Official Sony BDP-S1100, BDP-S3100, BDP-S4100 and BDP-S5100 - Page 43 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1261 of 3037 Old 08-21-2013, 01:42 AM
Senior Member
 
marctronixx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 250
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 17
thats why I said I usually do this under 24 hours. thank you for confirming...
Quote:
Originally Posted by Foxbat121 View Post

Netflix button won't bypass that either. If you didn't use Netflix for a day or two, you will see this annoying screen.
marctronixx is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1262 of 3037 Old 08-21-2013, 05:59 AM
Member
 
goldmine848's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 37
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Are these models the same. Amazon has the S5100 and Costco has the Bx 510. From what I can tell they are the same.
goldmine848 is offline  
post #1263 of 3037 Old 08-21-2013, 06:15 AM
Senior Member
 
jtrippe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Wetumpka (36093)
Posts: 370
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
My 5100 won't remember the network settings and makes me rerun network settings about once a day. Is there a fix for this?
jtrippe is offline  
post #1264 of 3037 Old 08-21-2013, 06:53 AM
Super Moderator
 
teachsac's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Elk Grove, CA
Posts: 4,132
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 122
Quote:
Originally Posted by goldmine848 View Post

Are these models the same. Amazon has the S5100 and Costco has the Bx 510. From what I can tell they are the same.
The Costco version comes with an HDMI cable. Otherwise they are the same.

S~

Please use the report post button to alert staff to problematic posts. Never quote or respond to them yourself
teachsac is online now  
post #1265 of 3037 Old 08-21-2013, 07:18 AM
AVS Special Member
 
gadgtfreek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 2,689
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 271
Someone just posted this in the Amazon DD 5.1 issues thread, but its from 4/13, dont understand.

" Unable to play Amazon On Demand content in high definition (HD).
Article ID: 37566 | Last Updated: 04/19/2013

Amazon® On Demand high definition (HD) playback is not currently supported by Sony® Internet video devices. Internet video devices will only playback movies and programs available on Amazon On Demand in standard definition (SD)."

65" VT50 / BDP-S6200
X4000 / Outlaw Model 7125
Klipsch RF82 II and RC62 II / Hsu VTF-15H (2)
Directv HR44-200 / TiVo Roamio
gadgtfreek is online now  
post #1266 of 3037 Old 08-21-2013, 07:23 AM
AVS Special Member
 
MacinMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 1,082
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by gadgtfreek View Post

Someone just posted this in the Amazon DD 5.1 issues thread, but its from 4/13, dont understand.

" Unable to play Amazon On Demand content in high definition (HD).
Article ID: 37566 | Last Updated: 04/19/2013

Amazon® On Demand high definition (HD) playback is not currently supported by Sony® Internet video devices. Internet video devices will only playback movies and programs available on Amazon On Demand in standard definition (SD)."

When did this start? I own HD content (the BBC Yellowstone documentary) and it plays in HD just fine. I has since the 570 was current.
MacinMan is offline  
post #1267 of 3037 Old 08-21-2013, 07:32 AM
Super Moderator
 
teachsac's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Elk Grove, CA
Posts: 4,132
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 122
Sounds like someone doesn't know what they are talking about. I have no problem with HD video on my S790, DD 5.1 is broken and they know about it, yet it's still not fixed.

S~

Please use the report post button to alert staff to problematic posts. Never quote or respond to them yourself
teachsac is online now  
post #1268 of 3037 Old 08-21-2013, 07:33 AM
Senior Member
 
eah9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: PA
Posts: 481
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Quote:
Originally Posted by gadgtfreek View Post

Someone just posted this in the Amazon DD 5.1 issues thread, but its from 4/13, dont understand.

" Unable to play Amazon On Demand content in high definition (HD).
Article ID: 37566 | Last Updated: 04/19/2013

Amazon® On Demand high definition (HD) playback is not currently supported by Sony® Internet video devices. Internet video devices will only playback movies and programs available on Amazon On Demand in standard definition (SD)."

Quote:
Originally Posted by MacinMan View Post

When did this start? I own HD content (the BBC Yellowstone documentary) and it plays in HD just fine. I has since the 570 was current.

I don't think that is accurate about only SD. I am getting HD on Amazon Prime - as of 2 days ago. I have a the 3100 and the strn-dn1030 (both sony). biggrin.gif

The issue with 5.1 is still there. Hopefully it will be fixed soon!!

Energy RC70 L/R | RC-LCR Center | C-R3 Surrounds | VMINI Bookshelves Surrounds | S12.3 and Dual S10.3 Subs | KRK 10s Sub | Benq w1070 pj | Elite 100" Sable Screen | SONY STR-DN1030| Sony S5100 and S3100 BDPs
eah9 is offline  
post #1269 of 3037 Old 08-21-2013, 07:51 AM
AVS Special Member
 
gadgtfreek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 2,689
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 271
I think that is meant to reflect 5.1. A lot of people are saying they lost 5.1 in April and never got it back. regardless, there are definitely issues with 5.1.

65" VT50 / BDP-S6200
X4000 / Outlaw Model 7125
Klipsch RF82 II and RC62 II / Hsu VTF-15H (2)
Directv HR44-200 / TiVo Roamio
gadgtfreek is online now  
post #1270 of 3037 Old 08-21-2013, 11:40 AM
AVS Special Member
 
MacinMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 1,082
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 22
I can't test 5.1 on amazon I am using TV speakers for now. I do know when using netflix or VUDU, the information will say what audio is streaming even though i'm only getting stereo via the TV.

Does amazon tell you on screen what the stream coming in contains? I could test that way only.

P.S.

I would say netflix is main for me then VUDU, then Amazon VOD. Also I have amazon instant video on my iphone, would i be able to test for 5.1 based on what the iphone is receiving ?
MacinMan is offline  
post #1271 of 3037 Old 08-21-2013, 02:40 PM
Advanced Member
 
tuffluck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 519
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Been trying to watch the pixel flipper on Disney's WoW disc today...the S5100 keeps shutting off after that thing runs for 15 minutes or so, also turning the TV off as well. Any idea why it's doing that?
tuffluck is offline  
post #1272 of 3037 Old 08-21-2013, 03:01 PM
Member
 
kamgol's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 50
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Have any of you had a problem with the S5100 responding to RF/IR signals? I have a setup with the Logitech Harmony 900 which has the RF hub and IR burst connectors. All my other devices work perfectly fine, but the Sony BDP seems to have a weak response. I've tried all kinds of things like moving the IR hub, clearing the BDP path, etc. but the result is the same.

Any ideas?
kamgol is offline  
post #1273 of 3037 Old 08-21-2013, 06:04 PM
Advanced Member
 
tuffluck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 519
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by sawfish View Post

I've posted this a couple of times in a couple of threads, but this time I linked to the clearly described software. If you can hook up a PC, this will give you a free Pixel Flipper equivalent that will run as long as you want it to.

The problem with the Disney Pixel Flipper is the players. The newer ones like to turn off after a period of inactivity, which includes playing that Java app. For example, the Sony S5100 shuts off after 30 minutes or so. If you can connect a PC, there is Jscreenfix, but the normal version likes to blink 0:00 after 20 minutes in the bottom right corner, and I see no way to disable that behavior. OTOH, the screensaver version doesn't do that, and it's free to boot. But can you believe it, neither one of them hides the mouse while running! Fortunately, that can be fixed in various ways. The simplest is to move the cursor to the bottom left corner, but that still leaves the tip visible. To actually hide it, I use Autohotkey. If you have that program, search its Help file for "SystemCursor". You will find some sample script that binds a mouse visibility toggle to Win+C. It works perfectly. So, after installing Jscreenfix screensaver version, adding the mouse toggler to my main Autohotkey startup script, setting the screensaver timer to 1 minute when I want flip pixels, and using Win+C to hide the mouse, I have a free Pixel Flipper equivalent I can leave running overnight. When I don't want to use it, I use Win+C again to show the mouse, and I turn the screensaver back off.

Is there any way to keep the s5100 from stopping due to this inactivity?
tuffluck is offline  
post #1274 of 3037 Old 08-21-2013, 08:18 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
apw2607's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 2,225
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 173
Quote:
Originally Posted by MacinMan View Post

I had reconfigured it to use my current setup, so I think it may have been a player glitch. Speaking of that though, in OS X is there a way to upgrade Serviio to keep settings? I usually just replace the console and sever app in /Applications.. Most apples store their settings in the perferences folder or in another Apple specific format, which cary over. Serviio seems to store the settings in the app bundle so replacing the old version with the new seems to reset like installing a fully new copy. Is there a way around this?

Before you replace Serviio (not Serviio console) right click, show package contents

Then goto ./contents/resources/java

And copy thr library folder. There are all your settings and share info

Simply replace the new one with your copy when you reinstall the new version
apw2607 is offline  
post #1275 of 3037 Old 08-22-2013, 09:20 PM
Senior Member
 
73ChargerFan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: California
Posts: 498
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
I know this isn't a Serviio thread, but I nuked my install because it kept at >90% cpu and filling up my C hard drive, even when my Sony 5100 was turned off and I had transcoding disabled.

Can anyone recommend a better DLNA server?
73ChargerFan is offline  
post #1276 of 3037 Old 08-22-2013, 09:28 PM
AVS Special Member
 
mdavej's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 9,387
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 88 Post(s)
Liked: 279
Serviio is no problem if you simply turn off metadata and thumbnails. There is no better server IMO.
mdavej is offline  
post #1277 of 3037 Old 08-22-2013, 10:22 PM
Senior Member
 
dryasanne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: NOrWAY
Posts: 240
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by kamgol View Post

Have any of you had a problem with the S5100 responding to RF/IR signals? I have a setup with the Logitech Harmony 900 which has the RF hub and IR burst connectors. All my other devices work perfectly fine, but the Sony BDP seems to have a weak response. I've tried all kinds of things like moving the IR hub, clearing the BDP path, etc. but the result is the same.

Any ideas?

I have similar issues in my Roomie setup.

In my case, Its all about getting the player to respond to WOL. Which 790 will not, but 5100 will do.

I have still not fixed this issue, so I am at present having a workaround. Issue a PLAY infrared command, that will wake both my players.
But NOT any power on command, that will only mess up things..

Just my idea :-)
dryasanne is offline  
post #1278 of 3037 Old 08-23-2013, 04:14 AM
AVS Special Member
 
MacinMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 1,082
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 22
I thought I'd bring up a question i've been asking on and off through the years to see if anyt new feedback to new information can be given.

Is a 3D tv worth investing in for someone who has had seizures in the past or someone who has a visual impairment that could easily get eye strain from having to sit in a certain position for the glasses able to work correctly ? Thinking about some home upgrades just getting some ideas.

Thanks
MacinMan is offline  
post #1279 of 3037 Old 08-23-2013, 04:35 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Foxbat121's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: VA
Posts: 9,737
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 67 Post(s)
Liked: 190
3D TV is dead. That being said, you typically don't pay much extra for a TV with 3D features then not (typically they are mid to high end TVs with features not available in low end 2D only TVs). So, pick which ever TV you like. You might just get 3D for free.
Foxbat121 is online now  
post #1280 of 3037 Old 08-23-2013, 04:43 AM
AVS Special Member
 
MacinMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 1,082
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by Foxbat121 View Post

3D TV is dead. That being said, you typically don't pay much extra for a TV with 3D features then not (typically they are mid to high end TVs with features not available in low end 2D only TVs). So, pick which ever TV you like. You might just get 3D for free.

Thanks for the feedback, If that's the case, i might as well just keep the TVs I have as they work well and have no need to be replaced. Like i said this was mainly informational questions. I'll look around at current tvs to see if they offer anything i'd used on a daily basis maytbe like smart features.
MacinMan is offline  
post #1281 of 3037 Old 08-23-2013, 05:17 AM
AVS Special Member
 
joed32's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,000
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 35
Quote:
Originally Posted by Foxbat121 View Post

3D TV is dead. That being said, you typically don't pay much extra for a TV with 3D features then not (typically they are mid to high end TVs with features not available in low end 2D only TVs). So, pick which ever TV you like. You might just get 3D for free.

Sometimes I wish it was, I could save a lot of money by not buying all of the new releases of 3D movies. Seems like every week another one hits the theaters.
joed32 is online now  
post #1282 of 3037 Old 08-23-2013, 05:37 AM
AVS Special Member
 
MacinMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 1,082
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 22
it seems sony bd players are the most reliable. I haven't tried toshiba, LG, or samsung players but between the ones I have tired they seem to be.

I had tried a panasonic DMP-BD71p-k i found at walmart last night, got it home and it was crap didn't connect to the network and i would turn it off and had to unplug and replug to get it to turn on. So, I returned it. Seemingly, the sony players just work it seems kind of like Apple vs windows.
MacinMan is offline  
post #1283 of 3037 Old 08-23-2013, 03:07 PM
AVS Special Member
 
WilliamG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 2,817
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 22
So I already had one BDP-S5100 from Amazon, and bought another for the other room. The difference between them is STAGGERING. The first one I got a few months ago, and is nigh-on silent. The tray eject mechanism is quiet, playback noise is extremely low (and becomes "silent" the further you get into the movie, because of slower disc rotation).

The second BDP-S5100 I received just yesterday from Amazon is a whole other kettle of fish. The eject mechanism sounds very... cog-y. It's not smooth like the first one. You can tell it's running on cogs (which of course, it is). And then the noise it makes during playback is appalling. It does get quieter (though never actually quiet) as you skip through chapters of movies, but MAN is it loud.

So, for those who get a noisy BDP-S5100 (I know this is subjective, like... *sigh...* everything...), get another one. You might be surprised.
WilliamG is offline  
post #1284 of 3037 Old 08-23-2013, 04:35 PM
Advanced Member
 
sawfish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 745
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 100
Quote:
Originally Posted by WilliamG View Post

So I already had one BDP-S5100 from Amazon, and bought another for the other room. The difference between them is STAGGERING. The first one I got a few months ago, and is nigh-on silent. The tray eject mechanism is quiet, playback noise is extremely low (and becomes "silent" the further you get into the movie, because of slower disc rotation).

The second BDP-S5100 I received just yesterday from Amazon is a whole other kettle of fish. The eject mechanism sounds very... cog-y. It's not smooth like the first one. You can tell it's running on cogs (which of course, it is). And then the noise it makes during playback is appalling. It does get quieter (though never actually quiet) as you skip through chapters of movies, but MAN is it loud.

So, for those who get a noisy BDP-S5100 (I know this is subjective, like... *sigh...* everything...), get another one. You might be surprised.

I went through four over two months, two from Amazon and two from Sam's. They all produced a terrible whine when playing BDs and DVDs and vibrated badly. Cheap plastic construction, cheap drives. The whine does subside the further into a disc you get, but it never gets less than annoyingly loud. It's funny, I used to avoid my S350 because it was so glacially slow. The S5100 improves greatly on the speed, but I avoid using it due to the appalling whining it makes. The Samsung F5900 wasn't any better.
sawfish is offline  
post #1285 of 3037 Old 08-23-2013, 05:35 PM
AVS Special Member
 
WilliamG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 2,817
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by sawfish View Post

I went through four over two months, two from Amazon and two from Sam's. They all produced a terrible whine when playing BDs and DVDs and vibrated badly. Cheap plastic construction, cheap drives. The whine does subside the further into a disc you get, but it never gets less than annoyingly loud. It's funny, I used to avoid my S350 because it was so glacially slow. The S5100 improves greatly on the speed, but I avoid using it due to the appalling whining it makes. The Samsung F5900 wasn't any better.

I'd tell you to try another BDP-S5100, but - honestly, given your experience - don't bother. I'm really pleased with my first one, though. It really is absolutely inaudible (except when loading main menus etc, where I hear it just a tad). I sit around 3 feet from my player, too, and have ridiculously sensitive hearing. I don't know how it's possible to have such poor quality control on a device that really has so few moving parts. Crazy.
WilliamG is offline  
post #1286 of 3037 Old 08-23-2013, 07:52 PM
AVS Special Member
 
bierboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Quad-Cities (East Moline, Ill.)
Posts: 2,253
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by WilliamG View Post

...I'm really pleased with my first one, though. It really is absolutely inaudible (except when loading main menus etc, where I hear it just a tad). I sit around 3 feet from my player, too, and have ridiculously sensitive hearing. I don't know how it's possible to have such poor quality control on a device that really has so few moving parts. Crazy.

I'm with Bill here...my 5100 is virtually silent once it loads. I'm very pleased with it.

Mediacom Digital Cable and OTA HD
Panny TC-P55GT50 -- Denon AVR-1713 -- TiVo Premiere XL4 -- Sony BDP-S5100 -- SlingBox 350 -- Polk 5.1 Speakers -- Logitech Harmony One
bierboy is offline  
post #1287 of 3037 Old 08-23-2013, 08:17 PM
AVS Special Member
 
WilliamG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 2,817
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by bierboy View Post

I'm with Bill here...my 5100 is virtually silent once it loads. I'm very pleased with it.

Who's Bill? And why is there the assumption in America that if your name is William that you go by "Bill"?

rolleyes.gif

I'm only kinda serious (I think...)
WilliamG is offline  
post #1288 of 3037 Old 08-23-2013, 08:46 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
apw2607's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 2,225
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 173
^ I made that mistake once ... Never again ;-)
apw2607 is offline  
post #1289 of 3037 Old 08-23-2013, 08:51 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
apw2607's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 2,225
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 173
The amazon app is now fixed. Dolby digital 5.1 is back.
gadgtfreek likes this.
apw2607 is offline  
post #1290 of 3037 Old 08-23-2013, 09:18 PM
Senior Member
 
marctronixx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 250
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 17
ive a launch day 5100 from amazon. super quiet operation.
marctronixx is offline  
Reply Blu-ray Players

Tags
Sony Bdp S5100 3d Blu Ray Disc Player With Wi Fi , Sony Blu Ray Disc Player Bdp S790 , Sony Bdp S1100 Blu Ray Disc Player , Sony Bdp S3100 Blu Ray Player
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off