Official OPPO BDP-105 Owner's Thread - Page 385 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 215Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #11521 of 12093 Old 09-17-2014, 04:23 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Smarty-pants's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 16,446
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 247 Post(s)
Liked: 190
^Extremely unlikely that the current Oppo players will ever decode Atmos, Auro, et al.
As mentioned, there is licensing to deal with, plus more than likely that type of change would involve Mediatek updating the capabilities of their current chips,
and that is very rare for a chip maker to do for such a big feature. They will usually just make a brand new chip with those features,
and then harware engineers have to build new hardware to accommodate the features.
On top of that, IF the capabilities were added to the current players, Oppo's own engineers would have to write new software on top of that.
Lots of lots time and money that is not cost effective for any of the parties involved.

I do hope that they will have some new player(s) next year that incorporate the 3D audio codecs for analog outputs.
I'm curious to see if a player like that might be released before a 4k disc player, or will they be one in the same.
Either way it's probably going to be well into next year or longer before something like that hits the streets.

~Dave

...Theater Room Setup...
JVC DLA-RS40-U... Oppo BDP-105D... Toshiba HD-XA2... Uverse VIP-2250... Roku Streaming Stick... Emotiva XPA-3... Onkyo TX-SR805
JBL LC2 (x3) ... JBL L820 (x6) ... SVS PB10-ISD (x2) ... SVS 20-39-PCI
Smarty-pants is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #11522 of 12093 Old 09-17-2014, 04:39 PM
AVS Special Member
 
JazzGuyy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Oro Valley AZ
Posts: 2,755
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 76 Post(s)
Liked: 101
I suspect Oppo will want more certainty that the formats will be successful before dealing with them. It is not certain that Auro and/or Atmos will be successful in the home. Only time will tell.

JazzGuyy is online now  
post #11523 of 12093 Old 09-18-2014, 06:58 PM
Newbie
 
Ken Schmader's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I hadn't thought about licensing fees. However, if this new feature could be provided by a firmware release, maybe Oppo could sell the release download via its online store.


I am hoping this feature can be added because for me rear channel sounds are significantly blocked by the headrest of whatever I am sitting/reclining on. I think applying those amplifier channels instead with height speakers would be more involving and fun. (And I don't want to have to buy a whole new BDP-10next player to do it.)
Ken Schmader is offline  
post #11524 of 12093 Old 09-18-2014, 07:19 PM
gsr
Oppo Beta Group
 
gsr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Massachusetts, USA
Posts: 7,702
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 223 Post(s)
Liked: 236
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ken Schmader View Post
I hadn't thought about licensing fees. However, if this new feature could be provided by a firmware release, maybe Oppo could sell the release download via its online store.


I am hoping this feature can be added because for me rear channel sounds are significantly blocked by the headrest of whatever I am sitting/reclining on. I think applying those amplifier channels instead with height speakers would be more involving and fun. (And I don't want to have to buy a whole new BDP-10next player to do it.)
I can't say with absolute certainty, but I'd say it's extremely unlikely that the 10x platform can/will receive an update to enable decoding Atmos. In addition to things like licensing, it's quite likely that the platform's hardware doesn't have the horsepower needed to handle decoding Atmos. Some new AVR's are being released without Atmos, but with promises of firmware updates to add it later, but I'm not aware of any existing ones that will be receiving updates to support Atmos.
gsr is offline  
post #11525 of 12093 Old 09-19-2014, 09:37 AM
AVS Special Member
 
JazzGuyy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Oro Valley AZ
Posts: 2,755
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 76 Post(s)
Liked: 101
From everything I have read or heard, Atmos decoding requires special chipsets so the Oppos would require hardware changes to handle Atmos. Highly unlikely to happen. The 83SE was the last time Oppo offered hardware modifications.

JazzGuyy is online now  
post #11526 of 12093 Old 09-19-2014, 04:39 PM
Newbie
 
Ken Schmader's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by RichB View Post
A word of caution for all those using their BDP's as a preamp or otherwise using variable volume.
It is a good idea to turn off your amp or at least make sure there is nothing to playing so you can check the volume settings prior to use.

Also, I just discovered that the SuperDisk was required to restore mutli-region DVD playback.
Reapplying the SuperDisk reset the variable volume to volume to 100% and reset the max volume to 100, and set the power-on volume to last.
My Netflix credentials were also wiped.

- Rich
I use my BDP-105 as a preamp. On several occasions the player reset to the factory defaults on its own, which include full "max volume" and "variable volume". (How fast can you dive to your amps' off switches?) So now upon startup I use display brightness to determine quickly which settings are in effect. My settings include a dimmed display. Factory default has full brightness. If the display doesn't dim while showing "OPPO" during startup the amps stay off.
wekya likes this.
Ken Schmader is offline  
post #11527 of 12093 Old 09-19-2014, 04:53 PM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 28,100
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 641 Post(s)
Liked: 1041
^ This is not normal. Your player may have a problem with its settings memory. I suggest you call OPPO Tech Support so they can set up warranty service.
--Bob

Anthem D2/D2v/AVM50/AVM50v/ARC1 tweaking guide. -- Need personal consultation/training? PM me!
Bob Pariseau is online now  
post #11528 of 12093 Old 09-19-2014, 05:15 PM
Member
 
haggis999's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Southampton, UK
Posts: 111
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Latest beta firmware

The firmware description states "Improved the Gapless Playback feature, and resolved an issue where the gapless mode could not be enabled for some 96 kHz / 24-bit WAV files". The use of 'and' in the middle of that sentence implies that the improvements are not limited to the 96/24 WAV fix.

Does anyone know what other changes have been made to the gapless playback capability on the BDP-105?

David
haggis999 is offline  
post #11529 of 12093 Old 09-19-2014, 06:07 PM
AVS Special Member
 
DanF8500's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 1,379
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 306 Post(s)
Liked: 222
^ Oppo saying they "improved" the gapless playback feature may not mean they added any new features that we can see. It could mean that they improved on the internal algorithm to enhance the robustness and efficiency of the existing gapless playback function.
DanF8500 is offline  
post #11530 of 12093 Old 09-19-2014, 09:52 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Smarty-pants's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 16,446
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 247 Post(s)
Liked: 190
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ken Schmader View Post
I use my BDP-105 as a preamp. On several occasions the player reset to the factory defaults on its own, which include full "max volume" and "variable volume". (How fast can you dive to your amps' off switches?) So now upon startup I use display brightness to determine quickly which settings are in effect. My settings include a dimmed display. Factory default has full brightness. If the display doesn't dim while showing "OPPO" during startup the amps stay off.
Be sure that once you have changed your player settings to the preferred settings,
that you are power cycling the player with the remote or the power button on the front of the player.
If you are cutting the power from the outlet or surge protector, your settings may not be saved,
and thus the next time you power on the player, the default settings take over again.
Also, make sure that you are using the setting inside the settings menu to control what volume you want the player to power on at.
If you do not change that setting, no matter where the volume is when powering off the player, it will turn on at full volume again.
If neither of those scenarios describe what may be happening to your player, then there's a good chance it may need serviced by Oppo.

~Dave

...Theater Room Setup...
JVC DLA-RS40-U... Oppo BDP-105D... Toshiba HD-XA2... Uverse VIP-2250... Roku Streaming Stick... Emotiva XPA-3... Onkyo TX-SR805
JBL LC2 (x3) ... JBL L820 (x6) ... SVS PB10-ISD (x2) ... SVS 20-39-PCI
Smarty-pants is offline  
post #11531 of 12093 Old 09-21-2014, 10:29 PM
Newbie
 
mcvt2k1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I wanted to use my ipad to play spotify and use the 105d's USB DAC port. I am using a lightning - camera adapter and a usb cable to connect, like my friend suggested - he can do it with his marantz8005. I get an error that the oppo is using too much power and cannot be used. I also couldn't connect any idevice to the front usb port since i believe it doesn't support it. Has anyone tried connecting their iDevices to the 105d and use it as a source? Is this something that can be worked on in the future?
mcvt2k1 is offline  
post #11532 of 12093 Old 09-22-2014, 05:38 AM
AVS Special Member
 
RichB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 8,906
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 336 Post(s)
Liked: 277
Quote:
Originally Posted by mcvt2k1 View Post
I wanted to use my ipad to play spotify and use the 105d's USB DAC port. I am using a lightning - camera adapter and a usb cable to connect, like my friend suggested - he can do it with his marantz8005. I get an error that the oppo is using too much power and cannot be used. I also couldn't connect any idevice to the front usb port since i believe it doesn't support it. Has anyone tried connecting their iDevices to the 105d and use it as a source? Is this something that can be worked on in the future?
A USB hub can be used to get around the Apple power message. This one worked for me:

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00...?ie=UTF8&psc=1

- Rich

Oppo Beta Group

Oppo BDP-105D | Oppo HA-1 | Oppo PM-1 | Parasound A21 & A31 | Revel Salon, Voice, Studio | Velodyne HGS-15
RichB is online now  
post #11533 of 12093 Old 09-23-2014, 03:25 PM
Member
 
turboman808's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 104
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Hi all,

I don't post on AVS forums that much but I hope this is an alright place.

I use the oppo 105 and a roku. I recently got the vizio 70 e700i-b3. I have everything calibrated to what looks good to me. I'm pretty happy. Only one slight problem. Video coming from the roku doesn't look as good as video from the oppo. Netflix and Vudu on the oppo look great. Video from the roku seems to stutter now and then. It's not something anyone else seems to notice but me. But it just doesn't seem as smooth as the video services on the oppo. So is there some way to fix this or the roku just doesn't play back as good. I don't know if there is a setting on the tv or the oppo that can make it work better. The roku really doesn't have alot of settings to adjust.

Thanks
Nate

tubes tubes and more tubes.
turboman808 is offline  
post #11534 of 12093 Old 09-23-2014, 03:25 PM
Member
 
turboman808's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 104
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Hi all,

I don't post on AVS forums that much but I hope this is an alright place.

I use the oppo 105 and a roku. I recently got the vizio 70 e700i-b3. I have everything calibrated to what looks good to me. I'm pretty happy. Only one slight problem. Video coming from the roku doesn't look as good as video from the oppo. Netflix and Vudu on the oppo look great. Video from the roku seems to stutter now and then. It's not something anyone else seems to notice but me. But it just doesn't seem as smooth as the video services on the oppo. So is there some way to fix this or the roku just doesn't play back as good. I don't know if there is a setting on the tv or the oppo that can make it work better. The roku really doesn't have alot of settings to adjust.

Thanks
Nate

tubes tubes and more tubes.
turboman808 is offline  
post #11535 of 12093 Old 09-23-2014, 04:30 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Smarty-pants's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 16,446
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 247 Post(s)
Liked: 190
^ What model of Roku do you have?
If it is the MHL stick, is it running through the Oppo via the front MHL input?
If it's a different model, is it still running through the players HDMI input?
Have you tried turning off 24p in the 105?
FWIW, it is said that the NF app in the player is better than the NF app in the Roku, so that may just be the difference you are seeing.

So how do like the pic on that new Vizio 70"? Best value in a 4k display right now?

~Dave

...Theater Room Setup...
JVC DLA-RS40-U... Oppo BDP-105D... Toshiba HD-XA2... Uverse VIP-2250... Roku Streaming Stick... Emotiva XPA-3... Onkyo TX-SR805
JBL LC2 (x3) ... JBL L820 (x6) ... SVS PB10-ISD (x2) ... SVS 20-39-PCI
Smarty-pants is offline  
post #11536 of 12093 Old 09-23-2014, 08:51 PM
Member
 
turboman808's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 104
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Smarty-pants View Post
^ What model of Roku do you have?
If it is the MHL stick, is it running through the Oppo via the front MHL input?
If it's a different model, is it still running through the players HDMI input?
Have you tried turning off 24p in the 105?
FWIW, it is said that the NF app in the player is better than the NF app in the Roku, so that may just be the difference you are seeing.

So how do like the pic on that new Vizio 70"? Best value in a 4k display right now?

Sorry I got the 1080p tv. I just didn't see the point in doing 4k at this time. Next system will be.

The roku stick didn't work that well so I got the roku 3. Way better then the roku stick. But yes still running thru the oppo rear hdmi input.

I will have to take a look at the 24p setting in the oppo. I think it's set to auto right now.

tubes tubes and more tubes.
turboman808 is offline  
post #11537 of 12093 Old 09-23-2014, 10:01 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Smarty-pants's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 16,446
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 247 Post(s)
Liked: 190
Quote:
Originally Posted by turboman808 View Post
Sorry I got the 1080p tv. I just didn't see the point in doing 4k at this time. Next system will be.

The roku stick didn't work that well so I got the roku 3. Way better then the roku stick. But yes still running thru the oppo rear hdmi input.

I will have to take a look at the 24p setting in the oppo. I think it's set to auto right now.
Oh my bad, at a glance I thought that was the newer 4k model.
Give the 24p setting a try and see if that helps with the flickering and whatnot.
For just general overall PQ, if the Oppo looks better on it's built in app, then use it instead.
Kinda odd that something as popular as the Roku owuldn't have good of an app as the Oppo.
Now if we can just get Oppo to add Amazon and Hulu+ streaming...

~Dave

...Theater Room Setup...
JVC DLA-RS40-U... Oppo BDP-105D... Toshiba HD-XA2... Uverse VIP-2250... Roku Streaming Stick... Emotiva XPA-3... Onkyo TX-SR805
JBL LC2 (x3) ... JBL L820 (x6) ... SVS PB10-ISD (x2) ... SVS 20-39-PCI
Smarty-pants is offline  
post #11538 of 12093 Old 09-23-2014, 11:19 PM
Member
 
turboman808's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 104
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Smarty-pants View Post
Oh my bad, at a glance I thought that was the newer 4k model.
Give the 24p setting a try and see if that helps with the flickering and whatnot.
For just general overall PQ, if the Oppo looks better on it's built in app, then use it instead.
Kinda odd that something as popular as the Roku owuldn't have good of an app as the Oppo.
Now if we can just get Oppo to add Amazon and Hulu+ streaming...
Yeah that's the thing, I have alot of tv shows that I bought thru amazon. They get them the fastest. Also the fall season started and there is actually stuff to watch on hulu. But yeah for movies I use vudu and the oppo.

tubes tubes and more tubes.
turboman808 is offline  
post #11539 of 12093 Old 09-23-2014, 11:21 PM
Member
 
911turbojk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Guys ,, if you are already using LUMAGEN 2143 ,,, do you still need a 105D? or just keep the original 105 ?
911turbojk is offline  
post #11540 of 12093 Old 09-24-2014, 02:59 PM
AVS Special Member
 
audiman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Montreal region, Canada
Posts: 1,123
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 14
still no oppo new ipad controller (v3) available?
audiman is offline  
post #11541 of 12093 Old 09-24-2014, 03:42 PM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 28,100
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 641 Post(s)
Liked: 1041
^ Typically the iOS releases take a little longer to get through Apple's approval process.
--Bob

Anthem D2/D2v/AVM50/AVM50v/ARC1 tweaking guide. -- Need personal consultation/training? PM me!
Bob Pariseau is online now  
post #11542 of 12093 Old 09-25-2014, 07:12 AM
Member
 
Wolfy701's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 29
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 5
What is the PCM resolution when the Oppo-105 converts DSD bitstream? I know the Sony BDP-6200 can do 176.4/24 PCM via HDMI. I can't find this info in any Oppo literature.
Thanks!

Wolfy
Wolfy701 is offline  
post #11543 of 12093 Old 09-25-2014, 07:22 AM
AVS Special Member
 
DanF8500's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 1,379
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 306 Post(s)
Liked: 222
Official OPPO BDP-105 Owner's Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wolfy701 View Post
What is the PCM resolution when the Oppo-105 converts DSD bitstream? I know the Sony BDP-6200 can do 176.4/24 PCM via HDMI. I can't find this info in any Oppo literature.
Thanks!

It's 88.2 KHz, 24 Bit.

Why not 176.4KHz when converting SACD to PCM?

The hardware is capable of doing 176.4 and the licensing is not different. OPPO believes that 88.2KHz actually produces a better quality result for SACD DSD to PCM conversion. OPPO feels that even to offer 176.4 as an option would mislead people into thinking the higher rate must be better when that's simply not the case.

SACD players do not convert at a higher rate -- as measured at the Analog output. The process of producing Analog from DSD for SACD requires a 50KHz filter (just as exists in the OPPO's DACs when DSD-Direct-to-Analog conversion is in effect), which is the equivalent of a 100KHz sampling rate limit (see Nyquist Limit). 88.2 is the highest multiple of 44.1 that does not exceed 100.
DanF8500 is offline  
post #11544 of 12093 Old 09-25-2014, 05:03 PM
Member
 
Invictus87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 42
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 10
BDP-105 Headphone Amp

Hi all, quick question. Is there a recommended length of mini cable I should stay under when using the headphone amp connection on my 105D? I just purchased a pair of Sennheiser Momentums and the cord they come with is rather short and proprietary on the headphone itself. So my plan is to run the included mini cable from the headphones into a female mini cable of a longer run and then into the 3.5mm-6.5mm adapter into the Oppo. Is there any sort of length I should stay under to reduce any noticeable loss in quality?

Invictus87 is offline  
post #11545 of 12093 Old 09-25-2014, 05:35 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Smarty-pants's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 16,446
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 247 Post(s)
Liked: 190
Quote:
Originally Posted by Invictus87 View Post
Hi all, quick question. Is there a recommended length of mini cable I should stay under when using the headphone amp connection on my 105D? I just purchased a pair of Sennheiser Momentums and the cord they come with is rather short and proprietary on the headphone itself. So my plan is to run the included mini cable from the headphones into a female mini cable of a longer run and then into the 3.5mm-6.5mm adapter into the Oppo. Is there any sort of length I should stay under to reduce any noticeable loss in quality?
I have a 20ft 6.5mm extension cable that I sometimes use with my Oppo player and headphones,
and I can't detect any loss of fidelity when using it.
So as long as you are using high quality connectors and cables, it shouldn't be an issue.

~Dave

...Theater Room Setup...
JVC DLA-RS40-U... Oppo BDP-105D... Toshiba HD-XA2... Uverse VIP-2250... Roku Streaming Stick... Emotiva XPA-3... Onkyo TX-SR805
JBL LC2 (x3) ... JBL L820 (x6) ... SVS PB10-ISD (x2) ... SVS 20-39-PCI
Smarty-pants is offline  
post #11546 of 12093 Old 09-25-2014, 05:44 PM
Member
 
Wolfy701's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 29
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 5
Quote:
Originally Posted by Invictus87 View Post
I just purchased a pair of Sennheiser Momentums and the cord they come with is rather short and proprietary on the headphone itself. So my plan is to run the included mini cable from the headphones into a female mini cable of a longer run and then into the 3.5mm-6.5mm adapter into the Oppo. Is there any sort of length I should stay under to reduce any noticeable loss in quality?
I think 8-10 feet is the standard length of most stock headphone cables. But seriously, the Senn Momentum is made for portable use that's why the cord is so short. Your 105D's high-end headamp deserves better...like the HD600 (which costs about the same as the Momentum), AKG K812, HiFiMan 560, LCD-2, etc.

Cheers,

Wolfy
Wolfy701 is offline  
post #11547 of 12093 Old 09-25-2014, 07:06 PM
AVS Special Member
 
RichB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 8,906
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 336 Post(s)
Liked: 277
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wolfy701 View Post
. Your 105D's high-end headamp deserves better...like the HD600 (which costs about the same as the Momentum), AKG K812, HiFiMan 560, LCD-2,
PM-2, etc..

- Rich

Oppo Beta Group

Oppo BDP-105D | Oppo HA-1 | Oppo PM-1 | Parasound A21 & A31 | Revel Salon, Voice, Studio | Velodyne HGS-15
RichB is online now  
post #11548 of 12093 Old 09-25-2014, 07:44 PM
AVS Special Member
 
DanF8500's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 1,379
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 306 Post(s)
Liked: 222
A new version (V3.0) of Oppo's Media Control app, built for Apple iOS, is now available for download.

DanF8500 is offline  
post #11549 of 12093 Old 09-25-2014, 09:01 PM
Member
 
david515mi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by DanF8500 View Post
A new version (V3.0) of Oppo's Media Control app, built for Apple iOS, is now available for download.

I'd be interested to know exactly what the touch control is all about on the new Media Control app- can't figure out exactly what it's supposed to do!
david515mi is offline  
post #11550 of 12093 Old 09-25-2014, 09:05 PM
Member
 
Invictus87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 42
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Smarty-pants View Post
I have a 20ft 6.5mm extension cable that I sometimes use with my Oppo player and headphones,
and I can't detect any loss of fidelity when using it.
So as long as you are using high quality connectors and cables, it shouldn't be an issue.
Ok cool, sounds good. I'll grab a decent Audioquest one. Thanks.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wolfy701 View Post
I think 8-10 feet is the standard length of most stock headphone cables. But seriously, the Senn Momentum is made for portable use that's why the cord is so short. Your 105D's high-end headamp deserves better...like the HD600 (which costs about the same as the Momentum), AKG K812, HiFiMan 560, LCD-2, etc.

Cheers,
Yeah, I realize that the momentum over ears aren't necessarily the best things available. However, I am primarily using them for portable use as I am not a big headphone guy and tend to just listen to speakers when at home. I wanted something that looked decent, had good sound without being overly large as well as something I could get a discount on. I just like the option of plugging them into the Oppo when I want. If I find that they inspire me to listen to headphones more often I will definitely consider your upgrade recommendations in the future. Thanks again.

Invictus87 is offline  
Reply Blu-ray Players

Tags
Oppo Bdp 105 Blu Ray Player

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off