Official OPPO BDP-103 Owner's Thread - Page 820 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 887Likes
Reply
Thread Tools
post #24571 of 24582 Unread 03-25-2017, 09:45 AM
Senior Member
 
J0HNNY H0PK1NS's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 367
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Speaker hiss/noise fixed no thanks to Oppo or Outlaw.

Since I opted to buy the Outlaw 5000 by itself instead of bundled Outlaw didn't want to give me any $ discount on a Model 975 once my issue arose. When I offered to take less of a discount and even a B-stock unit they ignored that email altogether and stopped replying. GREAT CUSTOMER SERVICE! Tempted to throw some electrical tape over the outlaw badges on my new equipment. This way I don't accidentally give them any business. I was able to find a 'like new' 975 from eBay and saved some money.

Anyway, once setup I've got no noise at all. Clear as day and the SQ and the PQ are great running 'Native' through the 975. The OSD compared to pretty much any other unit since 1995 leaves something to be desired.

Still can't complain about the setup. I love what I've got for the small living area that its in. Probably even a bit overkill in regard to wattage and the size display. Still working on hiding the last of the wiring and my wife hates the amount of equipment...but I don't care.

Thanks for all who helped me try to figure out the noise concern. I sincerely appreciate the replies.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	FullSizeRender.jpg
Views:	49
Size:	140.3 KB
ID:	2047969  
KC-Technerd and shivaji like this.

Everything else < Kuro PLASMA
J0HNNY H0PK1NS is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #24572 of 24582 Unread 03-25-2017, 04:04 PM
Senior Member
 
ss3740's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Zanesville Ohio 43701
Posts: 277
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 121 Post(s)
Liked: 38
Hi
I tried researching on the old threads but I spent enough time ... I'll just ask . Today my old 103 took a dive . No Disc... Laser go bad? I tried it several times on several tried and true disc . Once it looked like it was going to go...it "loaded" for a second and then went off ( the swirly) ... I just ordered a 203 off of Crutchfield as we use it a lot . Any Ideas? I looked at Marantz's, as I have 8801 and thought it would sound good also.. but they don't have a 500 dollar DVR player. Its high dollar or nothing ..
ss3740 is offline  
post #24573 of 24582 Unread 03-25-2017, 04:14 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
JazzGuyy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Oro Valley AZ
Posts: 3,220
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 298 Post(s)
Liked: 294
It may only mean that your laser head needs cleaning. I would suggest you call Oppo and get them to lead you through the cleaning procedure as a first step in fixing your problem.

JazzGuyy is online now  
 
post #24574 of 24582 Unread 03-25-2017, 04:15 PM
Advanced Member
 
filmnut's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Thornton, CO
Posts: 956
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Try doing a factory reset on the 103. Failing that, if I were you I'd call Oppo customer support. If they can't fix it over the phone, they'll likely fix it on their dime.

I've heard the 203's are rather problematic. I'd try to fix the 103 first.

filmnut
filmnut is offline  
post #24575 of 24582 Unread 03-25-2017, 04:24 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
JazzGuyy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Oro Valley AZ
Posts: 3,220
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 298 Post(s)
Liked: 294
Most of the 203 problems are being sorted out via firmware updates. Unless you have a projector, the 203 as of now with the latest beta firmware is pretty solid, with the exception of the HDMI input which still needs a little more work. With projectors, there are some 203 features that still don't give projectors the best results. Supposedly those are being worked on for a future firmware update. Dolby Vision should also be coming soon.

JazzGuyy is online now  
post #24576 of 24582 Unread 03-25-2017, 04:41 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
KC-Technerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Liberty, MO
Posts: 1,502
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 78 Post(s)
Liked: 139
Quote:
Originally Posted by ss3740 View Post
Hi
I tried researching on the old threads but I spent enough time ... I'll just ask . Today my old 103 took a dive . No Disc... Laser go bad? I tried it several times on several tried and true disc . Once it looked like it was going to go...it "loaded" for a second and then went off ( the swirly) ... I just ordered a 203 off of Crutchfield as we use it a lot . Any Ideas? I looked at Marantz's, as I have 8801 and thought it would sound good also.. but they don't have a 500 dollar DVR player. Its high dollar or nothing ..
Here's some posts I'm aware regarding the same issue, including my own. If basic troubleshooting doesn't fix it, Oppo can fix it quickly as they did with mine. See the posts below for more details.

Post 24033

Post 24018

Post 23908

Post 23295
KC-Technerd is offline  
post #24577 of 24582 Unread 03-25-2017, 04:43 PM
Senior Member
 
ss3740's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Zanesville Ohio 43701
Posts: 277
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 121 Post(s)
Liked: 38
Thanks you guys . This is a valuable resource ...
I found the shipping invoice from A/V Science back in Jan of 2013...And the original shipping boxes . I'll send it back to Oppo. I'm thinking of a system for the garage anyway ....

Last edited by ss3740; 03-25-2017 at 05:10 PM.
ss3740 is offline  
post #24578 of 24582 Unread Today, 08:08 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
laugsbach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Cincinnati, Ohio
Posts: 2,846
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 160 Post(s)
Liked: 221
I have a 103 & 203 in my theater room and have set the remote code to "1" on the 103 & "2" on the 203. The 103 remote will power on/off both of the players but all the other buttons on both remotes work fine with their respective players...should I try different remote codes?

Thanks!
laugsbach is online now  
post #24579 of 24582 Unread Today, 08:21 AM
One-Man Content Creator
 
wmcclain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 21,673
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2837 Post(s)
Liked: 2084
Quote:
Originally Posted by laugsbach View Post
I have a 103 & 203 in my theater room and have set the remote code to "1" on the 103 & "2" on the 203. The 103 remote will power on/off both of the players but all the other buttons on both remotes work fine with their respective players...should I try different remote codes?

Thanks!
It shouldn't do that. I don't think so, at least. I've had three players and three remote codes at once and they did not power up or off together.

The anomaly I know of is if you cut power to the players completely. The hardware does not know its remote code until it powers up and fetches it from internal storage. Not a problem if they have been shut off but still on standby with power still connected.

So in that case any remote code will power up any player. The player wakes up, determines its remote code and responds only to the proper one thereafter. But they shouldn't power off together as you describe.

-Bill
laugsbach likes this.

Review older films here: 1979 and earlier | 1980s | 1990s | Combined reviews: Strange Picture Scroll
Unofficial OPPO FAQS: UDP-203 | BDP-103 | BDP-93 | BDP-83 | BDP-80    
wmcclain is online now  
post #24580 of 24582 Unread Today, 10:26 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
laugsbach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Cincinnati, Ohio
Posts: 2,846
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 160 Post(s)
Liked: 221
Quote:
Originally Posted by wmcclain View Post
The anomaly I know of is if you cut power to the players completely. The hardware does not know its remote code until it powers up and fetches it from internal storage. Not a problem if they have been shut off but still on standby with power still connected.
That is it! I power both players completely off along with the AVR...

I got confused thinking the 103 remote was powering down the 203 also but it was only starting up the 203 while powering down the 103. I normally power on/off only one the Oppos at a time with the front panel power button after I switch on the power strip...

Thanks again Bill...
wmcclain likes this.
laugsbach is online now  
post #24581 of 24582 Unread Today, 11:23 AM
One-Man Content Creator
 
wmcclain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 21,673
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2837 Post(s)
Liked: 2084
Quote:
Originally Posted by laugsbach View Post
That is it! I power both players completely off along with the AVR...

I got confused thinking the 103 remote was powering down the 203 also but it was only starting up the 203 while powering down the 103. I normally power on/off only one the Oppos at a time with the front panel power button after I switch on the power strip...

Thanks again Bill...
Very good!

For me it was after a long power outage I'd turn on a player with the EJECT button on the remote and have three trays eject! I tried to remember to power each player on and off after an outage but it happened so rarely I always forgot.

Now I use a UPS which provides some protection for the problem.

-Bill
laugsbach likes this.

Review older films here: 1979 and earlier | 1980s | 1990s | Combined reviews: Strange Picture Scroll
Unofficial OPPO FAQS: UDP-203 | BDP-103 | BDP-93 | BDP-83 | BDP-80    
wmcclain is online now  
post #24582 of 24582 Unread Today, 11:44 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
fookoo_2010's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 2,177
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 235 Post(s)
Liked: 82
Quote:
Originally Posted by laugsbach View Post
I have a 103 & 203 in my theater room and have set the remote code to "1" on the 103 & "2" on the 203. The 103 remote will power on/off both of the players but all the other buttons on both remotes work fine with their respective players...should I try different remote codes?

Thanks!
Had a similar problem. Call up Oppo and they will walk you through it, as in resetting the remotes.
fookoo_2010 is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Blu-ray Players

Tags
Oppo Bdp 103 3d Blu Ray Player , Oppo Bdp 105 Blu Ray Player , Oppo Bdp 93 Blu Ray Player , Oppo Digital Inc



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off