Official OPPO BDP-105 Owner's Thread - Page 193 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 61Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #5761 of 11519 Old 06-01-2013, 01:58 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
rdgrimes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Nuevo Mexico
Posts: 16,226
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 232 Post(s)
Liked: 221
Quote:
Originally Posted by lordciriuz View Post

Hi!

I tried that but it didn't work. The player just doesn't show any message on the front display, not even the "Hello" message. It only lights the blue led and the soft buttons. I couldn't open the disc tray neither.
But the remote control power button works, I mean I could power on and power off the player through the remote control. Weird. I think it was a software problem, but I am not completely sure. I will follow Bob's advice and I won't upgrade the new unit until I get the confirmation from the technical support that I can do that, even with the DVD regionfree mod installed.

Regards,
Ariel

You cannot flash firmware unless the player is able to boot. Only thing left to do is remove the region mod, if that's possible.
rdgrimes is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #5762 of 11519 Old 06-01-2013, 02:10 PM
Newbie
 
lordciriuz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Buenos Aires, Argentina
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yes. Anyway I have a new unit right now in replacement of the one with the issue. I don't really know if the mod could be easily removed or if the removal voids the dealers warranty.

---
Denon AVR-3313, Oppo BDP-105, Pioneer DVL-909
Technics SL-1200MK2
Dali Zensor 7, Dali Zensor 1, Dali Zensor Vokal
Focal SW700V, Monitor Audio BXFX
Optoma HD33, Furman Elite 10e i
Zotac ZBOX - PS3 - Harmony Smart
lordciriuz is offline  
post #5763 of 11519 Old 06-01-2013, 03:52 PM
AVS Special Member
 
GoldenBoy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Somewhere
Posts: 1,196
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Only several hours of break-in, and the 105 is starting to sound better already. smile.gif Those analogue outs sounded a bit harsh to me right out of the box. I have no doubt they will only improve some more with a few more days break-in. One thing is for sure, the 105 has a lot more punch than my 93.

Brandon A. DuHamel
Founder & Editor-in-Chief
Blu-rayDefinition.com
 

GoldenBoy is offline  
post #5764 of 11519 Old 06-01-2013, 04:45 PM
Member
 
lanping09's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 153
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by GoldenBoy View Post

...

Now, for a complaint, and I see this has been discussed as well, but I've run into the issue with the player forcing the DSD output into PCM with my setup. I have the player attached via HDMI 1 and RCA Stereo Out L/R (on the AVR's CD input) to an Onkyo TX-NR818 and even with the SACD audio output set to DSD, it forces PCM unless I turn off HDMI audio output. rolleyes.gif Too many additional steps to remember when switching between BD, SACD, and Multichannel SACD.

EDIT: Let me add that the Onkyo 818 does in fact support input of a DSD bitstream, so I don't know why the Oppo would be forcing DSD to PCM with the HDMI audio turned on with this AVR.
Try HDMI 2 Out from OPPO. HDMI 1 Out only allows DSD->PCM on BDP-103/5.
lanping09 is offline  
post #5765 of 11519 Old 06-01-2013, 05:22 PM
Member
 
music first's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 70
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Pariseau View Post

That could be a symptom that your settings memory is failing. It's a pretty rare failure, but it happens.

Try this: Set the 105 to Energy Efficient instead of Quick Start. Check that your other settings are good.

Now power down the player normally -- do NOT simply cut off its power source. Settings are saved during the power down cycle.

Once the player is powered off, pull its power plug for about 10 seconds.

Plug back in and power up. Are your settings screwed up? If so, then your player needs warranty service. Give OPPO Tech Support a call.

Even if it passes this test, if you have another instance of the settings resetting, then call OPPO anyway and describe the repeated event. They'll get you fixed up.
--Bob

Bob,

Thank you. I tried that and the settings held. Seems to be OK now. I'll keep my fingers crossed. Thanks again.

E
music first is offline  
post #5766 of 11519 Old 06-01-2013, 08:40 PM
Member
 
athanikp's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Thanks Bob.

I am experiencing a low vocal and have set front L/R at -2dB and the Centre to +3db. Using the balanced connection will make the matters worse then. Better to stick with 7 channel analogue output then.
athanikp is offline  
post #5767 of 11519 Old 06-01-2013, 08:42 PM
Member
 
athanikp's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by jima4a View Post

The XPA5 is not a balanced amp so for short cable runs RCA is usually better.

The XPA5 is a balanced amp. It takes XLR connections and has a switch to change between Balanced and Unbalanced input.
athanikp is offline  
post #5768 of 11519 Old 06-01-2013, 10:31 PM
Senior Member
 
Process53's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Lacombe, Alberta, Canada
Posts: 250
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by athanikp View Post

I am experiencing a low vocal and have set front L/R at -2dB and the Centre to +3db. Using the balanced connection will make the matters worse then. Better to stick with 7 channel analogue output then.

If you use analog out always check your test tones in the speaker configuration. You may hear the rear speaker coming out of the rear and out of the front at the same time. In other words it is screwed up. Oppo has confirmed that this is a problem and they are working on a fix.

Oppo BDP-105 Player
Musical Paradise MP-301 MK3 Tube Amp x 3
Paradigm Studio 60 v.2 x 3 Speakers
Paradigm Studio ADP-470 v.3 x 2 Speakers
Paradigm Seismic-10 Subwoofer
Process53 is offline  
post #5769 of 11519 Old 06-02-2013, 05:32 AM
Member
 
Holzohr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Berlin, Germany
Posts: 143
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by GoldenBoy View Post

I'm sure this has been gone over a million times, but is cue file support only available from USB storage? I can't seem to see any cue files from my NAS. Also, I'm guessing there's no word on Oppo updating this thing to support DSD over DLNA either?

Oppo supports CUE files only via SMB, not via DLNA. When you look for DSD streaming, maybe this thread could be interesting for you. Or this Oppo and Cue Files
At the moment, I have an USB drive connected to the Oppo, with all my DSD files. Together with the MediaControlHD app it is the best way for DSD playback (imho).
Quote:
Now, for a complaint, and I see this has been discussed as well, but I've run into the issue with the player forcing the DSD output into PCM with my setup. I have the player attached via HDMI 1 and RCA Stereo Out L/R (on the AVR's CD input) to an Onkyo TX-NR818 and even with the SACD audio output set to DSD, it forces PCM unless I turn off HDMI audio output. rolleyes.gif Too many additional steps to remember when switching between BD, SACD, and Multichannel SACD.

EDIT: Let me add that the Onkyo 818 does in fact support input of a DSD bitstream, so I don't know why the Oppo would be forcing DSD to PCM with the HDMI audio turned on with this AVR.

DSD output works via HDMI Out 2 only.
Holzohr is offline  
post #5770 of 11519 Old 06-02-2013, 07:57 AM
AVS Special Member
 
RichB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 8,756
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 241 Post(s)
Liked: 242
Quote:
Originally Posted by athanikp View Post

The XPA5 is a balanced amp. It takes XLR connections and has a switch to change between Balanced and Unbalanced input.

It has balanced inputs but I do not think it is fully balanced internally.
Neither is my Parasound, but I still use the balanced connections because they have reduced some noise at my speakers.

Mono price has affordable XLR cables so it not an expensive experiment.

- Rich

Oppo Beta Group

Oppo BDP-105D | Oppo HA-1 | Oppo PM-1 | Parasound A51 | Revel Salon, Voice, Studio | Velodyne HGS-15
RichB is online now  
post #5771 of 11519 Old 06-02-2013, 11:30 AM
AVS Special Member
 
WestCoastD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: California
Posts: 7,355
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by RichB View Post

It has balanced inputs but I do not think it is fully balanced internally.
Neither is my Parasound, but I still use the balanced connections because they have reduced some noise at my speakers
which Parasound amp? Halo?
WestCoastD is offline  
post #5772 of 11519 Old 06-02-2013, 02:24 PM
AVS Special Member
 
GoldenBoy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Somewhere
Posts: 1,196
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by Holzohr View Post

Oppo supports CUE files only via SMB, not via DLNA. When you look for DSD streaming, maybe this thread could be interesting for you. Or this Oppo and Cue Files
At the moment, I have an USB drive connected to the Oppo, with all my DSD files. Together with the MediaControlHD app it is the best way for DSD playback (imho).

Too bad I only have an iPad 1, which Oppo doesn't support with their IOS 6-only Media Control App.
Quote:
DSD output works via HDMI Out 2 only.

Ah, i see, I must have overlooked that in the manual. Not that I need DSD bitstreaming, the Onkyo 818 only converts it to PCM internally anyway, and sounds like rubbish doing it as well. It's just that it's a a bit of a nuisance having to change to separate settings every time I want to listen to stereo SACD via the analogue outs, and then have to remember to turn the HDMI back on and switch the AVR back to the HDMI input the Oppo is connected to as well.

Anyway, thanks for the reply. smile.gif

Brandon A. DuHamel
Founder & Editor-in-Chief
Blu-rayDefinition.com
 

GoldenBoy is offline  
post #5773 of 11519 Old 06-02-2013, 02:31 PM
Advanced Member
 
tranle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Mountain View, CA
Posts: 534
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by athanikp View Post

Thanks Bob.

I am experiencing a low vocal and have set front L/R at -2dB and the Centre to +3db. Using the balanced connection will make the matters worse then. Better to stick with 7 channel analogue output then.
I had that symptom at one time. And I had one of the HDMI output going directly to my TV and the other one going video processor Anthem D2. And somehow my TV told the Oppo that it had only 2 speakers (that I am not using) and the oppo will either remove the center channel or attenuate it a lot (I could barely hear the dialog).

My solution was to remove the HDMI connection to the TV, do a factory reset, put back my settings and everything is fine now.
tranle is offline  
post #5774 of 11519 Old 06-02-2013, 04:09 PM
AVS Special Member
 
GoldenBoy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Somewhere
Posts: 1,196
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
In reply to Holzohr, again, I logged into my NAS' SMB shares and accessed some DSD files stored on there and the 105 played them without issue. :-)

Thanks again.

EDIT: Well, there was one issue, the display doesn't update at all, it just stays stuck on the very first track I selected and also only shows the actual file names and not the meta data.

Brandon A. DuHamel
Founder & Editor-in-Chief
Blu-rayDefinition.com
 

GoldenBoy is offline  
post #5775 of 11519 Old 06-02-2013, 04:35 PM
AVS Special Member
 
RichB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 8,756
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 241 Post(s)
Liked: 242
Quote:
Originally Posted by WestCoastD View Post

which Parasound amp? Halo?
Halo A51.

- Rich

Oppo Beta Group

Oppo BDP-105D | Oppo HA-1 | Oppo PM-1 | Parasound A51 | Revel Salon, Voice, Studio | Velodyne HGS-15
RichB is online now  
post #5776 of 11519 Old 06-02-2013, 05:56 PM
AVS Special Member
 
GoldenBoy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Somewhere
Posts: 1,196
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by lanping09 View Post

Try HDMI 2 Out from OPPO. HDMI 1 Out only allows DSD->PCM on BDP-103/5.

Yes, thanks, I didn't see your reply before Holzohr, who also gave the same response. I don't really need DSD out over HDMI, I just need the player NOT to force the playback into PCM just because it is attached to the AVR and set to bitstream. My solution is to simply turn off video out on HDMI 1 when I want to listen to SACDs on the analogue outs, because I prefer to have HDMI doing the deinterlacing on 1080i BDs and I don't want the added complication of running multiple cables either. Either way, it's a hassle I suppose.

Brandon A. DuHamel
Founder & Editor-in-Chief
Blu-rayDefinition.com
 

GoldenBoy is offline  
post #5777 of 11519 Old 06-03-2013, 07:49 AM
Member
 
jd_alpha's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 184
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Hi All:

I'm running the stereo analogue outs on the Oppo105 to an Elite SC-57 AVR (to the "CD" RCA jacks). The AVR is flashing an "OVER" message that the output of the 105 is too "high" and that I should enable signal attenuation in the AVR. But the attenuation can't be activated in the AVR in the preferred "Analogue Direct" listening mode!

Is there a way to lower/attenuate the analogue stereo output from within the 105? Would swithcing the volume to variable from fixed and trying to lower the Oppo's volume that way fix the problem?

Thanks,
JD
jd_alpha is offline  
post #5778 of 11519 Old 06-03-2013, 08:21 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Kal Rubinson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: NYC + Connecticut
Posts: 28,456
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 77 Post(s)
Liked: 134
Quote:
Originally Posted by jd_alpha View Post

Hi All:

I'm running the stereo analogue outs on the Oppo105 to an Elite SC-57 AVR (to the "CD" RCA jacks). The AVR is flashing an "OVER" message that the output of the 105 is too "high" and that I should enable signal attenuation in the AVR. But the attenuation can't be activated in the AVR in the preferred "Analogue Direct" listening mode!

Is there a way to lower/attenuate the analogue stereo output from within the 105? Would swithcing the volume to variable from fixed and trying to lower the Oppo's volume that way fix the problem?

Thanks,
JD

First, I am surprised that the AVR has any overload issued on this analog input if it is not re-digitizing the signal.  From your comment about "Analogue Direct," I would expect that no digitization should be involved but you should check for that.

 

Second, the answer is "yes" that making the VC variable will permit attenuation of the output.


Kal Rubinson

"Music in the Round"
Senior Contributing Editor, Stereophile

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Kal Rubinson is offline  
post #5779 of 11519 Old 06-03-2013, 09:23 AM
AVS Special Member
 
DanF8500's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 1,027
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 92 Post(s)
Liked: 155
Can anyone explain why Oppo has not bothered to "sort" their files/directories after reading them from either a network or usb drive? I would have thought that would be the first thing that should be implemented once the data is read from either source. Oppo has already updated their firmware a handful of times, but doesn't seem to treat sorting as a high priority. Gosh, it sure is a pain!! The strange thing is whatever Oppo does before displaying the files/directories on the screen, is very consistent....it's the same ordering, but just not sorted! frown.gif I know using a media server application, like JRiver, would solve all this, but I just don't like leaving my laptop on all day long, just to run a server application so I can run JRiver, and push audio files to the 105. I guess not enough users have brought this to Oppo's attention, as that is the only reason I can come up with why they haven't wanted to correct this trivial, yet very much needed feature.
DanF8500 is online now  
post #5780 of 11519 Old 06-03-2013, 10:50 AM
One-Man Content Creator
 
wmcclain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 17,278
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 387 Post(s)
Liked: 346
Quote:
Originally Posted by DanF8500 View Post

Can anyone explain why Oppo has not bothered to "sort" their files/directories after reading them from either a network or usb drive? I would have thought that would be the first thing that should be implemented once the data is read from either source. Oppo has already updated their firmware a handful of times, but doesn't seem to treat sorting as a high priority. Gosh, it sure is a pain!! The strange thing is whatever Oppo does before displaying the files/directories on the screen, is very consistent....it's the same ordering, but just not sorted! frown.gif I know using a media server application, like JRiver, would solve all this, but I just don't like leaving my laptop on all day long, just to run a server application so I can run JRiver, and push audio files to the 105. I guess not enough users have brought this to Oppo's attention, as that is the only reason I can come up with why they haven't wanted to correct this trivial, yet very much needed feature.

Don't know. It's possible they need an API hook from Mediatek that has not appeared yet. Years ago we had the same situation on sorting files on local storage, fixed eventually.

-Bill
DanF8500 likes this.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Unofficial OPPO FAQS:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

 

 

wmcclain is online now  
post #5781 of 11519 Old 06-03-2013, 11:26 AM
AVS Special Member
 
DanF8500's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 1,027
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 92 Post(s)
Liked: 155
Quote:
Originally Posted by wmcclain View Post

Don't know. It's possible they need an API hook from Mediatek that has not appeared yet. Years ago we had the same situation on sorting files on local storage, fixed eventually.

-Bill
I thought the Mediatek chip was only concerned with decoding the video signal. ?? I would think file/directory sorting would be handled internally, by the Oppo player, or the tcp/serial interface protocols.
DanF8500 is online now  
post #5782 of 11519 Old 06-03-2013, 11:30 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
Neuromancer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Navigating the Black IC
Posts: 10,960
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 172
The MediaTek decoder is the entire brains of the player. So all functionality, from receiving and interpreting remote control commands to indexing files and de-interlacing and scaling DVD media, is handled by the MediaTek solution.
DanF8500 likes this.
Neuromancer is offline  
post #5783 of 11519 Old 06-03-2013, 01:27 PM
Senior Member
 
pvanosta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: pvanosta@netscape.net
Posts: 204
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Solved my Wifi (and hi-rez streaming) issues.
1. My Wifi extender (the one generating a 100% signal that the Oppo couldn't log on to) has an ethernet out, which I connected to the ethernet jack on the Oppo
2. Not only does the Oppo now play 24/96, but it even plays 24/192 files streamed from my DLNA server downstairs.

I also discovered the joys of playing DSD files from a usb drive.

Now I'm going to take a closer look at the Ipad app.
If I can get that OPPO Ipad app to access/browse/play my files from my DLNA app (Twonky) (similar to what I used to get on the Ipad app that came with the Cambridge Audio Stream Magic 6), I will be a totally happy camper.
pvanosta is offline  
post #5784 of 11519 Old 06-03-2013, 02:29 PM
Senior Member
 
HowardV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 452
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 41
I was at the Newport Beach audio show last weekend and saw the Dirac Live Room Correction Suite demo in one of the rooms. Unfortunately I didn't have time to stick around and ask my questions. But I did listen and it sounded impressive (and I don't generally care for room correction).

Dirac offers software that you install on your home theater computer (PC or Mac). Along with a Microphone, it measures your rooms acoustics (just like any other room correction device). Per their web page, all music "coming out of your PC" will be corrected. Here is a link:

http://www.dirac.se/en/consumer-products/dirac-rcs.aspx

I have my home computer (dedicated HTC) connected to my Oppo 105 via A-synch USB. Will Dirac be able to have an effect or is it bypassed? I play music through Foobar and Spotify on a Windows 7 PC. And I also have a laptop that can play Blu-Ray movies and has HDMI output. Could I connect my laptop's HDMI output to the Oppo's HDMI input to play a Blu-Ray movie through my computer and use Dirac?

Dirac has a 14 day free trial. I think it may be fun to get a microphone and start testing. But just wanted to know if anyone has tried this before.

P.S. - One major downfall of this software is that it can handle files up to 24/96. No 192Khz sampling.

Oppo BDP-105 Blu-Ray
Spectron Premiere MKII 7 Channel Class D Amp (500w x 7)
2 Anthony Gallo Reference SA Amps
5 Anthony Gallo Reference 3.5 Speakers
Sunfire Super JR Subwoofer
Sony Z2 Series laptop as dedicated HTPC
HowardV is online now  
post #5785 of 11519 Old 06-03-2013, 03:10 PM
Senior Member
 
pvanosta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: pvanosta@netscape.net
Posts: 204
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 14
@HowardV :
I just read this on the Dirac web site:
"The Dirac Live room calibration tool requires a microphone for the acoustic measurements and works with standard sound cards and USB DAC:s. It is simple to use and requires no specialist knowledge. You take the measurements, the software figures out the rest! If you are an advanced user, you can however edit the target frequency response to your own liking."

If you feed a usb signal from your Dirac-powered laptop to your Oppo's USB asynchronous input, it (the OPPO) functions like a USB DAC for all intents and purposes.

So the short answer is that it should work with the Oppo, playing music from your laptop.

The other question (Blu-ray from laptop HDMI out to OPPO HDMI in) you'll have to try and let us know smile.gif
pvanosta is offline  
post #5786 of 11519 Old 06-03-2013, 03:18 PM
Member
 
beatmachine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 42
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
oh boy...All was fine with the 105. UNTIL latest FW upgrade.. dropped frames on DVR (slow and sluggish- live sports almost look like jittery film) SEVERE lipsync even with Netflix content.
Constant lockups navigating through Netflix. Only a power down/off solves the issue for 20 min max. All was fine with previous FW , however i don't think I can downgrade a fw.
Ideas?

thanks guys
beatmachine is offline  
post #5787 of 11519 Old 06-03-2013, 03:22 PM
AVS Special Member
 
JazzGuyy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Oro Valley AZ
Posts: 2,681
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 79
Quote:
Originally Posted by beatmachine View Post

oh boy...All was fine with the 105. UNTIL latest FW upgrade.. dropped frames on DVR (slow and sluggish- live sports almost look like jittery film) SEVERE lipsync even with Netflix content.
Constant lockups navigating through Netflix. Only a power down/off solves the issue for 20 min max. All was fine with previous FW , however i don't think I can downgrade a fw.
Ideas?

thanks guys
You can downgrade if it's beta firmware. Otherwise no.

JazzGuyy is online now  
post #5788 of 11519 Old 06-03-2013, 03:22 PM
Senior Member
 
pvanosta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: pvanosta@netscape.net
Posts: 204
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 14
@beatmachine
Not to hijack your posting, but what FW upgrade did you install and when and what were the supposed fixes in that FW update please?
pvanosta is offline  
post #5789 of 11519 Old 06-03-2013, 03:25 PM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 27,521
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 320 Post(s)
Liked: 866
Quote:
Originally Posted by beatmachine View Post

oh boy...All was fine with the 105. UNTIL latest FW upgrade.. dropped frames on DVR (slow and sluggish- live sports almost look like jittery film) SEVERE lipsync even with Netflix content.
Constant lockups navigating through Netflix. Only a power down/off solves the issue for 20 min max. All was fine with previous FW , however i don't think I can downgrade a fw.
Ideas?

thanks guys

Which firmware are you talking about? If you've just installed the "Official" 0422 firmware, then I recommend you download and install the Public Beta 0522B firmware which will fix most of these issues -- the player lockups at the end of viewing in Netflix are stil being worked on.

The Public Beta firmware does not install over the network. If you have a US model player, download it from the OPPO Digital web site for installation from a USB stick or hard drive. If you have a European model player, download it from the OPPO UK web site.
--Bob


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
. -- Need personal consultation/training?
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Bob Pariseau is online now  
post #5790 of 11519 Old 06-03-2013, 03:26 PM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 27,521
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 320 Post(s)
Liked: 866
Quote:
Originally Posted by pvanosta View Post

@beatmachine
Not to hijack your posting, but what FW upgrade did you install and when and what were the supposed fixes in that FW update please?

Check the first post of the BDP-103 Owner's Thread for a list of firmware versions and release notes.
--Bob


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
. -- Need personal consultation/training?
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Bob Pariseau is online now  
Reply Blu-ray Players

Tags
Oppo Bdp 105 Blu Ray Player

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off