Official OPPO BDP-105 Owner's Thread - Page 142 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 34Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #4231 of 11369 Old 03-17-2013, 01:00 AM
Member
 
smaragd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Hong Kong
Posts: 45
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 14
@ demusoke Try adding the covert art as an individual jpeg within the music folder, I have added cover art as a jpg named "folder.jpg" in every individual album folder containing flac or wave files and then cover art displays fine on my Oppo and Marantz receiver.
I use Mediamonkey to encode metadata and have a Synology DS211j.
smaragd is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4232 of 11369 Old 03-17-2013, 05:36 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
BillP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: PA
Posts: 13,697
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 37
I just joined the club and received by 105. When I hook it up this afternoon, it gets plugged into a Panamax surge suppressor unit. My AV equipment sits in a wall unit, and after setting the 105 up, it will be very difficult to get to the back again to unplug the 105 if it freezes (I noticed a few posts about it freezing, requiring one to unplug it). I could either plug it into a switched or unswitched plug in the back of the Panamax. Is there any downside to using a switched plug for the 105 so that all power is cut off to the unit when I turn off the Panamax (other than the inability to use Stand By mode, and needing to turn the Panamax on to watch a movie, which I need to do any way to turn on my amp/pre-amp)? My thinking is that turning off the Panamax could do the same thing as unplugging the 105 in case of a freeze. Thanks.
BillP is offline  
post #4233 of 11369 Old 03-17-2013, 05:41 AM
One-Man Content Creator
 
wmcclain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 16,971
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 213 Post(s)
Liked: 327
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillP View Post

I just joined the club and received by 105. When I hook it up this afternoon, it gets plugged into a Panamax surge suppressor unit. My AV equipment sits in a wall unit, and after setting the 105 up, it will be very difficult to get to the back again to unplug the 105 if it freezes (I noticed a few posts about it freezing, requiring one to unplug it). I could either plug it into a switched or unswitched plug in the back of the Panamax. Is there any downside to using a switched plug for the 105 so that all power is cut off to the unit when I turn off the Panamax (other than the inability to use Stand By mode, and needing to turn the Panamax on to watch a movie, which I need to do any way to turn on my amp/pre-amp)? My thinking is that turning off the Panamax could do the same thing as unplugging the 105 in case of a freeze. Thanks.

In the normal case you can shutdown the player with it's power off command before cutting power completely, right? I would recommend that.

Any SETUP changes you make are saved only at normal power down time.

Otherwise, I think cutting the power externally and pulling the plug would be the same thing.

-Bill
wmcclain is online now  
post #4234 of 11369 Old 03-17-2013, 05:44 AM
One-Man Content Creator
 
wmcclain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 16,971
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 213 Post(s)
Liked: 327
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tasdom View Post

Bill, thank you for the quick reply...

Firmware current......check
Persistent storage erased...check
Power down and back up......check

Re insert Skyfall and cross fingers............BINGO!!!!

You are a gentleman and a scholar. Thank you for the quick fix!!

This is caused by the Java program on the disc finding something in the player's Persistent Storage that confuses it. We have often suspected trainee programmers at the studios and authoring houses are at fault, but exactly what is happening is mysterious.

It is a problem less often now but still happens.

-Bill
wmcclain is online now  
post #4235 of 11369 Old 03-17-2013, 07:35 AM
wse
AVS Special Member
 
wse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 6,298
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 119 Post(s)
Liked: 280
Watched sky fall last night super picture, I was disapointed with the audio not as good as I have read elsewhere! The Oppo is still warming up only a few hours of listening
wse is offline  
post #4236 of 11369 Old 03-17-2013, 09:13 AM
Advanced Member
 
SergeantYnot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 581
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by wse View Post

Watched sky fall last night super picture, I was disapointed with the audio not as good as I have read elsewhere! The Oppo is still warming up only a few hours of listening

Your Oppo break-in period has nothing to do with your experience with Skyfall. As I previously stated, Skyfall is a mediocre soundtrack at best, hardly a worthy demo and filled with stock machine gun sounds and a few bass effects. A much better 007 demo would be Tomorrow Never Dies, the opening sequence alone has more explosions than all of Skyfall combined. If people are recommending the soundtrack, it will be because they liked the movie, not because it has a top audio soundtrack. Get a reference class movie in the Oppo, like Prometheus, in there asap!
SergeantYnot is offline  
post #4237 of 11369 Old 03-17-2013, 10:18 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Jacob305's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 2,398
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by SergeantYnot View Post

Your Oppo break-in period has nothing to do with your experience with Skyfall. As I previously stated, Skyfall is a mediocre soundtrack at best, hardly a worthy demo and filled with stock machine gun sounds and a few bass effects. A much better 007 demo would be Tomorrow Never Dies, the opening sequence alone has more explosions than all of Skyfall combined. If people are recommending the soundtrack, it will be because they liked the movie, not because it has a top audio soundtrack. Get a reference class movie in the Oppo, like Prometheus, in there asap!

try the new dredd movie as well.

Jacob
Jacob305 is offline  
post #4238 of 11369 Old 03-17-2013, 10:22 AM
AVS Special Member
 
JazzGuyy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Oro Valley AZ
Posts: 2,650
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 77
Why is it that mediocre to lousy movies often have the best soundtracks? smile.gifsmile.gif

JazzGuyy is offline  
post #4239 of 11369 Old 03-17-2013, 12:08 PM
Senior Member
 
jimshowalter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 319
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 43
Quote:
Originally Posted by JazzGuyy View Post

Why is it that mediocre to lousy movies often have the best soundtracks? smile.gifsmile.gif

Nothing else to offer.

My system? Google for: Martin Logan 420 CLX Descent Stage Summit
jimshowalter is offline  
post #4240 of 11369 Old 03-17-2013, 12:11 PM
Senior Member
 
jimshowalter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 319
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 43
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pokey77 View Post

Oppo: The cables are Class 1 as they are not designed to be installed in-wall".

In case you're curious what this in-wall rating is about: http://www.avsforum.com/t/1353010/do-i-have-to-use-in-wall-certified-hdmi-cables-behind-drywall#post_20827052.

My system? Google for: Martin Logan 420 CLX Descent Stage Summit
jimshowalter is offline  
post #4241 of 11369 Old 03-17-2013, 12:49 PM
wse
AVS Special Member
 
wse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 6,298
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 119 Post(s)
Liked: 280
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jacob305 View Post

try the new dredd movie as well.Jacob

Yes it had great sound track really bad acting
wse is offline  
post #4242 of 11369 Old 03-17-2013, 12:50 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
BillP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: PA
Posts: 13,697
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 37
Quote:
Originally Posted by wmcclain View Post

In the normal case you can shutdown the player with it's power off command before cutting power completely, right? I would recommend that.

Any SETUP changes you make are saved only at normal power down time.

Otherwise, I think cutting the power externally and pulling the plug would be the same thing.

-Bill

Thanks. Bill. Yes, I always turn everything off (CD player, etc) before turning off the Panamax. My concern is if I have the 105 plugged into an unswitched outlet, if it freezes, it would be a real pain to get to the back to unplug it. Sounds like no issues killing the power to it when not in use as long as it's turned off manually first.
BillP is offline  
post #4243 of 11369 Old 03-17-2013, 12:51 PM
wse
AVS Special Member
 
wse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 6,298
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 119 Post(s)
Liked: 280
Quote:
Originally Posted by SergeantYnot View Post

Your Oppo break-in period has nothing to do with your experience with Skyfall. As I previously stated, Skyfall is a mediocre soundtrack at best, hardly a worthy demo and filled with stock machine gun sounds and a few bass effects. A much better 007 demo would be Tomorrow Never Dies, the opening sequence alone has more explosions than all of Skyfall combined. If people are recommending the soundtrack, it will be because they liked the movie, not because it has a top audio soundtrack. Get a reference class movie in the Oppo, like Prometheus, in there asap!

Yes I agree I had played some 2L Blu Ray music disc it was superb
wse is offline  
post #4244 of 11369 Old 03-17-2013, 12:52 PM
Member
 
JRDiAndrea's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 41
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
QUESTION REGARDING BYPASSING THE 105 dac.

This week i will be installing a new pre-amp/DAC into my system. I have been using the 105 for CD, Bluray & streaming music files from my server on my home network via Ethernet connection. I am hoping to continue to pull files from the server using the 105 but bypass the 105 DAC sending the signal to the new preamp DAC. Has anyone done this? Any suggestions how this might be accomplished?
JRDiAndrea is offline  
post #4245 of 11369 Old 03-17-2013, 01:06 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
BillP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: PA
Posts: 13,697
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 37
JRDiAndrea, kind of defeats the purpose of having the 105 (you could have bought the 103 instead). If I were you, I'd at least compare them to see which you like better (could be the 105's DAC is actually better).
BillP is offline  
post #4246 of 11369 Old 03-17-2013, 01:08 PM
Member
 
angelo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: chieti,italy
Posts: 31
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
dear sirs,

always waiting for more experiences using the 105 as a DAC connected to a pc music server with Foobar or Jriver connected by coaxial cable.

thanks a lot
angelo is offline  
post #4247 of 11369 Old 03-17-2013, 01:33 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Kal Rubinson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: NYC + Connecticut
Posts: 28,403
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 39 Post(s)
Liked: 119
Quote:
Originally Posted by angelo View Post

dear sirs,

always waiting for more experiences using the 105 as a DAC connected to a pc music server with Foobar or Jriver connected by coaxial cable.

thanks a lot

See my May column........................depending on what you mean by coaxial cable.  wink.gif


Kal Rubinson

"Music in the Round"
Senior Contributing Editor, Stereophile
http://www.stereophile.com/category/music-round

Kal Rubinson is offline  
post #4248 of 11369 Old 03-17-2013, 01:34 PM
Member
 
JRDiAndrea's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 41
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillP View Post

JRDiAndrea, kind of defeats the purpose of having the 105 (you could have bought the 103 instead). If I were you, I'd at least compare them to see which you like better (could be the 105's DAC is actually better).

The 105 is very good and capable. However what I am getting is a very serious piece. Shure, i do want to compare them....but to do so I need to figure out if I'm able to continue useing the 105 as a renderer but bypass it's DAC & send the signal to my outboard DAC.
JRDiAndrea is offline  
post #4249 of 11369 Old 03-17-2013, 01:45 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Kal Rubinson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: NYC + Connecticut
Posts: 28,403
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 39 Post(s)
Liked: 119
Quote:
Originally Posted by JRDiAndrea View Post


The 105 is very good and capable. However what I am getting is a very serious piece. Shure, i do want to compare them....but to do so I need to figure out if I'm able to continue useing the 105 as a renderer but bypass it's DAC & send the signal to my outboard DAC.

I'll bet you can since, supposedly, all outputs are always live.  I've been doing that with HDMI output and I will try it later with the coax.


Kal Rubinson

"Music in the Round"
Senior Contributing Editor, Stereophile
http://www.stereophile.com/category/music-round

Kal Rubinson is offline  
post #4250 of 11369 Old 03-17-2013, 01:45 PM
Member
 
angelo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: chieti,italy
Posts: 31
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kal Rubinson View Post

See my May column........................depending on what you mean by coaxial cable.  wink.gif

I'll connect my emu 1012 by coaxial cable to the coax input of the 105's dac...

simple...
angelo is offline  
post #4251 of 11369 Old 03-17-2013, 01:56 PM
Member
 
JRDiAndrea's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 41
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kal Rubinson View Post

I'll bet you can since, supposedly, all outputs are always live.  I've been doing that with HDMI output and I will try it later with the coax.

I'm hoping so. Once I get my unit, which by the way, is the new Viola Crescendo, I will then be better able to determine the best connections. Obvious I will want to use one of the digital outs of the Oppo.....I'll be interested in learning of your experience. Will it be something we will be able to read about in an upcoming piece?
JRDiAndrea is offline  
post #4252 of 11369 Old 03-17-2013, 02:00 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Kal Rubinson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: NYC + Connecticut
Posts: 28,403
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 39 Post(s)
Liked: 119
Quote:
Originally Posted by angelo View Post


I'll connect my emu 1012 by coaxial cable to the coax input of the 105's dac...

simple...

Well, no, I have not done that (yet) but there is no reason it should not work.  S/PDIF is S/PDIF.


Kal Rubinson

"Music in the Round"
Senior Contributing Editor, Stereophile
http://www.stereophile.com/category/music-round

Kal Rubinson is offline  
post #4253 of 11369 Old 03-17-2013, 02:09 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Kal Rubinson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: NYC + Connecticut
Posts: 28,403
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 39 Post(s)
Liked: 119
Quote:
Originally Posted by JRDiAndrea View Post


I'm hoping so. Once I get my unit, which by the way, is the new Viola Crescendo, I will then be better able to determine the best connections. Obvious I will want to use one of the digital outs of the Oppo.....I'll be interested in learning of your experience. Will it be something we will be able to read about in an upcoming piece?

No, I will not be writing about it because I concentrate on multichannel and coax will not handle it.  However, I can test it for you by adding a coax interconnect to my current setup.  Get back to you as soon as I can.


Kal Rubinson

"Music in the Round"
Senior Contributing Editor, Stereophile
http://www.stereophile.com/category/music-round

Kal Rubinson is offline  
post #4254 of 11369 Old 03-17-2013, 02:20 PM
Member
 
Paul Kile's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 68
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jimshowalter View Post

Nothing else to offer.

Yep, the dumbest movies always have lots of explosions and loud noises that show off surround systems. One notable exception is Das Boot - the sequence where they are descending below their maximum rated depth to avoid the destroyer's depth charges is amazing - the rivets popping and ricocheting around the interior make you feel like you are trapped with the crew.

Cheers,
Paul

Cheers,
Paul Kile
Paul Kile is offline  
post #4255 of 11369 Old 03-17-2013, 02:28 PM
gsr
Oppo Beta Group
 
gsr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Massachusetts, USA
Posts: 7,377
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 40 Post(s)
Liked: 153
Quote:
Originally Posted by JRDiAndrea View Post

The 105 is very good and capable. However what I am getting is a very serious piece. Shure, i do want to compare them....but to do so I need to figure out if I'm able to continue useing the 105 as a renderer but bypass it's DAC & send the signal to my outboard DAC.
Within the limitations of the output interfaces (the SPDIF outputs can't carry SACD content, for example), all outputs are always active. So you should be able to do the comparisons you're hoping to make
gsr is offline  
post #4256 of 11369 Old 03-17-2013, 03:12 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Kal Rubinson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: NYC + Connecticut
Posts: 28,403
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 39 Post(s)
Liked: 119
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kal Rubinson View Post

No, I will not be writing about it because I concentrate on multichannel and coax will not handle it.  However, I can test it for you by adding a coax interconnect to my current setup.  Get back to you as soon as I can.

 

Quote:
Originally Posted by gsr View Post


Within the limitations of the output interfaces (the SPDIF outputs can't carry SACD content, for example), all outputs are always active. So you should be able to do the comparisons you're hoping to make

OK.  I just confirmed this:  I am using jRiver to "push" music to the Oppo over ethernet and the Oppo renders the audio via analog, HDMI and S/PDIF, simultaneously.  Of course, with DSF, only the first two work.


Kal Rubinson

"Music in the Round"
Senior Contributing Editor, Stereophile
http://www.stereophile.com/category/music-round

Kal Rubinson is offline  
post #4257 of 11369 Old 03-17-2013, 03:37 PM
Member
 
JRDiAndrea's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 41
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Thx guys for responding. I'm excited to try myself.
JRDiAndrea is offline  
post #4258 of 11369 Old 03-17-2013, 04:13 PM
AVS Special Member
 
dmusoke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Redondo Beach, CA
Posts: 2,407
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 75
Quote:
Originally Posted by SergeantYnot View Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by wse View Post

Watched sky fall last night super picture, I was disapointed with the audio not as good as I have read elsewhere! The Oppo is still warming up only a few hours of listening

Your Oppo break-in period has nothing to do with your experience with Skyfall. As I previously stated, Skyfall is a mediocre soundtrack at best, hardly a worthy demo and filled with stock machine gun sounds and a few bass effects. A much better 007 demo would be Tomorrow Never Dies, the opening sequence alone has more explosions than all of Skyfall combined. If people are recommending the soundtrack, it will be because they liked the movie, not because it has a top audio soundtrack. Get a reference class movie in the Oppo, like Prometheus, in there asap!

 

So if the sound is so lousy(which may be true or not), how do you explain its recent Oscar Nomination for Sound Mixing according to an expose done recently by Home Theatre Magazine did in its Feb 2013 issue (last month).... http://www.hometheater.com/content/mix-master-sound-iskyfalli

 

Spin a few of sound re-recording mixer Greg P. Russell’s movies on a proper 5.1 or 7.1 system, and you’ll soon realize that this guy loves home theater. Having worked on more than 200 movies, including every Michael Bay opus since The Rock (although he freely admits “Armageddon was over the top”), Russell has crafted some of the most thrilling soundtracks of our generation. But behind even the most bombastic scenes are a lot of consideration, artistry, and know-how. At press time, he has received a total of 16 Academy Award nominations, including one for Sound Mixing for his most recent accomplishment, a masterful mulitchannel mix of the latest James Bond outing, Skyfall, directed by Sam Mendes.


How to phase match subwoofers to the mains speakers: http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showt...0#post19542630
dmusoke is offline  
post #4259 of 11369 Old 03-17-2013, 06:42 PM
Member
 
Pokey77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Orange Co; SoCal
Posts: 118
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by SergeantYnot View Post

Your Oppo break-in period has nothing to do with your experience with Skyfall. As I previously stated, Skyfall is a mediocre soundtrack at best, hardly a worthy demo and filled with stock machine gun sounds and a few bass effects. A much better 007 demo would be Tomorrow Never Dies, the opening sequence alone has more explosions than all of Skyfall combined. If people are recommending the soundtrack, it will be because they liked the movie, not because it has a top audio soundtrack. Get a reference class movie in the Oppo, like Prometheus, in there asap!

I agree. Skyfall was a let down in the sould quality arena. Try Quantum of Solace. The opening scene is amazing. And as noted, Prometheus is reference class for sure in picture- and sound-quality.
Pokey77 is offline  
post #4260 of 11369 Old 03-17-2013, 06:45 PM
Member
 
Pokey77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Orange Co; SoCal
Posts: 118
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by jimshowalter View Post

In case you're curious what this in-wall rating is about: http://www.avsforum.com/t/1353010/do-i-have-to-use-in-wall-certified-hdmi-cables-behind-drywall#post_20827052.

Thanks Jim.
Pokey77 is offline  
Reply Blu-ray Players

Tags
Oppo Bdp 105 Blu Ray Player

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off