Official OPPO BDP-105 Owner's Thread - Page 223 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 32Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #6661 of 11342 Old 08-08-2013, 11:03 AM
Advanced Member
 
DanF8500's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 929
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 34 Post(s)
Liked: 123
Quote:
Originally Posted by Arashjahn View Post

DanF8500, What preamp are you using?
Arash, I have a Mark Levinson 383 integrated. I have listened to music from my 105 through two different modes of my 383. The first being where the 383's preamp is functional. In this mode, I just set the 105's volume to max(100), and control volume with the 383's preamp. I can also set the 383's preamplifier input gain to one of 4 different parameters: 0db, 6db, 12db, 18db. I set my 383 input gain from the Oppo to 6db (for either rca or xlr). The other mode is where I bypass my 383's preamp, which defeats the volume, balance, and input gain settings in the 383. The 383 is now at a fixed gain for that input. In this setup, my 105 becomes the only active preamp, and I adjust its volume accordingly. Even though I don't have the volume resolution on the 105 as I do on my 383, and I also have to be careful about my 105's volume being reset to 100 after firmware upgrades, I prefer this "direct to power amp" mode. I'm a firm believer of less is more when it comes to audio. The 105 preamp-outs direct to my 383's amp section is my preferred listening setup now.
DanF8500 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #6662 of 11342 Old 08-08-2013, 04:12 PM
Newbie
 
Matteo Barbieri's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by DanF8500 View Post

Hello Matteo. I will try and answer your additional questions. One of the main reasons people want to purchase the 105 is to utilize its internal, audiophile quality dacs(digital to analog converters). When you use any digital(hdmi) connector, you're simply transporting the digital audio/video signal out that connection and converting it to analog on another source, which in your case would be your AVR. That's why I wanted you to use Oppo's dedicated 2-channel analog outputs...to utilize Oppo's dac instead of your avr's dac. As for multi-channel audio, your AVR doesn't have multi-channel analog inputs....so you'll be forced to use an hdmi connection, and decode the digital signal on your avr. If you choose to utilize just the hdmi on your 105, then you will have purchased one expensive digital transport, and as another user suggested to you, the 103 would have been the better choice.

Hi, thanks again for the feedback.
I have done the RCA connection, now I have only to figure out how to configure the AVR so that while playing the analog input it will use the HDMI to display the Oppo menu on the tv set without having to add another HDMI cable / connection
Matteo
Matteo Barbieri is offline  
post #6663 of 11342 Old 08-09-2013, 04:28 AM
Senior Member
 
akopperl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 473
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The manual states that the Oppo only handles 96/24 via coaxial. I have a large number of 192/24 files (2-channel). What happens when you try to playback 192/24 files via coaxial? Does the player mute or downsample? It's a shame that coaxial has this limitation.

Thanks
akopperl is offline  
post #6664 of 11342 Old 08-09-2013, 07:00 AM
Member
 
Holzohr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Berlin, Germany
Posts: 143
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by akopperl View Post

The manual states that the Oppo only handles 96/24 via coaxial. I have a large number of 192/24 files (2-channel).
Same here. A HDMI-Audio De-embedder was the solution to me. Connected between HDMI Out 2 of the Oppo and Coax In of my Amp (as a DAC) it can pass on the 192/24 from my DVD-A rips and 88,2/24 from SACD and DSD files.

Why don`t you use the analog stereo outputs of the 105? (I have the 103)
Holzohr is offline  
post #6665 of 11342 Old 08-09-2013, 08:56 AM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 27,266
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 182 Post(s)
Liked: 814
Quote:
Originally Posted by akopperl View Post

The manual states that the Oppo only handles 96/24 via coaxial. I have a large number of 192/24 files (2-channel). What happens when you try to playback 192/24 files via coaxial? Does the player mute or downsample? It's a shame that coaxial has this limitation.

Thanks

Quote:
Originally Posted by Holzohr View Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by akopperl View Post

The manual states that the Oppo only handles 96/24 via coaxial. I have a large number of 192/24 files (2-channel).
Same here. A HDMI-Audio De-embedder was the solution to me. Connected between HDMI Out 2 of the Oppo and Coax In of my Amp (as a DAC) it can pass on the 192/24 from my DVD-A rips and 88,2/24 from SACD and DSD files.

Why don`t you use the analog stereo outputs of the 105? (I have the 103)

There's no such limitation on Output. The Optical/Coax digital audio outputs (103 or 105) can carry LPCM 2.0 192KHz 24-bit. Just be sure the rate limit for Optical/Coax output is set high enough in Setup. (And that the device you are sending to is OK receiving an input rate that high.)

Have you spotted someplace in the Manual that says differently? The Specifications table at the back of the Manual has it correct.

The actual limitation is on Input. The Optical/Coax digital audio INPUTS on the 105 are limited to 96KHz. If you try to send them 192KHz you will get garbage.

In HOLZHOR's case, the reason he had to jump through this particular hoop is not due to a rate limit on Optical/Coax output, but rather that the particular content he was trying to play (SACD and DVD-A discs) are restricted by the content licensing from output on non-copy-protected digital connections such as Optical/Coax. (His HDMI de-embedder breaks HDMI copy protection.)
--Bob

Anthem D2/D2v/AVM50/AVM50v/ARC1 tweaking guide. -- Need personal consultation/training? PM me!
Bob Pariseau is online now  
post #6666 of 11342 Old 08-09-2013, 09:03 AM
Senior Member
 
akopperl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 473
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Holzohr View Post

Same here. A HDMI-Audio De-embedder was the solution to me. Connected between HDMI Out 2 of the Oppo and Coax In of my Amp (as a DAC) it can pass on the 192/24 from my DVD-A rips and 88,2/24 from SACD and DSD files.

Why don`t you use the analog stereo outputs of the 105? (I have the 103)

I would like to connect the coaxial output from a Squeezebox Touch to the 105 and use the 105 as a DAC. As you suggested, I connect the 105's analog outputs to my preamp.

The issue is that I have 192/24 files and I'm not sure how the Oppo would handle those files via coax.

Thanks
akopperl is offline  
post #6667 of 11342 Old 08-09-2013, 09:08 AM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 27,266
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 182 Post(s)
Liked: 814
Quote:
Originally Posted by akopperl View Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by Holzohr View Post

Same here. A HDMI-Audio De-embedder was the solution to me. Connected between HDMI Out 2 of the Oppo and Coax In of my Amp (as a DAC) it can pass on the 192/24 from my DVD-A rips and 88,2/24 from SACD and DSD files.

Why don`t you use the analog stereo outputs of the 105? (I have the 103)

I would like to connect the coaxial output from a Squeezebox Touch to the 105 and use the 105 as a DAC. As you suggested, I connect the 105's analog outputs to my preamp.

The issue is that I have 192/24 files and I'm not sure how the Oppo would handle those files via coax.

Thanks

You'll need to find a setting in the Squeezebox Touch to limit its Coax output to 96KHz. Otherwise you will get garbage. (The HDMI inputs on the 103/105 are also limited to LPCM 96KHz, but that gets handled automatically by the HDMI handshake between the Source device and the 105.)
--Bob

Anthem D2/D2v/AVM50/AVM50v/ARC1 tweaking guide. -- Need personal consultation/training? PM me!
Bob Pariseau is online now  
post #6668 of 11342 Old 08-09-2013, 09:27 AM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 27,266
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 182 Post(s)
Liked: 814
^ I should add that the best way to play your 192KHz 24-bit stereo files would be to play them as media files -- either via a directly attached hard drive or delivered over your house network from an SMB or DLNA server.
--Bob

Anthem D2/D2v/AVM50/AVM50v/ARC1 tweaking guide. -- Need personal consultation/training? PM me!
Bob Pariseau is online now  
post #6669 of 11342 Old 08-09-2013, 10:21 AM
Member
 
Holzohr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Berlin, Germany
Posts: 143
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Pariseau View Post

There's no such limitation on Output. The Optical/Coax digital audio outputs (103 or 105) can carry LPCM 2.0 192KHz 24-bit. Just be sure the rate limit for Optical/Coax output is set high enough in Setup. (And that the device you are sending to is OK receiving an input rate that high.)

The actual limitation is on Input. The Optical/Coax digital audio INPUTS on the 105 are limited to 96KHz. If you try to send them 192KHz you will get garbage.

Oops, that`s true. For a moment I thought the digital outputs are limited, generally. Thanks, Bob.

Quote:
Originally Posted by akopperl View Post

I would like to connect the coaxial output from a Squeezebox Touch to the 105 and use the 105 as a DAC. As you suggested, I connect the 105's analog outputs to my preamp.

The issue is that I have 192/24 files and I'm not sure how the Oppo would handle those files via coax.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Pariseau View Post

You'll need to find a setting in the Squeezebox Touch to limit its Coax output to 96KHz. Otherwise you will get garbage. (The HDMI inputs on the 103/105 are also limited to LPCM 96KHz, but that gets handled automatically by the HDMI handshake between the Source device and the 105.)

I guess akopperl`s Squeezebox Touch has the EDO app installed? That makes the SBT ready to pass on 176,4 and 192kHz/24bit via Coax output AND it makes the USB connect ready for using an extern USB-DAC. My SBT has installed the app and I was using the 105 (I did a downgrade to the 103 after I bought my Lyngdorf amp) as an extern USB-DAC. The sound was phantastic to my ears. So I recommend to connect the SBT with the 105 via USB (by a "better" USB cable) and activate the output via USB in the SBT setup. After a reboot it should recognize the Oppo as an USB-DAC. A downside might be you have to switch on the Oppo before you switch on the SBT because USB hotplugging doesn`t work.
Holzohr is offline  
post #6670 of 11342 Old 08-09-2013, 10:26 AM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 27,266
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 182 Post(s)
Liked: 814
^ Yes, if his Squeezebox can connect into the Asynchronous USB DAC Input of the 105 that would be another way to play LPCM 2.0 192KHz 24-bit through the 105.

That's a Direct-to-DAC playback path, so no audio processing will be possible in the 105 -- e.g., no Crossover processing, etc.
--Bob

Anthem D2/D2v/AVM50/AVM50v/ARC1 tweaking guide. -- Need personal consultation/training? PM me!
Bob Pariseau is online now  
post #6671 of 11342 Old 08-09-2013, 10:49 AM
Senior Member
 
akopperl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 473
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Pariseau View Post

^ I should add that the best way to play your 192KHz 24-bit stereo files would be to play them as media files -- either via a directly attached hard drive or delivered over your house network from an SMB or DLNA server.
--Bob

If I went the NAS route, what software do you recommend to control music playback?

Thanks
akopperl is offline  
post #6672 of 11342 Old 08-09-2013, 01:00 PM
Member
 
Holzohr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Berlin, Germany
Posts: 143
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by akopperl View Post

If I went the NAS route, what software do you recommend to control music playback?
For Android the BubbleUPnP app is nice. Is gapless playback important for you? Then the Oppo (still) can not replace your Touch. Gapless playback only works via CUE sheet and smb.
Holzohr is offline  
post #6673 of 11342 Old 08-09-2013, 01:11 PM
Newbie
 
BL2012's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by GoldenBoy View Post

Anyone notice that the gaps between tracks played from an NAS are even longer now with the new firmware? I'm using a Lacie Wireless Network Space 2TB NAS and I don't use cue sheets because I'm holding out for them to either add branching cue sheet support or proper gapless, hopefully the latter.

I do have the same problem with the new firmware: when pushing (DLNA renderer, wired network) FLAC files, it takes around 8-10 seconds to go from one track to another one. I think it took no more than 3-4 seconds before. For comparison, it takes less than to 2 seconds when pushing the same files to Foobar2000 with its UPnP plugin, which by the way is gapless. Strangely, it seems only affect FLAC files: there is no problem with MP3 files. Even more strange, it affects FLAC files with numerous (around 25) items in their ID-tag, but not FLAC files with a few (8-9) items in their ID-tag.
BL2012 is offline  
post #6674 of 11342 Old 08-09-2013, 01:43 PM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 27,266
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 182 Post(s)
Liked: 814
^ Do you have GraceNote enabled? I wonder if it is trying to go out to the network for info, even though FLAC is probably still not supported for that?
--Bob

Anthem D2/D2v/AVM50/AVM50v/ARC1 tweaking guide. -- Need personal consultation/training? PM me!
Bob Pariseau is online now  
post #6675 of 11342 Old 08-09-2013, 07:48 PM
Member
 
falconsprint's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 45
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have a media center PC. I route the HDMI out of the PC to the back panel HDMI input of the BDP-105. The HDMI output 1 to my TV. When I look at text on browser pages or windows explorer I see color artifacts in the fonts. Typically the same color as the predominant color on the screen. When I connect the HDMI out of the PC directly to the TV I don't see the color artifacts. I've tried swapping out the HDMI cables to a different set and no help. I'd like to use the BDP-105 as a pre-amp/processor but the text coloring isn't acceptable. I keep thinking the word has been highlighted as a web-link when in fact it is not.

I'm starting to think this might be a hardware defect and I should contact Oppo. Been very busy lately during the day so I keep forgetting.
falconsprint is offline  
post #6676 of 11342 Old 08-09-2013, 07:56 PM
AVS Special Member
 
BrolicBeast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Charles County, MD
Posts: 2,804
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 99 Post(s)
Liked: 284
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Pariseau View Post


Did you remember to set the Subwoofer to ON in Speaker Configuration? Did you double check that the jack you are plugged into is really the Subwoofer jack?

Remove any disc and use the built-in Test Tones in Speaker Configuration to make sure all speakers and the Subwoofer are cabled correctly.

Then use an audio calibration disc (I recommend the LPCM test tracks on AIX's Audio Calibration, Blu-ray) and an SPL meter to adjust the volume knob on your sub to match the level of the other speaker channels when using Analog output from the OPPO.

I'm going to bet that you don't have the Subwoofer's volume knob set correctly yet for use with the multi-channel Analog outputs.
--Bob

 

See, that's just it--I'm not currently using a sub.  I'm running a 5.0 setup (until next week) with each speaker operating as full range.  Through HDMI, my mains & center have great bass performance (dual 12" woofers in each cabinet), but the bass is anemic through the milti-channel outputs.  When I first gave analog a shot last month, I did use the built-in test tones to make sure the wiring was right (I'm glad I did, because my left and right channels were crossed).

BrolicBeast is online now  
post #6677 of 11342 Old 08-09-2013, 08:07 PM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 27,266
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 182 Post(s)
Liked: 814
^ OK, then did you remember to turn Subwoofer OFF in the Analog Speaker Configuration? If not, then LFE, plus any bass steered from SMALL speakers, is going out that unconnected Subwoofer jack and falling in a heap to the floor.

Try this: Set all speakers LARGE, except Subwoofer OFF, and set Crossover 120Hz.

Now check with a calibration disc, such as the 5.1 LPCM test track from AIX, Audio Calibration, Blu-ray, to see what output you are getting for the LFE channel compared to the normal LF/RF channels.

Other things to confirm are that you have Dynamic Range Control OFF and DTS Neo:6 Mode OFF.
--Bob

Anthem D2/D2v/AVM50/AVM50v/ARC1 tweaking guide. -- Need personal consultation/training? PM me!
Bob Pariseau is online now  
post #6678 of 11342 Old 08-09-2013, 08:37 PM
Member
 
falconsprint's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 45
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by falconsprint View Post

I have a media center PC. I route the HDMI out of the PC to the back panel HDMI input of the BDP-105. The HDMI output 1 to my TV. When I look at text on browser pages or windows explorer I see color artifacts in the fonts. Typically the same color as the predominant color on the screen. When I connect the HDMI out of the PC directly to the TV I don't see the color artifacts. I've tried swapping out the HDMI cables to a different set and no help. I'd like to use the BDP-105 as a pre-amp/processor but the text coloring isn't acceptable. I keep thinking the word has been highlighted as a web-link when in fact it is not.

I'm starting to think this might be a hardware defect and I should contact Oppo. Been very busy lately during the day so I keep forgetting.

I see them same problem with the HDMI port on the front.
falconsprint is offline  
post #6679 of 11342 Old 08-10-2013, 07:19 AM
Newbie
 
BL2012's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Pariseau View Post

^ Do you have GraceNote enabled? I wonder if it is trying to go out to the network for info, even though FLAC is probably still not supported for that?
--Bob

No, GraceNote is disabled.
Besides, note that I have the european model (BDP-105EU).
BL2012 is offline  
post #6680 of 11342 Old 08-10-2013, 07:40 AM
Member
 
Meffy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Sweden,Stockholm
Posts: 53
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello ppl,im new to this forum,i have a question to you guys regarding dedicated stereo.I've just purchased myself an Oppo BDP-105 and a Marantz av 8801, and i would like to use to play my cd disks (beside HT) as if it would be a standalone HI-FI deticated stereo system,means play stereo music to use my FL/FR speakers (Monitor Audio RX8) full range,with bass as i said as if it was a dedicated hifi standalone system, i don't want to engage my subwoofer,only pure stereo.What settings do i need to change in the Oppo and Marantz av8801.And whats the best cable i could use for a perfect SQ.Right now i have Chord Anthem2 RCA cables which are connected from a Rotel RCD-1520 cd-player to a Rotel RC-1580 Stereo Preamp then to Rotel RB-1572 power amp (also chord anthem2 RCA cables).Would those cables be enough for a perfect stereo SQ or would lt better to buy some XLR cables instead? If the case is so (XLR), would it be better then?(connect xlr from oppo to Marantz av8801)?But then again,my power amps (Rotel RB-1572 and Rotel RMB-1575) ain't supporting XLR only RCA.

Thanks for taking your time guys to read my question.Hopefully someone can guide me to this sollution.

Regards

Meffy
Meffy is offline  
post #6681 of 11342 Old 08-10-2013, 10:42 AM
Member
 
tdo722's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Meffy View Post

Hello ppl,im new to this forum,i have a question to you guys regarding dedicated stereo.I've just purchased myself an Oppo BDP-105 and a Marantz av 8801, and i would like to use to play my cd disks (beside HT) as if it would be a standalone HI-FI deticated stereo system,means play stereo music to use my FL/FR speakers (Monitor Audio RX8) full range,with bass as i said as if it was a dedicated hifi standalone system, i don't want to engage my subwoofer,only pure stereo.What settings do i need to change in the Oppo and Marantz av8801.And whats the best cable i could use for a perfect SQ.Right now i have Chord Anthem2 RCA cables which are connected from a Rotel RCD-1520 cd-player to a Rotel RC-1580 Stereo Preamp then to Rotel RB-1572 power amp (also chord anthem2 RCA cables).Would those cables be enough for a perfect stereo SQ or would lt better to buy some XLR cables instead? If the case is so (XLR), would it be better then?(connect xlr from oppo to Marantz av8801)?But then again,my power amps (Rotel RB-1572 and Rotel RMB-1575) ain't supporting XLR only RCA.

Thanks for taking your time guys to read my question.Hopefully someone can guide me to this sollution.

Regards

Meffy

First of all, I'd like to thank Bob for helping me with the speakers config. To answer your question Meffy, this is what I am using to achieve best audio quality.

1. Laptop USB to USBDAC on bdp-105 and then from bdp-105 directly into anthem rca and into speakers (music setup playing FLAC files and if you are playing SACDs then use the oppo directly)
2. Movies on Laptop, I have to use HDMI out from laptop to HDMI in bdp-105, then again directly to anthem and also a NAD (surround amp)

Basically I use the BDP-105 as a pre-amp. My audio link is very simple.
tdo722 is offline  
post #6682 of 11342 Old 08-10-2013, 10:54 AM
wse
AVS Special Member
 
wse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 6,285
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 106 Post(s)
Liked: 279
Quote:
Originally Posted by tdo722 View Post

First of all, I'd like to thank Bob for helping me with the speakers config. To answer your question Meffy, this is what I am using to achieve best audio quality.
1. Laptop USB to USBDAC on bdp-105 and then from bdp-105 directly into anthem rca and into speakers (music setup playing FLAC files and if you are playing SACDs then use the oppo directly)
2. Movies on Laptop, I have to use HDMI out from laptop to HDMI in bdp-105, then again directly to anthem and also a NAD (surround amp)

Basically I use the BDP-105 as a pre-amp. My audio link is very simple.

How do you like using the BDP-105 as a Preamp, compared to a full AV Pre/Pro?
wse is offline  
post #6683 of 11342 Old 08-10-2013, 12:58 PM
Advanced Member
 
DanF8500's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 929
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 34 Post(s)
Liked: 123
Quote:
Originally Posted by falconsprint View Post

I have a media center PC. I route the HDMI out of the PC to the back panel HDMI input of the BDP-105. The HDMI output 1 to my TV. When I look at text on browser pages or windows explorer I see color artifacts in the fonts. Typically the same color as the predominant color on the screen. When I connect the HDMI out of the PC directly to the TV I don't see the color artifacts. I've tried swapping out the HDMI cables to a different set and no help. I'd like to use the BDP-105 as a pre-amp/processor but the text coloring isn't acceptable. I keep thinking the word has been highlighted as a web-link when in fact it is not.

I'm starting to think this might be a hardware defect and I should contact Oppo. Been very busy lately during the day so I keep forgetting.
You should check your settings in the "HDMI Options" sub-menu of the "Video Setup" menu. Your hdmi output from your media center pc should be sending an rgb color space, so you might want to try setting your 105's hdmi 1 output to "rgb pc level". Just a thought....couldn't hurt to try.
DanF8500 is offline  
post #6684 of 11342 Old 08-10-2013, 02:03 PM
Senior Member
 
detroit1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 460
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 22
since the latest beta firmware, has anyone else had the problem of all video files showing the same time when you press info?

this has happened several times in a row now. It never happened with the OPPO before the last firmware

it causes problems because many times you can't fast forward the files to a specific point; last time it was showing all files to be 3:30 and if you play a 5 or 10 minute file you can't forward beyond 3:30 because it thinks the file is only that long

again, this Never happened before this firmware
detroit1 is offline  
post #6685 of 11342 Old 08-10-2013, 02:30 PM
One-Man Content Creator
 
wmcclain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 16,960
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 207 Post(s)
Liked: 325
Quote:
Originally Posted by detroit1 View Post

since the latest beta firmware, has anyone else had the problem of all video files showing the same time when you press info?

this has happened several times in a row now. It never happened with the OPPO before the last firmware

it causes problems because many times you can't fast forward the files to a specific point; last time it was showing all files to be 3:30 and if you play a 5 or 10 minute file you can't forward beyond 3:30 because it thinks the file is only that long

again, this Never happened before this firmware

Local storage, SMB, DLNA, or all three? Best report it to OPPO, regardless. I'm not seeing that.

-Bill
wmcclain is online now  
post #6686 of 11342 Old 08-10-2013, 02:51 PM
Senior Member
 
detroit1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 460
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 22
all my files are from external hard drive and this is mostly m2ts and ts files

again, this was Not happening with the earlier firmware
detroit1 is offline  
post #6687 of 11342 Old 08-10-2013, 03:13 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Kris Deering's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: The Pacific Northwet
Posts: 6,988
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 65 Post(s)
Liked: 260
I just did a backup of one of my movies to MKV. When I tried to play it via the 105 from an external hard drive it plays fine, but for some reason it plays back as 1080p60. Does MKV not do 24p with Blu-ray??

Contributing Editor/Writer
Sound And Vision Magazine

Click Here To See My Current Setup
Kris Deering is offline  
post #6688 of 11342 Old 08-10-2013, 03:21 PM
One-Man Content Creator
 
wmcclain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 16,960
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 207 Post(s)
Liked: 325
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kris Deering View Post

I just did a backup of one of my movies to MKV. When I tried to play it via the 105 from an external hard drive it plays fine, but for some reason it plays back as 1080p60. Does MKV not do 24p with Blu-ray??

We lost 24p playback from MKV in recent firmware. Probably a change from Mediatek but OPPO says they've working on it.

Even the browser and OSD show an incorrect frame rate for these files, which we haven't seen before.

-Bill
wmcclain is online now  
post #6689 of 11342 Old 08-10-2013, 03:25 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Kris Deering's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: The Pacific Northwet
Posts: 6,988
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 65 Post(s)
Liked: 260
Thanks Bill. Was wondering if I was loosing my mind on that one.

Contributing Editor/Writer
Sound And Vision Magazine

Click Here To See My Current Setup
Kris Deering is offline  
post #6690 of 11342 Old 08-10-2013, 03:53 PM
Senior Member
 
bwv1080's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Davis, CA
Posts: 289
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 35
I've been having a lot of trouble with my Marantz 8801, so today I connected my 105 directly to my amp--wow--what an improvement! I can connect my Tivo through the Oppo, so that covers about 90% of my listening/viewing situations. However, I do have a few analog sources, such as a turntable and VHS. Has anyone tried one of these analog-to-HDMI converters? If so, how did it work? (I have a separate Parasound phono preamp for my turntable, which would plug into it.)

http://www.showmecables.com/product/Composite-RCA-ands-video-to-HDMI-Upscale-Converter.aspx

DALI Epicon 2 front speakers; DALI Epicon Vokal center speaker; Definitive Technology ProMonitor 1000 surrounds; SVS SB 13 Ultra subwoofer; Marantz AV 8801 pre/pro; Parasound Halo A51 power amp; Oppo BDP 105 SACD/Blu-ray player; Sennheiser HD 800 headphones; Woo Audio WA6 headphone amp.
bwv1080 is offline  
Reply Blu-ray Players

Tags
Oppo Bdp 105 Blu Ray Player

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off