Official OPPO BDP-105 Owner's Thread - Page 379 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 32Likes
Reply
Thread Tools
post #11341 of 11347 Unread Today, 11:43 AM
Senior Member
 
Sam1000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 479
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by OmarF View Post
I get the same thing once in a while. I suspect it's the app. It seems like it runs into an error somehow, perhaps with the netflix server, then the error sticks, and the only way to clear it out of memory is to relaunch the app. Meh, not a huge deal to me.

Omar
I think its the app too. Otherwise, why would it work again after the app is reset. Not a big deal for me either, but it is for my spouse. She thinks the previous player had no issues with Netflix and I bought an expensive boat anchor ;-) They don't appreciate the goodies that we do. It just needs to be functional for them.

Speakers: Pioneer/TAD S-1EX, S-7EX, Ascend with RAAL upgrade
Pre/Pro: Onkyo PR-SC5508,Bel Canto Pre-6, Sherwood 972
Amp: Outlaw 770
Source:Oppo 105, Ciunas DAC, SB Touch
Sam1000 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #11342 of 11347 Unread Today, 12:48 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Smarty-pants's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 16,107
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 80 Post(s)
Liked: 117
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sam1000 View Post
I think its the app too. Otherwise, why would it work again after the app is reset.
Because when you restart the app, you initiate a new contact with the NF servers.
It's possible that the app is glitchy, but the more likely issue is that it's the NF servers that are causing the issues.
Otherwise the problem would be more consistent.
For me personally, I rarely have any issues aside from ISP throttling.

~Dave

...Theater Room Setup...
JVC DLA-RS40-U... Oppo BDP-105D... Toshiba HD-XA2... Uverse VIP-2250... Roku Streaming Stick... Emotiva XPA-3... Onkyo TX-SR805
JBL LC2 (x3) ... JBL L820 (x6) ... SVS PB10-ISD (x2) ... SVS 20-39-PCI
Smarty-pants is online now  
post #11343 of 11347 Unread Today, 02:03 PM
Senior Member
 
Sam1000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 479
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Smarty-pants View Post
Because when you restart the app, you initiate a new contact with the NF servers.
It's possible that the app is glitchy, but the more likely issue is that it's the NF servers that are causing the issues.
Otherwise the problem would be more consistent.
For me personally, I rarely have any issues aside from ISP throttling.
So how would you explain seamless experience with Sony-780 player with Netflix? Does NF has different server farm for Sony? Never experience this problem with that player or with Panasonic smart TV..

Speakers: Pioneer/TAD S-1EX, S-7EX, Ascend with RAAL upgrade
Pre/Pro: Onkyo PR-SC5508,Bel Canto Pre-6, Sherwood 972
Amp: Outlaw 770
Source:Oppo 105, Ciunas DAC, SB Touch
Sam1000 is offline  
post #11344 of 11347 Unread Today, 02:16 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Smarty-pants's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 16,107
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 80 Post(s)
Liked: 117
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sam1000 View Post
So how would you explain seamless experience with Sony-780 player with Netflix? Does NF has different server farm for Sony? Never experience this problem with that player or with Panasonic smart TV..
*shrug shoulders*
If Netflix were kind enough to show us how their infrastructure works maybe, but who knows.
You never have a prob with NF in your Sony or Panny. I also never have the problem you describe in my Oppo.
Tomato tomato, potato potato. Stuff happens...

~Dave

...Theater Room Setup...
JVC DLA-RS40-U... Oppo BDP-105D... Toshiba HD-XA2... Uverse VIP-2250... Roku Streaming Stick... Emotiva XPA-3... Onkyo TX-SR805
JBL LC2 (x3) ... JBL L820 (x6) ... SVS PB10-ISD (x2) ... SVS 20-39-PCI
Smarty-pants is online now  
post #11345 of 11347 Unread Today, 06:41 PM
Advanced Member
 
OmarF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 717
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 75
My ISP is Cox Communications
OmarF is offline  
post #11346 of 11347 Unread Today, 07:53 PM
Senior Member
 
jdmi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: East Lansing, MI
Posts: 469
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Something I've noticed with my 105D is the peak brightness seems to be a bit higher than that of my previous Denon 3800 BD player. It also seems brighter than the Cambridge Audio 752, but I only auditioned that for about a week. I would think that basic video parameters like brightness via HDMI from properly designed BD players would be virtually identical. Has anyone else noticed any brightness differences with the 105 or 105D?
jdmi is offline  
post #11347 of 11347 Unread Today, 08:04 PM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 27,267
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 184 Post(s)
Liked: 816
^ The OPPO preserves the "peak white" values above Reference White if they are present in the content. If your Display can reproduce those, and if your prior players clipped them, then that could be the difference.

With the Picture Adjustment settings left at their factory default (0) values, the OPPO puts out reference video levels on the HDMI outputs. So for example its Reference White is the same numeric value on the HDMI as any other player producing correct output.
--Bob
Bob Pariseau is offline  
Reply Blu-ray Players

Tags
Oppo Bdp 105 Blu Ray Player

User Tag List



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off