Official OPPO BDP-103 Owner's Thread - Page 765 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
 625Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #22921 of 22937 Old 02-09-2016, 12:52 PM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 29,096
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1231 Post(s)
Liked: 1285
Quote:
Originally Posted by jerrold14 View Post
Bob,

Thanks for the quick reply, I really appreciate it. Ill give this a try tonight, also I'm guessing if the problem persist when I switch inputs then I'm screwed? Ive already turned off hdmi controls on the TV, AVR and the Oppo.
There's still a chance that upgraded cables will get you past this, but not likely. You might also consider talking DirecTV into sending you a newer receiver box that might not be so picky. (The source device -- the DirecTV in this instance -- controls the HDMI handshake from end to end.)
--Bob

Anthem D2/D2v/AVM50/AVM50v/ARC1 tweaking guide. -- Need personal consultation/training? PM me!
Bob Pariseau is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #22922 of 22937 Old 02-09-2016, 01:02 PM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 29,096
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1231 Post(s)
Liked: 1285
Quote:
Originally Posted by Spizz View Post
I am having a problem when using the Netflix app that the Oppo 103D will just freeze up and the player won't response to commands from the remote and the picture and sound will stutter until a few minutes have passed and then I can exit the app. This reoccurs and has seen to be introduced when I upgraded to the latest firmware version. Also if I press the info button numerously within the Netflix app to see what the video streaming quality is it will also cause to freeze every so often. The VUDU app no issue at all.

Any ideas. Seems like a buffer issue with the player or the latest firmware version.
Netflix has announced that they are experimenting with new compression schemes and the way they switch between them according to how they perceive your networking speed. It is possible you've gotten caught up in this. I suspect they are still working the kinks out.

In your account on the Netflix web site, you'll find an option you can set to avoid being used as an unwitting test subject for their various trials of new stuff. By default you are included, and it is pretty much random chance whether your account gets subjected to any given trial.

On the OPPO, set Energy Efficient instead of Quick Start. This will result in a complete reboot of the player each time you power up -- including restarting networking from scratch. This can help eliminate oddness due to how your router deals with a networking connection that's been kept live for days at a time. (Quick Start keeps the network live even while the player is "OFF", which is one of the things that lets it boot up faster.)
--Bob

Anthem D2/D2v/AVM50/AVM50v/ARC1 tweaking guide. -- Need personal consultation/training? PM me!
Bob Pariseau is online now  
post #22923 of 22937 Old 02-09-2016, 04:20 PM
Member
 
rodpaine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 32
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Problems with analog 5.1 audio setup on BDP-103
A quick update-
More snow here in northern Virginia this morning, so had time to swap the 105 with my 103, versus shoveling snow.
As several folks here suggested earlier, I did swap the 103 out and put the 105 in its place, using its analog outputs to feed my recently added active speakers. Long story short the 103's analog outputs are the problem, but its HDMI audio works fine plugged into the Onkyo which is where the 105 was used. The 103 is going back to OPPO for repair.
-Rod
rodpaine is offline  
post #22924 of 22937 Old 02-09-2016, 06:31 PM
Senior Member
 
dwk123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Denver
Posts: 374
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Pariseau View Post
^ On the DVD, the OPPO 10x players do not attempt to "detect" /24 content. If you enable DVD 24p Conversion then *ALL* DVD (shiny disc) content is converted to 1080p/24 output -- assuming you also have 1080p Resolution selected and 1080p/24 Output enabled.

This can result in stuttering if the DVD content was not really /24 to begin with, or if the transfer to disc was done in a way that screws up the cadence used with /24 content that CAN be converted.


--Bob
Ah, thanks for the tip. I didn't pick up on that in my quick read/research. I don't expect to play much if any non-film source content DVDs, but I'll watch for it just in case.
dwk123 is offline  
post #22925 of 22937 Old 02-09-2016, 09:17 PM
AVS Special Member
 
dpippel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Yoyodyne Propulsion Systems
Posts: 1,136
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hey folks. I've developed a DLNA video streaming problem with my BDP-103 and I'm unsure as to what's causing it. I have a ripped DVD library (VIDEO_TS folders) sitting on a Windows Server 2012 R2 file share that's on my home network. I'm using JRiver Media Center running on another computer on my network as the DLNA server for these titles, streaming to the Oppo. MC 21 plays them just fine by itself, the BDP-103 sees its DLNA server A-OK, it sees the individual titles A-OK, but when I attempt to play a title from the Oppo it fails with a "This format is not supported" error. MC 21 sees the Oppo just fine, and I've verified that it's not a JRiver problem by bringing up a Mezzmo DLNA server on the same box with the same video library. Attempting to stream from it results in the same error on the BDP-103.

I realize that the Oppo doesn't directly support VIDEO_TS on external devices but I *know* this was working via DLNA a few months ago because I was comparing streaming video quality on my ripped DVD library content between the Oppo and a Raspberry Pi 2 that I built. Now it fails every time on the Oppo. This is a recent development. Haven't had time to test it again on the Pi because I need to rebuild the boot SD card. Is anyone else out there experiencing this problem or does anyone have any suggestions? I'm pulling my hair out!

Last edited by dpippel; 02-09-2016 at 09:53 PM.
dpippel is offline  
post #22926 of 22937 Old Yesterday, 05:54 AM
Member
 
allan0210's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: North East England
Posts: 164
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ronomy View Post
I think you mean coaxial SPDIF...yes I use it with a Meridian preamp and the sound quality is very good. No worries!

Ron
Thank you Ron I never considered coaxial I was just thinking old school phono good idea and if works with meridian I am sure it would be fine for me
allan0210 is offline  
post #22927 of 22937 Old Yesterday, 05:57 AM
Member
 
allan0210's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: North East England
Posts: 164
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Pariseau View Post
Start with any decent, SHIELDED set of RCA cables and see how you like it. There's no need to pay for something exotic.

Monoprice and Blue Jeans cable both sell good cables on-line at a fair price.

About the only thing you can really do wrong is to use the unshielded, throw away RCA cables that are typically tossed in the box with all sorts of consumer electronics.
--Bob
Thank you Bob I feel better knowing 2 members are content using the oppo output instead of hdmi
allan0210 is offline  
post #22928 of 22937 Old Yesterday, 02:40 PM
Newbie
 
Gato340's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ronomy View Post
I recently bought the 103 and installed oshare. But my PC drops its internet access after a couple songs playing on my oppo. I have to reboot my PC to get internet access back. Any ideas why this is happening?

Ron
Not why it happens but I also had trouble w/oShare. Changed to foobar2000, no more problems. Not sure why but there it is!
Gato340 is offline  
post #22929 of 22937 Old Yesterday, 06:41 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Ronomy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 3,055
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gato340 View Post
Not why it happens but I also had trouble w/oShare. Changed to foobar2000, no more problems. Not sure why but there it is!
Thanks...if it happens again I will give foobar2000 a try. I read somewhere oshare works best in the program folder. I had it in my download folder several folders deep. I noticed that the firewall setup differently when I moved it. The oshareserver setting was missing in the firewall when run from the download folder. So far it's working fine since I moved it.
Ronomy is offline  
post #22930 of 22937 Old Today, 05:52 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 34
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 4
The youtube app on my Oppo doesnt seem to work anymore. It says issue with Opera Browser or something of the sort.

Another issue I have is that whenever my turn my TV on or off, my receiver sound stops for a couple of seconds, it's very annoying.
Joey C is offline  
post #22931 of 22937 Old Today, 08:57 AM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 29,096
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1231 Post(s)
Liked: 1285
Quote:
Originally Posted by Joey C View Post
The youtube app on my Oppo doesnt seem to work anymore. It says issue with Opera Browser or something of the sort.

Another issue I have is that whenever my turn my TV on or off, my receiver sound stops for a couple of seconds, it's very annoying.
For YouTube, are you actually getting an error message? Or is it just showing the "Opening Browser" screen and not getting past that point. If the latter, check that your networking is live. For example, run a Connection Test in Setup > Network Setup. It's also possible that the YouTube service itself is having a problem, so try again later. (There are internet sites like http://downrightnow.com/youtube which track the status of popular internet services. You can check there to see if others are currently reporting problems with YouTube.)

If no easy answer there, set your OPPO to Energy Efficient instead of Quick Start and turn it off and back on again. This will do a complete reboot of the player and may get you past whatever the YouTube app is unhappy with.

---------------------------------------

For the issue of loss of audio when you turn your TV on or off, that's just how HDMI works. When you turn your TV on or off that changes the configuration of devices involved in the HDMI chain. HDMI is an end to end protocol, so when a device enters or leaves the signal path the HDMI connection has to be rebuilt from scratch -- called an "HDMI handshake". This includes re-establishing HDMI copy protection, and while THAT is going on the audio and video get muted. By spec, there are delays built into the HDMI handshake to give all the devices time to get their act together. This means the minimum time for an HDMI handshake is around 2 seconds. Complaints to HDMI.ORG, please.

Now, if all you want to do is, e.g., blank your TV screen while you listen to music, an easier way to do that is to use Pure Mode -- Pure button, upper left on the remote. That sets video to black, and also blanks the front panel display. More importantly, it does not require a new HDMI handshake. Press Pure a 2nd time to get those back.
--Bob

Anthem D2/D2v/AVM50/AVM50v/ARC1 tweaking guide. -- Need personal consultation/training? PM me!
Bob Pariseau is online now  
post #22932 of 22937 Old Today, 09:43 AM
gsr
Oppo Beta Group
 
gsr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Massachusetts, USA
Posts: 8,541
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 691 Post(s)
Liked: 527
Another option that might allow the TV to be turned on/off without introducing another HDMI handshake would be to insert an EDID emulator before the TV. Options for these include the Gefen HDMI Detective Plus, HD Fury Dr HDMI, and HD Fury Integral. The first 2 are more affordable, the Integral is $249 but has 4K support and does a lot of other stuff that may or may not be useful.
gsr is offline  
post #22933 of 22937 Old Today, 12:10 PM
Senior Member
 
Tgterm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 239
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 123 Post(s)
Liked: 18
So, I have been running my DirecTV genie receiver through my OPPO 103's HDMI In Back for a while now, to take advantage of the video processing there. There is one annoying thing that happens every now and then that I wanted to put out there...see if anyone else has experienced something similar, and what any possible causes/solutions might be...

It typically happens when I am fast forwarding through some recorded content on the DVR (i.e., commercials) and I stop abruptly to resume watching the programming. Frequently, the motion on the screen will then be a bit juddery (if that's a word!) without the smooth motion you would typically get from video. To stop it, I usually have to reboot the OPPO, resume the DVR'd content, and the judder will usually be gone at that time. Until I start fast forwarding again...

I don't typically get this judder when I am watching unrecorded content on the DVR through the OPPO. Unless, I pause and buffer it for a while...then resume or fast forward, then it might happen again.

Any thoughts? Anyone else ever experience similar symptoms?

Thanks in advance for any input!
Tgterm is online now  
post #22934 of 22937 Old Today, 12:23 PM
Senior Member
 
jerrold14's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 230
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Pariseau View Post
There's still a chance that upgraded cables will get you past this, but not likely. You might also consider talking DirecTV into sending you a newer receiver box that might not be so picky. (The source device -- the DirecTV in this instance -- controls the HDMI handshake from end to end.)
--Bob
Yep, that's what it is. The receiver's monitor out is connected to the tv's hdmi port, so the tv is getting two signal at the same time. I unplugged the receiver monitor out and the flickering stopped. Although I didn't change my cables, I made sure that all the cables in the chain was rated "high speed" one of the cables were not, after changing it the flickering was less but it was still happening. I wonder how other people are getting this to work? I haven't tried it yet but I wonder what would happen if i take my receiver's monitor out and run it to the Oppo and have one HDMI cable connected to the tv? ill try it tonight.
jerrold14 is offline  
post #22935 of 22937 Old Today, 01:02 PM
Senior Member
 
jerrold14's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 230
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tgterm View Post
So, I have been running my DirecTV genie receiver through my OPPO 103's HDMI In Back for a while now, to take advantage of the video processing there. There is one annoying thing that happens every now and then that I wanted to put out there...see if anyone else has experienced something similar, and what any possible causes/solutions might be...

It typically happens when I am fast forwarding through some recorded content on the DVR (i.e., commercials) and I stop abruptly to resume watching the programming. Frequently, the motion on the screen will then be a bit juddery (if that's a word!) without the smooth motion you would typically get from video. To stop it, I usually have to reboot the OPPO, resume the DVR'd content, and the judder will usually be gone at that time. Until I start fast forwarding again...

I don't typically get this judder when I am watching unrecorded content on the DVR through the OPPO. Unless, I pause and buffer it for a while...then resume or fast forward, then it might happen again.

Any thoughts? Anyone else ever experience similar symptoms?

Thanks in advance for any input!
I also have a Directv genie, I get the same Judder while viewing non dvr content, its not often but it does happen, it usually hppens to me while channel surfing (which I do a lot). I have my directv box set to "native resolution" i found that if the Judder starts on a 1080p channel and I turn the channel to a 720p channel, when the tv blanks out to change the resolution the picture comes back fine. I used to turn everything off and back on when this happened until I stumbled onto this little trick. In short I dont think it has anything to do with the Oppo, just Directv.

Now for the big question Do you have a receiver in this setup? Im asking because im trying to use the Oppo's video processing for my Directv as well and im running into HDCP handshake issues. The directv picture keeps going in and out. In short if I unplug me receiver it works fine but the minute I plug it back in the screen goes in and out again. Just wondering how your getting directv to go through the Oppo smoothly.
jerrold14 is offline  
post #22936 of 22937 Old Today, 01:16 PM
Senior Member
 
Tgterm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 239
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 123 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by jerrold14 View Post
I also have a Directv genie, I get the same Judder while viewing non dvr content, its not often but it does happen, it usually hppens to me while channel surfing (which I do a lot). I have my directv box set to "native resolution" i found that if the Judder starts on a 1080p channel and I turn the channel to a 720p channel, when the tv blanks out to change the resolution the picture comes back fine. I used to turn everything off and back on when this happened until I stumbled onto this little trick. In short I dont think it has anything to do with the Oppo, just Directv.

Now for the big question Do you have a receiver in this setup? Im asking because im trying to use the Oppo's video processing for my Directv as well and im running into HDCP handshake issues. The directv picture keeps going in and out. In short if I unplug me receiver it works fine but the minute I plug it back in the screen goes in and out again. Just wondering how your getting directv to go through the Oppo smoothly.
Interesting...thanks for the input, I'll try this. Dumb question...how are you confirming the resolution of a particular channel while watching it?

As far as my connections, I do have an AVR receiver but I am not running the video through it. I run the Genie to the HDMI In back on the OPPO, then I run the OPPO HDMI 1 Out to my panel Input 1. Pretty sure that's what I'm doing, and I will double check it when I get home later. Is that what you're asking?
Tgterm is online now  
post #22937 of 22937 Old Today, 02:05 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
DSperber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Marina Del Rey, CA, USA
Posts: 5,592
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 176 Post(s)
Liked: 153
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tgterm View Post
Interesting...thanks for the input, I'll try this. Dumb question...how are you confirming the resolution of a particular channel while watching it?
Info "i" button on the Oppo remote. It shows you what is coming in from source, and going out to TV, both audio and video formats.
DSperber is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Blu-ray Players

Tags
Oppo Bdp 103 3d Blu Ray Player , Oppo Bdp 105 Blu Ray Player , Oppo Bdp 93 Blu Ray Player , Oppo Digital Inc



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off