Official Sony BDP-S1100, BDP-S3100, BDP-S4100 and BDP-S5100 - Page 34 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #991 of 3058 Old 07-26-2013, 08:20 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 21,148
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 465 Post(s)
Liked: 649
I've never had any issues with my Denon 3808 responding to my S5100 remote.

39TB unRAID1--53TB unRAID2--36TB unRAID3
LED DLP
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme

aaronwt is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #992 of 3058 Old 07-26-2013, 12:23 PM
Newbie
 
kekepk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quick question regarding this player. Does it support bravia sync? I've seen a couple post on here mentioning it but no conformation. I plan on picking this up tomorrow and would like to know that I can just drop it into my current setup and have it all work the same.
kekepk is offline  
post #993 of 3058 Old 07-26-2013, 12:23 PM
Newbie
 
kekepk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I haven't seen any mention of it on the Sony site or any other third party seller either.
kekepk is offline  
post #994 of 3058 Old 07-26-2013, 01:18 PM
Newbie
 
hometeamdawg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I tried to look around for this but no luck.

I owned an older Roku and then an older Sony Blu-Ray player, 185 I believe.

On the Roku if you searched for something on Netflix....and then went to search for the same thing on Amazon....the search seemed to
mesh so you didn't have to start from scratch. On my Sony Blu-Ray you had to start all over.

What's the interface like for streaming searches on the 3100 and 5100? For my needs, I just as soon not have a separate
streaming box.

If Sony is not the answer for a friendlier search, do other Blu-Ray player brands fit the bill?
hometeamdawg is offline  
post #995 of 3058 Old 07-26-2013, 05:06 PM
Member
 
wargod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 76
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Is the BDP-S5100 better than the Samsung BD-F5900? Any better models out there that do more than the BDP-5100 that are worth the extra cost?
wargod is offline  
post #996 of 3058 Old 07-27-2013, 04:23 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
apw2607's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 2,266
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 193
Quote:
Originally Posted by kekepk View Post

Quick question regarding this player. Does it support bravia sync? I've seen a couple post on here mentioning it but no conformation. I plan on picking this up tomorrow and would like to know that I can just drop it into my current setup and have it all work the same.

Yes. Actually it supports any HDMI-CEC control.
apw2607 is offline  
post #997 of 3058 Old 07-27-2013, 07:12 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
BillP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: PA
Posts: 13,702
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 38
Quote:
Originally Posted by wargod View Post

Is the BDP-S5100 better than the Samsung BD-F5900? Any better models out there that do more than the BDP-5100 that are worth the extra cost?

Better at what? It depends on what you want the player to be able to do (what do you mean by "do more"?). If all you do is play BluRay discs and stream Netflix, using digital audio out (eg, HDMI), then all players are pretty much the same in terms of PQ and AQ. The most popular basic players are Sony and Panny, And the Sonys do have a very good Netflix interface. I would stay away from Samsung due to poor reliability. If you want to play SD DVDs, then PQ can vary across players, but again, the basic players from Sony and Panny are very, very good for that. What you get with the more expensive players are dual HDMI outs (which you only need if you have a 3D display but don't have a 3D-capable receiver), and better audio DACs (which are only used if you use analog audio outs). Also, the high end models tend to be universal players, able to play SACD and DVD-A (although the Sonys don't play DVD-A). The higher end Sonys and Pannys, and the Oppos, are very popular. Again, I would stay away from Samsung.

If you want more help, you really need to post what you want in a player.
marctronixx likes this.
BillP is online now  
post #998 of 3058 Old 07-29-2013, 06:34 AM
Newbie
 
Ninespike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am a new owner and WAS totally in love with this device until recently. Now it locks up the blue startup wavy line screen and then will not turn off. I have to unplug it and start the process all over again and for the past two days its only worked once or twice. Right now i am staring at that screen watching it just sit there. Press button. wont turn off. it ejects fine and closes. Any advice? What i thought was a fantastic product is just killing me. i hope there is a solution
Ninespike is offline  
post #999 of 3058 Old 07-29-2013, 07:38 AM
Member
 
Breddy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 63
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I've read through this thread (well, searched through it) and I'm not sure if I have a definitive answer: is there no way to get the 5100 to downmix Blu-Ray "HD" audio formats to DTS or DD? I have an old Yamaha DSP-A1 which doesn't speak newer codecs. My older Sammy Blu-Ray would downmix to DTS. The Downmix option in the audio menu offers Stereo or Surround, the latter being Pro Logic or DTS Neo:6 only according to the manual.

Can I not get "legacy" digital 5.1 out of this machine with my receiver? I'm using the coaxial input to the receiver and HDMI to the TV...

Thanks folks...
Breddy is offline  
post #1000 of 3058 Old 07-29-2013, 08:24 AM
AVS Special Member
 
archer75's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Oregon
Posts: 1,700
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 35
Quote:
Originally Posted by Breddy View Post

I've read through this thread (well, searched through it) and I'm not sure if I have a definitive answer: is there no way to get the 5100 to downmix Blu-Ray "HD" audio formats to DTS or DD? I have an old Yamaha DSP-A1 which doesn't speak newer codecs. My older Sammy Blu-Ray would downmix to DTS. The Downmix option in the audio menu offers Stereo or Surround, the latter being Pro Logic or DTS Neo:6 only according to the manual.

Can I not get "legacy" digital 5.1 out of this machine with my receiver? I'm using the coaxial input to the receiver and HDMI to the TV...

Thanks folks...

Of course. Anything with hd audio can also play the core audio based upon what your device supports.

HTPC: Intel e6300 2.8ghz, Intel DG45ID, 2gb DDR2, Radeon 5570, MCE IR receiver, Yamaha RX-V663 receiver via HDMI, panasonic ax100u, 145" S-I-L-V-E-R painted screen, 2x Roku 3's, chromecast, Amazon Fire TV, Vizio M602i-B3
archer75 is online now  
post #1001 of 3058 Old 07-29-2013, 08:26 AM
Member
 
Breddy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 63
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by archer75 View Post

Of course. Anything with hd audio can also play the core audio based upon what your device supports.

That is also what I thought but I have yet to make it work. Tried various combinations of LPCM, Downmix, etc and nothing gives me DD or DTS on my AVR...how does the BDP negotiate this with the AVR over coax?

Thanks much for your response!
Breddy is offline  
post #1002 of 3058 Old 07-29-2013, 09:35 AM
Member
 
Breddy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 63
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 12
OK, so after a power-cycle and loading up a BD again, I am getting DD 5.1 and DTS into my old AVR. I wonder if one of the settings I changed needed to have the media reloaded? Very strange indeed.
Breddy is offline  
post #1003 of 3058 Old 07-29-2013, 10:13 AM
Advanced Member
 
sawfish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 762
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 103
Quote:
Originally Posted by Breddy View Post

That is also what I thought but I have yet to make it work. Tried various combinations of LPCM, Downmix, etc and nothing gives me DD or DTS on my AVR...how does the BDP negotiate this with the AVR over coax?

It doesn't. It just works. My Audio options page has everything Off, except "Digital Audio Output" is Auto, and Downmix is Stereo. I connect to my TV with HDMI and AVR with coax.
sawfish is offline  
post #1004 of 3058 Old 07-29-2013, 02:41 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Foxbat121's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: VA
Posts: 9,830
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 127 Post(s)
Liked: 204
Quote:
Originally Posted by Breddy View Post

That is also what I thought but I have yet to make it work. Tried various combinations of LPCM, Downmix, etc and nothing gives me DD or DTS on my AVR...how does the BDP negotiate this with the AVR over coax?

Thanks much for your response!

There is no negotiation on coax or optical cables. That's one way communication only. The key is to disable secondary audio so that the player will bitstream out the cores instead of decoding everything and only output 2-ch PCM. The default setting on most BD players are almost always with secondary audio enabled. It's like the BD makers really think everyone needs to listen to menu clicking sound and director's comment in PiP window.
Foxbat121 is online now  
post #1005 of 3058 Old 07-29-2013, 02:49 PM
Member
 
wargod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 76
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillP View Post

Better at what? It depends on what you want the player to be able to do (what do you mean by "do more"?). If all you do is play BluRay discs and stream Netflix, using digital audio out (eg, HDMI), then all players are pretty much the same in terms of PQ and AQ. The most popular basic players are Sony and Panny, And the Sonys do have a very good Netflix interface. I would stay away from Samsung due to poor reliability. If you want to play SD DVDs, then PQ can vary across players, but again, the basic players from Sony and Panny are very, very good for that. What you get with the more expensive players are dual HDMI outs (which you only need if you have a 3D display but don't have a 3D-capable receiver), and better audio DACs (which are only used if you use analog audio outs). Also, the high end models tend to be universal players, able to play SACD and DVD-A (although the Sonys don't play DVD-A). The higher end Sonys and Pannys, and the Oppos, are very popular. Again, I would stay away from Samsung.

If you want more help, you really need to post what you want in a player.

This is going to be paired with a Denon AVR1913 and a Samsung PN51F5500. I don't care about SACD or analog conversion or 4k upscalling. Dont need 2 hdmi as my reciever is 3d compatible. What I do want is have no issues due to cinavia, able to play most video formats off a USB especially avi, mkv, and mpeg4, able to stream from my PC with no issues, Netflix, web browsing with no lag issues, be able to see the player on my wireless home network, easy menu navigation, have excellent 3d blue ray playback, and play DVDs. Can a BDPS790 do all this or do I need an oppo 103?
wargod is offline  
post #1006 of 3058 Old 07-29-2013, 06:29 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
BillP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: PA
Posts: 13,702
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 38
Wargod, unfortunately all current players have Cinavia installed (thanks to the studios). You may have to look into older models.
BillP is online now  
post #1007 of 3058 Old 07-29-2013, 06:44 PM
Senior Member
 
Kisakuku's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 449
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 70
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillP View Post

Wargod, unfortunately all current players have Cinavia installed (thanks to the studios). You may have to look into older models.

USB / DLNA on Sony x100 is still Cinavia-free.
Kisakuku is offline  
post #1008 of 3058 Old 07-30-2013, 07:31 AM
Member
 
JMT0404's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Northern California
Posts: 60
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I bought this unit about a month ago. Worked fine for about 10 days and then it wouldn't display a picture after the "Blu-ray" startup logo. Thought the unit was defective so I exchanged it for a new one. Same thing happened right out of the box. I thought it might be the HDMI out of my Yamaha receiver so I connected the player directly to the second HDMI input of my old Sony SXRD DLP...nothing. So then I connected to the first HDMI input that my cable box is connected to...still nothing. I am at a loss as to what the problem can be.

Any suggestions?

If it sounds good, it is good.

- Duke Ellington
JMT0404 is offline  
post #1009 of 3058 Old 07-30-2013, 06:55 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
BillP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: PA
Posts: 13,702
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 38
JMT, what resolution are you outputting? Could it be that you are outputting 1080p and your display doesn't accept 1080p?
BillP is online now  
post #1010 of 3058 Old 07-30-2013, 07:36 PM
Member
 
JMT0404's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Northern California
Posts: 60
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I have no idea. My display is a Sony KDS-R50XBR1 DLP. When I bought it 7years ago it was touted to be 1080p, but I'm not sure. The weird thing is that the first unit I bought worked fine. Watched Netflix and a couple of Blu-ray DVDs. But one day I turned it on and got nothing after the logo. So I exchanged it for the same model. That one hasn't worked since I unpacked it. I contacted Sony and they had me try a bunch of resets but none worked.

If it sounds good, it is good.

- Duke Ellington
JMT0404 is offline  
post #1011 of 3058 Old 07-30-2013, 07:53 PM
AVS Special Member
 
mdavej's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 9,600
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 203 Post(s)
Liked: 314
Quote:
Originally Posted by JMT0404 View Post

I have no idea. My display is a Sony KDS-R50XBR1 DLP. When I bought it 7years ago it was touted to be 1080p, but I'm not sure. The weird thing is that the first unit I bought worked fine. Watched Netflix and a couple of Blu-ray DVDs. But one day I turned it on and got nothing after the logo. So I exchanged it for the same model. That one hasn't worked since I unpacked it. I contacted Sony and they had me try a bunch of resets but none worked.
Sony has never made a DLP. That model is a rear projection SXRD. I used to have one as well. It is indeed 1080p, but not 24 fps, so you'll need to turn that off. Also turn off deep color and auto resolution for good measure. If you can't reset it, you may have to connect it to a different TV to choose the proper settings.
JMT0404 likes this.
mdavej is offline  
post #1012 of 3058 Old 07-30-2013, 08:03 PM
Member
 
JMT0404's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Northern California
Posts: 60
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Thanks for your reply. I've been reading threads regarding "handshake" issues with older HDMI components and that certain older components are not HDMI certified. Is it possible that the Sony TV's HDMI input, being over 7 years old, simply forgot how to "handshake" with the Blu-ray's HDMI output?

If it sounds good, it is good.

- Duke Ellington
JMT0404 is offline  
post #1013 of 3058 Old 07-31-2013, 07:07 AM
AVS Special Member
 
mdavej's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 9,600
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 203 Post(s)
Liked: 314
Quote:
Originally Posted by JMT0404 View Post

Thanks for your reply. I've been reading threads regarding "handshake" issues with older HDMI components and that certain older components are not HDMI certified. Is it possible that the Sony TV's HDMI input, being over 7 years old, simply forgot how to "handshake" with the Blu-ray's HDMI output?
That's one way to think of it. But the old TV hasn't forgotten anything. It's using the same handshake it's always used. The player may be adding some new moves it doesn't understand. That's why you need to turn off as much Auto negotiation features as possible to keep the handshake simple.
JMT0404 likes this.
mdavej is offline  
post #1014 of 3058 Old 07-31-2013, 07:25 AM
Newbie
 
donfazhan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Probably not a big deal but this is something I love having. In my opinion, it does improve PQ.thanks 10.gif
donfazhan is offline  
post #1015 of 3058 Old 07-31-2013, 07:56 AM
Member
 
JMT0404's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Northern California
Posts: 60
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Well I decided to just buy a new TV. My 60" LG LED display should be here Saturday.
marctronixx likes this.

If it sounds good, it is good.

- Duke Ellington
JMT0404 is offline  
post #1016 of 3058 Old 07-31-2013, 08:25 AM
AVS Special Member
 
mdavej's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 9,600
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 203 Post(s)
Liked: 314
Quote:
Originally Posted by JMT0404 View Post

Well I decided to just buy a new TV. My 60" LG LED display should be here Saturday.
Good move. You'll be blown away by the PQ, and never have to buy anymore bulbs, and everybody won't look like Shrek anymore.
mdavej is offline  
post #1017 of 3058 Old 07-31-2013, 01:03 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 21,148
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 465 Post(s)
Liked: 649
Does the LG Tv have 3D?

39TB unRAID1--53TB unRAID2--36TB unRAID3
LED DLP
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme

aaronwt is online now  
post #1018 of 3058 Old 07-31-2013, 01:35 PM
Member
 
JMT0404's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Northern California
Posts: 60
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by aaronwt View Post

Does the LG Tv have 3D?
No
marctronixx likes this.

If it sounds good, it is good.

- Duke Ellington
JMT0404 is offline  
post #1019 of 3058 Old 07-31-2013, 03:02 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
BillP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: PA
Posts: 13,702
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 38
Quote:
Originally Posted by mdavej View Post

Sony has never made a DLP. That model is a rear projection SXRD. I used to have one as well. It is indeed 1080p, but not 24 fps, so you'll need to turn that off. Also turn off deep color and auto resolution for good measure. If you can't reset it, you may have to connect it to a different TV to choose the proper settings.

If I remember correctly, some of the 1st generation 1080p displays upscaled to 1080p but didn't accept a 1080p signal. I think that was true of the SXRD.
BillP is online now  
post #1020 of 3058 Old 07-31-2013, 03:55 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 21,148
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 465 Post(s)
Liked: 649
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillP View Post

If I remember correctly, some of the 1st generation 1080p displays upscaled to 1080p but didn't accept a 1080p signal. I think that was true of the SXRD.

I certainly was with DLP. At least with the Samsung 1080P DLP set I got in 2005. The HDMI input would only accept 1080i or lower. It would only accept 1080P through it's VGA input.,

39TB unRAID1--53TB unRAID2--36TB unRAID3
LED DLP
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme

aaronwt is online now  
Reply Blu-ray Players

Tags
Sony Bdp S1100 Blu Ray Disc Player , Sony Bdp S3100 Blu Ray Player , Sony Bdp S5100 3d Blu Ray Disc Player With Wi Fi , Sony Blu Ray Disc Player Bdp S790
Gear in this thread - S790 by PriceGrabber.com

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off