Official OPPO BDP-105 Owner's Thread - Page 67 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 47Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1981 of 11449 Old 12-29-2012, 06:36 PM
Advanced Member
 
TKO1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Canada's capital city.
Posts: 554
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 65
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pokey77 View Post

Another question. Preface: I have the wireless dongle set up and working fine. Have uploaded the newest firmware and everything seems to be working fine.
So, the question. Shouldn't I be able to see my music files on my computer over this wireless dongle? I thought I'd be able to see my files and play them on the Oppo. As you can tell, I'm not up on computer audio. So, be gentle. Thanks for the help.
And glad to see it is back on topic. Thanks Bob (and to any of you who can explain what I need to do or where I can read about it on the web or in the instruction manual).

I am guessing the wifi is configured properly in your home/wireless network? If you put a CD in the player does it connect to Gracenote and download the album art/details?

Cheers.

Tony
TKO1 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1982 of 11449 Old 12-29-2012, 06:37 PM
Member
 
mwhealton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: San Francisco CA
Posts: 110
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
After lots of reading here and and checking the manual, I am close to pulling the trigger on a 105.

Thanks to all for the many useful postings, and in advance for advice and corrections if I might be getting things confused...

Here is my idea of setting up the 105 in my system:

System:
Replace with the 105: Pioneer 59AVI Universal player (used for redbook and SACD playback)
Replace with the 105: PS3 (used for bluray playback)

Keep : Lexicon MC12B (_not_ the HD version, so it only has analog RCA inputs - one set of 5.1 MCH and other sets for 2 channel.)
Keep : Lexicon LX7 amplifier
Keep: Lumagen + JVC RS2 for video.

I will be using the Lexicon for volume control and distance, level,and room EQ settings. (At least to start with..)

Connections:
MCH: 5.1 Analog outputs from the 105 to one of the Lexicon channels for blu-ray and SACD playback
Stereo: RCA outputs from the 105 to a second Lexicon channel for Redbook playback
Video: HDMI (1) from the 105 to the Lumagen.

Proposed Setup and Questions:

Stereo Outputs: Stereo (Intention is to allow the Lex to apply optional Logic 7 steering or use as 2-channel)

Audio Processing and Speaker settings (for MCH):
Mixdown:5.1
Speaker Sizes : all LARGE (so the Lex handles all subwoofer steering and crossover control)
Speaker Distances : 0 (?? Is this right, I haven't seen how to bypass the distance settings. Trying to be sure here that the Lex calculated distances apply).
Trim: 0 (so the Lex handles all Level control)
Output Volume: FIXED

MCH:

HDMI Audio: OFF

Questions are:
Is it correct to set the Speaker Distances to 0, or is there another way to bypass any distance delay?
If all speakers are set to large and the subwoofer is connected in 5.1, is it correct that only the LFE (.1) channel is presented on the subwoofer analog output?
Is it right to set the Stereo Outputs to 'Stereo' in this case, or is there some advantage to using LF/LE?

Am I missing something? This setup is a bit archaic, I know, but for now I'd like to keep the Lexicon in the heart of the system..
mwhealton is offline  
post #1983 of 11449 Old 12-29-2012, 06:50 PM
Member
 
Pokey77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Orange Co; SoCal
Posts: 118
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by TKO1 View Post

I am guessing the wifi is configured properly in your home/wireless network? If you put a CD in the player does it connect to Gracenote and download the album art/details?
Cheers.
Tony

Yes, it works fine.
Pokey77 is offline  
post #1984 of 11449 Old 12-29-2012, 06:55 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
Neuromancer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Navigating the Black IC
Posts: 10,959
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 171
Quote:
Originally Posted by mwhealton View Post

Is it correct to set the Speaker Distances to 0, or is there another way to bypass any distance delay?
If you set the Speaker Distances to 0, then the player is doing no time delay for the speakers.
Quote:
If all speakers are set to large and the subwoofer is connected in 5.1, is it correct that only the LFE (.1) channel is presented on the subwoofer analog output?
If you have the speakers set to LARGE then the player will only send LFE to the subwoofer.
Quote:
Is it right to set the Stereo Outputs to 'Stereo' in this case, or is there some advantage to using LF/LE?
You will leave it as Down-mixed Stereo to ensure that your speakers get all the Center, Surround, and Surround Back information which may be on the soundtrack.
Neuromancer is offline  
post #1985 of 11449 Old 12-29-2012, 06:56 PM
One-Man Content Creator
 
wmcclain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 17,169
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 336 Post(s)
Liked: 338
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pokey77 View Post

So, the question. Shouldn't I be able to see my music files on my computer over this wireless dongle? I thought I'd be able to see my files and play them on the Oppo.

You have to be running a DLNA or SMB server somewhere on your network. Do you have anything like that working?

-Bill
wmcclain is online now  
post #1986 of 11449 Old 12-29-2012, 06:58 PM
Senior Member
 
Todd68's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 380
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Yawn, boring....LOL
Todd68 is offline  
post #1987 of 11449 Old 12-29-2012, 07:00 PM
Senior Member
 
jimshowalter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 330
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 43
Quote:
Originally Posted by mwhealton View Post

Video: HDMI (1) from the 105 to the Lumagen.

I have a Lumagen, and it is still in the rack, but since getting the 105 I've been driving our monitor directly. Why do you want to keep the Lumagen in the signal path? No offense intended against Lumagen--they've been a great company--but without it the HDMI handshake is virtually instantaneous, and the video processor in the Oppo is superb.

My system? Google for: Martin Logan 420 CLX Descent Stage Summit
jimshowalter is offline  
post #1988 of 11449 Old 12-29-2012, 07:15 PM
Member
 
mwhealton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: San Francisco CA
Posts: 110
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jimshowalter View Post

I have a Lumagen, and it is still in the rack, but since getting the 105 I've been driving our monitor directly. Why do you want to keep the Lumagen in the signal path? No offense intended against Lumagen--they've been a great company--but without it the HDMI handshake is virtually instantaneous, and the video processor in the Oppo is superb.

No offense, an excellent question.

The reason is that the Lumagen is doing gamma and color control for the RS2, which does not have its own CMS, and did not have the best out of the box color accuracy. I had it calibrated by Tom Huffman back when I lived on the East Coast.
Eventually the video path will be updated too, but that's another project! (And yes, sometimes the handshakes are tedious and glitchy looking with the Lumagen... It has been several years since I touched the settings or firmware on that box).

I will try the experiment though. It should be fun to see what the pj looks like with the Oppo direct-driving it.
mwhealton is offline  
post #1989 of 11449 Old 12-29-2012, 07:19 PM
Senior Member
 
boyce89976's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 276
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Does anyone have experience using the three MAC compatible audio players HDTracks suggests:
1. Amarra
2. Decibel
3. Pure Music

Can these players be used to play FLAC files on a server (external HD) connected to the USB DACs on the 105?

I'm very interested in the USB DAC playback option on the 105, but not sure of the best way to take advantage of it.
boyce89976 is offline  
post #1990 of 11449 Old 12-29-2012, 07:20 PM
Member
 
Pokey77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Orange Co; SoCal
Posts: 118
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by wmcclain View Post

You have to be running a DLNA or SMB server somewhere on your network. Do you have anything like that working?
-Bill

Bill, I've read about those accronyms here, but really have no idea what they mean. I'm using Windows 7 if that helps.
Pokey77 is offline  
post #1991 of 11449 Old 12-29-2012, 07:52 PM
Member
 
mwhealton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: San Francisco CA
Posts: 110
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Neuromancer View Post

If you set the Speaker Distances to 0, then the player is doing no time delay for the speakers.
If you have the speakers set to LARGE then the player will only send LFE to the subwoofer.
You will leave it as Down-mixed Stereo to ensure that your speakers get all the Center, Surround, and Surround Back information which may be on the soundtrack.

Perfect. Thanks!
mwhealton is offline  
post #1992 of 11449 Old 12-29-2012, 07:54 PM
Advanced Member
 
bthrb4u's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Northwest PA
Posts: 701
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 35
have you tried foobar2000 for mac?

who do i talk to around here about changing my title from "advanced member" to "specialED member"
bthrb4u is offline  
post #1993 of 11449 Old 12-29-2012, 07:58 PM
Senior Member
 
boyce89976's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 276
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by bthrb4u View Post

have you tried foobar2000 for mac?

No, I'm just getting started in server based music files, and my 105 doesn't arrive until Wednesday. I've seen a few on here that use it, and it's on my list to try. Whatever I use, I want to make sure it's bit-perfect.
boyce89976 is offline  
post #1994 of 11449 Old 12-29-2012, 08:07 PM
Senior Member
 
boyce89976's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 276
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by bthrb4u View Post

have you tried foobar2000 for mac?

I searched every way i can think of, but apparently foobar only works on windows, and I'm not going to partition my drive and set up a dual OS or whatever I would have to do to make that work.

Anyone have any other suggestions?

I downloaded songbird, and it sounds pretty good via headphones on my MAC, but not sure how it will sound, or if it will control the files when on an external HD.

Pure Music looks like it could be the solution as it seamlessly integrates with iTunes and play FLAC natively. It's not cheap though at $130.
boyce89976 is offline  
post #1995 of 11449 Old 12-29-2012, 11:12 PM
Senior Member
 
stevepow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 203
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by Real View Post

Thanks Steve, but there are more posts after this one. I am using Split A/V with HDMI 1 to the TV and HDMI 2 to the pre pro. A puzzle or a bug................

Ah - yes, you found out that the pre/pro needs to be also powered on. smile.gif

Stephen Powell
stevepow is offline  
post #1996 of 11449 Old 12-30-2012, 12:07 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Perpendicular's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: California
Posts: 2,624
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 37
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pokey77 View Post

Bill, I've read about those accronyms here, but really have no idea what they mean. I'm using Windows 7 if that helps.

From the Home Menu on the 105, browse to the "Network" icon. There you should see your available servers running from your Network.

OPPO BETA GROUP
Perpendicular is offline  
post #1997 of 11449 Old 12-30-2012, 01:51 AM
Newbie
 
tyroneslothrop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
What is the best place to look for reviews (or customer feedback/ratings) of the different region-free kits and other mods for the BDP-105? Just searching on google, I've found a bunch of different mods, including those that you send your player in for modding, and I'd be interested in reading about the pros/cons of different mods. Thanks!
tyroneslothrop is offline  
post #1998 of 11449 Old 12-30-2012, 04:53 AM
One-Man Content Creator
 
wmcclain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 17,169
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 336 Post(s)
Liked: 338
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pokey77 View Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by wmcclain View Post

You have to be running a DLNA or SMB server somewhere on your network. Do you have anything like that working?
-Bill

Bill, I've read about those accronyms here, but really have no idea what they mean. I'm using Windows 7 if that helps.

The wikipedia has good overviews.

The FAQs in my signature have DLNA sections; the BDP-83 FAQ has "What is DLNA?" which I didn't copy into the -103 FAQ.

SMB is network file sharing. It is built in to Windows, but requires some incantations to get working.

-Bill
wmcclain is online now  
post #1999 of 11449 Old 12-30-2012, 05:28 AM
Advanced Member
 
TKO1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Canada's capital city.
Posts: 554
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 65
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pokey77 View Post

Bill, I've read about those accronyms here, but really have no idea what they mean. I'm using Windows 7 if that helps.

Check out the Getting Started With Computer Audio Part 1: Hardware information at Audiostream.com. This should give you some useful background information.

Hope this helps.

Cheers.

Tony
TKO1 is offline  
post #2000 of 11449 Old 12-30-2012, 06:47 AM
Senior Member
 
davehale's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 234
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Pokey77,

I dont usually give advice here but I did a lot of experimenting to get my files to be accessed by the OPPO. Assuming you have wifi and DLNA working correctly, you will have to go about enabling file sharing. In my quest to do this on my Windows 7 laptop, I rightclicked everything starting with my attached hard drive and shared with EVERYONE. I even had to at times (I don't know why as I don't understand these things either) point to the file with my music and right click to share it EVERYONE again. This seems to work. I would hope that there will be a comprehensive FAQ just for OPPO eventually. There may even be one but I spent many days experimenting until I got it right. I hope I have contributed some as I get a lot of info myself by just listening to others.
Dave
davehale is online now  
post #2001 of 11449 Old 12-30-2012, 06:57 AM
Newbie
 
NewToHifi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
stupid noob question,

could i use this as a preamp on my pc with powered speakers and powered sub while utilizing the usb dac?
NewToHifi is offline  
post #2002 of 11449 Old 12-30-2012, 08:07 AM
Advanced Member
 
TKO1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Canada's capital city.
Posts: 554
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 65
Quote:
Originally Posted by NewToHifi View Post

stupid noob question,
could i use this as a preamp on my pc with powered speakers and powered sub while utilizing the usb dac?

You could but I wouldn't recommend it as you would be using the Oppo to send your PC either an analog or a digital signal which would then be using the soundcard/DACs in the PC to output to the speakers/sub.

Cheers.

Tony
TKO1 is offline  
post #2003 of 11449 Old 12-30-2012, 08:09 AM
Newbie
 
PSUShane's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
A quick question.....i download tvmobili on my I-mac to access my itunes library on the Oppo. I was able to navigate all of my albums, but only some would play. If you selected a particular artist, the blue play icon would appear but just continue to move down the list and pick up only certain ones to play. I assume that it may have to do with the type of download it was in itunes? Thanks for any help!
PSUShane is offline  
post #2004 of 11449 Old 12-30-2012, 08:12 AM
Advanced Member
 
TKO1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Canada's capital city.
Posts: 554
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 65
Quote:
Originally Posted by davehale View Post

Pokey77,
I dont usually give advice here but I did a lot of experimenting to get my files to be accessed by the OPPO. Assuming you have wifi and DLNA working correctly, you will have to go about enabling file sharing. In my quest to do this on my Windows 7 laptop, I rightclicked everything starting with my attached hard drive and shared with EVERYONE. I even had to at times (I don't know why as I don't understand these things either) point to the file with my music and right click to share it EVERYONE again. This seems to work. I would hope that there will be a comprehensive FAQ just for OPPO eventually. There may even be one but I spent many days experimenting until I got it right. I hope I have contributed some as I get a lot of info myself by just listening to others.
Dave

Be very careful doing that as you could potentially open up your computer/network to anyone. Best method is to share only a public folder where you put all your music. Check out instructions from Microsoft on file sharing essentials on Windows 7.

Hope this helps.

Cheers.

Tony
Styln likes this.
TKO1 is offline  
post #2005 of 11449 Old 12-30-2012, 08:15 AM
Advanced Member
 
TKO1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Canada's capital city.
Posts: 554
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 65
Quote:
Originally Posted by PSUShane View Post

A quick question.....i download tvmobili on my I-mac to access my itunes library on the Oppo. I was able to navigate all of my albums, but only some would play. If you selected a particular artist, the blue play icon would appear but just continue to move down the list and pick up only certain ones to play. I assume that it may have to do with the type of download it was in itunes? Thanks for any help!

It is to do with the type of Codec. H/W a list of those supported/unsupported from the excellent FAQ.

Hope this helps.

Cheers.

Tony
TKO1 is offline  
post #2006 of 11449 Old 12-30-2012, 08:16 AM
One-Man Content Creator
 
wmcclain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 17,169
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 336 Post(s)
Liked: 338
Quote:
Originally Posted by PSUShane View Post

A quick question.....i download tvmobili on my I-mac to access my itunes library on the Oppo. I was able to navigate all of my albums, but only some would play. If you selected a particular artist, the blue play icon would appear but just continue to move down the list and pick up only certain ones to play. I assume that it may have to do with the type of download it was in itunes? Thanks for any help!

The OPPO will not play Apple Lossless (ALAC) files, nor anything protected by DRM. If your server can transcode the files to some supported format you can get around that, but I don't know the details of tvmobili.

-Bill
wmcclain is online now  
post #2007 of 11449 Old 12-30-2012, 08:20 AM
Senior Member
 
stevepow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 203
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Pariseau View Post

THERE IS A BUG AFFECTING THE "STEREO SIGNAL" SETTING IN THE 105 -- THERE IS ALSO A TEMPORARY WORKAROUND
...
So for my 5.1 Analog test configuration, I've taken to checking with the Test Tones on each power up, and doing the Workaround then and there if the problem is present.
Note that this problem only affects the analog audio outputs, and, since there is no similar stereo hardware or Setup setting on the 103, it is a 105-only problem.
In your case, you are suffering the opposite problem. You have DOWN MIX STEREO set but it appears to be operating as FRONT LEFT/RIGHT so that you ONLY hear the LF/RF content in the Dedicated Stereo Analog outputs.
I think the odds are excellent you've been bitten by the same problem, but I've not actually produced that case in my own testing so I can't be sure.
In any event, you should try the same Workaround -- change Stereo Signal to FRONT LEFT/RIGHT and then immediately back to DOWN MIX STEREO -- and see if that cures the issue, at least until it gets triggered again.
As I said, I've presented OPPO with a 100% reproducible case of this problem, and OPPO Engineering is on the case.
--Bob

Thanks, Bob.

I have been experiencing some issues also with the analog outputs. Your test tone idea sounds like a good way to verify some of the behavior. I tried it and everything seems OK for the moment on my setup except for the Stereo Downmix; when I listen to the dedicated stereo outputs set for Downmix, I hear all Back Channel and Center test tones coming from the L/R fronts as expected, but I hear nothing from the Sub test tone. However, when playing 5.1 sources, I'm fairly sure I'm getting full range from the Downmix, but I'm not sure about any LFE sound. Maybe this is normal - if the Downmix occurs before any bass steering (makes sense not to run it through the x-over filters, then recombine), but what about LFE (even though most 5.1 audio mixes do not use the LFE, but some do). Shouldn't I hear that SUB test tone in the Downmix outputs?

Steve

Stephen Powell
stevepow is offline  
post #2008 of 11449 Old 12-30-2012, 08:46 AM
Senior Member
 
stevepow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 203
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by NewToHifi View Post

stupid noob question,
could i use this as a preamp on my pc with powered speakers and powered sub while utilizing the usb dac?

That could actually make for a really hi-end PC / Office sound system setup: PC using the USB DAC, and then you could also play discs or any other sources you wanted to. PC USB Out--->Oppo USB DAC IN--->Stereo/M.Ch. Power Amp--->Speakers (or straight to some decent powered speakers). And you could probably get PC HDMI--->Oppo--->PC Monitor as well.

If this thing would have been out a year ago, I'd have probably tried that in my office.

Stephen Powell
stevepow is offline  
post #2009 of 11449 Old 12-30-2012, 08:49 AM
Advanced Member
 
bthrb4u's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Northwest PA
Posts: 701
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 35
NewToHifi, are you saying that you want your computer to do digital conversion and then send analog out of computer to the oppo? If so then no. However i can't help but think that the oppo would definitely have a better digital to analog conversion than your computer. Could be wrong. ideally you would just send your signal via usb or network sharing to the oppo and have it do the conversion to get hifi sound. Then the oppo will allow you to connect your powered equipment.

who do i talk to around here about changing my title from "advanced member" to "specialED member"
bthrb4u is offline  
post #2010 of 11449 Old 12-30-2012, 08:51 AM
Member
 
Real's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Washington State
Posts: 85
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by stevepow View Post

Ah - yes, you found out that the pre/pro needs to be also powered on. smile.gif

Yes, this did it. So it is the handshake. Do you suppose this could be altered in a firmware update, or not?

At my age I do not have golden ears, so it does not really matter that much. But is there a consensus concerning whether there is any sonic difference to direct DSD processing or processing only after conversion to PCM (in the 105 or anything else)?
Real is offline  
Reply Blu-ray Players

Tags
Oppo Bdp 105 Blu Ray Player

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off