Official OPPO BDP-105 Owner's Thread - Page 418 - AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 270Likes
Reply
Thread Tools
post #12511 of 12520 Old 02-26-2015, 12:41 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Mongo171's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Buffalo, NY
Posts: 2,358
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 330 Post(s)
Liked: 892
Quote:
Originally Posted by wadeh911 View Post
With respect to my comment about most people on this forum owning both vinyl and sacd of DSOTM, I never underestimate my fellow AVS'rs!
It was the first CD I ever bought. I need to get the SACD.

"I am a Meat Popsicle." - Corbin Dallas, "The Fifth Element"

Klipsch Chorus II (Mains); Klipsch Academy (Center) (KLF-C7 waiting in the wings); Klipsch RS-62 II (Surrounds); SVS PC13-Ultra (Big Bada Boom); ATI AT1505 (Amp); OPPO BDP-105 (Blu-ray Player); Panasonic 60GT50 (Plasma TV)
Mongo171 is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #12512 of 12520 Old 02-27-2015, 04:19 PM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 28,332
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 776 Post(s)
Liked: 1090
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bill Mac View Post
I'm in the process of further troubleshooting. I did a system reset and it appears to have taken care of the Auto Resume feature glitch. Now when I power up the 105D it no longer starts playing at the resumed point. I now have to hit play for Auto Resume to work. That's good.

As far as the noise from the 105D that's a different matter. What I did find was that when a disc is playing and the Home Menu is not on the 105D's display the noise stops. Stop the disc and the Home Menu is back on the display the noise resumes. I also found that with the Home Menu on the display (noise is there) and I adjust the analog volume with the volume value on the display the noise stops. If I stop adjusting the volume and the Home Menu is back on the display the noise resumes. I have every cable accept the power cable disconnected and the noise is still there. I plugged the 105D into a different outlet and a different circuit and the noise is still there. So it appears I'll be getting an RMA to return the 105D.

Bill
RMA sounds like the correct answer here. Warranty service, of course, even for your refurb.
--Bob

Anthem D2/D2v/AVM50/AVM50v/ARC1 tweaking guide. -- Need personal consultation/training? PM me!
Bob Pariseau is offline  
post #12513 of 12520 Old 02-27-2015, 04:54 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Bill Mac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 11,729
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 277 Post(s)
Liked: 565
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Pariseau View Post
RMA sounds like the correct answer here. Warranty service, of course, even for your refurb.
--Bob
Bob,

I have the 105D all boxed up and will ship it back to Oppo tomorrow. They make the whole return process so easy. I'm doing a return as I'm going to stick with my 103 for awhile. I'm going to ask Oppo if they can let me know what is causing the noise from the player. Also the FW seems a bit screwed up as well. This is my fourth Oppo player and the first that has had any issues. These things happen but I'll be quite content with the 103 .

Bill
lanping09 likes this.

My SACD collection, watch it grow and my wallet shrink ;-).

Denon 4311 (in preamp mode), Parasound 2100, Boston Acoustics A7200 amp, Wyred 4 sound SX-500s, Oppo BDP-103, Consonance CD120, Panasonic TC-P60GT50 plasma, Panamax 5100EX, Salk Song Towers, Song Center, ADS 300C (surrounds) and two Rythmik F12SEs.
Bill Mac is online now  
post #12514 of 12520 Old 02-27-2015, 06:12 PM
Senior Member
 
JimSatala777's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Ft. Myers Beach, FL
Posts: 226
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 118 Post(s)
Liked: 25
The Dacs in the 105D are top notch. ..a seperate ESS 9018 for the each of the stereo outputs and another one for the multichannel outputs. ...I have been doing A/B testing with my Psaudio directstream and the Sabres get you pretty darn close
JimSatala777 is offline  
post #12515 of 12520 Old 02-28-2015, 07:36 PM
Member
 
Sinistre1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 194
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
I am sure this has been asked... if it hasn't I am probably up the creek without the proverbial paddle. That said I am under a huge time constraint and the time I spend trying to find the solution (I have already searched for 2 hrs) might be better spent doing the things I need to do elsewheres... here is my dilemma. As of about a week and a half ago, I had my oppo 105 going HDMI in to an Onkyo 805. Said Onkyo decided to go up in a blaze of glory. I am going away for a month tomorrow and have my nephew apt sitting for me. The oppo hdmi solution was basically point and click AND it worked very, very well. I did not have the time or finances to run out and grab a receiver (and would hate to do so without research... blaze of glory receiver not withstanding). I happen to have 4 channels of amplification in the form of a pair of Adcom 545 amps. I set the oppo up directly with the 545's and I can't get my powered SVS Pn12 sub to play.

The problem is try as I may I can not get the sub to register a signal from the oppo and join the party. The system was one of the selling points to getting him to apt sit for a whole month. Although it isn't horrible with just the full range coming from my speakers it isn't close to what the 805 set up was... with the non playing sub being most if not all of the difference. I have tried adding +10db, large small, sub on pretty much every possible setting. I also moved the rca's from the stereo pair to the FR and FL of the multichannel. I just can't get the sub to turn on/ play with this set up. Any ideas what I am doing wrong. I am asking for help... or mercy as it were. Yes I KNOW there is a search function but I have not been able to use it successfully for the last 2 hrs and I am hoping that someone/anyone that has run into this situation can help. I am in the middle if packing but I will keep checking back. Havent had the heart to say anything to my nephew yet. Hoping I won't have to.

I'm getting there....!!!

Last edited by Sinistre1; 02-28-2015 at 07:40 PM.
Sinistre1 is offline  
post #12516 of 12520 Old 02-28-2015, 07:57 PM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 28,332
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 776 Post(s)
Liked: 1090
^ The most likely reason is that you have the Sub cable plugged into either the wrong output jack on the back of the OPPO or the wrong input jack on the Sub.

Use the Test Tones in the OPPO to confirm that a signal is getting to the Sub.

The OPPO puts out "line level" signals on the Sub jack, so the cable should be attached to the "line level" input on the Sub -- not a "high level" or "speaker" input.

Confirm that the you have the right jack connected on the OPPO, and that the cable is good, by temporarily connecting to an amp input for one of the normal speakers and then testing with the Test Tones in the OPPO.
--Bob

Anthem D2/D2v/AVM50/AVM50v/ARC1 tweaking guide. -- Need personal consultation/training? PM me!
Bob Pariseau is offline  
post #12517 of 12520 Unread Today, 06:35 AM
AVS Special Member
 
eljr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Futuristic London
Posts: 4,976
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 429 Post(s)
Liked: 2276
Quote:
Originally Posted by JimSatala777 View Post
The Dacs in the 105D are top notch. ..a seperate ESS 9018 for the each of the stereo outputs and another one for the multichannel outputs. ...I have been doing A/B testing with my Psaudio directstream and the Sabres get you pretty darn close

It uses one Dac for stereo and one for 7.1.

Not one for each channel.

Question, how would using 4 dacs per stereo channel effect the end product compared to one chip period for stereo.


that is 8 Chips vs 1. All the same SABRE32 chip.

What you got back home, little sister, to play your fuzzy warbles on? I bet you got little save pitiful, portable picnic players. Come with uncle and hear all proper! Hear angel trumpets and devil trombones. You are invited.
eljr is online now  
post #12518 of 12520 Unread Today, 06:37 AM
AVS Special Member
 
eljr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Futuristic London
Posts: 4,976
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 429 Post(s)
Liked: 2276
Quote:
Originally Posted by eljr View Post
It uses one Dac for stereo and one for 7.1.

Not one for each channel.

Question, how would using 4 dacs per stereo channel effect the end product compared to one chip period for stereo.


that is 8 Chips vs 1. All the same SABRE32 chip.
also, how do things like power supplies (type and quality) , clock accuracy, number of dacs, configuration of dacs, chassis rigidity, etc. effect the sound.

What you got back home, little sister, to play your fuzzy warbles on? I bet you got little save pitiful, portable picnic players. Come with uncle and hear all proper! Hear angel trumpets and devil trombones. You are invited.
eljr is online now  
post #12519 of 12520 Unread Today, 08:07 AM
Member
 
COmusicaddict's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Colorado Springs
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Shuts down & won't play. Ugh.

Greetings All, I've been using my Oppo BDO-105 happily for the last year until yesterday when something happened while I was behind the audio rack. The player quit playing midstream and will not play now. It'll light up, open and close the drawer, but always dims to dark and shuts down within seconds. I'm not sure if something somehow shorted or what. It wasn't unplugged while running. Is there a quick way to reset? I didn't find my issue in troubleshooting. I'd sure welcome any thoughts from the folks with more experience. Thanks! Mark A, Colorado Springs
COmusicaddict is online now  
post #12520 of 12520 Unread Today, 10:09 AM
Member
 
elfiself's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: upstate NY
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 12
This isn't the right forum for this question but I'm sure I'll get the right answer here. Wondering if anyone can tell me if an isolated ground and or a surge suppression duplex outlet are recommended on a dedicated audio / video circuit. My breaker panel has a surge suppressor in it. Also is there a problem running AC power, HDMI and coax in the same wall bay.
elfiself is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Blu-ray Players

Tags
Oppo Bdp 105 Blu Ray Player



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off