Official OPPO BDP-105 Owner's Thread - Page 473 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 520Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #14161 of 14174 Old 09-24-2017, 01:49 AM
Advanced Member
 
jet757f's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: California
Posts: 773
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mongo171 View Post
No humor, really. Back in the day, cheap stuff was Made in Taiwan. Today, cheap stuff is Made in China. Walmart made billions on Chinese goods. Not fictitious, reality. Sorry if I offended you.
Sad but true....
Mongo171 likes this.
jet757f is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #14162 of 14174 Old 10-09-2017, 03:20 AM
Senior Member
 
rman66's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 361
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 13
I have made some adjustments to my audio equipment and am very satisfied with it now.
Removed Marantz receiver and in its place, installed a Peachtree Nova. I used the XLR Stereo analog out from the BDP-105 to connect to the aux 2, analog in of the peachtree. I like what i am hearing, especially vocals. Pure.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	audiosetup.jpeg
Views:	28
Size:	69.8 KB
ID:	2294852  
rman66 is offline  
post #14163 of 14174 Old 10-10-2017, 03:30 PM
Member
 
oneartist's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Central CA
Posts: 183
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by rman66 View Post
I have made some adjustments to my audio equipment and am very satisfied with it now.
Removed Marantz receiver and in its place, installed a Peachtree Nova. I used the XLR Stereo analog out from the BDP-105 to connect to the aux 2, analog in of the peachtree. I like what i am hearing, especially vocals. Pure.
I agree after abandoning my Denon Receiver and switching to the 105 as a pre was a hugh improvement. I need to save a few coins and move up to the 205. My 65" OLED is also waiting for 4K.
oneartist is offline  
 
post #14164 of 14174 Old 10-11-2017, 02:55 PM
Newbie
 
seditious3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Hi. Will the BDP-105 pass 4k from a 4k source via HDMI?

Thanks!
seditious3 is offline  
post #14165 of 14174 Old 10-11-2017, 03:00 PM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 32,643
Mentioned: 38 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3797 Post(s)
Liked: 4935
Quote:
Originally Posted by seditious3 View Post
Hi. Will the BDP-105 pass 4k from a 4k source via HDMI?

Thanks!
No, it will not. You’d need the 203 or 205 for that.
—Bob

Anthem D2/D2v/AVM50/AVM50v/ARC1 tweaking guide. -- Need personal consultation/training? PM me!
Bob Pariseau is online now  
post #14166 of 14174 Old 10-16-2017, 10:18 PM
Member
 
oneartist's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Central CA
Posts: 183
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 22
I don't know if anyone here can help, but a strange thing happened. I had to reinstall Windows 10 on my new laptop due to a memory error that would not go away. Now, usb audio will not play through my 105. The 105 is listed as a playback device but it will not even play test tones. I have the latest firmware. Maybe Microsoft took it over and put in some strange drivers? It was working fine before the reinstall. Windows has also completed it's updates.
oneartist is offline  
post #14167 of 14174 Old 10-16-2017, 10:32 PM
Member
 
Wolfy701's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 123
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 88 Post(s)
Liked: 46
Quote:
Originally Posted by oneartist View Post
I don't know if anyone here can help, but a strange thing happened. I had to reinstall Windows 10 on my new laptop due to a memory error that would not go away. Now, usb audio will not play through my 105. The 105 is listed as a playback device but it will not even play test tones. I have the latest firmware. Maybe Microsoft took it over and put in some strange drivers? It was working fine before the reinstall. Windows has also completed it's updates.
Remove/reinstall Oppo USB audio driver, then try two things- (1) right click and run as admin, (2) open "sounds" > "playback", make sure the 105 is selected as the 'default communication device', play a test tone.

Source: Thinkpad running iTunes/JRMC upsampling to 24/192
DAC/SACD: Oppo 105D
Amps: Pathos Aurium, Chord Mojo, LG V20 (quad-dac)
AVR: Yamaha Aventage RX-A3010
Headphones: AKG K812, AKG K3003
Wolfy701 is offline  
post #14168 of 14174 Old 10-16-2017, 11:24 PM
Member
 
oneartist's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Central CA
Posts: 183
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 22
In Device Manager I found an error under other devices "Oppo DFU" and Windows could not load a driver for it. I found this fix: https://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/lib...(v=vs.85).aspx.

I then tried Wolfy's suggestion but I still get no sound from the test buttons.
oneartist is offline  
post #14169 of 14174 Old 10-16-2017, 11:35 PM
Member
 
Wolfy701's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 123
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 88 Post(s)
Liked: 46
Quote:
Originally Posted by oneartist View Post
In Device Manager I found an error under other devices "Oppo DFU" and Windows could not load a driver for it. I found this fix: https://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/lib...(v=vs.85).aspx.

I then tried Wolfy's suggestion but I still get no sound from the test buttons.
Delete "Oppo DFU" from Device Manager, download Win 8/10 driver from Oppo, install the driver, connect USB cable. Check "Oppo DFU" in Device Manager again. Should be 'working properly'.
oneartist likes this.

Source: Thinkpad running iTunes/JRMC upsampling to 24/192
DAC/SACD: Oppo 105D
Amps: Pathos Aurium, Chord Mojo, LG V20 (quad-dac)
AVR: Yamaha Aventage RX-A3010
Headphones: AKG K812, AKG K3003
Wolfy701 is offline  
post #14170 of 14174 Old 10-17-2017, 12:28 AM
Member
 
oneartist's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Central CA
Posts: 183
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wolfy701 View Post
Delete "Oppo DFU" from Device Manager, download Win 8/10 driver from Oppo, install the driver, connect USB cable. Check "Oppo DFU" in Device Manager again. Should be 'working properly'.
Yes, that was it. I woke up remembering that I no longer saw Oppo Asio in JRiver and I realized that I needed to install Oppo's usb. Whew. All is well.
oneartist is offline  
post #14171 of 14174 Old 10-17-2017, 06:22 AM
Member
 
oneartist's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Central CA
Posts: 183
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 22
I know I should have known better, but after the reinstall of Windows, Windows jumped right in and installed drivers under the Oppo name and I even updated drivers in DM and was told the best drivers were installed. Maybe it's due to my advancing years.
oneartist is offline  
post #14172 of 14174 Old 10-18-2017, 09:54 AM
Newbie
 
Albval's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by oneartist View Post
I don't know if anyone here can help, but a strange thing happened. I had to reinstall Windows 10 on my new laptop due to a memory error that would not go away. Now, usb audio will not play through my 105. The 105 is listed as a playback device but it will not even play test tones. I have the latest firmware. Maybe Microsoft took it over and put in some strange drivers? It was working fine before the reinstall. Windows has also completed it's updates.
It happens to me since ever.
The only thing I can detect is that if any digital source is connected, the test tone in the BD105 is disabled. In my case, it only works with RCA inputs and all the others digital inputs disconnected.
Albval is offline  
post #14173 of 14174 Old 10-18-2017, 10:00 AM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 32,643
Mentioned: 38 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3797 Post(s)
Liked: 4935
Quote:
Originally Posted by Albval View Post
It happens to me since ever.
The only thing I can detect is that if any digital source is connected, the test tone in the BD105 is disabled. In my case, it only works with RCA inputs and all the others digital inputs disconnected.
Are you talking about the player's built-in Test Tones in the Speaker Configuration section of the Setup menu? Those tones only apply to the Analog audio outputs of the player, and the tones are *NOT* available while you are playing content -- including when you have the Input choice of the player set to a something other than Blu-ray Player.

To use the built-in Test Tones in the player, set your system to listen to the Analog audio outputs of the player (either the multi-channel Analog output set or the dedicated stereo Analog outputs), set Input to Blu-ray Player in the OPPO (Input button on the Remote), and Stop any disc that happens to be in the Tray.
--Bob

Anthem D2/D2v/AVM50/AVM50v/ARC1 tweaking guide. -- Need personal consultation/training? PM me!
Bob Pariseau is online now  
post #14174 of 14174 Old 10-18-2017, 12:29 PM
Newbie
 
Albval's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Pariseau View Post
Are you talking about the player's built-in Test Tones in the Speaker Configuration section of the Setup menu? Those tones only apply to the Analog audio outputs of the player, and the tones are *NOT* available while you are playing content -- including when you have the Input choice of the player set to a something other than Blu-ray Player.

To use the built-in Test Tones in the player, set your system to listen to the Analog audio outputs of the player (either the multi-channel Analog output set or the dedicated stereo Analog outputs), set Input to Blu-ray Player in the OPPO (Input button on the Remote), and Stop any disc that happens to be in the Tray.
--Bob
Thank you for sharing Bob


Now I understand how it works. For the record: Usually I tried to test set to HDMI output.

Best regards
Albval is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Blu-ray Players

Tags
Oppo Bdp 105 Blu Ray Player

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off