Official OPPO BDP-103 Owner's Thread - Page 784 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!



Forum Jump: 
 749Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #23491 of 23880 Old 06-08-2016, 03:41 AM
One-Man Content Creator
 
wmcclain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 20,269
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1965 Post(s)
Liked: 889
Quote:
Originally Posted by marine92104 View Post
When playing MKV files thru the Oppo from an external hard drive I'm not getting the same level of detail as I do when playing a Blu-ray.
They look the same to me.

How are your MKVs prepared? Do you have some other playback device to test them on?

-Bill

Review older films here: 1979 and earlier | 1980s | 1990s | Combined reviews: Strange Picture Scroll
Unofficial OPPO FAQS: BDP-103 | BDP-93 | BDP-83 | BDP-80    
wmcclain is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #23492 of 23880 Old 06-08-2016, 06:24 AM
Advanced Member
 
marine92104's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 520
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 87 Post(s)
Liked: 51
Quote:
Originally Posted by Andrey Gorodnov View Post
darbee effect is an additional filter that alters the image, it works up to 1080p and does not get scaled to 4k..
Are you sure on that one?

I'm playing 1080p Blu-rays & using the Oppo to upscale to 4k & there is definitely a difference when I turn the Darbee on at 35%. More detail & it's a noticeable difference.
marine92104 is offline  
post #23493 of 23880 Old 06-08-2016, 06:27 AM
Advanced Member
 
marine92104's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 520
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 87 Post(s)
Liked: 51
Quote:
Originally Posted by wmcclain View Post
They look the same to me.

How are your MKVs prepared? Do you have some other playback device to test them on?

-Bill
I use DVDfab with MKV passthrough.

I use an external hard drive to the Oppo 103D & then upscale to 4K with Darbee set at 35% going directly to my LG G6 OLED.

I have the color space set to 4:2:2 which is the same as when I play an original Blu-ray disc thru my Oppo.

The original Blu-ray looks originally better than the MKV.
marine92104 is offline  
post #23494 of 23880 Old 06-08-2016, 06:36 AM
One-Man Content Creator
 
wmcclain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 20,269
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1965 Post(s)
Liked: 889
Quote:
Originally Posted by marine92104 View Post
I use DVDfab with MKV passthrough.

I use an external hard drive to the Oppo 103D & then upscale to 4K with Darbee set at 35% going directly to my LG G6 OLED.

I have the color space set to 4:2:2 which is the same as when I play an original Blu-ray disc thru my Oppo.

The original Blu-ray looks originally better than the MKV.
That's mysterious. There shouldn't be any difference.

-Bill

Review older films here: 1979 and earlier | 1980s | 1990s | Combined reviews: Strange Picture Scroll
Unofficial OPPO FAQS: BDP-103 | BDP-93 | BDP-83 | BDP-80    
wmcclain is online now  
post #23495 of 23880 Old 06-08-2016, 07:29 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 93
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 45 Post(s)
Liked: 5
Quote:
Originally Posted by marine92104 View Post
Are you sure on that one?

I'm playing 1080p Blu-rays & using the Oppo to upscale to 4k & there is definitely a difference when I turn the Darbee on at 35%. More detail & it's a noticeable difference.
check Darbee Mode on page 59 of Oppo manual, http://download.oppodigital.com/BDP1...glish_v1.1.pdf

pretty sure, there's no mode for post 4k-upscaled processing, all image processing happens up to specified mode (1080p max) then upscaled from there.. pay attention to fast moving scenes when darbee is on, you may see some distortion at contrasting lines - this is due to processing effect, the difference will be more evident when that distortion is upscaled.
as far as for mkv/iso playback - check your encoder for settings, how large is the file? anything less than a size on a disk is considered compressed. anything compressed will differ from original, the difference may not be that noticeable, but may get more after additional image processing, like darbee effect, is applied on top of it

Dolby Atmos 7.2.4 setup powered by Yamaha RX-A3050 and Emotiva XPA-3; Fronts: 2 x Ascend Acoustics Sierra Towers with RAAL, satin espresso; Center: 1 x Ascend Acoustics Sierra Horizon with RAAL, satin espresso; Surrounds: 4 x Ascend Acoustics Sierra-2s with RAAL, satin espresso, on 27" Skylan stands; Subs: 2 x Rythmik Audio FV15HP, piano black; Ceiling: 4 x Tannoy AMS 6DC, black; TV: LG OLED65E6P; Players: OPPO-103D and UBD-K8500
Andrey Gorodnov is offline  
post #23496 of 23880 Old 06-08-2016, 08:04 AM
AVS Special Member
 
lujan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 4,522
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1308 Post(s)
Liked: 409
Quote:
Originally Posted by IceTBC View Post
Been awhile since I've posted here or asked a question regarding my 103. Guess that means it's working well for me. However I just replaced my old Roku streaming stick which I purchased from Oppo with the new 3600R model (2016). Both plug into the front panel of the 103. The problem I'm having is my remote (a universal remote with the Oppo commands programmed in) no longer controls the Roku menu in the new 3600R like it did with the older stick. Only way I can control the Roku menu is to use the supplied Roku remote. I can easily program the commands into my universal remote but it would be so much easier if it worked like the old stick and used the Oppo remote commands.

Does anyone know if Oppo plans to or is even able to offer a fix for this so the new stick accepts Oppo commands like the old one? Or am I missing something in the set up of my new Roku remote which required me to "sync" it to my stick before it would function?

I've tried Google searches looking for any sort of info on this as well as searched on the Roku site and didn't turn up any info that would help me. Thanks in advance.
I have the Roku stick (MHL) that works with Oppo commands and would happily trade for the HDMI stick if anyone wants to trade.

lujan
83 Ultra HD
833 HD
19 HD DVD
7 SD
lujan is online now  
post #23497 of 23880 Old 06-08-2016, 08:17 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
rdgrimes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Nuevo Mexico
Posts: 18,200
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1395 Post(s)
Liked: 680
Quote:
Originally Posted by marine92104 View Post
Just trying to figure out why the MKV files don't look the same using the same settings I'm getting an unbelievable picture on the original Blu-ray.
There are a few unknowns here, but its safe to say that if the MKV and BD sources are identical content, the player outputs identical images.
That assumes you use the Darbee setting for both, same input in the display, so on and so forth.

I'd start by verifying that the MKV is a true "pass-through" creation from the same BD you are comparing it to.
rdgrimes is offline  
post #23498 of 23880 Old 06-08-2016, 09:07 AM
Advanced Member
 
IceTBC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: California
Posts: 528
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by LairdWilliams View Post
The streaming stick never received "Oppo Commands." While this sounds trite and a bit patronizing - it really is not - because the facts are less-than-intuitive.

What the streaming stick received were MHL "remote-control simulation" commands. The MHL spec includes a provision for a host device (one with a MHL port) to forward an abstract set of common remote-control commands to a MHL-compliant device (the old streaming stick in this case). The problem is that the new streaming stick is NOT MHL compliant. So - even if the Oppo "WANTED" to send remote commands to the stick, it would not make a difference.

So no - Oppo can't fix the BDPs for this. Roku needs to produce a new streaming stick that is MHL-compliant.

The other thing that a MHL-compliant port will do, FYI, is supply power to the device that is plugged into the port in sufficient quantity to do something non-trivial. So if your streaming device needs to plug into a USB port or wall-wart or something else to get power in addition to plugging into a host HDMI/MHL port, then it is most-probably NOT MHL-compliant. That would be an imperfect-but-effective heuristic.
Thank you for the reply. Your explanation makes sense. The new stick does require a dongle from it to the front USB port for power in order for it to operate so that also ties in with your explanation. I guess I'll have to decide if I want to keep this new stick or return it and continue using the old MHL compliant stick. The new stick is much more responsive in the menu but that may not be enough to warrant the headache of having another set of commands on my universal remote that I have to switch to in order to use it. Thanks again.
IceTBC is offline  
post #23499 of 23880 Old 06-08-2016, 09:11 AM
Advanced Member
 
IceTBC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: California
Posts: 528
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by htwaits View Post
How about contacting Roku support.
I might try that but based on what LairdWilliams explained they likely won't have a current solution to this and frankly I doubt if they will come out with a new model properly supporting MHL specs any time soon. Still might be worth my contacting them though.
IceTBC is offline  
post #23500 of 23880 Old 06-08-2016, 03:33 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: US
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 3
Sorry folks noob questions. I searched w/o full luck or confidence.

I'm considering a 103 to connect to my Def Tech W Studio soundbar. Also considering Bluesound Node 2 and Aries Mini.

For Tidal (and maybe the other streaming services), I understand the Oppo app is needed as the controller, right? Meaning, I'm NOT able to navigate Tidal's catalog and select songs or albums via the TV monitor, similar to how Apple TV operates.

If 'yes, navigation/selection is only supported thru Oppo app', does the Tidal content/album art being played at least get displayed on the TV?

- Thanks in advance for any help!
BobNeil is offline  
post #23501 of 23880 Old 06-08-2016, 05:44 PM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 29,377
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1386 Post(s)
Liked: 1411
^ Tidal for the 10x players is only browsable through the OPPO MediaControl app (for iOS or Android). The user interface for browsing Tidal is built into the app, not into the player.

However, Tidal Album art shows BOTH in the app and on the TV screen. It is shown in the player's Now Playing view, same as happens with Album art when playing media file music content.

Furthermore, playback control within the current Tidal playlist (as established via browsing and selection in the app) CAN be done using the regular OPPO remote. So for example, you can do Pause/Play, Track Forward, and Track Back.

-------------------------------

The OTHER streaming services, such as Pandora, are built into the player. So for those, you browse using the player itself. Now the MediaControl app also doubles as a Remote for the player, so it may be convenient to use it that way when browsing, e.g., Pandora in the player.
--Bob

Anthem D2/D2v/AVM50/AVM50v/ARC1 tweaking guide. -- Need personal consultation/training? PM me!

Last edited by Bob Pariseau; 06-08-2016 at 05:47 PM.
Bob Pariseau is offline  
post #23502 of 23880 Old 06-08-2016, 06:14 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: US
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 3
Bob- thanks for the reply, makes sense! With Tidal, at least I'd get the album art (I thought that might (!) be the case) -and- playback control within current playlist (didn't expect). That would probably be sufficient for me.

But to be certain, even with Tidal the Oppo player (!) is doing the actual streaming work and the app is only doing the browsing, right?? Versus other products where the app (phone, tablet) does the streaming and casts it to the player, speakers, etc.

- Thanks!
BobNeil is offline  
post #23503 of 23880 Old 06-08-2016, 06:29 PM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 29,377
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1386 Post(s)
Liked: 1411
^ Correct. The playback environment for Tidal runs in the player.
--Bob

Anthem D2/D2v/AVM50/AVM50v/ARC1 tweaking guide. -- Need personal consultation/training? PM me!
Bob Pariseau is offline  
post #23504 of 23880 Old 06-08-2016, 06:35 PM
AVS Special Member
 
dmusoke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Bridgeport, CT
Posts: 2,760
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 225 Post(s)
Liked: 121
Quote:
Originally Posted by gilbois View Post
Hi there! Any .mkv experts out there see any differences in the two files I've posted a picture of? The one on the right plays fine on my OPPO BDP-103, the one on the left the OPPO claims is not supported. My firmware info is as follows:

Main Version: BDP10X-80-1031
Loader Version: 7B1400 8550 1400
Sub Version: MCU103-05-0916
Chip Version: 0C.00.01.00
NRD Version: NRD4.0.4
Maybe this is too late but ... I don't think Oppo supports the 5.1 level profile which the MKV file on the left is encoded with. That higher quality profile would require a much faster data-rate which the Oppo decided not to support. Stick to profile level 4.1 or 4.2 like the one on the right. I was performing some VP9 to m4p encoding and had set my profile to 5.x which refused to play in the Oppo. When i changed it to the standard 4.x, then all was golden.

- David

How to phase match subwoofers to the mains speakers: http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showt...0#post19542630
dmusoke is offline  
post #23505 of 23880 Old 06-08-2016, 06:50 PM
AVS Special Member
 
dmusoke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Bridgeport, CT
Posts: 2,760
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 225 Post(s)
Liked: 121
Anyone there want to tell me what the up-conversion quality to 4K is like on the Oppo-103/105 compared to pure 4K?

The reason i ask is that I recently downloaded "Start Trek Renegades" movie from you tube. The movie was encoded in VP9 (Googles HD codec) and the visual quality was nice on my laptop...I then converted it to mp4 maintaining the same resolution (1980 x 1980) and played it on my 105 and the visual quality was excellent on my Pioneer Kuro plasma TV. Halfway through the movie, I then decided to check the average video bit rate and it was anywhere from 5mbps to 6mpbs! This is DVD (maybe superbit?) video rate and far from the typical 18mpbs-30mpbs i get from my BD disks... and as many of you know, its DVD upconversion is superb on well mastered DVDs.

So my reasoning is since it does such a great job upconverting DVD bit rate material, how does it do on upconverting 1080p to 4K material? Is there such a drastic visual difference between upconverted 4K and true 4K? I sit about 12-13 ft from the TV...


- Thanks,
David

How to phase match subwoofers to the mains speakers: http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showt...0#post19542630

Last edited by dmusoke; 06-08-2016 at 06:53 PM.
dmusoke is offline  
post #23506 of 23880 Old 06-09-2016, 04:07 PM
Member
 
jvinhj240's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 135
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 14
anyone use Oppo 103 as a receiver? or it is a bad idea?
jvinhj240 is offline  
post #23507 of 23880 Old 06-09-2016, 04:32 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Mongo171's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Buffalo, NY
Posts: 3,040
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 727 Post(s)
Liked: 1191
I do that with my 105. Some amps won't work.
Mongo171 is online now  
post #23508 of 23880 Old 06-09-2016, 04:54 PM
Member
 
jvinhj240's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 135
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 14
do you think 103 can be same with 105?
jvinhj240 is offline  
post #23509 of 23880 Old 06-09-2016, 05:27 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Mongo171's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Buffalo, NY
Posts: 3,040
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 727 Post(s)
Liked: 1191
Quote:
Originally Posted by jvinhj240 View Post
do you think 103 can be same with 105?
Yes. But, the 103 doesn't have the DAC's that the 105 has.

"I am a Meat Popsicle." - Korben Dallas, "The Fifth Element"
Mongo171 is online now  
post #23510 of 23880 Old 06-09-2016, 05:33 PM
Member
 
jvinhj240's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 135
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Thanks, I will try it. DAC on 105 for music in general or whole sound different unit? I plan to watch movie only no music much.

What do you use to calibrate speakers if using oppo as preamp?
jvinhj240 is offline  
post #23511 of 23880 Old 06-09-2016, 05:38 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Mongo171's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Buffalo, NY
Posts: 3,040
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 727 Post(s)
Liked: 1191
Quote:
Originally Posted by jvinhj240 View Post
Thanks, I will try it. DAC on 105 for music in general or whole sound different unit? I plan to watch movie only no music much.

What do you use to calibrate speakers if using oppo as preamp?
105 has better DAC's for Analog Outs and Dedicated Stereo Out. Better sound just for Analog, not digital. Digital audio is the same, 103 and 105.

I use an SPL meter to calibrate my speakers. Will also be using REW once my xo's are reworked.

"I am a Meat Popsicle." - Korben Dallas, "The Fifth Element"
Mongo171 is online now  
post #23512 of 23880 Old 06-09-2016, 05:38 PM
Member
 
Danonano's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 89
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by jvinhj240 View Post
anyone use Oppo 103 as a receiver? or it is a bad idea?
I did for awhile. The 103, unlike the 105, actually lowers the bitrate as you attenuate the volume. (at least to my limited understanding) So anything short of full volume on the OPPO is at a lower 'quality' than at full volume. I'm not sure if you can hear the difference, but I appreciated the convenience of a full receiver once I had it.
Danonano is offline  
post #23513 of 23880 Old 06-09-2016, 05:41 PM
Member
 
poochpa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 48
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Any explanation for why, when playing an SACD on my BDP-103, the track listing info for the disc shows in the MediaControl app, but not on the tv screen? Seems like the player should be able to display a list of the disc's track titles on the tv screen, as it can display such info (and more) for the track currently playing.
Mike
poochpa is offline  
post #23514 of 23880 Old 06-09-2016, 07:02 PM
Member
 
jvinhj240's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 135
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mongo171 View Post
105 has better DAC's for Analog Outs and Dedicated Stereo Out. Better sound just for Analog, not digital. Digital audio is the same, 103 and 105.

I use an SPL meter to calibrate my speakers. Will also be using REW once my xo's are reworked.
Thanks do you know where I can find how to calibrate it? Like certain volume set on SPL for each speakers. does software needed?
jvinhj240 is offline  
post #23515 of 23880 Old 06-10-2016, 01:41 PM
Member
 
oolalajp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 34
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by IceTBC View Post
Been awhile since I've posted here or asked a question regarding my 103. Guess that means it's working well for me. However I just replaced my old Roku streaming stick which I purchased from Oppo with the new 3600R model (2016). Both plug into the front panel of the 103. The problem I'm having is my remote (a universal remote with the Oppo commands programmed in) no longer controls the Roku menu in the new 3600R like it did with the older stick. Only way I can control the Roku menu is to use the supplied Roku remote. I can easily program the commands into my universal remote but it would be so much easier if it worked like the old stick and used the Oppo remote commands.

Does anyone know if Oppo plans to or is even able to offer a fix for this so the new stick accepts Oppo commands like the old one? Or am I missing something in the set up of my new Roku remote which required me to "sync" it to my stick before it would function?

I've tried Google searches looking for any sort of info on this as well as searched on the Roku site and didn't turn up any info that would help me. Thanks in advance.
a little off topic, but how do you find that new roku 3600R stick with your 103? i'm assuming it could be used similarly if not exactly the same with the 105D, too.?.
oolalajp is offline  
post #23516 of 23880 Old 06-10-2016, 04:28 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Mongo171's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Buffalo, NY
Posts: 3,040
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 727 Post(s)
Liked: 1191
Quote:
Originally Posted by jvinhj240 View Post
Thanks do you know where I can find how to calibrate it? Like certain volume set on SPL for each speakers. does software needed?
I use the internal Test Tones and set the speakers to 75dB with a Radio Shack digital SPL meter.
jvinhj240 likes this.

"I am a Meat Popsicle." - Korben Dallas, "The Fifth Element"
Mongo171 is online now  
post #23517 of 23880 Old 06-10-2016, 04:37 PM
AVS Special Member
 
kucharsk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Louisville, CO
Posts: 5,677
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1117 Post(s)
Liked: 611
Would any of you 103 owners recommend someone purchase one now?

I'm getting my Dad his first 3D/4K TV, and I just want to get him a solid, reliable player rather than the display-less crud from the majors that weigh less than a blu-ray disc and get pulled off the shelf by the weight of their HDMI cables.

The 103 is a bit pricy but I'd be willing to pay a bit extra for something good.

Thanks in advance (I have a 105 myself but needed the analog outs.)
kucharsk is online now  
post #23518 of 23880 Old 06-10-2016, 07:49 PM
Member
 
gonzlobo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 91
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 30 Post(s)
Liked: 28
Quote:
Originally Posted by kucharsk View Post
Would any of you 103 owners recommend someone purchase one now?

I'm getting my Dad his first 3D/4K TV, and I just want to get him a solid, reliable player rather than the display-less crud from the majors that weigh less than a blu-ray disc and get pulled off the shelf by the weight of their HDMI cables.

The 103 is a bit pricy but I'd be willing to pay a bit extra for something good.

Thanks in advance (I have a 105 myself but needed the analog outs.)
If I was buying now, I'd hold off for Oppo's next product. If I was looking 2 years ago - when I purchased - I'd buy.

Denon A3200W
B&W 683s1/685s1/HTM61s1 (FL/FR/SL/SR/C), Klipsch RP-140SA (Atmos)
Paradigm DSP-3100 v2 (Sub)
Oppo 103 / Roku3
Panasonic TC-P60ST50
gonzlobo is online now  
post #23519 of 23880 Old 06-10-2016, 08:11 PM
AVS Special Member
 
kucharsk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Louisville, CO
Posts: 5,677
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1117 Post(s)
Liked: 611
Quote:
Originally Posted by gonzlobo View Post
If I was buying now, I'd hold off for Oppo's next product. If I was looking 2 years ago - when I purchased - I'd buy.
He doesn't care about UHD/4K though, so it seems silly to wait as I suspect Oppo's follow-ons won't be able to beat the current price point of the BDP-103, as high as it is compared to the plastic BD players out now.
kucharsk is online now  
post #23520 of 23880 Old 06-10-2016, 08:16 PM
Member
 
gonzlobo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 91
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 30 Post(s)
Liked: 28
Quote:
Originally Posted by kucharsk View Post
He doesn't care about UHD/4K though, so it seems silly to wait as I suspect Oppo's follow-ons won't be able to beat the current price point of the BDP-103, as high as it is compared to the plastic BD players out now.
Sounds like the perfect June 2016 Oppo 103 customer. I don't know if Oppo discounts much, but most companies do when they issue new products. If *I* was in the market, I'd wait.

Denon A3200W
B&W 683s1/685s1/HTM61s1 (FL/FR/SL/SR/C), Klipsch RP-140SA (Atmos)
Paradigm DSP-3100 v2 (Sub)
Oppo 103 / Roku3
Panasonic TC-P60ST50
gonzlobo is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Blu-ray Players

Tags
Oppo Bdp 103 3d Blu Ray Player , Oppo Bdp 105 Blu Ray Player , Oppo Bdp 93 Blu Ray Player , Oppo Digital Inc



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off