Official OPPO BDP-105 Owner's Thread - Page 418 - AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 271Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #12511 of 12534 Old 02-26-2015, 12:41 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Mongo171's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Buffalo, NY
Posts: 2,369
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 341 Post(s)
Liked: 896
Quote:
Originally Posted by wadeh911 View Post
With respect to my comment about most people on this forum owning both vinyl and sacd of DSOTM, I never underestimate my fellow AVS'rs!
It was the first CD I ever bought. I need to get the SACD.

"I am a Meat Popsicle." - Corbin Dallas, "The Fifth Element"

Klipsch Chorus II (Mains); Klipsch Academy (Center) (KLF-C7 waiting in the wings); Klipsch RS-62 II (Surrounds); SVS PC13-Ultra (Big Bada Boom); ATI AT1505 (Amp); OPPO BDP-105 (Blu-ray Player); Panasonic 60GT50 (Plasma TV)
Mongo171 is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #12512 of 12534 Old 02-27-2015, 04:19 PM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 28,336
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 777 Post(s)
Liked: 1090
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bill Mac View Post
I'm in the process of further troubleshooting. I did a system reset and it appears to have taken care of the Auto Resume feature glitch. Now when I power up the 105D it no longer starts playing at the resumed point. I now have to hit play for Auto Resume to work. That's good.

As far as the noise from the 105D that's a different matter. What I did find was that when a disc is playing and the Home Menu is not on the 105D's display the noise stops. Stop the disc and the Home Menu is back on the display the noise resumes. I also found that with the Home Menu on the display (noise is there) and I adjust the analog volume with the volume value on the display the noise stops. If I stop adjusting the volume and the Home Menu is back on the display the noise resumes. I have every cable accept the power cable disconnected and the noise is still there. I plugged the 105D into a different outlet and a different circuit and the noise is still there. So it appears I'll be getting an RMA to return the 105D.

Bill
RMA sounds like the correct answer here. Warranty service, of course, even for your refurb.
--Bob

Anthem D2/D2v/AVM50/AVM50v/ARC1 tweaking guide. -- Need personal consultation/training? PM me!
Bob Pariseau is online now  
post #12513 of 12534 Old 02-27-2015, 04:54 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Bill Mac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 11,741
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 285 Post(s)
Liked: 570
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Pariseau View Post
RMA sounds like the correct answer here. Warranty service, of course, even for your refurb.
--Bob
Bob,

I have the 105D all boxed up and will ship it back to Oppo tomorrow. They make the whole return process so easy. I'm doing a return as I'm going to stick with my 103 for awhile. I'm going to ask Oppo if they can let me know what is causing the noise from the player. Also the FW seems a bit screwed up as well. This is my fourth Oppo player and the first that has had any issues. These things happen but I'll be quite content with the 103 .

Bill
lanping09 likes this.

My SACD collection, watch it grow and my wallet shrink ;-).

Denon 4311 (in preamp mode), Parasound 2100, Boston Acoustics A7200 amp, Wyred 4 sound SX-500s, Oppo BDP-103, Consonance CD120, Panasonic TC-P60GT50 plasma, Panamax 5100EX, Salk Song Towers, Song Center, ADS 300C (surrounds) and two Rythmik F12SEs.
Bill Mac is online now  
post #12514 of 12534 Old 02-27-2015, 06:12 PM
Senior Member
 
JimSatala777's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Ft. Myers Beach, FL
Posts: 246
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 128 Post(s)
Liked: 26
The Dacs in the 105D are top notch. ..a seperate ESS 9018 for the each of the stereo outputs and another one for the multichannel outputs. ...I have been doing A/B testing with my Psaudio directstream and the Sabres get you pretty darn close
JimSatala777 is online now  
post #12515 of 12534 Old 02-28-2015, 07:36 PM
Member
 
Sinistre1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 195
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
I am sure this has been asked... if it hasn't I am probably up the creek without the proverbial paddle. That said I am under a huge time constraint and the time I spend trying to find the solution (I have already searched for 2 hrs) might be better spent doing the things I need to do elsewheres... here is my dilemma. As of about a week and a half ago, I had my oppo 105 going HDMI in to an Onkyo 805. Said Onkyo decided to go up in a blaze of glory. I am going away for a month tomorrow and have my nephew apt sitting for me. The oppo hdmi solution was basically point and click AND it worked very, very well. I did not have the time or finances to run out and grab a receiver (and would hate to do so without research... blaze of glory receiver not withstanding). I happen to have 4 channels of amplification in the form of a pair of Adcom 545 amps. I set the oppo up directly with the 545's and I can't get my powered SVS Pn12 sub to play.

The problem is try as I may I can not get the sub to register a signal from the oppo and join the party. The system was one of the selling points to getting him to apt sit for a whole month. Although it isn't horrible with just the full range coming from my speakers it isn't close to what the 805 set up was... with the non playing sub being most if not all of the difference. I have tried adding +10db, large small, sub on pretty much every possible setting. I also moved the rca's from the stereo pair to the FR and FL of the multichannel. I just can't get the sub to turn on/ play with this set up. Any ideas what I am doing wrong. I am asking for help... or mercy as it were. Yes I KNOW there is a search function but I have not been able to use it successfully for the last 2 hrs and I am hoping that someone/anyone that has run into this situation can help. I am in the middle if packing but I will keep checking back. Havent had the heart to say anything to my nephew yet. Hoping I won't have to.

I'm getting there....!!!

Last edited by Sinistre1; 02-28-2015 at 07:40 PM.
Sinistre1 is online now  
post #12516 of 12534 Old 02-28-2015, 07:57 PM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 28,336
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 777 Post(s)
Liked: 1090
^ The most likely reason is that you have the Sub cable plugged into either the wrong output jack on the back of the OPPO or the wrong input jack on the Sub.

Use the Test Tones in the OPPO to confirm that a signal is getting to the Sub.

The OPPO puts out "line level" signals on the Sub jack, so the cable should be attached to the "line level" input on the Sub -- not a "high level" or "speaker" input.

Confirm that the you have the right jack connected on the OPPO, and that the cable is good, by temporarily connecting to an amp input for one of the normal speakers and then testing with the Test Tones in the OPPO.
--Bob

Anthem D2/D2v/AVM50/AVM50v/ARC1 tweaking guide. -- Need personal consultation/training? PM me!
Bob Pariseau is online now  
post #12517 of 12534 Old 03-02-2015, 06:35 AM
AVS Special Member
 
eljr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Futuristic London
Posts: 5,026
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 445 Post(s)
Liked: 2342
Quote:
Originally Posted by JimSatala777 View Post
The Dacs in the 105D are top notch. ..a seperate ESS 9018 for the each of the stereo outputs and another one for the multichannel outputs. ...I have been doing A/B testing with my Psaudio directstream and the Sabres get you pretty darn close

It uses one Dac for stereo and one for 7.1.

Not one for each channel.

Question, how would using 4 dacs per stereo channel effect the end product compared to one chip period for stereo.


that is 8 Chips vs 1. All the same SABRE32 chip.

What you got back home, little sister, to play your fuzzy warbles on? I bet you got little save pitiful, portable picnic players. Come with uncle and hear all proper! Hear angel trumpets and devil trombones. You are invited.
eljr is online now  
post #12518 of 12534 Old 03-02-2015, 06:37 AM
AVS Special Member
 
eljr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Futuristic London
Posts: 5,026
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 445 Post(s)
Liked: 2342
Quote:
Originally Posted by eljr View Post
It uses one Dac for stereo and one for 7.1.

Not one for each channel.

Question, how would using 4 dacs per stereo channel effect the end product compared to one chip period for stereo.


that is 8 Chips vs 1. All the same SABRE32 chip.
also, how do things like power supplies (type and quality) , clock accuracy, number of dacs, configuration of dacs, chassis rigidity, etc. effect the sound.

What you got back home, little sister, to play your fuzzy warbles on? I bet you got little save pitiful, portable picnic players. Come with uncle and hear all proper! Hear angel trumpets and devil trombones. You are invited.
eljr is online now  
post #12519 of 12534 Old 03-02-2015, 08:07 AM
Member
 
COmusicaddict's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Colorado Springs
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Shuts down & won't play. Ugh.

Greetings All, I've been using my Oppo BDO-105 happily for the last year until yesterday when something happened while I was behind the audio rack. The player quit playing midstream and will not play now. It'll light up, open and close the drawer, but always dims to dark and shuts down within seconds. I'm not sure if something somehow shorted or what. It wasn't unplugged while running. Is there a quick way to reset? I didn't find my issue in troubleshooting. I'd sure welcome any thoughts from the folks with more experience. Thanks! Mark A, Colorado Springs
COmusicaddict is offline  
post #12520 of 12534 Old 03-02-2015, 12:06 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Smarty-pants's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 16,574
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 302 Post(s)
Liked: 214
Quote:
Originally Posted by COmusicaddict View Post
Greetings All, I've been using my Oppo BDO-105 happily for the last year until yesterday when something happened while I was behind the audio rack. The player quit playing midstream and will not play now. It'll light up, open and close the drawer, but always dims to dark and shuts down within seconds. I'm not sure if something somehow shorted or what. It wasn't unplugged while running. Is there a quick way to reset? I didn't find my issue in troubleshooting. I'd sure welcome any thoughts from the folks with more experience. Thanks! Mark A, Colorado Springs
Not sure what you mean by "shutting down", but if the player is still power on and the front display
comes one and then dims to dark/off, that sounds like you have the dimmer option set to OFF.
After you power on the player, try hitting the DIMMER button on the remote until the front display is at it's brightest.

If the player is actually shutting down completely without hitting the power-off button,
then you probably have an issue that requires the player to be serviced.
One thing you can try is to unplug the player and let it sit overnight and then plug it back in the next day and
see if the issue is still there. If so then contact Oppo support to schedule a repair.

~Dave

...Theater Room Setup...
JVC DLA-RS40-U... Oppo BDP-105D... Toshiba HD-XA2... Uverse VIP-2250... Roku Streaming Stick... Emotiva XPA-3... Onkyo TX-SR805
JBL LC2 (x3) ... JBL L820 (x6) ... SVS PB10-ISD (x2) ... SVS 20-39-PCI
Smarty-pants is offline  
post #12521 of 12534 Old 03-02-2015, 12:58 PM
Member
 
Sinistre1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 195
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Bob, thanks for the reply. I didn't have time enough to respond before I left but I know the input jacks on the sub were not changed and it was line level input. The 805 didn't have speaker level out and i visually confirmed the sub input at the time. l am also confident I was using the appropriate out on the oppo. It was multichannel out upper right (right of center) area of the oppo. The input is color coded purple. I am beginning to think either the cable is suddenly bad ( maybe shorted by the Onkyo), the sub is bad (again with Onkyo as the culprit) or the SW jack is bad on the oppo. Won't be home to test for month! Gonna make me nuts!!! Was hoping you'd say I missed or misunderstood some setting somewhere. Sounds lik are saying it shiukd have worked. .. which is what i surmised
Sinistre1 is online now  
post #12522 of 12534 Old 03-03-2015, 08:41 PM
Newbie
 
stehno's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Salem, Oregon
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The BDP-105D is a fabulous performer. Within days of install last March, 2014, it was easily sonically superior to my $9k Esoteric unit. By the time I started using the OPPO's passive volume attentuator utilizing the 32-bit SABRE DAC's and then by-passing the CD transports by using thumb drives and SSD's as a music server (with my iPad and OPPO app), it's performance is easily one, maybe even 2 leagues away from my Esoteric unit.

Even though I'm using OPPO's volume attenuator, with my little Wyred 4 Sound SX-1000 575 wpc mono amps, I still have one of the most dynamic systems I've heard, yet now the dynamics are far more natural and slightly rounder with the dynamics occurring on the soundstage with the rest of the music while my ears are planted firmly in the audience.

Even the video, especially with the Darbee feature, is a very nice improvement.

Incredible unit.

That said, I'm dying to see what if any video (and audio) differences can be had by ripping a few concert DVD's and then burning them to my SSD. I managed to do this on my mac using DVD Ripper software only to discover the .iso formatted video is not recognizable for the OPPO.

What formats should I be seeking to convert these Pink Floyd and Queen DVD concerts to for OPPO compatibility and superior viewing?
Any suggestions on Mac software to use?
Any other suggestions?

Thanks, much.
stehno is offline  
post #12523 of 12534 Old 03-03-2015, 09:36 PM
AVS Special Member
 
dmusoke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Redondo Beach, CA
Posts: 2,560
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 113 Post(s)
Liked: 100
1. Any word on ant FW releases in the near future? Its been 4 months since the last one...


2. The AutoPlay feature is set ON yet my DVDs and Blu-ray's do not play automatically when inserted in the player. What am I doing wrong?

How to phase match subwoofers to the mains speakers: http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showt...0#post19542630
dmusoke is offline  
post #12524 of 12534 Old 03-03-2015, 10:25 PM
Member
 
linger63's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: MELBOURNE, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 40
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by stehno View Post
The BDP-105D is a fabulous performer. Within days of install last March, 2014, it was easily sonically superior to my $9k Esoteric unit. By the time I started using the OPPO's passive volume attentuator utilizing the 32-bit SABRE DAC's and then by-passing the CD transports by using thumb drives and SSD's as a music server (with my iPad and OPPO app), it's performance is easily one, maybe even 2 leagues away from my Esoteric unit.

Even though I'm using OPPO's volume attenuator, with my little Wyred 4 Sound SX-1000 575 wpc mono amps, I still have one of the most dynamic systems I've heard, yet now the dynamics are far more natural and slightly rounder with the dynamics occurring on the soundstage with the rest of the music while my ears are planted firmly in the audience.

Even the video, especially with the Darbee feature, is a very nice improvement.

Incredible unit.

That said, I'm dying to see what if any video (and audio) differences can be had by ripping a few concert DVD's and then burning them to my SSD. I managed to do this on my mac using DVD Ripper software only to discover the .iso formatted video is not recognizable for the OPPO.

What formats should I be seeking to convert these Pink Floyd and Queen DVD concerts to for OPPO compatibility and superior viewing?
Any suggestions on Mac software to use?
Any other suggestions?

Thanks, much.



Hi,




Firstly I am glad to see you so happy with your OPPO and I like the way you are using it.


But, I don't really think there is anything to be gained PQ wise by ripping DVD's.


You are probably better off just putting the disc in and letting the very good DVD upconversion in your Oppo take care of things.


It even gives you the option of 24fps for DVD!!


The only REAL superior viewing you will get is Blu Ray.


There are a couple of Queen releases and Gilmour's Remember That Night is pretty good.



Cheers,


John
linger63 is online now  
post #12525 of 12534 Old 03-03-2015, 10:50 PM
Newbie
 
stehno's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Salem, Oregon
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by linger63 View Post
Hi, Firstly I am glad to see you so happy with your OPPO and I like the way you are using it. But, I don't really think there is anything to be gained PQ wise by ripping DVD's. You are probably better off just putting the disc in and letting the very good DVD upconversion in your Oppo take care of things. It even gives you the option of 24fps for DVD!! The only REAL superior viewing you will get is Blu Ray. There are a couple of Queen releases and Gilmour's Remember That Night is pretty good.
Cheers, John
Thanks for the note, John.

I'm pretty sure the audio should be a significant jump but as of yet I'm unable to test the vidoe portion. Still looking for a superior video format to convert to since the OPPO will not recognize the iso format.

Queen Rock Montreal - 1981. Very superior engineering for video and audio both. My favorite overall. Prior to this DVD, I never really cared much for Queen.

Pink Floyd - Pulse 1994 - Live at the Earl Court. Sound is good but could have been done better. Video is superior. The light show on stage is like it was done just a year ago. Tremendous entertainment.

Thus far I have every reason to believe the video should be even better if I by-pass the CD transport.

BTW, based on what the Darbee does for my DVD discs, the 2 Blue-Ray discs I have really aren't that much better.

Attached is a pic of my 2-channel 2-component system. In the dark background is a 120" screen.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Blue Speakers a large sharper.jpg
Views:	22
Size:	903.7 KB
ID:	582617  
stehno is offline  
post #12526 of 12534 Old Yesterday, 05:43 AM
One-Man Content Creator
 
wmcclain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 18,134
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 860 Post(s)
Liked: 434
Quote:
Originally Posted by stehno View Post
That said, I'm dying to see what if any video (and audio) differences can be had by ripping a few concert DVD's and then burning them to my SSD. I managed to do this on my mac using DVD Ripper software only to discover the .iso formatted video is not recognizable for the OPPO.

What formats should I be seeking to convert these Pink Floyd and Queen DVD concerts to for OPPO compatibility and superior viewing?
Any suggestions on Mac software to use?
Any other suggestions?

Thanks, much.
MKV is my preferred container. Note that it is oriented to single titles, so you do not get menus or extras in one file.

MakeMKV is a crosss-platform utility for creating MKV from DVD and Blu-ray. There are other ways, but I would start (and probably stay) with that.

But note, as said: there are no A/V quality improvements to be had from ripping.

-Bill

Review older films here: 1979 and earlier | 1980s | Combined reviews: Strange Picture Scroll
Unofficial OPPO FAQS: BDP-103 | BDP-93 | BDP-83 | BDP-80    
wmcclain is online now  
post #12527 of 12534 Old Yesterday, 06:41 AM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 28,336
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 777 Post(s)
Liked: 1090
Quote:
Originally Posted by dmusoke View Post
1. Any word on ant FW releases in the near future? Its been 4 months since the last one...


2. The AutoPlay feature is set ON yet my DVDs and Blu-ray's do not play automatically when inserted in the player. What am I doing wrong?
Check to make sure you have not confused Auto Play with Auto Resume. If that's not it, give OPPO Tech Support a call.
--Bob
Bob Pariseau is online now  
post #12528 of 12534 Old Yesterday, 03:05 PM
Member
 
COmusicaddict's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Colorado Springs
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Maybe it was the dimmer?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Smarty-pants View Post
Not sure what you mean by "shutting down", but if the player is still power on and the front display
comes one and then dims to dark/off, that sounds like you have the dimmer option set to OFF.
After you power on the player, try hitting the DIMMER button on the remote until the front display is at it's brightest.

If the player is actually shutting down completely without hitting the power-off button,
then you probably have an issue that requires the player to be serviced.
One thing you can try is to unplug the player and let it sit overnight and then plug it back in the next day and
see if the issue is still there. If so then contact Oppo support to schedule a repair.
Thanks very much for your response, Smarty Pants. I had everything disconnected for a day and hooked it all back up and 'undimmed' and things seem to work. (It's only used as an audio player so no screen.) I'm still mystified as to what I may have done to stop playback as I was nowhere near the remote or CD player at the time (but was fiddling around behind the rack-oops?). Anyhow-Thanks! Mark
COmusicaddict is offline  
post #12529 of 12534 Old Yesterday, 03:10 PM
Member
 
COmusicaddict's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Colorado Springs
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Even though I'm using OPPO's volume attenuator, with my little Wyred 4 Sound SX-1000 575 wpc mono amps, I still have one of the most dynamic systems I've heard, yet now the dynamics are far more natural and slightly rounder with the dynamics occurring on the soundstage with the rest of the music while my ears are planted firmly in the audience.

[/QUOTE]

I will throw in my two cents (and the high rollers can laugh) but I'm currently using my BDP-105 with an W4S STI-1000 and feeding Dynaudio Sapphires (and an R.E.L. Britannia B1 sub) and am very happy with the sound. The Sapphires seem power hungry and that STI-1000 feeds 'em plenty. The Oppo replaced an older Accupphase DP-55 CD player. Mark A, Colo Springs
COmusicaddict is offline  
post #12530 of 12534 Old Yesterday, 05:41 PM
AVS Special Member
 
dmusoke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Redondo Beach, CA
Posts: 2,560
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 113 Post(s)
Liked: 100
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Pariseau View Post
Check to make sure you have not confused Auto Play with Auto Resume. If that's not it, give OPPO Tech Support a call.
--Bob
AutoPlay is ON. Auto Resume is OFF.

How to phase match subwoofers to the mains speakers: http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showt...0#post19542630
dmusoke is offline  
post #12531 of 12534 Old Yesterday, 08:45 PM
Member
 
Barney1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 168
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Dolby TrueHD and DTS Master Audio question...

My apologies if this has been asked before… just need some clarification. I’m currently using my BDP-105 as a pre/prostraight into my amps for 7.1 via the analog connections. If I want to take advantage of Dolby TrueHD and DTS Master Audiowould I need to purchase a pre/pro that can handle that sound and connect frommy BDP-105 to the pre/pro via HDMI or is my current set-up already doing that?Thanks in advance.
Barney1 is offline  
post #12532 of 12534 Old Yesterday, 08:55 PM
AVS Special Member
 
DanF8500's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 1,485
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 385 Post(s)
Liked: 233
Quote:
Originally Posted by Barney1 View Post
My apologies if this has been asked before… just need some clarification. I’m currently using my BDP-105 as a pre/prostraight into my amps for 7.1 via the analog connections. If I want to take advantage of Dolby TrueHD and DTS Master Audiowould I need to purchase a pre/pro that can handle that sound and connect frommy BDP-105 to the pre/pro via HDMI or is my current set-up already doing that?Thanks in advance.
The 105 decodes HD audio to analog just fine!! Enjoy!
DanF8500 is online now  
post #12533 of 12534 Old Today, 04:38 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Bill Mac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 11,741
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 285 Post(s)
Liked: 570
I have a question for those that are using the Auto Resume feature. If a disc is in the player does it start playing from the resumed point without pushing play when the player is powered up? I could have sworn before the latest FW update that when you powered up the player you had to hit play for the disc to start playback from the resumed point. It really irritates me now that when I power up my 103 and the 105D that the disc starts playing automatically.

Bill

My SACD collection, watch it grow and my wallet shrink ;-).

Denon 4311 (in preamp mode), Parasound 2100, Boston Acoustics A7200 amp, Wyred 4 sound SX-500s, Oppo BDP-103, Consonance CD120, Panasonic TC-P60GT50 plasma, Panamax 5100EX, Salk Song Towers, Song Center, ADS 300C (surrounds) and two Rythmik F12SEs.
Bill Mac is online now  
post #12534 of 12534 Old Today, 10:36 AM
Senior Member
 
JimSatala777's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Ft. Myers Beach, FL
Posts: 246
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 128 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bill Mac View Post
I have a question for those that are using the Auto Resume feature. If a disc is in the player does it start playing from the resumed point without pushing play when the player is powered up? I could have sworn before the latest FW update that when you powered up the player you had to hit play for the disc to start playback from the resumed point. It really irritates me now that when I power up my 103 and the 105D that the disc starts playing automatically.

Bill
No...auto resume takes effect when you restart playback of a disk you previously played IN the player and restarts playback at the last point which it stopped.
Auto play only starts up when you insert a disk not when you power on with a disc in the tray
JimSatala777 is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Blu-ray Players

Tags
Oppo Bdp 105 Blu Ray Player

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off