Official OPPO BDP-105 Owner's Thread - Page 390 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 75Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #11671 of 11688 Old 10-20-2014, 04:22 PM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 27,722
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 423 Post(s)
Liked: 905
^ My word, yes. Playing music files off an attached USB hard drive is one of the more common things you'll find 105 owner's doing. You can also stream files from an SMB server or DLNA server set up elsewhere on your house network. The 105 and newer 105D also have an Asynchronous USB DAC Input which you can connect to a computer and play stereo audio into the OPPO from the computer as if it was an external sound card.

There are only 11,670 posts in this thread discussing this stuff, so shouldn't take you THAT long to absorb it all.

There's also a separate thread for the newer 105D (D for "Darbee" video processing) version, and another thread where people are discussing Gapless media file playback and things like CUE files. Just the sort of reading designed for these longer, late Fall and Winter nights.
--Bob

Anthem D2/D2v/AVM50/AVM50v/ARC1 tweaking guide. -- Need personal consultation/training? PM me!
Bob Pariseau is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #11672 of 11688 Old 10-20-2014, 04:32 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Smarty-pants's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 16,280
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 168 Post(s)
Liked: 148
^ Don't forget also, the Oppo BDP-105 "Sound Quality" Check Thread for Audiophiles, lol


~Dave

...Theater Room Setup...
JVC DLA-RS40-U... Oppo BDP-105D... Toshiba HD-XA2... Uverse VIP-2250... Roku Streaming Stick... Emotiva XPA-3... Onkyo TX-SR805
JBL LC2 (x3) ... JBL L820 (x6) ... SVS PB10-ISD (x2) ... SVS 20-39-PCI
Smarty-pants is offline  
post #11673 of 11688 Old 10-20-2014, 05:56 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Garman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: The Moon
Posts: 4,819
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 181 Post(s)
Liked: 48
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Pariseau View Post
^ My word, yes. Playing music files off an attached USB hard drive is one of the more common things you'll find 105 owner's doing. You can also stream files from an SMB server or DLNA server set up elsewhere on your house network. The 105 and newer 105D also have an Asynchronous USB DAC Input which you can connect to a computer and play stereo audio into the OPPO from the computer as if it was an external sound card.

There are only 11,670 posts in this thread discussing this stuff, so shouldn't take you THAT long to absorb it all.

There's also a separate thread for the newer 105D (D for "Darbee" video processing) version, and another thread where people are discussing Gapless media file playback and things like CUE files. Just the sort of reading designed for these longer, late Fall and Winter nights.
--Bob

Bob,

Thats why I asked the questions, as I am sure it redundant ones at that! I know gapless playback via the memory stick has been an issue, have they resolved that yet?

Thanks for the input Bob, and the Link Smarty-Pants!
Garman is online now  
post #11674 of 11688 Old 10-20-2014, 06:15 PM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 27,722
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 423 Post(s)
Liked: 905
Gapless from an attached USB drive or over the network from an SMB server works for WAV, FLAC, and APE files. Gapless is expected to extend to other formats at some point, but not yet.
--Bob

Anthem D2/D2v/AVM50/AVM50v/ARC1 tweaking guide. -- Need personal consultation/training? PM me!
Bob Pariseau is offline  
post #11675 of 11688 Old Today, 01:06 AM
Senior Member
 
Wookii's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 349
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 138 Post(s)
Liked: 38
Quote:
Originally Posted by Santelises View Post
I have managed to get the Linn Kinsky app working fine, for everything except .DSF DSD files. Has anyone managed to get this latter file type working via Kinsky?


It seems it is a problem with the OPPO as a renderer based on a thread I recently saw not advertising that it can support DSF. Here is a quote:


This is actually a problem with the OPPO. A UPnP renderer should advertise all the MIME types that it is able to play. It seems that the OPPO isn't doing this.

Kinsky refuses to send the renderer a MIME type that the renderer hasn't advertised, and there's no way to disable this check. With BubbleUPnP, setting this UPnP tweak setting disables the check, so BubbleUPnP sends the file to the renderer even though the renderer is saying that it can't play it.
Thanks for the reply. Hopefully Oppo will sort this DSD issue then before releasing the beta as a full firmware.

Regarding BubbleUPnP (and sorry of this is a stupid question) but amI right in thinking I can't use this with Apple devices, only Android?

Have you tried Lumin at all? I can get the app to see the Minimserver library, but the app doesn't seem to see the Oppo as a selectable 'Lumin'. I know people have used Lumin with other renderers, and it is one of the better control points out there, so it would be good to get it working.
Wookii is offline  
post #11676 of 11688 Old Today, 03:49 PM
Member
 
Eldecar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Marietta Ohio
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Oppo, are you listening? Please fix the damn YouTube App freezing bug. I love what you have done for my system, but I'm getting tired of having to get up and unplug the thing every other time I want to use this application. Patch please!
Eldecar is offline  
post #11677 of 11688 Old Today, 03:59 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
Neuromancer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Navigating the Black IC
Posts: 10,976
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 175
How are you getting it to lockup? I run YouTube sometimes for hours on end without any problems using an Ethernet cable to my router.
Neuromancer is offline  
post #11678 of 11688 Old Today, 04:13 PM
Member
 
Eldecar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Marietta Ohio
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by Neuromancer View Post
How are you getting it to lockup? I run YouTube sometimes for hours on end without any problems using an Ethernet cable to my router.


Same way. Wired. With excellent internet speed. Freezes every other time. Never used to do it. Forget about even trying to use my phone to control the app. Freezes every time.
Eldecar is offline  
post #11679 of 11688 Old Today, 04:19 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
Neuromancer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Navigating the Black IC
Posts: 10,976
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 175
This sounds like you are having network related issues. Do you have other devices connected to the network which are running DLNA DMP/DMR or SMB servers? If yes, and you turn off these devices, do you have the same issues?

Under Network Setup of the player, if you set My Network to OFF, do you have the same problems?
Eldecar likes this.
Neuromancer is offline  
post #11680 of 11688 Old Today, 04:24 PM
Member
 
Eldecar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Marietta Ohio
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by Neuromancer View Post
This sounds like you are having network related issues. Do you have other devices connected to the network which are running DLNA DMP/DMR or SMB servers? If yes, and you turn off these devices, do you have the same issues?

Under Network Setup of the player, if you set My Network to OFF, do you have the same problems?


I will try this, however this never happened before the last firmware update, at which time I was running the same settings. Don't get me wrong, this only happens when starting the app. If it starts I can run it for hours with no problem.
Eldecar is offline  
post #11681 of 11688 Old Today, 04:25 PM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 27,722
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 423 Post(s)
Liked: 905
Quote:
Originally Posted by Eldecar View Post
Oppo, are you listening? Please fix the damn YouTube App freezing bug. I love what you have done for my system, but I'm getting tired of having to get up and unplug the thing every other time I want to use this application. Patch please!
Separate from the issue of why it is freezing on you, it should not be necessary to unplug the player to recover. Press and release the Power button once on the remote or on the front panel. Then wait. If the player does not respond normally then the Power Off Failsafe will kick in after about 10 seconds or so delay and shut the player off anyway.

The next power up will be a full reboot ("Energy Efficient" style) even if you have Quick Start set.

-------------------------------------------

Also, are you running current firmware? Check Setup > Device Setup > Firmware Information. The current Official firmware will have a "Main" firmware number of BDP10X-75-0515.

Even better is the Public Beta firmware (download from the OPPO Support page for install via a USB stick): BDP10X-77-0827B.

If not, update your firmware. The YouTube app has had recent changes.

-------------------------------------------

Whenever the player is acting oddly, a good first step is to do a complete reset:

1) Remove any disc.

2) Jot down your setup settings or Save them to a USB stick (Setup > Device Setup > Settings Management)

3) In Setup > Device Setup, Erase Persistent Storage. Then Reset Factory Defaults.

4) When the Reset completes, power down the player. Now you really SHOULD pull the power plug. While still unplugged, press and hold the power button on the front panel for a few seconds. This is to discharge any residual power.

5) Plug back in, power up and restore your personal settings

6) Power down once again. Settings are saved during the power down cycle.

Check to see if your problem with the YouTube Lean Back app still exists.
--Bob
Eldecar likes this.

Anthem D2/D2v/AVM50/AVM50v/ARC1 tweaking guide. -- Need personal consultation/training? PM me!
Bob Pariseau is offline  
post #11682 of 11688 Old Today, 04:31 PM
Member
 
Eldecar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Marietta Ohio
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Pariseau View Post
Separate from the issue of why it is freezing on you, it should not be necessary to unplug the player to recover. Press and release the Power button once on the remote or on the front panel. Then wait. If the player does not respond normally then the Power Off Failsafe will kick in after about 10 seconds or so delay and shut the player off anyway.

The next power up will be a full reboot ("Energy Efficient" style) even if you have Quick Start set.

-------------------------------------------

Also, are you running current firmware? Check Setup > Device Setup > Firmware Information. The current Official firmware will have a "Main" firmware number of BDP10X-75-0515.

Even better is the Public Beta firmware (download from the OPPO Support page for install via a USB stick): BDP10X-77-0827B.

If not, update your firmware. The YouTube app has had recent changes.

-------------------------------------------

Whenever the player is acting oddly, a good first step is to do a complete reset:

1) Remove any disc.

2) Jot down your setup settings or Save them to a USB stick (Setup > Device Setup > Settings Management)

3) In Setup > Device Setup, Erase Persistent Storage. Then Reset Factory Defaults.

4) When the Reset completes, power down the player. Now you really SHOULD pull the power plug. While still unplugged, press and hold the power button on the front panel for a few seconds. This is to discharge any residual power.

5) Plug back in, power up and restore your personal settings

6) Power down once again. Settings are saved during the power down cycle.

Check to see if your problem with the YouTube Lean Back app still exists.
--Bob

Thanks Bob. I will try all of this. By shutting down the player the app always worked after that.
Eldecar is offline  
post #11683 of 11688 Old Today, 04:32 PM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 27,722
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 423 Post(s)
Liked: 905
Quote:
Originally Posted by Eldecar View Post
I will try this, however this never happened before the last firmware update, at which time I was running the same settings. Don't get me wrong, this only happens when starting the app. If it starts I can run it for hours with no problem.
Are you set to use Energy Efficient stand-by instead of Quick Start?

When you have the problem, are you starting the YouTube app as the first thing you do after turning on the player?

If so it could simply be that you are starting the app before networking is live in the player.

To test this theory, try this: Power on the player. Go to Setup > Network Setup > Connection Test and see if you get a good result. If not, back out of Setup > Network Setup, go back in, and try again.

Launch YouTube only AFTER you get a good Connection Test result, which means networking is now fully live in the player.

Now, is it still failing roughly every other time you try launching YouTube this way, i.e., after first confirming networking is live?
--Bob
Eldecar likes this.

Anthem D2/D2v/AVM50/AVM50v/ARC1 tweaking guide. -- Need personal consultation/training? PM me!
Bob Pariseau is offline  
post #11684 of 11688 Old Today, 04:37 PM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 27,722
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 423 Post(s)
Liked: 905
Quote:
Originally Posted by Eldecar View Post
Thanks Bob. I will try all of this. By shutting down the player the app always worked after that.
Shutting down the player by pulling the plug -- or via the Power Off Failsafe -- forces a full (Energy Efficient) reboot on the next power up, even if you have Quick Start set. If you normally use Quick Start, that could be the difference.

One of the things Quick Start does is keep networking live while the player is in stand-by. But your router may not allow the player to re-use an "old" connection. In which case Quick Start will get failures in networking when you turn the player back on. That will recover, but it takes a bit.

An Energy Efficient power up restarts networking from scratch -- making new connection requests to your router.

If you normally use Quick Start, and find the problem happens only after the player has been shut off for a while, then there may be a setting you can make in your router to extend the amount of time it allows an old connection to remain usable. Look for a setting in the router on how long it allows a DHCP "Lease" to stay good before it expires. Typical choices will be an hour, a day, and a week.
--Bob
Eldecar likes this.

Anthem D2/D2v/AVM50/AVM50v/ARC1 tweaking guide. -- Need personal consultation/training? PM me!

Last edited by Bob Pariseau; Today at 04:42 PM.
Bob Pariseau is offline  
post #11685 of 11688 Old Today, 04:38 PM
Member
 
Eldecar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Marietta Ohio
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Pariseau View Post
Are you set to use Energy Efficient stand-by instead of Quick Start?

When you have the problem, are you starting the YouTube app as the first thing you do after turning on the player?

If so it could simply be that you are starting the app before networking is live in the player.

To test this theory, try this: Power on the player. Go to Setup > Network Setup > Connection Test and see if you get a good result. If not, back out of Setup > Network Setup, go back in, and try again.

Launch YouTube only AFTER you get a good Connection Test result, which means networking is now fully live in the player.

Now, is it still failing roughly every other time you try launching YouTube this way, i.e., after first confirming networking is live?
--Bob
Looks like I came to the right place. Will try all of this now. Thank You.
Eldecar is offline  
post #11686 of 11688 Old Today, 04:49 PM
AVS Special Member
 
DanF8500's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 1,098
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 134 Post(s)
Liked: 168
Official OPPO BDP-105 Owner's Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by Eldecar View Post
Looks like I came to the right place. Will try all of this now. Thank You.

Or you could just leave your Oppo player on all the time. It only draws about 55 watts of power when it's on.....the equivalent of a low watt light bulb. Although, the ultimate solution is to fix the app. Since this thread started, I've been reading complaints of the YT app freezing and locking up the Oppo player. On the brighter side, the complaints have been much less than a year ago..The Youtube app on my iPad really sucks (2 out of 5 stars for over 4000 reviews). I think Google doesn't care to "get it right" on an Apple product. I now use the McTube app, and it is a lot better than Youtube.

Last edited by DanF8500; Today at 04:59 PM.
DanF8500 is online now  
post #11687 of 11688 Old Today, 05:51 PM
AVS Special Member
 
scirica's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Dallas, TX1
Posts: 1,669
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 100
Quote:
Originally Posted by canyoncreek View Post
Most of the time, I am a very happy 105 owner. Unfortunately, my 105 locks up or freezes more than I would like. Mostly when I go between modes such as network, netflix, etc... Usually, I can hit the power button and it responds. Occasionally, I must pull power. At the latest beta fw level. Is it my unit or does anyone else see these issues ? Could it be a network problem ?
Yes, I experience the exact same freeze up issues. Usually I hit the power, but sometimes it takes forever to shut down so I just pull the plug.
scirica is offline  
post #11688 of 11688 Old Today, 07:46 PM
Member
 
Eldecar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Marietta Ohio
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by Neuromancer View Post
This sounds like you are having network related issues. Do you have other devices connected to the network which are running DLNA DMP/DMR or SMB servers? If yes, and you turn off these devices, do you have the same issues?

Under Network Setup of the player, if you set My Network to OFF, do you have the same problems?
Thanks Neuromancer. Turned my network to off and fixed the problem.
Eldecar is offline  
Reply Blu-ray Players

Tags
Oppo Bdp 105 Blu Ray Player

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off