Official OPPO BDP-105 Owner's Thread - Page 265 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 202Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #7921 of 12084 Old 12-05-2013, 05:57 PM
Senior Member
 
BillJulyan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 287
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by Neuromancer View Post

Release date: December 5, 2013.
Category: Latest Official Release
Main Version: BDP10X-67-1204
Loader Version: 6U1000 or 7B1300 (BDP-103), 7B1300 (BDP-105, BDP-103D)
Sub Version: MCU103-05-0916 (BDP-103), MCU105-04-1113 (BDP-105), , MCU13D-01-0618 (BDP-103D), DB10X 131030 (BDP-103D)

19. Resolved a compatibility issue with JRiver Media Center software. Customers reported that after installing the latest Public Beta firmware BDP10X-67-1220B, they could no longer see the JRiver's DLNA server in the list of My Network. This issue has been resolved in the official release.


It works!
lanping09 likes this.

Bill Julyan
BillJulyan is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #7922 of 12084 Old 12-05-2013, 06:00 PM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 28,069
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 627 Post(s)
Liked: 1031
eazyz,
^^ Also make sure you haven't accidentally enabled audio on your TV's built in speakers. Turning on the TV speakers in addition to normal Surround speakers usually results in a timing mismatch that can sound like an echoey room.

And if you are using Analog audio output with the Dedicated Stereo L/R jacks wired in lieu of the LF/RF pair from the multi-channel set, also check you have Stereo Signal set to FRONT LEFT/RIGHT.
--Bob
lanping09 likes this.

Anthem D2/D2v/AVM50/AVM50v/ARC1 tweaking guide. -- Need personal consultation/training? PM me!
Bob Pariseau is offline  
post #7923 of 12084 Old 12-05-2013, 06:42 PM
wse
AVS Special Member
 
wse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 7,052
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 586 Post(s)
Liked: 377

Yes just in time :) OPPO rules I wish other manufacturers were that diligent!

wse is offline  
post #7924 of 12084 Old 12-06-2013, 09:02 AM
Senior Member
 
gelly's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 339
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Hello,
I'm about to install the new update. Is there a easy way to copy my previous settings? Thanks
gelly is offline  
post #7925 of 12084 Old 12-06-2013, 09:06 AM
One-Man Content Creator
 
wmcclain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 17,797
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 684 Post(s)
Liked: 389
Quote:
Originally Posted by gelly View Post

Hello,
I'm about to install the new update. Is there a easy way to copy my previous settings? Thanks

Were you running the most recent beta? If so, the settings are retained from this point forward.

If not: they are not retained when you do the required Reset Factory Default. You can print out the OPPO BDP-103 Settings Checklist and mark it up with your local values.

This won't be necessary after the first time.

-Bill

Review older films here: 1979 and earlier | 1980s | Combined reviews: Strange Picture Scroll
Unofficial OPPO FAQS: BDP-103 | BDP-93 | BDP-83 | BDP-80    
wmcclain is online now  
post #7926 of 12084 Old 12-06-2013, 10:37 AM
Newbie
 
thomaske's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm sorry if this has already been answered, but I just got my BDP-105. I want to use it as the A/V hub, feeding the TV via HDMI and the amp via 2-channel analog. I feed my DVR into the HDMI Input Back, so I don't have to change inputs on the TV. So far, I love everything about it...

EXCEPT

About 50 times a day (literally), the audio and video get out of sync with each other when using the DVR. I have read other comments about this happening, and saw in the July firmware release that there was a fix for a bug that occurs when switching audio formats that leads to this sync issue. I am assuming I'm on an older firmware rev than July, and that this is what I'm experiencing. My questions are:

1) Are there other issues that have been found over time that lead to the sync issues with inputs from HDMI being processed through the Oppo?

2) Does the July firmware upgrade get rid of this issue?
thomaske is offline  
post #7927 of 12084 Old 12-06-2013, 12:28 PM
Senior Member
 
Lonely Raven's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Bolingbrook, IL
Posts: 441
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 22
There was a firmware update a couple days ago, I'd check that out and see if that helps.
Lonely Raven is offline  
post #7928 of 12084 Old 12-06-2013, 02:03 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Mongo171's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Buffalo, NY
Posts: 2,065
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 163 Post(s)
Liked: 767
Am I too young to claim Alzheimer's?

I just downloaded the new FW upgrade from the internet. Did the Reset Factory Defaults > Erase Settings. Turned the power off, turned back on again.

Now, I can't connect back to the internet. Reinstalled FW from USB stick. Confirmed correct FW loaded. Still can not connect to internet.

Rebooted modem and router. Still no joy. DNS1 set to 8.8.8.8.

What am I missing?

Life without bass is not worth living.
Mongo171 is offline  
post #7929 of 12084 Old 12-06-2013, 02:11 PM
One-Man Content Creator
 
wmcclain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 17,797
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 684 Post(s)
Liked: 389
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mongo171 View Post

Am I too young to claim Alzheimer's?

I just downloaded the new FW upgrade from the internet. Did the Reset Factory Defaults > Erase Settings. Turned the power off, turned back on again.

Now, I can't connect back to the internet. Reinstalled FW from USB stick. Confirmed correct FW loaded. Still can not connect to internet.

Rebooted modem and router. Still no joy. DNS1 set to 8.8.8.8.

What am I missing?

It defaults to Ethernet. Had you been using Wireless before? DHCP or manual settings?

-Bill

Review older films here: 1979 and earlier | 1980s | Combined reviews: Strange Picture Scroll
Unofficial OPPO FAQS: BDP-103 | BDP-93 | BDP-83 | BDP-80    
wmcclain is online now  
post #7930 of 12084 Old 12-06-2013, 02:19 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Mongo171's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Buffalo, NY
Posts: 2,065
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 163 Post(s)
Liked: 767
Quote:
Originally Posted by wmcclain View Post

It defaults to Ethernet. Had you been using Wireless before? DHCP or manual settings?

-Bill

Been wireless since I bought it. That's how I downloaded the FW upgrade today. I tried both DHCP and manual. Can't get either to work.

Life without bass is not worth living.
Mongo171 is offline  
post #7931 of 12084 Old 12-06-2013, 02:27 PM
One-Man Content Creator
 
wmcclain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 17,797
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 684 Post(s)
Liked: 389
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mongo171 View Post

Been wireless since I bought it. That's how I downloaded the FW upgrade today. I tried both DHCP and manual. Can't get either to work.

Ok, but did you set Network Setup -> Internet Connection to Wireless ?

-Bill

Review older films here: 1979 and earlier | 1980s | Combined reviews: Strange Picture Scroll
Unofficial OPPO FAQS: BDP-103 | BDP-93 | BDP-83 | BDP-80    
wmcclain is online now  
post #7932 of 12084 Old 12-06-2013, 02:35 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Mongo171's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Buffalo, NY
Posts: 2,065
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 163 Post(s)
Liked: 767
Quote:
Originally Posted by wmcclain View Post

Ok, but did you set Network Setup -> Internet Connection to Wireless ?

-Bill

Yes I did. I set it up and did get a connection.

I also went to Wireless Setting and it connected.

When I go to Connection Test, it doesn't connect.

Life without bass is not worth living.
Mongo171 is offline  
post #7933 of 12084 Old 12-06-2013, 02:40 PM
One-Man Content Creator
 
wmcclain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 17,797
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 684 Post(s)
Liked: 389
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mongo171 View Post

Yes I did. I set it up and did get a connection.

So you have ethernet connected and are getting good IP values back from the DHCP server?
Quote:
I also went to Wireless Setting and it connected.

You are getting good IP values from the DHCP server over wireless?
Quote:
When I go to Connection Test, it doesn't connect.

Is that the only thing that is failing?

-Bill

Review older films here: 1979 and earlier | 1980s | Combined reviews: Strange Picture Scroll
Unofficial OPPO FAQS: BDP-103 | BDP-93 | BDP-83 | BDP-80    
wmcclain is online now  
post #7934 of 12084 Old 12-06-2013, 03:08 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Mongo171's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Buffalo, NY
Posts: 2,065
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 163 Post(s)
Liked: 767
Quote:
Originally Posted by wmcclain View Post

So you have ethernet connected and are getting good IP values back from the DHCP server?
You are getting good IP values from the DHCP server over wireless?
Is that the only thing that is failing?

-Bill

I don't have Ethernet connected. Router is upstairs, 105 is downstairs. I got good IP values from the router. I did get good IP values from both DHCP and manual over wireless.

That is the only thing I know that is failing right now.

Life without bass is not worth living.
Mongo171 is offline  
post #7935 of 12084 Old 12-06-2013, 03:12 PM
One-Man Content Creator
 
wmcclain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 17,797
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 684 Post(s)
Liked: 389
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mongo171 View Post

I don't have Ethernet connected. Router is upstairs, 105 is downstairs. I got good IP values from the router. I did get good IP values from both DHCP and manual over wireless.

That is the only thing I know that is failing right now.

Connection Test goes all the way to OPPO's servers. If they are down the test will fail. If it still fails tomorrow then we should verify that Connection Test works for others and explore further.

-Bill

Review older films here: 1979 and earlier | 1980s | Combined reviews: Strange Picture Scroll
Unofficial OPPO FAQS: BDP-103 | BDP-93 | BDP-83 | BDP-80    
wmcclain is online now  
post #7936 of 12084 Old 12-06-2013, 03:24 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Mongo171's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Buffalo, NY
Posts: 2,065
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 163 Post(s)
Liked: 767
Quote:
Originally Posted by wmcclain View Post

Connection Test goes all the way to OPPO's servers. If they are down the test will fail. If it still fails tomorrow then we should verify that Connection Test works for others and explore further.

-Bill

Sounds good, Bill. Thank you for your help.

Life without bass is not worth living.
Mongo171 is offline  
post #7937 of 12084 Old 12-06-2013, 04:22 PM
Member
 
Vocalpoint's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 83
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 17
So - what's the vibe on this new firmware? Kinda scares the crap out of me - knowing that I can "never go back" if something goes south.

Can anyone comment on whether or not it's worth it and why. Seems like it is - but that could be just me...

Appreciate any "intel" from the field.

VP
Vocalpoint is offline  
post #7938 of 12084 Old 12-06-2013, 04:28 PM
One-Man Content Creator
 
wmcclain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 17,797
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 684 Post(s)
Liked: 389
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vocalpoint View Post

So - what's the vibe on this new firmware? Kinda scares the crap out of me - knowing that I can "never go back" if something goes south.

Can anyone comment on whether or not it's worth it and why. Seems like it is - but that could be just me...

Appreciate any "intel" from the field.

VP

For your safety, Federal law prohibits us from telling you how great this firmware is.

The is official production firmware. If you bought a new player this is what would be installed (as soon as inventory moves through).

On the other hand: if you are happy with what you have, why rush? But: If you have trouble the first thing we will say is "upgrade to current firmware".

-Bill

Review older films here: 1979 and earlier | 1980s | Combined reviews: Strange Picture Scroll
Unofficial OPPO FAQS: BDP-103 | BDP-93 | BDP-83 | BDP-80    
wmcclain is online now  
post #7939 of 12084 Old 12-06-2013, 04:30 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
Neuromancer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Navigating the Black IC
Posts: 10,997
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 189
The only problem people had with the previous Beta was the lack of JRiver support which is fixed in the Official Firmware. I see no reason not to use it.
Neuromancer is offline  
post #7940 of 12084 Old 12-06-2013, 05:56 PM
wse
AVS Special Member
 
wse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 7,052
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 586 Post(s)
Liked: 377

Fantastic upgrade thank you OPPO

wse is offline  
post #7941 of 12084 Old 12-06-2013, 06:14 PM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 28,069
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 627 Post(s)
Liked: 1031
OPPO UK has now posted the Official 1204 firmware for the EU versions of the 103/105/103D

http://www.oppo-bluray.co.uk/customer-services/firmware-updates/

--Bob

Anthem D2/D2v/AVM50/AVM50v/ARC1 tweaking guide. -- Need personal consultation/training? PM me!
Bob Pariseau is offline  
post #7942 of 12084 Old 12-06-2013, 06:48 PM
Member
 
Mike Zaaaaayyyy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 131
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Hey everyone! New to this forum but not AVS had a bdp-93 love it ! Now today I just gotten the 105 after hrs of fooling around with it iam very happy with its audio and Picture! Perfect complete to my he Thearter! Just wanted to share the Oppo joy!
Mike Zaaaaayyyy is offline  
post #7943 of 12084 Old 12-07-2013, 01:48 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Pres2play's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: NYC
Posts: 1,672
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 106 Post(s)
Liked: 117
Hey, hey...it works! The player updated wirelessly in less than a minute and remembered all my settings. What a ******* nice machine!

OLED Display: Samsung S9C
Pres2play is online now  
post #7944 of 12084 Old 12-07-2013, 05:20 AM
AVS Special Member
 
JazzGuyy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Oro Valley AZ
Posts: 2,755
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 76 Post(s)
Liked: 99
That new feature of memory for your settings is the nicest part of this firmware update for me. It makes firmware updates a breeze now when you don't have to spend that extra 5 to 10 minutes putting all your personal settings back in when a firmware upgrade needs a factory reset. It would be wonderful if this feature could be added to older models, like my secondary system 83SE. tongue.gif

JazzGuyy is offline  
post #7945 of 12084 Old 12-07-2013, 06:17 AM
Advanced Member
 
TKO1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Canada's capital city.
Posts: 554
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 65
If anyone here is accessing a NAS to play iTunes encoded (Apple Lossless - ALAC, MPEG-4 .m4a) audio files are you able to get the embedded cover art to display on the Oppo? If so, how did you do it?

Thanks in advance. Cheers.
TKO1 is offline  
post #7946 of 12084 Old 12-07-2013, 06:42 AM
One-Man Content Creator
 
wmcclain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 17,797
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 684 Post(s)
Liked: 389
Quote:
Originally Posted by JazzGuyy View Post

That new feature of memory for your settings is the nicest part of this firmware update for me. It makes firmware updates a breeze now when you don't have to spend that extra 5 to 10 minutes putting all your personal settings back in when a firmware upgrade needs a factory reset. It would be wonderful if this feature could be added to older models, like my secondary system 83SE. tongue.gif

Note to the uncautious: Reset Factory Default still wipes your settings. But:

(a) after the first time with the recent beta or current production firmware, the Reset is no longer required. (Usually -- I don't know if that will be true 100% of the time)

(b) you can now backup and restore your settings to a USB device, so even doing a Reset is much less painful.

-Bill

Review older films here: 1979 and earlier | 1980s | Combined reviews: Strange Picture Scroll
Unofficial OPPO FAQS: BDP-103 | BDP-93 | BDP-83 | BDP-80    
wmcclain is online now  
post #7947 of 12084 Old 12-07-2013, 09:07 AM
Senior Member
 
LairdWilliams's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Raleigh, NC, USA
Posts: 308
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 64 Post(s)
Liked: 123
On my unit, the latest upgrade did NOT change the network configuration - and yes, I DID do a factory reset when recommended during the upgrade.
I use a wired connection with manually-configured, fixed IP, DNS, and gateway addresses, (and fixed netmask, of course).
As this is not the default config, I expected these to be overwritten during the reset.
They were not - although all the other configuration was.

In my case, I was pleased with this, of course. But I wonder if this is the way things should have been...(?)

Display: Panasonic P60UT50 (Plasma)
Speakers: (4) Monitor Audio Silver 9i (Front and Surround), (1) Monitor Audio Silver 12i (Center), (4) Monitor Audio Silver 4i (Rear and Wide), (2) Aperion Audio Bravus II 8d (Subwoofers)
Receiver: Pioneer Elite SC-87 AVR (9.2)
Sources: Oppo BDP-103, Roku 3, Cable...
LairdWilliams is offline  
post #7948 of 12084 Old 12-07-2013, 09:11 AM
One-Man Content Creator
 
wmcclain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 17,797
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 684 Post(s)
Liked: 389
Quote:
Originally Posted by LairdWilliams View Post

On my unit, the latest upgrade did NOT change the network configuration - and yes, I DID do a factory reset when recommended during the upgrade.
I use a wired connection with manually-configured, fixed IP, DNS, and gateway addresses, (and fixed netmask, of course).
As this is not the default config, I expected these to be overwritten during the reset.
They were not - although all the other configuration was.

In my case, I was pleased with this, of course. But I wonder if this is the way things should have been...(?)

You're probably correct; I never noticed because I use auto DHCP for networking and just presumed the player and router work it out.

At least one other setting is retained during Reset: the Remote Code Set. It would be cruel to change that. And Parent codes too, I think.

-Bill

Review older films here: 1979 and earlier | 1980s | Combined reviews: Strange Picture Scroll
Unofficial OPPO FAQS: BDP-103 | BDP-93 | BDP-83 | BDP-80    
wmcclain is online now  
post #7949 of 12084 Old 12-07-2013, 11:27 AM
Member
 
edwardkim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 63
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Problems with New Official Firmware (BDP10X-67-1204) on 105

1. Suddently, 105 stopped playing music which is stored on an attached USB hard/SSD drive. Then, 105 became unresponsive to PLAY button on Medial Control running (current version) on an iPad mini.

2. Subsquently, it displayed OFF on 105 panel for 'unlimited' time upon pressing OFF button on the Media Control (iPad mini).

3. It required me to press POWER button on 105 to complete the power down.

The above problems is persistent, and I decided to report these problems on this forum, after the 2 consequentive failures.

FYI
- I previously used the same version of Media Control on the same (and other) iPad and 105 with most recent public beta, without any problem.
- I have been using this 105 since Jan/13 without any problem prior to these failures.

Anyone else having the same problem?
edwardkim is offline  
post #7950 of 12084 Old 12-07-2013, 12:35 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Mongo171's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Buffalo, NY
Posts: 2,065
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 163 Post(s)
Liked: 767
OK...after further review, I reloaded the new FW from a USB stick. Reset Factory defaults and powered down.

Went into Network Setup > IP Setting > Manual. (Selecting Auto doesn't write anything to Connection Information.)

Then, Internet Connection > Wireless > Start New > Manual > Security Mode = None. Changed to WEP and entered Password > Connection Successful. Numbers written to Connection Information. However, Security Mode shows None.

Next, went to Wireless Setting > Start New > Manual > Security Mode = None. Changed to WEP and entered Password > Connection Successful.

Went to Connection Information > Security Mode = None.

Connection Test fails.

Carpal tunnel is setting in on my thumb.

Life without bass is not worth living.
Mongo171 is offline  
Reply Blu-ray Players

Tags
Oppo Bdp 105 Blu Ray Player



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off