Official OPPO BDP-103 Owner's Thread - Page 789 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!



Forum Jump: 
 707Likes
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-14-2016, 10:38 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
rdgrimes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Nuevo Mexico
Posts: 18,099
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1326 Post(s)
Liked: 635
Quote:
Originally Posted by brianlvi3 View Post
Thanks. What is killing me is that for 2 years everything worked great with the 60 foot Redmere cable. Then all of a sudden, HDMI signal dropping out randomly. Also after a drop out, I would note the time, rewind and replay the same spot of the movie. No drop out.

When I run the Oppo to the small screen sony, no drop outs.

Thanks.

Why all of a sudden now hah.
Its not "all of a sudden". It degrades over time and finally reaches the point where the PJ can no longer lock the signal. HDMI cables do this over time, nobody knows why.

You have pretty well proven a cable problem. Working with these lengths is pretty much guaranteed to produce issues like this.
rdgrimes is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-14-2016, 11:29 AM
Senior Member
 
n8nagel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 276
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 85 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Might want to try a little Deoxit Gold on the ends of the Redmere cable before condemning it. I had a similar issue with a Monoprice 40' cable and a Monoprice HDMI to DVI adapter. After cleaning all connections and reseating them a few times it's been rock solid since.

Sent from my 0PJA2 using Tapatalk
bigdogaxis likes this.
n8nagel is offline  
Old 07-14-2016, 02:13 PM
Coyote Waits
 
htwaits's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Palo Alto, CA
Posts: 26,563
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 727 Post(s)
Liked: 1779
Quote:
Originally Posted by rdgrimes View Post
Its not "all of a sudden". It degrades over time and finally reaches the point where the PJ can no longer lock the signal. HDMI cables do this over time, nobody knows why.

You have pretty well proven a cable problem. Working with these lengths is pretty much guaranteed to produce issues like this.
Just to add to the "over time" failure list, I had a 6' HDMI cable fail in a component closet where no one ever touched it. Gravity did the dirty deed after about three years. The fix was to provide support in the form of plastic ties for all the HDMI connections in the component closet. Just pressing all the connections before testing didn't help because the effected cable immediately returned to it's "new" disconnected mode.
htwaits is offline  
Old 07-18-2016, 04:19 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
Neuromancer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Navigating the Black IC
Posts: 11,151
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 45 Post(s)
Liked: 199
Release date: July 18, 2016.
Category: Latest Public Beta Test Release
Main Version: BDP10X-83-0715B
Loader Version: 6U1000 or 7B1400 (BDP-103), 7B1400 (BDP-105, BDP-105D, BDP-103D)
Sub Version: MCU103-05-0916 (BDP-103), MCU105-04-1113 (BDP-105), MCU13D-01-0618 (BDP-103D), MCU15D-01-0930 (BDP-105D), DB10X 131030 (BDP-103D, 105D)

Special Notice:

Once this Public Beta firmware is installed on the player, you can revert back to the previous Official release via a USB thumb drive. There will be no issues upgrading to any future official or beta firmware release.

Release Notes:

1. Resolved a no audio issue when connecting via HDMI Out 1 into VIZIO P-series 4K TVs.
2. Resolved a disc loading issue with the “A Walk in the Woods” Blu-ray Disc.
3. Resolved a playback issue where certain ALAC files would produce static noise.
4. Resolved an issue where the player would sometimes lock up when receiving the RS-232 command to launch VUDU.
5. Resolved an issue where HDMI Out 2 would sometimes output RGB regardless of the HDMI Out 2 color space settings.
6. Resolved an HDMI audio dropout issue that could occur when playing Blu-ray titles with a duration longer than three hours, such as Schindler’s List.
7. Resolved an issue where subtitles would sometimes randomly repeat when playing MKV files with embedded PGS subtitles.
8. Restored the ability to bitstream Dolby TrueHD audio tracks in MKV files when HDMI Audio is set to Bitstream. If you encounter a no audio issue when playing MKV files, we recommend setting the player’s HDMI Audio setting to Auto (Default) to force the player to output LPCM.
9. Improved compatibility with WAV files using ID3 tags.

Last edited by Neuromancer; 07-18-2016 at 04:29 PM.
Neuromancer is offline  
Old 07-19-2016, 12:54 AM
AVS Special Member
 
SeeMoreDigital's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Nott'm, UK
Posts: 2,453
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 418 Post(s)
Liked: 169
Thanks Neuromancer,

No doubt 'item 8' will please a lot of people


Cheers

I SUPPORT 'FAIR USE'. MY MORALS PREVENT ME FROM HELPING ANYONE WHO OBTAINS COPYRIGHTED CONTENT ILLEGITIMATELY
I've been testing hardware media playback devices and software A/V encoders and decoders since 2001 | My Network Layout and A/V Gear
SeeMoreDigital is offline  
Old 07-19-2016, 05:59 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 0
#7 is a winner. Many times, I would wonder, "didn't I just see that subtitle"?
kimberlysmom is online now  
Old 07-19-2016, 08:01 AM
AVS Special Member
 
lujan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 4,199
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1078 Post(s)
Liked: 320
Quote:
Originally Posted by SeeMoreDigital View Post
Thanks Neuromancer,
No doubt 'item 8' will please a lot of people
Cheers
Also #1 as this has been happening occasionally with me and my Vizio "P" series TV.

lujan
63 Ultra HD
837 HD
19 HD DVD
7 SD
lujan is offline  
Old 07-19-2016, 01:21 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
rdgrimes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Nuevo Mexico
Posts: 18,099
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1326 Post(s)
Liked: 635
Quote:
Originally Posted by SeeMoreDigital View Post
Thanks Neuromancer,

No doubt 'item 8' will please a lot of people


Cheers
In the interest of clarity: What they did is return it to the previous state, where bitstreaming DTHD in MKV sometimes works and sometimes doesn't. If you get no audio, put the player through an "energy efficient" reboot and try again without playing anything else first.
rdgrimes is offline  
Old 07-20-2016, 01:07 AM
AVS Special Member
 
SeeMoreDigital's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Nott'm, UK
Posts: 2,453
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 418 Post(s)
Liked: 169
Quote:
Originally Posted by rdgrimes View Post
In the interest of clarity: What they did is return it to the previous state, where bitstreaming DTHD in MKV sometimes works and sometimes doesn't. If you get no audio, put the player through an "energy efficient" reboot and try again without playing anything else first.
And to follow on.... It also appears that different MKV muxing applications produced different stability issues with TrueHD bit-streams. Personally I re-muxed any 'problem' Blu-ray disc back-ups using MKVmuxer GUI v9.3.0.


Cheers

I SUPPORT 'FAIR USE'. MY MORALS PREVENT ME FROM HELPING ANYONE WHO OBTAINS COPYRIGHTED CONTENT ILLEGITIMATELY
I've been testing hardware media playback devices and software A/V encoders and decoders since 2001 | My Network Layout and A/V Gear
SeeMoreDigital is offline  
Old 07-20-2016, 04:56 PM
Member
 
johnnywyoming's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: In Limbo
Posts: 123
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Have unsubscribed to Directv after 20+ years and am starting to research the ins and outs of streaming content. For this thread my question is , Why would I need a Roku or similar device when my 103 will stream content by itself? Also, can anyone point me to a primer about streaming... I realize that this is not the correct forum for streaming questions, but I am going there next.

Samsung HL61A750
Harman Kardon AVR520
Oppo BDP-103
Dynaco A35 fronts
Wharfedale WH-2 Center with dipole rears
Wharfedale Diamond 10.SX sub
johnnywyoming is offline  
Old 07-20-2016, 05:03 PM
Member
 
gonzlobo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 83
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by johnnywyoming View Post
Have unsubscribed to Directv after 20+ years and am starting to research the ins and outs of streaming content. For this thread my question is , Why would I need a Roku or similar device when my 103 will stream content by itself? Also, can anyone point me to a primer about streaming... I realize that this is not the correct forum for streaming questions, but I am going there next.
For some reason I'll never know, oppos don't do Amazon video.
gonzlobo is offline  
Old 07-20-2016, 05:28 PM
Senior Member
 
bigdogaxis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: The Woodlands
Posts: 271
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 66 Post(s)
Liked: 59
Quote:
Originally Posted by johnnywyoming View Post
[...]For this thread my question is , Why would I need a Roku or similar device when my 103 will stream content by itself?

ROKU is a host server. You need a server to serve up content to the OPPO for streaming via network. The OPPO is limited to select apps whereas ROKU or something similar offers more content options.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

My equipment: JVC RS-55, SI Performance 120" 1.3 gain, OPPO BDP-105, ANTHEM MRX-1120, Roomie-iPad, QNAP 469L NAS, ROKU 4, ATV, DTV HR34-500, PS3, XBOX 360. ML Source (F), Matinee (C), MotionFX (S), Motion4 (.4), (2) Depth-i subs. M/ASlim5 Rack, CalMAN 5 Enthusiast/C6 meter.
bigdogaxis is offline  
Old 07-20-2016, 05:34 PM
Member
 
johnnywyoming's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: In Limbo
Posts: 123
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by bigdogaxis View Post
ROKU is a host server. You need a server to serve up content to the OPPO for streaming via network. The OPPO is limited to select apps whereas ROKU or something similar offers more content options.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
So, if I only wanted to stream from the built-in apps (Netflix, etc), the OPPO would serve as the "Host Server"?
bigdogaxis likes this.

Samsung HL61A750
Harman Kardon AVR520
Oppo BDP-103
Dynaco A35 fronts
Wharfedale WH-2 Center with dipole rears
Wharfedale Diamond 10.SX sub
johnnywyoming is offline  
Old 07-20-2016, 05:54 PM
gsr
Oppo Beta Group
 
gsr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Massachusetts, USA
Posts: 8,721
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 803 Post(s)
Liked: 610
Quote:
Originally Posted by gonzlobo View Post
For some reason I'll never know, oppos don't do Amazon video.
It's simple - Amazon won't work with Oppo to build an app for the Oppo players. It's not something that Oppo can just decide they're going to add.

Quote:
Originally Posted by bigdogaxis View Post
ROKU is a host server. You need a server to serve up content to the OPPO for streaming via network. The OPPO is limited to select apps whereas ROKU or something similar offers more content options.
The Roku is more like a conduit or proxy that directs requests to various host servers (Netflix, Amazon, and so on) that actually host the content.

Quote:
Originally Posted by johnnywyoming View Post
So, if I only wanted to stream from the built-in apps (Netflix, etc), the OPPO would serve as the "Host Server"?
If you're happy with the content you can get with the apps that are included with the Oppo, you won't need anything else other than a subscription to the services you want to use. But just to be clear, Oppo isn't hosting the content, just apps that reach out to the various content providers for the actual stream.
bigdogaxis likes this.
gsr is offline  
Old 07-21-2016, 07:15 AM
AVS Special Member
 
tbase1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: medina Ohio
Posts: 2,576
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 58
Is this me, but why are people selling their oppo 103's? Is there a giant slayer in the landscape that I'm oblivious to?

tony4k
tbase1 is online now  
Old 07-21-2016, 07:17 AM
AVS Special Member
 
JazzGuyy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Oro Valley AZ
Posts: 3,039
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 191 Post(s)
Liked: 158
Quote:
Originally Posted by tbase1 View Post
Is this me, but why are people selling their oppo 103's? Is there a giant slayer in the landscape that I'm oblivious to?
Most likely in anticipation of the Oppo UHD player due out some time toward the end of the year.

JazzGuyy is offline  
Old 07-21-2016, 07:32 AM
AVS Special Member
 
SeeMoreDigital's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Nott'm, UK
Posts: 2,453
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 418 Post(s)
Liked: 169
New beta firmware available at Oppo Digital UK

Hi all,

Just in-case anyone's missed it. The latest beta firmware release is available to UK customers, here: http://www.oppodigital.co.uk/custome...-firmware.aspx


Cheers

I SUPPORT 'FAIR USE'. MY MORALS PREVENT ME FROM HELPING ANYONE WHO OBTAINS COPYRIGHTED CONTENT ILLEGITIMATELY
I've been testing hardware media playback devices and software A/V encoders and decoders since 2001 | My Network Layout and A/V Gear
SeeMoreDigital is offline  
Old Yesterday, 02:59 PM
Member
 
herushan's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: USA
Posts: 41
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 16
My OPPO bdp-103 player just lost its disc reading ability, and it seems that I can repair it for $79 plus shipping to OPPO or wait for the next OPPO player to purchase? When the player quits playing a bluray part way through the movie and then not read discs is not a good sign. This is the first player that I have ever had disc drive failure with. Mine was built in 2012 so not sure if I am just unlucky?

Last edited by herushan; Yesterday at 03:03 PM. Reason: Spelling
herushan is offline  
Old Yesterday, 03:13 PM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 29,267
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1321 Post(s)
Liked: 1332
^ It could be as simple as that the laser lens assembly needs to be cleaned -- picked up some dust or oil film from the room air. OPPO will check it out thoroughly during that flat rate service, and if parts need to be replaced, that's included.

Frankly getting the player repaired is a good deal even if you intend to buy the next player as soon as it comes out. OPPO players have an excellent track record for resale value, and of course a working player always sells better.
--Bob

Anthem D2/D2v/AVM50/AVM50v/ARC1 tweaking guide. -- Need personal consultation/training? PM me!
Bob Pariseau is offline  
Old Yesterday, 03:15 PM
One-Man Content Creator
 
wmcclain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 20,106
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1873 Post(s)
Liked: 802
Quote:
Originally Posted by herushan View Post
My OPPO bdp-103 player just lost its disc reading ability, and it seems that I can repair it for $79 plus shipping to OPPO or wait for the next OPPO player to purchase? When the player quits playing a bluray part way through the movie and then not read discs is not a good sign. This is the first player that I have ever had disc drive failure with. Mine was built in 2012 so not sure if I am just unlucky?
It's not common but neither is it unheard of. All physical components have a failure rate.

I'd get it fixed. It will have resale value even if you buy the next generation player.

-Bill

Review older films here: 1979 and earlier | 1980s | 1990s | Combined reviews: Strange Picture Scroll
Unofficial OPPO FAQS: BDP-103 | BDP-93 | BDP-83 | BDP-80    
wmcclain is online now  
Old Yesterday, 08:59 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
NorthSky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Vancouver Island, BC - Canada
Posts: 16,421
Mentioned: 23 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6726 Post(s)
Liked: 3332
I have an AVI file on disc, but my 103 plays just the sound, no picture.
And no problem with my Samsung BR player, both sound and picture play perfectly.

~ Bob
"And it stoned me to my soul"
- Van Morrison
NorthSky is offline  
Old Today, 03:52 AM
One-Man Content Creator
 
wmcclain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 20,106
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1873 Post(s)
Liked: 802
Quote:
Originally Posted by NorthSky View Post
I have an AVI file on disc, but my 103 plays just the sound, no picture.
And no problem with my Samsung BR player, both sound and picture play perfectly.
Do you get an error about "video not supported"? The player supports a set of a/v codecs, but not all.

See the FAQ for details: Media Files

Sometimes a codec works in one container but not another. You might try converting your file to mkv with mkvmerge.

-Bill

Review older films here: 1979 and earlier | 1980s | 1990s | Combined reviews: Strange Picture Scroll
Unofficial OPPO FAQS: BDP-103 | BDP-93 | BDP-83 | BDP-80    
wmcclain is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
 

Tags
Oppo Bdp 103 3d Blu Ray Player , Oppo Bdp 105 Blu Ray Player , Oppo Bdp 93 Blu Ray Player , Oppo Digital Inc
Thread Tools


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off