Official OPPO BDP-103 Owner's Thread - Page 754 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 881Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #22591 of 24561 Old 12-28-2015, 05:09 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
retro124's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Charleston, SC
Posts: 2,737
Mentioned: 16 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1122 Post(s)
Liked: 861
Quick question I sign up for Tidal but I can't use it on Oppo without iPhone or iPad. Every time and click with remote controller on Tidal app I just get message I need download apps for my phone what I did already and works great but can I use it just with my Oppo remote controller.

Denon X6200W
Klipsch RF-7II's, RC-64II, RB-81II's, RS-62II's
SVS 2x PC12-Pluses
Sony XBR65X850B, Oppo 203
Emotiva XPA-200
Apple Mac mini, Sony PS3,
retro124 is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #22592 of 24561 Old 12-28-2015, 05:12 PM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 31,118
Mentioned: 15 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2608 Post(s)
Liked: 3317
^ No. The Tidal app user interface actually runs on the iPhone, iPad, or Android device. You need to use OPPO's MediaControl app on one of those to get Tidal playing on the player.
--Bob

Anthem D2/D2v/AVM50/AVM50v/ARC1 tweaking guide. -- Need personal consultation/training? PM me!
Bob Pariseau is online now  
post #22593 of 24561 Old 12-28-2015, 05:17 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
retro124's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Charleston, SC
Posts: 2,737
Mentioned: 16 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1122 Post(s)
Liked: 861
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Pariseau View Post
^ No. The Tidal app user interface actually runs on the iPhone, iPad, or Android device. You need to use OPPO's MediaControl app on one of those to get Tidal playing on the player.
--Bob
Ok thanks.

Denon X6200W
Klipsch RF-7II's, RC-64II, RB-81II's, RS-62II's
SVS 2x PC12-Pluses
Sony XBR65X850B, Oppo 203
Emotiva XPA-200
Apple Mac mini, Sony PS3,
retro124 is online now  
 
post #22594 of 24561 Old 12-29-2015, 09:54 AM
Advanced Member
 
thetman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 652
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 198 Post(s)
Liked: 36
received a Yamaha RXV-775WA from xmas, just to use for music listening. great deal at Costco. I hooked it up today to OPPO. everything was fine but could not get the center channel to play during any type of surround music. regular cds were fine in 7 channels stereo. It has two HDMI outputs. when I switched to output 2 it seemed to work. Output one is labeled ARC. would this cause the issue?

I was using a Yamaha 6750W before which only had one hdmi output labeled ARC so it really shouldn't matter?

Hookup is oppo HDMI 2 to receiver HDMI 1. HDMI output #2 receiver to TV. thats it.
thetman is offline  
post #22595 of 24561 Old 12-29-2015, 11:10 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Smarty-pants's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 18,176
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 749 Post(s)
Liked: 627
Quote:
Originally Posted by thetman View Post
received a Yamaha RXV-775WA from xmas, just to use for music listening. great deal at Costco. I hooked it up today to OPPO. everything was fine but could not get the center channel to play during any type of surround music. regular cds were fine in 7 channels stereo. It has two HDMI outputs. when I switched to output 2 it seemed to work. Output one is labeled ARC. would this cause the issue?

I was using a Yamaha 6750W before which only had one hdmi output labeled ARC so it really shouldn't matter?

Hookup is oppo HDMI 2 to receiver HDMI 1. HDMI output #2 receiver to TV. thats it.
First be sure that the material you are listening to does indeed have a center channel output. Not all surround music does.
Aside from that, the player doesn't have the ability to turn off the center channel speaker on digital outputs,
so I would say that the problem most likely lies in the Yamaha, and thus your question may be better placed
in the thread dedicated to the RXV-775WA or generalized Yamaha thread.
There you may get more people who know the specifics of how to set up that unit.
Smarty-pants is offline  
post #22596 of 24561 Old 12-29-2015, 11:38 AM
Advanced Member
 
thetman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 652
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 198 Post(s)
Liked: 36
Quote:
Originally Posted by Smarty-pants View Post
First be sure that the material you are listening to does indeed have a center channel output. Not all surround music does.
Aside from that, the player doesn't have the ability to turn off the center channel speaker on digital outputs,
so I would say that the problem most likely lies in the Yamaha, and thus your question may be better placed
in the thread dedicated to the RXV-775WA or generalized Yamaha thread.
There you may get more people who know the specifics of how to set up that unit.
music is 5.1, thanks I will post in receiver thread
thetman is offline  
post #22597 of 24561 Old 12-30-2015, 05:07 PM
Member
 
bmx269's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Pariseau View Post
Try this:

Unplug the ROKU Streaming Stick and remove any disc in the tray.

Set Energy Efficient and power Off the player. While it is off, unplug the player and while still unplugged, press and hold the Front Panel Power button for a few seconds. The idea is to get the player to do a complete reboot.

Attach power and turn on the player. Wait for it to completely power up (Home Menu showing).

Now plug in the ROKU Stick. It may take up to 2 minutes for the Stick to boot up. What SHOULD happen is that the player automatically switches to the ROKU display while the ROKU is still booting up.

Is it recognized now? If not, call OPPO Tech Support. They may ask you to do a re-install of the firmware.
--Bob
Thanks for the reply Bob. Tried these steps, and even did a factory reset and no luck. The Roku light does not even come on on the MHL port. Not sure why. Should I contact support ?

-Trent.
bmx269 is offline  
post #22598 of 24561 Old 12-30-2015, 05:56 PM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 31,118
Mentioned: 15 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2608 Post(s)
Liked: 3317
^ Yes. Your player, or the ROKU Stick itself, may need service.
--Bob

Anthem D2/D2v/AVM50/AVM50v/ARC1 tweaking guide. -- Need personal consultation/training? PM me!
Bob Pariseau is online now  
post #22599 of 24561 Old 12-30-2015, 06:05 PM
AVS Forum Club Gold
 
Keenan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Santa Rosa, CA
Posts: 31,726
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2253 Post(s)
Liked: 2061
Quote:
Originally Posted by bmx269 View Post
Thanks for the reply Bob. Tried these steps, and even did a factory reset and no luck. The Roku light does not even come on on the MHL port. Not sure why. Should I contact support ?

-Trent.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Pariseau View Post
^ Yes. Your player, or the ROKU Stick itself, may need service.
--Bob
Could Trent try plugging the Roku into another MHL port on another device(if he has one- display maybe?) to check for working order? I can't remember if I ever tried that with mine but it seems like it should work, at least to the point of finding out if the stick is functional/powering up.

Alternatively have you checked to see that the MHL port works with just a plain old USB stick?
Keenan is offline  
post #22600 of 24561 Old 12-30-2015, 06:09 PM
Member
 
bmx269's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Keenan View Post
Could Trent try plugging the Roku into another MHL port on another device(if he has one- display maybe?) to check for working order? I can't remember if I ever tried that with mine but it seems like it should work, at least to the point of finding out if the stick is functional/powering up.

Alternatively have you checked to see that the MHL port works with just a plain old USB stick?
MLH is HDMI, and I have tried a regular Roku stick in the port (non MHL) and it works fine. I do not have another MHL device unfortunately. I guess it is support. I can try to reinstall the firmware from a USB stick to test that option.
bmx269 is offline  
post #22601 of 24561 Old 12-30-2015, 06:11 PM
AVS Forum Club Gold
 
Keenan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Santa Rosa, CA
Posts: 31,726
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2253 Post(s)
Liked: 2061
Quote:
Originally Posted by bmx269 View Post
MLH is HDMI, and I have tried a regular Roku stick in the port (non MHL) and it works fine. I do not have another MHL device unfortunately. I guess it is support. I can try to reinstall the firmware from a USB stick to test that option.
Sorry, yes, I meant HDMI. A bit of early New Year's spirits intake!
Keenan is offline  
post #22602 of 24561 Old 12-30-2015, 06:12 PM
Member
 
bmx269's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Figured.
bmx269 is offline  
post #22603 of 24561 Old 12-30-2015, 06:40 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
eng-399's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Plainfield IL.
Posts: 3,518
Mentioned: 221 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1386 Post(s)
Liked: 2064
Thought I would ask you guys since I'm stumped. I have the oppo 103d player and can't get a 3D movie to play on it. I'm using the Sony HW 40 projector which is 3D. This passes through my older Pioneer vsx 92 avr as well.
When I put a 3D disc in it says on my screen it's not compatible with my oppo.... What am I missing is it my HDMI wire from monoprice the redmare cable. What do you guys think the firmware is up to date to. Please help.
eng-399 is online now  
post #22604 of 24561 Old 12-30-2015, 07:49 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
fatherom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Boston area, MA
Posts: 1,426
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 327 Post(s)
Liked: 177
Quote:
Originally Posted by eng-399 View Post
Thought I would ask you guys since I'm stumped. I have the oppo 103d player and can't get a 3D movie to play on it. I'm using the Sony HW 40 projector which is 3D. This passes through my older Pioneer vsx 92 avr as well.
When I put a 3D disc in it says on my screen it's not compatible with my oppo.... What am I missing is it my HDMI wire from monoprice the redmare cable. What do you guys think the firmware is up to date to. Please help.
A quick Google search shows that receiver doesn't handle 3D.
eng-399 likes this.
fatherom is offline  
post #22605 of 24561 Old 12-30-2015, 08:05 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
eng-399's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Plainfield IL.
Posts: 3,518
Mentioned: 221 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1386 Post(s)
Liked: 2064
eng-399 is online now  
post #22606 of 24561 Old 12-31-2015, 02:45 PM
Member
 
Oubadah's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 172
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I've noticed that "This Device" is missing as a source in the mediacontrol app on my android phone. Actually, I did see it appear once, but it promptly disappeared before I could select it. I've tried the app on other Android devices, and "This Device" is present, but that's not very helpful as I have no media on those devices. I've tried clearing the app's cache, deleting it's folder and even reinstalling it, but it makes no difference.
Oubadah is offline  
post #22607 of 24561 Old 12-31-2015, 03:05 PM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 31,118
Mentioned: 15 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2608 Post(s)
Liked: 3317
^ Get in touch with OPPO Tech Support. There's likely a sharing or permissions setting of some sort you need to enable on the Android device to let the app get access to those files.
--Bob

Anthem D2/D2v/AVM50/AVM50v/ARC1 tweaking guide. -- Need personal consultation/training? PM me!
Bob Pariseau is online now  
post #22608 of 24561 Old 12-31-2015, 05:34 PM
Member
 
diononiz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Mountain View, CA
Posts: 117
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 53 Post(s)
Liked: 36
USB memory stick question

I have my Oppo 103 connected via digital coax to a McIntosh C2500 preamp/DAC and seem to have better performance with CDs than I do with hi resolution Flac files from HD tracks. I have the files on a USB memory stick connected to the front USB connector. I have downloaded several albums from HD tracks and play them using the built in player on the 103. Most of the files are 24/96 with a few at 24/192. I would think I would get better performance from the hi resolution files. Is there a configuration setting I am missing? Or is the front panel USB port not the best way to listen to the hi resolution files. The McIntosh does have a USB port but I would need to connect my computer and use Jriver or other player.

Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks in advance

Mcintosh C2500, MC302, MC8207
B&W 804D3, HTM4D2
Marantz 7702 mkII
Oppo 103
Sony XBR75X850C, Sony XBR55X800B (Bedroom) Sunbrite 46 (outside)
diononiz is offline  
post #22609 of 24561 Old 12-31-2015, 05:42 PM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 31,118
Mentioned: 15 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2608 Post(s)
Liked: 3317
There is an Optical/Coax Output setting which limits what will go out on those ports to what your external hardware can handle. Set that to LPCM 192 kHz if your stereo DAC can handle that.

NOTE: Lesser rate content is not up sampled. So CDs will still output 44.1 kHz even if a limit of 192 is set.
--Bob
Bob Pariseau is online now  
post #22610 of 24561 Old 12-31-2015, 05:55 PM
Member
 
diononiz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Mountain View, CA
Posts: 117
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 53 Post(s)
Liked: 36
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Pariseau View Post
There is an Optical/Coax Output setting which limits what will go out on those ports to what your external hardware can handle. Set that to LPCM 192 kHz if your stereo DAC can handle that.

NOTE: Lesser rate content is not up sampled. So CDs will still output 44.1 kHz even if a limit of 192 is set.
--Bob
Bob,
Thank you for the response but I already have the optical/coax set to LPCM 192k. Is there any other setting you can recommend?

Thanks

Mcintosh C2500, MC302, MC8207
B&W 804D3, HTM4D2
Marantz 7702 mkII
Oppo 103
Sony XBR75X850C, Sony XBR55X800B (Bedroom) Sunbrite 46 (outside)
diononiz is offline  
post #22611 of 24561 Old 12-31-2015, 06:22 PM
Member
 
Oubadah's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 172
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Oubadah View Post
I've noticed that "This Device" is missing as a source in the mediacontrol app on my android phone. Actually, I did see it appear once, but it promptly disappeared before I could select it. I've tried the app on other Android devices, and "This Device" is present, but that's not very helpful as I have no media on those devices. I've tried clearing the app's cache, deleting it's folder and even reinstalling it, but it makes no difference.
Update: Suddenly it started working, and I was actually able to play half an album until playback inexplicably stopped. Then "This Device" was back to being AWOL. Then it reappeared, and after restarting the app twice it's gone again. Great, another intermittently broken feature.
Oubadah is offline  
post #22612 of 24561 Old 12-31-2015, 06:44 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 47
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Hi Guys

Im trying to rip all my CDs and store it in my NAS for playback on the Oppo BPD-103D.

I tried ripping to AIFF and found out that the Oppo player doesn't display artwork for AIFF files. I tried FLAC and it works.

Just wanted to be sure what is the best format to rip my CDs in before I start embarking on this entire digitalisation.

The last thing I would want is having to re-rip thousands of CDs.

Please guide me on the best format to rip my CDs for both ARCHIVE & PLAYBACK on the OPPO.

Rip it once, Rip it good!

Cheers
Nlim88 is offline  
post #22613 of 24561 Old 12-31-2015, 06:45 PM
Member
 
rickydenim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 156
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I still haven't upgraded my 103 to the latest FW. Does anyone have the bluraychip.dk region free mod and can confirm works with the latest update? I thought I read earlier about an issue with mkv streaming also - all good on that front?
rickydenim is offline  
post #22614 of 24561 Old 12-31-2015, 07:57 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
rdgrimes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Nuevo Mexico
Posts: 19,239
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2097 Post(s)
Liked: 1423
Quote:
Originally Posted by diononiz View Post
I have my Oppo 103 connected via digital coax to a McIntosh C2500 preamp/DAC and seem to have better performance with CDs than I do with hi resolution Flac files from HD tracks. I have the files on a USB memory stick connected to the front USB connector. I have downloaded several albums from HD tracks and play them using the built in player on the 103. Most of the files are 24/96 with a few at 24/192. I would think I would get better performance from the hi resolution files. Is there a configuration setting I am missing? Or is the front panel USB port not the best way to listen to the hi resolution files. The McIntosh does have a USB port but I would need to connect my computer and use Jriver or other player.
There's no assurance that some 24/192 downloads will sounds any better than a CD, and no assurance it won't sound worse. In many cases they are sourced from the same master. In fact there are many examples of both scenarios, one sounding better than the other. You have to compare apples to apples with a CD and a HR download of the same content (same master). Honestly, it take pretty high-end gear to resolve the difference.
rdgrimes is online now  
post #22615 of 24561 Old 12-31-2015, 09:11 PM
gsr
Oppo Beta Group
 
gsr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Massachusetts, USA
Posts: 9,184
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1092 Post(s)
Liked: 1072
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nlim88 View Post
Hi Guys

Im trying to rip all my CDs and store it in my NAS for playback on the Oppo BPD-103D.

I tried ripping to AIFF and found out that the Oppo player doesn't display artwork for AIFF files. I tried FLAC and it works.

Just wanted to be sure what is the best format to rip my CDs in before I start embarking on this entire digitalisation.

The last thing I would want is having to re-rip thousands of CDs.

Please guide me on the best format to rip my CDs for both ARCHIVE & PLAYBACK on the OPPO.

Rip it once, Rip it good!

Cheers
FLAC is probably the best all around option on most devices (including the Oppo), unless you're using Apple iOS devices. Keep in mind that as long as you rip to a lossless format, such as FLAC, it's fairly easy to convert the files to another format without having to re-rip your CD's. You won't lose any quality when converting from one lossless format to another.

In my case, I rip everything (other than SACD's) to FLAC and then convert to other formats where necessary. If I want to put a bunch of music onto a SD card for playing in my car (there's a SD card slot in the dashboard and a fairly decent UI for selecting what to play built in), I convert the FLAC files to MP3's and copy them onto the SD card. Same thing for my iOS devices - I use the MP3 copies there too.
gsr is online now  
post #22616 of 24561 Old 01-01-2016, 12:50 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 47
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by gsr View Post
FLAC is probably the best all around option on most devices (including the Oppo), unless you're using Apple iOS devices. Keep in mind that as long as you rip to a lossless format, such as FLAC, it's fairly easy to convert the files to another format without having to re-rip your CD's. You won't lose any quality when converting from one lossless format to another.

In my case, I rip everything (other than SACD's) to FLAC and then convert to other formats where necessary. If I want to put a bunch of music onto a SD card for playing in my car (there's a SD card slot in the dashboard and a fairly decent UI for selecting what to play built in), I convert the FLAC files to MP3's and copy them onto the SD card. Same thing for my iOS devices - I use the MP3 copies there too.
Ohh ! Great method!

Initially I was thinking of converting to AIFF as I thought it was the most "original" and use AIFF for archive, while at the same time converting another format for my OPPO.

Seems like your advice is to just convert to FLAC for both OPPO and archive ? If that's the case, I would then be able to save my hard disk space instead of having both AIFF and FLAC.

By the way, is it only me, or is everyone having the same problem of OPPO not being able to see artwork for AIFF files ?

Cheers
Nlim88 is offline  
post #22617 of 24561 Old 01-01-2016, 12:51 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 47
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by gsr View Post
FLAC is probably the best all around option on most devices (including the Oppo), unless you're using Apple iOS devices. Keep in mind that as long as you rip to a lossless format, such as FLAC, it's fairly easy to convert the files to another format without having to re-rip your CD's. You won't lose any quality when converting from one lossless format to another.

In my case, I rip everything (other than SACD's) to FLAC and then convert to other formats where necessary. If I want to put a bunch of music onto a SD card for playing in my car (there's a SD card slot in the dashboard and a fairly decent UI for selecting what to play built in), I convert the FLAC files to MP3's and copy them onto the SD card. Same thing for my iOS devices - I use the MP3 copies there too.
Ohh ! Great method!

Initially I was thinking of converting to AIFF as I thought it was the most "original" and use AIFF for archive, while at the same time converting another format for my OPPO. I kept thinking that FLAC is lousier quality than AIFF hence wanting to achieve in AIFF.

Seems like your advice is to just convert to FLAC for both OPPO and archive ? If that's the case, I would then be able to save my hard disk space instead of having both AIFF and FLAC.

By the way, is it only me, or is everyone having the same problem of OPPO not being able to see artwork for AIFF files ?

Cheers
Nlim88 is offline  
post #22618 of 24561 Old 01-01-2016, 05:46 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
JazzGuyy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Oro Valley AZ
Posts: 3,214
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 295 Post(s)
Liked: 292
Quote:
Originally Posted by rickydenim View Post
I still haven't upgraded my 103 to the latest FW. Does anyone have the bluraychip.dk region free mod and can confirm works with the latest update? I thought I read earlier about an issue with mkv streaming also - all good on that front?
No issues with the latest firmware for me on a 105 and the bluraychip mod. I can't speak to the mkv streaming though since I don't use that.

JazzGuyy is online now  
post #22619 of 24561 Old 01-01-2016, 06:13 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
SeeMoreDigital's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Nott'm, UK
Posts: 2,545
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 472 Post(s)
Liked: 197
Quote:
Originally Posted by gsr View Post
In my case, I rip everything (other than SACD's) to FLAC and then convert to other formats where necessary. If I want to put a bunch of music onto a SD card for playing in my car (there's a SD card slot in the dashboard and a fairly decent UI for selecting what to play built in), I convert the FLAC files to MP3's and copy them onto the SD card. Same thing for my iOS devices - I use the MP3 copies there too.
I've encoded all of my audio disc's to Flac too, including the multi-channel ones. And when I require a lossy version for my Android phone, I convert the Flac to AAC.mp4

Another useful tool is MP3tag, which lets you create/amend your audio files meta-data along with their cover-art

I SUPPORT 'FAIR USE'. MY MORALS PREVENT ME FROM HELPING ANYONE WHO OBTAINS COPYRIGHTED CONTENT ILLEGITIMATELY
I've been testing hardware media playback devices and software A/V encoders and decoders since 2001 | My Network Layout and A/V Gear

Last edited by SeeMoreDigital; 01-01-2016 at 06:17 AM.
SeeMoreDigital is offline  
post #22620 of 24561 Old 01-01-2016, 06:48 AM
gsr
Oppo Beta Group
 
gsr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Massachusetts, USA
Posts: 9,184
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1092 Post(s)
Liked: 1072
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nlim88 View Post
By the way, is it only me, or is everyone having the same problem of OPPO not being able to see artwork for AIFF files ?
I don't recall if artwork in AIFF files is supported and I don't believe I have any sample files around to experiment with. If nobody chimes in with a good answer, I'd suggest contacting Oppo regarding it.
gsr is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Blu-ray Players

Tags
Oppo Bdp 103 3d Blu Ray Player , Oppo Bdp 105 Blu Ray Player , Oppo Bdp 93 Blu Ray Player , Oppo Digital Inc

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off