Official OPPO BDP-103 Owner's Thread - Page 764 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
 624Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #22891 of 22902 Old 02-04-2016, 10:34 AM
Member
 
wayne picard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: canada
Posts: 124
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I also noted an improvement in my Bell (Dish hardware) satellite picture using HDMI input 1 on the 103 projected onto a basic 100" screen via a BenQ 1070. The Bell box is set to 1080i and the 103 is set to output 1080p.
wayne picard is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #22892 of 22902 Old 02-04-2016, 02:38 PM
Member
 
KASOFO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 59
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Perplexed! Could use an assist....

I purchased LCD Soundsystem's Blu-Ray "Shut up and Play the Hits" and have an issue I cannot figure out. It is recorded in DTS-HD Master, of which I have several discs in the same format, but the center channel is COMPLETELY silent during the concert. When the band is talking backstage, dialogue comes out the center as it should. As soon as the concert starts, complete silence on the center channel. I have checked and replaced the HDMI connections and cables, ran "pink noise" through all channels to confirm they are working, tested things out with my other DTS Mastered discs, the signal input showing from my Marantz processor (complete system below) shows all channel active. I even thought I had gotten a defective disc from Amazon so ordered a replacement. Same thing is happening. This Blu-Ray has literally hundreds of great reviews on Amazon and not one says anything about zero sound coming from the center channel. I would greatly appreciate any input or suggestion cuz I am CONFOUNDED!

Marantz 7702MKII Processor
B & K 200.7 Amp and Emotiva XPA-3 Amp
Oppo 103 BDP-Blu-Ray, Monster 5100MKII Power Cond.
Def-Tech Mythos St-L Towers L+R, Def-Tech CD8080-HD Center, Def-Tech SR8080-BP Surrounds (4)
Seaton Submersive F2+ and F2 Slave Subs
KASOFO is offline  
post #22893 of 22902 Old 02-04-2016, 03:01 PM
AVS Special Member
 
fatherom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Boston area, MA
Posts: 1,154
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 120 Post(s)
Liked: 53
Quote:
Originally Posted by KASOFO View Post
I purchased LCD Soundsystem's Blu-Ray "Shut up and Play the Hits" and have an issue I cannot figure out. It is recorded in DTS-HD Master, of which I have several discs in the same format, but the center channel is COMPLETELY silent during the concert. When the band is talking backstage, dialogue comes out the center as it should. As soon as the concert starts, complete silence on the center channel. I have checked and replaced the HDMI connections and cables, ran "pink noise" through all channels to confirm they are working, tested things out with my other DTS Mastered discs, the signal input showing from my Marantz processor (complete system below) shows all channel active. I even thought I had gotten a defective disc from Amazon so ordered a replacement. Same thing is happening. This Blu-Ray has literally hundreds of great reviews on Amazon and not one says anything about zero sound coming from the center channel. I would greatly appreciate any input or suggestion cuz I am CONFOUNDED!
Did a couple quick google searches...blu-ray.com doesn't mention the specific absense of center channel, but does say the music comes from the 'front channels'. Then found another forum where several users confirmed this is simply how the disc was mastered. It appears to be intentional.


Epson 5020UB (won on AVSForum!) on Elite Sable 16:9 100", Oppo BDP-83 / 93 (ISO firmware) / 103D, Dune HD Base 3.0 / Smart units, Darblet, Sony MDR-DS7500 Wireless Surround Headphones & Onkyo TX-SR707
fatherom is offline  
post #22894 of 22902 Old 02-04-2016, 03:48 PM
Member
 
KASOFO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 59
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by fatherom View Post
Did a couple quick google searches...blu-ray.com doesn't mention the specific absense of center channel, but does say the music comes from the 'front channels'. Then found another forum where several users confirmed this is simply how the disc was mastered. It appears to be intentional.
Thank you for doing the homework on my issue. I couldn't find anything other that the "front channel" quote you found. That is disappointing that is the way it is mixed but oh well.

Marantz 7702MKII Processor
B & K 200.7 Amp and Emotiva XPA-3 Amp
Oppo 103 BDP-Blu-Ray, Monster 5100MKII Power Cond.
Def-Tech Mythos St-L Towers L+R, Def-Tech CD8080-HD Center, Def-Tech SR8080-BP Surrounds (4)
Seaton Submersive F2+ and F2 Slave Subs
KASOFO is offline  
post #22895 of 22902 Old 02-04-2016, 04:09 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Smarty-pants's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 17,667
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 418 Post(s)
Liked: 275
^ The center channel usually is primarily for dialog, but I have seen plenty of discs put more than that in it.
It just all depends on who mixed the sound.
If the original sound was recorded and mastered in 2-channel, then that is what they have ported over onto the disc.
If they were to remix it so that content was in the center channel, it would be an unnatural mix, but could still sound good if done right.
You could do the same thing in your processor though by turning on one of the DSPs like "theater" or "Concert Hall" or similar.
That might get you some center channel content.

~Dave

...Theater Room Setup...
JVC DLA-RS40-U... Oppo BDP-105D... Toshiba HD-XA2... Uverse VIP-2250... Roku Streaming Stick... Emotiva XPA-3... Onkyo TX-SR805
JBL LC2 (x3) ... JBL L820 (x6) ... SVS PB10-ISD (x2) ... SVS 20-39-PCI
Smarty-pants is offline  
post #22896 of 22902 Old 02-04-2016, 07:23 PM
Member
 
abilyeu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Northern California
Posts: 32
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have seen some recent posts regarding Windows streaming and Norton Internet Security. I just thought I would share what I had to do to get it working on Windows 8.1. I have no problems with SMB shares now, and I don't have to enter a password.

You need to add three firewall rules in Norton. You also need to perform an extra step for password-free connection. I have attached my notes as an image because I couldn't figure out how to make a table work in the forum software.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	2016-02-04_181906.jpg
Views:	45
Size:	107.8 KB
ID:	1230897  

Last edited by abilyeu; 02-04-2016 at 07:26 PM.
abilyeu is offline  
post #22897 of 22902 Old Yesterday, 08:25 AM
Senior Member
 
dwk123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Denver
Posts: 372
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by bcugk View Post
what i have found is that sports watching especially hockey is much improved with the Oppo upscaling and less motion blur on my Panasonic plasma

the best feature on the player is how good the 2 channel audio out is for cd's, i prefer this to the Anthemlogic over HDMI.
Thanks for the feedback. Placed the order and it should be here on Sat. With an Avs game on Sat and the big game on Sunday, I should be able to test it out. (Although seeing what could be yet another curb-stomping of the Broncos in the SB on the big screen might not be all that satisfying....)
dwk123 is offline  
post #22898 of 22902 Old Today, 04:09 AM
Member
 
jeroensky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Amsterdam (The Netherlands)
Posts: 60
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Send a message via Skype™ to jeroensky
Quote:
Originally Posted by abilyeu View Post
I have seen some recent posts regarding Windows streaming and Norton Internet Security. I just thought I would share what I had to do to get it working on Windows 8.1. I have no problems with SMB shares now, and I don't have to enter a password.

You need to add three firewall rules in Norton. You also need to perform an extra step for password-free connection. I have attached my notes as an image because I couldn't figure out how to make a table work in the forum software.
Holy crap. Long time i hear about Norton security software for insecure operating system and that uses too much computer power. Glad i dumped windows a few years ago.

_-<OPPO-BDP103eu~DarbeeEdition~Multi-region/zone>-_
jeroensky is offline  
post #22899 of 22902 Old Today, 05:28 AM
Member
 
ghanley's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Shrewsbury, MA
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Future Oppo Models

Maybe it's a closely guarded secret but my searches for information regarding new Oppo universal players always comes up empty.

The current model lineup has been around awhile and was wondering if anyone has any clues about what is on the horizon.
ghanley is offline  
post #22900 of 22902 Old Today, 05:56 AM
One-Man Content Creator
 
wmcclain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 19,581
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1578 Post(s)
Liked: 701
Quote:
Originally Posted by ghanley View Post
Maybe it's a closely guarded secret but my searches for information regarding new Oppo universal players always comes up empty.

The current model lineup has been around awhile and was wondering if anyone has any clues about what is on the horizon.
OPPO has said they are working on a UHD player, but we have heard no specifics or definite schedule.

-Bill

Review older films here: 1979 and earlier | 1980s | 1990s | Combined reviews: Strange Picture Scroll
Unofficial OPPO FAQS: BDP-103 | BDP-93 | BDP-83 | BDP-80    
wmcclain is online now  
post #22901 of 22902 Old Today, 11:03 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Ronomy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 3,052
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by scott_bernstein View Post
not just simple -- but frankly flawless and painless. Install and it "just works" every time.
I recently bought the 103 and installed oshare. But my PC drops its internet access after a couple songs playing on my oppo. I have to reboot my PC to get internet access back. Any ideas why this is happening?

Ron
Ronomy is online now  
post #22902 of 22902 Old Today, 11:37 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
I just wanted to pop into this thread to thank Oppo tech support for resolving my 'no audio to Vizio TV issue'. Apparently the Vizio M series does not pick up audio thru HDMI 1 but it does so thru HDMI 2. They acknowledged this is a known issue and sent me a beta firmware patch to fix the issue - and it did.
Tenks is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Blu-ray Players

Tags
Oppo Bdp 103 3d Blu Ray Player , Oppo Bdp 105 Blu Ray Player , Oppo Bdp 93 Blu Ray Player , Oppo Digital Inc



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off