Official OPPO BDP-103 Owner's Thread - Page 769 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews

Forum Jump: 
 804Likes
Reply
Thread Tools
post #23041 of 24140 Old 02-21-2016, 02:24 PM
Advanced Member
 
PeterLewis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 810
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 111 Post(s)
Liked: 57
I always admired the oppo from afar but never pulled the trigger,always used the ps3/ps4 for much everything but with the new UHD 4K player probably a few months away I will definitely take another hard look...

Can any owners verify if the oppo does vudu at 24p as I have many HDX titles and the playstations will only play the vudu app at 60p?

Sony XBR65X950B,XBR55X900B 2-BR100/Subs & 4K X10 Player
PS4 - Directv Genie HR-44 3/C41 mini's, Sunday Ticket & MLB Xtra innings
Denon - X7200WA - Roku Ultra 4k
Mirage Omnisat V2 5.1.4 Dolby Atmos set up with SVS PB2000 Sub
PeterLewis is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #23042 of 24140 Old 02-21-2016, 02:31 PM
AVS Special Member
 
SeeMoreDigital's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Nott'm, UK
Posts: 2,525
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 458 Post(s)
Liked: 193
Quote:
Originally Posted by captnvideo View Post
...But how will this affect SACD multi-channel and Hi Resolution audio files (WAV)?
Given that your Yamaha RX-A1040 is not able to decode DSD audio bit-streams 'natively'.... None at all.

I SUPPORT 'FAIR USE'. MY MORALS PREVENT ME FROM HELPING ANYONE WHO OBTAINS COPYRIGHTED CONTENT ILLEGITIMATELY
I've been testing hardware media playback devices and software A/V encoders and decoders since 2001 | My Network Layout and A/V Gear
SeeMoreDigital is offline  
post #23043 of 24140 Old 02-21-2016, 02:48 PM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 29,514
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1471 Post(s)
Liked: 1530
Quote:
Originally Posted by PeterLewis View Post
I always admired the oppo from afar but never pulled the trigger,always used the ps3/ps4 for much everything but with the new UHD 4K player probably a few months away I will definitely take another hard look...

Can any owners verify if the oppo does vudu at 24p as I have many HDX titles and the playstations will only play the vudu app at 60p?
It does not. The HDX output of the native VUDU app on the OPPO is 1080p/60.
--Bob
PeterLewis likes this.

Anthem D2/D2v/AVM50/AVM50v/ARC1 tweaking guide. -- Need personal consultation/training? PM me!
Bob Pariseau is offline  
post #23044 of 24140 Old 02-21-2016, 03:07 PM
JBL Pro Cinema Advocate
 
Molon_Labe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 2,254
Mentioned: 54 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1698 Post(s)
Liked: 1783
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Pariseau View Post
It is possible that a fault in something you have connected to the player is screwing up its power supply.

To test this, disconnect EVERYTHING from the player. Take the player to another room (a different wall power circuit), just in case the problem is with your wall power. While the player is still unplugged, press and hold the front panel Power button for a few seconds to discharge any residual power in the power supply. This insures the lowest levels of the hardware in the player will boot up from scratch.

Now connect JUST the wall power cable and see if the problem still exists (based on what you see in the Front Panel display). If it does, try all three ways of powering up the player: Power button on the remote control, power button on the front panel, and Tray Open button on the front panel.

If all three ways show the problem, your player needs hardware service. Give OPPO Tech Support a call or email. They have reasonably priced, flat rate service for players out of warranty.

If only one way exhibits the problem you may need fresh batteries in the remote or you may have a sticky button.

If the player powers up NORMALLY in the new room, bring it back and connect just one thing at a time until you find the culprit. It could be a faulty cable, or a faulty device at the other end of the cable.
--Bob
Thanks Bob,

Tried the suggestions, but no joy. Unit still powers on for about 10 seconds then powers down. I will call tech support tomorrow to see what the repair bill is to fix it. I went to Best Buy and got an open box Samsung for $70 and cant see any discernible difference in picture quality. One thing is for certain, I won't own another Oppo. This thing doesnt even have that many hours on it. Used ir for movies only in a dedicated theater room. Pretty sad.....
Molon_Labe is offline  
post #23045 of 24140 Old 02-21-2016, 03:14 PM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 29,514
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1471 Post(s)
Liked: 1530
^ When did you get it? It comes with a 2 year warranty.
--Bob

Anthem D2/D2v/AVM50/AVM50v/ARC1 tweaking guide. -- Need personal consultation/training? PM me!
Bob Pariseau is offline  
post #23046 of 24140 Old 02-21-2016, 03:18 PM
Senior Member
 
captnvideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 295
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 49 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by SeeMoreDigital View Post
Given that your Yamaha RX-A1040 is not able to decode DSD audio bit-streams 'natively'.... None at all.
Ok! I changed the HDMI audio setting from "bitstream" to "LPCM" and loaded the Skyfall blu-ray disc. The audio and video were perfectly in sync just like with the Panasonic.

So hopefully that solves the problem. I will continue to keep 24p processing "off" and the Samsung's Auto Motion Plus to "smooth". This provides me with the best picture quality.

I will do more testing tomorrow and let all you terrific people here if I have any problems.

captnvideo
captnvideo is offline  
post #23047 of 24140 Old 02-21-2016, 03:22 PM
JBL Pro Cinema Advocate
 
Molon_Labe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 2,254
Mentioned: 54 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1698 Post(s)
Liked: 1783
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Pariseau View Post
^ When did you get it? It comes with a 2 year warranty.
--Bob
I honestly am not sure. I might be within the two years. Hopefully they can tell with my serial number the manufacture date. My luck I am at 25 months
Molon_Labe is offline  
post #23048 of 24140 Old 02-21-2016, 05:00 PM
Coyote Waits
 
htwaits's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Palo Alto, CA
Posts: 26,940
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 902 Post(s)
Liked: 2001
Quote:
Originally Posted by captnvideo View Post

Shut off 24p and also try setting HDMI audio to PCM. This will let the oppo decode the hires audio formats and you receiver will not have to process DTS MA and Dolby HD audio. It might help in your case. Worth a try!

Romony and htwaits:

I will try changing HDMI audio to PCM and see if it helps. But how will this affect SACD multi-channel and Hi Resolution audio files (WAV)?
If you're using HDMI, the first thing your AVR does is convert audio to PCM. The OPPO may be identical or even better at that task than your AVR -- or not. You can check that out after you solve the current problem.
htwaits is online now  
post #23049 of 24140 Old 02-21-2016, 05:23 PM
gsr
Oppo Beta Group
 
gsr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Massachusetts, USA
Posts: 8,930
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 936 Post(s)
Liked: 779
Quote:
Originally Posted by Molon_Labe View Post
I honestly am not sure. I might be within the two years. Hopefully they can tell with my serial number the manufacture date. My luck I am at 25 months
If you're past the 2 years, keep in mind that many credit cards provide an extra year...
gsr is online now  
post #23050 of 24140 Old 02-21-2016, 05:43 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Ronomy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 3,116
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 36 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by captnvideo View Post
Quotes:
Doesn't appear you TV handles 24p very well. I have an older Sony bravia LCD TV in my living room and when sending it 24p it is jittery. 60p is best.

Shut off 24p and also try setting HDMI audio to PCM. This will let the oppo decode the hires audio formats and you receiver will not have to process DTS MA and Dolby HD audio. It might help in your case. Worth a try!

Romony and htwaits:

I will try changing HDMI audio to PCM and see if it helps. But how will this affect SACD multi-channel and Hi Resolution audio files (WAV)?
WAV is already in PCM. DSD will be converted to PCM too! DTS and Dolby all flavors will be decoded and sent over HDMI in multichannel PCM.

If it fixes your problem you will be happy!
Ronomy is offline  
post #23051 of 24140 Old 02-21-2016, 05:50 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Ronomy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 3,116
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 36 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by captnvideo View Post
Ok! I changed the HDMI audio setting from "bitstream" to "LPCM" and loaded the Skyfall blu-ray disc. The audio and video were perfectly in sync just like with the Panasonic.

So hopefully that solves the problem. I will continue to keep 24p processing "off" and the Samsung's Auto Motion Plus to "smooth". This provides me with the best picture quality.

I will do more testing tomorrow and let all you terrific people here if I have any problems.

captnvideo
Great news! Basically your AVR is a multichannel DAC with volume control using the LPCM output setting on your oppo.
Ronomy is offline  
post #23052 of 24140 Old 02-21-2016, 06:45 PM
JBL Pro Cinema Advocate
 
Molon_Labe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 2,254
Mentioned: 54 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1698 Post(s)
Liked: 1783
Quote:
Originally Posted by gsr View Post
If you're past the 2 years, keep in mind that many credit cards provide an extra year...
I just found my Amazon invoice. I purchased 1 Aug 2013. I hope they work with me on this because $500 for a player that died after 2.5 years with light use is going to make for a bad Monday.

Last edited by Molon_Labe; 02-21-2016 at 07:12 PM.
Molon_Labe is offline  
post #23053 of 24140 Old 02-21-2016, 07:10 PM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 29,514
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1471 Post(s)
Liked: 1530
^ Uh, typo on the date? Aug 1, 2015, is less than 1 year ago.
--Bob

Anthem D2/D2v/AVM50/AVM50v/ARC1 tweaking guide. -- Need personal consultation/training? PM me!
Bob Pariseau is offline  
post #23054 of 24140 Old 02-21-2016, 07:14 PM
JBL Pro Cinema Advocate
 
Molon_Labe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 2,254
Mentioned: 54 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1698 Post(s)
Liked: 1783
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Pariseau View Post
^ Uh, typo on the date? Aug 1, 2015, is less than 1 year ago.
--Bob
Yeah, typo - thanks for catching that. My warranty expired in Aug 2015 but the translation was lost between brain and keyboard. My invoice date is Aug 1, 2013.
Molon_Labe is offline  
post #23055 of 24140 Old 02-21-2016, 09:17 PM
Coyote Waits
 
htwaits's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Palo Alto, CA
Posts: 26,940
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 902 Post(s)
Liked: 2001
Quote:
Originally Posted by Molon_Labe View Post
Yeah, typo - thanks for catching that. My warranty expired in Aug 2015 but the translation was lost between brain and keyboard. My invoice date is Aug 1, 2013.
OPPO has a very reasonable fixed price for out of warranty players, and sometimes the only charge is the shipping. You should also contact them.
htwaits is online now  
post #23056 of 24140 Old 02-22-2016, 06:43 AM
JBL Pro Cinema Advocate
 
Molon_Labe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 2,254
Mentioned: 54 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1698 Post(s)
Liked: 1783
Quote:
Originally Posted by htwaits View Post
OPPO has a very reasonable fixed price for out of warranty players, and sometimes the only charge is the shipping. You should also contact them.
I hope so. It is built like a tank compared to the Samsung I purchased yesterday. I have been very pleased with the performance thus far. Either way, I will get it fixed because I like it. I am just a little disgruntled that most products just don't last like they used to. Goodness, I am sounding like my grandfather. Well then again, my first grandson is due in two months...lol.
Molon_Labe is offline  
post #23057 of 24140 Old 02-22-2016, 11:29 AM
JBL Pro Cinema Advocate
 
Molon_Labe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 2,254
Mentioned: 54 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1698 Post(s)
Liked: 1783
Looks like leaving it unplugged for the night did the trick. Unit is working perfect now - weird.
Molon_Labe is offline  
post #23058 of 24140 Old 02-22-2016, 12:12 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Ronomy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 3,116
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 36 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by Molon_Labe View Post
Looks like leaving it unplugged for the night did the trick. Unit is working perfect now - weird.
Sort of like my recent lipsync issue...it just disappeared two days ago.

Still have a problem where HDMI 2 output defaults to RGB out after the player has been turned off overnight. HDMI 1 does not do this. So sometimes I have to change it to auto and back to 422 so it will send 422 color instead of RGB. In other words the player will be set to 422 but output RGB after a night powered off. Go figure!

Ron
Ronomy is offline  
post #23059 of 24140 Old 02-22-2016, 02:19 PM
Coyote Waits
 
htwaits's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Palo Alto, CA
Posts: 26,940
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 902 Post(s)
Liked: 2001
Quote:
Originally Posted by Molon_Labe View Post
Looks like leaving it unplugged for the night did the trick. Unit is working perfect now - weird.
The first thing to understand about all electronic devices and automobiles is that at their heart, they are computers that need to be rebooted occasionally.
Smarty-pants likes this.
htwaits is online now  
post #23060 of 24140 Old 02-22-2016, 02:29 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
rdgrimes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Nuevo Mexico
Posts: 18,553
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1663 Post(s)
Liked: 948
Quote:
Originally Posted by Molon_Labe View Post
Looks like leaving it unplugged for the night did the trick. Unit is working perfect now - weird.
If you're using "Quick Start" standby mode, take this as a lesson, all you really needed was an "Energy Efficient" reboot.
There's a long list of bizarre issues solved by a hard reboot, and it's still growing. Sooner or later you'll see one with QS standby.
rdgrimes is offline  
post #23061 of 24140 Old 02-22-2016, 02:35 PM
JBL Pro Cinema Advocate
 
Molon_Labe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 2,254
Mentioned: 54 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1698 Post(s)
Liked: 1783
Thing is that I left it unplugged while I ate dinner and the problem remained. I work in IT (network engineer), and I have yet to see a device that wouldn't power drain completely in the course of eating a meal. Left it unplugged on the counter last night and it works this morning. Maybe I tilted it just right this morning Either way, I am back up operational and can take this flimsy Samsung back to Best Buy.
Molon_Labe is offline  
post #23062 of 24140 Old 02-22-2016, 04:09 PM
AVS Special Member
 
pbarach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Northeast Ohio
Posts: 2,966
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 283 Post(s)
Liked: 175
Quote:
Originally Posted by htwaits View Post
The first thing to understand about all electronic devices and automobiles is that at their heart, they are computers that need to be rebooted occasionally.
Once a Dell tech support person told me to unplug my computer "so the bad electricity will go away."

AT&T U-Verse Northeast Ohio

Denon x4000, Carver m1.0t, Samsung LED TV, B&W 704 mains, two M&K subwoofers, Oppo 103, Roku 2, etc.
Headphone system: Sennheiser HD600, AKG K701, Burson HA-160, Marantz CD5004, Denon DVD-3910
pbarach is offline  
post #23063 of 24140 Old 02-22-2016, 04:43 PM
Coyote Waits
 
htwaits's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Palo Alto, CA
Posts: 26,940
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 902 Post(s)
Liked: 2001
Quote:
Originally Posted by pbarach View Post
Once a Dell tech support person told me to unplug my computer "so the bad electricity will go away."
htwaits is online now  
post #23064 of 24140 Old 02-22-2016, 04:54 PM
Advanced Member
 
PeterLewis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 810
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 111 Post(s)
Liked: 57
Shot oppo an e-mailabout when their 4K UHD players will be available and this is what they said....

Peter,




We are looking to release our UHD player this Summer to Fall. At this time we are not taking pre-orders, but we should have more details and likely a better handle on our release schedule later this Spring.






Best Regards,

Customer Service
OPPO Digital, Inc.

162 Constitution Dr.

Menlo Park, CA 94025
Service@oppodigital.com
Tel: 650-961-1118
Fax: 650-961-1119

Sony XBR65X950B,XBR55X900B 2-BR100/Subs & 4K X10 Player
PS4 - Directv Genie HR-44 3/C41 mini's, Sunday Ticket & MLB Xtra innings
Denon - X7200WA - Roku Ultra 4k
Mirage Omnisat V2 5.1.4 Dolby Atmos set up with SVS PB2000 Sub
PeterLewis is online now  
post #23065 of 24140 Old 02-22-2016, 07:46 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Ronomy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 3,116
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 36 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by rdgrimes View Post
If you're using "Quick Start" standby mode, take this as a lesson, all you really needed was an "Energy Efficient" reboot.
There's a long list of bizarre issues solved by a hard reboot, and it's still growing. Sooner or later you'll see one with QS standby.
My player is set to energy efficiency and the color changes from 422 to RGB only on HDMI 2 out while it is turned off over night. It's still set to 422 but outputs RGB. In my case it might be best to leave it in quick start. LOL

I might leave it unplugged for a day and see if that fixes the color issue.

Ron
Ronomy is offline  
post #23066 of 24140 Old 02-23-2016, 07:40 AM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 29,514
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1471 Post(s)
Liked: 1530
^ The player powers up using RGB for the HDMI outputs and then switches to your selected choice as it proceeds through boot up.

Sounds like your HDMI 2 connection is not making the transition. There are two possibilities. You may have a problem with your Settings memory. That's not likely as that would typically show as the Setting changing IN THE MENU to RGB unexpectedly, not remaining at YCbCr 4:2:2 even though the output is RGB.

The more likely reason is that there is something screwy in your HDMI handshake on that path. The usual culprit here is power on sequencing. I.e., the HDMI handshake on the HDMI 2 path is happening before some device downstream from the OPPO is really ready to respond properly.

To test this, use the regular remotes for your devices (not some programmable remote that turns everything on together) and power up the devices in the reverse order of the signal flow. So for example: Power on Display. Wait. Power on AVR. Wait. Power on OPPO. (Adjust this list for your actual set of devices.)

If that cures the problem -- if you get YCbCr 4:2:2 reliably doing power up manually in this fashion -- then there are possibly settings in your programmable remote to set the order in which devices power up, and to add delay between each device during power up. The best order, as just mentioned is to power things up in the reverse order of the signal flow, and to leave enough time between each device to let them boot up fully.
--Bob

Anthem D2/D2v/AVM50/AVM50v/ARC1 tweaking guide. -- Need personal consultation/training? PM me!
Bob Pariseau is offline  
post #23067 of 24140 Old 02-23-2016, 04:56 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Ronomy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 3,116
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 36 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Pariseau View Post
^ The player powers up using RGB for the HDMI outputs and then switches to your selected choice as it proceeds through boot up.

Sounds like your HDMI 2 connection is not making the transition. There are two possibilities. You may have a problem with your Settings memory. That's not likely as that would typically show as the Setting changing IN THE MENU to RGB unexpectedly, not remaining at YCbCr 4:2:2 even though the output is RGB.

The more likely reason is that there is something screwy in your HDMI handshake on that path. The usual culprit here is power on sequencing. I.e., the HDMI handshake on the HDMI 2 path is happening before some device downstream from the OPPO is really ready to respond properly.

To test this, use the regular remotes for your devices (not some programmable remote that turns everything on together) and power up the devices in the reverse order of the signal flow. So for example: Power on Display. Wait. Power on AVR. Wait. Power on OPPO. (Adjust this list for your actual set of devices.)

If that cures the problem -- if you get YCbCr 4:2:2 reliably doing power up manually in this fashion -- then there are possibly settings in your programmable remote to set the order in which devices power up, and to add delay between each device during power up. The best order, as just mentioned is to power things up in the reverse order of the signal flow, and to leave enough time between each device to let them boot up fully.
--Bob
Thanks Bob! I do have that on my list of things to try. I use a Logitech Harmony Hitb with ultimate remote so I can program the order that everything powers up and add delay if need be. I had added the Oppo to the activity my old Pioneer 51FD was using and then deleted the Pioneer. So the step to add the oppo 103 probably put the oppo at the end of the list... But it could have also put it right at the beginning too. I need to look at that sequence when I get the chance. I will report if I discover a fix. Although I am pretty sure HDMI 1 did not do this and I was using the very same signal path. I have the ability to turn on hot plug on my DVDO Duo VP too. That might help if it's a handshake issue on bootup.

I have powered off the oppo and back on and it was fine...but when turned off over night it ends up RGB. If it's power up sequence issues that might explain it. Powering down and back up the oppo my VP is already turned on. So it could be power up sequence when turned on and everything else is turned off. All guesses until I try changing the settings.

Ron

Update: I changed the order of power up. My VP turns on before my Oppo and it appears to have fixed the RGB issue. The oppo was turning on before the VP so like you said it stayed in RGB mode. All appears to be well now. I have good lipsync too!

Last edited by Ronomy; 02-23-2016 at 09:33 PM.
Ronomy is offline  
post #23068 of 24140 Old 02-24-2016, 05:14 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Ronomy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 3,116
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 36 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Has anybody tried the MHL Roku stick with the 103? For some reason my stick is only streaming 720p. It's set to 1080p display. Interstellar on Hulu is in 1080p. Plays in 1080p on my Apple TV but only in 720p on the roku stick. Am I missing a setting somewhere? WiFi is strong near 100%. Bought the stick from Oppo at a reduced price. It's the 3400X Roku stick.

Ron
Ronomy is offline  
post #23069 of 24140 Old 02-24-2016, 06:08 PM
AVS Special Member
 
JohnAV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 8,232
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 263 Post(s)
Liked: 346
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ronomy View Post
Has anybody tried the MHL Roku stick with the 103? For some reason my stick is only streaming 720p. It's set to 1080p display. Interstellar on Hulu is in 1080p. Plays in 1080p on my Apple TV but only in 720p on the roku stick. Am I missing a setting somewhere? WiFi is strong near 100%. Bought the stick from Oppo at a reduced price. It's the 3400X Roku stick.

Ron
its a recent update from Ruku that caused that. Before it was outputting 1080p.

Oppo Beta Group
JohnAV is online now  
post #23070 of 24140 Old 02-24-2016, 07:01 PM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 29,514
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1471 Post(s)
Liked: 1530
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ronomy View Post
. . . .
Update: I changed the order of power up. My VP turns on before my Oppo and it appears to have fixed the RGB issue. The oppo was turning on before the VP so like you said it stayed in RGB mode. All appears to be well now. I have good lipsync too!
Suddenly! As if by Logic!

--Bob

Anthem D2/D2v/AVM50/AVM50v/ARC1 tweaking guide. -- Need personal consultation/training? PM me!
Bob Pariseau is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Blu-ray Players

Tags
Oppo Bdp 103 3d Blu Ray Player , Oppo Bdp 105 Blu Ray Player , Oppo Bdp 93 Blu Ray Player , Oppo Digital Inc

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off