior Member
 
skip61's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 239
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 35 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by DanF8500 View Post
Actually, to take "full" advantage of your 103 when playing SACD's, you'd want to use your 103's analog outputs, but the catch is if you use the analog outputs and don't want to convert DSD to PCM, you cannot use the 103's volume control. Output will be at max volume via the analog outs. Utilizing the 103's hdmi 2 output for DSD means you are sending the digital audio to your Anthem to be decoded to an analog signal. So, your 103 is acting simply as a digital audio transport. If that is really what you want, with no DSD to PCM conversion, you should set "SACD Output" to DSD. Audio would be muted on the 103's hdmi 1 output then.
So if i go analog do i still leave my hdmi connections the same?

Last edited by skip61; 04-07-2015 at 02:36 PM.
skip61 is offline  
post #20981 of 21296 Old 04-07-2015, 02:38 PM
AVS Special Member
 
DanF8500's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 1,562
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 447 Post(s)
Liked: 241
Quote:
Originally Posted by skip61 View Post
I rather go via the HDMI.
But how do i get the picture when i use my pvr and ps4 ?
That's a question for the Anthem threads. You don't have your pvr or your ps4 going thru the Oppo, right?
DanF8500 is offline  
post #20982 of 21296 Old 04-07-2015, 02:41 PM
AVS Special Member
 
DanF8500's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 1,562
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 447 Post(s)
Liked: 241
Quote:
Originally Posted by skip61 View Post
So if i go analog do i still leave my hdmi connections the same?
If you use the Oppo's analog connections, then you won't have to use the 103's hdmi 2 output, but you'll need to control volume from your Anthem if you don't want the 103 to convert DSD audio to PCM. The 103's DAC has no volume control when utilizing DSD straight to analog output.
DanF8500 is offline  
post #20983 of 21296 Old 04-07-2015, 02:42 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
NorthSky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Canada - West Island: Vancouver, South Direction: Go East, dts:x
Posts: 11,131
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4651 Post(s)
Liked: 1870
Quote:
Originally Posted by genegold View Post
Only if you have a TV where it makes a difference. As others here cautioned me (and others), the darbee version needs a larger screen TV to show its effects. With a 46" Samsung F8000, I couldn't reliably tell the difference, even with the split-screen tool. Ended up returning the 103D for a refurbed 103 and have been very happy.
I have read a lot of comments on the Oppo BDP-103 Universal Blu-ray player and its matured sister; the Oppo BDP-103D.
The Darbee video processor/enhancer is enjoyed by many of them having an HD display of between 50 and 65".

It all depends; of the viewer's own set of eyes, and the calibration of his HD (or UHD) display. ...Size matters and it doesn't; all depends...
Preference in viewing is a subjective analysis and experience; a personal matter.
NorthSky is offline  
post #20984 of 21296 Old 04-07-2015, 02:44 PM
Senior Member
 
skip61's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 239
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 35 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by DanF8500 View Post
If you use the Oppo's analog connections, then you won't have to use the 103's hdmi 2 output, but you'll need to control volume from your Anthem if you don't want the 103 to convert DSD audio to PCM. The 103's DAC has no volume control when utilizing DSD straight to analog output.
I was already using my Anthem for volume control. What is the difference using the oppo volume control?
skip61 is offline  
post #20985 of 21296 Old 04-07-2015, 02:46 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
NorthSky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Canada - West Island: Vancouver, South Direction: Go East, dts:x
Posts: 11,131
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4651 Post(s)
Liked: 1870
Quote:
Originally Posted by Philnick View Post
My understanding is that Dolby TrueHD is based on Meridian Lossless Packing, which was developed long ago for DVD-Audio disks. Oppo DVD players were able to play DVD-A disks long before Blu-ray and TrueHD were introduced. I doubt that there's any loss in quality, or even any change in encoding - the Oppo's just calling the encoding by its "family" name.
You are quite right in your understanding.
NorthSky is offline  
post #20986 of 21296 Old 04-07-2015, 02:49 PM
Member
 
genegold's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 133
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by NorthSky View Post
I have read a lot of comments on the Oppo BDP-103 Universal Blu-ray player and its matured sister; the Oppo BDP-103D.
The Darbee video processor/enhancer is enjoyed by many of them having an HD display of between 50 and 65".

It all depends; of the viewer's own set of eyes, and the calibration of his HD (or UHD) display. ...Size matters and it doesn't; all depends...
Preference in viewing is a subjective analysis and experience; a personal matter.
Good to know 20-10 and good color vision is not enough to tell the difference. If you read the bulk of commenters with relatively smaller screens, and those giving advice to those who do, the word "subtle" is used a lot. If subtle excites for an extra $100-$180, then by all means go for it. 65" is probably in the range where the difference starts to become more than that.
genegold is offline  
post #20987 of 21296 Old 04-07-2015, 02:56 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Mongo171's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Buffalo, NY
Posts: 2,565
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 458 Post(s)
Liked: 977
Usually, it's the pj guys talking about the difference.
Mongo171 is online now  
post #20988 of 21296 Old 04-07-2015, 02:58 PM
AVS Special Member
 
DanF8500's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 1,562
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 447 Post(s)
Liked: 241
Quote:
Originally Posted by skip61 View Post
I was already using my Anthem for volume control. What is the difference using the oppo volume control?
Audibly, there might not be a difference you can hear. But electronically, there's a lot of differences between using volume controls from difference sources. When you utilize your Oppo's volume control (only functions for the 103's analog outputs), then you're listening to the 103's internal DAC (Digital to Analog Converter) output. When using your Anthem's volume control (from Oppo's hdmi source), you're listening to your Anthem's DAC output.

Since you say you never use the 103's volume control before (because you only use the 103's hdmi outputs), then you've never listened to the 103's DAC output. Like I stated earlier, you probably won't hear any differences. They would be subtle differences, if at all. The DACs in your Anthem are high quality. You're probalby correct to continue using the Anthem's volume control.

I know it's the "no" picture problem you'd like solved, but I don't have an answer to that....Sorry. But I can't see how the Oppo would be at fault, since your pvr and ps4 are connected to your Anthem.

Last edited by DanF8500; 04-07-2015 at 03:04 PM.
DanF8500 is offline  
post #20989 of 21296 Old 04-07-2015, 03:07 PM
Senior Member
 
skip61's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 239
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 35 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by DanF8500 View Post
Audibly, there might not be a difference you can hear. But electronically, there's a lot of differences between using volume controls from difference sources. When you utilize your Oppo's volume control (only functions for the 103's analog outputs), then you're listening to the 103's internal DAC (Digital to Analog Converter) output. When using your Anthem's volume control (from Oppo's hdmi source), you're listening to your Anthem's DAC output.

Since you say you never use the 103's volume control before (because you only use the 103's hdmi outputs), then you've never listened to the 103's DAC output. Like I stated earlier, you probably won't hear any differences. They would be subtle differences, if at all. The DACs in your Anthem are high quality. You're probalby correct to continue using the Anthem's volume control.

I know it's the "no" picture problem you'd like solved, but I don't have an answer to that....Sorry. But I can't see how the Oppo would be at fault, since your pvr and ps4 are connected to your Anthem.
So if i want to make sure that it's not converted to pcm i have to use the analog connections, right ?
skip61 is offline  
post #20990 of 21296 Old 04-07-2015, 03:15 PM
AVS Special Member
 
DanF8500's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 1,562
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 447 Post(s)
Liked: 241
Quote:
Originally Posted by skip61 View Post
So if i want to make sure that it's not converted to pcm i have to use the analog connections, right ?
Skip, are you certain your Anthem receiver can even decode a DSD audio stream? Browsing around online for your Anthem receiver tells me it cannot decode DSD audio.

To make sure the 103 doesn't convert DSD to PCM, you need to set SACD Output to "DSD" on the 103. Remember, DSD and PCM are forms of "digital" audio. They still need to be converted to analog by a DAC. If your Anthem cannot decode DSD audio streams, and you still want to ensure no DSD to PCM conversion, then you'll need to use the 103's analog outputs, along with the SACD Output setting I mentioned, and then ensure your Anthem passes the analog audio straight thru to its amp stage (volume control on Anthem still ok to use) without any analog to digital, then digital to analog conversion internal to your receiver.

Last edited by DanF8500; 04-07-2015 at 03:26 PM.
DanF8500 is offline  
post #20991 of 21296 Old 04-07-2015, 03:20 PM
Senior Member
 
skip61's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 239
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 35 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by DanF8500 View Post
Skip, are you certain your Anthem receiver can even decode a DSD audio stream? Browsing around online for your Anthem receiver tells me it cannot decode DSD audio.
Good question. So your saying that if my Anthem doesn't decode DSD i will not be able to use my Oppo to play SACD's in DSD ?
skip61 is offline  
post #20992 of 21296 Old 04-07-2015, 03:24 PM
AVS Special Member
 
DanF8500's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 1,562
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 447 Post(s)
Liked: 241
Quote:
Originally Posted by skip61 View Post
Good question. So your saying that if my Anthem doesn't decode DSD i will not be able to use my Oppo to play SACD's in DSD ?
I added more to my reply above after you quoted me...
DanF8500 is offline  
post #20993 of 21296 Old 04-07-2015, 03:31 PM
Senior Member
 
skip61's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 239
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 35 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by DanF8500 View Post
I added more to my reply above after you quoted me...

Ok i will try that.
Thanks
I much appreciate your help DanF8500
skip61 is offline  
post #20994 of 21296 Old 04-07-2015, 03:39 PM
AVS Special Member
 
DanF8500's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 1,562
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 447 Post(s)
Liked: 241
Quote:
Originally Posted by skip61 View Post
Ok i will try that.
Thanks
I much appreciate your help DanF8500
No problem. We're here to help, and not blow out speakers...... Like I mentioned earlier, be careful when using the 103's analog outputs and setting SACD Output to DSD when playing SACD audio. The 103's analog outputs will be fixed at full volume (i.e. 100 max)!! Adjust your receiver's volume way down to prevent possible overdriving your receiver's analog inputs and blowing out your speakers.

Last edited by DanF8500; 04-07-2015 at 03:43 PM.
DanF8500 is offline  
post #20995 of 21296 Old 04-07-2015, 03:40 PM
Senior Member
 
skip61's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 239
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 35 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by DanF8500 View Post
No problem. We're here to help, and not blow out speakers...... Like I mentioned earlier, be careful when using the 103's analog outputs and setting SACD Output to DSD when playing SACD audio. The 103's analog output will be fixed at full volume output!! Adjust your receiver's volume way down to prevent possible overdriving your receiver's analog inputs and blowing out your speakers.
Will do

Success !!! Everything is great!! Wow !!!

Last edited by skip61; 04-07-2015 at 04:09 PM.
skip61 is offline  
post #20996 of 21296 Old 04-08-2015, 11:17 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Archaea's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Kansas City, MO
Posts: 7,599
Mentioned: 125 Post(s)
Tagged: 2 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1365 Post(s)
Liked: 1221
Could anyone quickly confirm the Oppo 103 can play m2ts clips directly? Or do they have to be mkv clips? I made a bunch of demo clips in m2ts format and play them off my htpc, but seeing the player's interface at a recent ht crawl made me think that's a superior solution to using the PC, as I never feel like my black levels are very good when playing clips off the PC on my projector.

"Without subs it's just background music - with subs it's the main event!"
Archaea's Theatre Room
2011 KC Sub Shootout
2012 KC Blind Sub Shootout
My Subwoofer Recommendations by Pricepoint
Archaea is online now  
post #20997 of 21296 Old 04-08-2015, 11:28 AM
One-Man Content Creator
 
wmcclain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 18,457
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1051 Post(s)
Liked: 505
Quote:
Originally Posted by Archaea View Post
Could anyone quickly confirm the Oppo 103 can play m2ts clips directly?
Yes.

-Bill
Archaea likes this.

Review older films here: 1979 and earlier | 1980s | 1990s | Combined reviews: Strange Picture Scroll
Unofficial OPPO FAQS: BDP-103 | BDP-93 | BDP-83 | BDP-80    
wmcclain is online now  
post #20998 of 21296 Old 04-08-2015, 12:09 PM
AVS Special Member
 
fatherom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Boston area, MA
Posts: 1,010
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 49 Post(s)
Liked: 36
Quick question about accessing SMB shares.

I got my 103 today. I was mentally prepared for the headache of accessing Win 8.1 shares, but nicely I was able to access my 2 Win 8.1 PCs (and all their shares) without a problem.

It's my older Win 7 box (which has always been visible from other PCs, my Dunes, etc) that I don't see from the Oppo. The name of the PC doesn't appear in the network server list.

Help!

Chris
HeffeMusic likes this.


Epson 5020UB (won on AVSForum!) on Elite Sable 16:9 100", Oppo BDP-83 / 93 (ISO firmware) / 103D, Dune HD Base 3.0, Darblet, Sony MDR-DS7500 Wireless Surround Headphones & Onkyo TX-SR707
fatherom is online now  
post #20999 of 21296 Old 04-08-2015, 12:51 PM
AVS Special Member
 
lujan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 2,930
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 247 Post(s)
Liked: 56
Quote:
Originally Posted by fatherom View Post
Quick question about accessing SMB shares.

I got my 103 today. I was mentally prepared for the headache of accessing Win 8.1 shares, but nicely I was able to access my 2 Win 8.1 PCs (and all their shares) without a problem.

It's my older Win 7 box (which has always been visible from other PCs, my Dunes, etc) that I don't see from the Oppo. The name of the PC doesn't appear in the network server list.

Help!

Chris
Would you please explain how to do this for me? I have been having many problems with the Oppo 103 playing my Merlin Series BD's. It works most of the time but some times the 103 won't work where it won't load the movie. I've heard from reading other forums that these disks were poorly manufactured and that might be one of the reasons it has trouble reading them? I have recently ripped the BDs and put them on an external USB drive. I don't know what I need to do to share them so that the 103 will find them on the network and which selection I have to make on the 103 on the first menu screen. Thanks

lujan
769 Blu-ray
19 HD DVD
7 DVD
lujan is online now  
post #21000 of 21296 Old 04-08-2015, 12:59 PM
AVS Special Member
 
fatherom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Boston area, MA
Posts: 1,010
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 49 Post(s)
Liked: 36
Quote:
Originally Posted by lujan View Post
Would you please explain how to do this for me? I have been having many problems with the Oppo 103 playing my Merlin Series BD's. It works most of the time but some times the 103 won't work where it won't load the movie. I've heard from reading other forums that these disks were poorly manufactured and that might be one of the reasons it has trouble reading them? I have recently ripped the BDs and put them on an external USB drive. I don't know what I need to do to share them so that the 103 will find them on the network and which selection I have to make on the 103 on the first menu screen. Thanks
Dude, ummm...there are so many aspects that would be hard to walk you through...first of all, how have you ripped your BDs? The Oppo can't play BD ISOs.


Epson 5020UB (won on AVSForum!) on Elite Sable 16:9 100", Oppo BDP-83 / 93 (ISO firmware) / 103D, Dune HD Base 3.0, Darblet, Sony MDR-DS7500 Wireless Surround Headphones & Onkyo TX-SR707
fatherom is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Blu-ray Players

Tags
Oppo Bdp 103 3d Blu Ray Player , Oppo Bdp 105 Blu Ray Player , Oppo Bdp 93 Blu Ray Player , Oppo Digital Inc

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off