Official Sony BDP-S1100, BDP-S3100, BDP-S4100 and BDP-S5100 - Page 109 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews

Forum Jump: 
 10Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #3241 of 3280 Old 08-28-2015, 05:05 PM
AVS Special Member
 
MacinMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 1,188
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 63 Post(s)
Liked: 28
Quote:
Originally Posted by purbeast View Post
So I haven't used my BD player in some time (month+) and I go downstairs to eject it and get the disc out, and it simply won't open. It blinks "OPEN" on the display, then starts blinking "CLOSE" and says empty. I am 100% positive there is a disc in there as well. It doesn't make any sound or anything either like it's even trying to open.

I have the BDP-S5100. I tried holding both EJECT and POWER at the same time and had no luck.

Anyone have any suggestions? People are coming over in an hour to watch a movie lol. I always can fall back to my PS4 or Xbox One, but I prefer the BD player.

EDIT:

I also tried this here:

https://us.en.kb.sony.com/app/answer...9,47564,74093/

While holding the EJECT and plugging it back in, it just says OPEN on the front but nothing happens.

You may have to use a straightened paper clip (large one) to force the tray open. Most drives have a manual eject hole to manually open the tray. Do it gently so you don't damage the disc. The bad news is you may have to open the unit to do it. If you don't hear any drive activity after doing what you've already tried, it's possible the drive mechanics have failed, and this solution is your only option to get the disc out for free.
MacinMan is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #3242 of 3280 Old 08-28-2015, 05:22 PM
Advanced Member
 
purbeast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Rockville, MD
Posts: 878
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by MacinMan View Post
You may have to use a straightened paper clip (large one) to force the tray open. Most drives have a manual eject hole to manually open the tray. Do it gently so you don't damage the disc. The bad news is you may have to open the unit to do it. If you don't hear any drive activity after doing what you've already tried, it's possible the drive mechanics have failed, and this solution is your only option to get the disc out for free.
I don't see the manual eject hole on this though. I looked for one.
purbeast is offline  
post #3243 of 3280 Old 08-28-2015, 05:26 PM
AVS Special Member
 
MacinMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 1,188
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 63 Post(s)
Liked: 28
Quote:
Originally Posted by purbeast View Post
I don't see the manual eject hole on this though. I looked for one.

That's why i said you might have to take the optical drive out of the unit. It may be hidden behind the case bezel. The other thing is, the top usually comes of the drives sony uses so you can have access to the disc directly. I'm just not sure how you'd do it any other way in your circumstances, since it won't eject on it's on. Besides i'm sure the unit is long out of Warranty so, you won't be voiding your warranty doing this any longer. The other option is to find the move you want to watch on a streaming service and do it that way such as VUDU amazon, etc.
MacinMan is offline  
post #3244 of 3280 Old 08-28-2015, 05:39 PM
Advanced Member
 
purbeast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Rockville, MD
Posts: 878
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by MacinMan View Post
That's why i said you might have to take the optical drive out of the unit. It may be hidden behind the case bezel. The other thing is, the top usually comes of the drives sony uses so you can have access to the disc directly. I'm just not sure how you'd do it any other way in your circumstances, since it won't eject on it's on. Besides i'm sure the unit is long out of Warranty so, you won't be voiding your warranty doing this any longer. The other option is to find the move you want to watch on a streaming service and do it that way such as VUDU amazon, etc.
Ah I got you.

I'm not too concerned about the movie inside, I just wanted to use it to watch a movie tonight. Oh well I'll just use my PS4.
purbeast is offline  
post #3245 of 3280 Old 09-05-2015, 09:58 AM
Advanced Member
 
purbeast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Rockville, MD
Posts: 878
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 27
So anyone have any clue where to get a replacement drive for this player? I don't even know if it's worth it. I just ripped it open and got the disc out, and it looks like the drive just isn't working. The laser doesn't move and I don't hear any gears or anything moving when I press the eject button.
purbeast is offline  
post #3246 of 3280 Old 09-21-2015, 12:41 AM
Member
 
hitbyambulance's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 43
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 12
i got an S5100 from a coworker for free. i attempted to play an SACD in it, but the player displays the message "No sound will be output to a device connected via HDMI". why is this? i do not have any speakers with compatible digital inputs.
hitbyambulance is offline  
post #3247 of 3280 Old 09-21-2015, 06:51 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Foxbat121's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: VA
Posts: 11,173
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 698 Post(s)
Liked: 386
It requires HDMI 1.2 or later device to support transporting SACD (DSD) over HDMI. You can try to use player decode into PCM and see how it works out.
Foxbat121 is offline  
post #3248 of 3280 Old 09-21-2015, 09:28 AM
Member
 
andipavel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 49
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by hitbyambulance View Post
i got an S5100 from a coworker for free. i attempted to play an SACD in it, but the player displays the message "No sound will be output to a device connected via HDMI". why is this? i do not have any speakers with compatible digital inputs.
It just means that the device you connected the player to cannot decode dsd bitstream or doesn't accept dsd bitstream thru hdmi. You have to set PCM in DSD Output and let S5100 do the conversion.
andipavel is offline  
post #3249 of 3280 Old 09-21-2015, 10:35 PM
Member
 
hitbyambulance's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 43
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by andipavel View Post
It just means that the device you connected the player to cannot decode dsd bitstream or doesn't accept dsd bitstream thru hdmi. You have to set PCM in DSD Output and let S5100 do the conversion.
yes, it is currently on that setting (Digital Audio Output = PCM, DSD Output Mode = ON) - i receive that message no matter what settings are selected.

(the two settings available for Digital Audio Output are PCM or AUTO)
hitbyambulance is offline  
post #3250 of 3280 Old 09-22-2015, 12:58 AM
Member
 
andipavel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 49
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 11
DSD output must be OFF
andipavel is offline  
post #3251 of 3280 Old 09-24-2015, 12:47 AM
Member
 
hitbyambulance's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 43
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by andipavel View Post
DSD output must be OFF
as mentioned above, I get that message no matter what settings are selected:

Digital Audio Output: PCM, DSD Output Mode: ON
= "No sound will be output to a device connected via HDMI"

Digital Audio Output: PCM, DSD Output Mode: OFF =
"No sound will be output to a device connected via HDMI"

Digital Audio Output: AUTO, DSD Output Mode: OFF =
"No sound will be output to a device connected via HDMI"
hitbyambulance is offline  
post #3252 of 3280 Old 10-15-2015, 08:40 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: NC
Posts: 164
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 114 Post(s)
Liked: 31
The youtube videos on my s5100 are still freezing after I play couple of them. The player requires a hard reboot after it as it won't power off and gets stuck with "off" blinking.

I tried a factory reset today but that didn't fix the issue. Has anyone found a solution or is it time to change the player?
pmat123 is offline  
post #3253 of 3280 Old 10-17-2015, 10:55 AM
Member
 
TRI-MONITOR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 27
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Still have an occasional problem with a 5100. No problem with a ROKU 2.
TRI-MONITOR is online now  
post #3254 of 3280 Old 10-20-2015, 12:21 AM
Member
 
dioxholster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 126
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 10
s5100, i freaking hate how it freezes. Try to play very large mkv files and constantly freezes, requiring me to pull the plug. i demuxed the file to m2ts and still same thing happens. the file im tryin to play is x264 and 14000 Kbps, not that it matters.
dioxholster is offline  
post #3255 of 3280 Old 10-23-2015, 01:01 AM
Member
 
hitbyambulance's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 43
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by hitbyambulance View Post
as mentioned above, I get that message no matter what settings are selected:

Digital Audio Output: PCM, DSD Output Mode: ON
= "No sound will be output to a device connected via HDMI"

Digital Audio Output: PCM, DSD Output Mode: OFF =
"No sound will be output to a device connected via HDMI"

Digital Audio Output: AUTO, DSD Output Mode: OFF =
"No sound will be output to a device connected via HDMI"

anyone have any idea? it's weird that this isn't working.
hitbyambulance is offline  
post #3256 of 3280 Old 11-14-2015, 01:40 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 61
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Newbie question on how BluRay best setup

Hi fellas,

Currently have Sony BDP 5100 connected to Denon AVR 2113ci. Picture is amazing in my 65in Sharp LED. If I uigrade my bluray player and it comes with all the latest audio and visual technology, do I lose those features if connect to my Denon?

Does the receiver have to have the same features (or more) for new bluray to benefit? Or if I had a cheap blu player with minimal features, would my AVR up-convert based on AVR features? In other words, am I constrained by my AVR?


Hopefully I made sense. Thx
tigerljj1 is offline  
post #3257 of 3280 Old 11-14-2015, 03:55 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
BillP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: PA
Posts: 14,210
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 247 Post(s)
Liked: 194
I assume you are connecting your Sony via HDMI to your AVR? All BluRay players will look the same, so there is no need to upgrade your player unless you want features that your current player does not offer. And if going through HDMI to your AVR, all players will sound the same as well (you're using the audio DAC of the AVR). Why are you looking to "upgrade?" If your Sony is working fine, I wouldn't bother.
D Bone likes this.
BillP is offline  
post #3258 of 3280 Old 11-14-2015, 04:26 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 61
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Makes sense. Just read a lot about Oppo having super picture and audio so don't know if worth upgrade. Yes, via HDMI. Mostly watch blu ray movies.
tigerljj1 is offline  
post #3259 of 3280 Old 12-18-2015, 01:57 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Sony S3100 not being read by projector

Hi,

I've got a Sony S3100 blu-ray hooked up via HDMI to an AV receiver connected to an Espon Powerlight projector. The receiver/projector has no problem recognizing other HDMI devices (like my computer), but when I power on the blu-ray, all that happens is the projector display screen flashes. Any ideas why?
richardsb is offline  
post #3260 of 3280 Old 01-04-2016, 03:57 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 61
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Help w settings on Sony BDP-S5100

WdHi, researched but can't find answer. Do I set my player on 'BD Audio Mix Setting" to On or Off? I noticed that when On, my Denon displays 'Multi-Channel' when watching a bluray but when switch player to 'Off, Denon displays 'DTS HD'. Had it set Off for the longest.

Do I set the 'DTS NEO:6' to Off?

Read manual but don't quite understand meanings.

I have player hooked up to a Denon 2113ci via HDMI.

Thank you,


x [BD Audio MIX Setting]
[On]: Outputs the audio obtained by mixing the interactive and secondary audio to the primary audio.
[Off]: Outputs the primary audio only. Select this to output HD audio signals to an AV amplifier (receiver).


x [DTS Neo:6]
[Cinema]/[Music]: Outputs the simulated multi-channel sound from
2 channel sources via the HDMI OUT jack according to the capability of the connected device using DTS Neo:6 Cinema or DTS Neo:6 Music mode. [Off]: Outputs the sound with its original number of channels via the HDMI OUT jack.

Last edited by tigerljj1; 01-04-2016 at 04:06 PM.
tigerljj1 is offline  
post #3261 of 3280 Old 01-04-2016, 11:19 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
D Bone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: SoCal, USA
Posts: 1,645
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 294 Post(s)
Liked: 375
Both settings OFF

Samsung UN60D6420 ~ DirecTV HR-44 ~ Sony S5100 BD ~ Roku 3 ~ Denon AVR-X3200W ~ SVS Prime Bookshelf L/R ~ SVS Prime Satellite Surrounds ~ MultEQ XT L/R Bypass ~ Power Sound Audio XV15
D Bone is offline  
post #3262 of 3280 Old 01-05-2016, 08:19 AM
Member
 
DaveMN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 186
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Anybody here using the Vimeo app? When I bring it up, I can't use the directional keys on the remote to navigate the Vimeo menus. Am I missing something?

DaveMN is offline  
post #3263 of 3280 Old 02-15-2016, 09:34 PM
Member
 
valkenaar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 77
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 40 Post(s)
Liked: 19
I currently have a Sony S5100 player - and have generally been happy with it. Plays 3D, reasonable DVD upscaling, 3D support.

But....

I just ran into a Blu-ray set that it won't play. It's the BBC version of Little Dorrit. I thought it was a region issue but after borrowing my son-in-laws Samsung BD F5100 and finding it played well, that shot that theory.

So, I want a good player that'll work (ie, play my new disk set). Above what I have in the Sony, I would appreciate faster loading. No need for 4k yet - still enjoying my plasma.

Would the new Sony (S5500) likely load the new disks I got? Sounds like it's faster loading than the 5100. Or do I switch to a Samsung? :-(


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Panasonic P60ST60
Sony BDP-S3100
Denon X2000
valkenaar is offline  
post #3264 of 3280 Old 02-16-2016, 07:51 AM
Senior Member
 
rseven's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 316
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Valkaneer, I have not encountered this problem with my either of my 5100's. However, if I were upgrading I'd stick with Sony. I owned 3 Samsung players and they were all garbage. Just my experience, yours could be different.
rseven is offline  
post #3265 of 3280 Old 02-16-2016, 10:55 AM
Senior Member
 
Steff3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Fairfield, CA
Posts: 223
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 37 Post(s)
Liked: 20
So we just purchased a new 1080P tv w/3D. Which player should we get? 5100, 5500 or the one at Costco, (650 I think) that ups to 4k, even tho or set is only 1080P the 4K wouldn't do us any good, or something else? Want to stay in that price range.

Sent from my SPH-L720 using Tapatalk
Steff3 is offline  
post #3266 of 3280 Old 02-20-2016, 09:53 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
I'm trying to play a Dolby Atmos demo using MKV, doesn't seem like it can do it. Anyone successfully do this?
DalSegno is offline  
post #3267 of 3280 Old 03-02-2016, 11:07 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Batavia, IL
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Streaming radio on 5100?

Has anyone been able to install and use an app that would allow streaming radio on a BDP S5100?

I have seen descriptions and reviews on different sites that mention TuneIn Radio and iHeartRadio both being available, but I cant find either of them in the app lists in Opera or in SEN.

Thanks!
zim64half is offline  
post #3268 of 3280 Old 03-02-2016, 11:31 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
mdavej's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 13,334
Mentioned: 30 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2063 Post(s)
Liked: 926
iHeartRadio is built in already. Cursor over to the musical note symbol. Slacker is another good one. For TuneIn, get a Roku.
mdavej is offline  
post #3269 of 3280 Old 03-02-2016, 11:55 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Batavia, IL
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by mdavej View Post
iHeartRadio is built in already. Cursor over to the musical note symbol. Slacker is another good one. For TuneIn, get a Roku.
When I cursor over to the music note symbol, iHeart is not there.

I see Slacker, Pandora, Sirius XM, Berlin Philharmonic, Lalapolooza... but no iHeart.
zim64half is offline  
post #3270 of 3280 Old 03-02-2016, 12:07 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
mdavej's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 13,334
Mentioned: 30 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2063 Post(s)
Liked: 926
Quote:
Originally Posted by zim64half View Post
When I cursor over to the music note symbol, iHeart is not there.

I see Slacker, Pandora, Sirius XM, Berlin Philharmonic, Lalapolooza... but no iHeart.
I have it. Did you buy your player in the US and are you running the latest firmware (R.0197)? That version also removed vTuner.

Last edited by mdavej; 03-02-2016 at 12:30 PM.
mdavej is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Blu-ray Players

Tags
bx510 , dolby , m2ts , Sony , Sony Bdp S1100 Blu Ray Disc Player , Sony Bdp S3100 Blu Ray Player , Sony Bdp S5100 3d Blu Ray Disc Player With Wi Fi , Sony Blu Ray Disc Player Bdp S790 , truehd
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off