Official OPPO BDP-103 Owner's Thread - Page 715 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!



Forum Jump: 
 734Likes
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-08-2015, 02:53 PM
AVS Special Member
 
DanF8500's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 1,797
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 617 Post(s)
Liked: 296
Quote:
Originally Posted by pbarach View Post
Gapless playback doesn't work if you are streaming the files wirelessly to the player; it works with files on drives that are plugged into the Oppo's USB ports.
Gapless playback can be enabled via the Oppo Media Control app with SMB shares or attached USB storage.
DanF8500 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-08-2015, 02:57 PM
AVS Special Member
 
DanF8500's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 1,797
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 617 Post(s)
Liked: 296
Quote:
Originally Posted by MIIKE888 View Post
Hi!

How do i enable gapless playback? is it possible through the media control app?

i inly listen to FLAC and Mp3.

Thanks in advance.

//Mike
Gapless playback via the Oppo Media Control app can be enabled via a long press on a file via SMB shares or attached USB storage. Once you're viewing a given set of files you want to playback in the Media Control app, press and hold down on a filename from your tablet until the gapless feature window displays, then select gapless playback.
DanF8500 is offline  
Old 07-08-2015, 03:23 PM
AVS Special Member
 
pbarach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Northeast Ohio
Posts: 2,928
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 258 Post(s)
Liked: 159
Quote:
Originally Posted by DanF8500 View Post
Gapless playback via the Oppo Media Control app can be enabled via a long press on a file via SMB shares or attached USB storage. Once you're viewing a given set of files you want to playback in the Media Control app, press and hold down on a filename from your tablet until the gapless feature window displays, then select gapless playback.
I didn't know this would work on SMB shares, thanks! However, I find that this works for FLAC files but not mp3s. When I do a long press on an mp3 file using the app (iPhone version), nothing pops up.

AT&T U-Verse Northeast Ohio

Denon x4000, Carver m1.0t, Samsung LED TV, B&W 704 mains, two M&K subwoofers, Oppo 103, Roku 2, etc.
Headphone system: Sennheiser HD600, AKG K701, Burson HA-160, Marantz CD5004, Denon DVD-3910
pbarach is offline  
Old 07-08-2015, 03:25 PM
wse
AVS Special Member
 
wse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 8,846
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1707 Post(s)
Liked: 680
wse is offline  
Old 07-08-2015, 04:06 PM
AVS Special Member
 
DanF8500's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 1,797
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 617 Post(s)
Liked: 296
Quote:
Originally Posted by pbarach View Post
I didn't know this would work on SMB shares, thanks! However, I find that this works for FLAC files but not mp3s. When I do a long press on an mp3 file using the app (iPhone version), nothing pops up.
That's because the 10x players only support gapless via WAV, FLAC, or APE file formats.
DanF8500 is offline  
Old 07-08-2015, 04:08 PM
AVS Special Member
 
DanF8500's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 1,797
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 617 Post(s)
Liked: 296
Quote:
Originally Posted by wse View Post
Can you move the subtitle location!
Is that a question "?" or are you stating a fact? (!)
DanF8500 is offline  
Old 07-08-2015, 06:01 PM
AVS Special Member
 
JazzGuyy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Oro Valley AZ
Posts: 3,045
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 192 Post(s)
Liked: 159
Quote:
Originally Posted by wse View Post
Can you move the subtitle location!
In a movie with subtitles, hold down the Subtitle button on the remote and there will be a popup that will appear and you can use the up and down arrow keys to move the subtitles. This won't work for some movies though because the subtitles are hard-coded into the picture. The only issue I have found is that it would be nice if the movement up or down was a little finer.

JazzGuyy is offline  
Old 07-09-2015, 04:11 AM
AVS Special Member
 
pbarach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Northeast Ohio
Posts: 2,928
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 258 Post(s)
Liked: 159
Quote:
Originally Posted by DanF8500 View Post
That's because the 10x players only support gapless via WAV, FLAC, or APE file formats.
The OP wanted to do gapless playback of mp3 files--you're right, that doesn't work on the 10x players.

AT&T U-Verse Northeast Ohio

Denon x4000, Carver m1.0t, Samsung LED TV, B&W 704 mains, two M&K subwoofers, Oppo 103, Roku 2, etc.
Headphone system: Sennheiser HD600, AKG K701, Burson HA-160, Marantz CD5004, Denon DVD-3910
pbarach is offline  
Old 07-09-2015, 06:43 AM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 29,301
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1341 Post(s)
Liked: 1341
Quote:
Originally Posted by MIIKE888 View Post
Hi!

How do i enable gapless playback? is it possible through the media control app?

i inly listen to FLAC and Mp3.

Thanks in advance.

//Mike
For supported "gapless" file types (FLAC yes, MP3 no) which are held either on a hard drive attached to the player via a USB port, or available over your house network from an SMB shared file system (not DLNA), launch the Media Control app on your iOS or Android device and browse to the track list containing the starting track.

Tap and hold on the line for the starting track. A pop-up will appear in the Media Control app allowing you to select Gapless playback. If you've done it right, the Now Playing screen on your TV will also now show Gapless above the time line.

You must be using the latest version of the Media Control app and the player firmware.
--Bob

Anthem D2/D2v/AVM50/AVM50v/ARC1 tweaking guide. -- Need personal consultation/training? PM me!
Bob Pariseau is online now  
Old 07-09-2015, 06:45 AM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 29,301
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1341 Post(s)
Liked: 1341
Quote:
Originally Posted by pbarach View Post
Gapless playback doesn't work if you are streaming the files wirelessly to the player; it works with files on drives that are plugged into the Oppo's USB ports.
Actually it does work if the files are on an SMB-share and you command the start of Gapless playback using the tap and hold trick just mentioned in the current Media Control app.
--Bob
pbarach likes this.

Anthem D2/D2v/AVM50/AVM50v/ARC1 tweaking guide. -- Need personal consultation/training? PM me!
Bob Pariseau is online now  
Old 07-09-2015, 06:47 AM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 29,301
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1341 Post(s)
Liked: 1341
Quote:
Originally Posted by wse View Post
Can you move the subtitle location!
Is your TV too heavy to lift!


--Bob
linger63 likes this.

Anthem D2/D2v/AVM50/AVM50v/ARC1 tweaking guide. -- Need personal consultation/training? PM me!
Bob Pariseau is online now  
Old 07-09-2015, 04:31 PM
AVS Special Member
 
QuiGonJosh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 1,185
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 198 Post(s)
Liked: 92
Anyone heard back about the Youtube issue? I know it's probably on Youtube's end and not Oppo, but it would be nice to know if Youtube has contacted Oppo or vice versa. It affects my Sony player too.
QuiGonJosh is offline  
Old 07-10-2015, 02:11 AM
Newbie
 
dragon1952's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by wmcclain View Post
Try setting resolution to 1080p. Then try 1080p24 both off and on.

If still no good, test with a direct connection from the player to the display.

-Bill
Sorry for the delay....we really don't watch many discs. I first tried setting 1080p24 to "off " and that seems to have resolved the issue. Thanks, I appreciate your assistance ;^ )
dragon1952 is offline  
Old 07-12-2015, 10:06 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 29
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 3
I am curious about using the 103 as a video processor with the PS3. PS3 is known for having some of the most up-to-date streaming apps, and both video and audio would be output to 103 via HDMI. I am assuming 103 would be able to pass Dolby Digital Plus from PS3 to AVR via HDMI 2. Streaming video would be output from 103 via HDMI 1.
Anyone using this kind of a setup?
Does the 103 have preconfigured settings for streaming video?
Any surprises that I should be aware of?
Thanks!
ebefspz is offline  
Old 07-13-2015, 11:36 AM
Super Moderator
 
markrubin's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Jersey Shore
Posts: 25,337
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 847 Post(s)
Liked: 1827
I just started using my OPPO 103 as a video processor for DirecTV HR44

I leave the HR44 out set on native and feed it to the 103 with its output set to 1080P (and yes I prefer this new setup)

my question: when I power up the 103, it always defaults to the BD disc: is there a way to have it power up to the HDMI back input?

please take the high road in every post
Please do not respond to or quote a problematic post: report it to Mods to handle
new forum:High Dynamic Range (HDR) & Wide Color Gamut (WCG)
HDMI.org:what a mess
markrubin is offline  
Old 07-13-2015, 11:46 AM
One-Man Content Creator
 
wmcclain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 20,164
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1903 Post(s)
Liked: 829
Quote:
Originally Posted by markrubin View Post
I just started using my OPPO 103 as a video processor for DirecTV HR44

I leave the HR44 out set on native and feed it to the 103 with its output set to 1080P (and yes I prefer this new setup)

my question: when I power up the 103, it always defaults to the BD disc: is there a way to have it power up to the HDMI back input?
It has this: Setup -> Playback Setup -> Power On Input = "Last Input".

-Bill
markrubin likes this.

Review older films here: 1979 and earlier | 1980s | 1990s | Combined reviews: Strange Picture Scroll
Unofficial OPPO FAQS: BDP-103 | BDP-93 | BDP-83 | BDP-80    
wmcclain is online now  
Old 07-14-2015, 03:07 PM
Member
 
Shingster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 107
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Dunno if anyone remembers my posts from a couple of years back, but I've got a serious issue with my Oppo 103 when it comes to playback of media files (mkv/avi/mp4) where I get terrible aliasing/shimmer in all content (1080p, whatever over res you can think of). I've sort of ignored the issue for years because I've not absolutely needed to use the oppo as a media player but now I do want to get back to ripping my DVD/BD collection to a portable HD and use the Oppo much more for this sort of thing.

Ok so basically I recently set up a test with my Only God Forgives BD, I ripped the video to mkv via Makemkv so I basically had the exact same video that's on the disc but in the mkv format. I then "acquired" a fully re-encoded rip as an alternate test to see if the issue was with Makemkv. Unfortunately my knowledge of encoding is very limited so that was my only option to get a 3rd test. I then skipped to the scene in the red room with Ryan Gosling and his Thai prostitute girlfriend, which is a scene bathed in deep red light shot in a room with this intricately detailed wallpaper that just goes absolutely nuts with shimmer whenever the camera moves in my mkv rips. This was the result:

Original BD = No shimmer at all
MakeMKV rip from original BD = Shimmer
Re-comprssed rip from other BD = Exact same shimmer.

I've gone through all the video settings, altered the resolution, etc and nothing seems to change the fact that the Oppo 103 is clearly doing something wrong when playing media files. Is this just a natural flaw in the product or some other issue? I've tried updating the firmware of my player but it won't search the network for updates (despite the player being connected OK), which is a major issue because it's a Region ABC player purchased from Ideal AV (who assured me at the time I bought the player than updates would always be periodically available).
Shingster is offline  
Old 07-14-2015, 04:29 PM
AVS Special Member
 
JazzGuyy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Oro Valley AZ
Posts: 3,045
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 192 Post(s)
Liked: 159
To begin with, you should try downloading the latest firmware from the appropriate Oppo site, depending on what country you are in, rather than trying to get it via a network search on your Oppo player. Then burn the .iso file to a thumb drive or CD/DVD black disc. Some Oppo firmware updates have only worked when downloaded and then installed from a thumb drive or burned disc. Then you can proceed to other testing. BTW, there is no record of any firmware update either wrecking or being affected by a region-free mod.

The kind of problem you are reporting has not been reported by others and I'm sure has nothing to do with your region-free mod. There is a chance though that there is something wrong with your player.

Others here who are more knowledgeable about ripping apps may be able to identify settings or other things you need to change when using your ripping software.
Shingster likes this.

JazzGuyy is offline  
Old 07-14-2015, 08:29 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
rdgrimes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Nuevo Mexico
Posts: 18,136
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1352 Post(s)
Liked: 653
I watch almost nothing else but MKV files ripped from BD or DVD using DVDFab MKV pass-through. (full quality rips). Never had any issue at all with PQ.
Shingster likes this.
rdgrimes is offline  
Old 07-15-2015, 04:32 AM
Advanced Member
 
LairdWilliams's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Raleigh, NC, USA
Posts: 517
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 186 Post(s)
Liked: 210
Quote:
Originally Posted by Shingster View Post
Dunno if anyone remembers my posts from a couple of years back, but I've got a serious issue with my Oppo 103 when it comes to playback of media files (mkv/avi/mp4) where I get terrible aliasing/shimmer in all content (1080p, whatever over res you can think of). I've sort of ignored the issue for years because I've not absolutely needed to use the oppo as a media player but now I do want to get back to ripping my DVD/BD collection to a portable HD and use the Oppo much more for this sort of thing.

Ok so basically I recently set up a test with my Only God Forgives BD, I ripped the video to mkv via Makemkv so I basically had the exact same video that's on the disc but in the mkv format. I then "acquired" a fully re-encoded rip as an alternate test to see if the issue was with Makemkv. Unfortunately my knowledge of encoding is very limited so that was my only option to get a 3rd test. I then skipped to the scene in the red room with Ryan Gosling and his Thai prostitute girlfriend, which is a scene bathed in deep red light shot in a room with this intricately detailed wallpaper that just goes absolutely nuts with shimmer whenever the camera moves in my mkv rips. This was the result:

Original BD = No shimmer at all
MakeMKV rip from original BD = Shimmer
Re-comprssed rip from other BD = Exact same shimmer.

I've gone through all the video settings, altered the resolution, etc and nothing seems to change the fact that the Oppo 103 is clearly doing something wrong when playing media files. Is this just a natural flaw in the product or some other issue? I've tried updating the firmware of my player but it won't search the network for updates (despite the player being connected OK), which is a major issue because it's a Region ABC player purchased from Ideal AV (who assured me at the time I bought the player than updates would always be periodically available).
Just to be thorough and remove some other possibilities: What do the same MKV's look like when played back on another device?
Shingster likes this.

Display: Panasonic P60UT50 (Plasma)
Speakers: (4) Monitor Audio Silver 9i (Front and Surround), (1) Monitor Audio Silver 12i (Center), (4) Monitor Audio Silver 4i (Rear and Wide), (2) Aperion Audio Bravus II 8d (Subwoofers)
Receiver: Pioneer Elite SC-87 AVR (9.2)
Sources: Oppo BDP-103, Roku 3, Cable...
LairdWilliams is offline  
Old 07-15-2015, 09:40 AM
AVS Special Member
 
SeeMoreDigital's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Nott'm, UK
Posts: 2,492
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 436 Post(s)
Liked: 179
Quote:
Originally Posted by rdgrimes View Post
I watch almost nothing else but MKV files ripped from BD or DVD using DVDFab MKV pass-through. (full quality rips). Never had any issue at all with PQ.
Me neither
ellisr63 and Shingster like this.

I SUPPORT 'FAIR USE'. MY MORALS PREVENT ME FROM HELPING ANYONE WHO OBTAINS COPYRIGHTED CONTENT ILLEGITIMATELY
I've been testing hardware media playback devices and software A/V encoders and decoders since 2001 | My Network Layout and A/V Gear
SeeMoreDigital is online now  
Old 07-15-2015, 10:23 AM
AVS Special Member
 
ellisr63's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Northern California, In the HT
Posts: 3,370
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 920 Post(s)
Liked: 395
Quote:
Originally Posted by rdgrimes View Post
I watch almost nothing else but MKV files ripped from BD or DVD using DVDFab MKV pass-through. (full quality rips). Never had any issue at all with PQ.
Same here.
Shingster likes this.

Yamaha CX-A5100, (3) JBL 2360As/EV DHA-1s, (3) 1/4 Pie bass bins, 4 JBL 8340As, 4 JBL 8320s, PS3, XBoxOne, 2 Intel NUCs, Monoprice speaker wire, and XLR cables, Redmere HDMI cables, Monster HTPS7000, 2 Furman filters, 2 DTS-10 subs, Panasonic AE8000, SeymourAV 195" diagonal scope screen, Panamorph UH-480, Darbee Darcet, Yamaha P7000s, (2) Crest Audio CM2208s, Yamaha XM-4080, (2) MiniDSP DDRC-88.
The Ellis Family Go Big or go Home HT
ellisr63 is online now  
Old 07-15-2015, 01:05 PM
Member
 
Shingster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 107
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by JazzGuyy View Post
To begin with, you should try downloading the latest firmware from the appropriate Oppo site, depending on what country you are in, rather than trying to get it via a network search on your Oppo player. Then burn the .iso file to a thumb drive or CD/DVD black disc. Some Oppo firmware updates have only worked when downloaded and then installed from a thumb drive or burned disc. Then you can proceed to other testing. BTW, there is no record of any firmware update either wrecking or being affected by a region-free mod.
Didn't know that JazzG, thanks! I think i'll have to play it safe and contact IdealAV first as I seem to recall them saying I add to update the firmware online as their region mod doesn't use the standard Oppo firmware but a modified one that the company who did the mod release periodically. That may have just been a precaution though.

The only readon I never updated my firmware before was because a couple years back when I first looked into the problem there was an issue with the latest Oppo firmware update for the player that screwed up the media playback function of the player. I assume they've fixed that since though.

Quote:
Originally Posted by LairdWilliams View Post
Just to be thorough and remove some other possibilities: What do the same MKV's look like when played back on another device?
They all look fine, it's only on my Oppo that I have any probs . My only other device is a PC btw, connected straight to my projector.
Shingster is offline  
Old 07-15-2015, 02:32 PM
Advanced Member
 
bkeeler10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Utah
Posts: 748
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 273 Post(s)
Liked: 147
I'm sure this has been addressed before, so I apologize for bringing it up again. This thread is huge though . . .

I am thinking about getting a 103 and using it as a preamp, for HDMI source selection, volume control, bass management, etc. It would replace my Onkyo preamp for a time. I would also use it to stream audio and video (mainly over the local network) and spin discs.

Can someone enumerate any potential issues I might run into when using it as a preamp, both in sound quality and operational quirks? This would likely be a somewhat temporary setup (perhaps a year) before I move and replace a lot of equipment for Atmos and possibly UHD.

bkeeler10 is offline  
Old 07-15-2015, 04:59 PM
AVS Special Member
 
pbarach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Northeast Ohio
Posts: 2,928
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 258 Post(s)
Liked: 159
Quote:
Originally Posted by bkeeler10 View Post
I'm sure this has been addressed before, so I apologize for bringing it up again. This thread is huge though . . .

I am thinking about getting a 103 and using it as a preamp, for HDMI source selection, volume control, bass management, etc. It would replace my Onkyo preamp for a time. I would also use it to stream audio and video (mainly over the local network) and spin discs.

Can someone enumerate any potential issues I might run into when using it as a preamp, both in sound quality and operational quirks? This would likely be a somewhat temporary setup (perhaps a year) before I move and replace a lot of equipment for Atmos and possibly UHD.
I haven't used mine this way, but I can't foresee any problem. WARNING--make sure that the startup volume on the OPPO isn't set to FIXED for those analog outputs, or it will play everything at maximum volume. Another quirk to consider is whether you want it to start with the home screen or the last-used source. You can also decide if you want the 103 to automatically start playing a disk that's in its drive. You might not want that to happen--this is also a setup choice.

The player is very easy to operate, and there is plenty of rapid help available on this forum. Also, Oppo tech support is generally excellent via their website and always fast to get back to you.

I have had a few issues related to streaming sound files over my home WiFi network, but this is rarely an issue at this point.

Take a look at the manual if you like: http://download.oppodigital.com/BDP1...ish_v1.8.2.pdf

AT&T U-Verse Northeast Ohio

Denon x4000, Carver m1.0t, Samsung LED TV, B&W 704 mains, two M&K subwoofers, Oppo 103, Roku 2, etc.
Headphone system: Sennheiser HD600, AKG K701, Burson HA-160, Marantz CD5004, Denon DVD-3910
pbarach is offline  
Old 07-15-2015, 05:55 PM
Advanced Member
 
bkeeler10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Utah
Posts: 748
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 273 Post(s)
Liked: 147
Thanks for the information. I've always wanted an Oppo and now that I need a new BDP, this is my chance. I can cover most of the cost by selling my prepro (which I will shortly have to do anyway to move to Atmos).

Anyone who's used it this way have anything to add?
bkeeler10 is offline  
Old 07-15-2015, 06:25 PM
AVS Special Member
 
DanF8500's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 1,797
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 617 Post(s)
Liked: 296
Quote:
Originally Posted by bkeeler10 View Post
I'm sure this has been addressed before, so I apologize for bringing it up again. This thread is huge though . . .

I am thinking about getting a 103 and using it as a preamp, for HDMI source selection, volume control, bass management, etc. It would replace my Onkyo preamp for a time. I would also use it to stream audio and video (mainly over the local network) and spin discs.

Can someone enumerate any potential issues I might run into when using it as a preamp, both in sound quality and operational quirks? This would likely be a somewhat temporary setup (perhaps a year) before I move and replace a lot of equipment for Atmos and possibly UHD.
Will you be playing SACD's or DSD audio files on your 103? If not, then disregard the rest of this reply........If you are, be careful not to set the "SACD Output" setting to DSD (set it to LPCM instead). The 103 cannot control its volume for DSD Direct to Analog playback, and the volume will be fixed on max output (speakers will be fried). Setting SACD Output to LPCM will allow you to control the volume of your DSD audio. When using LPCM in this case, the 103 converts DSD audio to 88.2 kHz, 24-bit LPCM before the DAC converts to analog output.

Last edited by DanF8500; 07-15-2015 at 06:31 PM.
DanF8500 is offline  
Old 07-15-2015, 08:14 PM
Advanced Member
 
bkeeler10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Utah
Posts: 748
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 273 Post(s)
Liked: 147
That's a good bit of information, as I will likely be playing both of those formats. Thanks for the tip!
bkeeler10 is offline  
Old 07-16-2015, 04:50 PM
AVS Special Member
 
QuiGonJosh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 1,185
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 198 Post(s)
Liked: 92
The Youtube app appears to be working normally for me now.
QuiGonJosh is offline  
Old 07-17-2015, 02:43 PM
Member
 
LarryGM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Louisville, KY
Posts: 98
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Refurbished BDP-103 available on Oppo website.
LarryGM is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
 

Tags
Oppo Bdp 103 3d Blu Ray Player , Oppo Bdp 105 Blu Ray Player , Oppo Bdp 93 Blu Ray Player , Oppo Digital Inc
Thread Tools


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off