Official OPPO BDP-105 Owner's Thread - Page 454 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews

Forum Jump: 
 492Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #13591 of 13893 Old 01-11-2016, 08:07 PM
Member
 
Phydeaux's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Regina, SK, Canada
Posts: 56
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by backinsdle View Post
I am sure you are not a believer in power chords either but that is for another discussion. But thanks for the reply!!
Some of the very best power chords were performed by Pete Townshend via the windmill-strum method...

RLW
Phydeaux is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #13592 of 13893 Old 01-22-2016, 06:20 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 0
HELP! Can't play video since new firmware update

I updated the firmware circa 12/16/15 and since then I cannot play certain high quality video files. Is anybody else having this issue? Should I revert back tot he previous version?
SteveSpy is offline  
post #13593 of 13893 Old 01-22-2016, 06:21 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 0
HELP! Can't play video since new firmware update

I updated the firmware circa 12/16/15 and since then I cannot play certain high quality video files. Is anybody else having this issue? Should I revert back to the previous version?
SteveSpy is offline  
post #13594 of 13893 Old 01-22-2016, 06:40 AM
One-Man Content Creator
 
wmcclain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 20,471
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2072 Post(s)
Liked: 1018
Quote:
Originally Posted by SteveSpy View Post
I updated the firmware circa 12/16/15 and since then I cannot play certain high quality video files. Is anybody else having this issue? Should I revert back tot he previous version?
Welcome to AVSForum.

Exactly what error are you getting? Could you give a text report from mediainfo of one of the problem files?

If you are on production firmware you can't revert.

-Bill

Review older films here: 1979 and earlier | 1980s | 1990s | Combined reviews: Strange Picture Scroll
Unofficial OPPO FAQS: BDP-103 | BDP-93 | BDP-83 | BDP-80    
wmcclain is offline  
post #13595 of 13893 Old 01-22-2016, 07:53 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by wmcclain View Post
Welcome to AVSForum.

Exactly what error are you getting? Could you give a text report from mediainfo of one of the problem files?

If you are on production firmware you can't revert.

-Bill
It's not an error, it's actually playing, the video is all messed up and the audio part works just fine. The video is showing a gray white background all completely scrambled and the audio works fine.
SteveSpy is offline  
post #13596 of 13893 Old 01-22-2016, 08:05 AM
One-Man Content Creator
 
wmcclain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 20,471
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2072 Post(s)
Liked: 1018
Quote:
Originally Posted by SteveSpy View Post
It's not an error, it's actually playing, the video is all messed up and the audio part works just fine. The video is showing a gray white background all completely scrambled and the audio works fine.
Without knowing the video codec (which mediainfo would tell us) or how it was created it is hard to help.

You could get the details to OPPO support and offer them a sample file.

-Bill

Review older films here: 1979 and earlier | 1980s | 1990s | Combined reviews: Strange Picture Scroll
Unofficial OPPO FAQS: BDP-103 | BDP-93 | BDP-83 | BDP-80    
wmcclain is offline  
post #13597 of 13893 Old 01-23-2016, 02:02 PM
Member
 
JanJankovsky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Why Auto resume function don't work when playing video files or blu-ray .iso from shared folder from NAS? I need repeat all steps to start playing the movie even I just suddenly press Home button.
Is there are the way to add resume function to play from NAS like it does with Blu-ray disks?
JanJankovsky is offline  
post #13598 of 13893 Old 01-23-2016, 02:03 PM
Member
 
JanJankovsky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Why Auto resume function don't work when playing video files or blu-ray .iso from shared folder from NAS? I need repeat all steps to start playing the movie even I just suddenly press Home button.
Is there are the way to add resume function to play from NAS like it does with Blu-ray disks?
JanJankovsky is offline  
post #13599 of 13893 Old 01-23-2016, 03:29 PM
gsr
Oppo Beta Group
 
gsr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Massachusetts, USA
Posts: 8,908
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 916 Post(s)
Liked: 768
Quote:
Originally Posted by JanJankovsky View Post
Why Auto resume function don't work when playing video files or blu-ray .iso from shared folder from NAS? I need repeat all steps to start playing the movie even I just suddenly press Home button.
Is there are the way to add resume function to play from NAS like it does with Blu-ray disks?
Playing ISO's isn't supported at all with the standard Oppo firmware, so we'll have to assume that you're using jailbreak firmware. You're best bet is to contact the author of the jailbreak firmware for support.
gsr is online now  
post #13600 of 13893 Old 01-23-2016, 04:08 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by wmcclain View Post
Welcome to AVSForum.

Exactly what error are you getting? Could you give a text report from mediainfo of one of the problem files?

If you are on production firmware you can't revert.

-Bill
Bill

Thanks for chiming in here. So what is the process, exactly, to get such a text report from mediainfo? What is mediainfo?
SteveSpy is offline  
post #13601 of 13893 Old 01-23-2016, 06:07 PM
One-Man Content Creator
 
wmcclain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 20,471
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2072 Post(s)
Liked: 1018
Quote:
Originally Posted by SteveSpy View Post
Bill

Thanks for chiming in here. So what is the process, exactly, to get such a text report from mediainfo? What is mediainfo?
Free cross-platform utility: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Mediainfo

-Bill

Review older films here: 1979 and earlier | 1980s | 1990s | Combined reviews: Strange Picture Scroll
Unofficial OPPO FAQS: BDP-103 | BDP-93 | BDP-83 | BDP-80    
wmcclain is offline  
post #13602 of 13893 Old 01-24-2016, 01:27 AM
AVS Special Member
 
petetherock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Down Under
Posts: 2,556
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 985 Post(s)
Liked: 419
I had the privilege of using the Japan Limited edition for a while...
Superb:
http://peteswrite.blogspot.sg/2016/0...ed-review.html
petetherock is online now  
post #13603 of 13893 Old 01-25-2016, 06:02 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by wmcclain View Post
Free cross-platform utility:

-Bill
General
Complete name : D:\Videos\Television\Downton Abbey\Downton Abbey - 6x08.mkv
Format : Matroska
Format version : Version 2
File size : 1.55 GiB
Duration : 1h 12mn
Overall bit rate : 3 078 Kbps
Writing application : libebml v1.3.0 + libmatroska v1.4.0
Writing library : mkvmerge v6.1.0 ('Old Devil') built on Mar 2 2013 14:32:37

Video
ID : 1
Format : AVC
Format/Info : Advanced Video Codec
Format profile : High@L4.1
Format settings, CABAC : Yes
Format settings, ReFrames : 5 frames
Codec ID : V_MPEG4/ISO/AVC
Duration : 1h 12mn
Bit rate : 2 633 Kbps
Width : 1 280 pixels
Height : 720 pixels
Display aspect ratio : 16:9
Frame rate mode : Constant
Frame rate : 25.000 fps
Color space : YUV
Chroma subsampling : 4:2:0
Bit depth : 8 bits
Scan type : Progressive
Bits/(Pixel*Frame) : 0.114
Stream size : 1.33 GiB (86%)
Writing library : x264 core 148 r2638 7599210
Encoding settings : cabac=1 / ref=5 / deblock=1:0:0 / analyse=0x3:0x113 / me=umh / subme=8 / psy=1 / psy_rd=1.00:0.00 / mixed_ref=1 / me_range=16 / chroma_me=1 / trellis=1 / 8x8dct=1 / cqm=0 / deadzone=21,11 / fast_pskip=1 / chroma_qp_offset=-2 / threads=12 / lookahead_threads=2 / sliced_threads=0 / nr=0 / decimate=1 / interlaced=0 / bluray_compat=0 / constrained_intra=0 / bframes=3 / b_pyramid=2 / b_adapt=2 / b_bias=0 / direct=3 / weightb=1 / open_gop=0 / weightp=2 / keyint=250 / keyint_min=25 / scenecut=40 / intra_refresh=0 / rc_lookahead=50 / rc=crf / mbtree=1 / crf=18.0 / qcomp=0.60 / qpmin=0 / qpmax=69 / qpstep=4 / ip_ratio=1.40 / aq=1:1.00
Language : English
Default : Yes
Forced : No

Audio
ID : 2
Format : AC-3
Format/Info : Audio Coding 3
Mode extension : CM (complete main)
Format settings, Endianness : Big
Codec ID : A_AC3
Duration : 1h 12mn
Bit rate mode : Constant
Bit rate : 384 Kbps
Channel(s) : 2 channels
Channel positions : Front: L R
Sampling rate : 48.0 KHz
Frame rate : 31.250 fps (1536 spf)
Compression mode : Lossy
Stream size : 199 MiB (12%)
Language : English
Default : Yes
Forced : No
SteveSpy is offline  
post #13604 of 13893 Old 01-26-2016, 12:59 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
SeeMoreDigital's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Nott'm, UK
Posts: 2,522
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 458 Post(s)
Liked: 187
Quote:
Originally Posted by SteveSpy View Post
I updated the firmware circa 12/16/15 and since then I cannot play certain high quality video files. Is anybody else having this issue? Should I revert back tot he previous version?
So... What exactly happens when you try playing these particular (25.000fps) .mkv contained files?

Cheers

I SUPPORT 'FAIR USE'. MY MORALS PREVENT ME FROM HELPING ANYONE WHO OBTAINS COPYRIGHTED CONTENT ILLEGITIMATELY
I've been testing hardware media playback devices and software A/V encoders and decoders since 2001 | My Network Layout and A/V Gear
SeeMoreDigital is offline  
post #13605 of 13893 Old 01-26-2016, 11:56 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by SeeMoreDigital View Post
So... What exactly happens when you try playing these particular (25.000fps) .mkv contained files?

Cheers
Explained here:

Official OPPO BDP-105 Owner's Thread
SteveSpy is offline  
post #13606 of 13893 Old 01-31-2016, 11:04 PM
AVS Special Member
 
WestCoastD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: California
Posts: 7,707
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 244 Post(s)
Liked: 90
Was noticing a very intriguing recently released new Jimi Hendrix movie video production:
"Jimi Hendrix Experience: Electric Church, Atlanta Pop Festival, July 4, 1970" (Blu-Ray)

Amazon list's, both, a Blu-ray and DVD versions. However the Blu-ray version has a disclaimer- ie. "Playback Region B/2 :This will not play on most Blu-ray players sold in North America, Central America, South America, Japan, North Korea, South Korea, Taiwan, Hong Kong and Southeast Asia."

I assume the BDP-105 will not play the B/2 version?
WestCoastD is offline  
post #13607 of 13893 Old 02-01-2016, 01:14 AM
Advanced Member
 
David Aiken's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Brisbane, Qld, Australia
Posts: 990
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 206 Post(s)
Liked: 294
Quote:
Originally Posted by WestCoastD View Post
Was noticing a very intriguing recently released new Jimi Hendrix movie video production:
"Jimi Hendrix Experience: Electric Church, Atlanta Pop Festival, July 4, 1970" (Blu-Ray)

Amazon list's, both, a Blu-ray and DVD versions. However the Blu-ray version has a disclaimer- ie. "Playback Region B/2 :This will not play on most Blu-ray players sold in North America, Central America, South America, Japan, North Korea, South Korea, Taiwan, Hong Kong and Southeast Asia."

I assume the BDP-105 will not play the B/2 version?
Any Region A or C will not play it unless that player has a multi-region kit installed. There are several multi-region kits available for the Oppo players.

I'm in Australia, Region B, so my 105 would play it without the need for a multi-region kit. You're in California so your 105 would be Region A and will not play it without a multi-region kit. The players sold in different parts of the world have different codings depending on where they're sold, that's a requirement of the Blu-ray licensing agreements. The Oppo player you buy in whatever country you are in will be set to play discs from the Region you are in plus any discs coded for all regions. They don't have a choice about that. If you want to play discs from regions other than the one you are in, then you need to instal one of the multi-region kits in your player and then you can alter the region code setting of the player at will so that you can play any disc you wish.
David Aiken is offline  
post #13608 of 13893 Old 02-01-2016, 11:20 PM
Newbie
 
MikeDVD04's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Darmstadt
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Can someone tell me whether the Oppo BDP-105 with the latest firmware (BDP10X-80-1031) and with a multi-region DIY Kit I - PRO runs currently without problems?

(Chip is from www.bluraychip.dk)

On the web there are different opinions about this, I'm specifically to the Pro version, because I want to make the switch from A to B via the RS-232 interface, but this is possible only with the Pro version.

The standard version of the chip's running without any problems.
MikeDVD04 is offline  
post #13609 of 13893 Old 02-02-2016, 06:48 AM
AVS Special Member
 
JazzGuyy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Oro Valley AZ
Posts: 3,129
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 245 Post(s)
Liked: 206
Quote:
Originally Posted by MikeDVD04 View Post
Can someone tell me whether the Oppo BDP-105 with the latest firmware (BDP10X-80-1031) and with a multi-region DIY Kit I - PRO runs currently without problems?

(Chip is from www.bluraychip.dk)

On the web there are different opinions about this, I'm specifically to the Pro version, because I want to make the switch from A to B via the RS-232 interface, but this is possible only with the Pro version.

The standard version of the chip's running without any problems.
There are no issues with either the firmware or the standard region-free mod. I have the standard bluraychip mod. It is my understanding that sometimes the Pro version has required a firmware update but I don't think there has been one of those for quite a while.

JazzGuyy is offline  
post #13610 of 13893 Old 02-03-2016, 10:44 AM
AVS Special Member
 
WestCoastD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: California
Posts: 7,707
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 244 Post(s)
Liked: 90
Quote:
Originally Posted by David Aiken View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by WestCoastD View Post
Was noticing a very intriguing recently released new Jimi Hendrix movie video production:
"Jimi Hendrix Experience: Electric Church, Atlanta Pop Festival, July 4, 1970" (Blu-Ray)

Amazon list's, both, a Blu-ray and DVD versions. However the Blu-ray version has a disclaimer- ie. "Playback Region B/2 :This will not play on most Blu-ray players sold in North America, Central America, South America, Japan, North Korea, South Korea, Taiwan, Hong Kong and Southeast Asia."

I assume the BDP-105 will not play the B/2 version?
Any Region A or C will not play it unless that player has a multi-region kit installed. There are several multi-region kits available for the Oppo players.

I'm in Australia, Region B, so my 105 would play it without the need for a multi-region kit. You're in California so your 105 would be Region A and will not play it without a multi-region kit. The players sold in different parts of the world have different codings depending on where they're sold, that's a requirement of the Blu-ray licensing agreements. The Oppo player you buy in whatever country you are in will be set to play discs from the Region you are in plus any discs coded for all regions. They don't have a choice about that. If you want to play discs from regions other than the one you are in, then you need to instal one of the multi-region kits in your player and then you can alter the region code setting of the player at will so that you can play any disc you wish.
thanks for your explanation. Guess I would need to look into a Multi-Region kit, something I'm completely unfamiliar with
WestCoastD is offline  
post #13611 of 13893 Old 02-05-2016, 10:02 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
I have Oppo 105D + WD mypassport 2TB attched. I am wondering if it's possible to access WD my passport(Connected to Oppo) via home network from Desktop, so I can download music files directly to it. I tried to find Oppo on Windows Explorer, but it does not come up. Is it even possible?
Woo Sohn is offline  
post #13612 of 13893 Old 02-05-2016, 11:04 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
DanF8500's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 1,797
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 617 Post(s)
Liked: 296
Quote:
Originally Posted by Woo Sohn View Post
I have Oppo 105D + WD mypassport 2TB attched. I am wondering if it's possible to access WD my passport(Connected to Oppo) via home network from Desktop, so I can download music files directly to it. I tried to find Oppo on Windows Explorer, but it does not come up. Is it even possible?
Welcome to AVS and the 105 forum. Unfortunately, the Oppo players cannot write your audio/video media to a usb drive connected to one of its ports. In addition, no other device on your network can see the Oppo's usb ports except for the Oppo itself. Your 105 can only save a backup file of your Oppo's settings or temporary cache or persistent storage to an attached usb drive. That is one of the inconveniences of using a usb attached drive. A better method of media storage/playback is to use a network drive (NAS) in your home. This would allow your home computer/tablet/cell phone to write media files to your network drive without having to unplug it.

Last edited by DanF8500; 02-05-2016 at 11:08 PM.
DanF8500 is offline  
post #13613 of 13893 Old 02-05-2016, 11:58 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Audiguy3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Fort Collins CO
Posts: 1,380
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 123 Post(s)
Liked: 67
Quote:
Originally Posted by DanF8500 View Post
Welcome to AVS and the 105 forum. Unfortunately, the Oppo players cannot write your audio/video media to a usb drive connected to one of its ports. In addition, no other device on your network can see the Oppo's usb ports except for the Oppo itself. Your 105 can only save a backup file of your Oppo's settings or temporary cache or persistent storage to an attached usb drive. That is one of the inconveniences of using a usb attached drive. A better method of media storage/playback is to use a network drive (NAS) in your home. This would allow your home computer/tablet/cell phone to write media files to your network drive without having to unplug it.
You can connect your usb device to your PC (or just keep your files on the pc) and access them via your oppo. This is what I do. All my flac and SACD files.

Reggie
Family Room:75" 4K HDR Sony 940D/Marantz AV8802A/MM8077/GoldenEar:Triton Ones (superseding Triton 2s),/SuperCenter XXL center channel/ SuperSat 60surrounds/Oppo BDP-105/Directv C61K/Roku 4K
Basement: 70" Sharp Elite/Marantz AV8801/Marantz MM8003/PSB Stratus Gold Front,Center,Left, Surrounds/ Directv Genie HR-54/Roku 4K
Audiguy3 is offline  
post #13614 of 13893 Old 02-11-2016, 02:52 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 2
Best is to have a WD cloud drive on your network and play all your files from there. Mine works perfect.
RichB likes this.
ILOVEGOLFING is offline  
post #13615 of 13893 Old 02-12-2016, 07:39 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 0
HELP! Can't play certain video since new firmware update

I posted earlier in the thread and a few folks asked me for details on the video file I was having a problem with and I did but since that post, nobody has responded. Does anybody have any idea why this is happening with .mkv files? It is really strange because the Oppo has never failed to play anything for me since the December update...

I would appreciate any guidance on the matter from you guys.
SteveSpy is offline  
post #13616 of 13893 Old 02-12-2016, 07:42 AM
One-Man Content Creator
 
wmcclain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 20,471
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2072 Post(s)
Liked: 1018
Quote:
Originally Posted by SteveSpy View Post
I posted earlier in the thread and a few folks asked me for details on the video file I was having a problem with and I did but since that post, nobody has responded. Does anybody have any idea why this is happening with .mkv files? It is really strange because the Oppo has never failed to play anything for me since the December update...

I would appreciate any guidance on the matter from you guys.
Did you contact OPPO and offer them a sample file?

-Bill

Review older films here: 1979 and earlier | 1980s | 1990s | Combined reviews: Strange Picture Scroll
Unofficial OPPO FAQS: BDP-103 | BDP-93 | BDP-83 | BDP-80    
wmcclain is offline  
post #13617 of 13893 Old 02-13-2016, 02:50 PM
Senior Member
 
ksalno's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: McLean, VA
Posts: 201
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 15
I can neither pull or push DSF of DFF files to my Oppo 105 running the latest firmware. I can stream both ways with PCM files and I can play DSD off of a USB stick. When I try to stream the files appear in the display to be streaming (the clock shows # of seconds played) but no sound. Actually, there is very faint audio and if I crank my volume to 100, I can hear static with the audio behind it faintly. So there is signal getting to the Oppo but it is not decoding it.

My Oppo in connected via 7.1 to my PrePro, which doesn't do DSD, so I need to do the conversion in the Oppo. I have HDMI audio set to Off.

Can someone who has done this successfully post the settings they are using on their Oppo? I think I've tried everything but there must be something I'm missing.
ksalno is offline  
post #13618 of 13893 Old 02-13-2016, 03:15 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
DanF8500's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 1,797
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 617 Post(s)
Liked: 296
Quote:
Originally Posted by ksalno View Post
I can neither pull or push DSF of DFF files to my Oppo 105 running the latest firmware. I can stream both ways with PCM files and I can play DSD off of a USB stick. When I try to stream the files appear in the display to be streaming (the clock shows # of seconds played) but no sound. Actually, there is very faint audio and if I crank my volume to 100, I can hear static with the audio behind it faintly. So there is signal getting to the Oppo but it is not decoding it.

My Oppo in connected via 7.1 to my PrePro, which doesn't do DSD, so I need to do the conversion in the Oppo. I have HDMI audio set to Off.

Can someone who has done this successfully post the settings they are using on their Oppo? I think I've tried everything but there must be something I'm missing.
Need a little more details.....When you say pull/push, and mention the word "stream", are you using a DLNA server? What is your DLNA server? Are you pushing from a NAS, home computer, ?? Regardless, if you can hear faint audio in the background, then the Oppo decoded your DSD audio file....Something else sounds problematic....you said these "same" (or are they different) files play back fine from a usb connected device?

Last edited by DanF8500; 02-13-2016 at 03:21 PM.
DanF8500 is offline  
post #13619 of 13893 Old 02-13-2016, 07:15 PM
Senior Member
 
ksalno's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: McLean, VA
Posts: 201
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 15
I have tried to pull from both Netgear and QNAP NAS using their native DLNA servers as well as Minimserver. I have used the Oppo and Lumin control apps. I have tried to push via JRiver 21 latest release. All with the same result. There is something I am not doing right with the Oppo settings I suspect. Is there a how to somewhere I can read?
ksalno is offline  
post #13620 of 13893 Old 02-13-2016, 07:20 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
DanF8500's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 1,797
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 617 Post(s)
Liked: 296
Quote:
Originally Posted by ksalno View Post
I have tried to pull from both Netgear and QNAP NAS using their native DLNA servers as well as Minimserver. I have used the Oppo and Lumin control apps. I have tried to push via JRiver 21 latest release. All with the same result. There is something I am not doing right with the Oppo settings I suspect. Is there a how to somewhere I can read?
Do you have a set of headphones? Plug them into the headphone jack of your 105, and see if you get audio from a DSD file. Just trying to rule out issues with your downstream equipment. There is no other settings to switch on your 105....if you can currently play DSD via attached usb drive, the 105 will play it via DLNA.
DanF8500 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Blu-ray Players

Tags
Oppo Bdp 105 Blu Ray Player

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off