Official OPPO BDP-103 Owner's Thread - Page 805 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews

Forum Jump: 
 806Likes
Reply
Thread Tools
post #24121 of 24149 Unread 12-03-2016, 10:58 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
rdgrimes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Nuevo Mexico
Posts: 18,557
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1667 Post(s)
Liked: 951
Quote:
Originally Posted by aeneas01 View Post
.... re dlna and smb, i have no idea what i'm using, i just set up the network using windows network and sharing center...
It makes a difference. SMB shares show up in the Network screen with little icons that look like 2 PCs. DNLA servers will show up with a proprietary icon like the Windows icon, or a different generic icon. As a rule Windows will set up DNLA services which are, shall we say, unreliable. But it can also set up SMB shares.
rdgrimes is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #24122 of 24149 Unread 12-03-2016, 11:16 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 227
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 143 Post(s)
Liked: 9
Quote:
Originally Posted by rdgrimes View Post
it makes a difference. Smb shares show up in the network screen with little icons that look like 2 pcs. Dnla servers will show up with a proprietary icon like the windows ichttp://www.avsforum.com/forum/attachment.php?attachmentid=1804529&stc=1&d=148078 8779on, or a different generic icon. As a rule windows will set up dnla services which are, shall we say, unreliable. But it can also set up smb shares.
are you referring to either of these two screens?

Click image for larger version

Name:	01.jpg
Views:	50
Size:	24.2 KB
ID:	1804529

Click image for larger version

Name:	02.jpg
Views:	50
Size:	80.9 KB
ID:	1804537
aeneas01 is offline  
post #24123 of 24149 Unread 12-03-2016, 11:18 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
rdgrimes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Nuevo Mexico
Posts: 18,557
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1667 Post(s)
Liked: 951
Quote:
Originally Posted by aeneas01 View Post
are you referring to either of these two screens?
No, the Oppo's network screen
rdgrimes is offline  
post #24124 of 24149 Unread 12-03-2016, 06:41 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 227
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 143 Post(s)
Liked: 9
Quote:
Originally Posted by rdgrimes View Post
No, the Oppo's network screen
ok, gotcha, thanks very much, in that case my network has always been set to smb, i've always had the 2 pcs icon on my oppo screen.... so should i try to make it dnla? don't really know how to do this... also, i did remove and reset all permissions on the external hard drive, didn't resolve the issue...
aeneas01 is offline  
post #24125 of 24149 Unread 12-03-2016, 09:06 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
rdgrimes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Nuevo Mexico
Posts: 18,557
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1667 Post(s)
Liked: 951
Quote:
Originally Posted by aeneas01 View Post
ok, gotcha, thanks very much, in that case my network has always been set to smb, i've always had the 2 pcs icon on my oppo screen.... so should i try to make it dnla? don't really know how to do this... also, i did remove and reset all permissions on the external hard drive, didn't resolve the issue...
It's hard to say without being there, but it sounds like the problem is at the source, not in the player. You can try doing a full reset of the player and select the option to remove all accounts.
rdgrimes is offline  
post #24126 of 24149 Unread 12-03-2016, 11:02 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 227
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 143 Post(s)
Liked: 9
Quote:
Originally Posted by rdgrimes View Post
It's hard to say without being there, but it sounds like the problem is at the source, not in the player. You can try doing a full reset of the player and select the option to remove all accounts.
thing is, if it was a problem at the source (external hard drive), why would the hard drive been seen by all of the other networked devices, not only seen but perfectly functional? for example, the tablet (diagram below) has always seen the hard drive just fine and has never had a problem streaming movie files from it...

Click image for larger version

Name:	01.jpg
Views:	38
Size:	68.9 KB
ID:	1806321
aeneas01 is offline  
post #24127 of 24149 Unread 12-04-2016, 03:36 AM
AVS Special Member
 
SeeMoreDigital's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Nott'm, UK
Posts: 2,526
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 458 Post(s)
Liked: 193
Hi aeneas01,

If you're interested, there is a dedicated topic about DLNA/UPnP file sharing. Which can be found here: Oppo BDP-83/93/95/103/105 DLNA/UPnP thread

That being said. As your media file collection grows along with the number of devices you wish to play them on, you may want to consider different file storage options, such as an NAS.


Cheers

I SUPPORT 'FAIR USE'. MY MORALS PREVENT ME FROM HELPING ANYONE WHO OBTAINS COPYRIGHTED CONTENT ILLEGITIMATELY
I've been testing hardware media playback devices and software A/V encoders and decoders since 2001 | My Network Layout and A/V Gear
SeeMoreDigital is offline  
post #24128 of 24149 Unread 12-04-2016, 07:30 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 227
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 143 Post(s)
Liked: 9
well after resetting permissions again, this time for all shared folders, and rebooting my pc, lo and behold the external drive can now, once again, be seen by the oppo... interestingly tho, the twin pc icon only appears next to server (external hard drive) in the oppo screen, whereas a windows-like device icon appears next to the tablet, iirc they both used to have the twin pc icon, but i'm not positive... hopefully the advice to change the oppo setting from quick-start to energy efficient will keep the connection stable, fingers crossed... anyway thanks very much for your help guys!
aeneas01 is offline  
post #24129 of 24149 Unread Yesterday, 08:29 AM
Advanced Member
 
sharok's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Tucson, AZ
Posts: 633
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 154 Post(s)
Liked: 57
Can I pass Netflix 4K movies from Oppo 103 to my 4K TV with a Darblet connected in between or should I not use the external Darblet with 103 for that purpose?
sharok is offline  
post #24130 of 24149 Unread Yesterday, 08:34 AM
One-Man Content Creator
 
wmcclain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 20,536
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2113 Post(s)
Liked: 1078
Quote:
Originally Posted by sharok View Post
Can I pass Netflix 4K movies from Oppo 103 to my 4K TV with a Darblet connected in between or should I not use the external Darblet with 103 for that purpose?
Neither the OPPO nor the Darblet will pass 4k video. The OPPO will output 4k as upscaled video, but will not accept 4k input.

-Bill

Review older films here: 1979 and earlier | 1980s | 1990s | Combined reviews: Strange Picture Scroll
Unofficial OPPO FAQS: BDP-103 | BDP-93 | BDP-83 | BDP-80    
wmcclain is online now  
post #24131 of 24149 Unread Yesterday, 08:50 AM
Advanced Member
 
sharok's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Tucson, AZ
Posts: 633
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 154 Post(s)
Liked: 57
Quote:
Originally Posted by wmcclain View Post
Neither the OPPO nor the Darblet will pass 4k video. The OPPO will output 4k as upscaled video, but will not accept 4k input.

-Bill
Hi Bill,
The Oppo 103 manual says it can output 4Kx2K:
Auto (default)




– Output 4Kx2K if the resolution is supported by the display and the content is
suitable for 4K up-scaling. The player automatically checks for 4K compatibility of the TV or


projector. If the display is compatible and the content being played has a 24Hz (or 23.976Hz)


frame rate, the player sends 4Kx2K video from its HDMI output terminal; otherwise, the HDMI


video is sent out at 1080p resolution or less depending on the display’s capability.










































sharok is offline  
post #24132 of 24149 Unread Yesterday, 09:07 AM
One-Man Content Creator
 
wmcclain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 20,536
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2113 Post(s)
Liked: 1078
Quote:
Originally Posted by sharok View Post
Hi Bill,
The Oppo 103 manual says it can output 4Kx2K:
Yes, it can produce it but it cannot accept it. You are not getting 4K Netflix programming in the player, are you?

-Bill

Review older films here: 1979 and earlier | 1980s | 1990s | Combined reviews: Strange Picture Scroll
Unofficial OPPO FAQS: BDP-103 | BDP-93 | BDP-83 | BDP-80    
wmcclain is online now  
post #24133 of 24149 Unread Yesterday, 09:15 AM
Advanced Member
 
sharok's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Tucson, AZ
Posts: 633
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 154 Post(s)
Liked: 57
Quote:
Originally Posted by wmcclain View Post
Yes, it can produce it but it cannot accept it. You are not getting 4K Netflix programming in the player, are you?

-Bill
No, I just wanted to plan for it.


But if it does not accept 4K from Netflix, I'll have no choice but to use the TV's Netflix. I just wanted to use Oppo for Netflix 4K for the DD+ audio (since optical from TV only passes the basic DD audio).


Unfortunately, BDP-203 is going to be missing many features that 103 offers when it comes out. Hopefully, it will be updated to where 103 is today.
sharok is offline  
post #24134 of 24149 Unread Yesterday, 11:53 AM
AVS Special Member
 
David Aiken's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Brisbane, Qld, Australia
Posts: 1,043
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 236 Post(s)
Liked: 338
Quote:
Originally Posted by sharok View Post
No, I just wanted to plan for it.


But if it does not accept 4K from Netflix, I'll have no choice but to use the TV's Netflix. I just wanted to use Oppo for Netflix 4K for the DD+ audio (since optical from TV only passes the basic DD audio).


Unfortunately, BDP-203 is going to be missing many features that 103 offers when it comes out. Hopefully, it will be updated to where 103 is today.
Things may be a little messier than you think.

To receive a Netflix 4K stream you need a device which is 4K such as your TV, and if you're using an app then that app has to be written to accept 4K. Mu understanding is that Netflix write all of the Netflix apps you see on players and TVs, and they write them for whatever operating system the device is running plus I think the app "tells" the Netflix server what resolution it can send, whether or not the device can accept HDR, and what sort of HDR encoding it can accept.

I've got a 105, an LG E6 display, and the Samsung UHD player which I bought as a temporary measure for playing UHD discs until the 203 is released. All have Netflix apps. Like your 103, my 105 only accepts 1080p input so 4K offerings do not get listed. The Samsung is a 4K device and it displays 4K offerings but it doesn't display any of the Dolby Vision HDR encoded offerings Netflix has because the Samsung player is not DV capable so it shows just the SDR 4K versions. The E6 is 4K and can handle Dolby Vision so it lets me access the DV encoded 4K versions but I run into problems with lip sync and audio formats at times so I ended up buying a Chromecast Ultra which is 4K and can accept both HDR10 and Dolby Vision HDR encodings and I can get the best audio from it. I connect it directly to my AVR. I don't know if Netflix has any 4K content with HDR10 encoding but I'm in Australia and they have a smaller range of offerings here. The only HDR encoded content I've come across on Netflix so far has all been DV encoded.

So your best bet until the 203 gets some of the hoped for feature improvements such as streaming apps from Netflix and other providers and Dolby Vision capability is some sort of streaming device such as the Chromecast Ultra which works quite well. You won't be able to connect it to one of your 103's HDMI inputs for video processing because they don't accept 4K, you'll need to connect it to a 4K capable AVR or one of your TV's HDMI inputs, but you will be able to connect it to the HDMI input on the 203 if you get one.

So that is really your options at the moment: use the TV app or get something like the Chromecast Ultra.

If all that is worrying you is not being able to get DD+ audio, check out what your TV can pass to your AVR via the audio return channel. You may be able to get DD+ audio to your receiver that way.
David Aiken is offline  
post #24135 of 24149 Unread Yesterday, 12:13 PM
AVS Special Member
 
JazzGuyy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Oro Valley AZ
Posts: 3,145
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 258 Post(s)
Liked: 217
Quote:
Originally Posted by sharok View Post
No, I just wanted to plan for it.


But if it does not accept 4K from Netflix, I'll have no choice but to use the TV's Netflix. I just wanted to use Oppo for Netflix 4K for the DD+ audio (since optical from TV only passes the basic DD audio).


Unfortunately, BDP-203 is going to be missing many features that 103 offers when it comes out. Hopefully, it will be updated to where 103 is today.
The only things the 203 will be missing for sure on release are the streaming apps (such as for Netflix, Hulu, etc.). No one has indicated any of the other features will be missing. The streaming apps are expected to be added at a later (unknown currently) date. You can still expect to have DLNA/SMB network streaming, all the various audio and video disc and file formats support, 7.1 analog outputs, etc., etc.

JazzGuyy is online now  
post #24136 of 24149 Unread Yesterday, 02:05 PM
Advanced Member
 
sharok's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Tucson, AZ
Posts: 633
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 154 Post(s)
Liked: 57
Quote:
Originally Posted by David Aiken View Post
Things may be a little messier than you think.

To receive a Netflix 4K stream you need a device which is 4K such as your TV, and if you're using an app then that app has to be written to accept 4K. Mu understanding is that Netflix write all of the Netflix apps you see on players and TVs, and they write them for whatever operating system the device is running plus I think the app "tells" the Netflix server what resolution it can send, whether or not the device can accept HDR, and what sort of HDR encoding it can accept.

I've got a 105, an LG E6 display, and the Samsung UHD player which I bought as a temporary measure for playing UHD discs until the 203 is released. All have Netflix apps. Like your 103, my 105 only accepts 1080p input so 4K offerings do not get listed. The Samsung is a 4K device and it displays 4K offerings but it doesn't display any of the Dolby Vision HDR encoded offerings Netflix has because the Samsung player is not DV capable so it shows just the SDR 4K versions. The E6 is 4K and can handle Dolby Vision so it lets me access the DV encoded 4K versions but I run into problems with lip sync and audio formats at times so I ended up buying a Chromecast Ultra which is 4K and can accept both HDR10 and Dolby Vision HDR encodings and I can get the best audio from it. I connect it directly to my AVR. I don't know if Netflix has any 4K content with HDR10 encoding but I'm in Australia and they have a smaller range of offerings here. The only HDR encoded content I've come across on Netflix so far has all been DV encoded.

So your best bet until the 203 gets some of the hoped for feature improvements such as streaming apps from Netflix and other providers and Dolby Vision capability is some sort of streaming device such as the Chromecast Ultra which works quite well. You won't be able to connect it to one of your 103's HDMI inputs for video processing because they don't accept 4K, you'll need to connect it to a 4K capable AVR or one of your TV's HDMI inputs, but you will be able to connect it to the HDMI input on the 203 if you get one.

So that is really your options at the moment: use the TV app or get something like the Chromecast Ultra.

If all that is worrying you is not being able to get DD+ audio, check out what your TV can pass to your AVR via the audio return channel. You may be able to get DD+ audio to your receiver that way.
Many thanks for the info.


I think I'll go with Chromecast Ultra and connect it to my processor. ARC cannot pass DD+ either.
sharok is offline  
post #24137 of 24149 Unread Yesterday, 02:49 PM
AVS Special Member
 
David Aiken's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Brisbane, Qld, Australia
Posts: 1,043
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 236 Post(s)
Liked: 338
Quote:
Originally Posted by sharok View Post
Many thanks for the info.


I think I'll go with Chromecast Ultra and connect it to my processor. ARC cannot pass DD+ either.
I think ARC can pass DD+ but the problem may be the TV because they tend to have their own idiosyncrasies about what they will or won't pass. The HDMI connection itself can handle it.

I've just checked the specs for the Chromecast Ultra and can't find anything which says it can stream DD+. In fact there isn't anything saying what kind of audio soundtracks can or can't be streamed so you may want to check on its capabilities.
David Aiken is offline  
post #24138 of 24149 Unread Yesterday, 02:53 PM
Advanced Member
 
sharok's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Tucson, AZ
Posts: 633
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 154 Post(s)
Liked: 57
Quote:
Originally Posted by David Aiken View Post
I think ARC can pass DD+ but the problem may be the TV because they tend to have their own idiosyncrasies about what they will or won't pass. The HDMI connection itself can handle it.

I've just checked the specs for the Chromecast Ultra and can't find anything which says it can stream DD+. In fact there isn't anything saying what kind of audio soundtracks can or can't be streamed so you may want to check on its capabilities.
Ash Sharma (one of the users) uses Chromecast Ultra connected to his Marantz processor and he confirmed that Chromecast passes DD+ and Atmos to his processor.
sharok is offline  
post #24139 of 24149 Unread Yesterday, 03:01 PM
AVS Special Member
 
dpippel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Yoyodyne Propulsion Systems
Posts: 1,144
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 10
But does it support Amazon Prime Video? I think not. That's a big drawback for me. Amazon doesn't even carry the device.

______________
My Media Collection
dpippel is offline  
post #24140 of 24149 Unread Yesterday, 04:18 PM
Member
 
johnnywyoming's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: In Limbo
Posts: 128
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Moving in January and plan to cut the cord this time around. Thinking about the setup I should use. Any pointers to make it better, or comments on what I am doing wrong would be great. I’m posting here because of the Oppo; if there is a better thread let me know.


Goal: to have internet (25mbps) streaming to oppo 103 via roku for television; Internet only on pc that is not wireless; laptop that is wireless;

android phone (using StraightTalk for phone) don’t necessarily need to access internet over phone at home.

Want Ethernet for roku. New apartment has cable and phone lines in all rooms. Will not be using devices at the same time usually… only two of us.

I believe that I could simply plug the pc into the wall as normal or add a usbWiFi device to make it wireless.

I assume that the internet service will come in over the cable or phone outlets (which is better??). I also assume that the isp box will have Ethernet and wireless out…. Is that correct? From the new Roku lineup it looks like I would have to buy the Premire+ to get Ethernet.

If so, then I would run Ethernet to the roku and from the roku into a hdmi input on the oppo 103, then normal connections to receiver and tv. I know that the oppo has MHL input in front but isn’t that for wireless connection only? Obviously, I am trying to stay away from buffering problems.

To top it off I plan to get an OTA antenna and eventually an OTA DVR. Question: How does the antenna hook up to the Oppo? Meanwhile I think Netflix, Sling blue and NFL Game Pass will be more than enough along with our 400+ Dvds.

Samsung HL61A750
Harman Kardon AVR520
Oppo BDP-103
Dynaco A35 fronts
Wharfedale WH-2 Center with dipole rears
Wharfedale Diamond 10.SX sub

Last edited by johnnywyoming; Yesterday at 04:41 PM.
johnnywyoming is online now  
post #24141 of 24149 Unread Today, 08:06 AM
AVS Special Member
 
hernanu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Boston Suburbs
Posts: 3,596
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 541 Post(s)
Liked: 982
Quote:
Originally Posted by johnnywyoming View Post
Moving in January and plan to cut the cord this time around. Thinking about the setup I should use. Any pointers to make it better, or comments on what I am doing wrong would be great. I’m posting here because of the Oppo; if there is a better thread let me know.

.
.
.

If so, then I would run Ethernet to the roku and from the roku into a hdmi input on the oppo 103, then normal connections to receiver and tv. I know that the oppo has MHL input in front but isn’t that for wireless connection only? Obviously, I am trying to stay away from buffering problems.
The front input is the second HDMI input also. It can be used for anything.

Quote:
Originally Posted by johnnywyoming View Post
To top it off I plan to get an OTA antenna and eventually an OTA DVR. Question: How does the antenna hook up to the Oppo? Meanwhile I think Netflix, Sling blue and NFL Game Pass will be more than enough along with our 400+ Dvds.
The antenna doesn't tie into the Oppo. You'd have to tie it into some kind of tuner or set top box. I'll eventually go the same way (go DirecTV Now... fix yourself) and I plan on something like a Tivo with an antenna connection.
johnnywyoming likes this.
hernanu is offline  
post #24142 of 24149 Unread Today, 09:08 AM
Member
 
johnnywyoming's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: In Limbo
Posts: 128
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by hernanu View Post
The antenna doesn't tie into the Oppo. You'd have to tie it into some kind of tuner or set top box. I'll eventually go the same way (go DirecTV Now... fix yourself) and I plan on something like a Tivo with an antenna connection.
Yes, I see... so I will just wait on the antenna until I can afford the OTA DVR. I've been looking at the Channel Master and the Tablo (sp). Channel Master primarily due to the non-subscription guide and I sold their antennas many years ago and I know their quality is excellent. Sorry, what did you mean with (go DirecTV Now... fix yourself)?

Samsung HL61A750
Harman Kardon AVR520
Oppo BDP-103
Dynaco A35 fronts
Wharfedale WH-2 Center with dipole rears
Wharfedale Diamond 10.SX sub
johnnywyoming is online now  
post #24143 of 24149 Unread Today, 09:16 AM
AVS Special Member
 
hernanu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Boston Suburbs
Posts: 3,596
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 541 Post(s)
Liked: 982
Quote:
Originally Posted by johnnywyoming View Post
Yes, I see... so I will just wait on the antenna until I can afford the OTA DVR. I've been looking at the Channel Master and the Tablo (sp). Channel Master primarily due to the non-subscription guide and I sold their antennas many years ago and I know their quality is excellent. Sorry, what did you mean with (go DirecTV Now... fix yourself)?
I think there are some inexpensive tuners if those will do.

I want to subscribe to DirectTV Now in due time, but it apparently has some issues. So I'm rooting for them to fix themselves.

No matter what I get, I'm hoping to source it through the Oppo.
hernanu is offline  
post #24144 of 24149 Unread Today, 09:43 AM
Member
 
johnnywyoming's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: In Limbo
Posts: 128
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by hernanu View Post
I think there are some inexpensive tuners if those will do.

I want to subscribe to DirectTV Now in due time, but it apparently has some issues. So I'm rooting for them to fix themselves.

No matter what I get, I'm hoping to source it through the Oppo.
Just checked the specs on my Samsung tv and found that it has tuners built into it which I never used in the past, but I don't think it could pass through the Oppo.

  • built-in digital (ATSC) and analog (NTSC) tuners for over-the-air TV broadcasts (antenna required)
  • built-in QAM cable TV tuner receives unscrambled programs without a set-top box (cable service required)

Samsung HL61A750
Harman Kardon AVR520
Oppo BDP-103
Dynaco A35 fronts
Wharfedale WH-2 Center with dipole rears
Wharfedale Diamond 10.SX sub
johnnywyoming is online now  
post #24145 of 24149 Unread Today, 10:48 AM
AVS Special Member
 
hernanu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Boston Suburbs
Posts: 3,596
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 541 Post(s)
Liked: 982
Quote:
Originally Posted by johnnywyoming View Post
Just checked the specs on my Samsung tv and found that it has tuners built into it which I never used in the past, but I don't think it could pass through the Oppo.

  • built-in digital (ATSC) and analog (NTSC) tuners for over-the-air TV broadcasts (antenna required)
  • built-in QAM cable TV tuner receives unscrambled programs without a set-top box (cable service required)
Yeah - if you use the built in tuner, then you can't send the signal to the Oppo (no ARC capability in the TV, I don't think) but you can still send a 5.1 signal to your receiver from the TV.

It will only be Dolby Digital 5.1, but your receiver is limited to that anyways.

So you can connect the antenna to the TV, use the SPDIF output to the receiver and get full 5.1 sound, but no processing from the 103, since it's out of the loop.
hernanu is offline  
post #24146 of 24149 Unread Today, 01:32 PM
Member
 
jboileau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 128
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by hernanu View Post
Yeah - if you use the built in tuner, then you can't send the signal to the Oppo (no ARC capability in the TV, I don't think) but you can still send a 5.1 signal to your receiver from the TV.

It will only be Dolby Digital 5.1, but your receiver is limited to that anyways.

So you can connect the antenna to the TV, use the SPDIF output to the receiver and get full 5.1 sound, but no processing from the 103, since it's out of the loop.
^ I believe TV is limited to Dolby Digital 5.1 anyway, no?
johnnywyoming likes this.
jboileau is offline  
post #24147 of 24149 Unread Today, 01:34 PM
AVS Special Member
 
hernanu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Boston Suburbs
Posts: 3,596
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 541 Post(s)
Liked: 982
Quote:
Originally Posted by jboileau View Post
^ I believe TV is limited to Dolby Digital 5.1 anyway, no?
that was my point. The AVR can only do DD 5.1 as well.
hernanu is offline  
post #24148 of 24149 Unread Today, 05:43 PM
Member
 
johnnywyoming's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: In Limbo
Posts: 128
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by hernanu View Post
So you can connect the antenna to the TV, use the SPDIF output to the receiver and get full 5.1 sound, but no processing from the 103, since it's out of the loop.
5.1 is all I have used for a long time so no problem. This would also let me test the feasibility of OTA channels in my area before I sink the dollars into an OTA DVR. I'm sure that I could find it but what is SPDIF?

Samsung HL61A750
Harman Kardon AVR520
Oppo BDP-103
Dynaco A35 fronts
Wharfedale WH-2 Center with dipole rears
Wharfedale Diamond 10.SX sub
johnnywyoming is online now  
post #24149 of 24149 Unread Today, 06:17 PM
gsr
Oppo Beta Group
 
gsr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Massachusetts, USA
Posts: 8,932
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 936 Post(s)
Liked: 779
Quote:
Originally Posted by johnnywyoming View Post
I'm sure that I could find it but what is SPDIF?
The digital connection we all used before HDMI arrived... Usually either a RCA or optical (aka Toslink) connection. The BDP-103 has both output types, labeled "COAXIAL" and "OPTICAL" on the back.

Last edited by gsr; Today at 06:21 PM.
gsr is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Blu-ray Players

Tags
Oppo Bdp 103 3d Blu Ray Player , Oppo Bdp 105 Blu Ray Player , Oppo Bdp 93 Blu Ray Player , Oppo Digital Inc



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off