Official OPPO BDP-105 Owner's Thread - Page 286 - AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews

AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews > Blu-ray & HD DVD > Blu-ray Players > Official OPPO BDP-105 Owner's Thread

Blu-ray Players

wse's Avatar wse
03:48 PM Liked: 398
post #8551 of 12402
01-06-2014 | Posts: 7,106
Joined: Mar 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by DanF8500 View PostHave you tried using the 105's dedicated stereo outputs in place of its multi-ch Front L/R outputs to utilize its dedicated stereo dac? That would give you a slightly higher fidelity from your front speakers. If you do that, change the "Stereo Signal" setting to "Front L/R" and remove the cables from the front L/R rca outputs.

I have, but then multichannel SACD doesn't work?


DanF8500's Avatar DanF8500
04:15 PM Liked: 228
post #8552 of 12402
01-06-2014 | Posts: 1,444
Joined: Apr 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by wse View Post

I have, but then multichannel SACD doesn't work?
What do you mean? Please give more details...
wse's Avatar wse
04:53 PM Liked: 398
post #8553 of 12402
01-06-2014 | Posts: 7,106
Joined: Mar 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by DanF8500 View PostWhat do you mean? Please give more details...

So I plug in XLR cables in for stereo to my pre/pro 7.1 Analog Audio in and don't plug the two RCA cables when playing Multi-channels SACD I get only two channels! Like it's defaulting to Stereo?

 

http://www.oppodigital.com/blu-ray-bdp-105/images/BDP-105-Back-hr.jpg

 
SSP800_B_LG.jpg
 

oneartist's Avatar oneartist
05:10 PM Liked: 15
post #8554 of 12402
01-06-2014 | Posts: 105
Joined: Dec 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by wse View Post
 

So I plug in XLR cables in for stereo to my pre/pro 7.1 Analog Audio in and don't plug the two RCA cables when playing Multi-channels SACD I get only two channels! Like it's defaulting to Stereo?

 

http://www.oppodigital.com/blu-ray-bdp-105/images/BDP-105-Back-hr.jpg

 
SSP800_B_LG.jpg
 

In Setup did you select "Audio Processing" and scroll all the way down to "Stereo Signal" and change it to "Front L&R"?


DanF8500's Avatar DanF8500
05:29 PM Liked: 228
post #8555 of 12402
01-06-2014 | Posts: 1,444
Joined: Apr 2013
^^ WSE, I think you have a pre/pro zoning issue. Are you sure you can run xlr and rca inputs on your pre-pro simultaneously? You need both the multi 7.1 bank and Analog Audio input bank on your pre/pro active at the same time. If you can't set it up that way, then just use the 105's dedicated RCA stereo outs, and attach those to your 7.1 multi inputs on your pre/pro. Seriously, you don't need to run XLR out on your 105, since it looks like your pre/pro is converting all its inputs to balanced outputs..
wse's Avatar wse
10:20 PM Liked: 398
post #8556 of 12402
01-06-2014 | Posts: 7,106
Joined: Mar 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by oneartist View PostIn Setup did you select "Audio Processing" and scroll all the way down to "Stereo Signal" and change it to "Front L&R"?

I will take a look, maybe that's what I need to do, I thought I did


rhale64L7's Avatar rhale64L7
08:34 AM Liked: 67
post #8557 of 12402
01-07-2014 | Posts: 1,525
Joined: Dec 2003
Ok folks while listening to two channel music last night I had sound coming from all 7.1. I have my oppo 105 hooked directly to amps. I am using the dedicated stereo outputs for front left right. I have it set on downmix 7.1. Then down further I tried both downmix stereo and front left/right. Front left/right sounds real compressed. Volume lowers to about half. Downmix stereo sounds much better but is not the right setting. What is going on here? Please help a clueless person.
mikepos's Avatar mikepos
10:06 AM Liked: 14
post #8558 of 12402
01-07-2014 | Posts: 175
Joined: Dec 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hamlet00 View Post

I did some a/b comparisons between the hdmi out and analog outs (both stereo outputs and multi l/r) but could not discern any difference at all in sound. I thought the Oppo dac would provide some noticeable difference in sound quality but that was not the case for me.

The outputs went to a Sony avr receiver (their flagship es model about five years old). For source I used both the Oppo with Redbook cds as as well as a squeezebox touch streaming (digital coax to the Oppo mostly, but also tried with it's dac (analog to the Oppo) but no noticeable difference either). Speakers are Ascend ribbon towers.

I might not have a golden ear but I know I am not deaf either as I can easily hear changes to sound when making subtle eq adjustments, subwoofer levels/crossover etc.

Any comments?

I tried my 0ppo BDP95 through a Yamaha 5917 (I think) analog inputs with no processing so olny the vlume worked. It killed the sound, dry flat and lifeless compared to direct connection to a Bryston 3B ST. Tried the same with an Arcam AVR300 and it was much, much better but still not comparable to direct to amp sound. I sold the old Yamaha long ago and the AVR300 has set undused for a couple years now. If you aren't going directly to amps the receiver is colouring the sound despite any bypass buttons or whatnot are claiming.

BTW I have a 105 waiting for me today, upgrading from the 95 just for the hdmi inputs so I can run the PS3 and sattelite receiver into it. I really like the sound of the 95 and am hesitant to change anything now that I have everything sounding great but I really want the hdmi in... I'll eventually post a comparison of the two, hopefully the 105 lives up to the sound of the 95...
melb's Avatar melb
10:27 AM Liked: 10
post #8559 of 12402
01-07-2014 | Posts: 14
Joined: Dec 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by rhale64L7 View Post

Ok folks while listening to two channel music last night I had sound coming from all 7.1. I have my oppo 105 hooked directly to amps. I am using the dedicated stereo outputs for front left right. I have it set on downmix 7.1. Then down further I tried both downmix stereo and front left/right. Front left/right sounds real compressed. Volume lowers to about half. Downmix stereo sounds much better but is not the right setting. What is going on here? Please help a clueless person.


Here is the way I understand it. If you set the two outputs to Front left/right you have the same processed digital signal coming from these outputs as you do from the Front left/right outputs of the 7.1 analog outputs. The ONLY difference is you are using the better dac. So it's the same digital signal as what goes to the front left/right in the 7.1 analog outputs but better digital to analog conversion.

If you set them to downmix stereo you have the entire digital signal weather it be a 5.1, 7.1 or stereo digital signal sent to the better dac as a stereo signal and processed and sent to the left/right analog outputs.

So these outputs either give you the Front left/right digital signal OR the entire digital signal broken into left and right channels.

 

Correct me if I am wrong please.


jima4a's Avatar jima4a
11:53 AM Liked: 74
post #8560 of 12402
01-07-2014 | Posts: 1,594
Joined: Jun 2011
I thought the DACs are the same, both 9018 eight channel. The two channel side also does the the headphones. Assume the two channel side has a better analog section?
wagnerc's Avatar wagnerc
02:54 PM Liked: 10
post #8561 of 12402
01-07-2014 | Posts: 238
Joined: May 2002
I am still hoping for a 105D...
Neuromancer's Avatar Neuromancer
04:15 PM Liked: 189
post #8562 of 12402
01-07-2014 | Posts: 10,997
Joined: Jul 2005
Crystal ball says to check back later....
g_bartman's Avatar g_bartman
06:52 PM Liked: 63
post #8563 of 12402
01-07-2014 | Posts: 3,307
Joined: Apr 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by wagnerc View Post

I am still hoping for a 105D...

I bought a Darbee before I got the 105 so now I kind of have A 105d
wse's Avatar wse
10:20 PM Liked: 398
post #8564 of 12402
01-07-2014 | Posts: 7,106
Joined: Mar 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by wagnerc View Post

I am still hoping for a 105D...

Me too, but I will wait for the OPPO 115D biggrin.gif

Hopefully it will have some of these technologies http://www.oppousa.com/features.html
dmusoke's Avatar dmusoke
12:51 AM Liked: 99
post #8565 of 12402
01-08-2014 | Posts: 2,535
Joined: Jul 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by wse View Post
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by DanF8500 View PostWhat do you mean? Please give more details...

So I plug in XLR cables in for stereo to my pre/pro 7.1 Analog Audio in and don't plug the two RCA cables when playing Multi-channels SACD I get only two channels! Like it's defaulting to Stereo?

 

 

Have you tried "Playback Setup -> SACD Priority -> Multi-Channel" in the Oppo menu?


dbphd's Avatar dbphd
03:13 AM Liked: 58
post #8566 of 12402
01-08-2014 | Posts: 511
Joined: Dec 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by mikepos View Post


BTW I have a 105 waiting for me today, upgrading from the 95 just for the hdmi inputs so I can run the PS3 and sattelite receiver into it. I really like the sound of the 95 and am hesitant to change anything now that I have everything sounding great but I really want the hdmi in... I'll eventually post a comparison of the two, hopefully the 105 lives up to the sound of the 95...

I installed a 105 in the media room and moved a 95 to the living room so a satellite HD-DVR could use the superior AV processing of the 105. Video from HDMI-1 goes directly to a projector, HDMI-2 to a monitor. Stereo goes to an analog preamp (set at unity gain) that is shared with a phono stage and a Sony 5400ES, surrounds directly to amps, SW to a LF ARC that manages the subs. The result is superb audio and video for music and HT. Audio from the 105 is at least as good as that from 95, possibly a bit better.

db
FMD's Avatar FMD
11:22 AM Liked: 12
post #8567 of 12402
01-08-2014 | Posts: 96
Joined: Sep 2003
Dan,
One problem with your insistence that DLNA is the only answer is media control products like JRiver cannot be utilized fully when a device like the Oppo is the Renderer. For example you will have 0 benefit of JRiver's many DSP functions like Volume Leveling (which is a big issue for me). So to utilize JRiver/J Remote fully the only option is to use the USB Input. By accessing the Oppo DAC this way it makes JRiver the Renderer.

A path I am reluctantly heading towards..........
wse's Avatar wse
11:38 AM Liked: 398
post #8568 of 12402
01-08-2014 | Posts: 7,106
Joined: Mar 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by dmusoke View PostHave you tried "Playback Setup -> SACD Priority -> Multi-Channel" in the Oppo menu?

Yes!


DanF8500's Avatar DanF8500
01:17 PM Liked: 228
post #8569 of 12402
01-08-2014 | Posts: 1,444
Joined: Apr 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by FMD View Post

Dan,
One problem with your insistence that DLNA is the only answer is media control products like JRiver cannot be utilized fully when a device like the Oppo is the Renderer. For example you will have 0 benefit of JRiver's many DSP functions like Volume Leveling (which is a big issue for me). So to utilize JRiver/J Remote fully the only option is to use the USB Input. By accessing the Oppo DAC this way it makes JRiver the Renderer.

A path I am reluctantly heading towards..........
I disagree totally!! Someone would have to shoot me in the head and torture me to listen to my music with any added DSP from third party software! I didn't grow into appreciating music that way and never will. I want to hear the digital media exactly the way it was produced. I use dlna/upnp media software/apps to simply create/maintain my music database and push my media files "unabated" via my home network to my 105. No laptop/pc or tv is required to be on.......my iPad, NAS, home network (router), 105, amp, and speakers......Life is good!!
RichB's Avatar RichB
01:20 PM Liked: 291
post #8570 of 12402
01-08-2014 | Posts: 8,977
Joined: Nov 1999
Quote:
Originally Posted by DanF8500 View Post

I disagree totally!! Someone would have to shoot me in the head before I listen to my music with any added DSP from third party software! I didn't grow into appreciating music that way and never will. I want to hear the digital media exactly the way it was produced. I use dlna/upnp media software/apps to simply create/maintain my music database and push my media files "unabated" via my home network to my 105. No laptop/pc or tv required. Life is good!!

I am not a fan of DSP's either.
But, with USB you can bypass the Windows Mixer. I am not sure if you can with DLNA.
Do you know?

- Rich
gsr's Avatar gsr
01:25 PM Liked: 255
post #8571 of 12402
01-08-2014 | Posts: 7,790
Joined: Apr 2001
Quote:
Originally Posted by RichB View Post

I am not a fan of DSP's either.
But, with USB you can bypass the Windows Mixer. I am not sure if you can with DLNA.
Do you know?

- Rich
AFAIK, the Windows Mixer doesn't come into play unless the content is converted to LPCM on the PC. With DLNA, the files are basically just sent directly without modification (as long as transcoding is disabled).
CHHill's Avatar CHHill
01:42 PM Liked: 12
post #8572 of 12402
01-08-2014 | Posts: 25
Joined: Aug 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by wse View Post

So I plug in XLR cables in for stereo to my pre/pro 7.1 Analog Audio in and don't plug the two RCA cables when playing Multi-channels SACD I get only two channels! Like it's defaulting to Stereo?

BDP-105-Back-hr.jpg

WSE

Your pre/pro looks similar to my B&K in that you appear to have one set of multi-channel inputs which are only RCA, and multiple analog stereo inputs one of which is XLR. If true, you will need to use the RCA outputs of the 105 to the RCA inputs of your pre/pro for multi-channel use. Also, if your pre/pro balanced inputs are a different input selection than your multi-channel selection (like CD or stereo input 1 or something), you can connect the XLR outputs of the 105 to those XLR inputs on your pre/pro. However, be sure your XLR inputs are to input a device other than the multi-channel device (be sure you are not trying to connect both the RCA and XLR outputs to the same input). My B&K allows this set up but I'm not certain yours does.

Chuck



 









SSP800_B_LG.jpg







 



FMD's Avatar FMD
01:57 PM Liked: 12
post #8573 of 12402
01-08-2014 | Posts: 96
Joined: Sep 2003
Quote:
Originally Posted by DanF8500 View Post

I disagree totally!! Someone would have to shoot me in the head and torture me to listen to my music with any added DSP from third party software! I didn't grow into appreciating music that way and never will. I want to hear the digital media exactly the way it was produced. I use dlna/upnp media software/apps to simply create/maintain my music database and push my media files "unabated" via my home network to my 105. No laptop/pc or tv is required to be on.......my iPad, NAS, home network (router), 105, amp, and speakers......Life is good!!

I understand where your coming from. I am happily streaming FLAC's via DLNA to the Oppo bit perfect (and using JRiver/J Remote which are fantastic) BUT the variability in my library makes me want volume leveling at times. I may have to rethink that based on your comments and live with the variation. A NAS is definitely in my future as well.
DanF8500's Avatar DanF8500
02:18 PM Liked: 228
post #8574 of 12402
01-08-2014 | Posts: 1,444
Joined: Apr 2013
^^
Quote:
Your pre/pro looks similar to my B&K in that you appear to have one set of multi-channel inputs which are only RCA, and multiple analog stereo inputs one of which is XLR. If true, you will need to use the RCA outputs of the 105 to the RCA inputs of your pre/pro for multi-channel use. Also, if your pre/pro balanced inputs are a different input selection than your multi-channel selection (like CD or stereo input 1 or something), you can connect the XLR outputs of the 105 to those XLR inputs on your pre/pro. However, be sure your XLR inputs are to input a device other than the multi-channel device (be sure you are not trying to connect both the RCA and XLR outputs to the same input). My B&K allows this set up but I'm not certain yours does.
I told wse something similar to you, but didn't get a reply back from him...frown.gif
DanF8500's Avatar DanF8500
02:31 PM Liked: 228
post #8575 of 12402
01-08-2014 | Posts: 1,444
Joined: Apr 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by FMD View Post

I understand where your coming from. I am happily streaming FLAC's via DLNA to the Oppo bit perfect (and using JRiver/J Remote which are fantastic) BUT the variability in my library makes me want volume leveling at times. I may have to rethink that based on your comments and live with the variation. A NAS is definitely in my future as well.
Volume variability exists throughout my entire media collection.....it's a product of the way each disc/album was recorded by its engineers. I always adjust my volume control, especially when I'm playing random tracks from one disk's tracks to another. The 105's remote or my iPad is always by my side to adjust volume to my liking....
luismanrara's Avatar luismanrara
03:47 PM Liked: 14
post #8576 of 12402
01-08-2014 | Posts: 1,009
Joined: May 2005
Well after spending months struggling with the Oppo 105 blu ray player and his erratic behavior with external Hard Drives, I decided to get an LG blu ray player at Wal Mart for $29.99 that claims to play almost all video formats under the sun using its USB input, the player is only twice the size of the 2 tb hard drive itself and a fifth its weight. PROBLEM SOLVED, I can watch all video on my hard drives, big and small without a hitch.

How come a players as solidly built as the Oppo with an amazing array of features, beautiful picture and sound, can be so buggy playing hard drives? Does Oppo have this feature as an afterthought or is it just plain incompetence? The LG player cost $29.99 to the customer after everybody on earth has already made money on it and it performs this particular function flawlessly. Why my $1,200 investment, the Oppo 105 is incapable of performing this simple task is beyond my comprehension.
gsr's Avatar gsr
03:51 PM Liked: 255
post #8577 of 12402
01-08-2014 | Posts: 7,790
Joined: Apr 2001
Quote:
Originally Posted by luismanrara View Post

Well after spending months struggling with the Oppo 105 blu ray player and his erratic behavior with external Hard Drives, I decided to get an LG blu ray player at Wal Mart for $29.99 that claims to play almost all video formats under the sun using its USB input, the player is only twice the size of the 2 tb hard drive itself and a fifth its weight. PROBLEM SOLVED, I can watch all video on my hard drives, big and small without a hitch.

How come a players as solidly built as the Oppo with an amazing array of features, beautiful picture and sound, can be so buggy playing hard drives? Does Oppo have this feature as an afterthought or is it just plain incompetence? The LG player cost $29.99 to the customer after everybody on earth has already made money on it and it performs this particular function flawlessly. Why my $1,200 investment, the Oppo 105 is incapable of performing this simple task is beyond my comprehension.
I don't remember what all your issues were with using hard drives with the Oppo, but do keep in mind that there are quite a few things the Oppo can do that the $29.99 LG player can't.
wmcclain's Avatar wmcclain
03:52 PM Liked: 405
post #8578 of 12402
01-08-2014 | Posts: 18,024
Joined: May 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by luismanrara View Post

Well after spending months struggling with the Oppo 105 blu ray player and his erratic behavior with external Hard Drives, I decided to get an LG blu ray player at Wal Mart for $29.99 that claims to play almost all video formats under the sun using its USB input, the player is only twice the size of the 2 tb hard drive itself and a fifth its weight. PROBLEM SOLVED, I can watch all video on my hard drives, big and small without a hitch.

How come a players as solidly built as the Oppo with an amazing array of features, beautiful picture and sound, can be so buggy playing hard drives? Does Oppo have this feature as an afterthought or is it just plain incompetence? The LG player cost $29.99 to the customer after everybody on earth has already made money on it and it performs this particular function flawlessly. Why my $1,200 investment, the Oppo 105 is incapable of performing this simple task is beyond my comprehension.

I've lost track of your problem. Did you ask OPPO for help? I play a lot of media files from hard drive, optical disc and USB stick and have no issues.

-Bill
wse's Avatar wse
04:25 PM Liked: 398
post #8579 of 12402
01-08-2014 | Posts: 7,106
Joined: Mar 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by DanF8500 View Post^^ I told wse something similar to you, but didn't get a reply back from him...frown.gif

Thank you


wse's Avatar wse
04:27 PM Liked: 398
post #8580 of 12402
01-08-2014 | Posts: 7,106
Joined: Mar 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by luismanrara View PostWell after spending months struggling with the Oppo 105 blu ray player and his erratic behavior with external Hard Drives, I decided to get an LG blu ray player at Wal Mart for $29.99 that claims to play almost all video formats under the sun using its USB input, the player is only twice the size of the 2 tb hard drive itself and a fifth its weight. PROBLEM SOLVED, I can watch all video on my hard drives, big and small without a hitch.

How come a players as solidly built as the Oppo with an amazing array of features, beautiful picture and sound, can be so buggy playing hard drives? Does Oppo have this feature as an afterthought or is it just plain incompetence? The LG player cost $29.99 to the customer after everybody on earth has already made money on it and it performs this particular function flawlessly. Why my $1,200 investment, the Oppo 105 is incapable of performing this simple task is beyond my comprehension.

Send an email to OPPO with the LG model they will taking apart and hopefully learn


Tags: Oppo Bdp 105 Blu Ray Player

Reply Blu-ray Players

Subscribe to this Thread

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3