Official OPPO BDP-105 Owner's Thread - Page 436 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!



Forum Jump: 
 482Likes
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-05-2015, 11:13 PM
Member
 
linger63's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: MELBOURNE, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 136
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 81 Post(s)
Liked: 43
Quote:
Originally Posted by John Clark View Post
The ironic part is that the 105 (apparently only available now including Darbee) is a much better Blu Ray player than the Oppo BDP83 that I have in my home theater setup and it will be forever limited to my music system. And I can't exactly afford two.


John


What about a REALLY long HDMI cable through the wall/ceiling?
linger63 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-06-2015, 08:28 AM
AVS Special Member
 
DanF8500's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 1,797
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 617 Post(s)
Liked: 296
Quote:
Originally Posted by John Clark View Post
I understand, although, since the reason for this purchase is to ensure optimal sound quality in the playback of cd and SACD's, the 105 is really needed,

John
Ok. I just didn't get the feeling from your previous posts that you were going to use the 105's analog outputs because you were concerned about using an external DAC and digital outputs.
DanF8500 is offline  
Old 07-06-2015, 10:12 AM
Advanced Member
 
John Clark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Clarkston, Michigan
Posts: 943
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 86 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by DanF8500 View Post
Ok. I just didn't get the feeling from your previous posts that you were going to use the 105's analog outputs because you were concerned about using an external DAC and digital outputs.
Sorry about the confusion, Dan. I was referencing using an external DAC only as a remotely hopeful means of possibly routing a Blu Ray music disc's audio to my main music system. I know that isn't possible with SACD's, and the 105 will be more than adequate, on it's own, for cd s via it's own DAC.

John
John Clark is offline  
Old 07-06-2015, 10:17 AM
Advanced Member
 
John Clark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Clarkston, Michigan
Posts: 943
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 86 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by linger63 View Post
What about a REALLY long HDMI cable through the wall/ceiling?

Believe me, I would go to those kind of lengths but I doubt the 105's remote would work from another room, amongst other issues! Honestly, knowing I have a far superior Blu Ray player, especially with Darbee that is just sitting in my music system, unavailable to my home theater, will be very frustrating. Given the setup in the two rooms, it simply wouldn't be feasible to disconnect and move it back and forth, either.

John
John Clark is offline  
Old 07-06-2015, 10:32 AM
Advanced Member
 
JimSatala77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Ft. Myers Beach FL.
Posts: 739
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 395 Post(s)
Liked: 139
You could use either a long hdmi cable or xlrs and the oppo app for control
JimSatala77 is offline  
Old 07-06-2015, 10:36 AM
Member
 
Phydeaux's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Regina, SK, Canada
Posts: 56
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Hi folks. I'm new to the 105 and a little dated in my A/V savvy, so go easy on me... I've read well over a hundred pages of the thread and, while it's all great content, I did kind of glaze over after a while. I have a 105 arriving in a couple days and it's only just dawned on me that my connection scenario may be a challenge.

Here's what I have: an older Denon 2809ci reciever. A pair of Simaudio W6 monoblock amps. A Panasonic plasma. And a minicomputer running Kodi as my only video source, backended by a NAS. And speakers obviously.

My primary desire for the 105 is redbook audio playback. I have no particular desire for multichannel audio listening. I'm pleased with my video capabilities using Kodi and generally rip or record all my video material so it's unlikely I'll ever use the 105 for its bluray or dvd handling. However it may be worthwhile running my Kodi HDMI output through the 105 for superior video processing, Darby etc and then to the Denon for audio processing.

I currently use the Denon's analog outputs to feed the two monoblock amps via RCA ICs for RL speakers and its internal amps for other speakers. But I really would prefer to use the amp's XLR inputs and I understand connecting them this way to the 105 would provide the music audio nirvana I'm seeking, courtesy of the pure direct path and superior DACs that connection offers.

For audio from the video source however... this presents an obvious problem. I'm wondering if it's possible to connect my monoblocks to both the 105 via XLR and to the Denon as I have now. There could only ever be one signal source active at any given time - either XLR when playing CDs or RCA when playing video (Kodi->105->Denon via HDMI). Seems ideal, given my electronics ignorance... Can someone provide me an indication of how expensive a mistake this would be to connect? ;-)

Robert
Phydeaux is offline  
Old 07-06-2015, 11:36 AM
gsr
Oppo Beta Group
 
gsr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Massachusetts, USA
Posts: 8,732
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 808 Post(s)
Liked: 618
Quote:
Originally Posted by John Clark View Post
Believe me, I would go to those kind of lengths but I doubt the 105's remote would work from another room, amongst other issues! Honestly, knowing I have a far superior Blu Ray player, especially with Darbee that is just sitting in my music system, unavailable to my home theater, will be very frustrating. Given the setup in the two rooms, it simply wouldn't be feasible to disconnect and move it back and forth, either.

John
As JimSatala77 suggested, there are a number of ways to deal with this.

For control of the player, Oppo's app could be used to control it over your home network. If you want to use the IR remote, there's the option of using an IR repeater (you run a cable between the 2 rooms and setup a remote IR receiver in the room the player isn't in).

For getting audio/video to the other room, there are various options for long HDMI cables, using cables with Redmere technology, HD-BaseT, etc. To get just analog audio to the other room, a long pair of XLR or RCA cables could be used. Which option would obviously depend on which room the player is put in.

So if you really want to use the player in both systems, there definitely are ways to make it happen.
JimSatala77 likes this.
gsr is online now  
Old 07-06-2015, 11:41 AM
gsr
Oppo Beta Group
 
gsr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Massachusetts, USA
Posts: 8,732
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 808 Post(s)
Liked: 618
Quote:
Originally Posted by Phydeaux View Post
Hi folks. I'm new to the 105 and a little dated in my A/V savvy, so go easy on me... I've read well over a hundred pages of the thread and, while it's all great content, I did kind of glaze over after a while. I have a 105 arriving in a couple days and it's only just dawned on me that my connection scenario may be a challenge.

Here's what I have: an older Denon 2809ci reciever. A pair of Simaudio W6 monoblock amps. A Panasonic plasma. And a minicomputer running Kodi as my only video source, backended by a NAS. And speakers obviously.

My primary desire for the 105 is redbook audio playback. I have no particular desire for multichannel audio listening. I'm pleased with my video capabilities using Kodi and generally rip or record all my video material so it's unlikely I'll ever use the 105 for its bluray or dvd handling. However it may be worthwhile running my Kodi HDMI output through the 105 for superior video processing, Darby etc and then to the Denon for audio processing.

I currently use the Denon's analog outputs to feed the two monoblock amps via RCA ICs for RL speakers and its internal amps for other speakers. But I really would prefer to use the amp's XLR inputs and I understand connecting them this way to the 105 would provide the music audio nirvana I'm seeking, courtesy of the pure direct path and superior DACs that connection offers.

For audio from the video source however... this presents an obvious problem. I'm wondering if it's possible to connect my monoblocks to both the 105 via XLR and to the Denon as I have now. There could only ever be one signal source active at any given time - either XLR when playing CDs or RCA when playing video (Kodi->105->Denon via HDMI). Seems ideal, given my electronics ignorance... Can someone provide me an indication of how expensive a mistake this would be to connect? ;-)

Robert
It's usually a bad idea to connect something to both the RCA and XLR inputs on an amp. Before even thinking about doing this, read the amp manual and if it isn't clear call the manufacturer to see if they recommend doing this.

But another option could be to eliminate the Denon receiver and use the volume control on the Oppo. The computer could be connected to one of the HDMI inputs on the Oppo and the Oppo could be connected directly to your amps. If you do this, make sure you setup the volume control on the Oppo for variable rather than fixed and make sure you start at a low volume level initially to figure out what a good output level is on the Oppo for your amp/speaker combo.
gsr is online now  
Old 07-06-2015, 12:21 PM
Advanced Member
 
John Clark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Clarkston, Michigan
Posts: 943
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 86 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by gsr View Post
As JimSatala77 suggested, there are a number of ways to deal with this.

For control of the player, Oppo's app could be used to control it over your home network. If you want to use the IR remote, there's the option of using an IR repeater (you run a cable between the 2 rooms and setup a remote IR receiver in the room the player isn't in).

For getting audio/video to the other room, there are various options for long HDMI cables, using cables with Redmere technology, HD-BaseT, etc. To get just analog audio to the other room, a long pair of XLR or RCA cables could be used. Which option would obviously depend on which room the player is put in.

So if you really want to use the player in both systems, there definitely are ways to make it happen.
Thanks GSR, I wasn't truly aware of the options I might have for dual use. The long HDMI cable shouldn't present that much of an issue. Using the Oppo app, could I control the 105 via my iPad, or my Android phone?

John
keikihula and JimSatala77 like this.
John Clark is offline  
Old 07-06-2015, 12:31 PM
Advanced Member
 
JimSatala77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Ft. Myers Beach FL.
Posts: 739
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 395 Post(s)
Liked: 139
Quote:
Originally Posted by John Clark View Post
Thanks GSR, I wasn't truly aware of the options I might have for dual use. The long HDMI cable shouldn't present that much of an issue. Using the Oppo app, could I control the 105 via my iPad, or my Android phone?

John
Yes either work exactly the same
JimSatala77 is offline  
Old 07-06-2015, 12:39 PM
Advanced Member
 
John Clark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Clarkston, Michigan
Posts: 943
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 86 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by JimSatala77 View Post
Yes either work exactly the same
Thank you Jim. Looks like I'll be able to have the best of both worlds now. My ideal was to have the 105 capable of sending Blu Ray video and sound to my downstairs home theater and act as a CD/SACD player in my upstairs music system. Great news!

Now the question is finding a 30 foot HDMI cable that will send 1080p signals that far.


John
JimSatala77 likes this.

Last edited by John Clark; 07-06-2015 at 01:04 PM.
John Clark is offline  
Old 07-06-2015, 12:59 PM
Member
 
Phydeaux's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Regina, SK, Canada
Posts: 56
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by gsr View Post
It's usually a bad idea to connect something to both the RCA and XLR inputs on an amp. Before even thinking about doing this, read the amp manual and if it isn't clear call the manufacturer to see if they recommend doing this.

But another option could be to eliminate the Denon receiver and use the volume control on the Oppo. The computer could be connected to one of the HDMI inputs on the Oppo and the Oppo could be connected directly to your amps. If you do this, make sure you setup the volume control on the Oppo for variable rather than fixed and make sure you start at a low volume level initially to figure out what a good output level is on the Oppo for your amp/speaker combo.
Thanks GSR, sounds like good advice. I did read the manual for the amps and it gave no indication regarding using both inputs. I'll send Simaudio a note for their advice.

With regard to eliminating the Denon, that may be perfectly acceptable if I had an addtional three amps for the center and rear surround speakers or if the Denon allows access to its internal amps for those channels - I'll have to investigate that. However, I do have a question about operation of the 105 in that configuration:

I somehow got the impression that the 105's XLR outputs were only active in pure direct two-channel mode and wouldn't be active when in the digital decoding modes (HDMI input selected). Thinking through this a bit, maybe that would be unusual unless it was a configuration option. If it's not and the XLR outputs are active no matter the input type, then my original idea wouldn't be option anyway (assuming the amps could use both input types) as the amp would see both the 105 XLR and Denon RCA signals when playing the HDMI source.

Could you clarify my muddled thinking in this regard?

Thank you and cheers...
Robert
Phydeaux is offline  
Old 07-06-2015, 01:07 PM
Super Moderator
 
teachsac's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Elk Grove, CA
Posts: 7,127
Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 504 Post(s)
Liked: 597
Quote:
Originally Posted by John Clark View Post
Thank you Jim. Looks like I'll be able to have the best of both worlds now. My ideal was to have the 105 capable of sending Blu Ray video and sound to my downstairs home theater and act as a CD/SACD player in my upstairs music system. Great news!

Now the question is finding a 30 foot HDMI cable that will send 1080p signals that far.


John

I've been using this one for years without issue.


http://www.amazon.com/Mediabridge-UL...dge+hdmi+cable


S~

Please use the report post button to alert staff to problematic posts. Never quote or respond to them yourself.

Samsung UBD-K8500 -> Yamaha CX-A5100 -> Sony XBR-75X940C; Mediabridge 6' and 15' HDMI cables.
teachsac is online now  
Old 07-06-2015, 01:14 PM
Advanced Member
 
John Clark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Clarkston, Michigan
Posts: 943
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 86 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by teachsac View Post
I've been using this one for years without issue.


http://www.amazon.com/Mediabridge-UL...dge+hdmi+cable


S~
Thanks. I would never have expected such an affordable cable to work so well. You may have saved me a bundle of money.


John
John Clark is offline  
Old 07-06-2015, 01:34 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Smarty-pants's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 17,762
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 458 Post(s)
Liked: 298
Quote:
Originally Posted by Phydeaux View Post
Thanks GSR, sounds like good advice. I did read the manual for the amps and it gave no indication regarding using both inputs. I'll send Simaudio a note for their advice.

With regard to eliminating the Denon, that may be perfectly acceptable if I had an addtional three amps for the center and rear surround speakers or if the Denon allows access to its internal amps for those channels - I'll have to investigate that. However, I do have a question about operation of the 105 in that configuration:

I somehow got the impression that the 105's XLR outputs were only active in pure direct two-channel mode and wouldn't be active when in the digital decoding modes (HDMI input selected). Thinking through this a bit, maybe that would be unusual unless it was a configuration option. If it's not and the XLR outputs are active no matter the input type, then my original idea wouldn't be option anyway (assuming the amps could use both input types) as the amp would see both the 105 XLR and Denon RCA signals when playing the HDMI source.

Could you clarify my muddled thinking in this regard?

Thank you and cheers...
Robert
All of the outputs on the Oppo players are active 24/7.
So, in theory, you could hook up HDMI, optical, RCA, XLR all at the same time and get audio and/or video
on all outputs, depending on the material being played and what equipment you have the outputs plugged into.
You also have the ability to turn the HDMI audio OFF if you are going to use the analog audio and not the digital audio output.

~Dave

...Theater Room Setup...
JVC DLA-RS40-U... Oppo BDP-105D... Toshiba HD-XA2... Uverse VIP-2250... Roku Streaming Stick... Emotiva XPA-3... Onkyo TX-SR805
JBL LC2 (x3) ... JBL L820 (x6) ... SVS PB10-ISD (x2) ... SVS 20-39-PCI
Smarty-pants is offline  
Old 07-06-2015, 02:52 PM
gsr
Oppo Beta Group
 
gsr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Massachusetts, USA
Posts: 8,732
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 808 Post(s)
Liked: 618
Quote:
Originally Posted by Phydeaux View Post
With regard to eliminating the Denon, that may be perfectly acceptable if I had an addtional three amps for the center and rear surround speakers or if the Denon allows access to its internal amps for those channels - I'll have to investigate that.
If the Denon has a multi-channel analog input, you could send the Oppo's center and surround outputs through it. Find a volume level on the Denon that allows you to balance the output level of all channels on the Oppo and leave it there. Use the Oppo's volume control to adjust the volume from that point on.
gsr is online now  
Old 07-06-2015, 03:13 PM
Member
 
Phydeaux's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Regina, SK, Canada
Posts: 56
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Thank you both for your assistance, I think it's crystal clear now that utilizing the 105 as suggested by GSR will be the best option for me. I have validated that my Denon does have analog inputs, so I should be good to go.

Looking forward to the 105 arriving.

Cheers!
Robert

RLW
Phydeaux is offline  
Old 07-06-2015, 09:57 PM
Advanced Member
 
John Clark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Clarkston, Michigan
Posts: 943
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 86 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Just read a comment from a CNET review that the current standard for HDMI only rates 1080P signals for a 25 foot maximum. Should I be concerned?

John
John Clark is offline  
Old 07-06-2015, 10:16 PM
Super Moderator
 
teachsac's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Elk Grove, CA
Posts: 7,127
Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 504 Post(s)
Liked: 597
I have a 35 ft. run without issue, even with 3D.


S~

Please use the report post button to alert staff to problematic posts. Never quote or respond to them yourself.

Samsung UBD-K8500 -> Yamaha CX-A5100 -> Sony XBR-75X940C; Mediabridge 6' and 15' HDMI cables.
teachsac is online now  
Old 07-07-2015, 03:51 AM
One-Man Content Creator
 
wmcclain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 20,158
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1901 Post(s)
Liked: 827
Quote:
Originally Posted by John Clark View Post
Just read a comment from a CNET review that the current standard for HDMI only rates 1080P signals for a 25 foot maximum. Should I be concerned?

John
I would say "be aware". If HDMI displays flakey behavior then long cable length is one of the things to consider.

People have had good results with Monoprice Redmere cables for long runs. They employ additional chips to boost the distance. (I have not used one myself).

-Bill
JimSatala77 likes this.

Review older films here: 1979 and earlier | 1980s | 1990s | Combined reviews: Strange Picture Scroll
Unofficial OPPO FAQS: BDP-103 | BDP-93 | BDP-83 | BDP-80    
wmcclain is online now  
Old 07-07-2015, 07:50 PM
Advanced Member
 
tranle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Mountain View, CA
Posts: 591
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 49 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by John Clark View Post
Thank you Jim. Looks like I'll be able to have the best of both worlds now. My ideal was to have the 105 capable of sending Blu Ray video and sound to my downstairs home theater and act as a CD/SACD player in my upstairs music system. Great news!

Now the question is finding a 30 foot HDMI cable that will send 1080p signals that far.


John
You can go to monoprice and look for 'redmere' hdmi cables, They have 30ft to 50ft.
JimSatala77 likes this.
tranle is offline  
Old 07-08-2015, 08:03 AM
Goldmember
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: US&A
Posts: 41
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by VeteranAVSMember View Post
Thanks for the info. I have, by no means, an ideal room, but I've heard my audio sound better. Perhaps I just need to do some equalizer adjusting. That would make this a whole lot easier (and more economical, more importantly!).
So it turns out the Cambridge Audio Azur does not let you adjust Bass/Treble settings when in Direct analog passthrough mode. Does that seem unusual? An external equalizer sounds nice but then don't want to lose too much separation as mentioned by Smarty-Pants. Might just be time to change out the receiver, perhaps even consider a Yamaha a the nifty YPAO auto-adjusting mic.
VeteranAVSMember is offline  
Old 07-08-2015, 08:15 AM
gsr
Oppo Beta Group
 
gsr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Massachusetts, USA
Posts: 8,732
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 808 Post(s)
Liked: 618
Quote:
Originally Posted by VeteranAVSMember View Post
So it turns out the Cambridge Audio Azur does not let you adjust Bass/Treble settings when in Direct analog passthrough mode. Does that seem unusual?
It kind of makes sense that Direct doesn't apply any processing to the signal as that's kind of the point in selecting a Direct mode.
gsr is online now  
Old 07-08-2015, 11:13 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
NorthSky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Vancouver Island, BC - Canada
Posts: 16,524
Mentioned: 23 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6778 Post(s)
Liked: 3355
That's what "Direct" and "Pure Direct" mean; bypassing anything that might corrupt the sound, like tone controls, shutting off the front display, bypassing the OSD and the video section, the DSP audio, even the bass management (analog audio). ...It's like a Tone Defeat control.
JimSatala77 likes this.

~ Bob
"And it stoned me to my soul"
- Van Morrison
NorthSky is offline  
Old 07-09-2015, 10:54 AM
Advanced Member
 
weekendtoy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Northern MN
Posts: 614
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 194 Post(s)
Liked: 129
I just picked up the new Best of Doors SACD.


Just confirming that to access the 2 channel layer I need to change SACD priority to stereo. I initially had the down-mix to 2.0 and it sounded terrible.


Also, I noticed when playing the 4.0 quad mix the screen indicated 5.0 channels which I thought was weird. I have the down mix set to 5.1. Is the player trying to upconvert the 4.0 layer to 5.0 ?

I reject your reality and substitute my own.

weekendtoy is offline  
Old 07-09-2015, 02:55 PM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 29,299
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1340 Post(s)
Liked: 1341
Quote:
Originally Posted by weekendtoy View Post
I just picked up the new Best of Doors SACD.


Just confirming that to access the 2 channel layer I need to change SACD priority to stereo. I initially had the down-mix to 2.0 and it sounded terrible.


Also, I noticed when playing the 4.0 quad mix the screen indicated 5.0 channels which I thought was weird. I have the down mix set to 5.1. Is the player trying to upconvert the 4.0 layer to 5.0 ?
Changing the SACD Priority setting simply selects which audio portion is played by default for SACD discs that have both 2.0 and 5.1. If you prefer to play 2.0 most of the time set the Priority to Stereo. (You'll still get 5.1 if the disc only contains 5.1.)

To change between 2.0 and 5.1 on the fly (while an SACD disc is playing), press the Audio button lower left on the Remote.

-------------------------------------

The 4.0 mix is simply on disc as 5.0 (with one channel silent).

--Bob
weekendtoy likes this.

Anthem D2/D2v/AVM50/AVM50v/ARC1 tweaking guide. -- Need personal consultation/training? PM me!
Bob Pariseau is online now  
Old 07-09-2015, 03:40 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
BillP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: PA
Posts: 14,197
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 238 Post(s)
Liked: 187
weekendtoy, how does the 2-channel layer sound?
BillP is offline  
Old 07-09-2015, 08:54 PM
Member
 
Set845's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 132
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillP View Post
weekendtoy, how does the 2-channel layer sound?
I can tell you it sounds awesome. It's an Audio Fidelity disc mastered by Steve Hoffman after all. Nice dynamic range.
Set845 is offline  
Old 07-10-2015, 06:24 AM
Advanced Member
 
weekendtoy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Northern MN
Posts: 614
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 194 Post(s)
Liked: 129
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Pariseau View Post
Changing the SACD Priority setting simply selects which audio portion is played by default for SACD discs that have both 2.0 and 5.1. If you prefer to play 2.0 most of the time set the Priority to Stereo. (You'll still get 5.1 if the disc only contains 5.1.)

To change between 2.0 and 5.1 on the fly (while an SACD disc is playing), press the Audio button lower left on the Remote.
--Bob

Thanks Bob. I always listen to the 5.1 layer if it's available. This Doors disc will be one of the few exceptions.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Set845 View Post
I can tell you it sounds awesome. It's an Audio Fidelity disc mastered by Steve Hoffman after all. Nice dynamic range.

Couldn't agree more. This is the best I've ever heard the Doors and it's not even close.

I reject your reality and substitute my own.

weekendtoy is offline  
Old 07-10-2015, 08:01 AM
AVS Special Member
 
luismanrara's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,083
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 98 Post(s)
Liked: 66
Quote:
Originally Posted by John Clark View Post
Just read a comment from a CNET review that the current standard for HDMI only rates 1080P signals for a 25 foot maximum. Should I be concerned?

John
I have a 7 year old 20 foot long hdmi to DVI cable from mono price with an adapter to hdmi on the projecto'rs end, no shake problems and no problems with 3D. the cable business is a tricky one

Do not steal, The powers that be do not like the competition.
luismanrara is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
 

Tags
Oppo Bdp 105 Blu Ray Player
Thread Tools


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off