Official OPPO BDP-105 Owner's Thread - Page 431 - AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
 348Likes
Reply
Thread Tools
post #12901 of 12923 Old 05-25-2015, 04:50 PM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 28,629
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 925 Post(s)
Liked: 1142
^ When you are getting video but no sound, use Info button on the OPPO remote to bring up the on-screen display. The top line will show what the OPPO is receiving for audio. The bottom line will show what it is sending out on the HDMI outputs.

Then check your AVR for what it says it is receiving for audio from the OPPO.

Let's see if this reveals anything.
--Bob

Anthem D2/D2v/AVM50/AVM50v/ARC1 tweaking guide. -- Need personal consultation/training? PM me!
Bob Pariseau is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #12902 of 12923 Old 05-25-2015, 04:52 PM
AVS Special Member
 
RichB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 9,054
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 430 Post(s)
Liked: 308
I use a TiVo Romeo via a Lumagen 2020 and have also used it directly on the HDMI back input. Our displays are different through.


You may also want to check your TiVo audio settings.


- Rich

Oppo Beta Group

Oppo BDP-105D | Oppo HA-1 | Oppo PM-1 | Parasound A21 + A21 + A51 | Revel Salon, Voice, Studio | Velodyne HGS-15
RichB is online now  
post #12903 of 12923 Old 05-25-2015, 05:02 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
NorthSky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Canada - West Island: Vancouver, South Direction: Go East, dts:x
Posts: 11,113
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4647 Post(s)
Liked: 1860
Quote:
Originally Posted by markrubin View Post
may I suggest a separate thread for bass management discussions? in the Audio Theory Forum...http://www.avsforum.com/forum/91-aud...ry-setup-chat/

and that we move on please

thanks
There is a brand new thread now, there. ...Audio Theory, Setup, and Chat Forum's section.

♦ Here => http://www.avsforum.com/forum/showthread.php?p=34494290
markrubin likes this.
NorthSky is offline  
post #12904 of 12923 Old 05-25-2015, 08:29 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Need help selecting tracks on SACDs and DVDs

I have recently purchased an Oppo 105d. I intend to use this purely for audio, and have it attached by Ethernet cable to my PC. I do not have a video monitor in my system. My question concerns playing SACDs, DVDs and Blu-Ray discs in the Oppo. I have some discs, such as a DVD for Dark Side of the Moon, that have multiple versions of the album on the disc in different formats. Some are 5.1, some are quad, some with differing bit rates. Without a TV monitor attached to the system, how do I select differing versions on the disc? If I want to play the 3d version on the DVD, for example, how can I select that using just the unit, the remote, and/or an Oppo MediaControl app on my iPhone?
Wolf_D3 is offline  
post #12905 of 12923 Old 05-26-2015, 03:01 PM
Senior Member
 
sharok's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Tucson, AZ
Posts: 497
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 48 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Is it possible to use the 105 USB DAC with bass management (2 channel USB input and 2.1 output)?
sharok is offline  
post #12906 of 12923 Old 05-26-2015, 04:33 PM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 28,629
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 925 Post(s)
Liked: 1142
^ Alas, no. The data path for the USB DAC input goes straight to the DACs. So no audio processing is possible. Basically all you get is Volume control.
--Bob

Anthem D2/D2v/AVM50/AVM50v/ARC1 tweaking guide. -- Need personal consultation/training? PM me!
Bob Pariseau is online now  
post #12907 of 12923 Old 05-26-2015, 04:38 PM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 28,629
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 925 Post(s)
Liked: 1142
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wolf_D3 View Post
I have recently purchased an Oppo 105d. I intend to use this purely for audio, and have it attached by Ethernet cable to my PC. I do not have a video monitor in my system. My question concerns playing SACDs, DVDs and Blu-Ray discs in the Oppo. I have some discs, such as a DVD for Dark Side of the Moon, that have multiple versions of the album on the disc in different formats. Some are 5.1, some are quad, some with differing bit rates. Without a TV monitor attached to the system, how do I select differing versions on the disc? If I want to play the 3d version on the DVD, for example, how can I select that using just the unit, the remote, and/or an Oppo MediaControl app on my iPhone?
Items that can only be selected through on-disc menus (such as alternate movie versions) will require a monitor -- or memorizing the commands needed on the remote to make that selection. You might want to look into some of the small HDMI monitors sold for use with video cameras or for in-car installation. Haier is a brand commonly mentioned.

For SACDs, you can toggle between the Stereo audio and the 5.1 audio using the Audio button on the remote. For DVDs you can use the Audio button to cycle through the audio tracks available, so long as all the tracks are in the same, default "title", as opposed to having to select between different titles.
--Bob

Anthem D2/D2v/AVM50/AVM50v/ARC1 tweaking guide. -- Need personal consultation/training? PM me!
Bob Pariseau is online now  
post #12908 of 12923 Old 05-26-2015, 05:02 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Thanks Bob, I will try those. I don't want to keep a monitor in my listening room on a long term basis. Instead, I may try to use a monitor on a short term basis to figure out what commands I need to use on the remote to get to the correct track that I want to play on the DVD/SACD. I'm just somewhat surprised that to play a purely audio disc on the Oppo, I need to have a video monitor.
Wolf_D3 is offline  
post #12909 of 12923 Old 05-26-2015, 05:25 PM
Senior Member
 
sharok's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Tucson, AZ
Posts: 497
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 48 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Pariseau View Post
^ Alas, no. The data path for the USB DAC input goes straight to the DACs. So no audio processing is possible. Basically all you get is Volume control.
--Bob
Hi Bob,


How about SPDIF? Can Oppo 105 implement bass management on a 2 channel signal coming through digital RCA (SPDIF) and output 2.1?
sharok is offline  
post #12910 of 12923 Old 05-26-2015, 05:27 PM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 28,629
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 925 Post(s)
Liked: 1142
^ Yes. Or on HDMI input , or played as a media file on an attached drive or over the house network.
--Bob

Last edited by Bob Pariseau; 05-26-2015 at 05:28 PM.
Bob Pariseau is online now  
post #12911 of 12923 Old 05-27-2015, 07:05 AM
Senior Member
 
sharok's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Tucson, AZ
Posts: 497
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 48 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Pariseau View Post
^ Yes. Or on HDMI input , or played as a media file on an attached drive or over the house network.
--Bob
Hi Bob,
Many thanks for your response. As long as it can apply bass management to S/PDIF input (coming from PC), it'll work for me.


I was told that Oppo does not apply bass management to all three digital input connections (Optical/Coax/USB DAC). But if it does apply it to Coax, it'll solve my problem.
sharok is offline  
post #12912 of 12923 Old 05-27-2015, 07:53 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Mongo171's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Buffalo, NY
Posts: 2,561
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 455 Post(s)
Liked: 974
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wolf_D3 View Post
Thanks Bob, I will try those. I don't want to keep a monitor in my listening room on a long term basis. Instead, I may try to use a monitor on a short term basis to figure out what commands I need to use on the remote to get to the correct track that I want to play on the DVD/SACD. I'm just somewhat surprised that to play a purely audio disc on the Oppo, I need to have a video monitor.
You need a monitor for navigation for the OPPO. Once you get things going, either hit the Pure Audio on the remote or just turn off the monitor.

Last edited by Mongo171; 05-27-2015 at 07:54 AM.
Mongo171 is online now  
post #12913 of 12923 Old 05-27-2015, 07:59 AM
Senior Member
 
sharok's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Tucson, AZ
Posts: 497
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 48 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mongo171 View Post
You need a monitor for navigation for the OPPO. Once you get things going, either hit the Pure Audio on the remote or just turn off the monitor.

I use the TV as a monitor. If I hit the Pure Audio using a digital coax (S/PDIF) 2 channel input from PC, will I still be able to apply bass management and get a 2.1 analog output?
sharok is offline  
post #12914 of 12923 Old 05-27-2015, 08:14 AM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 28,629
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 925 Post(s)
Liked: 1142
^ Yes. Pure Audio mutes the video to black and turns off the Front Panel display. It has no affect on audio processing.

You can use the Light button (lower right on the Remote) to illuminate the Front Panel display for a few seconds if you need to check time code or track number.
--Bob

Anthem D2/D2v/AVM50/AVM50v/ARC1 tweaking guide. -- Need personal consultation/training? PM me!
Bob Pariseau is online now  
post #12915 of 12923 Old 05-27-2015, 02:54 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Bill Mac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 12,056
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 547 Post(s)
Liked: 712
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mongo171 View Post
Once you get things going, either hit the Pure Audio on the remote or just turn off the monitor.
I use the Pure Audio mode whenever my plasma is on when listening to music. It's a great feature on the Oppo players and one that I use all the time.

Bill
scirica likes this.

My SACD collection, watch it grow and my wallet shrink ;-).

Emotiva XMC-1, Wyred 4 Sound SX-500s, ST-500, ST-250, Oppo BDP-105D, Panasonic TC-P60GT50 plasma, Panamax 5100EX, Salk 1801-TLs, Salk 1801b center, ADS 300C (surrounds) and two Rythmik F12SEs.
Bill Mac is online now  
post #12916 of 12923 Old Yesterday, 10:49 AM
Senior Member
 
HowardV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 481
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 41 Post(s)
Liked: 49
Quote:
Originally Posted by beatmachine View Post
Hoping this issue hasn't been posted:

Picked up an OTA Tivo and cannot receive picture and sound simultaneously. Tivo HDMI to both 105's front and back inputs does not have sound. When I try Digital audio, there is sound but no picture. I troubleshot with an HDMI direct to LG display and it worked fine.

Frustrating as I have a DTV that works fine through the 105 via HDMI.

Suggestions?

thanks
Mike
I have a Tivo OTA Romeo as well. If my memory is correct, I did try the HDMI input of the Oppo (in the back) and it worked fine - except I had an issue with lip synch. Then I wired the HDMI of the Tivo directly to my TV, and wired the Tivo's audio optical output to Oppo's optical input. This solved the lip synch issue. This also has another benefit: I can also just watch TV without having to turn on the Oppo and get sound from my TV's built-in speakers. Why? Sometimes I just want to watch the news and don't feel like turning on my entire audio system.

Oppo BDP-105 Blu-Ray
Spectron Premiere MKII 7 Channel Class D Amp (500w x 7)
2 Anthony Gallo Reference SA Amps
5 Anthony Gallo Reference 3.5 Speakers
Sunfire Super JR Subwoofer
Sony Z2 Series laptop as dedicated HTPC
HowardV is offline  
post #12917 of 12923 Old Yesterday, 10:59 AM
Newbie
 
chumpy20's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi Howard

ugh -- well that makes it all the more frustrating - I wish it was just lip sync because at least there is sound and a picture.
You connected the dig out to the one nearest the power cable then activated through input select? (not in front of it right now)
I do this and I lose picture..
chumpy20 is offline  
post #12918 of 12923 Old Yesterday, 11:05 AM
Senior Member
 
HowardV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 481
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 41 Post(s)
Liked: 49
Quote:
Originally Posted by chumpy20 View Post
Hi Howard

You connected the dig out to the one nearest the power cable then activated through input select? (not in front of it right now)
I do this and I lose picture..
Yes, Tivo has a digital (optical) audio output. Connect that to the Oppo's optical digital input. Also connect Tivo's HDMI output to your TV's HDMI input.

Then turn on your TV and choose the proper input (HDMI input coming from Tivo) and turn down the TV's volume control all the way. Turn on your Oppo and your audio system. Use the input button button on your Oppo remote and choose the optical input. This should bring you picture and sound in perfect harmony!

Oppo BDP-105 Blu-Ray
Spectron Premiere MKII 7 Channel Class D Amp (500w x 7)
2 Anthony Gallo Reference SA Amps
5 Anthony Gallo Reference 3.5 Speakers
Sunfire Super JR Subwoofer
Sony Z2 Series laptop as dedicated HTPC
HowardV is offline  
post #12919 of 12923 Old Yesterday, 11:17 AM
Newbie
 
chumpy20's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
got it -- the TV's HDMI and not the Oppo's
I'll try that tonight

thanks!
Mike
chumpy20 is offline  
post #12920 of 12923 Old Yesterday, 11:36 PM
Advanced Member
 
dbphd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Montecito, CA
Posts: 547
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 124 Post(s)
Liked: 60
No audio with 1936 movie

I watched a bit of the 1936 Show Boat DVD using my Oppo 95, with video via HDMI directly to a Sony 46 XBR8, audio XLR to a Proceed PAV and Amp-2. Both video and audio were fine. I moved to my Oppo 105, with video via HDMI directly to the projector, audio via HDMI to a Cary Cinema 12 processor that passes stereo through a Parasound JC-2 BP to a Proceed HPA-3 amp. Video was fine, but no audio. I put in another disc; both video and audio were fine. What could be going on? HDMI from the 105 is bitstream. I didn't think to try PCM. Could such an old movie on DVD require different menu settings?

db
dbphd is online now  
post #12921 of 12923 Old Today, 07:53 AM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 28,629
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 925 Post(s)
Liked: 1142
^ Try LPCM. That disc apparently has DD Mono audio (i.e., Center channel only). It is possible your Cary is not handling the DD Bitstream properly when only the Center channel is present.

If you use LPCM output, the OPPO will decode the Bitstream and send LPCM 2.0 (dual channel Mono) to the Cary.
--Bob

Anthem D2/D2v/AVM50/AVM50v/ARC1 tweaking guide. -- Need personal consultation/training? PM me!
Bob Pariseau is online now  
post #12922 of 12923 Unread Today, 11:04 AM
Advanced Member
 
dbphd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Montecito, CA
Posts: 547
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 124 Post(s)
Liked: 60
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Pariseau View Post
^ Try LPCM. That disc apparently has DD Mono audio (i.e., Center channel only). It is possible your Cary is not handling the DD Bitstream properly when only the Center channel is present.

If you use LPCM output, the OPPO will decode the Bitstream and send LPCM 2.0 (dual channel Mono) to the Cary.
--Bob
Unfortunately, LPCM didn't provide audio either, so I'll just watch it using the other setup where I get both audio and video.

db
dbphd is online now  
post #12923 of 12923 Unread Today, 12:08 PM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 28,629
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 925 Post(s)
Liked: 1142
^ The two most common reasons for loss of audio are that you've accidentally Muted audio output (Mute button, upper left on remote -- or Volume accidentally set to 0) or that you've confused which socket is which for HDMI 1 and HDMI 2 output. With Split A/V set, audio is Muted on HDMI 1, so HDMI 1 should be the one going to your display and HDMI 2 to the Carry. Both of those reasons are precluded by your statement that another disc worked OK for both audio and video. If the 2nd disc test was perhaps handled differently, check those two reasons first.

While the problem disc is playing but with no audio, press Info button on the Remote to bring up the on-screen Info display. The bottom left should show the audio track being read off the disc. In this case, DD Mono. Now press Page Up or Page Down to switch the Info display. The bottom line will now show what's going out for audio on the two HDMI outputs. For HDMI 2 to your Carry, with HDMI LPCM audio selected, that should be LPCM 2.0 48KHz. If these are not what you are seeing, then post what you've got.

If nothing unusual in those displays, then I suggest you email OPPO Tech Support with the details on the problem disc -- including the bar code number off its packaging -- and how you are set up for video and audio output, and they can check into it. SD-DVD audio is pretty straightforward, so there are a limited number of possibilities here.
--Bob

Anthem D2/D2v/AVM50/AVM50v/ARC1 tweaking guide. -- Need personal consultation/training? PM me!
Bob Pariseau is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Blu-ray Players

Tags
Oppo Bdp 105 Blu Ray Player

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off