Official OPPO BDP-103 Owner's Thread - Page 787 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 862Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #23581 of 24436 Old 07-05-2016, 07:39 AM
Senior Member
 
Viper187's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 321
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 50 Post(s)
Liked: 16
So is the region chip from JVB Digital still the best one for the 103?
Viper187 is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #23582 of 24436 Old 07-05-2016, 07:51 AM
Newbie
 
RetroRick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Pariseau View Post
Complaints to ROKU please.

Pulling a feature like this without even acknowledging it on ROKU's support pages is pretty dumb, but there you have it.

--Bob
Thanks, Bob. That says it all to me.
So do you know of a good alternative for me other than upgrading to a newer Roku stick?
My first inclination is definitely NOT to reward their behavior with another purchase.
--Rick

BTW, I contacted Roku about this issue, and a guy named Riswan from customer support wrote back that probably my internet speed wasn't fast enough, so it automatically downgraded to 720p. That made me angry to begin with, since my question clearly showed enough knowledge to know that this was not the case and I was intelligent enough to know to rule that out. But now learning this was something that has already been brought to their attention, I'm even more angry with them.

Last edited by RetroRick; 07-05-2016 at 07:55 AM. Reason: Additional thought...
RetroRick is offline  
post #23583 of 24436 Old 07-05-2016, 08:12 AM
Senior Member
 
bigdogaxis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: The Woodlands
Posts: 368
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 128 Post(s)
Liked: 90
VUDU did something similar, removing 7 channel audio HDX movies in favor of the UHD format. I see the writing on the wall, so I am back to buying shiny discs.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

My equipment: JVC RS-55, SI Performance 120" 1.3 gain, OPPO BDP-105, ANTHEM MRX-1120, Roomie-iPad, QNAP 469L NAS, ROKU 4, ATV, DTV HR34-500, PS3, XBOX 360. ML Source (F), Matinee (C), MotionFX (S), Motion4 (.4), (2) Depth-i subs. M/ASlim5 Rack, CalMAN 5 Enthusiast/C6 meter.
bigdogaxis is offline  
 
post #23584 of 24436 Old 07-05-2016, 08:25 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
hernanu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Boston Suburbs
Posts: 3,685
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 593 Post(s)
Liked: 1073
Quote:
Originally Posted by bigdogaxis View Post
VUDU did something similar, removing 7 channel audio HDX movies in favor of the UHD format. I see the writing on the wall, so I am back to buying shiny discs.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Haven't seen that in VUDU. Will have to double check at home, but just checked "Pirates of the Caribbean Stranger tides" and it's at 7.1 for HDX.

Some of the UHD titles are coming in with lossy Dolby Atmos. So far, VUDU has been good for me, obviously if it changes, so will my viewing habits, but I don't see it.
hernanu is offline  
post #23585 of 24436 Old 07-05-2016, 08:28 AM
Newbie
 
mjay71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Pariseau View Post
^ No idea on where to find meaningful HDMI jitter info.

Keep in mind that SACD's use of DSD digital audio format has substantial built in noise above 50kHz (an artifact of quantization "Noise Shaping" which has nothing to do with the quality of the gear used or the quality taken in the recording and mastering process). When using 88kHz digital output, that's automatically suppressed by Nyquist theory. When using the player's built in DACs for direct conversion of DSD to Analog, a 50kHz filter is built into the conversion.
I
But if you convert SACD DSD to 176kHz LPCM and send that to a DAC that has no clue it came from an SACD, that filtering is likely not present in the conversion. This noise is almost certainly too high up to detect by even golden ears, but it is not good for downstream equipment. In essence, the portion of the signal frequencies in 176kHz above what 88kHz carries is not something you really want to preserve when playing SACD.

Which means, if you are wondering whether the external DAC is better than the OPPO DAC for SACD, it's safer to compare 88kHz from SACD through it unless you know it was specifically designed to include the 50kHz filter.
--Bob
If I am understanding this correctly, applying dithering only without noise shaping to a conversion would not push noise into the higher frequencies, and therefore be a safer alternative for high frequency conversions?
mjay71 is offline  
post #23586 of 24436 Old 07-05-2016, 08:30 AM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 30,786
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2366 Post(s)
Liked: 2969
^ The noise is built into the content on the disc. Without "Noise Shaping" in the recording process, the noise actually appears in the audible frequencies. That's why Noise Shaping is applied. It pushes the noise up to inaudible frequencies, at the expense of making the noise (now moved up there) even worse.
--Bob

Anthem D2/D2v/AVM50/AVM50v/ARC1 tweaking guide. -- Need personal consultation/training? PM me!
Bob Pariseau is online now  
post #23587 of 24436 Old 07-05-2016, 09:19 AM
Newbie
 
mjay71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Pariseau View Post
^ The noise is built into the content on the disc. Without "Noise Shaping" in the recording process, the noise actually appears in the audible frequencies. That's why Noise Shaping is applied. It pushes the noise up to inaudible frequencies, at the expense of making the noise (now moved up there) even worse.
--Bob
With dithering, Is the noise that remains in the audible (and inaudible) frequencies safe for equipment, or still potentially harmful the way the high-frequency noise is with noise-shaping?
mjay71 is offline  
post #23588 of 24436 Old 07-05-2016, 09:40 AM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 30,786
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2366 Post(s)
Liked: 2969
^ I don't know.
--Bob

Anthem D2/D2v/AVM50/AVM50v/ARC1 tweaking guide. -- Need personal consultation/training? PM me!
Bob Pariseau is online now  
post #23589 of 24436 Old 07-05-2016, 10:52 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
fmalczewski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 1,156
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 102 Post(s)
Liked: 39
Quote:
Originally Posted by Viper187 View Post
So is the region chip from JVB Digital still the best one for the 103?
Check ebay via Oppo bdp-103 105 USB Region Hardware Kit for the one I suggest. (Save your money, it works fine.)
gossamer88 likes this.
fmalczewski is offline  
post #23590 of 24436 Old 07-05-2016, 12:25 PM
Senior Member
 
bigdogaxis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: The Woodlands
Posts: 368
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 128 Post(s)
Liked: 90
Quote:
Originally Posted by hernanu View Post
Haven't seen that in VUDU. Will have to double check at home, but just checked "Pirates of the Caribbean Stranger tides" and it's at 7.1 for HDX.

Some of the UHD titles are coming in with lossy Dolby Atmos. So far, VUDU has been good for me, obviously if it changes, so will my viewing habits, but I don't see it.

I should restate, VUDU removed the 7.1 collection in favor of UHD collection. I have the POTC collection on 7.1 discs.

On quick glance, currently VUDU offers only POTC On Stranger Tides in 7.1, other POTC titles are 5.1 DD.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

My equipment: JVC RS-55, SI Performance 120" 1.3 gain, OPPO BDP-105, ANTHEM MRX-1120, Roomie-iPad, QNAP 469L NAS, ROKU 4, ATV, DTV HR34-500, PS3, XBOX 360. ML Source (F), Matinee (C), MotionFX (S), Motion4 (.4), (2) Depth-i subs. M/ASlim5 Rack, CalMAN 5 Enthusiast/C6 meter.
bigdogaxis is offline  
post #23591 of 24436 Old 07-05-2016, 12:50 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
hernanu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Boston Suburbs
Posts: 3,685
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 593 Post(s)
Liked: 1073
Quote:
Originally Posted by bigdogaxis View Post
I should restate, VUDU removed the 7.1 collection in favor of UHD collection. I have the POTC collection on 7.1 discs.

On quick glance, currently VUDU offers only POTC On Stranger Tides in 7.1, other POTC titles are 5.1 DD.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
That's the case on Bluray also.

Black Pearl - DD 5.1
Dead Man's Chest - DD 5.1
World's End - DD 5.1
Stranger Tides - DTS-HD-MA 7.1

At least in this case, VUDU reflects the blurays (no lossless, obviously).
hernanu is offline  
post #23592 of 24436 Old 07-05-2016, 09:07 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
rdgrimes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Nuevo Mexico
Posts: 19,115
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2023 Post(s)
Liked: 1356
Quote:
Originally Posted by mjay71 View Post
With dithering, Is the noise that remains in the audible (and inaudible) frequencies safe for equipment, or still potentially harmful the way the high-frequency noise is with noise-shaping?
AFAIK, any UHF noise is potentially damaging to tweeters with the usual caveats of level and duration.
rdgrimes is online now  
post #23593 of 24436 Old 07-05-2016, 09:15 PM
Member
 
Oubadah's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 172
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Is the reported bit rate (visible via the info button) for video or video+audio?

Quote:
Originally Posted by gossamer88 View Post
I personally have never used the YouTube app on the Oppo. Maybe not the answer you want, but I prefer the Chromecast for YouTube. It is super easy. Search and playing from your computer/tablet is a hellava lot easier IMO. My 2¢...
You can do that with the Oppo (pair the mobile device, search and play from that device via the Oppo). Well, theoretically at least. In my experience, this was another area of incompetency in the 103, and it would frequently hang when trying to cast youtube videos. I haven't tried it in a while, though.

Last edited by Oubadah; 07-05-2016 at 09:19 PM.
Oubadah is offline  
post #23594 of 24436 Old 07-05-2016, 10:59 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by wmcclain View Post
What are the issues?

Are you accessing these files via DLNA or SMB?

Do you have USB drive you can connect directly to the OPPO? Do the files play ok in that case?

-Bill
Hey Bob

The playback will pause for few seconds and resumes. This happens very frequently particularly while playing large media files over 10 GB. When I copy the same into a USB Drive, I dont have that issue. Plz help
AKKS is offline  
post #23595 of 24436 Old 07-05-2016, 11:03 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
fmalczewski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 1,156
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 102 Post(s)
Liked: 39
Quote:
Originally Posted by hernanu View Post
That's the case on Bluray also.

Black Pearl - DD 5.1
Dead Man's Chest - DD 5.1
World's End - DD 5.1
Stranger Tides - DTS-HD-MA 7.1

At least in this case, VUDU reflects the blurays (no lossless, obviously).
Actually the early POTC blu-rays are LPCM 5.1 so quite lossless. (48kHz, 24-bit; the DD is only 640 kbps)
fmalczewski is offline  
post #23596 of 24436 Old 07-06-2016, 09:44 AM
One-Man Content Creator
 
wmcclain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 21,498
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2731 Post(s)
Liked: 1955
Quote:
Originally Posted by AKKS View Post
Hey Bob

The playback will pause for few seconds and resumes. This happens very frequently particularly while playing large media files over 10 GB. When I copy the same into a USB Drive, I dont have that issue. Plz help
That could be a network issue, or perhaps the server itself is stalling from resource contention, buffering or some other process running.

Do you have a choice between SMB and DLNA? What happens when you switch to the other?

Do you have any other way to test these files over the same network?

-Bill

Review older films here: 1979 and earlier | 1980s | 1990s | Combined reviews: Strange Picture Scroll
Unofficial OPPO FAQS: UDP-203 | BDP-103 | BDP-93 | BDP-83 | BDP-80    
wmcclain is online now  
post #23597 of 24436 Old 07-06-2016, 10:45 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
hernanu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Boston Suburbs
Posts: 3,685
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 593 Post(s)
Liked: 1073
Quote:
Originally Posted by fmalczewski View Post
Actually the early POTC blu-rays are LPCM 5.1 so quite lossless. (48kHz, 24-bit; the DD is only 640 kbps)
You're right, but I was talking about the VUDU version. Should have made that clearer.
hernanu is offline  
post #23598 of 24436 Old 07-06-2016, 02:30 PM
Newbie
 
apbarson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Is there any benefit to using a BDP-103D over a standard BDP-103 along with a darbee darblet?

Does the oppo offer better video processing than the darblet, or is it the same? It will be connected through a Denon X6200 receiver to my tv.

I like the idea of using the darblet to process all video sources by connecting it to the output of the receiver, however I would buy the 103D if is better.
apbarson is offline  
post #23599 of 24436 Old 07-06-2016, 02:35 PM
One-Man Content Creator
 
wmcclain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 21,498
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2731 Post(s)
Liked: 1955
Quote:
Originally Posted by apbarson View Post
Is there any benefit to using a BDP-103D over a standard BDP-103 along with a darbee darblet?

Does the oppo offer better video processing than the darblet, or is it the same? It will be connected through a Denon X6200 receiver to my tv.

I like the idea of using the darblet to process all video sources by connecting it to the output of the receiver, however I would buy the 103D if is better.
The video results will be the same. You can route HDMI inputs through the OPPO, which is another option.

-Bill

Review older films here: 1979 and earlier | 1980s | 1990s | Combined reviews: Strange Picture Scroll
Unofficial OPPO FAQS: UDP-203 | BDP-103 | BDP-93 | BDP-83 | BDP-80    
wmcclain is online now  
post #23600 of 24436 Old 07-06-2016, 03:28 PM
Senior Member
 
LarryMagoo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Brentwood, Northern California
Posts: 216
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 151 Post(s)
Liked: 57
Just FYI....I was told by Oppo that they are coming to market with a UHD player at the beginning of 2017....I thought I had bought my last Disc player (BD105)...but from what I know....apparently not yet...Love Oppo though...also use their HeadPhone /DAC Amp!

Sony XBR75X940D | Marantz AV8801 | SunFire Cinema Grand 5-Chan. | 5.2 system w/ 5 Monitor Audio Gold 2 Velodyne HGS 12's | Oppo BDP 105 | MAC Mini for Streaming, View on the XBR | Harmony Ultimate Remote | DDRC-88A| Comcast Internet 90Mb's | 2 Dedicated 20 AMP circuits. | Apple TV4 | Cans: Sennheiser HD 650 + Sennheiser HD 800S | Oppo HA-1 DAC/HEADPHONE AMP |
LarryMagoo is offline  
post #23601 of 24436 Old 07-06-2016, 04:51 PM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 30,786
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2366 Post(s)
Liked: 2969
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Pariseau View Post
Complaints to ROKU please.

Your findings are correct. ROKU pushed out firmware some months back which eliminated 1080p output from this generation of ROKU hardware. There's never been any explanation from ROKU, and repeated complaints from multiple users have produced no resolution.

The way it appears to have gone down is this: This generation of ROKU hardware is incapable of 1080p/60 output. What you were seeing before was 1080p/24. If the content was available for streaming from ROKU at 1080p/24 (basically, if you were watching a movie), then with 1080p enabled in its settings, you got 1080p/24 streaming into the ROKU and 1080p/24 output to the OPPO. (Depending on your settings in the OPPO, that might be sent to your TV as 1080p/24 or 1080p/60, or whatever you selected for output resolution.)

If the content was NOT available for streaming at 1080p/24. The best you could get was 720p/60.

But with the new ROKU firmware, 1080p/24 content, and thus 1080p/24 output, went away.

It appears that the NEWER ROKU hardware is incapable of 1080p/24 output. Instead, it streams and outputs 1080p/60. Evidently ROKU wanted to use the same firmware for both the older and newer hardware, and the upshot is that there is still a 1080p setting for the generation of stick you have, but no 1080p/24 content to stream! At a guess, they pulled 1080p/24 content from their servers since the newer hardware made no use of it.

With no 1080p/24 content to stream, the stick you have streams 720p/60 content from ROKU's servers, and since the stick has no ability to scale that or change the frame rate, 720p/60 is what you get for output. I.e., the only way to get different resolution or frame rate out of that stick is for it to stream the desired resolution or frame rate as input from the ROKU servers.

Pulling a feature like this without even acknowledging it on ROKU's support pages is pretty dumb, but there you have it.

Again, this is something ROKU did, and it has been that way for months now. OPPO has no way to fix it on their own. As with all the Internet streaming services, the service provider is in control of what they stream. So far, I've seen no posts that anyone has gotten an explanation or apology from ROKU nor any sort of promise that they are "looking at fixing it".
--Bob
***** This Bug Appears to be Fixed! *****

ROKU today pushed new software to the MHL version ROKU Streaming Stick. The new software is Version 7.2.0, Build 4100.

I just tested, and the MHL version ROKU Streaming Stick, running that software, is once again able to send 1080p/24 to the OPPO.

Huzzah!
--Bob
htwaits, Keenan, GreySkies and 1 others like this.

Anthem D2/D2v/AVM50/AVM50v/ARC1 tweaking guide. -- Need personal consultation/training? PM me!
Bob Pariseau is online now  
post #23602 of 24436 Old 07-06-2016, 07:33 PM
Coyote Waits
 
htwaits's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Palo Alto, CA
Posts: 26,991
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 924 Post(s)
Liked: 2042
Quote:
Originally Posted by LarryMagoo View Post
Just FYI....I was told by Oppo that they are coming to market with a UHD player at the beginning of 2017....I thought I had bought my last Disc player (BD105)...but from what I know....apparently not yet...Love Oppo though...also use their Headphone /DAC Amp!
My family used to visit my Grandparents in Brentwood back in the late thirties and the forties. I don't think there was anyone like your avatar within many many miles of Brentwood.

Maybe she is the granddaughter of my first girl friend (we were both five years old at the time) who I hung out with in Brentwood.
Simm and lairpost like this.

Last edited by htwaits; 07-06-2016 at 07:39 PM.
htwaits is offline  
post #23603 of 24436 Old 07-06-2016, 08:40 PM
Member
 
Oubadah's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 172
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by fmalczewski View Post
Check ebay via Oppo bdp-103 105 USB Region Hardware Kit for the one I suggest. (Save your money, it works fine.)
Do you have the instructions for internal installation. I'm thinking of getting that kit, but I want to see the procedure first. I can't seem to find instructions, photos or a video anywhere.
Oubadah is offline  
post #23604 of 24436 Old 07-07-2016, 01:00 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
fmalczewski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 1,156
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 102 Post(s)
Liked: 39
Quote:
Originally Posted by Oubadah View Post
Do you have the instructions for internal installation. I'm thinking of getting that kit, but I want to see the procedure first. I can't seem to find instructions, photos or a video anywhere.
This can easily be installed externally also (which is how I have it on both machines). But I do have instructions (my recollection is it's fairly straightforward, but I've not done it myself). I'll see if I can send them to you in a pm.

Edit: Didn't see a way to include PDF file in a pm. PM me with your email address and I can send you a copy. (If you already ordered it, the seller should be sending you the PDF shortly.)

Last edited by fmalczewski; 07-07-2016 at 01:07 AM.
fmalczewski is offline  
post #23605 of 24436 Old 07-10-2016, 01:53 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by wmcclain View Post
That could be a network issue, or perhaps the server itself is stalling from resource contention, buffering or some other process running.

Do you have a choice between SMB and DLNA? What happens when you switch to the other?

Do you have any other way to test these files over the same network?

-Bill
Hey Bill

I access the files using the network menu on the home page of Oppo. I really donot know if it is DLNA or SMB? Where do I check that? Please help me here

AKKS
AKKS is offline  
post #23606 of 24436 Old 07-10-2016, 01:54 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by wmcclain View Post
That could be a network issue, or perhaps the server itself is stalling from resource contention, buffering or some other process running.

Do you have a choice between SMB and DLNA? What happens when you switch to the other?

Do you have any other way to test these files over the same network?

-Bill
Hey Bill

I access the files using the network menu on the home page of Oppo. I really donot know if it is DLNA or SMB? Where do I check that? Please help me here

AKKS
AKKS is offline  
post #23607 of 24436 Old 07-10-2016, 02:49 AM
Member
 
Oubadah's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 172
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by AKKS View Post
Hey Bill

I access the files using the network menu on the home page of Oppo. I really donot know if it is DLNA or SMB? Where do I check that? Please help me here

AKKS
I don't know if the Western Digital My Cloud has a DLNA server feature built into it, but DLNA and SMB sources all appear in the same list on the Oppo. if it's SMB, it will have the following generic icon next to it:



If it's DLNA, it'll have a different icon, probably a custom WD one in this case.
Oubadah is offline  
post #23608 of 24436 Old 07-10-2016, 09:00 AM
Newbie
 
RetroRick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Pariseau View Post
***** This Bug Appears to be Fixed! *****

ROKU today pushed new software to the MHL version ROKU Streaming Stick. The new software is Version 7.2.0, Build 4100.

I just tested, and the MHL version ROKU Streaming Stick, running that software, is once again able to send 1080p/24 to the OPPO.

Huzzah!
--Bob
Yeah. That figures... virtually simultaneous with me paying them $60 for the current generation ROKU stick. Well, guess I get 1080p/60.
And when I complained about the bug, first their outsourced customer service told me to check my internet speed. (No, YOU are the problem ROKU.)
When I explained that was not the problem, their second response was that they don't recommend connecting the stick through another device and I should connect it directly to my TV.
a) Then I would have no sound. b) You made a deal with Oppo to sell/package/market your items together, but you don't recommend customers use them that way?!?!

I looked into replacing my stick with something from another company, but couldn't find anything on the market that would stream the same channels I've grown to love.
But I have seldom been more angry/unhappy with a company, and I look forward to the day that I no longer do business with or use products made by ROKU.
RetroRick is offline  
post #23609 of 24436 Old 07-10-2016, 10:26 AM
Senior Member
 
brianlvi3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Northern New Jersey
Posts: 246
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 76 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Hey guys,

I have an Oppo BDP 103, Epson 5020 and a Marantz pre/pro 7702. Has been working great, no problems. Put in a new blu ray last night, (The Witch) and during the movie at least half a dozen or more times the picture and sound would drop out for a few seconds. Then come back. The disc is still running. If I go back to that spot (rewind), it doesn't do it again.

I threw in one of my other blu rays that I know plays fine, it also did it on that one. Not too much, just a few times in a half hour. Same thing, if I rewind back to that spot, it doesn't do it again at that same spot exact time.

I have not done anything to my system for a while and I think I have the latest software is loaded. The only thing was a small power failure a few weeks ago. Everything else seems to be fine.

Thoughts before I go crazy here? Thanks again to alll!!!

Brian

Brian
brianlvi3 is offline  
post #23610 of 24436 Old 07-10-2016, 10:56 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
fmalczewski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 1,156
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 102 Post(s)
Liked: 39
Quote:
Originally Posted by brianlvi3 View Post
Thoughts before I go crazy here? Thanks again to alll!!!

Brian
Try re-seating your hdmi cables.

I had an hdmi cable go slightly loose which resulted in similar symptoms. (Probably did it myself, but maybe not.)
fmalczewski is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Blu-ray Players

Tags
Oppo Bdp 103 3d Blu Ray Player , Oppo Bdp 105 Blu Ray Player , Oppo Bdp 93 Blu Ray Player , Oppo Digital Inc



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off