Official Sony BDP-S1100, BDP-S3100, BDP-S4100 and BDP-S5100 - Page 37 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1081 of 3038 Old 08-07-2013, 06:13 AM
AVS Special Member
 
mdavej's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 9,434
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 109 Post(s)
Liked: 282
Regular HD on Netflix is 1080p. Super HD is also 1080p but at higher bitrates than 3850 kbps. Play the Example Short and compare to the info display.
mdavej is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1082 of 3038 Old 08-07-2013, 07:31 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Toknowshita's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 1,191
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 41
And does anyone really believe that 5.9Mbps is sufficient for quality HD. Sorry Netflix can call when they reach or surpass broadcast HD data rates.

Toknowshita is offline  
post #1083 of 3038 Old 08-07-2013, 09:46 AM
AVS Special Member
 
mdavej's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 9,434
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 109 Post(s)
Liked: 282
Apples and oranges. Broadcast is MPEG2 which is vastly less efficient than NF's compression. Plus the frame rates are different. NF is pretty darn close, aside from color depth and handling really fast motion. Actually I never see macro blocking common on broadcast TV on NF. So NF is better in some respects. If you're going to dismiss NF because it isn't identical to broadcast, why not dismiss broadcast because it's not identical to BD?
mdavej is offline  
post #1084 of 3038 Old 08-07-2013, 10:05 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 20,799
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 258 Post(s)
Liked: 592
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toknowshita View Post

And does anyone really believe that 5.9Mbps is sufficient for quality HD. Sorry Netflix can call when they reach or surpass broadcast HD data rates.

Why would they ever surpass broadcast data rates? Broadcast uses MPEG2. Netflix uses MPEG4/H.264. Which typically uses around half the the bitrate of MPEG2 to achieve the same quality.

39TB unRAID1--53TB unRAID2--36TB unRAID3
LED DLP
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme

aaronwt is online now  
post #1085 of 3038 Old 08-07-2013, 10:53 AM
AVS Special Member
 
bierboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Quad-Cities (East Moline, Ill.)
Posts: 2,253
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by JoeTiVo View Post

Quick question I hope.. I seem to get the simple 'BD Rom' green play icon at the bottom left of the screen most times using my new Sony BDP-S5100. How do I make it display the full time line bar that shows the total length and how much time has elapsed when I pause or hit play?

Hitting the "display" button as someone else mentioned will show you the time elapsed and total time of a disc (as well as other info like audio, subtitles, etc.), but it won't give you the "full time line bar" that you mentioned. The only thing that would do that is by hitting pause or stop...and that is often times disc-dependent. Not all discs will show that upon hitting pause.

Mediacom Digital Cable and OTA HD
Panny TC-P55GT50 -- Denon AVR-1713 -- TiVo Premiere XL4 -- Sony BDP-S5100 -- SlingBox 350 -- Polk 5.1 Speakers -- Logitech Harmony One
bierboy is offline  
post #1086 of 3038 Old 08-07-2013, 11:28 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Toknowshita's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 1,191
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 41
The point is that Netflix still ain't that great at 5900kbps. You can only polish a turd so much. Sure for static images its great. I got tired of watching strobe-o-vision with Netflix.

Toknowshita is offline  
post #1087 of 3038 Old 08-07-2013, 01:11 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Foxbat121's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: VA
Posts: 9,761
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 83 Post(s)
Liked: 192
No one is force you to watch Netflix streaming. You still have a great BD disc player. That's what I watch most of my movie on. I use streaming when I'm waiting for my next disc to arrive or when PQ is not that important.

Besides, my cable provider is sending me data cap overage letters every month now. I really can't afford any higher bitrate streaming before they force me to upgrade to higher data package. Being able to stream BD quality movie on line is a pipe dream.
marctronixx likes this.
Foxbat121 is online now  
post #1088 of 3038 Old 08-07-2013, 01:20 PM
Advanced Member
 
JoeTiVo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Milwaukee, WI
Posts: 672
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by bierboy View Post

Hitting the "display" button as someone else mentioned will show you the time elapsed and total time of a disc (as well as other info like audio, subtitles, etc.), but it won't give you the "full time line bar" that you mentioned. The only thing that would do that is by hitting pause or stop...and that is often times disc-dependent. Not all discs will show that upon hitting pause.

Exactly... That's what I was noticing. And you're right, it does seem to be disc-dependent. Thanks for confirming what I was experiencing.

Steve
"If you choose not to decide, you still have made a choice."
My DVDs
My Theater
Theater Construction Album

JoeTiVo is offline  
post #1089 of 3038 Old 08-07-2013, 02:40 PM
AVS Special Member
 
mdavej's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 9,434
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 109 Post(s)
Liked: 282
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toknowshita View Post

The point is that Netflix still ain't that great at 5900kbps. You can only polish a turd so much. Sure for static images its great. I got tired of watching strobe-o-vision with Netflix.
Doesn't sound like the Netflix I have. What are you using to watch it? 1080p, even at 3850 kbps looks pretty darn good and very smooth on my 1100. I've never even seen the 5900 kbps stream.
marctronixx likes this.
mdavej is offline  
post #1090 of 3038 Old 08-07-2013, 06:26 PM
Advanced Member
 
horsegoer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 531
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hoping someone can help my sorry as$....lol

I never had a Blu-ray and me and my wife just got a Panny 65ST60 plasma. Will be hooking up my S5100 tomorrow but I want to know if there are some intial settings I need to adjust/select on my Blu-Ray and/or Panny before watching our first Blu-ray movie. Thanks very much

beau
horsegoer is offline  
post #1091 of 3038 Old 08-07-2013, 06:45 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Foxbat121's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: VA
Posts: 9,761
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 83 Post(s)
Liked: 192
If you don't have any receiver to hook up, nothing special need to be configured.
Foxbat121 is online now  
post #1092 of 3038 Old 08-07-2013, 07:39 PM
Member
 
Jack Gambino's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
To my surprise, once I got my 5100 a couple of years ago, I became an avid user of the online services it offers, particularly Crackle and eHow. Anybody know if there's a way to reorder the services so that the ones I use most often appear near the top? Even better, is there a way to hide the services I never use?

It would also be nice if, within Crackle, programs could be moved around as well. It would be great if the most frequently watched TV series appeared in a Favorites area. Am I missing something or is the underlying software not "smart" enough (yet) for such features?

Jack
Jack Gambino is offline  
post #1093 of 3038 Old 08-07-2013, 08:20 PM
Advanced Member
 
tuffluck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 519
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
How do you guys set up so that an android device playing music can play through your 5100 as well?

Sent from my BNTV600 using Tapatalk 4
tuffluck is offline  
post #1094 of 3038 Old 08-07-2013, 08:58 PM
Member
 
DaveMN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 167
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by tuffluck View Post

How do you guys set up so that an android device playing music can play through your 5100 as well?

Are you using Google Music? If so, I highly suggest looking into Chromecast and bypassing the BD player. I've been using it for a week now, and it works fantastically well. Netflix works well also.

DaveMN is offline  
post #1095 of 3038 Old 08-07-2013, 09:21 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
apw2607's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 2,240
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 173
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toknowshita View Post

The point is that Netflix still ain't that great at 5900kbps. You can only polish a turd so much. Sure for static images its great. I got tired of watching strobe-o-vision with Netflix.

Very odd. Watching house of cards in super hd 5800kb/s projected onto a 100" screen with dolby digital+, looks and sounds fantastic.
apw2607 is offline  
post #1096 of 3038 Old 08-07-2013, 09:24 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
apw2607's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 2,240
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 173
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jack Gambino View Post

To my surprise, once I got my 5100 a couple of years ago, I became an avid user of the online services it offers, particularly Crackle and eHow. Anybody know if there's a way to reorder the services so that the ones I use most often appear near the top? Even better, is there a way to hide the services I never use?

It would also be nice if, within Crackle, programs could be moved around as well. It would be great if the most frequently watched TV series appeared in a Favorites area. Am I missing something or is the underlying software not "smart" enough (yet) for such features?

Jack

A couple of years ? The player only was out in Feb.

You can't reorder or hide services in the XMB

Crackle does support favorites but not in the crackle app on the Sony BDPs
apw2607 is offline  
post #1097 of 3038 Old 08-08-2013, 12:42 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Toknowshita's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 1,191
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 41
Quote:
Originally Posted by mdavej View Post

Doesn't sound like the Netflix I have. What are you using to watch it? 1080p, even at 3850 kbps looks pretty darn good and very smooth on my 1100. I've never even seen the 5900 kbps stream.

Watch it on a 100-in screen. It looks like ass when compared to real HD.

Toknowshita is offline  
post #1098 of 3038 Old 08-08-2013, 05:16 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 20,799
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 258 Post(s)
Liked: 592
Quote:
Originally Posted by apw2607 View Post

Very odd. Watching house of cards in super hd 5800kb/s projected onto a 100" screen with dolby digital+, looks and sounds fantastic.

Yes, House of cards does look good at the top SuperHD bitrate. But I recently rented the Blu-ray Discs of House of Cards from Netflix. The streaming doesn't hold a candle to the quality from the BDs. There was a huge difference in quality with both the video and the audio.

After watching the BDs, I don't even think I could watch the SuperHD streaming of House of Cards again. Now that I've seen how good it can look and sound from disc.

For what it is, Netflix streaming does an extremely good job and for a sub 6Mb/s bitrate, it does look very good. But in the House of Cards instance, Once you compare it to the BD, there is just no comparison. The difference is like night and day. But of course the BD has a much higher bitrate and has lossless audio as well so that is to be expected.

39TB unRAID1--53TB unRAID2--36TB unRAID3
LED DLP
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme

aaronwt is online now  
post #1099 of 3038 Old 08-08-2013, 06:58 AM
AVS Special Member
 
mdavej's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 9,434
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 109 Post(s)
Liked: 282
Quote:
Originally Posted by apw2607 View Post

A couple of years ? The player only was out in Feb.
Time flies when you're having fun.
mdavej is offline  
post #1100 of 3038 Old 08-08-2013, 07:03 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Foxbat121's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: VA
Posts: 9,761
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 83 Post(s)
Liked: 192
Netflix at 5.8mbps certainly won't be anywhere close to 30mbps BD quality. That's for sure. But it is certainly very close to or even surpass most HDTV programming on cable using MPEG2 @ 15mbps. I'd say both Netflix and cable (or OTA) HDTV look like crap when compared to BD. You don't need 100" screen to tell the difference.
JoeTiVo likes this.
Foxbat121 is online now  
post #1101 of 3038 Old 08-08-2013, 07:09 AM
AVS Special Member
 
mdavej's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 9,434
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 109 Post(s)
Liked: 282
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toknowshita View Post

Watch it on a 100-in screen. It looks like ass when compared to real HD.
Well, that would make a difference. I guess if I had a 100" screen I'd stick with BD.
mdavej is offline  
post #1102 of 3038 Old 08-08-2013, 07:25 AM
AVS Special Member
 
gadgtfreek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 2,723
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 47 Post(s)
Liked: 277
Its easy for me to see the difference between streaming and Bluray on 65", Netflix and amazon can and do look better than broadcast HD at times.

I've got a 5100 coming tomorrow to go in place of the 500. Trying to see how I like Netflix and amazon in it, would like to trade the 500 and Roku 3 for one player that does it all.

65" VT50 / BDP-S6200
X4000 / Outlaw Model 7125
Klipsch RF82 II and RC62 II / Hsu VTF-15H (2)
Directv HR44-200
gadgtfreek is offline  
post #1103 of 3038 Old 08-08-2013, 07:55 AM
Advanced Member
 
tuffluck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 519
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
couple of questions:

1. do you guys experience a loud whine when you play BD discs? mine is terrible.
2. does netflix ever load 100% of the red bar on a movie and then completely lock up? i have to unplug the unit to regain control. i'm on my second unit with this problem
tuffluck is offline  
post #1104 of 3038 Old 08-08-2013, 07:57 AM
AVS Special Member
 
D Bone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: SoCal, USA
Posts: 1,218
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 180
Quote:
Originally Posted by tuffluck View Post

couple of questions:

1. do you guys experience a loud whine when you play BD discs? mine is terrible.
2. does netflix ever load 100% of the red bar on a movie and then completely lock up? i have to unplug the unit to regain control. i'm on my second unit with this problem

Nope, neither problem for me. I bought my 5100 months ago when it was first released.
marctronixx likes this.

Samsung UN60D6420 ~ DirecTV HR-44 ~ Sony S5100 ~ Roku 3 ~ Denon X-2000 ~ HTD Level TWO Towers ~ HTD Level TWO Surrounds ~ Power Sound Audio XV15
D Bone is offline  
post #1105 of 3038 Old 08-08-2013, 09:34 AM
Member
 
Jack Gambino's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by apw2607 View Post

A couple of years ? The player only was out in Feb.

You can't reorder or hide services in the XMB

Crackle does support favorites but not in the crackle app on the Sony BDPs

I meant a couple of WEEKS ago!
Jack Gambino is offline  
post #1106 of 3038 Old 08-08-2013, 10:56 AM
AVS Special Member
 
MacinMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 1,082
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 22
I've spent some more time with the 5100, and I have come to the conclusion that overall stability seems to be better.

For example when watching a video on youtube using the new youtube app introduced with the last firmware update on the 590, the video kept stalling and restarting. The same video on the 5100 with latest firmware played without pauses. Another thing I noticed, is when you have a usb device connected, the player seems to recognize what type of device it is. In my case I got two usb SD card readers that can plug directly in, and on the 5100 it recognized it was a card reader. On the 590, it just says Usb device (front) or (back) whichever it's plugged into. Also like the new Facebook app, interface. I have to say I like the smaller case design of the 5100 as well. I've decided to connect the soundbar and connect the new unit by HDMI to living room tv. I like the results after adjusting tv sound settings and turning on surround on the TV, and surround on, in the audio down mix settings of the player. The picture is great, the player is quiet, and very stable. I am overall satisfied with the upgrade after I took some time to in detail compare the two units.
MacinMan is offline  
post #1107 of 3038 Old 08-08-2013, 11:24 AM
Advanced Member
 
sawfish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 752
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 102
Quote:
Originally Posted by tuffluck View Post

1. do you guys experience a loud whine when you play BD discs? mine is terrible.

Four S5100s bought from Amazon and Sam's all whined and vibrated the same. Three Samsung F5900s whined just as bad but didn't vibrate. These units are cheap junk. Maybe I should've tried an LG. The LG Bluray drive in my computer is far quieter and doesn't emit the piercing loud whine these standalone players do. Sony finally made Bluray semi-usable by improving the speed of loading and other operations, but they made it intolerable to listen to by using horrible cheap drives. I stopped using my S350 from 2008 because it was so slow, and I'm avoiding using my 2013 S5100 because it's so loud.
sawfish is offline  
post #1108 of 3038 Old 08-08-2013, 11:25 AM
Senior Member
 
Kisakuku's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 443
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 70
Now that 0160 firmware has been out for a bit, has anyone noticed any newly introduced bugs? MKV subtitles still working?
Kisakuku is offline  
post #1109 of 3038 Old 08-08-2013, 11:50 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Foxbat121's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: VA
Posts: 9,761
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 83 Post(s)
Liked: 192
Quote:
Originally Posted by sawfish View Post

Four S5100s bought from Amazon and Sam's all whined and vibrated the same. Three Samsung F5900s whined just as bad but didn't vibrate. These units are cheap junk. Maybe I should've tried an LG. The LG Bluray drive in my computer is far quieter and doesn't emit the piercing loud whine these standalone players do. Sony finally made Bluray semi-usable by improving the speed of loading and other operations, but they made it intolerable to listen to by using horrible cheap drives. I stopped using my S350 from 2008 because it was so slow, and I'm avoiding using my 2013 S5100 because it's so loud.

The cost of the PC drive alone is about the cost of these BD players. So I don't believe LG player (if you can find one) will be any different. The BD players are now regularly sold < $100. So manufacturers all need to cut corners in order to stay profitable.
Also, someone pointed out earlier that playing 3D discs require BD drive to spin faster than normal 2D discs, So you are expected to hear louder noises from 3D movies than 2D.
Foxbat121 is online now  
post #1110 of 3038 Old 08-08-2013, 11:54 AM
Advanced Member
 
sooke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 857
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Anyone else having problems with the remote for their S5100? Lately, I need to be 4 feet away and directly in front of the player for it to work. It used to work fine. And no, it is not the batteries. I have the same problem if I use the remote that came with the player (hardly ever used so batteries should be fresh), or if I use my MX-700 universal remote with brand new batteries. The MX-700 has very strong IR emitters. So it seems like the problem is in the player.

The player worked fine when I got it 3 weeks ago. Just in the last few days I've had to get up and stand in front of the thing to get a remote to work. I figure it is a sensor going bad, or related to the firmware update (unlikely, but...).

So, anyone else having similar problems?

Panasonic TC-P60ZT60 plasma panel
Sony BDP-S5100 Blu-ray player
Samsung SMT-H3272 DVR
Yamaha RX-V650 AVR
XBOX 360
URC MX-780 remote control
sooke is offline  
Reply Blu-ray Players

Tags
Sony Bdp S5100 3d Blu Ray Disc Player With Wi Fi , Sony Blu Ray Disc Player Bdp S790 , Sony Bdp S1100 Blu Ray Disc Player , Sony Bdp S3100 Blu Ray Player
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off