Official OPPO BDP-105 Owner's Thread - Page 316 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 47Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #9451 of 11450 Old 03-06-2014, 04:48 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
Neuromancer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Navigating the Black IC
Posts: 10,959
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 171
Quote:
Originally Posted by haggis999 View Post

Erratic track playback order when using MediaControl HD

I have just hit this problem when trying to play a sequence of MKV files in a folder using MediaControl HD on my new iPad Air. According to the App Store, my copy of Media Player HD is version 2.0.4 dated 24 Jan 2014, so Oppo's promise to RichB back in November that this bug would be fixed in the next release did not happen.

I guess I will just have to be patient...

David

Next should always be positioned and read as "future" since there is never guarantees in the software realm. OPPO is working on the issue, but no resolution at the moment.
Neuromancer is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #9452 of 11450 Old 03-06-2014, 05:21 PM
Member
 
haggis999's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Southampton, UK
Posts: 104
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 16
There was some previous discussion about a workaround for the Mediacontrol HD playing order bug but I have failed to get this to work. Can someone please have another go at explaining how this can be done?

David
haggis999 is offline  
post #9453 of 11450 Old 03-06-2014, 09:13 PM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 27,406
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 256 Post(s)
Liked: 850
^ The supposed workaround was to bring up the folder's track list in the player's own media file browser screen -- just display the list -- and then switch to using the App. I don't know if this was ever confirmed.
--Bob

Anthem D2/D2v/AVM50/AVM50v/ARC1 tweaking guide. -- Need personal consultation/training? PM me!
Bob Pariseau is offline  
post #9454 of 11450 Old 03-06-2014, 09:47 PM
Member
 
seanh1978's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 38
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Encountered a small problem with my setup. I have a xbr 4k TV and media player. The media player is connected directly to the TV. I am getting no audio when I use the 4K media player. In my previous setup the receiver was going directly to the TV so the ARC was sending the audio from the TV back to the marantz. Bypassing receiver and going from oppo to xbr is giving me no audio when I use the media player, any suggestions other than seperate hdmi's going from the TV ? It's a long cumbersome run between the TV and my rack
seanh1978 is offline  
post #9455 of 11450 Old 03-07-2014, 02:36 AM
Member
 
haggis999's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Southampton, UK
Posts: 104
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Pariseau View Post

^ The supposed workaround was to bring up the folder's track list in the player's own media file browser screen -- just display the list -- and then switch to using the App. I don't know if this was ever confirmed.
--Bob

I've already tried that, plus a few other variations, but it has had no effect on the apparently random track selection.

I also have another problem with the MediaControl HD app - it doesn't always display the new contents of a folder after files have been added or moved. The only way I have found to make the app refresh folder contents in this situation is to switch my iPad off and on!

David
haggis999 is offline  
post #9456 of 11450 Old 03-07-2014, 05:20 AM
Member
 
James004's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 55
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 10
James004 is offline  
post #9457 of 11450 Old 03-07-2014, 06:25 AM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 27,406
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 256 Post(s)
Liked: 850
^. Theoretically, yes. But HDMI operates on the edge of failure, so sometimes adding another gadget in the HDMI path is enough to trigger problems.

These would be handshake (connection setup) problems. If the handshake works then a switch won't degrade the audio or video -- assuming the switch itself is spec'd as "For 1080p" or "high speed" or "Category 2" which all mean the same thing.
--Bob

Anthem D2/D2v/AVM50/AVM50v/ARC1 tweaking guide. -- Need personal consultation/training? PM me!
Bob Pariseau is offline  
post #9458 of 11450 Old 03-07-2014, 07:43 AM
Member
 
purplerocks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Hopefully this is the correct forum for this question. I run the 105 2-channel only into a Vincent integrated amp. I had always used the volume of my amp, usually quite low since it's a beefy amp of 150 watts per channel, and had the Oppo volume fixed at 100%.
Recently, I decided to try the digital volume on the 105, usually ends up between 65-85 generally for the volume level I want, and have left the volume control on my amp at a little under half-way, about 11 o clock position.
It seems like it sounds better in this configuration, maybe I'm imagining , not sure but bass seems to be somewhat punchier etc.
What is others experience with this? Am I really getting benefit by leaving the volume up on my amp much more so than previously? I guess I've heard in the past that an amplifier really doesn't "open up" and display it's power until the volume is cranked up somewhat.
purplerocks is offline  
post #9459 of 11450 Old 03-07-2014, 08:12 AM
Advanced Member
 
DanF8500's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 972
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 61 Post(s)
Liked: 136
Quote:
Originally Posted by haggis999 View Post

I've already tried that, plus a few other variations, but it has had no effect on the apparently random track selection.

I also have another problem with the MediaControl HD app - it doesn't always display the new contents of a folder after files have been added or moved. The only way I have found to make the app refresh folder contents in this situation is to switch my iPad off and on!

David
Hello David. It has been many months since I last posted about my workaround to prevent random track selection by the MediaControl HD app. After receiving your pm, I decided to see if my workaround was still functioning.....It is still working fine for me. First and foremost, playback from an attached usb drive is a must. Once you start the first track in one of your audio directories from Oppo's onscreen (tv) browser, you then startup the MediaControl app, and enter into the same track directory you initiated playback. Once you're there, you can tap the next track button in the MediaControl app to jump to the next track in sequence, or just let it automatically jump to the next sequential track in your directory after the previous track has finished playing. The onscreen display will update accordingly and maintain sequential track order.

For network drives, using the SMB protocol, I have seen a change in the functionality of track playback sequence from when I first found out about the workaround, but it is still buggy. If you initiate track playback as described above, then startup the MediaControl app, and enter the same track directory in your network drive that you started play back from, tapping the next track button will make the next track in your directory play back in proper order. The onscreen (tv) display, however, gets buggy. The display doesn't update for the next track, and the track "play back" display doesn't show up like it does for the attached usb drive. If I continue to tap the next track button on the MediaControl app, the tracks continue to play back in sequential order. The results are different than I recall some months back. I remember not even being able to play back my tracks in sequential order using a network drive (SMB).

I haven't used the MediaControl app for a while now. It's still too buggy for me, and crashes from time to time...
DanF8500 is offline  
post #9460 of 11450 Old 03-07-2014, 08:56 AM
Senior Member
 
gelly's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 339
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Hello is there a way to assign the "red/green/blue/yellow buttons on the remote? Example red button for optical input.Blue for HDMI output back. Etc.
gelly is offline  
post #9461 of 11450 Old 03-07-2014, 09:24 AM
Member
 
haggis999's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Southampton, UK
Posts: 104
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Hi Dan,
Thanks for checking out that topic again on my behalf. All my media files are on a NAS and my tests of playing order when using MediaControl HD have been done on a folder containing five MKV files, which are in the correct sequence when the filenames are listed in alphabetic order.

Unfortunately, starting the playback sequence via the Oppo's own interface and then switching over to the app does not work for me. Track 2 was played correctly after Track 1 but the third track was Track 5. Perhaps things work differently for video files than the audio files I assume you were testing. Your comments about the TV display being a little odd were not relevant to me as the TV is being used for my video, not the Oppo status.

The MediaControl HD app is indeed a bit rough round the edges but I am still using it for most of my video selection purposes. In normal circumstances, correct track ordering is not such a big issue with video, as most movies will just involve the selection of a single file. My current problem arises from a desire to play a series of short video files during a talk I am giving. The only obvious solution appears to be combining them into a single MKV.

Combining my files would also get around another irritation, i.e. the current inability of the BDP-105 to observe default VOB/SUB subtitle selections in an MKV file, The Oppo always defaults to no subtitles, which means that I have to reselect the subtitles for each MKV file in my folder. I emailed Oppo earlier today to ask if this is likely to be fixed in a future firmware update.
EDIT on 10 March 2014: Oppo pointed out that I needed 'Setup Menu > Playback Setup > Language > Subtitle language = Auto' for MKV subtitle defaults to be observed. Ooops! Should have read the manual more carefully...

David
haggis999 is offline  
post #9462 of 11450 Old 03-07-2014, 10:27 AM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 27,406
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 256 Post(s)
Liked: 850
Quote:
Originally Posted by gelly View Post

Hello is there a way to assign the "red/green/blue/yellow buttons on the remote? Example red button for optical input.Blue for HDMI output back. Etc.
No.

Using a programmable remote (such as Harmony) you can send the two button sequence Input-number which will directly select that number line in what would otherwise come up as the Input pop up on screen. For example, Input-1 selects "Blu-ray Player".
--Bob

Anthem D2/D2v/AVM50/AVM50v/ARC1 tweaking guide. -- Need personal consultation/training? PM me!
Bob Pariseau is offline  
post #9463 of 11450 Old 03-07-2014, 08:24 PM
Member
 
Barney1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 154
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mongo171 View Post

DRC is used to compress the audio. The Dynamic Volume is something totally different.

I have mine set at "AUTO", but I noticed I liked the sound much better when set to "OFF" so I changed it.. How are others out there set to?
This may be a coincidence, but I was watching Gone in 60 Seconds tonight and with DRC set to "OFF" it blew my tweeter on my center.
Center is about 12 years old so I'm not sure what caused it to go. Will order a new tweeter, but I'm wondering if my setting DRC to OFF may have caused the problem.
Barney1 is offline  
post #9464 of 11450 Old 03-07-2014, 09:50 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Smarty-pants's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 16,158
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 105 Post(s)
Liked: 129
Quote:
Originally Posted by Barney1 View Post


I have mine set at "AUTO", but I noticed I liked the sound much better when set to "OFF" so I changed it.. How are others out there set to?
This may be a coincidence, but I was watching Gone in 60 Seconds tonight and with DRC set to "OFF" it blew my tweeter on my center.
Center is about 12 years old so I'm not sure what caused it to go. Will order a new tweeter, but I'm wondering if my setting DRC to OFF may have caused the problem.

Some movie soundtracks will intionally use DRC in the audio mix, thus it is recommended to leave it on auto.
However I think a lot of people leave it turned off without issues, and most likely your tweeter failure was just a coincidence.
Then again maybe not if you are listening at ear-bleeding levels. :D


~Dave

...Theater Room Setup...
JVC DLA-RS40-U... Oppo BDP-105D... Toshiba HD-XA2... Uverse VIP-2250... Roku Streaming Stick... Emotiva XPA-3... Onkyo TX-SR805
JBL LC2 (x3) ... JBL L820 (x6) ... SVS PB10-ISD (x2) ... SVS 20-39-PCI
Smarty-pants is offline  
post #9465 of 11450 Old 03-08-2014, 08:05 AM
Senior Member
 
wadeh911's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 273
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by OmarF View Post

Jazzy, thanks. I was wondering because DNLAing the same files off my computer by direct cable Ethernet doesn't sound as good as playing off the external hard drive. Before I went and bought a mac mini and went through all the trouble of setting it all up, I was wondering if the port/connection type made a difference in this case.

Omar

My experience with DLNA music to 105 is indistinguishable from external hard drive or thumb drive or sacd or cd. Are you using jriver media player.

South Florida is my Theater
Listen to live music and recreate it at home.
wadeh911 is offline  
post #9466 of 11450 Old 03-08-2014, 08:28 AM
Senior Member
 
LairdWilliams's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 217
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 88
Quote:
Originally Posted by wadeh911 View Post

My experience with DLNA music to 105 is indistinguishable from external hard drive or thumb drive or sacd or cd. Are you using jriver media player.
No - but you need to be sure that the DLNA server is not doing any transcoding.

With transcoding off, the Oppo is receiving EXACTLY the same bits and bytes as it would get from a hard drive or SMB connection. At that point, any difference you hear would be the result of expectation fooling you into THINKING that you hear a difference.

Expectation DOES alter perception - and managing expectation to ensure accurate perception is one of the great challenges with audio.

Display: Panasonic P60UT50 (Plasma)
Speakers: (4) Monitor Audio Silver 9i (Front and Surround), (1) Monitor Audio Silver 12i (Center), (4) Monitor Audio Silver 4i (Rear and Wide), (2) Aperion Audio Bravus II 8d (Subwoofers)
Receiver: Pioneer Elite SC-77 AVR (9.2)
Sources: Oppo BDP-103, Roku 3, Cable...
LairdWilliams is offline  
post #9467 of 11450 Old 03-08-2014, 08:49 AM
Newbie
 
Redrum69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Western New York, USA
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Hi,

Jim from post 8989 here, just placed my order for the 105 (D actually). Yea, I know "what took ya?"

Thanks for all of your advice and the great questions and comments in this thread, it's been so helpful.

Funny thing though, immediately after clicking the "place order" icon at the Oppo web store, I immediately started to think that much of my other gear suddenly became inadequite, and may need replacing....Hmmm... I hadn't thought this player was going to cost that much! eek.gif

Cheers, and thanks again

Jim
Smarty-pants likes this.
Redrum69 is offline  
post #9468 of 11450 Old 03-08-2014, 12:24 PM
Advanced Member
 
DanF8500's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 972
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 61 Post(s)
Liked: 136
Quote:
Originally Posted by LairdWilliams View Post

No - but you need to be sure that the DLNA server is not doing any transcoding.

With transcoding off, the Oppo is receiving EXACTLY the same bits and bytes as it would get from a hard drive or SMB connection. At that point, any difference you hear would be the result of expectation fooling you into THINKING that you hear a difference.

Expectation DOES alter perception - and managing expectation to ensure accurate perception is one of the great challenges with audio.
I agree with you 100%, but you will fail(or have an extremely difficult time trying) to convince someone who thinks there is a difference in the quality of audio in playing the same digital file from a usb thumb drive as opposed to an eSata drive, or any other interface/protocol (async usb, dlna (transcode free), smb, etc) thru the same media player . They will think you are the person who doesn't understand what they're hearing, and will never agree with you. It's pointless to continue any discussion with them....Their perception will always trump your logic....until one day (maybe never) they finally understand it.
DanF8500 is offline  
post #9469 of 11450 Old 03-08-2014, 04:58 PM
Member
 
fenario's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by DanF8500 View Post

I agree with you 100%, but you will fail(or have an extremely difficult time trying) to convince someone who thinks there is a difference in the quality of audio in playing the same digital file from a usb thumb drive as opposed to an eSata drive, or any other interface/protocol (async usb, dlna (transcode free), smb, etc) thru the same media player . They will think you are the person who doesn't understand what they're hearing, and will never agree with you. It's pointless to continue any discussion with them....Their perception will always trump your logic....until one day (maybe never) they finally understand it.

Why would you want to "convince" someone of something you can't hear? Unless you are standing in the room with them listening to their system you have no idea what is and is not audible in their system. You are the person who doesn't understand what they are hearing becasue you are not there.

Agreed the data is the same, absolutely...but there are many other factors involved than just the data. As I pointed out a few pages back...a hard drive that I connected to the usb input did not produce the same audible quality as the same files over dlna or via a thumb drive, and that was unexpected, but none the less valid. Logicly the drive should sound the same...and there is logic in why it does not.
fenario is offline  
post #9470 of 11450 Old 03-08-2014, 06:29 PM
Member
 
SubObjective99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 197
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 15

Is there a thread somewhere that states the exact types of media formats the BDP-105 plays? I've checked the FAQs, but it's not thorough enough.

(Example: MP3, FLAC, AAC,...etc")


Derogatory terms like "analog bigot", "digiphobe", "internet eggspurts" have nothing to do with electrical engineering.
SubObjective99 is offline  
post #9471 of 11450 Old 03-08-2014, 06:31 PM
One-Man Content Creator
 
wmcclain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 17,171
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 336 Post(s)
Liked: 339
Quote:
Originally Posted by SubObjective99 View Post

Is there a thread somewhere that states the exact types of media formats the BDP-105 plays? I've checked the FAQs, but it's not thorough enough.
(Example: MP3, FLAC, AAC,...etc")

Aren't they listed in the FAQ here: What are the supported media container and file types?

-Bill
wmcclain is online now  
post #9472 of 11450 Old 03-08-2014, 07:45 PM
Member
 
Pokey77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Orange Co; SoCal
Posts: 118
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by Barney1 View Post

I have mine set at "AUTO", but I noticed I liked the sound much better when set to "OFF" so I changed it.. How are others out there set to?
This may be a coincidence, but I was watching Gone in 60 Seconds tonight and with DRC set to "OFF" it blew my tweeter on my center.
Center is about 12 years old so I'm not sure what caused it to go. Will order a new tweeter, but I'm wondering if my setting DRC to OFF may have caused the problem.

Sounds like pure coincidence to me. I have DRC set to off since I purchased the player and all is well. Sorry to hear of your blown tweeter. Hope you can find another at a reasonable price.
Pokey77 is offline  
post #9473 of 11450 Old 03-09-2014, 08:32 AM
wse
AVS Special Member
 
wse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 6,495
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 238 Post(s)
Liked: 300
Quote:
Originally Posted by Smarty-pants View Post

WELCOME TO THE AVS FORUMS !!! smile.gif

I don't have any first hand experience with your your current gear, but the 105 is known for having superb analog audio quality.
I would surmise that it would sound just as good or better that your old player.
As far as the actual analog connections, you can setup the audio so that it uses the dedicated stereo outputs as the front L/R channels for surround sound,
OR you can just use the standard 7.1 connections for surround, and then also use the the dedicated stereo output for stereo and other 2CH audio.
There are many different options and settings to choose from.
Just as well, you could also set the downmix options in the player to downmix everything to 2CH and use only the dedicated stereo output as well as other downmix options.
Oppo has pretty much covered all the bases with the audio connections and downmix options.
Some people also (including myself) choose to use the player as a preamp and run analog audio directly to quality power amps, and once again the sound is superb IMHO.

Also check out the first post in this thread for a ton of more info and links to reviews etc...

So to use it as a pre amp the only thing I need to do is to set the Oppo Speaker Conf -> Audio Processing -> Power On Volume setting to 0 yes.

Anything else?

Also if I want to use bit discs do I also plug the L/R dedicated and then the five other channels?
wse is offline  
post #9474 of 11450 Old 03-09-2014, 08:36 AM
wse
AVS Special Member
 
wse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 6,495
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 238 Post(s)
Liked: 300
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kal Rubinson View Post

1.  Yup.  I've done this.
2.  USB, no.  Ethernet, yes.
3.  No movies.  Just music.

so I I plug in my Mac mini into the USB that won't' work? I a m looking to get DIRAC
wse is offline  
post #9475 of 11450 Old 03-09-2014, 08:55 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Smarty-pants's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 16,158
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 105 Post(s)
Liked: 129
Quote:
Originally Posted by wse View Post


So to use it as a pre amp the only thing I need to do is to set the Oppo Speaker Conf -> Audio Processing -> Power On Volume setting to 0 yes.

Anything else?

Also if I want to use bit discs do I also plug the L/R dedicated and then the five other channels?


There are other speaker distance and trim settings, and crossover setting for subwoofer if you have any speakers set to "small".
"Power on" volume set to -0- will have your audio on mute when the player is turned on, which is fine if that is how you want it to power on.
I like mine set around 40 or 50.
Yes you can use the dedicated stereo L/R output to power the front L/R channels, and then connect the standard multichannel jacks for the rest of your surround sound.
 


~Dave

...Theater Room Setup...
JVC DLA-RS40-U... Oppo BDP-105D... Toshiba HD-XA2... Uverse VIP-2250... Roku Streaming Stick... Emotiva XPA-3... Onkyo TX-SR805
JBL LC2 (x3) ... JBL L820 (x6) ... SVS PB10-ISD (x2) ... SVS 20-39-PCI
Smarty-pants is offline  
post #9476 of 11450 Old 03-09-2014, 09:33 AM
Member
 
SubObjective99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 197
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Aren't they listed in the FAQ here: What are the supported media container and file types?

-Bill

Excellent. Thank you Bill.

Derogatory terms like "analog bigot", "digiphobe", "internet eggspurts" have nothing to do with electrical engineering.
SubObjective99 is offline  
post #9477 of 11450 Old 03-09-2014, 09:48 AM
wse
AVS Special Member
 
wse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 6,495
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 238 Post(s)
Liked: 300
Quote:
Originally Posted by Smarty-pants View Post


There are other speaker distance and trim settings, and crossover setting for subwoofer if you have any speakers set to "small".

"Power on" volume set to -0- will have your audio on mute when the player is turned on, which is fine if that is how you want it to power on.

I like mine set around 40 or 50.

Yes you can use the dedicated stereo L/R output to power the front L/R channels, and then connect the standard multichannel jacks for the rest of your surround sound.

 

Thank you does that mean that if my speakers are set to large it won't use the subs?
wse is offline  
post #9478 of 11450 Old 03-09-2014, 09:50 AM
Member
 
Barney1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 154
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pokey77 View Post

Sounds like pure coincidence to me. I have DRC set to off since I purchased the player and all is well. Sorry to hear of your blown tweeter. Hope you can find another at a reasonable price.

Yeah, I would have to agree it was a coincidence.... I was able to replace the tweeter at a decent price and all is well again!
Barney1 is offline  
post #9479 of 11450 Old 03-09-2014, 10:16 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Kal Rubinson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: NYC + Connecticut
Posts: 28,428
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 61 Post(s)
Liked: 126
Quote:
Originally Posted by wse View Post


so I I plug in my Mac mini into the USB that won't' work? I a m looking to get DIRAC

Will the USB DAC input accept multichannel input?  Will the Oppo driver support multichannel?  I have not tried it but, unless the latest firmware has changed things, it does not.  The USB "A" inputs will accept multichannel but they only run from USB drives directly, not from a computer source.


Kal Rubinson

"Music in the Round"
Senior Contributing Editor, Stereophile
http://www.stereophile.com/category/music-round

Kal Rubinson is offline  
post #9480 of 11450 Old 03-09-2014, 10:47 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Smarty-pants's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 16,158
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 105 Post(s)
Liked: 129
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kal Rubinson View Post
 

Will the USB DAC input accept multichannel input?  Will the Oppo driver support multichannel?  I have not tried it but, unless the latest firmware has changed things, it does not.  The USB "A" inputs will accept multichannel but they only run from USB drives directly, not from a computer source.


The USB DAC connect is stereo only.


~Dave

...Theater Room Setup...
JVC DLA-RS40-U... Oppo BDP-105D... Toshiba HD-XA2... Uverse VIP-2250... Roku Streaming Stick... Emotiva XPA-3... Onkyo TX-SR805
JBL LC2 (x3) ... JBL L820 (x6) ... SVS PB10-ISD (x2) ... SVS 20-39-PCI
Smarty-pants is offline  
Reply Blu-ray Players

Tags
Oppo Bdp 105 Blu Ray Player

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off