Official OPPO BDP-105 Owner's Thread - Page 437 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
 401Likes
Reply
Thread Tools
post #13081 of 13105 Old 07-10-2015, 10:21 AM
Member
 
Set845's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 117
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillP View Post
Have you heard the Analogue Productions Doors SACDs from 2012/2013? Just wondering (Steve Hoffman usually does do a fantastic job remastering for Audio Fidelity).
I have those too and they also sound great. Which is better? For me there is no better. Steve brings a bit of magic to the midrange for sure. I'm happy to own both! I love these audiophile grade masters. For me they're an endgame. I love my Oppo! So I buy as much as I can.
Set845 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #13082 of 13105 Old 07-10-2015, 12:57 PM
Senior Member
 
weekendtoy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Northern MN
Posts: 473
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 108 Post(s)
Liked: 71
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillP View Post
Have you heard the Analogue Productions Doors SACDs from 2012/2013? Just wondering (Steve Hoffman usually does do a fantastic job remastering for Audio Fidelity).

I have the AP SACD's for L.A. Women and Strange Days. While I prefer AP for multi-channel, the AF stereo layer just sounds a little more organic if you will, seems to provide a greater level of detail, better eq'd. None of this is scientific mind you, just my lay-man observations.

I reject your reality and substitute my own.

weekendtoy is offline  
post #13083 of 13105 Old 07-10-2015, 01:46 PM
Advanced Member
 
JimSatala77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Ft. Myers Beach FL.
Posts: 635
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 346 Post(s)
Liked: 123
I Have The Doors Infinite Collection and I hear all types of ghost voices on the 5.1 track..sounds much better in stereo ...Analog Productions boxset...cost over 200..not even close to worth the cost IMO...Totally disappointing with the quality being what it is
JimSatala77 is offline  
post #13084 of 13105 Old 07-10-2015, 02:36 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
BillP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: PA
Posts: 13,994
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 165 Post(s)
Liked: 139
Quote:
Originally Posted by JimSatala77 View Post
I Have The Doors Infinite Collection and I hear all types of ghost voices on the 5.1 track..sounds much better in stereo ...Analog Productions boxset...cost over 200..not even close to worth the cost IMO...Totally disappointing with the quality being what it is
I first bought the Perception Box and then bought the Infinite collection as well, but only listen to the 2-channel layer (I have only a 2-channel stereo system). Just wondering whether to also get the new Audio Fidelity Gr Hits SACD. I admit to being a sucker (along with many others, it seems) for buying newly remastered versions over and over again.
JimSatala77 likes this.
BillP is online now  
post #13085 of 13105 Old 07-13-2015, 10:45 AM
Senior Member
 
weekendtoy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Northern MN
Posts: 473
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 108 Post(s)
Liked: 71
So as not to take up any more space here, there is a thread going in the Surround Music Format forum dedicated to this album.


The Best of the Doors....quad 4.0.....June 29th release

I reject your reality and substitute my own.

weekendtoy is offline  
post #13086 of 13105 Old 07-17-2015, 03:51 PM
AVS Special Member
 
kucharsk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Louisville, CO
Posts: 4,776
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 552 Post(s)
Liked: 287
For the last decade or so my disolay has been one that had DVI only, and so I ran the output of my Oppo through a DVDO iScan Duo and into my display.

I now have a good display with HDMI inputs and am wondering whether I'd get better quality connecting directly to the TV.

I realize it would be easy to just try, but I wanted to see if anyone else had experience with this configuration before rummaging around behind my video rack (not the easiest thing in the world for me to do.)
kucharsk is offline  
post #13087 of 13105 Old 07-17-2015, 04:18 PM
Member
 
JRD57's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 68
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by kucharsk View Post
For the last decade or so my disolay has been one that had DVI only, and so I ran the output of my Oppo through a DVDO iScan Duo and into my display.

I now have a good display with HDMI inputs and am wondering whether I'd get better quality connecting directly to the TV.

I realize it would be easy to just try, but I wanted to see if anyone else had experience with this configuration before rummaging around behind my video rack (not the easiest thing in the world for me to do.)
IMHO, I would stick with the DVDO doing the scaling and not the display. Outboard scalers are typically better than inboard (some newer AVR's notwithstanding), and the DVI carries the same video signal as HDMI - just also includes the audio. I've been where you are and still use my (admittedly long in tooth) DUO for the heavy lifting, even though I'm feeding a Pio Kuro.

I will add that I have had to reluctantly bypass the DUO with certain components due to HDCP handshake issues...1 too many hops in the string...;/

Now, if you have the 105D, I might take a different approach...

Jeff

"We've got to get in to get out..."

Last edited by JRD57; 07-17-2015 at 04:24 PM. Reason: 105D?
JRD57 is offline  
post #13088 of 13105 Old 07-17-2015, 10:27 PM
Member
 
linger63's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: MELBOURNE, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 94
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 56 Post(s)
Liked: 34
Quote:
Originally Posted by kucharsk View Post
For the last decade or so my disolay has been one that had DVI only, and so I ran the output of my Oppo through a DVDO iScan Duo and into my display.

I now have a good display with HDMI inputs and am wondering whether I'd get better quality connecting directly to the TV.

I realize it would be easy to just try, but I wanted to see if anyone else had experience with this configuration before rummaging around behind my video rack (not the easiest thing in the world for me to do.)

Hi,

It might be a bit of a PITA but, considering the age of your DVDO, the fact you have updated your display and mostly.....the quality video processing abilities of your OPPO 105 I think you should DEFINITELY hook up DIRECTLY at HDMI level and see for yourself.

I know that you have the non-Darbee OPPO 105 (as do I) but IME there's a bit more to outright PQ than just that!!

Also, if you want to see just how well your new Display does things.......choose SOURCE DIRECT in the OPPO's resolution Menu section.

Cheers

Last edited by linger63; 07-17-2015 at 10:35 PM.
linger63 is offline  
post #13089 of 13105 Old 07-17-2015, 11:29 PM
AVS Special Member
 
kucharsk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Louisville, CO
Posts: 4,776
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 552 Post(s)
Liked: 287
Well that's officially one vote each way. :-)

I like the way things look through the iScan Duo but am curious if I'm losing anything compared with the direct connection.

The TV is a Samsung 64F8500 plasma if that convinces anyone either way.
kucharsk is offline  
post #13090 of 13105 Old 07-18-2015, 10:36 AM
Advanced Member
 
dbphd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Montecito, CA
Posts: 590
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 142 Post(s)
Liked: 71
Quote:
Originally Posted by kucharsk View Post
Well that's officially one vote each way. :-)

I like the way things look through the iScan Duo but am curious if I'm losing anything compared with the direct connection.

The TV is a Samsung 64F8500 plasma if that convinces anyone either way.
I used an iScan Duo and then the next model up, but the Oppo 105 does such a good job of video processing, I didn't think it was necessary so I gave it to our gardener along with a 60" TV from my mother's estate that did need it. I use a Sony VPL 50 that projects onto a 100" Stewart UltraMatte 150 screen.

db
dbphd is offline  
post #13091 of 13105 Old 07-18-2015, 11:17 PM
Member
 
linger63's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: MELBOURNE, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 94
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 56 Post(s)
Liked: 34
Quote:
Originally Posted by kucharsk View Post
Well that's officially one vote each way. :-)

I like the way things look through the iScan Duo but am curious if I'm losing anything compared with the direct connection.

The TV is a Samsung 64F8500 plasma if that convinces anyone either way.



One vote each way.......What did you expect!!!

BTW.....Nice TV

Maybe dpbhd's tie breaker post will better help you decide.




Cheers

Last edited by linger63; 07-18-2015 at 11:22 PM.
linger63 is offline  
post #13092 of 13105 Old 07-24-2015, 09:07 AM
AVS Special Member
 
eljr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Futuristic London
Posts: 6,072
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 712 Post(s)
Liked: 4076
Alright, here is the plan. In spite of OPPO telling me that the 105 is not a preamp I am going to use it as such in one of my systems based on all the success noted in this thread.

2.1 system.

Anything I need to be aware of?

The configuration is pretty straight forward. Roku>OPPO105>Parasound 2125v2 and Klipsch sub12

What you got back home, little sister, to play your fuzzy warbles on? I bet you got little save pitiful, portable picnic players. Come with uncle and hear all proper! Hear angel trumpets and devil trombones. You are invited.
eljr is online now  
post #13093 of 13105 Old 07-24-2015, 09:38 AM
One-Man Content Creator
 
wmcclain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 18,695
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1192 Post(s)
Liked: 557
Quote:
Originally Posted by eljr View Post
Alright, here is the plan. In spite of OPPO telling me that the 105 is not a preamp I am going to use it as such in one of my systems based on all the success noted in this thread.

2.1 system.

Anything I need to be aware of?

The configuration is pretty straight forward. Roku>OPPO105>Parasound 2125v2 and Klipsch sub12
Become intimately familiar with these settings in Setup -> Audio Processing:

  • Output Volume [ Variable | Fixed ]
  • Power On Volume [ Last | 0--100 ]
  • Maximum Volume [ 0--100 ]

-Bill

Review older films here: 1979 and earlier | 1980s | 1990s | Combined reviews: Strange Picture Scroll
Unofficial OPPO FAQS: BDP-103 | BDP-93 | BDP-83 | BDP-80    
wmcclain is online now  
post #13094 of 13105 Old 07-24-2015, 09:47 AM
AVS Special Member
 
eljr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Futuristic London
Posts: 6,072
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 712 Post(s)
Liked: 4076
Quote:
Originally Posted by wmcclain View Post
Become intimately familiar with these settings in Setup -> Audio Processing:

  • Output Volume [ Variable | Fixed ]
  • Power On Volume [ Last | 0--100 ]
  • Maximum Volume [ 0--100 ]

-Bill
why? can't I just set them and forget it using the remote to adjust volume?

What you got back home, little sister, to play your fuzzy warbles on? I bet you got little save pitiful, portable picnic players. Come with uncle and hear all proper! Hear angel trumpets and devil trombones. You are invited.
eljr is online now  
post #13095 of 13105 Old 07-24-2015, 09:53 AM
One-Man Content Creator
 
wmcclain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 18,695
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1192 Post(s)
Liked: 557
Quote:
Originally Posted by eljr View Post
why? can't I just set them and forget it using the remote to adjust volume?
You'll want to be cautious when first setting in up. Full volume from the player might blow out your speakers. Those settings provide a safety factor.

-Bill

Review older films here: 1979 and earlier | 1980s | 1990s | Combined reviews: Strange Picture Scroll
Unofficial OPPO FAQS: BDP-103 | BDP-93 | BDP-83 | BDP-80    
wmcclain is online now  
post #13096 of 13105 Old 07-24-2015, 09:57 AM
AVS Special Member
 
eljr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Futuristic London
Posts: 6,072
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 712 Post(s)
Liked: 4076
Quote:
Originally Posted by wmcclain View Post
You'll want to be cautious when first setting in up. Full volume from the player might blow out your speakers. Those settings provide a safety factor.

-Bill
SOOOoooo, how do I set them?

I would assume

Output Volume [ Variable | Fixed ]---------Variable
Power On Volume [ Last | 0--100 ]------------25
Maximum Volume [ 0--100 ]--------on this I have no clue, how would I know what max volume should be set at?

Thanks for the help btw

What you got back home, little sister, to play your fuzzy warbles on? I bet you got little save pitiful, portable picnic players. Come with uncle and hear all proper! Hear angel trumpets and devil trombones. You are invited.
eljr is online now  
post #13097 of 13105 Old 07-24-2015, 10:06 AM
One-Man Content Creator
 
wmcclain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 18,695
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1192 Post(s)
Liked: 557
Quote:
Originally Posted by eljr View Post
SOOOoooo, how do I set them?

I would assume

Output Volume [ Variable | Fixed ]---------Variable
Power On Volume [ Last | 0--100 ]------------25
Maximum Volume [ 0--100 ]--------on this I have no clue, how would I know what max volume should be set at?

Thanks for the help btw
This is why people advise you not to use the player (any player) without a preamp. It's dangerous.

Variable: yes.

Before the first connection, I'd use Power on volume = 0 (which is MUTE) and Max = 100. Then slowly bring up the volume to a good level and set Power on Volume to that (or LAST, if you think no villain will be messing with it). Set Maximum to a level which is plenty loud by your standards without being dangerous.

-Bill

Review older films here: 1979 and earlier | 1980s | 1990s | Combined reviews: Strange Picture Scroll
Unofficial OPPO FAQS: BDP-103 | BDP-93 | BDP-83 | BDP-80    
wmcclain is online now  
post #13098 of 13105 Old 07-24-2015, 10:25 AM
AVS Special Member
 
eljr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Futuristic London
Posts: 6,072
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 712 Post(s)
Liked: 4076
Quote:
Originally Posted by wmcclain View Post
This is why people advise you not to use the player (any player) without a preamp. It's dangerous.

Variable: yes.

Before the first connection, I'd use Power on volume = 0 (which is MUTE) and Max = 100. Then slowly bring up the volume to a good level and set Power on Volume to that (or LAST, if you think no villain will be messing with it). Set Maximum to a level which is plenty loud by your standards without being dangerous.

-Bill

If these are set as suggested is it then OK? Any other potential perils?

What you got back home, little sister, to play your fuzzy warbles on? I bet you got little save pitiful, portable picnic players. Come with uncle and hear all proper! Hear angel trumpets and devil trombones. You are invited.
eljr is online now  
post #13099 of 13105 Old 07-24-2015, 02:34 PM
AVS Special Member
 
DanF8500's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 1,594
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 476 Post(s)
Liked: 253
Quote:
Originally Posted by eljr View Post
If these are set as suggested is it then OK? Any other potential perils?
https://www.oppodigital.com/Knowledg...&ProdID=BDP-95

The link above will apply to the 105 also. Included are two different 2.1 setup configurations to choose from. There's the standard 2.1, which will divert all sub frequencies (based on your crossover setting) from your L/R speakers to your sub. There's also a "double bass" 2.1 setup included where your L/R channels play full range, in addition to your sub playing low frequencies. I've heard arguments for/against the double bass setup. The choice is yours.
eljr likes this.
DanF8500 is offline  
post #13100 of 13105 Old 07-24-2015, 03:20 PM
AVS Special Member
 
DanF8500's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 1,594
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 476 Post(s)
Liked: 253
Quote:
Originally Posted by eljr View Post
If these are set as suggested is it then OK? Any other potential perils?
One other thing I forgot to mention is the output voltage of the 105's rca outputs coupled with your power amp's input sensitivity. The 105 will output 2.1 Volt rms at full(max) volume. The input sensitivity of your Parasound is 1 volt. You should definitely not exceed your amp's input sensitivity or you'll overdrive your amp. So, the max volume you should ever have your 105 at would be somewhere in the mid-high 80's, since every 6 dB change is a doubling/halving of voltage, and each increment of the 105's volume is 1/2 dB.
eljr likes this.

Last edited by DanF8500; 07-24-2015 at 03:24 PM.
DanF8500 is offline  
post #13101 of 13105 Old 07-24-2015, 04:11 PM
AVS Special Member
 
eljr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Futuristic London
Posts: 6,072
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 712 Post(s)
Liked: 4076
Quote:
Originally Posted by DanF8500 View Post
One other thing I forgot to mention is the output voltage of the 105's rca outputs coupled with your power amp's input sensitivity. The 105 will output 2.1 Volt rms at full(max) volume. The input sensitivity of your Parasound is 1 volt. You should definitely not exceed your amp's input sensitivity or you'll overdrive your amp. So, the max volume you should ever have your 105 at would be somewhere in the mid-high 80's, since every 6 dB change is a doubling/halving of voltage, and each increment of the 105's volume is 1/2 dB.
so if I set the maximum volume at 85 in the setting, I'll be fine, correct?

What you got back home, little sister, to play your fuzzy warbles on? I bet you got little save pitiful, portable picnic players. Come with uncle and hear all proper! Hear angel trumpets and devil trombones. You are invited.
eljr is online now  
post #13102 of 13105 Old 07-24-2015, 05:51 PM
gsr
Oppo Beta Group
 
gsr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Massachusetts, USA
Posts: 8,137
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 480 Post(s)
Liked: 383
Quote:
Originally Posted by eljr View Post
so if I set the maximum volume at 85 in the setting, I'll be fine, correct?
Most likely, but it would probably be a good idea to experiment a bit. Start with the volume at 0 and start playing something you're familiar with. Gradually turn the volume up to the loudest you feel you want to listen and then set the maximum volume setting just slightly higher to give yourself a bit of headroom to use if you need it. You can always go back in and change the setting later if you find you need to be able to go a bit louder.

The other thing to pay attention to is making sure that your settings don't get changed if you install a firmware update or reset the player to defaults. After doing either of those operations, check those settings before you play something just in case they got changed as you do not want to play something at max volume as it could potentially damage your speakers and/or hearing.
eljr likes this.
gsr is online now  
post #13103 of 13105 Old 07-24-2015, 09:50 PM
Member
 
Phydeaux's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Regina, SK, Canada
Posts: 40
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 11
^^^ Yep, and when you do this experiment you might want to use a fairly "hot" recording so that you're really setting an upper limit that is safe.

Robert
eljr likes this.
Phydeaux is online now  
post #13104 of 13105 Old 07-25-2015, 08:17 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Need for monitor for Oppo 105(d)

I spoke to an engineer from Oppo at the Newport THE show who confirmed what several people have already said, which is that you need a monitor to navigate the menus on SACDs and DVD discs. The setup menu can be accessed by using the Oppo remote app on an IPhone or Ipad. (I prefer using the JR Media center app for playing music located on my PC). I got a 7 inch LED monitor from Mansa electronics which works just fine. Thanks for everyone's input.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Bill Mac View Post
I use the Pure Audio mode whenever my plasma is on when listening to music. It's a great feature on the Oppo players and one that I use all the time.

Bill
Wolf_D3 is offline  
post #13105 of 13105 Unread Today, 02:21 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Bill Mac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 12,198
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 636 Post(s)
Liked: 782
If I use the 105D with a processor such as the Anthem D2 with HDMI 1.1 will DSD be converted to PCM or would I have to set the 105D to PCM to get audio?

Bill

My SACD collection, watch it grow and my wallet shrink ;-).

Emotiva XMC-1, Rogue Audio Perseus Magnum, Wyred 4 Sound SX-500s, ST-500, ST-250, Oppo BDP-105D, Panasonic TC-P60GT50 plasma, Panamax 5100EX, Salk 1801-TLs, Salk 1801b center, ADS 300C (surrounds) and two Rythmik F12SEs.
Bill Mac is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Blu-ray Players

Tags
Oppo Bdp 105 Blu Ray Player

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off