Official Sony BDP-S1100, BDP-S3100, BDP-S4100 and BDP-S5100 - Page 100 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #2971 of 3114 Old 05-21-2014, 01:25 PM
Member
 
DiNZi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 127
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by aaronwt View Post


The two usb ports, with one being on the back was the reaosn I got a couple of the S5100s. It was also the reason I did not get the S5200 because that only had one USB port and it was on the front. I got the S6200 because it had one on the back and front like the S5100. With the two USB ports I can put a USB flash drive in the back USB port for BD-Live content and you can't see it. I can't see ever using the front USB port though. But at leats it's there if i I ever needed to connect something. But I have my real media players to play that content over my network. I don't use my Sony players for that because they are very limited in what they can play back.

 

That's ok, I think the only format I'll be playing off it is MKV's. Can you confirm that it supports .srt subtitles and chapters inside the MKV container?

DiNZi is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2972 of 3114 Old 05-21-2014, 09:58 PM
Senior Member
 
Kisakuku's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 452
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 70
Quote:
Originally Posted by DiNZi View Post

That's ok, I think the only format I'll be playing off it is MKV's. Can you confirm that it supports .srt subtitles and chapters inside the MKV container?

Chapters are supported; .srt subs have to be muxed into the container.
Kisakuku is offline  
post #2973 of 3114 Old 05-26-2014, 08:04 AM
Member
 
grhickey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by DiNZi View Post

Anyone got either the S4100/S5100 connected via Yamaha AVR, audio/video all working ok? DTS decoding, all alright? I want my AVR to say DTS rather than PCM when I get it, just hoping this decodes just fine and works well with my Yamaha.

I have my 5100 connected to a Yamaha RX-V675 and couldn't be happier. Everything works great.
grhickey is offline  
post #2974 of 3114 Old 05-27-2014, 02:37 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Zookster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 1,706
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 47 Post(s)
Liked: 46
Sorry if this has been asked and answered already in this thread, but the search terms I was using didn't turn up anything relevant.

I have a 3100 connected via optical digital to a 2002 model Panasonic AVR. For the past few months, whenever I stream Netflix, films that have 5.1 audio give an occasional audio pop or chirp, mainly in the rear surrounds. It seems to happen about a dozen times during a two-hour movie, so since it's a bedroom set up I don't use often, I just dealt with it.

But the other night while I was trying to watch Don Jon, the near constant audio distortion (to all speakers) made it unwatchable, so I switched to running the audio through my 2008 model Samsung LCD TV (3100>HDMI>TV>optical>AVR). The distortion stopped, but at the expense of receiving 5.1 audio. I then tested some purchased 5.1 content I have on Amazon VoD, running audio directly from the blu-ray player to the AVR again, and got no audio pop/distortion. Same thing when I watched the Iron Man blu-ray disc.

Has anyone else encountered this or know if there are any settings I can tweak to fix this? Netflix was the primary reason I bought this player last year for the bedroom, so it would be nice if I could start watching it again in 5.1.
Zookster is offline  
post #2975 of 3114 Old 05-27-2014, 03:01 PM
Member
 
Leafs17's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

I just got the s1100 and it won't play my region 2 Inside Llewyn Davis. I updated it but when i press enter on the BD-ROM icon, it comes back to the menu in a few seconds. Any idea what I'm doing wrong?

Leafs17 is offline  
post #2976 of 3114 Old 05-27-2014, 03:05 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ph8te's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 10,148
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1223 Post(s)
Liked: 622
Is the s1100 a region free player? Thought these were region locked to A.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Ph8te is online now  
post #2977 of 3114 Old 05-27-2014, 03:22 PM
Member
 
Leafs17's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ph8te View Post

Is the s1100 a region free player? Thought these were region locked to A.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

I found the region code on the back. it says A. I thought I did my research online and found this was multi-region. Oh well.

Leafs17 is offline  
post #2978 of 3114 Old 05-28-2014, 01:23 PM
Senior Member
 
riffer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Toronto
Posts: 213
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Sony will be the last company to produce a region-free player smile.gif
riffer is offline  
post #2979 of 3114 Old 05-28-2014, 09:53 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
apw2607's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 2,316
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 51 Post(s)
Liked: 206
Plenty of outlets sell region free versions of these players.
old corps likes this.
apw2607 is offline  
post #2980 of 3114 Old 05-29-2014, 08:16 PM
Senior Member
 
mhobart's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Salt Lake City
Posts: 308
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 44 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Quote:
Originally Posted by apw2607 View Post

Plenty of outlets sell region free versions of these players.
They are significantly more expensive than the region locked versions. You can readily find the vendors via an internet search. Check the fine print on whether or not these versions can receive manufacturer's firmware upgrades w/o losing the region free options. Some can do that, some require obtaining the updated firmware from the vendors to preserve region-free.

Vizio M501D-A2r hdtv, Sony STR-DN1050 AVR, Oppo BDP-93 blu-ray, Samsung BD-UP5000 HD-DVD/Blu-ray combo, Roku 3, Apple TV
other older items of various types and vintages
mhobart is offline  
post #2981 of 3114 Old 05-31-2014, 10:43 AM
Member
 
bfreshour's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 176
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Can someone tell me why this player won't upscale 4:3 content to 16:9 (I don't care about 'fat faces' as they are mostly kid shows)? I'm worried about my plasma and black bars. In options I have the it set to Full for non 16:9 content and I think it does scale up DVDs (if I remember correctly), but I have almost all my content ripped to a USB hard drive that's plugged into it to keep my kids out of the discs.

Thanks.
bfreshour is offline  
post #2982 of 3114 Old 05-31-2014, 03:00 PM
 
Apostate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 930
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 100 Post(s)
Liked: 134
Quote:
Originally Posted by bfreshour View Post

Can someone tell me why this player won't upscale 4:3 content to 16:9 (I don't care about 'fat faces' as they are mostly kid shows)? I'm worried about my plasma and black bars. In options I have the it set to Full for non 16:9 content and I think it does scale up DVDs (if I remember correctly), but I have almost all my content ripped to a USB hard drive that's plugged into it to keep my kids out of the discs.

Thanks.

I had an exactly opposite problem. I wanted 4:3 content to display correctly, not stretched out to 16:9. It has been a while but, IIRC, the setting that controls what you want done is under Video Setting --> Screen Format. Changing that to "Original" stretched out 4:3 to 16:9 or was it other way around? Anyway, play around with it and we can thank Sony for very intuitive labeling. rolleyes.gif
Apostate is offline  
post #2983 of 3114 Old 06-01-2014, 12:00 PM
Member
 
Breddy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 67
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 13
What's the quickest way for me to get some sweet high-def audio from my 5100? Is there something downloadable that would play? I'd like to have a few SACD's in my collection but the availability is pretty limited and, I'll be honest, I want that **** right now. I don't mind buying tracks either; not looking to copy music...

Edit: I mean music; preferable 2-channel...
Breddy is offline  
post #2984 of 3114 Old 06-01-2014, 12:19 PM
Super Moderator
 
teachsac's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Elk Grove, CA
Posts: 4,661
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 103 Post(s)
Liked: 164
Try skimming through the 2 channel audio thread.

http://www.avsforum.com/f/173/2-channel-audio

S~

Please use the report post button to alert staff to problematic posts. Never quote or respond to them yourself
teachsac is online now  
post #2985 of 3114 Old 06-02-2014, 01:04 PM
Member
 
sweller's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 45
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi, folks.

Sick of my Roku 2XS and its random reboots, I just ordered a BDP-S5100. Naturally I waited until the price is almost twice what it was last November. rolleyes.gif

Anyway, in the absence of a Plex app, can anyone tell me how/if I can stream a video from my PC to the S5100? Serviio?
sweller is offline  
post #2986 of 3114 Old 06-02-2014, 02:24 PM
Senior Member
 
Kisakuku's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 452
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 70
Quote:
Originally Posted by sweller View Post

Anyway, in the absence of a Plex app, can anyone tell me how/if I can stream a video from my PC to the S5100? Serviio?

Serviio is definitely the way to go.
Kisakuku is offline  
post #2987 of 3114 Old 06-02-2014, 10:16 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
apw2607's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 2,316
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 51 Post(s)
Liked: 206
Quote:
Originally Posted by Apostate View Post

I had an exactly opposite problem. I wanted 4:3 content to display correctly, not stretched out to 16:9. It has been a while but, IIRC, the setting that controls what you want done is under Video Setting --> Screen Format. Changing that to "Original" stretched out 4:3 to 16:9 or was it other way around? Anyway, play around with it and we can thank Sony for very intuitive labeling. rolleyes.gif

This setting only is applicable for disc based media and not local streaming. You'll have to use your display device to stretch.
apw2607 is offline  
post #2988 of 3114 Old 06-03-2014, 05:54 AM
Member
 
DiNZi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 127
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 10

I've got the Sony BDP-S4100, can anyone suggest some changes I can make to the Audio Settings? I want to get the best possible sound to my Yamaha RX-V675. I'm using HDMI from the BDP-S4100 to my Yamaha.

 

There are settings like BD Audio Mix, Downmix, Audio DRC ect..

 

Thanks!

DiNZi is offline  
post #2989 of 3114 Old 06-03-2014, 09:11 AM
Member
 
sweller's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 45
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by DiNZi View Post

I've got the Sony BDP-S4100, can anyone suggest some changes I can make to the Audio Settings? I want to get the best possible sound to my Yamaha RX-V675. I'm using HDMI from the BDP-S4100 to my Yamaha.

There are settings like BD Audio Mix, Downmix, Audio DRC ect..

Thanks!
This kind of question comes up in a lot of different threads, in a lot of different forums. The answers are, IMHO, always subjective. What don't you like about the way it sounds now?

Back when I still had all my hearing (Yes, I'm old.) I considered myself a purist member of the "Golden Eared" crowd. I was bent on hearing what the recording artist intended me to hear. The first thing I discovered is there's a recording engineer standing between me and audio bliss. The second thing I learned is I'd have to *physically* duplicate the environment used to record the original source. Since that never happened for me, and never will, I've moved on to more practical thoughts...

Since the audio source is pure digital (BDP-S4100 -> RX-V675 via HDMI), you can assume it was recorded at the highest possible quality by one of the most competent engineers. So basically what gets read off the disc is what gets fed to the receiver. If you haven't made any adjustments to the receiver, it's probably doing a good (neutral) job of reproducing the sound without any undue coloration. The next factor is your speakers. Time was you were supposed to audition your driver candidates before committing to purchase because everyone's acoustic environments are different. Which takes me back to my point about physically duplicating the environment in which the recording took place.

If you're still reading, how does it sound to you? I have a Yamaha system, too (HTR-4064). They give you a lot of flexibility to tweak to your own individual taste. Everyone is different. Everyone's environments are different. Everyone has different tastes and budgets. It's your equipment. Tweak and enjoy.

P.S. The only thing your receiver lacks that you might find useful is YPAO. It's an automatic set up feature that uses a microphone to automatically adjust your system to your acoustics. It's nice to have, but it's not worth replacing a perfectly good receiver for since you won't use it very often. A better investment is a sound level meter. IMHO.
sweller is offline  
post #2990 of 3114 Old 06-03-2014, 09:33 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Foxbat121's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: VA
Posts: 10,095
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 280 Post(s)
Liked: 256
Since the player can't full decode any dolby audio formats, the biggest difference is to enable audio bit streaming in order to get the full surround sound experience. There are many posts here already about how to enable bit stream (there are two settings need to change). Do a search.
Foxbat121 is offline  
post #2991 of 3114 Old 06-03-2014, 10:37 AM
Member
 
DiNZi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 127
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by sweller View Post


This kind of question comes up in a lot of different threads, in a lot of different forums. The answers are, IMHO, always subjective. What don't you like about the way it sounds now?

Back when I still had all my hearing (Yes, I'm old.) I considered myself a purist member of the "Golden Eared" crowd. I was bent on hearing what the recording artist intended me to hear. The first thing I discovered is there's a recording engineer standing between me and audio bliss. The second thing I learned is I'd have to *physically* duplicate the environment used to record the original source. Since that never happened for me, and never will, I've moved on to more practical thoughts...

Since the audio source is pure digital (BDP-S4100 -> RX-V675 via HDMI), you can assume it was recorded at the highest possible quality by one of the most competent engineers. So basically what gets read off the disc is what gets fed to the receiver. If you haven't made any adjustments to the receiver, it's probably doing a good (neutral) job of reproducing the sound without any undue coloration. The next factor is your speakers. Time was you were supposed to audition your driver candidates before committing to purchase because everyone's acoustic environments are different. Which takes me back to my point about physically duplicating the environment in which the recording took place.

If you're still reading, how does it sound to you? I have a Yamaha system, too (HTR-4064). They give you a lot of flexibility to tweak to your own individual taste. Everyone is different. Everyone's environments are different. Everyone has different tastes and budgets. It's your equipment. Tweak and enjoy.

P.S. The only thing your receiver lacks that you might find useful is YPAO. It's an automatic set up feature that uses a microphone to automatically adjust your system to your acoustics. It's nice to have, but it's not worth replacing a perfectly good receiver for since you won't use it very often. A better investment is a sound level meter. IMHO.

 

The Yamaha RX-V675 does have YPAO, I haven't run it yet but I will do soon.

DiNZi is offline  
post #2992 of 3114 Old 06-03-2014, 11:55 AM
Member
 
sweller's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 45
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by DiNZi View Post

The Yamaha RX-V675 does have YPAO, I haven't run it yet but I will do soon.
Awesome. I missed that in a cursory glance at the specs. You'll like it.
sweller is offline  
post #2993 of 3114 Old 06-03-2014, 12:47 PM
Member
 
sweller's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 45
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Foxbat121 View Post

Since the player can't full decode any dolby audio formats, the biggest difference is to enable audio bit streaming in order to get the full surround sound experience. There are many posts here already about how to enable bit stream (there are two settings need to change). Do a search.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Foxbat121 View Post

There is no such setting called bit stream. But in order to bit stream audio, you need to set audio to auto and turn off secondary audio mix.

In the back of my (feeble) mind, I knew that. Thanks for the reminder.
sweller is offline  
post #2994 of 3114 Old 06-04-2014, 08:53 AM
Member
 
davemsc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 98
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zookster View Post

Sorry if this has been asked and answered already in this thread, but the search terms I was using didn't turn up anything relevant.

I have a 3100 connected via optical digital to a 2002 model Panasonic AVR. For the past few months, whenever I stream Netflix, films that have 5.1 audio give an occasional audio pop or chirp, mainly in the rear surrounds. It seems to happen about a dozen times during a two-hour movie, so since it's a bedroom set up I don't use often, I just dealt with it.

But the other night while I was trying to watch Don Jon, the near constant audio distortion (to all speakers) made it unwatchable, so I switched to running the audio through my 2008 model Samsung LCD TV (3100>HDMI>TV>optical>AVR). The distortion stopped, but at the expense of receiving 5.1 audio. I then tested some purchased 5.1 content I have on Amazon VoD, running audio directly from the blu-ray player to the AVR again, and got no audio pop/distortion. Same thing when I watched the Iron Man blu-ray disc.

Has anyone else encountered this or know if there are any settings I can tweak to fix this? Netflix was the primary reason I bought this player last year for the bedroom, so it would be nice if I could start watching it again in 5.1.


i have a 5100 and when streaming netflix it chirps and/or pops too.  scares the s**t out of me.  i have an older receiver so i have an optical from the BR to the AVR but HDMI from BR to TV (55st60)


Anything bigger than a handful, you're risking a sprained tongue - Gary, Weird Science
davemsc is offline  
post #2995 of 3114 Old 06-04-2014, 08:56 AM
Senior Member
 
Kisakuku's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 452
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 70
Quote:
Originally Posted by davemsc View Post


i have a 5100 and when streaming netflix it chirps and/or pops too.  scares the s**t out of me.  i have an older receiver so i have an optical from the BR to the AVR but HDMI from BR to TV (55st60)

http://www.avsforum.com/t/1492916/dolby-digital-plus-and-netflix-on-various-avrs
Kisakuku is offline  
post #2996 of 3114 Old 06-05-2014, 08:10 AM
Member
 
sweller's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 45
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Got my new 5100 yesterday. It took all of 20 minutes to hook it up, update the firmware, add the TED Talks app, IOW - test it 100%. Works for me!

Not for her.

The NETFLIX button is cool. A FAVORITES button would have been perfect. Does she really have to keep going into the Opera TV Store to watch TED Talks? There's no shortcut?

EDIT: I went into chat with Sony. Short answer is no. There's no shortcut method to added apps.

Is there a way to remove items and/or sort the VIDEOS list?

I asked this, too. They sent me a link to the User's Guide. confused.gif
sweller is offline  
post #2997 of 3114 Old 06-05-2014, 10:48 AM
Member
 
Colonel Badger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 64
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 14
I have an old BDP 570 that is terrible for Netflix streaming. I suspect its because it proxys the video via Sony instead of connecting directly. I have a 30mb/s internet connection and everything else internet wise is fast, including DirecTV VOD and Roku Netflix. It also doesn't support 3D or DD from Netflix so I'm thinking of upgrading.

Can anyone comment on how good the latest Sonys are for streaming? Do they still connect via Sony?
Colonel Badger is offline  
post #2998 of 3114 Old 06-05-2014, 12:15 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Foxbat121's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: VA
Posts: 10,095
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 280 Post(s)
Liked: 256
570 Netflix player is so rudimental and crappy, anything today can easily beat it.
Foxbat121 is offline  
post #2999 of 3114 Old 06-08-2014, 09:01 PM
 
Apostate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 930
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 100 Post(s)
Liked: 134
You guys better stop talking smack about my beloved 570. mad.gif At one point, it was the fastest, best bang for buck BD player of all. I think it's still better than most current BD players in build and speed.

As for Netflix, I use Roku. tongue.gif
Apostate is offline  
post #3000 of 3114 Old 06-09-2014, 03:29 AM
Member
 
DiNZi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 127
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 10

For connecting my Sony BDP-S4100 to my Yamaha RX-V675, I setup on the weekend, I made these changes.

 

BD Audio MIX Setting to OFF

DTS Neo:6 to OFF

Audio DRC to OFF

Downmix to Surround

 

That should output the best sound I can get to my Yamaha, right?

DiNZi is offline  
Reply Blu-ray Players

Tags
bx510 , dolby , m2ts , Sony , Sony Bdp S1100 Blu Ray Disc Player , Sony Bdp S3100 Blu Ray Player , Sony Bdp S5100 3d Blu Ray Disc Player With Wi Fi , Sony Blu Ray Disc Player Bdp S790 , truehd
Gear in this thread - bx510 by PriceGrabber.com

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off