Official OPPO BDP-103 Owner's Thread - Page 805 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews

Forum Jump: 
 804Likes
Reply
Thread Tools
post #24121 of 24133 Old 12-03-2016, 10:58 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
rdgrimes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Nuevo Mexico
Posts: 18,548
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1658 Post(s)
Liked: 945
Quote:
Originally Posted by aeneas01 View Post
.... re dlna and smb, i have no idea what i'm using, i just set up the network using windows network and sharing center...
It makes a difference. SMB shares show up in the Network screen with little icons that look like 2 PCs. DNLA servers will show up with a proprietary icon like the Windows icon, or a different generic icon. As a rule Windows will set up DNLA services which are, shall we say, unreliable. But it can also set up SMB shares.
rdgrimes is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #24122 of 24133 Old 12-03-2016, 11:16 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 227
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 143 Post(s)
Liked: 9
Quote:
Originally Posted by rdgrimes View Post
it makes a difference. Smb shares show up in the network screen with little icons that look like 2 pcs. Dnla servers will show up with a proprietary icon like the windows ichttp://www.avsforum.com/forum/attachment.php?attachmentid=1804529&stc=1&d=148078 8779on, or a different generic icon. As a rule windows will set up dnla services which are, shall we say, unreliable. But it can also set up smb shares.
are you referring to either of these two screens?

Click image for larger version

Name:	01.jpg
Views:	45
Size:	24.2 KB
ID:	1804529

Click image for larger version

Name:	02.jpg
Views:	47
Size:	80.9 KB
ID:	1804537
aeneas01 is offline  
post #24123 of 24133 Old 12-03-2016, 11:18 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
rdgrimes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Nuevo Mexico
Posts: 18,548
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1658 Post(s)
Liked: 945
Quote:
Originally Posted by aeneas01 View Post
are you referring to either of these two screens?
No, the Oppo's network screen
rdgrimes is online now  
post #24124 of 24133 Old 12-03-2016, 06:41 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 227
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 143 Post(s)
Liked: 9
Quote:
Originally Posted by rdgrimes View Post
No, the Oppo's network screen
ok, gotcha, thanks very much, in that case my network has always been set to smb, i've always had the 2 pcs icon on my oppo screen.... so should i try to make it dnla? don't really know how to do this... also, i did remove and reset all permissions on the external hard drive, didn't resolve the issue...
aeneas01 is offline  
post #24125 of 24133 Old 12-03-2016, 09:06 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
rdgrimes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Nuevo Mexico
Posts: 18,548
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1658 Post(s)
Liked: 945
Quote:
Originally Posted by aeneas01 View Post
ok, gotcha, thanks very much, in that case my network has always been set to smb, i've always had the 2 pcs icon on my oppo screen.... so should i try to make it dnla? don't really know how to do this... also, i did remove and reset all permissions on the external hard drive, didn't resolve the issue...
It's hard to say without being there, but it sounds like the problem is at the source, not in the player. You can try doing a full reset of the player and select the option to remove all accounts.
rdgrimes is online now  
post #24126 of 24133 Old 12-03-2016, 11:02 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 227
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 143 Post(s)
Liked: 9
Quote:
Originally Posted by rdgrimes View Post
It's hard to say without being there, but it sounds like the problem is at the source, not in the player. You can try doing a full reset of the player and select the option to remove all accounts.
thing is, if it was a problem at the source (external hard drive), why would the hard drive been seen by all of the other networked devices, not only seen but perfectly functional? for example, the tablet (diagram below) has always seen the hard drive just fine and has never had a problem streaming movie files from it...

Click image for larger version

Name:	01.jpg
Views:	35
Size:	68.9 KB
ID:	1806321
aeneas01 is offline  
post #24127 of 24133 Old 12-04-2016, 03:36 AM
AVS Special Member
 
SeeMoreDigital's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Nott'm, UK
Posts: 2,525
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 458 Post(s)
Liked: 193
Hi aeneas01,

If you're interested, there is a dedicated topic about DLNA/UPnP file sharing. Which can be found here: Oppo BDP-83/93/95/103/105 DLNA/UPnP thread

That being said. As your media file collection grows along with the number of devices you wish to play them on, you may want to consider different file storage options, such as an NAS.


Cheers

I SUPPORT 'FAIR USE'. MY MORALS PREVENT ME FROM HELPING ANYONE WHO OBTAINS COPYRIGHTED CONTENT ILLEGITIMATELY
I've been testing hardware media playback devices and software A/V encoders and decoders since 2001 | My Network Layout and A/V Gear
SeeMoreDigital is online now  
post #24128 of 24133 Old 12-04-2016, 07:30 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 227
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 143 Post(s)
Liked: 9
well after resetting permissions again, this time for all shared folders, and rebooting my pc, lo and behold the external drive can now, once again, be seen by the oppo... interestingly tho, the twin pc icon only appears next to server (external hard drive) in the oppo screen, whereas a windows-like device icon appears next to the tablet, iirc they both used to have the twin pc icon, but i'm not positive... hopefully the advice to change the oppo setting from quick-start to energy efficient will keep the connection stable, fingers crossed... anyway thanks very much for your help guys!
aeneas01 is offline  
post #24129 of 24133 Unread Today, 08:29 AM
Advanced Member
 
sharok's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Tucson, AZ
Posts: 628
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 145 Post(s)
Liked: 53
Can I pass Netflix 4K movies from Oppo 103 to my 4K TV with a Darblet connected in between or should I not use the external Darblet with 103 for that purpose?
sharok is online now  
post #24130 of 24133 Unread Today, 08:34 AM
One-Man Content Creator
 
wmcclain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 20,534
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2109 Post(s)
Liked: 1069
Quote:
Originally Posted by sharok View Post
Can I pass Netflix 4K movies from Oppo 103 to my 4K TV with a Darblet connected in between or should I not use the external Darblet with 103 for that purpose?
Neither the OPPO nor the Darblet will pass 4k video. The OPPO will output 4k as upscaled video, but will not accept 4k input.

-Bill

Review older films here: 1979 and earlier | 1980s | 1990s | Combined reviews: Strange Picture Scroll
Unofficial OPPO FAQS: BDP-103 | BDP-93 | BDP-83 | BDP-80    
wmcclain is online now  
post #24131 of 24133 Unread Today, 08:50 AM
Advanced Member
 
sharok's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Tucson, AZ
Posts: 628
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 145 Post(s)
Liked: 53
Quote:
Originally Posted by wmcclain View Post
Neither the OPPO nor the Darblet will pass 4k video. The OPPO will output 4k as upscaled video, but will not accept 4k input.

-Bill
Hi Bill,
The Oppo 103 manual says it can output 4Kx2K:
Auto (default)




– Output 4Kx2K if the resolution is supported by the display and the content is
suitable for 4K up-scaling. The player automatically checks for 4K compatibility of the TV or


projector. If the display is compatible and the content being played has a 24Hz (or 23.976Hz)


frame rate, the player sends 4Kx2K video from its HDMI output terminal; otherwise, the HDMI


video is sent out at 1080p resolution or less depending on the display’s capability.










































sharok is online now  
post #24132 of 24133 Unread Today, 09:07 AM
One-Man Content Creator
 
wmcclain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 20,534
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2109 Post(s)
Liked: 1069
Quote:
Originally Posted by sharok View Post
Hi Bill,
The Oppo 103 manual says it can output 4Kx2K:
Yes, it can produce it but it cannot accept it. You are not getting 4K Netflix programming in the player, are you?

-Bill

Review older films here: 1979 and earlier | 1980s | 1990s | Combined reviews: Strange Picture Scroll
Unofficial OPPO FAQS: BDP-103 | BDP-93 | BDP-83 | BDP-80    
wmcclain is online now  
post #24133 of 24133 Unread Today, 09:15 AM
Advanced Member
 
sharok's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Tucson, AZ
Posts: 628
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 145 Post(s)
Liked: 53
Quote:
Originally Posted by wmcclain View Post
Yes, it can produce it but it cannot accept it. You are not getting 4K Netflix programming in the player, are you?

-Bill
No, I just wanted to plan for it.


But if it does not accept 4K from Netflix, I'll have no choice but to use the TV's Netflix. I just wanted to use Oppo for Netflix 4K for the DD+ audio (since optical from TV only passes the basic DD audio).


Unfortunately, BDP-203 is going to be missing many features that 103 offers when it comes out. Hopefully, it will be updated to where 103 is today.
sharok is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Blu-ray Players

Tags
Oppo Bdp 103 3d Blu Ray Player , Oppo Bdp 105 Blu Ray Player , Oppo Bdp 93 Blu Ray Player , Oppo Digital Inc

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off