Official OPPO BDP-103 Owner's Thread - Page 802 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 901Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #24031 of 24667 Old 11-04-2016, 05:07 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
KC-Technerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Liberty, MO
Posts: 1,518
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 96 Post(s)
Liked: 147
Quote:
Originally Posted by Smarty-pants View Post
The dreaded no disc error? You state that as if it is a common problem but this is the first I have ever heard of an Oppo player having such an issue and not being able to recover from it.
There have been at least 3 reports in this thread of this occurring and requiring repair in order to recover, mine being one. I had this 2 years ago and returned my 103 to Oppo for repair under warranty.
KC-Technerd is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #24032 of 24667 Old 11-04-2016, 06:10 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Smarty-pants's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 17,124
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 750 Post(s)
Liked: 628
Quote:
Originally Posted by KC-Technerd View Post
There have been at least 3 reports in this thread of this occurring and requiring repair in order to recover, mine being one. I had this 2 years ago and returned my 103 to Oppo for repair under warranty.
Ahhh, 3 posts out of 24 thousand. I should have known. Thanks for the clarification.
Smarty-pants is offline  
post #24033 of 24667 Old 11-04-2016, 07:39 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
KC-Technerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Liberty, MO
Posts: 1,518
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 96 Post(s)
Liked: 147
Quote:
Originally Posted by Smarty-pants View Post
Ahhh, 3 posts out of 24 thousand. I should have known. Thanks for the clarification.
Sorry, I didn't mean to imply that you should have known. As you implied, they are needles in a haystack. I just noticed them because I am one that has experienced this issue, and wanted to clarify that although it might be rare (as the reports of it in this thread certainly are), it has happened with a BDP-103 before. The only troubleshooting I did on my own before contacting Oppo was trying different disc types, following the troubleshooting directions for "Condensation on the Laser pick-up head" and "Reset Factory Defaults." When I reported this to Oppo, their immediate reply was "Your player will need to be repaired. A return shipping authorization and instructions for the repair of the player will be issued shortly. Please use these to send in the player for inspection and repair servicing." Their immediacy in reaching that conclusion suggests to me that they were familiar with the issue.
KC-Technerd is offline  
 
post #24034 of 24667 Old 11-04-2016, 07:44 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
KC-Technerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Liberty, MO
Posts: 1,518
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 96 Post(s)
Liked: 147
I forgot to mention that Oppo repaired and return shipped the player the same day that they received it. It looks like it took them less than 5 hours to repair it and ship it based on the email times and sequence.
KC-Technerd is offline  
post #24035 of 24667 Old 11-04-2016, 09:16 AM
Advanced Member
 
sonichart's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: East Dundee, IL
Posts: 840
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 479 Post(s)
Liked: 405
Is it safe to upgrade to the latest firmware? Thought that I read earlier that something was broken by a recent FW upgrade.

Thx!

JVC RS600 | 130" Wide Seymour XD 2.35:1 | Oppo UHD-203 | Denon x4200 + Onkyo M5010 7.2.4 | DIYSG 1099 (lcr), Volt6 (surround/ATMOS), Dual Cyclops 18" UM18-22s (an eng-399 build!)|
Javs MadVr Settings for HTPC
FOR SALE: Two (2) 18" Dayton 460HO Subwoofers $400 for the pair!!
sonichart is online now  
post #24036 of 24667 Old 11-04-2016, 09:34 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
rdgrimes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Nuevo Mexico
Posts: 19,192
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2236 Post(s)
Liked: 1573
Quote:
Originally Posted by sonichart View Post
Is it safe to upgrade to the latest firmware?
We haven't lost anyone yet.
rdgrimes is offline  
post #24037 of 24667 Old 11-04-2016, 09:39 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
hernanu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Boston Suburbs
Posts: 3,689
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 638 Post(s)
Liked: 1129
Quote:
Originally Posted by rdgrimes View Post
We haven't lost anyone yet.
It's just a matter of time...
KC-Technerd likes this.
hernanu is offline  
post #24038 of 24667 Old 11-04-2016, 09:42 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
gwsat's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Tulsa
Posts: 18,617
Mentioned: 68 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2948 Post(s)
Liked: 3297
Quote:
Originally Posted by rdgrimes View Post
We haven't lost anyone yet.
No we haven't. I would add that in the almost four years I have owned my 103 I have promptly downloaded and installed every firmware update and none of them have caused me any trouble whatever.
SeeMoreDigital and davehale like this.

HT setup: Sony 75XBR X940D UHD HDR TV; Kaleidescape Strato Movie Server 6 TB; Yamaha RX-A3060 AV receiver; Sonamp 2-1 2channel 100W power amp; Crestron Control System; 2 Rythmik FV18 subwoofers, 6 Hsu HB-1 Bookshelf speakers, 1 Hsu HC-1 Center speaker, 4 Focal ICW8 in-ceiling Atmos speakers; Oppo UDP-203 4K HDR BD player; Mac Mini HTPC. TiVO Bolt 1TB DVR; TiVo Premiere Elite 2 TB DVR; Roku Premiere+
gwsat is online now  
post #24039 of 24667 Old 11-05-2016, 10:38 AM
Member
 
645824's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 194
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 48 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by spongebob View Post
Is there new FW today (11-01)

Notice just popped up today.

bob
Where is the new firmware? As of this morning (Nov 5, 9:44am PT) the latest that I can see is the September 18th beta:

BDP10X-83-0918B-CD-Image.iso


Thanks,

Scott
645824 is offline  
post #24040 of 24667 Old 11-05-2016, 02:43 PM
All That Jazz
 
Bob Fosse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Everwood
Posts: 945
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 156 Post(s)
Liked: 211
Quote:
Originally Posted by gwsat View Post
No we haven't. I would add that in the almost four years I have owned my 103 I have promptly downloaded and installed every firmware update and none of them have caused me any trouble whatever.
I've owned my 103 about 4 years too and have religiously done all the FW updates without any issues here either. It's been a very reliable player and will not own another brand. Maybe I'm just an OPPO fanboy?

A/V SYSTEM: Sony Z9D 75" LCD main, LG EF9500 OLED, Anthem 525 5.1 channel amp, Anthem AVM 60 processor, ProAc D80 L+R, ProAc Response CC, AT surround Speakers, SVS SB12+ Sub, Oppo 203 and OPPO 103 BluRay players, TiVo Bolt, PS Audio P10 power plant, Auralex room treatments, black out curtains.
2 CHANNEL: Aurender N10 music server, Ayre QX-5 & PSAudio DS DACs, PS Audio DMP tranport, ARC Ref6 preamp, ARC Ref75SE or Ayre VX-5 20 amps, Sonus Faber Amati Futura speakers.
Bob Fosse is offline  
post #24041 of 24667 Old 11-05-2016, 04:25 PM
Senior Member
 
giedrys's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: SoCal
Posts: 407
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Where I can find older version of iOS Oppo remote app that works with FW 1220?
giedrys is offline  
post #24042 of 24667 Old 11-09-2016, 04:10 PM
Member
 
mope54's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 58
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by giedrys View Post
Where I can find older version of iOS Oppo remote app that works with FW 1220?
I have my 105D directly connected in to my amps. I read that as long as the volume is above 80 then there isn't any fidelity loss. My amps are more sensitive than I was expecting, however, and 80 would be a very high upper threshold. If I adjust the trims of all the speakers so that I could turn the volume higher, would that have a different impact on the quality of the sound compared to simply leaving the volume lower?
mope54 is offline  
post #24043 of 24667 Old 11-09-2016, 06:16 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Smarty-pants's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 17,124
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 750 Post(s)
Liked: 628
Quote:
Originally Posted by mope54 View Post
I have my 105D directly connected in to my amps. I read that as long as the volume is above 80 then there isn't any fidelity loss. My amps are more sensitive than I was expecting, however, and 80 would be a very high upper threshold. If I adjust the trims of all the speakers so that I could turn the volume higher, would that have a different impact on the quality of the sound compared to simply leaving the volume lower?
80 isn't really the threshold, but more like around 50, and even then, if you have it below 50,
the reduction in sound quality will not be dramatic, but very subtle.
Yes you can try adjusting the trim levels downward so that you can have a higher overall volume set in the player,
but again there won't be much (if any) appreciable difference aside from different numbers.
You just want to make sure the trim levels are all equal in volume using some test tones and a SPL meter.
As long as they are evenly matched, you should be ok.
Perhaps just turn all channels down as far as they can go, then adjust them upward as needed for level matching.

You also don't mention if your amps have volume control or not, and if it does, then you will want to use that to allow
the Oppo to be turned up higher. If no volume control on the amp, then just try turning the channel trims down as
discussed above. If it is still too loud, then you won't be able to use that specific amp connected directly from the player.
Smarty-pants is offline  
post #24044 of 24667 Old 11-09-2016, 09:04 PM
Senior Member
 
kyzer soze's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 299
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 134 Post(s)
Liked: 63
Any news on a update to the oppo app for ios (oppo media control)? This app hasn't been updated in over a year seems strange.

Ascend Sierra 2 fronts, Horizon Center w/Raal, Ascend Sierra 2 side surrounds
Marantz AV7703
NAD M25
Rythmik FV15HP
Oppo 103
kyzer soze is online now  
post #24045 of 24667 Old 11-10-2016, 05:07 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
RoadLizard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Upstate, NY
Posts: 1,146
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 681 Post(s)
Liked: 557
Why are these Oppo players so stingy with the streaming apps? For their cost and supposed "state of the art" engineering..... wheres the apps? I realize that many of the TVs have that stuff built in but NOT all of them. I dunno, just seems suspect and is actually keeping me from trying one out.

LG OLED65E6P, Samsung PN64H5000
Samsung UBD-8500K, LG BD 570
Polk RTi Towers, STi surrounds
Polk Subwoofer
Sony DH550 AVR
RoadLizard is offline  
post #24046 of 24667 Old 11-10-2016, 05:21 AM
One-Man Content Creator
 
wmcclain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 21,754
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3013 Post(s)
Liked: 2287
In the great scheme of things, OPPO is a small company. The big companies look at size when considering partners. They want maximum number of eyeballs on their services.

OPPO has always said they are open to new services but the problem is getting the attention of the other players.

In other words: you can't push a rope. Someone has to be pulling on the other end.

-Bill
leemathre likes this.

Review older films here: 1979 and earlier | 1980s | 1990s | Combined reviews: Strange Picture Scroll
Unofficial OPPO FAQS: UDP-203 | BDP-103 | BDP-93 | BDP-83 | BDP-80    
wmcclain is online now  
post #24047 of 24667 Old 11-10-2016, 07:31 AM
Member
 
smoorenc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 91
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 30 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Anyone try the new Star Trek Beyond movie with Atmos? What was strange is my other movies (even those with complex threads that lock up) show Atmos. When the new Star Trek didn't show Atmos I did the normal checking AUTO and then I even threw in the Dolby Atmos demo disk. It went straight to Atmos on my receiver, but not Star Trek. Anyone else have this issue? And I triple checked that it is the bluray and it even as ATMOS printed on the disk.

Gets stranger. Non of my ATMOS disks go into atmos mode now. BUT I have an atmos sample disk where I have to go into the files to play and it works. Did they disable ATMOS via bluray playback with latest firmware update? I looked and mine is at the latest.

Thanks
Scott

Last edited by smoorenc; 11-10-2016 at 08:24 AM. Reason: missed something
smoorenc is offline  
post #24048 of 24667 Old 11-10-2016, 07:59 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
rdgrimes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Nuevo Mexico
Posts: 19,192
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2236 Post(s)
Liked: 1573
Quote:
Originally Posted by smoorenc View Post
Anyone try the new Star Trek Beyond movie with Atmos? What was strange is my other movies (even those with complex threads that lock up) show Atmos. When the new Star Trek didn't show Atmos I did the normal checking bitstream and then I even threw in the Dolby Atmos demo disk. It went straight to Atmos on my receiver, but not Star Trek. Anyone else have this issue? And I triple checked that it is the bluray and it even as ATMOS printed on the disk.
I checked using the regular BD that comes with the UHD release, and it defaults to the (THD 7.1) Atmos audio.
rdgrimes is offline  
post #24049 of 24667 Old 11-10-2016, 11:55 AM
Senior Member
 
NCCaniac's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 367
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 58 Post(s)
Liked: 89
Quote:
Originally Posted by wmcclain View Post
In the great scheme of things, OPPO is a small company. The big companies look at size when considering partners. They want maximum number of eyeballs on their services.

OPPO has always said they are open to new services but the problem is getting the attention of the other players.

In other words: you can't push a rope. Someone has to be pulling on the other end.

-Bill
What Bill is getting at is Oppo does not write the apps. The company that owns the app has to write a version for each device that hosts it (e.g., Roku stick, smart TVs, BD players, etc.).
NCCaniac is offline  
post #24050 of 24667 Old 11-10-2016, 12:19 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
tezster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Mississauga, Canada
Posts: 1,390
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 449 Post(s)
Liked: 328
Update on my 103 warranty repair:
  • Player sent to dealer last week Wednesday
  • Received Friday, awaiting loader
  • Repaired and shipped back on Monday
  • Picked-up yesterday as I wasn't home Tuesday
  • Tested and everything works

All's well that ends well
gsr, gwsat and Smarty-pants like this.

Last edited by tezster; 11-10-2016 at 12:34 PM. Reason: typo
tezster is online now  
post #24051 of 24667 Old 11-10-2016, 12:30 PM
Member
 
smoorenc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 91
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 30 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by rdgrimes View Post
I checked using the regular BD that comes with the UHD release, and it defaults to the (THD 7.1) Atmos audio.
Well it is fixed. I went and bought a $99 sony blu ray player and everything is working in Atmos now! Kind of makes me wonder about waiting for the 203...
smoorenc is offline  
post #24052 of 24667 Old 11-10-2016, 01:27 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
rdgrimes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Nuevo Mexico
Posts: 19,192
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2236 Post(s)
Liked: 1573
Quote:
Originally Posted by smoorenc View Post
Well it is fixed. I went and bought a $99 sony blu ray player and everything is working in Atmos now! Kind of makes me wonder about waiting for the 203...
The Oppo bitstreams any Atmos track just fine. Any failure in that regard is down to operator error or some issue in a connected device. There's nothing particularly special about Atmos tracks, they are simply THD 7.1 with extra metadata. IOW any device that bitstreams THD 7.1 will pass Atmos.
gsr, Smarty-pants and hernanu like this.
rdgrimes is offline  
post #24053 of 24667 Old 11-10-2016, 01:59 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
SeeMoreDigital's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Nott'm, UK
Posts: 2,538
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 480 Post(s)
Liked: 200
Quote:
Originally Posted by rdgrimes View Post
The Oppo bitstreams any Atmos track just fine. Any failure in that regard is down to operator error or some issue in a connected device. There's nothing particularly special about Atmos tracks, they are simply THD 7.1 with extra metadata. IOW any device that bitstreams THD 7.1 will pass Atmos.
Agreed...

My Dolby (TrueHD) Atmos and DTS-X Blu-ray disc's spin fine and bit-stream perfectly via HDMI. However, 'she who must be obeyed' hates it

I SUPPORT 'FAIR USE'. MY MORALS PREVENT ME FROM HELPING ANYONE WHO OBTAINS COPYRIGHTED CONTENT ILLEGITIMATELY
I've been testing hardware media playback devices and software A/V encoders and decoders since 2001 | My Network Layout and A/V Gear
SeeMoreDigital is offline  
post #24054 of 24667 Old 11-10-2016, 03:24 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
pbarach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Northeast Ohio
Posts: 3,032
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 354 Post(s)
Liked: 206
Quote:
Originally Posted by RoadLizard View Post
Why are these Oppo players so stingy with the streaming apps? For their cost and supposed "state of the art" engineering..... wheres the apps? I realize that many of the TVs have that stuff built in but NOT all of them. I dunno, just seems suspect and is actually keeping me from trying one out.
I like my Oppo 103 for things other than streaming apps, such as disc play and the ability to stream all kinds of files from a PC on my home network. I use the Netflix app often and the Vudu app once in a while. But if you don't have a TV with lots of apps, why not buy a cheap Roku and connect it to an Oppo HDMI input--you can have all the apps you want for a small additional outlay.

I'm guessing that updates and new apps on the Roku are more numerous than on those "smart TVs."

AT&T U-Verse Northeast Ohio

Denon x4000, Carver m1.0t, Samsung LED TV, B&W 704 mains, two M&K subwoofers, Oppo 103, Roku 2, etc.
Headphone system: Sennheiser HD600, AKG K702, Hifiman HE-400i, Marantz HD-DAC1 (also used for music playback in the main system, Marantz CD5004, Denon DVD-3910
pbarach is online now  
post #24055 of 24667 Old 11-10-2016, 04:24 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
RoadLizard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Upstate, NY
Posts: 1,146
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 681 Post(s)
Liked: 557
Quote:
Originally Posted by pbarach View Post
I like my Oppo 103 for things other than streaming apps, such as disc play and the ability to stream all kinds of files from a PC on my home network. I use the Netflix app often and the Vudu app once in a while. But if you don't have a TV with lots of apps, why not buy a cheap Roku and connect it to an Oppo HDMI input--you can have all the apps you want for a small additional outlay.

I'm guessing that updates and new apps on the Roku are more numerous than on those "smart TVs."
Yeah, I'm hearing ya. I have a "lowly" and dumb plasma so I'm at the mercy of other devices for apps. Using an Xbox one s right now to try it out so that has them all. Two issues for me: I just can't bring myself to upgrade my TV since I'm pleased with the picture quality and nothing out there will cut it for me sans spending a boatload of money. Even then, I'm just used to plasma blacks, motion, viewing angles, and uniformity. Too many current LCDs simply don't do these things as well as I'd like. OLED has potential but the entry cost is too high right now and the tech is still having its bugs worked out IMO.

Second issue is that if I went with the Oppo I'd have to then get a roku or whatever which is more stuff to get. I dunno. Rather the BD player handle all of that stuff. I do like the oppo quality though.

LG OLED65E6P, Samsung PN64H5000
Samsung UBD-8500K, LG BD 570
Polk RTi Towers, STi surrounds
Polk Subwoofer
Sony DH550 AVR
RoadLizard is offline  
post #24056 of 24667 Old 11-10-2016, 05:27 PM
Member
 
smoorenc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 91
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 30 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by SeeMoreDigital View Post
Agreed...

My Dolby (TrueHD) Atmos and DTS-X Blu-ray disc's spin fine and bit-stream perfectly via HDMI. However, 'she who must be obeyed' hates it
It use to work and just stopped. Also, I noticed that in bitstream the most it started passing was 5.1, in LPCM it was still 7.1. I thought it might be my receiver at one point. But it was my OPPO 95. It used to work, in fact I remember watching John Wick in atmos and The Fifth Element until it got to the part where all the 93/95's stopped. So its not operator error, something broke on my OPPO. I have OPPO's from way back when they first had their DVD players. So I understand their quality and don't hate them. But they do break...
smoorenc is offline  
post #24057 of 24667 Old 11-11-2016, 01:54 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
fmalczewski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 1,141
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 111 Post(s)
Liked: 45
Quote:
Originally Posted by smoorenc View Post
Well it is fixed. I went and bought a $99 sony blu ray player and everything is working in Atmos now! Kind of makes me wonder about waiting for the 203...
The Oppo 93/95 have some limitations regarding streaming certain TrueHD soundtracks, the ones that just so happen to typically accompany Atmos, resulting in some audio dropouts. So it's either the dropouts or no Atmos with certain discs. 103/105 don't have any such limitations, that I know of. So the 203 should be fine too.

But I would more likely suspect some setting got changed if you were still getting 7.1 out via LPCM.
fmalczewski is offline  
post #24058 of 24667 Old 11-11-2016, 03:15 AM
Member
 
smoorenc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 91
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 30 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by fmalczewski View Post
The Oppo 93/95 have some limitations regarding streaming certain TrueHD soundtracks, the ones that just so happen to typically accompany Atmos, resulting in some audio dropouts. So it's either the dropouts or no Atmos with certain discs. 103/105 don't have any such limitations, that I know of. So the 203 should be fine too.

But I would more likely suspect some setting got changed if you were still getting 7.1 out via LPCM.
That is one of the reasons I didn't want to spend too much on a new player. I have been waiting on the 203.
smoorenc is offline  
post #24059 of 24667 Old 11-11-2016, 05:25 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
tezster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Mississauga, Canada
Posts: 1,390
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 449 Post(s)
Liked: 328
Incidentally, while my 103 was out on repair, I temporarily switched to my 8-year old "fat" PS3 for Netflix. Both devices are wired into the same gigabit switch. I was expecting the exact same UI and performance... I was surprised to discover that Netflix on PS3 offered a superior user experience. Movies loaded quicker, skipping back/forwards was nearly instantaneous. When you navigate to a title's information screen, the show immediately starts playing (almost like a preview) while the menu is overlayed on top of it. Similarly, once you reach the end credits, it automatically overlays the title menu over the video to watch the next episode of the series.

I had never used Netflix on any other device, so this was really unexpected.
tezster is online now  
post #24060 of 24667 Old 11-11-2016, 06:06 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
SeeMoreDigital's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Nott'm, UK
Posts: 2,538
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 480 Post(s)
Liked: 200
Quote:
Originally Posted by smoorenc View Post
It use to work and just stopped. Also, I noticed that in bitstream the most it started passing was 5.1, in LPCM it was still 7.1....
Are you actually playing 'store bought' Blu-ray discs?

I SUPPORT 'FAIR USE'. MY MORALS PREVENT ME FROM HELPING ANYONE WHO OBTAINS COPYRIGHTED CONTENT ILLEGITIMATELY
I've been testing hardware media playback devices and software A/V encoders and decoders since 2001 | My Network Layout and A/V Gear
SeeMoreDigital is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Blu-ray Players

Tags
Oppo Bdp 103 3d Blu Ray Player , Oppo Bdp 105 Blu Ray Player , Oppo Bdp 93 Blu Ray Player , Oppo Digital Inc

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off