Official Sony BDP-S1100, BDP-S3100, BDP-S4100 and BDP-S5100 - Page 10 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #271 of 3039 Old 03-25-2013, 11:17 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
apw2607's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 2,250
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 177
Quote:
Originally Posted by timmay77 View Post

I would like to hook a large external hard drive to the back USB port and store my backed up DVD files on to it so I can pull them up on the 5100. Could someone please answer a few questions?

1. What is the best format to use to retain the best video/audio quality?
2. What program do I use?
3. Can this be done with Blu Rays as well? 3D Blu Ray?

1. m2ts
2. two step process, Make MKV (create MKV). Tsmuxer (uses MKV to create m2ts). Since all DVD is in Mpeg2, you must put the Mpeg2 into a M2TS container.
3. Yes, however if the BD uses AVC/Mpeg4 codec you can leave it in the MKV. If the BD uses VC-1 or Mpeg2, then you must use TSMuxer to put the MKV into a M2TS.
3.a For 3D BD, you may get better results with DVDFab rather than MakeMKV ... I think you will only be able to play 3D SBS though.

The following table summaries support:

timmay77 likes this.
apw2607 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #272 of 3039 Old 03-26-2013, 01:32 AM
Member
 
timmay77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Columbus, Ohio
Posts: 76
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thank you apw2607, exactly what I was looking for......


I am EXTREMELY happy with the purchase of my S5100 so far. I have went through 4 Blu Ray players in the past month trying to find one that works for my system. As I stated before, I had an extreme audio delay issue with the S590 and even the S790. Now that I have the 5100, I have an audio ADVANCE issue, which isn't a big deal because the S5100, my Yamaha AVR, and my Sammy TV all have an audio delay feature. I just adjusted the audio delay to 45ms delay on the AVR and I have prefect sync. FINALLY. I have very satisfied with the start up time, audible level, and picture of the S5100 as well. Excellent purchase.

I also want to add that I love the fact that it has physical buttons. I can not stand the pressure sensitive buttons many units are offering now. I HATED them on the S790........
timmay77 is offline  
post #273 of 3039 Old 03-26-2013, 04:55 AM
Senior Member
 
dryasanne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: NOrWAY
Posts: 241
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by timmay77 View Post

Thank you apw2607, exactly what I was looking for......


I am EXTREMELY happy with the purchase of my S5100 so far. I HATED them on the S790........

Hmmm wink.gif

Maybe you could compare in detail 5100 and 790 ?

I have the 790 ( european / norsk version). And I have just bought the 5100 from amazon.com/ US version.

I havent received the 5100 yet. But I m highly satisfied with 790, except the touch buttons, which is a way to sensitive. If 5100 have more like buttons, I will be glad!

I have a large SACD collection, I really hope 5100 plays these as perfect as 790.

Ps

Lincoln is now on rental on Vudu. Ooh that one I really look forward to, To be watched on my 790 tonight wink.gif
dryasanne is offline  
post #274 of 3039 Old 03-26-2013, 06:13 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 20,939
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 329 Post(s)
Liked: 615
I tried out some SACDs on my S5100 this past weeked. The S5100 did a good job playing them and send DSD and PCM. I tried it both ways. My only isssue is that in my normal setup, I can't play the SACDs because I send audio only over HDMI from my iscan DUO to my receiver becasue my receiver can't handle 3D. So it fails HDCP for SACD playback So I had to connect my S5100 directly to my receiver to listen to the SACDs. If my Denon 3808 could handle 3D I wouldn't have an isue. But at this point, playing back 3D BD titles is more improtant to me than playing back my SACDs.

Although I wonder if I use the second HDMI video output(which does audio and video) instead of theHDMI audio only output to my receiver if that will solve the problem. I'll need to try it out sometime this week. Since i won't be looking at the video output of the receiver, it doen't matter to me that it can't handle 3D. But I guess it will probably send a signal t my S5100 then that it can't play back 3D. I'll have to try it to see what happens

39TB unRAID1--53TB unRAID2--36TB unRAID3
LED DLP
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme

aaronwt is offline  
post #275 of 3039 Old 03-26-2013, 12:40 PM
Member
 
TomPiltoff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hey guys, I just picked up the S1100 and am having an audio issue.

I use an old Onkyo R330 receiver, has always worked perfectly fine. I have it hooked up to my 360 via an optical cable and it has always sounded great. Well now I have my S1100 hooked up via coaxial cable and movies sound extremely echoey.

I tried changing some of the default audio settings on the player, didn't notice a change. Does anybody have any clues as to what the issue could be?

Thanks!
TomPiltoff is offline  
post #276 of 3039 Old 03-26-2013, 01:01 PM
Senior Member
 
AC2011's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: NB, Canada
Posts: 351
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Anybody know if the 5100 can be hacked/modded for region-free Blu-ray playback?

I love it when a [HT] plan comes together!
AC2011 is offline  
post #277 of 3039 Old 03-26-2013, 02:39 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
apw2607's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 2,250
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 177
Quote:
Originally Posted by AC2011 View Post

Anybody know if the 5100 can be hacked/modded for region-free Blu-ray playback?

Sure, if its anything like the 390, 590 and 790. However the region mods are normally hardware and only offered by the World import stores ... and command a high price. Normally twice the price ! There is no software mod that I know ... at least not for North American players.

You'll find region free version of the new 2013 players on Ebay, or a simple search on google.

I once purchased a Denon DVD player that was multi-region / NTSC to PAL Conversion, etc ... from such stores .. and it worked perfectly.

One thing you should be aware of. If you make a MKV/M2TS backup of such disks, the Sony BDPs will playback the contents fine.

So if you had PAL DVD material or BD 1080i/50Hz material .. these all play fine on USA Sony players over DLNA and MKV/M2TS.
apw2607 is offline  
post #278 of 3039 Old 03-26-2013, 02:41 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
apw2607's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 2,250
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 177
Quote:
Originally Posted by TomPiltoff View Post

Hey guys, I just picked up the S1100 and am having an audio issue.

I use an old Onkyo R330 receiver, has always worked perfectly fine. I have it hooked up to my 360 via an optical cable and it has always sounded great. Well now I have my S1100 hooked up via coaxial cable and movies sound extremely echoey.

I tried changing some of the default audio settings on the player, didn't notice a change. Does anybody have any clues as to what the issue could be?

Thanks!

Sounds like you need to change a setting on your receiver, not the player. Check that the player is outputing bit-stream audio, if it is .. then everything else is on the receiver/processor/amplifier side.
apw2607 is offline  
post #279 of 3039 Old 03-26-2013, 02:47 PM
Member
 
TomPiltoff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by apw2607 View Post

Sounds like you need to change a setting on your receiver, not the player. Check that the player is outputing bit-stream audio, if it is .. then everything else is on the receiver/processor/amplifier side.

Actually it was a even simpler - I'm an imbecile and had my TV speakers on as well as the 5.1. But thank you!
TomPiltoff is offline  
post #280 of 3039 Old 03-26-2013, 03:09 PM
AVS Special Member
 
mdavej's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 9,489
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 134 Post(s)
Liked: 293
Quote:
Originally Posted by TomPiltoff View Post

Actually it was a even simpler - I'm an imbecile and had my TV speakers on as well as the 5.1. But thank you!
I think there's a setting to turn off HDMI audio in the player so you won't have to mess with the TV volume or speaker settings.
mdavej is offline  
post #281 of 3039 Old 03-26-2013, 11:11 PM
Senior Member
 
dryasanne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: NOrWAY
Posts: 241
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by AC2011 View Post

Anybody know if the 5100 can be hacked/modded for region-free Blu-ray playback?


Sony is known to be on of the hardest to hack = impossible.

I have chosen a new approach, By having two, on for region A and one for Europe (my 790).

The total price is way below the only other option - Oppo 103.

And amazon.it will gladly sell you a s590 for 130 euro, a perfect match for a brand new usa s5100. Remember, as a foreign buyer they deduct 20% vat, giving a nice total price wink.gif
dryasanne is offline  
post #282 of 3039 Old 03-27-2013, 04:26 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
apw2607's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 2,250
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 177
Quote:
Originally Posted by dryasanne View Post

Sony is known to be on of the hardest to hack = impossible.

I have chosen a new approach, By having two, on for region A and one for Europe (my 790).

The total price is way below the only other option - Oppo 103.

And amazon.it will gladly sell you a s590 for 130 euro, a perfect match for a brand new usa s5100. Remember, as a foreign buyer they deduct 20% vat, giving a nice total price wink.gif

Are the Euro versions of the players 110v-240v at either 50 or 60Hz, or just 200-240v @ 50Hz?
apw2607 is offline  
post #283 of 3039 Old 03-27-2013, 04:43 PM
Senior Member
 
dryasanne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: NOrWAY
Posts: 241
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Just 220v @ 50 hz. Every country, including uk

I dont know any region that use 110v other than usa.

You need a power converter of some kind I guess
dryasanne is offline  
post #284 of 3039 Old 03-27-2013, 05:46 PM
Newbie
 
leoniki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by PioManiac View Post

The S5100 is the only 3D capable component in my system,
Yamaha RX-V3900 AVR with two HDMI outs to a Pioneer Kuro plasma and Epson 1080UB projector.
Both work perfectly in 2D, 1080p/24 and up to 7.1 Bitstreamed HD audio.

Did you update the firmware right away?

Switching the mix setting to off was all I needed to get DTS-HD and TrueHD lit up on my AVR.


Got the BDP-S5100 today, updated the firmware right away and connected to my Onkyo TX-NR717 via HDMI.
It only showed multi channel for DTS, however Dolby True HD already worked.
Thanks to your post I switched off the 'BD Audio Mix' and that solved it for me, now DTS HD MA is displayed on the Onkyo as well.
leoniki is offline  
post #285 of 3039 Old 03-28-2013, 03:16 AM
Newbie
 
bdahms2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Already had a freeze up while watching YouTube. Wasn't good for Sony as I was showing a friend how good it was. Oh well guess I will see how often it happens and get a replacement if needed.
bdahms2 is offline  
post #286 of 3039 Old 03-28-2013, 06:07 AM
Newbie
 
Mercfh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Got a 5100 yesterday. Youtube app is really fun! a little slow but not like "terribly" so. I have it wired and I have zero delay as far as loading/buffering and such goes.

Speaking of the youtube app, what quality does it play them in? and is there any way to change it? (I have a 46inch 1080p TV for reference)
Mercfh is offline  
post #287 of 3039 Old 03-28-2013, 03:46 PM
Senior Member
 
johncourt's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 388
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 20
New owners: please tell us if the 5100 or 1100 is a quiet player or not, especially in comparison with the 590 or 790. This is a key point for me.
johncourt is offline  
post #288 of 3039 Old 03-28-2013, 06:19 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
apw2607's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 2,250
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 177
Can the owners here take the Sony BD survey. There are questions on where sony can improve including apps, user interface and DLNA file support. Only takes 30 seconds.

You'll find it under recommendations on the XMB on your Sony BD player !!
apw2607 is offline  
post #289 of 3039 Old 03-29-2013, 09:38 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Mr. Cinema's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: NC
Posts: 1,531
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by johncourt View Post

New owners: please tell us if the 5100 or 1100 is a quiet player or not, especially in comparison with the 590 or 790. This is a key point for me.
I have the 5100. I know from past experience, some Sony players can be a little noisy during disc loading. But when I played The Hobbit, I didn't hear a single thing during the load time. It was quiet all the way through.
Mr. Cinema is offline  
post #290 of 3039 Old 03-29-2013, 02:39 PM
Senior Member
 
johncourt's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 388
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr. Cinema View Post

I have the 5100. I know from past experience, some Sony players can be a little noisy during disc loading. But when I played The Hobbit, I didn't hear a single thing during the load time. It was quiet all the way through.

Awesome. smile.gif
johncourt is offline  
post #291 of 3039 Old 03-29-2013, 05:22 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 20,939
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 329 Post(s)
Liked: 615
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr. Cinema View Post

I have the 5100. I know from past experience, some Sony players can be a little noisy during disc loading. But when I played The Hobbit, I didn't hear a single thing during the load time. It was quiet all the way through.

Every BD I've loaded into my S5100 has initially been noisy. But once it started playing it was much quieter. But still, like any DVD or BD player, I can always hear the player in a quiet room. I think the S5100 is little louder than other BD players I've had while playing a title. But I also wouldn't typically be playing a disc in a quiet room anyway. I would be listening to the audio track along with watching the video.

I am still planning on picking up a second S5100 to put in my secondary 3D viewing location. Overall I like the S5100 better than my Panny BDT220 player.

39TB unRAID1--53TB unRAID2--36TB unRAID3
LED DLP
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme

aaronwt is offline  
post #292 of 3039 Old 03-29-2013, 06:32 PM
Member
 
tremor13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 71
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
3100 bricked on me tonight.

Has been working fine for a few weeks. Turned it on this evening, got the standard Sony/Blu Ray splash screen... then TV goes to "No Signal." Tried repeatedly, dumped power, same thing, unplugged everything (hdmi/ethernet/power), same thing. Waited a half an hour, back to the home screen... yay! Until it hung loading Netflix. On reboot, back to splash screen then "No Signal."

Disappointing, this thing seemed solid.
tremor13 is offline  
post #293 of 3039 Old 03-29-2013, 08:34 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
apw2607's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 2,250
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 177
Quote:
Originally Posted by tremor13 View Post

3100 bricked on me tonight.

Has been working fine for a few weeks. Turned it on this evening, got the standard Sony/Blu Ray splash screen... then TV goes to "No Signal." Tried repeatedly, dumped power, same thing, unplugged everything (hdmi/ethernet/power), same thing. Waited a half an hour, back to the home screen... yay! Until it hung loading Netflix. On reboot, back to splash screen then "No Signal."

Disappointing, this thing seemed solid.

After the player has booted keep you finger on the stop button (on the player) for over 10s. It will reset to the lowest HDMI output resolution (480p).

Go back into the screen settings and turn off deep color and then turn the HDMI resolution to 1080p or whatever your display supports.
apw2607 is offline  
post #294 of 3039 Old 03-29-2013, 10:51 PM
Senior Member
 
dryasanne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: NOrWAY
Posts: 241
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Regarding noisy players.

Maybe the same feedback problem as turntables?

Mine s790 seems to be more quiet when sitting on a rock surface.

On a chipboard shelf, it tends to make some noise, at least at startup.
dryasanne is offline  
post #295 of 3039 Old 03-30-2013, 04:34 AM
Member
 
tremor13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 71
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by apw2607 View Post

After the player has booted keep you finger on the stop button (on the player) for over 10s. It will reset to the lowest HDMI output resolution (480p).

Go back into the screen settings and turn off deep color and then turn the HDMI resolution to 1080p or whatever your display supports.

I'll try that, thanks!

Edit: Brought it back, thanks! But why did that happen in the first place? It's been fine for weeks, then all of a sudden a problem? Deep Color was at its "Auto" default. I reset the output resolution to Auto and it went right back to 1080p, where it was before.
tremor13 is offline  
post #296 of 3039 Old 03-30-2013, 08:47 AM
Newbie
 
makorip's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
According to Sony the S5100 upscale DVDs, TV shows and sports to 3D and easily turns 2D films and TV into virtual 3D viewing
at the press of a button. A really good and technically applicable reason for buying!
makorip is offline  
post #297 of 3039 Old 03-30-2013, 09:01 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 20,939
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 329 Post(s)
Liked: 615
Don't the 3D TVs already do this?

39TB unRAID1--53TB unRAID2--36TB unRAID3
LED DLP
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme

aaronwt is offline  
post #298 of 3039 Old 03-30-2013, 12:03 PM
Senior Member
 
Vishwa Somayaji's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Edmonton,Alberta Canada
Posts: 338
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Not all of them do.
Vishwa Somayaji is offline  
post #299 of 3039 Old 03-30-2013, 02:56 PM
Member
 
n8dgr84's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 106
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Why would I buy this instead of using a ps3? I dont care about sacd...is pq or aq better?
n8dgr84 is offline  
post #300 of 3039 Old 03-30-2013, 03:03 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Ph8te's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 8,404
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 309 Post(s)
Liked: 276
Quote:
Originally Posted by n8dgr84 View Post

Why would I buy this instead of using a ps3? I dont care about sacd...is pq or aq better?

1, Its cheaper
2. Not everyone plays games, so a dedicated player fits well
3. Its smaller


Those are just the quick 3....
Ph8te is offline  
Reply Blu-ray Players

Tags
Sony Bdp S5100 3d Blu Ray Disc Player With Wi Fi , Sony Blu Ray Disc Player Bdp S790 , Sony Bdp S1100 Blu Ray Disc Player , Sony Bdp S3100 Blu Ray Player
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off