Official OPPO BDP-103 Owner's Thread - Page 703 - AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
 461Likes
Reply
Thread Tools
post #21061 of 21085 Old 04-15-2015, 03:38 PM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 28,489
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 862 Post(s)
Liked: 1113
Quote:
Originally Posted by pbarach View Post
Subwoofer output for SACDs reduced by 10 dB when sending DSD

Other than sending SACD signals only as PCM to the AVR or upping the subwoofer trim by 10 dB in the AVR, is there any other workaround for the fact that the subwoofer channel is 10 dB too low when SACD output goes to the AVR as a DSD signal?
If you are talking about HDMI DSD output, the OPPO does nothing to the Sub channel level for that. It is treated like a Bitstream. No settings in the OPPO will alter that. I.e., it is an AVR issue for how that HDMI DSD input is being handled by the AVR.

One way to double-check just how the signal is being handled is with tracks 43-48 of the 5.1 layer of, "Stay in Tune with PentaTone", SACD. (Do *NOT* use the Sub channel ID track, which looks identical but isn't, found earlier on that disc.)

Be aware that there is no consistency in how the Sub channel is used in 5.1 SACD recordings. What Sony intended was that the .1 channel be recorded at the same level as the other speaker channels, in contrast to the normal usage by all OTHER formats where the .1 channel is recorded -10dB down so as to provide a special channel in which to mix *LOUD* bass. This design screw up has led many studios to avoid using that channel altogether for their SACD discs. I.e., their 5.1 discs have the .1 channel silent and ALL bass is mixed into the normal speaker channels. You only get output on the Sub if you engage Crossover processing.

But some other studios have over-thought the problem and actually sell SACD discs with the .1 channel recorded -10dB down on disc, "to be helpful"! If you play one of those discs, then you'll need to add an extra +10dB sub boost to square things, AND you can't use Crossover processing because there's no way for the player to know the .1 content is not starting off at the level it is supposed to be -- so it is out of balanced with the bass mixed in from the other channels. Of course to get Crossover processing in the player (for the multi-channel Analog outputs), you need to let it convert the DSD to LPCM

------------------------------------------------------------------

If you let the player convert the DSD to LPCM -- either for HDMI LPCM output or for multi-channel Analog output -- the player will apply -10dB attenuation to the Sub output channel so that the same Sub boost (external to the player) you are applying with other multi-channel content can be used without change. Unless you are so unlucky as to have one of those bogus SACD discs with the .1 channel ALREADY recorded -10dB down.....
--Bob

Anthem D2/D2v/AVM50/AVM50v/ARC1 tweaking guide. -- Need personal consultation/training? PM me!
Bob Pariseau is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #21062 of 21085 Old 04-15-2015, 03:55 PM
AVS Special Member
 
DanF8500's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 1,547
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 434 Post(s)
Liked: 241
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Pariseau View Post
If you let the player convert the DSD to LPCM -- either for HDMI LPCM output or for multi-channel Analog output -- the player will apply -10dB attenuation to the Sub output channel so that the same Sub boost (external to the player) you are applying with other multi-channel content can be used without change. Unless you are so unlucky as to have one of those bogus SACD discs with the .1 channel ALREADY recorded -10dB down.....
--Bob
Then we'll have to apply +20db boost to the sub external to the Oppo if we have one of "those" aforementioned SACD's when we want our Oppo players to convert DSD to LPCM? Wow, I never knew this...hmm.
DanF8500 is online now  
post #21063 of 21085 Old 04-15-2015, 04:34 PM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 28,489
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 862 Post(s)
Liked: 1113
Yes. Complaints to Sony, please.
--Bob
Bob Pariseau is online now  
post #21064 of 21085 Old 04-15-2015, 04:55 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
NorthSky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Canada - West Island: Vancouver, South Direction: Go East
Posts: 10,320
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4275 Post(s)
Liked: 1631
That is pretty bad, from Sony. /// Do they check their own SACD music recordings in their own Sony SACD players?
NorthSky is offline  
post #21065 of 21085 Old 04-15-2015, 04:58 PM
AVS Special Member
 
fatherom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Boston area, MA
Posts: 1,005
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 45 Post(s)
Liked: 36
Has anyone tried these jellyfish clips? I'm using them to tune my NFS shares.

But over locally attached USB storage, I can play everything up to and including the 110 mbps file. But the highest file, the 120 mbps file, won't play on the 103. The loading spinner comes up and it never gets beyond that.

http://jell.yfish.us/


Epson 5020UB (won on AVSForum!) on Elite Sable 16:9 100", Oppo BDP-83 / 93 (ISO firmware) / 103D, Dune HD Base 3.0, Darblet, Sony MDR-DS7500 Wireless Surround Headphones & Onkyo TX-SR707
fatherom is offline  
post #21066 of 21085 Old 04-15-2015, 05:44 PM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 28,489
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 862 Post(s)
Liked: 1113
Quote:
Originally Posted by NorthSky View Post
That is pretty bad, from Sony. /// Do they check their own SACD music recordings in their own Sony SACD players?
This isn't the half of it. DSD was intended as an archival format for archiving analog tapes in digital. The fact that it got turned into a distribution format (SACD discs) is flat out weird. A triumph of marketing over logic. The fact that people are actually trying to edit or process DSD files as DSD boggles the mind.

This is off topic, but if your DSD files don't represent a direct, unedited transcript from Analog tapes, if perhaps they have been up sampled to higher bit rates, or represent a conversion of other digital content, be prepared for disappointment. Oh, and a pile of Internet posts that disagree with that statement.
--Bob
Bob Pariseau is online now  
post #21067 of 21085 Old 04-15-2015, 05:49 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
NorthSky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Canada - West Island: Vancouver, South Direction: Go East
Posts: 10,320
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4275 Post(s)
Liked: 1631
Ok Bob, thx for that. ...I'll switch gear; Blu-rays played by my Oppo 103 look simply fantastic...both 2D and 3D versions.
Again, the last couple nights I kissed my Oppo 103 player. ...And it smells good to (I put an air freshener under it).
NorthSky is offline  
post #21068 of 21085 Old 04-15-2015, 05:52 PM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 28,489
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 862 Post(s)
Liked: 1113
Old Spice? Or Fresh Pine?
--Bob
Bob Pariseau is online now  
post #21069 of 21085 Old 04-15-2015, 05:55 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
NorthSky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Canada - West Island: Vancouver, South Direction: Go East
Posts: 10,320
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4275 Post(s)
Liked: 1631
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Pariseau View Post
Old Spice? Or Fresh Pine?
--Bob
Aqua Velva.
Smarty-pants likes this.
NorthSky is offline  
post #21070 of 21085 Old 04-16-2015, 06:15 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 0
I'm trying to figure out whether to get the 103 or 103D. I'm running a 7.2.4 system. Below is my whole system:

Projector: Sony HW-40ES
Receiver: Denon 5200
Amplifier: Emotiva-XPA 2
Screen: 150' Horizon Falcon Screen
Right and Left Front in Wall: Polk 265 LS
Center in Wall: Polk Audio 255 LS
Side Surround in-ceiling: 2 Polk Audio 80 F/X LS
Rear Surround in-ceiling: 2 Polk Audio 80 F/X LS
Dolby Atmos in-ceiling: 4 Polk Audio 700 LS
Subwoofers: 2 HSU VTF-15H MK II
Power Conditioner: Panamax M-5400

Would it be worth it to get the 103D? I'm mainly going to use it for playing blu-ray. I will have a cable box too. Haven't decided yet if I'll run it through the blu-ray player or straight to the receiver. Would the 103D be worth it for my system.

Thanks in advance
johann777 is offline  
post #21071 of 21085 Old 04-16-2015, 09:28 AM
gsr
Oppo Beta Group
 
gsr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Massachusetts, USA
Posts: 7,984
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 374 Post(s)
Liked: 311
Quote:
Originally Posted by johann777 View Post
I'm trying to figure out whether to get the 103 or 103D. I'm running a 7.2.4 system. Below is my whole system:

Screen: 150' Horizon Falcon Screen

Would it be worth it to get the 103D?
Holy cow, that's a big screen (150 FEET???) I'm sure you meant inches...

Anyway, the general consensus is that the larger the display, the more beneficial the Darby effect is, so I'd say that the 103D would be a good fit for your system and worth the extra money.
gsr is online now  
post #21072 of 21085 Old 04-16-2015, 10:39 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Thanks

I wish it was a 150 foot screen, but yes that was a typo. Time to order the 103D now.
johann777 is offline  
post #21073 of 21085 Old 04-16-2015, 03:40 PM
AVS Special Member
 
pbarach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Northeast Ohio
Posts: 2,744
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 170 Post(s)
Liked: 123
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Pariseau View Post
If you are talking about HDMI DSD output, the OPPO does nothing to the Sub channel level for that. It is treated like a Bitstream. No settings in the OPPO will alter that. I.e., it is an AVR issue for how that HDMI DSD input is being handled by the AVR.

One way to double-check just how the signal is being handled is with tracks 43-48 of the 5.1 layer of, "Stay in Tune with PentaTone", SACD. (Do *NOT* use the Sub channel ID track, which looks identical but isn't, found earlier on that disc.)
I have that Pentatone disc, and here's what I found. First, I'll note that the 103 is connected to an Audyssey-calibrated Denon x4000 AVR using HDMi. Also, that the results were the same regardless of whether the 103's HDMI Audio format was set to Bitstream or LPCM.

I used the old Radio Shack analog SPL meter so that 60 dB would register at the 0 dB point on that meter for tracks 43-47. The levels for these channels stayed the same for both DSD and PCM .

When the 103 was set to output SACDs as DSD, the subwoofer track (48) registered as -6 dB. In contrast, when the 103 was outputting the SACD as PCM, the subwoofer track registered as +2 dB.

In this mini-experiment, it was clear that the subwoofer track was playing significantly louder as PCM compared to DSD. I know this meter has errors in its bass response, but that's irrelevant to its application here.

So Bob--my question is, do you know what subwoofer level Pentatone intended? One that was significantly softer than the other channels, or one that was pretty close to them in SPL?

AT&T U-Verse Northeast Ohio

Denon x4000, Carver m1.0t, Samsung LED TV, B&W 704 mains, two M&K subwoofers, Oppo 103, Roku 2, etc.
Headphone system: Sennheiser HD600, AKG K701, Burson HA-160, Marantz CD5004, Denon DVD-3910
pbarach is online now  
post #21074 of 21085 Old 04-16-2015, 04:10 PM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 28,489
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 862 Post(s)
Liked: 1113
^ The first question is what the Denon is doing with that HDMI DSD input. There are two possibilities. Either it is converting it to LPCM on input or it is passing it to its DACs as DSD. Typically this requires a settings choice in the AVR for how to handle HDMI DSD input.

Now the reason this is important is that, just as when the OPPO is set to DSD-Direct-to-Analog conversion for its own multi-channel Analog outputs, the AVR will not be able to process audio when DSD is being sent straight to its DACs. DSD has to be converted to LPCM before it can be processed.

Among other things, this means the Audyssey calibration is likely bypassed while HDMI DSD input is being sent as DSD to the Denon's DACs. This alone could result in the sort of level differences you are finding.

As for your question, from my testing, it looks like the Sub channel track on the PentaTone SACD runs a little hot compared to the other channels.
--Bob

Anthem D2/D2v/AVM50/AVM50v/ARC1 tweaking guide. -- Need personal consultation/training? PM me!
Bob Pariseau is online now  
post #21075 of 21085 Old Today, 05:11 AM
Senior Member
 
captnvideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 244
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Can I connect an external powered HD which is USB 3.0

Hi:

I just purchased the OPPO BDP-103 this past week and love it.

I am thinking of purchasing a 2TB powered external HD in order to play high resolution music files via USB. These days, all I see is USB 3.0. It appears that 2.0 is not manufactured any more.

Since the USB input is the same size for both USB 2.0 and USB 3.0, will I have any problems connecting a USB 3.0 to the OPPO 103?

Thank you.
captnvideo is offline  
post #21076 of 21085 Old Today, 05:51 AM
One-Man Content Creator
 
wmcclain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 18,304
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 951 Post(s)
Liked: 475
Quote:
Originally Posted by captnvideo View Post
Hi:

I just purchased the OPPO BDP-103 this past week and love it.

I am thinking of purchasing a 2TB powered external HD in order to play high resolution music files via USB. These days, all I see is USB 3.0. It appears that 2.0 is not manufactured any more.

Since the USB input is the same size for both USB 2.0 and USB 3.0, will I have any problems connecting a USB 3.0 to the OPPO 103?

Thank you.
That works. USB 3 is backward compatible with v2.

-Bill

Review older films here: 1979 and earlier | 1980s | 1990s | Combined reviews: Strange Picture Scroll
Unofficial OPPO FAQS: BDP-103 | BDP-93 | BDP-83 | BDP-80    
wmcclain is online now  
post #21077 of 21085 Old Today, 06:43 AM
Member
 
Tgterm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 197
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 91 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by captnvideo View Post
Hi:

I just purchased the OPPO BDP-103 this past week and love it.

I am thinking of purchasing a 2TB powered external HD in order to play high resolution music files via USB. These days, all I see is USB 3.0. It appears that 2.0 is not manufactured any more.

Since the USB input is the same size for both USB 2.0 and USB 3.0, will I have any problems connecting a USB 3.0 to the OPPO 103?

Thank you.
Thinking about doing the same... Mind sharing which drive you're planning to get? Thanks.
Tgterm is offline  
post #21078 of 21085 Old Today, 06:51 AM
AVS Special Member
 
SeeMoreDigital's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Notts, UK
Posts: 2,022
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 210 Post(s)
Liked: 103
Quote:
Originally Posted by captnvideo View Post
I am thinking of purchasing a 2TB powered external HD in order to play high resolution music files via USB...
Out of interest, will it be a 2.5" or 3.5" external USB HDD?

I SUPPORT 'FAIR USE'. MY MORALS PREVENT ME FROM HELPING ANYONE WHO OBTAINS COPYRIGHTED CONTENT ILLEGITIMATELY
I've been testing hardware media playback devices and software A/V encoders and decoders since 2001 | My Network Layout and A/V Gear
SeeMoreDigital is offline  
post #21079 of 21085 Old Today, 06:52 AM
Advanced Member
 
toddman36's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: St. Louis, MO
Posts: 571
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 212 Post(s)
Liked: 54
I was thinking of getting the 103, but decided to wait till 2016 to get a 104 when it comes out.
toddman36 is online now  
post #21080 of 21085 Old Today, 06:59 AM
AVS Special Member
 
JazzGuyy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Oro Valley AZ
Posts: 2,816
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 99 Post(s)
Liked: 114
You are aware that Oppo has said their next player may not appear until 2017.

JazzGuyy is online now  
post #21081 of 21085 Old Today, 07:02 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Mongo171's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Buffalo, NY
Posts: 2,496
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 423 Post(s)
Liked: 934
And it won't be called a "104." It will probably be a 113 and 115, going along with their numbering sequence.

"I am a Meat Popsicle." - Corbin Dallas, "The Fifth Element"

Klipsch Chorus II (Mains); Klipsch Academy (Center) (KLF-C7 waiting in the wings); Klipsch RS-62 II (Surrounds); SVS PC13-Ultra (Big Bada Boom); ATI AT1505 (Amp); OPPO BDP-105 (Blu-ray Player); Panasonic 60GT50 (Plasma TV)
Mongo171 is offline  
post #21082 of 21085 Old Today, 11:54 AM
Senior Member
 
captnvideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 244
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by SeeMoreDigital View Post
Out of interest, will it be a 2.5" or 3.5" external USB HDD?
Thanks everyone for your replies.

I changed my mind. 64gb USB Flash Drives formated to FAT32 work fine and I will stick with them.

captnvideo
captnvideo is offline  
post #21083 of 21085 Old Today, 12:02 PM
Senior Member
 
captnvideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 244
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Multi-Channel Problem: losing a couple of seconds of audio

Hi:

I am very disturbed by the fact that whenever I play a multi-channel FLAC file via USB, I initially miss the first couple of seconds of audio. Stopping and then restarting seems to solve the problem. But just now, I loaded in my only DVD-Audio disc and no matter what I did, the first few seconds were cut off. Because I am an audiophile, this is very disturbing

My A/V receiver is the Yamaha RX-A1040.

I use two HDMI cables to split the audio and video between my Samsung TV (HDMI Out 1) and the Receiver (HDMI Out 2). I set it to output bitstream.

Is there any settings I can change in the OPPO to prevent this initial 2 second loss of audio from happening?

Thanks in advance for your assistance.

captnvideo
captnvideo is offline  
post #21084 of 21085 Old Today, 12:36 PM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 28,489
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 862 Post(s)
Liked: 1113
^ Given your cabling, confirm that you have Split A/V set and not Dual Display.

As an experiment, try hooking up Analog cables from the OPPO -- even just a stereo pair would suffice to check this. Also DISCONNECT both the HDMI 1 and HDMI 2 cables (temporarily). If the startup delay is not present, then your HDMI connection is getting stuck in the HDMI handshake. Quite possibly the Yamaha is muting things briefly while it tries to verify the incoming digital audio stream is valid. Since you are reporting this against FLAC files and DVD-A discs, it could be happening as the Yamaha tries to switch gears from the normal, movie rate audio (48KHz) to the higher audio rate in your music.

There may be settings changes you can make in the Yamaha to simplify what it has to do to let the digital audio stream commence, particularly since you do not need video to go through the Yamaha. For example, set the Yamaha to HDMI pass-through for Video (with nothing connected to the Yamaha's HDMI output).

To simplify the handshake in the OPPO, set specific choices for Resolution, Color Space and HDMI Audio. I.e., do not use AUTO or Source Direct. So for example, Resolution 1080p, Color Space YCbCr 4:4:4, and HDMI Audio LPCM.

As another experiment, try lowering the bandwidth on the HDMI cable. HDMI audio is always embedded in an HDMI video signal, so video settings affect the bandwidth used on the connection to the Yamaha. For example, set Deep Color OFF and Resolution 1080i (along with the simplification settings described above). If THAT cures the problem then you may have marginal HDMI cabling which is slowing down the handshake to the Yamaha. An HDMI handshake retry takes 2 seconds, so that would be consistent with the muting you are hearing. If you have something connected to the HDMI output of the Yamaha, that too could be the source of the handshake retries.
--Bob

Anthem D2/D2v/AVM50/AVM50v/ARC1 tweaking guide. -- Need personal consultation/training? PM me!
Bob Pariseau is online now  
post #21085 of 21085 Unread Today, 04:17 PM
Senior Member
 
captnvideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 244
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Pariseau View Post
^ Given your cabling, confirm that you have Split A/V set and not Dual Display.

As an experiment, try hooking up Analog cables from the OPPO -- even just a stereo pair would suffice to check this. Also DISCONNECT both the HDMI 1 and HDMI 2 cables (temporarily). If the startup delay is not present, then your HDMI connection is getting stuck in the HDMI handshake. Quite possibly the Yamaha is muting things briefly while it tries to verify the incoming digital audio stream is valid. Since you are reporting this against FLAC files and DVD-A discs, it could be happening as the Yamaha tries to switch gears from the normal, movie rate audio (48KHz) to the higher audio rate in your music.

There may be settings changes you can make in the Yamaha to simplify what it has to do to let the digital audio stream commence, particularly since you do not need video to go through the Yamaha. For example, set the Yamaha to HDMI pass-through for Video (with nothing connected to the Yamaha's HDMI output).

To simplify the handshake in the OPPO, set specific choices for Resolution, Color Space and HDMI Audio. I.e., do not use AUTO or Source Direct. So for example, Resolution 1080p, Color Space YCbCr 4:4:4, and HDMI Audio LPCM.

As another experiment, try lowering the bandwidth on the HDMI cable. HDMI audio is always embedded in an HDMI video signal, so video settings affect the bandwidth used on the connection to the Yamaha. For example, set Deep Color OFF and Resolution 1080i (along with the simplification settings described above). If THAT cures the problem then you may have marginal HDMI cabling which is slowing down the handshake to the Yamaha. An HDMI handshake retry takes 2 seconds, so that would be consistent with the muting you are hearing. If you have something connected to the HDMI output of the Yamaha, that too could be the source of the handshake retries.
--Bob
Wow:

You gave me a lot of information, some of it a bit above my head. It will take me a bit of time to digest it all.

Anyway, I did do four things:

1. On my Yamaha RX-A1040, the OPPO is connected to AV3. When in this input, I turn HDMI out off so that there is no signal going to my TV and, thus, no additional handshake.

2, On the OPPO BDP-103, I verified that the default Split A/V was selected and that HDMI Out 1 is connected to the TV and HDMI Out 2 is connected to the Yamaha.

3. I set HDMI Audio to Auto (default) instead of Bitstream.

4. I set SACD Output to Auto (default) instead of DSD.

Again thanks for the info.

captnvideo
captnvideo is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Blu-ray Players

Tags
Oppo Bdp 103 3d Blu Ray Player , Oppo Bdp 105 Blu Ray Player , Oppo Bdp 93 Blu Ray Player , Oppo Digital Inc



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off