Official OPPO BDP-103 Owner's Thread - Page 799 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 3145Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #23941 of 24852 Old 10-11-2016, 03:28 AM
One-Man Content Creator
 
wmcclain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 22,413
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3400 Post(s)
Liked: 2655
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheStixter View Post
New to the forums! Recent owner of a 103! Love mine! Any news on a 4K update from Oppo!?
http://www.oppodigital.com/uhd/

Discussion in the anticipation thread: Official Oppo UDP-203 UHD Blu-ray player Anticipation Thread

-Bill
bbrunst and gwsat like this.

Review older films here: 1979 and earlier | 1980s | 1990s | Combined reviews: Strange Picture Scroll
Unofficial OPPO FAQS: UDP-203 | BDP-103 | BDP-93 | BDP-83 | BDP-80    
wmcclain is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #23942 of 24852 Old 10-11-2016, 08:37 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
raynist's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: PA
Posts: 3,753
Mentioned: 68 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1574 Post(s)
Liked: 1550
Quote:
Originally Posted by raynist View Post
I did some testing going from the Roku directly to the Nano AVR. The video was perfect. I tried an Apple TV to the Oppo and it worked perfectly. It appears to be an issue with the Roku and the Oppo. I am going to try the new Roku Premiere tomorrow to see if that works better.
I bought a new Roku Premiere today and there is no compatibility issues so far. Only tested it on the 103's front input. Will try it on my 105D tomorrow.
raynist is offline  
post #23943 of 24852 Old 10-14-2016, 07:54 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by IlikeElac View Post
I'm having trouble locating a new Oppo BDP 103 (for a reasonable price).
I was looking at them a few weeks ago for just over $500 before I was ready to buy.
Now I'm ready to buy but they are priced $650 to $800 and higher and out of my budget.
Are they produced seasonally and stock is low right now or has Oppo quit making the 103?
What's going on?
Thanks.
Just bought a brand new Oppo 103 at the Best Buy Magnolia store in Baton Rouge on Oct. 13, 2016. They only had one in the store but still had 89 in their warehouse. Price was the base $499. I grabbed it and a 4-year warranty (just in case).

I spoke with the nice people at Oppo on Oct. 12 and was told the new 203 would be a fine unit but would be stripped down and would offer no new services or extras over the 103 model -- except of course for newer chip design and full 4K handling.

Because I own a still wonderful Panasonic 65vt50 plasma, the 103 was good enough for me -- or at least a few more years until OLED has its kinks worked out and its prices sink to realistic levels.
calidoc75 likes this.
Gentle Ben is offline  
 
post #23944 of 24852 Old 10-15-2016, 12:29 AM
All That Jazz
 
Bob Fosse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Everwood
Posts: 1,000
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 197 Post(s)
Liked: 259
Quote:
Originally Posted by raynist View Post
I bought a new Roku Premiere today and there is no compatibility issues so far. Only tested it on the 103's front input. Will try it on my 105D tomorrow.
I am new to streaming and currently using the Apps (Amazon, etc) from my "Smart TV" for watching movies.

I am interested in trying A Roku with my 103.

Please let us know how your new Roku works out for you; especially with your OPPOs.

A/V SYSTEM: Sony Z9D 75" LCD main, LG EF9500 OLED, Anthem 525 5.1 channel amp, Anthem AVM 60 processor, ProAc D80 L+R, ProAc Response CC, AT surround Speakers, SVS SB12+ Sub, Oppo 203 and OPPO 103 BluRay players, TiVo Bolt, PS Audio P10 power plant, Auralex room treatments, black out curtains.
2 CHANNEL: Aurender N10 music server, Ayre QX-5 & PSAudio DS DACs, PS Audio DMP tranport, ARC Ref6 preamp, Ayre MX-R 20 amp, Sonus Faber Amati Futura speakers.
Bob Fosse is offline  
post #23945 of 24852 Old 10-15-2016, 07:22 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
raynist's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: PA
Posts: 3,753
Mentioned: 68 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1574 Post(s)
Liked: 1550
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Fosse View Post
I am new to streaming and currently using the Apps (Amazon, etc) from my "Smart TV" for watching movies.

I am interested in trying A Roku with my 103.

Please let us know how your new Roku works out for you; especially with your OPPOs.
The Roku Premiere worked fine with my 103, but still had the jitter issues with the 105D
raynist is offline  
post #23946 of 24852 Old 10-15-2016, 08:46 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
gwsat's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Tulsa
Posts: 19,378
Mentioned: 77 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3421 Post(s)
Liked: 3998
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gentle Ben View Post
Just bought a brand new Oppo 103 at the Best Buy Magnolia store in Baton Rouge on Oct. 13, 2016. They only had one in the store but still had 89 in their warehouse. Price was the base $499. I grabbed it and a 4-year warranty (just in case).

I spoke with the nice people at Oppo on Oct. 12 and was told the new 203 would be a fine unit but would be stripped down and would offer no new services or extras over the 103 model -- except of course for newer chip design and full 4K handling.

Because I own a still wonderful Panasonic 65vt50 plasma, the 103 was good enough for me -- or at least a few more years until OLED has its kinks worked out and its prices sink to realistic levels.
You won't regret it. I have had my 103 for nearly four years and it has performed flawlessly. I wouldn't have decided to replace it with the forthcoming 203 if I hadn't upgraded my home theater setup to 4K HDR last summer. I am sure my daughter and son and law will enjoy it for many more years after I get a 203.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Fosse View Post
I am new to streaming and currently using the Apps (Amazon, etc) from my "Smart TV" for watching movies.
The Android TV OS my Sony 75XBR X940D 4K HDT TV uses has been my default source for Amazon, Netflix, and other streaming apps too. Because the 103 is 1080P only I haven't considered it for use with Amazon, Netflix, or any other streaming service that is 4K HDR capable.

HT setup: Sony 75XBR X940D UHD HDR TV; Kaleidescape Strato Movie Server 6 TB; Yamaha RX-A3060 AV receiver; Sonamp 2-1 2channel 100W power amp; Crestron Control System; 2 Rythmik FV18 subwoofers, 6 Hsu HB-1 Bookshelf speakers, 1 Hsu HC-1 Center speaker, 4 Focal ICW8 in-ceiling Atmos speakers; Oppo UDP-203 4K HDR BD player; Mac Mini HTPC. TiVO Bolt 1TB DVR; TiVo Premiere Elite 2 TB DVR; Roku Premiere+
gwsat is offline  
post #23947 of 24852 Old 10-15-2016, 04:56 PM
All That Jazz
 
Bob Fosse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Everwood
Posts: 1,000
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 197 Post(s)
Liked: 259
Quote:
Originally Posted by raynist View Post
The Roku Premiere worked fine with my 103, but still had the jitter issues with the 105D
Thanks for the info.

Quote:
Originally Posted by gwsat View Post
The Android TV OS my Sony 75XBR X940D 4K HDT TV uses has been my default source for Amazon, Netflix, and other streaming apps too. Because the 103 is 1080P only I haven't considered it for use with Amazon, Netflix, or any other streaming service that is 4K HDR capable.
I also use the Android on my new Sony 4K TV for streaming and didn't realize that the OPPO 103 doesn't stream above 1080P despite having the 4K/2K setting. I guess that is for upsamping only?

A/V SYSTEM: Sony Z9D 75" LCD main, LG EF9500 OLED, Anthem 525 5.1 channel amp, Anthem AVM 60 processor, ProAc D80 L+R, ProAc Response CC, AT surround Speakers, SVS SB12+ Sub, Oppo 203 and OPPO 103 BluRay players, TiVo Bolt, PS Audio P10 power plant, Auralex room treatments, black out curtains.
2 CHANNEL: Aurender N10 music server, Ayre QX-5 & PSAudio DS DACs, PS Audio DMP tranport, ARC Ref6 preamp, Ayre MX-R 20 amp, Sonus Faber Amati Futura speakers.
Bob Fosse is offline  
post #23948 of 24852 Old 10-16-2016, 06:16 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
QuiGonJosh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 1,210
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 246 Post(s)
Liked: 101
Can anyone explain why setting the Oppo to LPCM degrades the audio, especially on Atmos and DTS-HD MA 6.1 audio tracks? It's a world of difference between Bitstream and LPCM from my Oppo to the Yamaha A550. With the Oppo set to LPCM, it sounds like the dynamic range is limited substantially. DRC is turned off on the Oppo and the Yamaha, so it's something else. For reference, the Star Wars and Batman v Superman are good ones to test this out. There is a big drop off on both. I spoke to them before and they just disregarded the issue.

This issue, combined with the smearing on Vudu and YouTube when set to anything other than Source Direct does not instill faith in their customer service. For a $500 piece of equipment that does little more than one costing 1/5th of the price, it's very unremarkable that they refuse to fix either problem. I love the machine, the build quality, and it's overall performance, but considering the price and their lack of support in issues like these that matter, I can't recommend them.

Last edited by QuiGonJosh; 10-16-2016 at 06:20 AM.
QuiGonJosh is offline  
post #23949 of 24852 Old 10-16-2016, 06:58 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
gwsat's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Tulsa
Posts: 19,378
Mentioned: 77 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3421 Post(s)
Liked: 3998
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Fosse View Post
Thanks for the info.



I also use the Android on my new Sony 4K TV for streaming and didn't realize that the OPPO 103 doesn't stream above 1080P despite having the 4K/2K setting. I guess that is for upsamping only?
I am jealous of your Sony Z9D. From all reports, they are great. I got my Sony 75XBR X940D only a week or so before the Z9D was announced. Fortunately my 940D has turned out to be all that I could have wished for in a 4K HDR TV, so I am still happy I bought it. I just hope it proves to be as reliable as my Oppo BDP-103 has been.

HT setup: Sony 75XBR X940D UHD HDR TV; Kaleidescape Strato Movie Server 6 TB; Yamaha RX-A3060 AV receiver; Sonamp 2-1 2channel 100W power amp; Crestron Control System; 2 Rythmik FV18 subwoofers, 6 Hsu HB-1 Bookshelf speakers, 1 Hsu HC-1 Center speaker, 4 Focal ICW8 in-ceiling Atmos speakers; Oppo UDP-203 4K HDR BD player; Mac Mini HTPC. TiVO Bolt 1TB DVR; TiVo Premiere Elite 2 TB DVR; Roku Premiere+
gwsat is offline  
post #23950 of 24852 Old 10-16-2016, 07:19 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
raynist's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: PA
Posts: 3,753
Mentioned: 68 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1574 Post(s)
Liked: 1550
Quote:
Originally Posted by QuiGonJosh View Post
Can anyone explain why setting the Oppo to LPCM degrades the audio, especially on Atmos and DTS-HD MA 6.1 audio tracks? It's a world of difference between Bitstream and LPCM from my Oppo to the Yamaha A550. With the Oppo set to LPCM, it sounds like the dynamic range is limited substantially. DRC is turned off on the Oppo and the Yamaha, so it's something else. For reference, the Star Wars and Batman v Superman are good ones to test this out. There is a big drop off on both. I spoke to them before and they just disregarded the issue.

This issue, combined with the smearing on Vudu and YouTube when set to anything other than Source Direct does not instill faith in their customer service. For a $500 piece of equipment that does little more than one costing 1/5th of the price, it's very unremarkable that they refuse to fix either problem. I love the machine, the build quality, and it's overall performance, but considering the price and their lack of support in issues like these that matter, I can't recommend them.
This is interesting. I use LPCM and have noticed no difference. Could your AVR be engaging might mode/dynamic range control automatically when it gets a LPCM signal?

Do you have any other devices that can out put LPCM to see if it happens with them?
raynist is offline  
post #23951 of 24852 Old 10-16-2016, 08:58 AM
Advanced Member
 
IceTBC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: California
Posts: 512
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by raynist View Post
The Roku Premiere worked fine with my 103, but still had the jitter issues with the 105D
I have a question for you. I purchased the new Roku Streaming Stick 3600R. It replaced the older streaming stick which I purchased several years ago from Oppo. I could control the old stick using the Oppo's remote or my universal remote. However the new one due to its new software does not let me use the any other remote to control it. I have to use the Roku remote.

Does your Roku Premiere allow you to use the Oppo remote to control it or do you also have to use the Roku Remote?
IceTBC is offline  
post #23952 of 24852 Old 10-16-2016, 09:19 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
raynist's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: PA
Posts: 3,753
Mentioned: 68 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1574 Post(s)
Liked: 1550
Quote:
Originally Posted by IceTBC View Post
I have a question for you. I purchased the new Roku Streaming Stick 3600R. It replaced the older streaming stick which I purchased several years ago from Oppo. I could control the old stick using the Oppo's remote or my universal remote. However the new one due to its new software does not let me use the any other remote to control it. I have to use the Roku remote.

Does your Roku Premiere allow you to use the Oppo remote to control it or do you also have to use the Roku Remote?
Only the old steaming stick worked like that.

JTR (3 215 RT, 5 212HTR, 2 Growlers, 4 S2's)
PSA (4 Triax's, 3 210T's)
Behringer (4 B1200 Midbass Modules)
raynist is offline  
post #23953 of 24852 Old 10-16-2016, 10:31 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Smarty-pants's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 17,124
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 751 Post(s)
Liked: 628
Quote:
Originally Posted by IceTBC View Post
I have a question for you. I purchased the new Roku Streaming Stick 3600R. It replaced the older streaming stick which I purchased several years ago from Oppo. I could control the old stick using the Oppo's remote or my universal remote. However the new one due to its new software does not let me use the any other remote to control it. I have to use the Roku remote.

Does your Roku Premiere allow you to use the Oppo remote to control it or do you also have to use the Roku Remote?
The older MHL streaming stick is the ONLY Roku device that can be controlled with the Oppo remote on the Oppo 10x players.
Smarty-pants is offline  
post #23954 of 24852 Old 10-16-2016, 11:52 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
lujan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 6,499
Mentioned: 15 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2765 Post(s)
Liked: 1279
Quote:
Originally Posted by Smarty-pants View Post
The older MHL streaming stick is the ONLY Roku device that can be controlled with the Oppo remote on the Oppo 10x players.
I've already had 2 people express an interest on mine that I have for sale but then they've changed their minds. I also mentioned that I'd be willing to trade for a regular Roku HDMI stick.

lujan
234 Ultra HD
780 HD
18 HD DVD
4 SD
lujan is offline  
post #23955 of 24852 Old 10-16-2016, 05:09 PM
Advanced Member
 
IceTBC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: California
Posts: 512
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Thanks for the answers folks. Was about what I expected tho I was hoping for otherwise.
IceTBC is offline  
post #23956 of 24852 Old 10-17-2016, 06:06 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
QuiGonJosh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 1,210
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 246 Post(s)
Liked: 101
Quote:
Originally Posted by raynist View Post
This is interesting. I use LPCM and have noticed no difference. Could your AVR be engaging might mode/dynamic range control automatically when it gets a LPCM signal?

Do you have any other devices that can out put LPCM to see if it happens with them?
I don't notice a difference on Blu-ray's that have only a LPCM lossless option. I may have to try one with a TrueHD/DTS-HD and LPCM to compared. Thanks. I'm considering going back to Denon anyway. With my old Denon I never noticed a difference between LPCM and Bitstream.
QuiGonJosh is offline  
post #23957 of 24852 Old 10-17-2016, 06:13 AM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 32,632
Mentioned: 38 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3789 Post(s)
Liked: 4928
^^ This says the AVR is not handling LPCM input correctly.
--Bob
SeeMoreDigital likes this.
Bob Pariseau is offline  
post #23958 of 24852 Old 10-17-2016, 06:42 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
QuiGonJosh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 1,210
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 246 Post(s)
Liked: 101
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Pariseau View Post
^^ This says the AVR is not handling LPCM input correctly.
--Bob
Well, my old Denon didn't have any issues with TrueHD or Atmos tracks, but the issues with 6.1 DTS-HD MA tracks was still present when set to LPCM on the old Denon as well. Could it be that the Yamaha has a better DAC than the Oppo and that's why TrueHD and Atmos track sound so much more powerful when the Yamaha is decoding?

Last edited by QuiGonJosh; 10-17-2016 at 06:46 AM.
QuiGonJosh is offline  
post #23959 of 24852 Old 10-17-2016, 07:02 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
hernanu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Boston Suburbs
Posts: 3,766
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 682 Post(s)
Liked: 1218
Quote:
Originally Posted by QuiGonJosh View Post
Well, my old Denon didn't have any issues with TrueHD or Atmos tracks, but the issues with 6.1 DTS-HD MA tracks was still present when set to LPCM on the old Denon as well. Could it be that the Yamaha has a better DAC than the Oppo and that's why TrueHD and Atmos track sound so much more powerful when the Yamaha is decoding?


I don't believe the 103 decodes Atmos to PCM - you would probably get decoded TrueHD as far as I know.


So in that case you do lose the Atmos decoding versus using bitstream to your AVR.
hernanu is offline  
post #23960 of 24852 Old 10-17-2016, 07:15 AM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 32,632
Mentioned: 38 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3789 Post(s)
Liked: 4928
Quote:
Originally Posted by QuiGonJosh View Post
Well, my old Denon didn't have any issues with TrueHD or Atmos tracks, but the issues with 6.1 DTS-HD MA tracks was still present when set to LPCM on the old Denon as well. Could it be that the Yamaha has a better DAC than the Oppo and that's why TrueHD and Atmos track sound so much more powerful when the Yamaha is decoding?
No. The LPCM input from the OPPO also gets processed through the same Yamaha DAC.

There ARE examples out there of AVRs that handle LPCM input poorly compared to Bitstream input. Haven't heard of that about any recent AVRs, but it can happen. I suggest you check with a calibration track for something obvious going wrong. For example, use the TrueHD 7.1 Channel ID track on AIX Audio Calibration Blu-ray. Compare that with the OPPO set to Bitstream output vs. LPCM output. For both cases, set Secondary Audio OFF and DTS Neo:6 Mode OFF in the OPPO. Use an SPL meter. One common error in the AVR would be the Subwoofer channel down by -5dB for LPCM compared to Bitstream.

Also check that you have Dynamic Range Compression set to OFF in the OPPO. Dynamic Range Compression applies in whichever device is doing the decoding from Bitstream to LPCM. For LPCM output, that would be the OPPO. There are known cases of discs out there with faulty Dynamic Range Compression meta-data. The symptom would be anemic bass when the OPPO is set to LPCM output. If the problem were with Bitstream output, then the place to check for this setting would be in the AVR. That said, the AVR may have its own Dynamics Control settings which it is applying to LPCM input.
--Bob
SeeMoreDigital likes this.

Anthem D2/D2v/AVM50/AVM50v/ARC1 tweaking guide. -- Need personal consultation/training? PM me!
Bob Pariseau is offline  
post #23961 of 24852 Old 10-17-2016, 07:17 AM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 32,632
Mentioned: 38 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3789 Post(s)
Liked: 4928
Quote:
Originally Posted by hernanu View Post
I don't believe the 103 decodes Atmos to PCM - you would probably get decoded TrueHD as far as I know.


So in that case you do lose the Atmos decoding versus using bitstream to your AVR.
LPCM output from an Atmos track is a decode of the TrueHD 7.1 Bitstream with the Atmos object meta-data ignored. I.e., the dynamics should be identical if the AVR is handling both LPCM and Bitstream input correctly.
--Bob
gwsat likes this.

Anthem D2/D2v/AVM50/AVM50v/ARC1 tweaking guide. -- Need personal consultation/training? PM me!
Bob Pariseau is offline  
post #23962 of 24852 Old 10-17-2016, 07:40 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
QuiGonJosh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 1,210
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 246 Post(s)
Liked: 101
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Pariseau View Post
No. The LPCM input from the OPPO also gets processed through the same Yamaha DAC.

There ARE examples out there of AVRs that handle LPCM input poorly compared to Bitstream input. Haven't heard of that about any recent AVRs, but it can happen. I suggest you check with a calibration track for something obvious going wrong. For example, use the TrueHD 7.1 Channel ID track on AIX Audio Calibration Blu-ray. Compare that with the OPPO set to Bitstream output vs. LPCM output. For both cases, set Secondary Audio OFF and DTS Neo:6 Mode OFF in the OPPO. Use an SPL meter. One common error in the AVR would be the Subwoofer channel down by -5dB for LPCM compared to Bitstream.

Also check that you have Dynamic Range Compression set to OFF in the OPPO. Dynamic Range Compression applies in whichever device is doing the decoding from Bitstream to LPCM. For LPCM output, that would be the OPPO. There are known cases of discs out there with faulty Dynamic Range Compression meta-data. The symptom would be anemic bass when the OPPO is set to LPCM output. If the problem were with Bitstream output, then the place to check for this setting would be in the AVR. That said, the AVR may have its own Dynamics Control settings which it is applying to LPCM input.
--Bob
All of those setting (DRC, DTS Neo) are set to off. None of that would really explain why the LPCM from the Oppo for DTS-HD MA 6.1 tracks like Star Wars sound noticeably weaker than Bitstream on both my old Denon and current Yamaha.

Can anyone using an Oppo 103 and a Yamaha receiver weigh in?
QuiGonJosh is offline  
post #23963 of 24852 Old 10-17-2016, 08:14 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
rdgrimes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Nuevo Mexico
Posts: 19,587
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2482 Post(s)
Liked: 1785
Quote:
Originally Posted by QuiGonJosh View Post

Can anyone using an Oppo 103 and a Yamaha receiver weigh in?
Sure: It makes no difference in any way whether input is LPCM or bitstream, other than a slight change in levels.
rdgrimes is offline  
post #23964 of 24852 Old 10-17-2016, 08:16 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
QuiGonJosh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 1,210
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 246 Post(s)
Liked: 101
Quote:
Originally Posted by rdgrimes View Post
Sure: It makes no difference in any way whether input is LPCM or bitstream, other than a slight change in levels.
Thank you for apparently not reading the thread or helping in any way.
QuiGonJosh is offline  
post #23965 of 24852 Old 10-17-2016, 09:15 AM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 32,632
Mentioned: 38 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3789 Post(s)
Liked: 4928
Quote:
Originally Posted by QuiGonJosh View Post
All of those setting (DRC, DTS Neo) are set to off. None of that would really explain why the LPCM from the Oppo for DTS-HD MA 6.1 tracks like Star Wars sound noticeably weaker than Bitstream on both my old Denon and current Yamaha.

Can anyone using an Oppo 103 and a Yamaha receiver weigh in?
There are DTS-HD MA 5.1, 6.1, and 7.1 calibration tracks on Disney, "WOW: World of Wonder", Blu-ray.

Optimize > Expert > A/V Tools > Audio Tests > SPL Meter Required

You can use those to compare LPCM vs Bitstream output into our AVR.
--Bob

Anthem D2/D2v/AVM50/AVM50v/ARC1 tweaking guide. -- Need personal consultation/training? PM me!
Bob Pariseau is offline  
post #23966 of 24852 Old 10-17-2016, 09:32 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
spongebob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: San Jose, Ca.
Posts: 2,978
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 96 Post(s)
Liked: 15
I'm having lip sync problems with the Oppo on all sources. My pre/pro has no adjustment for it and is fine with other sources. I am using optical out. Any ideas?

thx

bob
spongebob is offline  
post #23967 of 24852 Old 10-17-2016, 05:08 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
QuiGonJosh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 1,210
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 246 Post(s)
Liked: 101
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Pariseau View Post
There are DTS-HD MA 5.1, 6.1, and 7.1 calibration tracks on Disney, "WOW: World of Wonder", Blu-ray.

Optimize > Expert > A/V Tools > Audio Tests > SPL Meter Required

You can use those to compare LPCM vs Bitstream output into our AVR.
--Bob
I don't need an SPL meter to know that there is a very clear difference. It's very audible and easily heard.
QuiGonJosh is offline  
post #23968 of 24852 Old 10-17-2016, 06:34 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
KC-Technerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Liberty, MO
Posts: 1,523
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 99 Post(s)
Liked: 147
Quote:
Originally Posted by QuiGonJosh View Post
I don't need an SPL meter to know that there is a very clear difference. It's very audible and easily heard.
My Pioneer plays bitstream 4dB higher than LPCM. The only explanation for this that seem reasonable is that the Pioneer applies dialog normalization differently than Oppo does. I saw some evidence of another brand doing this few years ago, and I believe it was Yamaha. That evidence is a displayed dialnorm value of +4dB being displayed with some movies. Those receivers/preamps that apply dialnorm the same way the Oppo does will never show a positive dialnorm value (if they show one at all).

This also started for me by noticing that LPCM resulted in weaker sound than Bitstream.

Edit: Yamaha confirmed. The RX-V1600 can display a +4dB dialnorm value with certain movies. I believe this is evidence that any bitstream for which it applies dialog normalization will play 4dB louder than the same bitstream decoded to LPCM by the Oppo (and therefore the Oppo handling the dialog normalization).
QuiGonJosh likes this.

Last edited by KC-Technerd; 10-17-2016 at 06:49 PM.
KC-Technerd is offline  
post #23969 of 24852 Old 10-17-2016, 06:56 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
KC-Technerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Liberty, MO
Posts: 1,523
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 99 Post(s)
Liked: 147
Quote:
Originally Posted by QuiGonJosh View Post
I don't notice a difference on Blu-ray's that have only a LPCM lossless option. I may have to try one with a TrueHD/DTS-HD and LPCM to compared.
I think this fits in with the difference in dialog normalization. The reason you're not noticing a difference with LPCM lossless is that dialog normalization is not involved. Dialog normalization is only a factor in bitstream sources.

Here's links to a few of the posts I made when I was trying to figure this out back in 2013, in case they are of help to you:

Official Pioneer SC-75/77/79 Thread

Official Pioneer SC-75/77/79 Thread

Official Pioneer SC-75/77/79 Thread

Official Pioneer SC-75/77/79 Thread
QuiGonJosh and bigdogaxis like this.

Last edited by KC-Technerd; 10-17-2016 at 07:05 PM.
KC-Technerd is offline  
post #23970 of 24852 Old 10-18-2016, 01:52 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
QuiGonJosh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 1,210
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 246 Post(s)
Liked: 101
Thank you very much KC. That was very helpful.
QuiGonJosh is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Blu-ray Players

Tags
Oppo Bdp 103 3d Blu Ray Player , Oppo Bdp 105 Blu Ray Player , Oppo Bdp 93 Blu Ray Player , Oppo Digital Inc

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off